Ireland set for Blacks

Ireland have named a 29-man squad for their three-Test series against New Zealand.

Three uncapped players – Declan Fitzpatrick, Mike Sherry and Simon Zebo – were named in the group, which features vacant spaces to be filled by three forwards and one back once injuries to players are clarified.

Lock Paul O’Connell is the most notable of the absentees. He is still recovering from a knee injury. Brian O’Driscoll will captain for the Tests on June 9, 16 and 23.

Ireland squad

Forwards (16):

Rory Best (Ulster), Sean Cronin (Leinster) Stephen Ferris (Ulster), Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster)*, Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Sean O’Brien (Leinster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Mike Sherry (Munster)*, Dan Tuohy (Ulster), A.N. Other, A.N. Other, A.N. Other

Backs (13):

Darren Cave (Ulster), Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster), Keith Earls (Munster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster) Captain, Ronan O’Gara (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Simon Zebo (Munster)*, A.N. Other