Stormers to reel in Clever?

USA loose forward Todd Clever’s loan move to the Stormers will be decided over the next 24 hours.

Clever, who featured for the Lions in 2009 and 2010 and recently signed for Japanese club NTT Shining Arcs, confirmed that the Stormers have made a call for his services as they are currently struggling with a loose forward injury crisis.

The Cape franchise has lost team captain Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nick Koster and Nizaam Carr to injury, and has announced its plans of bringing in experienced cover options. Canadian No 8 Jebb Sinclair has been recruited but the management still feels there is a lack of depth.

The Shining Arcs are in the process of reviewing the Stormers’ short loan deal request and should make a final decision by Tuesday.

‘I’m definitely keen on a return to South African rugby and would love to play for the Stormers,’ Clever told keo.co.za. ‘There’s just some red tape around the move and the finer details are being discussed from this side. A final decision will be made over the next 24 hours.’

Clever has played 40 Tests for the USA and captained the side at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand. He also featured regularly for current Japanese club champions Suntory Sungoliath in their successful 2011-12 season, which saw them win the league and knock-out competitions.

Clever is the Stormers’ best chance of bringing in loose forward cover from overseas. Saracens hooker Schalk Brits was used as a flank reserve during the 29-10 semi-final defeat to the Crusaders in 2011, but CEO Edward Griffiths said the English club will not loan out any of their players this year. This rules out recent reports of eighthman Ernst Joubert joining the squad.

‘The likes of Jacques Burger, Kelly Brown and Justin Melck are all currently suffering from long-term knee injuries,’ Griffiths also told this site. ‘There is Ernst Joubert, but he is getting married soon and will not be available.’

172 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Clever Dragon you Mr Coetzee…

• 2.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

This would be for a couple of games, because he wouldn’t be eligible to play in the knock-outs. And neither would Sinclair. Is it really worth it?

• 3.race of tan: Reply to this comment

It would have been better/nicer for the Stormers to bring in a few Puma(Argetinian) loose forwards. AS it would give them a taste of super rugby 15/rugby championship type rugby!!

• 4.ufo: Reply to this comment

Good player… worth it for the next couple of games definitely…

• 5.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

I would prefer we stuck with our Vodacom boys.

• 6.NicG: Reply to this comment

Imagine how those poor okes that won Province’s 1st silverware in over 10 years feel… nice work Province.

• 7.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Wow what a coup. This is a good dragon. @>^..^< katman(katman)-2: Yes because when it comes to the knock out rounds we will have Burger, Koster and Vermeulen ready.

@race of tan(race of tan)-3: Yes maybe a Pampas player.

• 8.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@NicG(NicG)-6: Their time will come.

• 9.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Yes vodacom boys need a look in.but still a good move if it comes off.showdown of the weekend will be Ezkebeth and Alberts.

• 10.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Good player.Great thinking by AC.

• 11.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-9: Alberts?I don’t think he is in a fit state to do anything worthwhile at this moment in time.Going to the toilet might even be difficult for him. :D

• 12.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Sasuke, if I read through the lines then I do not think Vermeulen are going to be able to play this year again in S15. Also Carr is not going to play again this year.

It sound like Koster will be available.
    Schalk was going to play against Cheetahs and he is still walking(not yet running), these are long term injuries and I just hope that Schalk will be ready(and that he will have match experience before semi!

Alistair is getting these foreign okes to assist in getting Stormers to the semi.

Just hopes the nigles disappear, that was reason losing last year in semi(Schalk, Bekker, Elstadt got injured that day and Duane was not available that day due to injury)

• 13.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-5: We already had gave enough game time to up and coming youngsters , what we need is a short term solution. Carr , Kollisi is about as green as loosies come , Stormers lost a lot of loosies last year and this year though injury. I reckon its a good thing , I nogals like Clever , never understood why he left the Lions…..then again.

Its not about ability becos then the Stormers would be well covered , its about experience as well. You dont win trophy’s like Super rugby tittles with greenies alone , no matter how talented they are , thinking back on previous success you will see how the experience manne carried the youngsters through , think about the Bulls the last few years , WC 2007 and 1995 and WP CC final in 97. All had expreience guys in key positions.

Currently while talented we are very thin at loosies , If a guy like Elksted is the most experience loosie in Super rugby and its only his second season there plus his first season in the loose trio then u know we thin on experience.

Just one thing , can someone please clear up for me why Luke Watson is not considered ? Is he injured ? Seems the most logical choice for me evens before Sinclair.

• 14.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Jonck(Jonck)-12: I heard Duane will be available after the June test’s ? Koster disappointed so far , I hope he comes right and soon , I expect huge things from him , he has the ability.

• 15.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Stormer for life- Alberts on the toilet is still pretty scary..he he

• 16.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Luke is not wanted.a puke risk

• 17.willievz: Reply to this comment

This is ridiculous.

• 18.NicG: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-11: Alberts was carrying a shoulder injury that has been around for close on a year now… he’s been very off colour, but with the Sharks picking up momentum I reckon he’ll start doing more again.
    Etzebeth though is the real deal and I reckon there will be some big clashes between the aforementioned and Bismarck, Beast, Elstadt & co.
    This game will be the measure of how far the Sharks have come and also how serious the Stormers’ title credentials are.
    There is no reason why there can’t be three saffa teams in the play-offs.
    Go the Sharks!

• 19.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Duane is the key man for the Stormers in terms of recovery.

If he doesn’t get back we could be in trouble.

Schalk yes, he’ll be invaluable, but Duanne is key for me.

• 20.stew: Reply to this comment

Ha ha no decent loose forwards in SA – time to worry boys

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Jonck(Jonck)-12: @sparticus(sparticus)-14: Koster and Burger will definitely be ready for the Lions game on June 30th. Duane is a bit longer. He might be ready the next week against Cheetahs or the final game against the Rebels.

• 22.stew: Reply to this comment

Perhaps we can send you some loosies from our 3 rd division club teams will be better than hiring a yank

• 23.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Bring this oke in, man. Clever is aggressive, athletic, and loves his fish and chips!

• 24.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-19: Yes agreed. Hopefully Duane makes it for the play-offs. Even just to have him on the bench for the play-offs will be vital.

• 25.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-22: Lend them to the Highlanders – they’ve resorted to hiring a Pom.

• 26.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-23: really?

• 27.cane: Reply to this comment

The Meat Clever,

bring it on.

love this Guy.

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-22:

Hey Stewie,

I wouldn’t mind seeing this front for my Canes.

• 29.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Hopefully for the next 2 games we can have

6. Kolisi
    7. Elstadt
    8. Jebb

with Clever on the bench.

When we meet the Lions on the 30th June.

Schalk and Koster which be on the bench.

I would have Elstadt cover lock so no De Kock on the bench and bring Burger and Koster on at half time.

• 30.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Even if it’s just for a couple of games, Clever is not a bad option. Being the captain of the Eagles, he’s got a bit of a leadership aura about him. And when your team’s average age is about 12 you could use all the leadership you can get.

• 31.nama1: Reply to this comment

Why not that Namibian guy…the flank and captain. He also plays in England. Good ball carier and also defends very well.

Can’t remember his name now but he did perform better than Clever in the RWC or is he not available?

• 32.mad eye: Reply to this comment

What about Corne’Krige or big mouth Skinstadt,
    Pathetic,tell us why good players like Justin Melk, Flo Louw or Robbie Diak won’t come back,why or why the other Louw is also not interested.
    Got to be something more to this,I smell a big rat in a blazer here,must also be the reason why Rassie packed it in.

• 33.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

what about gagiano?

• 34.mad eye: Reply to this comment

I would like the stats guru here to tell me how many times deJong has passed the ball this year,I don’t reckon it is more than 5 if that.
    What amazes me is that there is a regular base of posters here who would include him in the Bok team.
    He is the most selfish rugby player since James Small,and not half the player.

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

A farce now…

Come little Breezers…Come do some chumming in the Rough waters of Kings Park…

Sharks have also got a loosie problem… Overstock…

Yup, there will be a relentless wrecking ball wave coming for these “mighty” Stormers…

Lets see if they can handle it… Last 4 teams facing the Sharks have been battered and fubarred… The last 3 into submission, the first a scrape home lucky win after Sharks returned home… But they havent recovered since…

Sharks are going to do big time damage to the Stormers this weekend – on the field to Breezer players on their last legs, and on the scoreboard…

Sharks this weekend will be the final straw that absolutely breaks this Breezer Camel’s brokeback…

MARK THESE WORDS…

• 36.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I actually reckon it will be a +10 margin to the Sharks this weekend….

Take that to your bank after betting the iKaya, your daughters and your wives…

+10 Boytjies…

Dynamite comes in Black and White Packages…

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-34: are you going on about “mannetjies” de jongh?

you are delusional, remove that spear-shaped award from your arse them you’ll think better :D

• 38.stew: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-25: just as a favour cause he wanted Super rugby experience ! Seems to have helped him as he has been included in the England squad

Why are they lookin at yanks and canadians surely it would be better to steal an npc kiwi than an american international … Clever is not that good or is it because of work restrictions ?

• 39.stew: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-31: plays for sarecans – jacques – injured

• 40.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Battleship Bismarck destroyed his nearest challenger on the weekend… Imagine what the mighty man is going to do to these pipsqueaks in blue and white who were once labelled the “2nd best in SA”…. I reckon its going to be more than just a red face left over after Smitty fcked up Liebenberg so beautifully after similar Breezing hotair for a season…

I actually reckon the Battleship will fck both Gummybear Liebenburg and that Fcknut Fourie both at the same time the way he is playing…. And then poor Broken Harris – Beast gonna get him big time… gonna molest him like Shawshank Redemption…

And then this Canadian “saviour” Jezebel, is going to be so bamboozled by Keegan the Lion Tamer Daniel that the poor fcker will just wanna go home…

Fark me I cant wait until this weekend when these farken hypehungry Breezing fools get the beating they deserve….

SCHWEET!!!!!

• 41.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-34:
    You talking kak now.

Go watch Saturdays game again. He passed probably more than five times in that game alone. Also, Stormers gameplan is based on a tight defence hence they prefer to play without the ball (a kak game plan, granted but so far it has been working for us) which mean that JdJ does not handle the ball that often in the backline.You also need to keep in mind that JdJ seemingly crosses the advantage line by meters everytime he hold onto the ball and take on the defence.

It would be more interesting to see how many time he RECEIVED the ball in a back line move and then compare that to the amount of times that he passed the ball.

Now, why don’t you go ahead and tell us who you’d prefer at centre.

Ag forget it…it’s Fransie, isn’t it?

• 42.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-31:

Jacques Burger

funny nose

• 43.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-36: Someone please save this so that we can remind old HG on Monday what he said !!

• 44.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-34: Nothing wrong with De Jong… Its the canadian obsessed and blonde donkey Munster reject obsessed fckwits at Stormers that are fcking up and have fcked up his potential that he showed 2 years back already in the best centre partnership seen by a Super Rugby franchise in SA when he partnered with Mossie for a whole season and made his Bok debut at 12…

He isnt as good this year but it is hardly his fault when AC and Fleckie are so JDVpoesbedroef that they cant even see the young black talent right there in front of them…

• 45.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

preach it hg preach it

• 46.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-34: Please De Jong , half the size of James but twice the rugby player !!!!!!!!! First name Meyer gonna put down come June test’s. Only thing that would keep him out is injuries. Now Meisiekind………………..

• 47.nama1: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-39:
    Jaques Burger…that’s the guy. Thanks Stew.

A hard player, that one.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-40:
    Can’t wait till yhis weekend also but for a different reason.

I know you’ll be gone for at least three days from this site after we moer you good and proper in your own backyard.

• 48.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-44: “JDVpoesbedroef” bwaa haa haa haa , now thats k@k funny !!

• 49.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-20: Nah, we have them all at the Sharks……hahaha. :)

At the Sharks we have a full set of Bok loosies on our bench, add to that the top class loose trio that starts… :wink: :)

• 50.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-43: Remind me NOW… and on Monday… Come… DO IT….

I will be laughing like a Hammerhead Shark after feasting on a drowning Breezer Fatboy after the absolute frenzied mauling thats going to happen on Sat…

Sharks are poised… Stormers are on the ropes barely hanging on save for obligatory ref assisted gimmes in the last 10 mins… Theres no rope a dope Ali escape for Breezers in Kings Park on Saturday… Just George Foreman like smash SMASH smashing of a Gerrie Coetzee… Tired, outclassed and intimidated…

Yup Stormers will be sent homeward, tails and gerbils between legs, to drink and think again come Sat…

MARK THESE WORDS!!!!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.