Bulls brace for ‘complete’ Chiefs

Frans Ludeke says the Chiefs have developed their game to the point where they are better equipped than most to hurt teams in numerous ways.

The Bulls face the New Zealand conference leaders in Hamilton on Friday and are acutely aware of the all-round threat they pose. The Chiefs’ rise from 10th-placed finishers in 2011 to being among the favourites to win the title this season has been notable. Gone is the cavalier outfit who capitulated against teams adept at pinning them in their territory and pressuring them into errors through dominant defence. Ludeke was lavish in his praise of their development.

‘They used to be vulnerable in a number of areas but now they’ve become one of the most complete sides in the tournament,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za.

‘Their forward play, particularly at set pieces, has improved immeasurably. But they haven’t lost the ability to punish you when their backline runs the ball from general play and especially from broken field.

‘Add to that a tactical kicking game that gives them another attacking dimension and a defensive system that has worked very well and is hard to break down, and you’ve got a very difficult team to play against.’

The Bulls’ defeat in Dunedin against the Highlanders and the Stormers’ victory at Newlands transformed the complexion of their campaign after a promising start to their tour. It meant they surrendered the top spot in the conference and the overall log to their great rivals and defeat in Hamilton would further undermine their drive for a home play-off. Ludeke said he stressed the importance of victory to his players, who needed no motivation.

‘This is by miles our most important game of the competition if you look at it in the context of what winning or losing could mean for our challenge,’ Ludeke said. ‘The Stormers have control of their own destiny and if they keep winning they’ll get that important home play-off.

‘We’ve been in similar positions in the past but then we could take confidence from the experience we had in our ranks. Now we’ve got a younger side who must show similar character. I was impressed by how we responded against the Waratahs two weeks ago. They dominated the game but we came through at the end.

We took a lot away from that match in terms of building a strength of character in some of the less experienced players. It nearly happened again for us against the Highlanders and but for some impatient and inaccurate play late in the game, we could have stolen that one as well.

‘That character was a hallmark of the Bulls sides of recent years and this group will have to show that against a team that will test them to the limits of their ability – tactically, physically and mentally.’

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

67 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.shooter: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-49: “I almost end up watching the Cheetahs or Sharks games Alone…”

but then you also give in..? and go outside.

funny post Mauler

• 52.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-49:

ahhhh anecdotal evidence.

awesome.

• 53.shooter: Reply to this comment

* It is also because Bulls fans are the best braaiers, that they don’t want any else, like say, a stormer braaing the meat.

• 54.shooter: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-53: when I braai with my mates and a stormer, shark or cheetah braais the meat.. everybody is like. WTF?

If a Bull’s supporter has braaid the meat. Everyone is eating like heavy lekker.

So there. evidence can’t be more evident

• 55.shooter: Reply to this comment

I am actually surprised that Mauler will admit that he has Bulls friends

• 56.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-51:

the meisies are outside.

those drinks won’t spike themselves.

besides he wants to check that the manne aren’t burning his tofu sosaties.

• 57.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-50: Excuse me? The FEWEST Springboks? Kirchner, Ndugane, Olivier, Steyn, Hougaard, Spies, Chilli, Flip, and your fatties (remember last year?). Now compare that to: Habana, Aplon, de Jongh, de Villiers, Burger (who hasn’t played) and Bekker. You Blue nuts crack me up with all this talk of ‘inexperience’, ‘a young team’ etc – Count the bloody Bok caps now Charlie (I might have left a few out…..)

• 58.shooter: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-57: Ag you know what I mean.

• 59.shooter: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-57: Interesting nick though. I guess what you are trying to say is that you have lots of mongrel? And that’s a good thing. If you listen to English commentators that is.
    I prefer thoroughbred etc.

• 60.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-58: Dewald Potgieter, Stegman…..No I don’t know what you mean? It’s simple – the Bulls in fact have a very experienced team – end of. And with all those Boks – they SHOULD be performing as they are.

• 61.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Lol you guys are cracking me up!! Shooter my Bulls mates are great friends! And I think the freestaters will disagree with you about braaing… They are the best …

• 62.shooter: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-56: my friends are like…. what is that, and if that is what i think it is, whose braaibroodjie is that.

• 63.shooter: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-61: man, there isn’t even a tree in the Freestate to braai with.
    Less said about the Cape and wattle combo even better.
    But let them skim they are kerels that kook.
    and I still like biltong better than bokkoms. nevermind what.

• 64.shooter: Reply to this comment

anyway. see you in the final. >>

• 65.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Lol! Can’t disagree there!!

• 66.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-63:

• 67.Superbru: Reply to this comment

Brace yrselves mates,Chiefs gonna be awful hard to beat in Hamilton.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.