‘Kings vital to transformation’

Saru president Regan Hoskins says the Southern Kings’ inclusion in Super Rugby will prove a massive boost to transformation in South African rugby.

According to The Times, Hoskins told the parliamentary portfolio committee on sport and recreation that the reason Saru decided to include the Kings was for the greater good of rugby in South Africa. Saru hopes that the new franchise will develop the latent black talent in the Eastern Cape region.

‘We mustn’t forget that as Saru we are aware of the dynamics of rugby and what is expected of our sport in terms of transformation. We can talk about transforming the administration and grassroots rugby and that’s all important, but we took the decision on the Kings because we know the country wants us to transform rugby,’ Hoskins said.

‘Black rugby players traditionally come from the Eastern Cape. It’s been a huge step because we believe a franchise in the Eastern Cape will be a massive boost to black players in the region, who can come through the ranks and play for the Springboks.

‘We can’t wave a magic wand to transform rugby, but we can boost transformation in rugby by having a franchise in the Eastern Cape. We ask all South Africans to bear with us, because it will be in the best interests of rugby.

‘It will be a painful process over the next year, but it’s been done with sincerity. All 14 provinces agreed to this decision without exception.’

While it’s already been confirmed that the Kings will participate in next year’s Super Rugby competition, Saru is yet to determine which of the existing five South African franchises will fall away.

This decision is expected to be finalised on 13 July.

357 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

• 201.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-194: Talk Left Walk Right… Remember that my boy… It will help you avoid much heartache and disappointment in future…

When those mlungu schmoozers come, feigning progressiveness with big smiles…. Watch carefully…

• 202.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-198: Hiyas Morne

• 203.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-202:

Hello

• 204.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-193:
    Nja.

I don’t care what you write. At the end of it all, you be the fool… nobody else.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-197:
    You never followed black rugby. So, refrain from making statements like that.

Your knowledge of black rugby and rugby amongst people of colour in general, started in 1990.

So please….

• 205.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

JC singing for Keo’s supper.

They MUST have it.

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-204: is it coz you think im white…

• 207.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-173: The difference between us I travel to Newlands, you probabaly never been past the tunnel. AVG = Avg no matter which way you put it.

• 208.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-167: population my boy , population, can you count.

• 209.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Could somebody clarify this for me: SARU “and reforming the Cats is not an option”

So if the Lions get relegated, how will they not be impaired by the Kings joining ?

• 210.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-204: Errol Tobias the best black player pre 1990… Ever. And he didnt come from Eastern Cape…

• 211.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-206: LOL HG

• 212.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-206:

No, because I know you are a doos.

Funny at times…but still a doos. :lol:

@umkhonto(umkhonto)-207:
    The difference being, if you go to Newlands you know you’re going to watch a quality side playing rugby.

Me, going to Ellispark? What do I get out of the deal? :lol:

What tunnel?

• 213.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-211: Careful laughing at me cuzzie… You might bring all manner of vitriol on yourself on this here “progressive”, “honest” site with such eloquent, “enlightened” posters :lol:

I mean, if you disagree and expose… Someone shouts “SWART GEVAAR”…

Malemaesque…

Beyootiful

I await a few “blaady agents”, at least one “whiteprick” and maybe a coupla “racists” before this thread dies :wink:

• 214.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-212: Not even a whitedoos? Come now Nama… Hellteeth, whats an insult without a colour prefix… :lol:

• 215.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-210:
    As I said, don’t do it.

If I have to guess the names of other players that you know, Avril Williams and Wilfred Cupido will come up as well. Maybe John Noble.

Apart from that, I’d be real surprised if you know anyone else.

You know Green Vigo? Tell me about him.

• 216.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-175: Tim Dlulane was from Umtata I thought, but I may be wrong. @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-197: Tsimba is Zimbabwean, not sure what your point is because that is exactly what I’m saying, Zimbabwe is a better breeding ground than the Bulls, Sharks, Lions, Cheetahs and Stormers put together. Tsimba, Chavanga, Mujati, Beast

• 217.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-216: I’m agreeing with you…?

• 218.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-214:
    That’s your teritory HG. Not mine.

• 219.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-215: Lol… Lowest common denominator now… Suppose you going to slate Errol Tobias because too many mlungus think he is good, no?

“Green Vigo” you say…. :lol: :lol: Nama, what you been smoking, bru? :lol:

• 220.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-210: Tobias is colouered … now if you want to start talking about the Eastern Cape coloured Springboks … Floors, Fortuin, Johnson (proposed Spears captain at the time); Kirchner, Basson

The top 3 try scorers in the Super 12 from SA are Basson, Mvovo, Kirchner – no guessing where they could have been playing if there region had a franchise.

• 221.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-220: Super 15

• 222.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-216:
    Where does one put the blame for the lack of black players coming through then?

The unions or SARU? Zimbabweans were also exposed to rugby by the missionaries, just like black people from the Eastern Cape, not so?

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-217:
    Still googling Green Vigo?

• 223.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-217: my apologies then, misread your post.

• 224.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-213: :lol: boet i care what they say, i will speak to whom i please , so fark them

• 225.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Houston @ 182.LOL.
    Only at a Pentecostal service.
    Regards.

• 226.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-175: vuyisa timothy dlulane was born on the 5 of june in 1981 in Mthatha, former Transkei, Eastern Cape.

@kevin w(kevin w)-164: hanyani shimangi, owen nkumane, mac masina?

• 227.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-222: I’m just pointing out that the powerhouses and custodians of the game have not done what they should have … the game has not been transformed. There is talent, but it is just poached from the Eastern Cape. Based on this and many other factors (the Lions dismal record), the region deserves a team and an opportunity. It’s about time SARU took a stand, had they done it with the Spears, we would have had a strength vs strength solution by now.

• 228.kevin w: Reply to this comment

@EP Till I Die(Transformation)-226: shimange, nkumane and masina were Boks?

• 229.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-220: Not black, definitely “coloured”, yeah?

Oh dear…

Maybe Obama is “coloured” too…

What about “mixed coloured”… Have you heard that one… I read it early this morning in a little book by Ndumiso Ngcobo… “Is it coz I’m Black”… Nearly fell over laughing…. The guy is a genius.

Fark, you gotta love SA :lol:

• 230.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-222: Whats that… The name of your local kroeg in Nababeep… :lol:

You know there is an Indie band called Green Vigo…? Not bad… Quite shy.te actually.

• 231.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-220: “The top 3 try scorers in the Super 12 from SA are Basson, Mvovo, Kirchner – no guessing where they could have been playing if there region had a franchise”
    you just do not get it, these player will move where the money and opportunity is, as long as the Sharks, Stormers and Bulls have big Cheque books they can be born in the stadium they will not play for their home team.
    Money Talks Bullsh1t walks.

• 232.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219:
    Errol made his debut in a test match for the Boks in 1982 against Ireland in Bloemfontein, I think.

Played inside centre with Naas at FH and Danie Gerber outside centre. Every time Naas received the ball from Divan, he would give a skip pass to Danie. It became so apparent that the crowd started to chant, “skip hom, skip hom” every time Naas got the ball. Go get a video of the game and hear for yourself

So HG, no I’m not going to slate Errol as a bad player. What he was at the time, was a sell-out because you “mlungus,” as you say, only tolerated him because his presence allowed you to play international rugby.

• 233.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-228: that’s what is said on the tv everytime all three of them were invited to comment! :D

• 234.Neil: Reply to this comment

210:

And just how many from the original, non-racial SARU of that period, or before, did you see to make that comparison and worse still arrive at that conclusion?
    None is the sorry answer, thus empty racist claim again.

I can name at least 20 for that position only but since you are not interested in the factual situation just two from the W.Cape shuts you up(there is even a bigger contender from the E. Cape) and those two are K.Lentoor and M. Heemro and they played at the same time for the same high school and club and provincial team, thus one was at centre or full-back while the other was fly-half(they played with my dad).

Tobias at that time was playing for the racist S.A. ‘Kleurling Rugby Federasie’ with roots set among not more than 10 rural clubs.

It is easy to fool dummies, the way you do, even all of the time but still the average rugby person can expose you.

• 235.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-229: ja we know about ndumiso ngcobo and his stories about the complexity of his family. lighter/darker shades of brown.

• 236.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-232: Yoh… and thats that. Well said.

• 237.nama1: Reply to this comment

@kevin w(kevin w)-227:
    Absolutely agree.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-230:
    Now you have gone and gave it all away.

Not knowing who Green Vigo is? Nee man. Here I thought you were a kenner of black rugby making statements about who the “best ever” black player was and such. As I’ve told you from the star, don’t do it.

Better you say such-and-such is the best black player I’VE ever seen.

• 238.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-210: shut up, you’re talking kak…you’ve never heard of peter mkata so shut your oversused trap!

• 239.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Neil(Neilanate)-234:
    He’s baaaack!!!

Give it to him. :lol:

• 240.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Neil(Neilanate)-234: BOOM!!!

well said.

• 241.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-237:
    “Better you say such-and-such is the best black player I’VE ever seen.”

Then again, I thought you only see rugby players and not the colour of the player.

Won’t look good if you do that, would it now?

• 242.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-222:

Green Vigo was interviewed by Stellenbosch University’s Hendrik Snyders in 2008 in Saldanha. Snyders was working on a biographical essay on the former Wigan Rugby League player.

Vigo completely disappeared off the radar in 1985, not continuing as a coach or manager in the game. He lives a quiet life in the north of England, visiting friends in South Africa from time to time.

@EP Till I Die(Transformation)-238:

Nice nick. :lol:

• 243.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Neil(Neilanate)-234:

Goolam Abed, Enslin Dlambulo, David Barends, Andile Pikoli, Vernon Petersen, Louis Neumann…

It’s interesting, it appears that Chester Williams’ biography by Mark Keohane remains the only publication celebrating the career of a notable and iconic black SA rugby player.

• 244.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-242: Enkosi ;)

• 245.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-229:
    My mother was called “Other Coloured” in her ID book.

Whatever the hell that meant, I still don’t know.

• 246.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-243:

There is only 1 blogger whose syntax is so tortured that it’s begging for a quick bullet.

• 247.EP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto(umkhonto)-208: Border name two for top posts
    31 January 2012
    Monwabisi Jimlongo and Thando Gqamane

The Border Rugby Football Union (BRFU) have made two crucial appointments in a move to strengthen their administrative capabilities and revive their commercial arm.

Lefty Ngece and Richard Huey have been appointed as BRFU chief executive and general manager respectively. Ngece and Huey, who have both signed two-year contracts with BRFU, will report for duty at the Buffalo City Stadium in East London tomorrow .

Ngece joins BRFU from the Gauteng Cricket Board (GCB) while Huey was with the Sharks for six years before agreeing to work in East London.

South African Rugby Union (Saru) have finally ratified the sale of 49,1% of Border Rugby (Pty) Ltd shares to the Kilian brothers – Henri Leon and Andre.

“The Kilian brothers showed an interest in an equity partnership last year and we had no problem with that. However, that had to go to Saru. I’m happy to say the sale of the shares was finalised by the Saru executive last week,” said Ondala.

As a result of their buy-in into Border Rugby (Pty) Ltd , the Kilians uprooted the Zululand Rugby Academy based in Empangeni and moved it to Buffalo City, where it has been renamed the Border Rugby Academy.

• 248.Markel77: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-243: Dont forget dewei swartbooi. Hes in Spain now, he plays for Gernika rugby. What a legend

• 249.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Markel77(Markel77)-248:

Guernica, as in the town featured in the famous Picasso painting?

• 250.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

dont get distracted by the racial taunting :) HG is no better than Malema, he has no real point, but he picks at sensitive points to get people riled up and mad, and when they lose their cool, then he is in his comfort zone.

when discussing the merits of EC rugby and you start speaking of black talent only you miss the point of TRANSFORMATION completely.

Transformation is looking back and imagining what it would have been like if Danie Gerber could have played alonside and against the best black talent there was at the time. I dont know who they were, but looking at the pool of talent it would have been pretty amazing. Then taking that vision forwrd and trying to make it a reality.

Yes there are awesome black players being produced by the EC, but there are also still incredible white players being produced here, and one day we wont have to make the distinction. not for one eyed politicians looking for window dressing, and certainly not to one eyed rugby supporters who refuse to embrace change.

that wil be a cool day.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.