Stormers fail in Clever bid

USA loose forward Todd Clever’s loan move to the Stormers has fallen through after an agreement couldn’t be reached during negotiations.

Clever was the Stormers’ last hope of recruiting another overseas-based loose forward as they searched for quality and experienced depth during their injury crisis. With Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nick Koster and Nizaam Carr all sidelined, the USA Eagles captain expressed his interest in joining the Cape franchise on a short loan move.

However, Clever confirmed that the Stormers couldn’t settle a deal with his new Japanese club NTT Shining Arcs when the two parties consulted on Monday.

‘I did everything I could from my side. I was ready to help out,’ Clever told keo.co.za. ‘However, my understanding is that the negotiations didn’t work out between the two teams. The Stormers said they needed me ASAP, but there were issues about injury insurance costs, and release and return dates.

‘I am disappointed that I won’t get a chance now, but should something come up again, I hope a deal can be worked out.’

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee revealed that he also failed in luring other experienced loose forwards from abroad. He now plans to use players from the victorious WP Vodacom Cup squad.

‘I have been in touch with a number of players since Nizaam broke down [against the Cheetahs], but we’ve got two more games before the break and I’m going to back my local depth,’ said Coetzee. ‘I’ve been in contact with Danie Rossouw [Suntory Sungoliath, Japan] and Ernst Joubert [Saracens, England] but at this point we’re coping with the situation.’

Burger and Koster are expected to recover from their injuries after the June Test break. The duo should be ready to feature in the clash against the Lions on 30 June, while Vermeulen is only due to return to action against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on 7 July.

99 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-44:

That blogger is going to be saying very little under that user name for the foreseeable future. Trust me on that ;-)

The very next time he/she/it opens his/her/its foul germ infested mouth, he/she/it will get more of the same.

• 52.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oooo nyasty!

• 53.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

eish excuses are flying in fast and furious for the breezers

• 54.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

they have their whole team barr a few loosies

when the sharks front row, locks and loosies and some area’s of our backline was hit bad by injuries, they were in one voice shouting not to make excuses

NOU IS DAAI SKOEN OP DIE ANDER VOET, ONLY DIFFS IS IT STILL IS ONLY THEIR LOOSIES THAT IS A CONCERN

• 55.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

the other thing is quite funny how no Flanks they have been chasing wants to play for them

• 56.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-54:

Hey Bud! How ya doin mate?

I’m not going to predict anything! It is going to be one helluva game.

Can go either way, with the Sharks in the fast lane of being at home.

• 57.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-55:

They all want to play, but their teams won’t release them. Now now…

• 58.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-53:

What excuses now?

• 59.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-57: hehe knew i would lure someone out lol, hiyas Rob

If you read the threadds boet , ecuses that the injuries will be a reason for the stormers losing

not from you, but many others,Skoppie started early today with the excuses

As for the maatch agree with you, its gonna be a hellova match, and hopefully no injuries occur, eish these Sa derbies

• 60.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-58: lol boet you must learn to read other stormer supporter posts :wink:

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

pity you guys lost Pietersen for this match, the bloke has been playing great rugby

• 62.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

VD hedever is ok but his defense is not good, mvovo is gonna run over him like before, Aplon will his usual self from 15 and atleast he aint scared to tackle

• 63.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-55: You wetting your manties again? I’ll be damned if you aren’t the most snivelling, simpering and down right whinging little ‘fan’ I have ever encountered. ‘No-one loves the Sharks, No-one gives the Sharks any credit, No-one felt sorry for the Sharks when we had injuries’ ad frikkin nauseum – repeat – repeat – repeat. Groundhog day. Have you ever given a moments thought to the fact that many people don’t give a toss about the Sharks, and couldn’t care less about their injuries and setbacks? Shocking, but true. Now go and comb your chest hairs and find a ‘doll’ or a ‘hun’ to listen to your whinging.

• 64.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61:

Don’t have time to read everything SL! No excuses from my side at all. Let the best team win and your team needs to win everything from here in. Good luck. I was trying to get to the game but I’m in CT on business and only get home on Friday evening.

• 65.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-64: thanks Bill likewise mate

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-63: hey inbred Cnut , run along you attention seeking fcukhead

• 66.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-63: just like many people dont give a hoots about the stormers, and be a good little kid, as you are clearly a kid

scroll by

• 67.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-65:

Cheers mate! Off to meet some mates for a few pints so keep well.

• 68.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-64: pity, i am sure you would have had a great time in Durbs, you shoulda come to my place for a cold one, Stormerboy normally comes around, but he is on Coffee lol

• 69.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-67: cheers boet,

• 70.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-65: I thought your ‘tantrum’ quota expired earlier this morning? Doesn’t take much to get you grabbing your asthavent does it? Just remember to take the cap off before you start sucking Cyril (with you being in a right old state and all, you might forget this essential). May I ask you if you are stamping your feet and going all red and puffy in the face whilst you swear at me? (The dolls aren’t big on puffy faces and snot)

• 71.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

I’ve been a Province supporter all my life but allways had favourites from other provinces like:
    Geysie Pienaar, De Wet Ras and Jaco Rienach from Vrystaat
    Gerrie Germishuys, Francios Pienaar and Jannie Breedt from Transvaal
    Johan Heunis, Louis Moolman and Robert Du Preez from NTransvaal
    Frans Erasmus, Garth Wright and Danie Gerber from EP

But for the life of me I can only think of one great Sharks player and that’s Joubert.

• 72.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes(blue and white stripes)-71:

Luke Watson ;)

• 73.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Howzit jock!

• 74.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-72:
    I also rated Lukas Van Biljon.

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hiyas bruddas buds broers

• 76.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-74:
    Bismark reminds me of Lukas.

• 77.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sheesh this week has gone by soooooo slowly.

and the banter isnt getting any more original.

@Dawn(Dawn)-75: hi Dawnie, tell me about the comment i made that got you mad please?

• 78.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gapmouth tooth!!!!!!!!!

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Are all scots so onbeskaafd

Greet jockbok nicely then he disappears

• 80.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-77: hiyas Ranger

• 81.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-79: he left to change his skirt

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-78: huh?

i dont remember the comment honestly?

did i refer to someones teeth?

i dont think i could have, i havent done that it 6 years of blogging here?

@Dawn(Dawn)-79: us scots are a CANNY BUNCH.

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-80: howdy bud

• 84.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Weird! I coulda sworn he was here

• 85.rangerman: Reply to this comment

got 8 big delicious crays today, my mate shot a nice snoek and then we tried to fight off a grey shark but he was too quick.

left my mate with just the head.

• 86.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the snoeks head, not my mates lol.

• 87.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

i’m always supportive of mates who get some head.

• 88.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-87: :lol:

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Snoek head is best part

• 90.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

dawnertjie will know.

• 91.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What

• 92.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-91: yes. dont you what me.

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What are you talking about

• 94.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-93: what are you talking about?

• 95.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-89: really?

but sharks teeth have bacteria ao we dont eat anytthing a shark has bitten.

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

OK what about a snoek a shark hasn’t bitten

Fry it, it’s lekker

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-96: ja but our snoek are different to yours Dawnie.

ours are Queen Mackerel.

they are delicious though i must say so that shark took our supper.

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What I know about all the species

I just eat it!

• 99.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Spose it’s a problem not knowing where it comes from

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.