Alberts beefs up Sharks pack

Willem Alberts will start against the Stormers while Pat Lambie has been selected at fullback.

Alberts’ return to the starting side sees Marcell Coetzee shifting to openside and Jacques Botes dropping to the bench. Like his coaching counterpart at the Stormers, John Plumtree has opted for five forwards on the bench in anticipation of a big clash up front. There is no room for Jean Deysel.

Plumtree has also made some interesting selections in the backline. Lambie is picked at No 15, a position he is set to play for the Boks next month. Freddie Michalak is retained at No 10 while Meyer Bosman comes in for the injured Tim Whitehead at inside centre.

Lambie’s introduction at fullback sees Riaan Viljoen dropping out of the match 22. Odwa Ndungane and Louis Ludik are promoted to the bench.

Sharks – 15. Pat Lambie, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Meyer Bosman, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Freddie Michalak, 9. Charl McLeod, 8. Keegan Daniel (c), 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Anton Bresler, 4. Steven Sykes, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16. Craig Burden, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Ryan Kankowski, 20. Jacques Botes, 21. Odwa Ndungane, 22. Louis Ludik.

85 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

Going to be a cracker – IMO the biggest loss to the Stormers is actually Vermeulen – he has been exceptionally good at getting under the Sharks skins the last few years. The rest are manageable. Sadly, I suspect the man with the biggest influence will be kortgat peyper. From what I hear he was not the most popular student at Grey College and I suspect he may have a little payback in mind for the FS “A” side :)

• 52.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-50: Well,if it is under control, then that statement is no longer accurate – is it?

• 53.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-52:Is an alcoholic no longer an alcoholic when he stops drinking? Illness is illness mate.

• 54.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-53: so if you had acne as a teenager, should I still call you pimple face

• 55.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-53:
    I’m afraid you have a point,if he stops the medicine he is full skilferkop.

• 56.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@JamesNkomo(JamesNkomo)-51:

agree. Vermeulen, the best no8 in the country

• 57.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-56:
    Yep,when he’s on the field Stormers tackiling opposition backwards,very noticeable that the intensity is not there when Dwayne is not playing.

• 58.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@SuperStirrer(SuperStirrer)-34: I disagree, the best games were once Plum had allowed the combinations to settle! Now Whitehead could not be helped, but Lambie should have been at 10! but on deeper scrutiny I think this may be an indication of how Plum whants to play, so it can go one of two ways, be a stroke of genius, in which case I will be over the moon and will personally write a letter of apology to Plum or it will go real sour, and then I will be after Plum’s head!

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-50: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :mrgreen: killer

• 60.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-55: hehehehe you okes are bad…i haven’t seen this lambie “dandruff” ad!

• 61.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-60: Basically the SA version of the Ronaldo ad

• 62.JamesNkomo: Reply to this comment

damn you can call me skilferballas for all I care if you pay me enough

• 63.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-60:

Here is the link:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfLk6JpHhfw

Now I know why people players are reluctant to tackle him :)

• 64.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-63:

players and their supplimentary income :D

• 65.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-63: Yup. It puts the Schalk Burger hand off into perspective.

• 66.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-63: Like Jacques kallis huh??

• 67.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-63: That must explain Lambie giving Schalk Burger some palm action.

• 68.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-66: You are so sensitive Hor-moan. Remind me of old Cam (eron) from Modern Family you do. So quick to weep, whinge, wave your hands.

• 69.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Look here is some nick names me and friends use for players to spice the rivalry…some we got here!

Sharks:
    Beast
    Pumpedipumppump
    einamyfokkinarmekis’ndokter Jannie
    Waar is daniels…wag wag….ek het op hom getrap!
    Freddy misstackle
    Turnstile Bosman
    Coconut mvovo
    Skilferkop lambie

Stormers
    Vlamme kitshof
    Solid as a brock
    popgun grant
    banana aftree pakket habana of leprechaun altyd lucky
    Pantoffel
    donkey JDV
    Gifappeltjie Gio
    Other teams
    DP oosthuizen (Coenie doodpoes)
    Crusty the clown Kirchner
    Spuitnaald SPies
    Tappit tor Francois hougaard
    Meisiekind wynand

What nicknames do you have?

• 70.Puma: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-44: Something I never thought of. Damn that could have been brilliant! Monster loose trio that would have been…lol.

• 71.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Not sure why Deysel’s not in the Sharks’ match 22?
    Selecting Michlak at 10 is an unmitigated risk, more so with Lambie out of position, does Plum plan early return soon to his native land? ;)
    The Sharks’ troubles start with Peiper the match referee, he probably will worth the Stormers 10 points if not more
    Stormers by 10-13

• 72.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-71: Lambie is not out of position at fb, he is excellent there, just that Sharks play better with him at fh.

I don’t think Peyper is great either.

• 73.Superbru: Reply to this comment

Interesting selections,sure gonna make for an interesting game.Or it could just as well backfire quite spectacularly.

• 74.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-72:
    I think a 10- Lambie, 15-Ludik is much better, stronger selection
    Why was Deysel left out?
    Peiper technically comes 2nd best after Kaplan but he is suspected of bending matches if instructed so by SARU (from the wageres’ perspective)

@Superbru(Superbru)-73:
    Will backfire for sure, since the easiest way to beat the Stormers would be with Lambies’ educated boot up front to turn the Stormers often.

• 75.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-72: Puma boet, dont be surprised if the run on side looks a little different then what you are seing now

• 76.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-75: Howzit boet,

You think they may change this starting side?

I am disappointed that we never went with consistency. Should have started with Pat at fh and Ludik at fb. Both were great before their injuries. What I am most disappointed about is that Deysel is left out. Just can’t understand that?

Will still be supporting our boys 100s, but feel this selection could backfire. Then again like the paper says ‘Double Trouble’ with Lambie and Freddie starting. Just have to see. Plum could be on the money here, who knows???

I think by leaving Deysel out Plum might have killed his chances at a Bok call up. Meyer will wonder why we have not selected him this weekend. Could be we really need a back up to our locks I suppose with PSDT there.

• 77.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Jaco Peyper? Ooh fok! He penalises the Stormers as if they’re a NZ team. Nee man!

• 78.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam if this bugger match sharp and beast and bismark in – going go be the match of the year / gdam better find a placecshoeingbthis one.

• 79.cab: Reply to this comment

Bad move not selecting deysel – might be the diffference – wp to sneak – hg ou seun jy gaan kak – plumtree shoulda picked deysel – that coulda then gone either way at kings park

• 80.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

“Alberts beefs up pack”

by which they surely mean aged oxen with the dexterity’o'foot of a pregnant elephant and the speed of a sloth.

• 81.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-80:

Still trolling around Saffa sites, offering up little except drivel and bile, hey my little Aussie twat?

Faaking doos!

• 82.whatever: Reply to this comment

Do something useful and go relieve an itch with your mother………….like you always do on a Friday…….

• 83.Manona: Reply to this comment

Sharks on the rise. Biz & Beast will run through those young fullahs in the pack & Michalak will get the ball past the umbrella defence

Sharks by 7ish…

• 84.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-81:

still traumatised by the experience of walking in on your Daddy being butt-phcuked by a big hairy Kiwi sheepfarmer ?

He must have thought that coat of back hair was wool, huh.

It must be tough being the product of @nal-reproduction. It looks like youre coping much as expected.

• 85.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Michalak’s tactical kicking inferior to Lambie’s. Hope he tries his fancy tricks – plays right into the hands of the Stormers.

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.