Meyer granted extra opportunity
24 May 2012
Heyneke Meyer will hold a fourth and final planning camp in Durban from Sunday with 42 players invited to attend.
This will be the final opportunity for Meyer to work with the players before the final Springbok squad to face England meets on 3 June.
The camp will take place on 27 and 28 May. The players will depart Durban around midday on Monday and will be back with their Super Rugby franchises for training in the afternoon.
‘We discussed this with the franchise CEOs recently and they’ve been very accommodating, as they were earlier in the season,’ said Meyer.
‘We’ve planned it in Durban, because the Stormers take on the Sharks at Kings Park the day before and will be there already. Players from the Bulls, Lions and Cheetahs will fly in on Sunday morning.
‘This is by no means a final Springbok squad and the door will be open for all our eligible players until the announcement of the squad that will take on England.
‘This camp will put in place a number of the finer details in terms of what we want to achieve against England. We will hit the ground running on 3 June, when we converge in Durban for the first Test with a final squad.’
Meyer said that they will keep in touch with the Super Rugby franchises regarding injured players, but that they weren’t considered for this camp.
Players invited to the final Springbok Planning Camp in Durban on 27 and 28 May:
Forwards (22): Coenie Oosthuizen, Tendai Mtawarira, Dean Greyling, Jannie du Plessis, Pat Cilliers, Werner Kruger, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Flip van der Merwe, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Juandré Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Heinrich Brüssow, Keegan Daniel, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss.
Backs (20): Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl, Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen.

596 Comments
24 May 2012, 08:49 am
Yeah one step closer DRAGONS
24 May 2012, 08:51 am
who the fck is Peter Grant?
nice to see Akona getting an invite. doubt he’d ever start or even play but definately one of the 3 smartest backs in our country for me.
24 May 2012, 08:51 am
Keegan Danial over Siya Kolisi? Is this some sick twisted joke?
Sho Meyer…
That said, great squad.
24 May 2012, 08:52 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-3:
I was just looking at that……
24 May 2012, 08:53 am
well i can tell you baniel, kankowski, deysel and jantjes will definetely be culled.
Meisiekind?!
JJ?!
surprise ommision is frans steyn.
24 May 2012, 08:55 am
strauss wont make the final cut either.
24 May 2012, 08:55 am
houston, I see you voted…
Is it a setback for the Boks that Matfield won’t be able to play against England?
No 19
Yes 1
24 May 2012, 08:56 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-3:
agreed.
kolisi should at least have gotten a nod of sorts from hm.
he’s playing well.
24 May 2012, 08:56 am
Daniel wont get selected but deserved the call up… Kolisi should have been there…
24 May 2012, 08:57 am
Olivier and JJ over Ebersohn and Whitehead?
24 May 2012, 08:58 am
Good to see Piet van Zyl’s name in there, if he keeps up the good work he may even make the cut…that is if Naka does not decide to play Tewis again!
24 May 2012, 08:58 am
Unacceptable.
So now the poor Bulls Boks, who have been away from their families and newborns for 4 weeks need to fly straight from Hamilton to Durban and postpone seeing their loved ones by yet another 2 days?
I’m not happy with this arrangement.
24 May 2012, 08:59 am
Plenty of youngsters,but is this a squad that can beat the Poms with their Bulldog mentality?
24 May 2012, 08:59 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-9:
hahahaha
you will all be crying for a hero come june 9.
24 May 2012, 09:02 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: Oh my word… Just saw Kankow and Strauss are there… I like Strauss but he’s seriously mediocre.
And then JJ? Seriously…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5: Jantjies is a great player playing for a kak side, Grant should go first, and I’m a Stormer.
@Superbru(Superbru)-15:
Speaking of which…got 55 so far…
http://www.superbru.com/wintertours/pool.asp?p=281628
Pool name: The Meyer’s first test
Pool code: gullrent
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14: Hahahahaha shame!
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14:
Ag shame,being a Bok is rather a big responsibility playing for one’s country and sometimes one needs to make sacrifices hey?
24 May 2012, 09:03 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16:
Maybe but Matfield is not the guy.
24 May 2012, 09:04 am
it’s not a serious squad call up….or is it?
were is frans steyn is he back from france yet?
24 May 2012, 09:05 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-20:
Hahahaha mamma se rokspant wag!
Of course it won’t include overseas players yet.
@Bagel(Bagel)-17:
he is good when he pushes himself hard enough but at the moment is not playing good enough rugby.
but more importantly he is surplus to requirements when considering the whole squad and knowing hm…. nothing personal, just a ‘winning rugby’ decision.
24 May 2012, 09:06 am
Jeez, being called up to a Bok training camp these days is SUCH a drag.
And for a full 2 days…my word. Its Staaldraad: The Return of Stroooli.
24 May 2012, 09:06 am
Would have liked to see Robert Ebersohn there but maybe he will get a chance later on.
24 May 2012, 09:07 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-17:
agreed on grant though, will prob not make final cut.
24 May 2012, 09:08 am
Looking at the squad, I like it.
The right players are there.
24 May 2012, 09:10 am
Just as I suspected, Meyer has gone Bulls heavy. By skimming through the list I can see 15 Bulls and only 8 Stormers. The bulk of the Stormers squad will get a much needed rest over the England tour, whilst the Bulls will be run into the ground. Thank you HM, you the man!!!!
24 May 2012, 09:10 am
Come on Ebersohn fans. The guy can’t even make the Cheetahs starting line up consistently, and is too small for international rugby as a centre. And at flyhalf, he isn’t in our top 3.
24 May 2012, 09:14 am
That’s a very good training squad. Add a couple of overseas based players like Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and MAYBE Gurthro and Bakkies, and Heyneke will be able to put together a team that will put the hurt on the English. Two youngsters I would have liked to see there are Kitshoff and Kolisi, but it’s still very potent.
@Bagel(Bagel)-3: @Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: well meyer was told not to select kolisi until he is absolutely sure that he is ready for Test rugby. there were no such articles about marcell coetzee or cj stander, which one can take it as they’re seen as READY for Test rugby.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: You do realise they are twin brothers not the same player? Some serious ambiguity there.
Ebersohn should be there ahead of JJ that’s for damn certain, but then again it hardly matters as JJ will drop out first (We can only hope).
24 May 2012, 09:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-33: Yeah dude most ridiculous article ever. That’s how you boost a young player, your first article on him is about how NOT-ready he is, unlike Pat he is the future of South African rugby, or was that Frans Steyn? Or Pierre Spies?
Clowns the lot of them, Siya will force his way in, even if he has to put in double the amount of effort.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: How can you say he can’t make starting line up of Cheetahs? Robert has started every game and he has never played flyhalf. No one here has said Sias should be called up so not sure where the flyhalf issue comes in.
Tactitus
Your eyesiight is %$^^&*^ , Talking about Robert not Sias .Rob has played every game fro the cheetahs for the last 2 seasons ,and has had a great season . Sias however has his ups and downs . . .twins . . .
24 May 2012, 09:17 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-33: well what could the resons be transie?
tell us
24 May 2012, 09:17 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: you are confusing the two boys clearly, robert ebersohn – he has started every game – is the centre and sias is the flyhalf – he’s has a hondkak season.
get a cup of coffee,.
24 May 2012, 09:18 am
WTF are Pat Cilliers, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Elton Jantjies, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Akona Ndungane and Zane Kirchner doing there. Bull’s quota players.
24 May 2012, 09:18 am
Exclusions of note: Kolisi, Elstadt, Duvenhage, McLeod, Whitehead, Ebersohn, Viljoen, Danillier.
Interesting inclusions: Cilliers, Daniel, Deysel, Kankowski, v Zyl, Vermaak, Grant, Engelbrecht, Ndungane, Taute, Pietersen.
MY starting XV: Taute, Pietersen, de Jong/ de Villiers, Olivier, Aplon, Steyn, Hougaard, Spies, Coetzee, Brussow, Kruger, Etzebeth, du Plessis, du Plessis, Mtawarira.
Would replace Olivier with F Steyn and Mtawarira with Steenkamp if overseas players are included.
24 May 2012, 09:20 am
11 Players ‘of colour’ in squad:
x7 ‘coloured’ players
x4 ‘black’
Pretty damn representative!
24 May 2012, 09:21 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-35: which article was this?
kolisi has no problem, he will be a bok imo.
24 May 2012, 09:21 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-38: you think i know what goes on in the minds of these souties
24 May 2012, 09:22 am
Shame Sadie the only Bulls player not to have made it. Kirschner, Spies and Basson are the jokers in the squad my guess.
24 May 2012, 09:23 am
@The Analyst(The Analyst)-42: and kolisi to add soon enough.
and its all happening so seamlessly these days no stress and no pressure, the talent both black and white is coming through nicely.
24 May 2012, 09:24 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-30:
“Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns. Who’s gonna do it? You? You, Lt. Coetzee? I have a greater responsibility than you could possibly fathom.”
“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want me on that wall, you need me on that wall. We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. You use them as a punchline.
I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand a post.
Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to.”
@Transformation(Transformation)-44: no, i dont, tell us?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14:
Fly the loved ones to Durbs! Leave the kids at home and pomp all weekend!
Lekker man!
24 May 2012, 09:25 am
@garth(garth)-40: In your list you have Lions, Sharks, WP and Bulls players, why pick on the Bulls players. Grant should also not be there.
Meyer basically selected all the Sharks loosies, so he cannot replace Spies with a Sharks player. He selected Strauss (Lions). Johson is going overseas and he is defintely not good enough to be considered as an overseas player. Oh of course, he should select the Canadian!
24 May 2012, 09:26 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-43: In the latest SA Rugby I think.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-47:
@rangerman(rangerman)-46:
See what happens when you leave government out of things and run the show like a professional business …. even though SARU have a lot of changing to do to become ‘professional.
But it is a start!
I think Kings is a GREAT boost for our rugby …
24 May 2012, 09:27 am
Interesting…. No Sadie, thought Meyer rated the youngster… Think his confidence is a bit low at the mo after begin dropped for Engelbregcht
24 May 2012, 09:27 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-34: And right there Tact’s foot meets his mouth lol. Next he will be complaining that the poor Bulls have to stay away from their families an extra week………wait hold on.
24 May 2012, 09:28 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-51: Literally was about how he is NOT ready for test Rugby.
Who does that? They wrote similar sh*t about Elton Jantjies as well. I’m not saying either of them should start but that’s not how you bring up young promising talent and the way they cover ‘other’ young players makes one wonder…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-47:
very good very good.
Blue Boks taking shape nicely…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-47: WOW!?!?!?!?! Thank you!
24 May 2012, 09:29 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-57:
i know
24 May 2012, 09:29 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-51: Well given how Jake messed up with Ralepele and Loberts against Meyer’s wishes we should rather take Meyer’s stance on this one.
24 May 2012, 09:30 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-59:
24 May 2012, 09:30 am
This proves that Meyer is an idiot.
24 May 2012, 09:32 am
@garth(garth)-63: @lepel(lepel)-37: The point is we will always differ on opinions on players depending who you support , thats ok.
What irritates me is that when I differ from you ….. then I am an idiot or if you don’t like a player ( Spies) then he’s an idiot…
Who are we to judge the character of players and people , and what make me/you an athourity on character or rugby ?
Its ok to differ, its ok to prefer certain players above other, but to say the player is an idiot cause I don’t like his style of play … to me thta sound like an idiot.
Lets agree not to be idiots…..
24 May 2012, 09:32 am
Coenie Oosthuizen – No. Is this the same Coenie that got killed by Brok ‘Fattie’ Harris?
Tendai Mtawarira – Yes. Just back from injury. Playing well but carrying some extra weight.
Dean Greyling – Yes. Annoyingly yes though.
Jannie du Plessis – Yes. Still has problems with discipline.
Pat Cilliers – No. Huh?? I don’t mind picking outstand players from **** teams but he is not outstanding.
Werner Kruger – Yes. Not better than Brok and is a bit soft.
Bismarck du Plessis – Yes. Needs to get back to basics.
Adriaan Strauss – Yes. Best hooker right now, playing with a short lineout.
Chiliboy Ralepelle – Yes.
Flip van der Merwe – Yes, another walking yellow card. Between Flip, Jannie and Bismarck, I am not sure.
Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker – Yes
Juandré Kruger – Yes. Needs to get back to basics.
Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Keegan Daniel – No. Haven’t done enough and not better or stronger than Kolisi. They are blindside flankers and not scavengers. If ever there was a chance to pick a black player on merit, Kolisi is it. Meyer is looking for kak.
Heinrich Brüssow – Tackling more than scavenging these days. More penalties than steals. Is there still a need for a fetcher or is a Francois Louw more valuable?
Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss – No standout here.
Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl – Yes for all of them.
Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant – Yes for all. Horses for courses, I guess. Depends on the gameplan being played.
Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht – JJ is probably there for his versatility. I’d start with 12. de Jongh and 13. De Villiers. Statistically de Jongh makes more linebreaks than Olivier. So if that’s the only role, then de Jongh is better.
Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane – Yes for all. Would’ve had Willie Le Roux instead of Akona
Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen – Yes. Would start with Jaco Taute.
24 May 2012, 09:34 am
Ebershohn, Kolisi, Elstadt, Whitehead notable ommissions. JJ, Olivier, Kirschner, Basson will be cut soon too.
24 May 2012, 09:34 am
@garth(garth)-63: And you are not??? Given that you are a Stormers supporter. How many trophies did you help them win in the last 10 years?
24 May 2012, 09:35 am
Injuries aside,the Super 15′s best in form players seem to have been called up for the squad.Only area that holds questions for me is the loosies.Where is Kolisi?
24 May 2012, 09:35 am
@garth(garth)-63:
this may well prove to you that meyer is an idiot, but you proved yourself an even bigger one long ago
24 May 2012, 09:36 am
As below, HM has made some disappointingly stupid decisions.
Ndungane over Le Roux – dumb!
Kankowski over Kolisi – dumb!
Olivier over Ebersohn – dumb!
Zane over Daniller – dumb!
Is this a plan by HM to get better players moving to PTA so they can play for the Boks?
24 May 2012, 09:36 am
@garth(garth)-63:
you’re an idiot.
24 May 2012, 09:37 am
My Starting team would be
15.) Jaco Taute
14.) JP Pietersen
13.) Jean de Villiers
12.) Juan de Jongh
11.) Bryan Habana
10.) Pat Lambie
9.) Francois Hougaard
8.) Pierre Spies – Should have been Vermeulen
7.) Willem Alberts – Should have been Burger
6.) Heinrich Brussouw – Should have been Kolisi
5.) Andries Bekker
4.) Eben Etsebeth
3.) Werner Kruger – Pity Greyling doesn’t want to play tighthead.
2.) Bismarck du Plessis
1.) Beast Mtawaria
@garth(garth)-70: In your opinion!
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-65: Willie Le Roux still has a lot of work to do before he even comes into consideration. His defence is extremely poor. On most other points I can agree.
24 May 2012, 09:40 am
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-74:
Agreed, I’m sure he can tackle as effectively as Akona. I just think if you are going to pick fringe players, looking for x-factor should be considered.
24 May 2012, 09:40 am
@Horings(Horings)-73: No fcken kidding!
24 May 2012, 09:43 am
@garth(garth)-70: Meyer has said that he is going for experience for this England tour. All the players you mentioned have been picked because they have more experience than the ones left out. I think the Rugby Championship squad will give better insight to what Meyer is planning. I do agree with you however though on 3 of those 4. Just Willie Le Roux that is not good enough.
24 May 2012, 09:44 am
Tac has just been thrust into a vortex of uncertainty. Two Ebersohns? How can this be? When did this glitch in the matrix occur? This is like a major rip in the fabric of the space-time continuum. How does one simply forget everything you thought you knew?
24 May 2012, 09:45 am
Mense is weer bevok hier vandag
24 May 2012, 09:46 am
Tough on Kolisi. Can’t help it, but every time i think of Coetzee, I think hand-off and face plant.
@Bagel(Bagel)-56: oh didnt read that, sorry.
i agree, its bs.
anyways, byegones, wek time guys cheers.
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-75: Yeah I’m not a big Akona fan but he has more experience than Willie and as said in previous post, that is what Meyer is looking for now.
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-72: That’s a pretty good team there. I don’t think it’s the one Meyer will pick, but it will certainly do the business.
Jannie in for Werner, Morne Steyn in for Lambie and Frans Steyn in, either at 12 or 15. Other than that, I think you’ve picked Meyer’s side.
@Horings(Horings)-61: and there’s no risk of “messing” stander or coetzee, neh?
24 May 2012, 09:47 am
Twins are freaks of nature, against the order of things.
24 May 2012, 09:47 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-78: Haha.
24 May 2012, 09:48 am
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-77: I hear what you are saying, but surely the England tour is the better opportunity to try new things out, rather then the All Blacks and Wallabies?
24 May 2012, 09:49 am
@garth(garth)-76: Well if something is in your opinion then do not call the Bok coach f stupid as he knows more than you. Just say “I disagree.” Just remember that Meyer is a superb professional player manager and if it is his opinion that Kolisi may suffer from being selected at age 20 into the Bok team then you have to respect his opinion.
I will say Elstadt is the unlucky one. As he will cover lock and loosie and may be a good option from the bench.
Tac is now officially upset.
sadly idiot like garf are the price one has to pay when living in Cape Town.
swings and roundabouts
@pompies2(pompies2)-80:
you mean like when kolisi knocked himself out on elton?
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-65: Coenie killed? Huh when? Oh yes! That game when Harris knew he had no chance against Coenie and scrummed in skew… which caused Coenie to lose his grip?
On the other hand, Beast looked like he did his own prostate checking against WP Nel this past weekend.
24 May 2012, 09:50 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-83:
But will a Stormer centre pairing be able to create/score tries?
24 May 2012, 09:51 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-78: hahahaha good one
glitch.
24 May 2012, 09:51 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-92: That’s why I think Steyn at 12 and De Villiers at 13 with De Jongh on the bench.
24 May 2012, 09:52 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-84: Just because they are the same age does not mean they are at the same emotional stage of their lives. I do not know one of them personally, but Heyneke got to know each of them and remember that Rassie also had some inputs.
24 May 2012, 09:53 am
i think the really great thing about this entire extra camp is that it is the first time i can remember franchises really putting themselves out to try and assist the national coach.
I guess all these guys rate heyneke as a coach and a person .
24 May 2012, 09:54 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-92:
My thoughts exactly. The pack has paved the way to their success and you have two forwards there and almost the whole backline. I think he will be playing the defensive game against England.
24 May 2012, 09:55 am
Will the Boks be playing in a Blue (or pink) strip against the English? Siya has probably been excluded because he hasn’t attended a Mighty Men conference Coetzee and Stander both do the ‘religious’ thing (a la Meyer) with much enthusiasm from what I can gather. Siya just needs to be photographed with Oom Angus and all will be resolved. Pffft – pretty disgusted with his exclusion – BUT: at least he he is spared the embarrassment of running out with Spies. Siya and Rhynhardt will be raring to and prove themselves……bad news for these other pretenders.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:
Yep,Steyn is a playmaker at 12,Boks gonna miss Jaques Fourie,as Stormers do.
@Bouts(Bouts)-91:
Hahahaha, don’t be naive. Go ask any prop if they’ve always scrummed legally.
24 May 2012, 09:56 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-87: Yes England will be a better place to test players. I am just saying what I think Meyer is doing as he has said that he will stick with experience for now.
I don’t agree with all his picks but I don’t think Willie Le Roux is even close to Bok quality yet. Maybe I will be proven wrong at some stage. I also don’t think Olivier deserves to be there. However this is Meyer’s first squad and while we will all agree and disagree with some picks we need to give Meyer some time here. He could be starting something special.
24 May 2012, 09:57 am
Aggg jeez Meyer wtf?
WTF
Pat Cilliers
Kankowski
Wynand Olivier
JJ Engelbreacht – I mean really
Akona Ndungane (looks like a lot of Bulls bias going on)
BORDERLINE
Keegan Daniel
Josh Strauss
Elton Jantjes
Bjorn Basson
WHERE ARE:
Kolisi
Ashley Johnson
Robert Ebersohn
YESSSS:
Etzebeth
CJ Stander
Jaco Taute
Joe Pietersen (only if he starts)
@Transformation(Transformation)-84: Stander and Coetzee have the Mighty Men Conference T-shirts…….Siya has yet to prove himself as a religious man. Once he steps up on that side of things, he will be included.
@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-82:
Yeah, I hear what you are saying. I just think having another look of Willie Le Roux in a camp like that instead of reliable Akona is more valuable. Anyway, Meyer probably doesn’t rate him. I’m always confused as to what is meant by the value of experience.
24 May 2012, 09:58 am
@Horings(Horings)-88: Eldstadt gives away too many penalties to play test rugby. He has great potential, but needs to tone down his temperament somewhat, although he could teach Spies to man up.
24 May 2012, 09:59 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-98:
Yep,Kolisi and Elstadt will have something to prove in the final stages of super 15,bodes well for Strompies.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-103: religion?
Players invited to the final Springbok Planning Camp in Durban on May 27-28:
Forwards (22):
Coenie Oosthuizen, Tendai Mtawarira, Dean Greyling, Jannie du Plessis, Pat Cilliers, Werner Kruger, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Flip van der Merwe, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Juandré Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Heinrich Brüssow, Keegan Daniel, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss
Backs (20):
Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl, Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen
What the fark is keegan daniel doing here?
Unfarking believable.
24 May 2012, 10:00 am
@garth(garth)-105:
… not to mention Flip and Bissie…
24 May 2012, 10:00 am
@Horings(Horings)-88:
treu.
elstadt is the knid of vuilgat i’d have in my team anytime.
pity he hasn’t made the squad.
24 May 2012, 10:01 am
@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-65:
Coenie Oosthuizen – No.
Tendai Mtawarira – Yes. Just back from injury. Don’t think he’s carrying weight. Scrumming like a machine!
Dean Greyling – Not convinced
Jannie du Plessis – Yes. Still has problems with discipline. Agree
Pat Cilliers – No. Huh?? I don’t mind picking outstand players from **** teams but he is not outstanding. Agree
Werner Kruger – Yes. Not better than Brok and is a bit soft. Agree
Bismarck du Plessis – Yes. Needs to get back to basics.
Adriaan Strauss – Yes but sorted out by Bissie last week.
Chiliboy Ralepelle – Yes.
Flip van der Merwe – No. No rugby brain at all
Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker – Yes
Juandré Kruger – No
Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Keegan Daniel – Yes to all. Coetzee has been find of the year, and Daniel in sublime form. Don’t think he’s big enough for international rugby. Kolisi is good but not that good.
Heinrich Brüssow – Tackling more than scavenging these days. More penalties than steals. Still worth his weight in gold
Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss – happy with all.
Francois Hougaard, Yes.Jano Vermaak, Maybe. Piet van Zyl – No
Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant – Yes for all. Horses for courses, I guess. Depends on the gameplan being played.
Wynand Olivier, Hell no! Jean de Villiers, Yes. Juan de Jongh, Yes. JJ Engelbrecht – NOOOOO!!
Bryan Habana, NOOOO!! Bjorn Basson, No – defensively poor. JP Pietersen, Hell yes! Gio Aplon, Yes. Lwazi Mvovo, Yes. Akona Ndungane – Maybe
Zane Kirchner, HELL NO!! Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen – Yes to the rest. I think that Kirchner is two-bob.
This all goes to show how we have such differing opinions, and I am glad that I am not Bok coach. I am sure that many of you feel the same…that you’re glad that I’m not coach!
24 May 2012, 10:04 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-103: ………..
24 May 2012, 10:05 am
@garth(garth)-107: I’m being sarcy because I am peed off at his exclusion. I can find NO reason as to why Stander and Coetzee ARE there, and Siya isn’t. It isn’t form or talent….so it must be something to do with Meyer’s personal choice. This personal choice of his might go a long way in explaining the inclusion of a player like JJ.
24 May 2012, 10:07 am
@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-108: Keegan Daniel and Josh Strauss are there purely because they captain their franchises……
24 May 2012, 10:08 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-113: Stander and Coetzee are in phenomenal form. I also feel Kolisi should be there, but his omission doesn’t mean they should be left out too.
Tac,are you telling me the bulls players cannot afford to fly their families down to Dbn?
This is what they do for a living.
Don’t like it,find another job.
You are now a honorary stormers supporter cause of your hysterics.
@Travis_Shark(Travis_Shark)-111: Once you start comparing players and say JdJ at 12 and JDV at 13 and Olivier is worse than JDJ. Does this mean that their coaches are idiots cause they play JdV and Olivier at 12 both ( Frans at 12 ) are bigger than JdJ who plays at 13.
24 May 2012, 10:10 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-115: If Burger returns would Kolisi still play?
24 May 2012, 10:12 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-113: Maybe cause JJ can play more than 1 position
24 May 2012, 10:13 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-78:
Poor tac is googling The Matrix.
He thought it was a bittersweet tearjerker about a group of students final year at school.
Or in Garf’s case years.
24 May 2012, 10:15 am
@Travis_Shark(Travis_Shark)-111: You do realise you have rejected so many players , that if they Pick your team , we would only be able to pick 10 players that has the Travis Shark aproveal stamp on them. It could be possible to beat Souties with 10 men , but I think it will be tough.
Kollisi vs Keegan is a no brainer really.
Firstly – Keegen is in awesome form and is keeping 2 Bok number 8′s outa the team.
Secondly – Kollisi is a flank or rather he is playing flank at the moment so he and Keegan is not playing for the same spot. Its between Kollisi , Brussow and Marcell , Brussow picks himself evens half fit and Meyer reckons at this stage Marcel is better than Kollisi. I disagree but hey I never coached at Bok level or won several Super rugby trophies. Besides Kollisi is still young , I reckon he will along with the likes of CJ Stander , Carr and Marcell be part of the Bok squad for many years.
I have no problem with this squad and in any case Meyer said that this is not final. Maybe he just want to double check with some players and in some like Kollisi he already knows the capabilities and made up his mind. Heck in Meyer’s mind Kollisi could be his first choice and he is looking for a backup.
Relax guys
Travis_Shark #111 – According to your post who on earth would you choose? You have said Nooooooo to most of SA’s top players!!
I see F Steyn is not there but i think he is an automatic shue in!!
24 May 2012, 10:18 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-120:
24 May 2012, 10:18 am
Great to see Keegan the Lionheart in the Mix…
SA’s own Jean Pierre Rives.
Boks are most successful with a Soutie Shark Captain at the helm.
Maybe Keegan could be a surprise choice for Captain….
It makes sense…
Like the fact that the Wrecking Ball Coetzee is there too… Looks like Meyer sees the same things as Honest, Knowledgeable Rugby supporters…
Good one Heyneke… Like your thinking Coach.
24 May 2012, 10:23 am
Isnt it nice for a coach to have Universal Respect from all Saffa Rugby fans…
Meyer seems to have that ability, as Nick Mallet has pointed out, of being a good selector first…
No fear or favour, he even has a couple of Breezing blonde bombshells in the backs….
Not sure about Donkey, and I am on my knees everyday that Meyer doesn’t buy into any Stormer propaganda and make this chap Captain, but little Joe Pietersen deserves his opportunity 100%.
24 May 2012, 10:24 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-123: Steyn is in France still is he not ?
@ Heavens Game – U almost make me wanna change my mind. Poor shark fans have to live with guys like you lol , ahh well the Bulls fans have Tact. Pity we lost G10
24 May 2012, 10:24 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-90: kinda, but it’s not the same. Coetzee was fly-swotted. A “don’t agrue” as Ozzies\Kiwis would say. Or vokkof\voetsek as we would say.
24 May 2012, 10:25 am
@capebull(capebull)-118: If I were the coach, yes.
24 May 2012, 10:25 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-125: Yup that’s why we won the last WC with JS as Cappie
24 May 2012, 10:26 am
@garth(garth)-105: does elstadt give away more penalties than most blindsides in this country, is he topping the penalties conceded column?
24 May 2012, 10:27 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-115: Exactly the point I was making. He has 3 – he selects 2. So it must be down to his personal choice. I’m just curious as to what inspired his choice. Can’t be form, work rate etc – so it’s something else. I’m just walking down the ‘religion’ road, because it’s one of Meyers ‘things’.
42 players.
Does the ruling of no more than 3 overseas-based players in the Springbok side still exist?
If so, then I reckon Meyer is expecting Francois Steyn, Fourie Du Preez and one of either Ruan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw or Gurthro Steenkamp to join the extended squad and make it 45.
The likes of Elstadt, Kolisi and Sadie will get their chance – along with Goosen, Kitshoff et al.
Well done to Peter Grant who has earned his place in this group.
Also pleased that Meyer is leaning towards youth by not picking CJ Van Der Linde as a stop-gap cover for both prop positions.
CJ has experience, for sure, but has struggled for form for a good few years now.
Plus, from what I can tell, CJ’s been playing a lot more at 1 than at 3 lately (when fit, which is rarely).
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-120:
He thought the Matrix Trilogy was made up of:
Matrix: The Exam
Matrix: The Farewell
Matrix: The Holiday
24 May 2012, 10:28 am
Lots of wings in the mix – I count six. And only 4 centres with not the most solid claim to fame ever other than as solid back up… Definitely makes room for the return of King Fransie Steyn… and could it be… YES… could it be that JPP is there as an outside centre???
Hellyeah, Meyer, I like your thinking… Sneaky and devious.
24 May 2012, 10:29 am
@capebull(capebull)-118: if stegmann was fit would stander be even playing?
24 May 2012, 10:30 am
No Kolisi?
24 May 2012, 10:30 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-130: No we didnt… We did win the one before though… We also had the longest winning streak in Bok history – a world record equalling 17(?) with Teich…. Kumbula?
24 May 2012, 10:32 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-135: If he was then he would of been named after JJ Engelbrecht perhaps.
24 May 2012, 10:32 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-134:
24 May 2012, 10:33 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: And Mallet , Solly and meyer as the coaching staff who at that time came straight from the Stormers. You point is ? Let me not start with the amount of WP players that played during that time , I seem to recall the guys up north calling it a Cape Cabal ? Weird as Meyer while coaching at SWD and the Stormers at the time was actually from the Bulls.
24 May 2012, 10:33 am
Meyer following his broederbond orders here.
Just Tennis warned us about this.
24 May 2012, 10:34 am
Am a little bit concerned about why WP Nel is not there… Must be true the rumours that he is keen on wearing a Kilt and sending Poms homeward ta drink again… Because he certainly is one of the best tightheads in Super rugby this year.
24 May 2012, 10:35 am
Jean Deysel over Kolisi? Seriously? Jean Deysel havent even played much this.
Still a very good squad though.
24 May 2012, 10:35 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-143: He’s fat. Matt Dunning fat.
24 May 2012, 10:36 am
@sparticus(sparticus)-141: I made my point… Go back and read if you struggle a bit with SoutieTaal… I said, and I quote “Boks are most successful with a Soutie Shark Captain at the helm”… Is that so farken hard to understand?
24 May 2012, 10:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-145: Lol
24 May 2012, 10:37 am
The only forward that does not deserve to be in that group is Flip vd Merwe. He is useless!
I would have brought in Ruan Botha into the group.
24 May 2012, 10:39 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-145: You must be happy with the fact that your discovery Taute is there…
I also like the way Meyer has included some good Rooibontes such as Strauss, Cilliers and Jantjies too.
24 May 2012, 10:40 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-136: @Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-125: The K-Dog (or whatever it is it calls itself on that cheezy Sharkbite show) will be booted before Carte Blanche starts on Sunday evening. Captaining the Boks in his dreams will be as close as he (and you) get to this.
Meyer has clearly decided not to bother with fat players. Hence no WP Nel, no Ashley Johnson, No Brock Harris. I’m actually quite surprised chubby cheeks Adriaan Strauss managed to squeeze in by the hair of his chinny chin chin.
@RL(RL)-148: You mean flippin’ yellow card v/d merwe?
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-139: Nope JPP is different to JJE… Not even a dyslexic can confuse that one
24 May 2012, 10:41 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-134:
Afrikaanser Pie?
Anyway, forget Kolisi, of more concern to me is the glaring omission of Brok.
@RL(RL)-148:
Seriously redpussy.
Who the arseingfuck is Ruan Botha?
24 May 2012, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-149: That’s great for Taute. But we’ve seen this movie before. Given the chance to shine with the Boks, he’ll be snapped up in quick time, a la Willem Alberts.
24 May 2012, 10:42 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-150: Sorry – that was meant for In Heavens Name and not Transformation.
24 May 2012, 10:45 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-154: You know how they made the Star Wars prequels 30 years after the original Trilogy? Tac though the Matrix was a prequel to the Boetie Gaan Border Toe Trilogy.
24 May 2012, 10:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-136: In my books yes , I would play CJ and not Stegman for Bulls
24 May 2012, 10:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: Yes… He will look good in Dynamite colours… Straight swap for Viljoen.
Fair’s fair and all that.
24 May 2012, 10:47 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-152: Can you give us stats on players regarding yellow cards for the last 2 years , maybe tackles as well ?
24 May 2012, 10:48 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-153: No you idiot i mean if he was considered for centre he would be named close to Olivier, JDV, Jdj, JJ.
24 May 2012, 10:48 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-154: does it matter if he ‘knows’ him, like, he lives in the same complex. you know RUAN.
24 May 2012, 10:49 am
Good squad the forwards will do well as they usually do, same old problems in the backs though can’t see it being any different from the past few years, no creativity and no tries.
24 May 2012, 10:53 am
@greentea(greentea)-163: Agreed,not much to look forward to then?
24 May 2012, 10:54 am
If you cant have Matfield. Bring back Danie.
24 May 2012, 10:57 am
@shooter(shooter)-165:
Oh no,not coke snorting,e popping,living in my mom’s basement Danie the dinosaur Rossouw!
24 May 2012, 10:58 am
@capebull(capebull)-158: yeah right, we talking about ludeke’s book here. when you asked the question about kolisi still playing when schalk comes back were you asking if allister would play him or the blogger?
there’s no way ludeke would bench a fully fit steggies for stander, this line of argument is tenuous at best.
24 May 2012, 10:59 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-164:
Meyer wants to emulate Henry and win 80%+ under his watch, without a superb backline thats just not going to happen, what I can’t understand is where are all the high flying black players in SA who are perfect for back play you should be producing 100′s of them?
24 May 2012, 10:59 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-166: that’s P3!
24 May 2012, 11:00 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-157:
All I know is that it better not have any smut in it.
Tac doesn’t approve of that sort of thing at the bioscope.
24 May 2012, 11:02 am
@greentea(greentea)-168: henry had wayne smith cooking up scheme to destroy defences, meyer will have ricardo loubscher!
24 May 2012, 11:05 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
Yip Smith is a big loss for the Ab’s , sorry can’t comment on Ricardo never heard of him that can’t be a good thing though!
24 May 2012, 11:05 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-167: Maybe I did write it in Engels , I said I would play CJ not Steggies , What FL does I can not influence.
24 May 2012, 11:08 am
@capebull(capebull)-173: Same for AC we are talking to the bloggers , Coaches arte not part of this , or are they. maybe Keo gives them our professional advice on weekly base.
Consultants for free , thats a bargain.
24 May 2012, 11:09 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-146: Oh yes I forgot , you only live in your world
24 May 2012, 11:12 am
@greentea(greentea)-172: well ABs have Fossy now hehehehe
sorry i don’t rate Fossy AT ALL…
24 May 2012, 11:12 am
Superbru @ 166
Ugly and unneccesary and not even clever..
As a retort can I ask if you remember the first
line of Jethro Tull,s AQUALUNG.
24 May 2012, 11:16 am
@greentea(greentea)-172: i read this elsewhere, can you tell me why the NZRU needs a special “maori” rep in their committee?
At the annual meeting in Wellington, the chairman of the Bay of Plenty Rugby Union, Bruce Cameron was elected as the North Zone representative while Wayne Peters was re-elected as the Maori representative.
Central Zone board member Richard Hunt retained his position while former board member and All Blacks manager John Sturgeon was made a life member of the NZRU.
24 May 2012, 11:18 am
He really wants to do it – Maak die Bulle almal Bokke… 15 Bulls in this squad.
Too bad Robert Ebersohn isn’t there, he has played very well this year.
Everyone knows Wynand Olivier plays k,ak for the Boks, so why pick him.
Not Zane Kirchner again too.
Pity about the Stormers props being ignored, they did after all stuff up the Bulls…
24 May 2012, 11:22 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-176:
Hopefully Wayne has left all his notes on cue cards for the Foz….
Where is Siya Kolisi? Ridiculous he is not named.
24 May 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-171: Don’t know why Meyer went for the nobody Loubscher. He should have gone after Fourie from the states.
24 May 2012, 11:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
look, i am as bewildered as you but lets at least admit that the bulls are in no way incapable of attacking / try scoring rugby.
au contraire, they are in fact quite good at scoring tries.
more than the chiefs and crusaders and only 3 less than the hurricanes so far this season.
24 May 2012, 11:25 am
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-179: Yes, Ginger deserves to be there as does Siya.
Still, apart from that useless Timotei, it is a good training squad.
24 May 2012, 11:26 am
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-177: Yep
24 May 2012, 11:30 am
I hope Zane is only there because he was doing a vloermoer.
24 May 2012, 11:30 am
@RL(RL)-181:
its called ‘systems and structures’, boet.
take notes, you’re about to learn a rugby lesson in how to score tries from heynene meyer and co.
the bulls have never been shy of the try line and loubscher is a ‘systems and structures’ man through and through, i’ll bet.
24 May 2012, 11:34 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-186:
Yeah well,they’ve also been known to let tries thru and thru.
24 May 2012, 11:39 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-186:
Bulls 3.36 tries /game
Canes 3.33 t/g
Brumbies 3
Chiefs 2.9
Sharkies 2.75
Crusaders 2.66
wait for it
Strompies 1.72727…
Now that is real stats.
Who should be playing as backs in the Bok team again. O ja the 1.7272… players
24 May 2012, 11:41 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-178:
Merely tokenism by NZRU…….perhaps still guilty for treating Maori players like shiit when all they cared about was trying to take down Boks.
24 May 2012, 11:42 am
@capebull(capebull)-188:
Now how about some stats to show how many tries have been leaked,I have a feeling the bulls top that list too. :blush:
24 May 2012, 11:42 am
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-180: it’s a Broedebond thing, you’re a kiwi you wouldn’t understand
24 May 2012, 11:43 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-187:
what constitutes ‘thru and thru’..?..
24 tries in 11 games, that 2.1 tries per game…hardly the coming of armageddon i’d think. its just one try more than the stormers manage per game.
and of course, our points difference is still better than the stormers… for all their defense.
24 May 2012, 11:47 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-187:
Strompies TA 1.09
Chiefs 1.5
Brumbies 1.9
saders 2
Sharkies/Bulls 2.18
So if the Bulls / Sharkies allow 2.18 tries per game , but the Srompies can only score 1.7272 tries per game Bulls/Sharkies should both beat Strompies next game.Maybe Strompies can get some-one else to help them to score the 0.35 tries the will be short.
24 May 2012, 11:48 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-192:
Bulls play winning rugby for sure,d’ya think Meyer is going to employ same kick and chase tactics with boks,he has Steyn to kick and Basson to chase,Habana not so great at chasing anymore.It’s just obvious that the more attacking rugby one plays,the more tries a team leaks.Bulls/Rebels game was a testament to that.
24 May 2012, 11:50 am
@capebull(capebull)-188:
my point exactly.
24 May 2012, 11:50 am
@capebull(capebull)-193:
Maybe Strompies will do better against Sharkies with JdV attacking Michelak/Bosman channel.
24 May 2012, 11:51 am
@capebull(capebull)-193:
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-192:
In real (test) rugby only winning counts- last time i checked the Stormers lost 1 match and the bulls lost 3 matches. Tomorrow the 3 will most likely become 4.
24 May 2012, 11:52 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-195:
Strompies did beat both teams in the 1st round if I recall?
24 May 2012, 11:54 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-196: They stopped attacking 2 years ago , now its “die fence ” only 1.7272 tries per game
24 May 2012, 11:56 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-197:
Yeah,by this logic the more attacking team will win,which is obviously the Chiefs then.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-182: yes but that is all slaptjips’ work not loubscher. only olivier – if at all – has ever been in the bulls structures and might’ve been coached by loubscher.
@Superbru(Superbru)-198: Thats before we had all therse nice stats, and they don’t lie , both games were at Newlands with what was, it 50 points , o no, it was 3 hardly a run away victory , a nother ref, a nother call who knows
24 May 2012, 11:57 am
@capebull(capebull)-199:
And that’s got them the top of the log,now where would you rather be?
24 May 2012, 11:58 am
@Superbru(Superbru)-200: Wrong Chiefs, actually number 4 in attacks
24 May 2012, 11:59 am
@capebull(capebull)-202: Stats mean nothin’ if you losing,it’s winning that counts,just ask Naas.
24 May 2012, 12:00 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-203: They got there cause the Bulls lost a game , not cause Strompies played so well the last week, what is difference ,
2 log points
24 May 2012, 12:01 pm
The U20 champs is the same time as the England series and I think Goosen and Kitshoff would rather have been selected for the U20s from the start.
Kolisi I think is unlucky but I would like to hear what Meyer’s thoughts are on the selection. I bet it is not a Jake – Watson scenario and I also bet there is a good reason for his exclusion.
The only Stormers player that may feel very unlucky is Elstadt as he is perfect for test match rugby. If he becomes more prominent as a lineout jumper he will be considered. He is the sort of player Jake would have picked ahead of Daniel and Kanko.
Bulls players that are lucky are Kirchner, Ndungane, Vermaak and JJ.
24 May 2012, 12:03 pm
@capebull(capebull)-206: I don’t have to ask Naas,
I know what stats tell us , one thing they do is, to expose someone that just says aaa Bulls can’t tackle ,or aaa Bulls play boring Rugby the can not score tries. Aaa the Strompies backs are best they should all be in Bok team cause they score tries.
24 May 2012, 12:05 pm
@Horings(Horings)-207: Liebenberg will be in the Aus/NZ 22 and Brok is one of the reasons the Stormers do not score tries. Malherbe could have been given a surprise call up. It is a pity van Staden did not stay at the Sharks. The squad shows our lack of tightheads, centres, scrumhalves and fullbacks.
24 May 2012, 12:07 pm
@capebull(capebull)-208:
I would be very concerned if the bok coach picks stormers backs as boks backs,fact is,they don’t score tries.But in saying that,a bulls backline does not give me much confidence either.
24 May 2012, 12:07 pm
@capebull(capebull)-199: Kurtley Beale showed just how ‘insignificant’ the Bulls (as a team) die-fence is when he hopped through them at will(injured and on one leg). It’s about ‘balance’ sailor.
24 May 2012, 12:08 pm
@Horings(Horings)-207: Do you think Elstadt is fast enough
24 May 2012, 12:09 pm
question: who hasn’t being invited to these silly feel good camps??
question: England bring 42 players for 5 games. Ireland bring 29 players for 3 games??
24 May 2012, 12:09 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-210: So should we pick the Sharkie backs or Lions ?
24 May 2012, 12:11 pm
@capebull(capebull)-214: Just hoping the coach will come up with a good combination,Basson will score many tries for boks but not very good defensively.
24 May 2012, 12:13 pm
why has someone of Luke Watson experience not being invited??
24 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-216:
24 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-211: So true, so where does it leave us , defence or attack. We will only know who has the balance once the season is, over for now I prefure 3.36 tries agains 2.18( 1.18+ ) in stead of 1.7272 tries against 1 ( 0.7272+ )
What this tells us, is that 1 team rely more on kicks to win them games than the other. aaaa its not the Bulls
24 May 2012, 12:18 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-215: On what do you base that , have you got stats to prove that, my feeling is that the Bulls slipped most tries between 12 and 13 not 11
24 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@capebull(capebull)-206: 10 wins out of 11 vs 8 wins out of 11. Stormers deserve top spot. The Stormers will lengthen the gap this weekend with the Bulls losing and the Sharks handing the Stormers 5 points by playing Freddie and Bosman together.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-216: Do you work for Keo?
24 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-194:
to say the bulls only kick and chase is a generalisation.
they play as is tactically appropriate.
so i expect hm to carry this over to the boks.
when its on to run it, the bulls certainly do.
so to answer your question, i think the boks will mix it up as needed.
24 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@capebull(capebull)-218:
Not now maybe,but history shows us that the bulls have always relied heavily upon their kicker,and countless games being won on a kick or 2.
24 May 2012, 12:23 pm
@capebull(capebull)-212: Yes he can do a job similar to Danie Rossouw. Good to have such versatility in a squad.
24 May 2012, 12:24 pm
@capebull(capebull)-219: I guess I just have this image in my mind of Basson throwing his arms out hopelessly as a try is scored against him,no stats I’m afraid.
24 May 2012, 12:24 pm
We are down on experience so logical to think Why not Luke Watson???
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-220:
24 May 2012, 12:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-201:
yes, but my point is that the bulls systems and structures works from top down or bottom up, whichever way you prefer to view it and that anything slaptjips is doing well, it goes without saying, is tuaght further down the system. as well that those skills which make it possible for slaptjips is ‘already’ being imlemented in the junior / feeder systems…..
its a holistic evolution…chicken or the egg… whichever came first does not matter…
what matters is that rl is a systems and structures man.
15. Lambie / Taute
14. Aplon
13. Jean (Temp cpt)
12. F Steyn
11. JP / Hougaard
10. M Steyn / Lambie
9. Hougaard / Fourie
8. Johnson
7. Alberts
6. Brussow / Kolisi / Coetzee
5. Bekker
4. Eben
3. Nel / Jannie
2. Bismark / Chili / Strauss (Tough choice)
1. Beast
@Transformation(Transformation)-176:
Neither do I but that won’t stop the Ab’s from scoring classy backline tries, too much talent outwide for that, fortunately Fozzy won’t be able to coach that out of them.
24 May 2012, 12:27 pm
Where is Johan Sadie???
shock omission
24 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-227:
agree. WP Nel deserves a chance. Our most dominant TH in S15. Very sure now Jean will be captain but would not suprise if Meyer picks a young Warbourton like captain??
24 May 2012, 12:30 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-225:
Luke not team player,would cause great upheaval in team.
24 May 2012, 12:31 pm
Hi everybody
Been on this site as an observer for quite some time now but this is my first attempt at offering my opinion. 10 Players( 5 backs/5 forwards) have to be omitted from this group,
maybe more if the overseas based players are included. Frans Steyn and Fourie Du Preez ( if available) will be included.I dont think Pienaar is good enough and Steenkamp has been injured. Based on my thinking 12 players (7 backs/ 5forwards)will then fall by the wayside. To me it will be:
01. Greyling
02. Cilliers
03. Kanko
04. Deysel
05. Coetzee
06. Vermaak
07. Jantjies
08 Grant??
09. JJ
10. Akona
11. Basson
12. Taute
24 May 2012, 12:31 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-197:
@Superbru(Superbru)-198:
fair enough.
i will bite my tongue and wait to see where the conference stage plays out.
its a simple question which will have a simple answer: does defense oriented rugby trump defense / attack oriented rugby or vice versa..?… and the answer to that will be whichever team tops the sa conference log…
24 May 2012, 12:32 pm
@capebull(capebull)-218: You should be thanking the Stormers…..If we allowed teams to score at will against us (thereby giving them the additional bonus point for 4 tries) you chaps might have been feeling the pressure a little more than what you are currently. In fact – would you be happy if the Stormers gifted the Sharks a 5 pointer on Saturday? (and you went down to the Chiefs) – So congrats on your teams try per match average – but it isn’t the whole story now is it?
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-227:
Surely Spies will play 8, thats what we’re hoping for.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-229: He has had his talent coached out of him,does not even make bulls starting line up mostly.
24 May 2012, 12:35 pm
@kimberleystormer(kimberleystormer)-232:
Welcome,and you make a good point,altho Meyer likely to hold on to Basson to play Bulls rugby with kick ‘n chase.
24 May 2012, 12:36 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-222:
Yes. NTvl rugby history will show dominance by a gifted 10. This gameplan hasnt changed much over the years.
Morne Steyn
Jaco van der Westhuyzen (odd one out – actually a running 10)
Derrick Hougaard
Braam van Straatem
Louis Koen
Lance Sherrell
Naas Botha
Hansie Brewis
1-3 Beast, Bissie, Jannie
4-5 Etzebeth, Bekker
6-8 Brussouw, Strauss, Spies
9-10 Hougie, Steyn
12-13 F Steyn, Jean (c)
11&14 Habana, JPP
15 Joe Pietersen
Res: Coenie, Chilli, Juandre, Alberts, Ruan, Lambie, Aplon
Best we have right now. Pietersen at 15 is a personal choice over Lambie – playing there at present and more kicking metres than Lambie.
Why are there no Kings players, surely there are players good enough for the Bokke. I am sure they made the Vodacom cup quarters.
Cheeky must demand they they be represented immediately, this is not fair.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-225: Yes you may be right but what type of form and physical shape is he in?
24 May 2012, 12:38 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-233: Well last year it was the Stormers defensive game that won out,hoping for the double this year.Strompies need to make that conference trophy their own.
24 May 2012, 12:39 pm
@Wanderer(Wanderer)-240: Viva Cheeky Viva
24 May 2012, 12:39 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-238:
Who on that listed is/was gifted, genuine question would be interested to know.
24 May 2012, 12:40 pm
WP supporter in Kimberley?????????????????????????????
YOU are very brave my friend!! first I ever heard such a thing!!
I think you maybe spot on there. I think Deysel and Coetzee will make the cut.
24 May 2012, 12:40 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-226: is that why meyer jettisooned all of the backline players that came through the system – manned by loubscher? jinka, brummer, watermeyer, dippenaar, boshoff to name a few, nearly a whole backline? rate loubscher if you want to but don’t assume pedigree is contagious
24 May 2012, 12:41 pm
@Mongril(Mongril)-239:
Pack should hold their own,I have reservations regarding backline players.
@greentea(greentea)-235: No thank you, I like the guy off the field but no one has been given as much of a chance to prove themself in the Bok jersey as him.
Hes def improved this year but I would rather look at other options. Ashley Johnson is very underated IMO and has made an impact everytime he gets on the park.
@greentea(greentea)-244:
All of them in their time were gifted placekickers and game generals
Naas is the Greatest 10 we have produced.
@greentea(greentea)-235: I take it you are not a Bok fan? Most Bok fans – excluding the Bulls ones – are hoping like hell Spies does the honorable thing and announces his move to 7′s before the international season even kicks off. I pray for that – daily. But it seems we are going to be stuck with him. He is like a piece of bubblegum stuck in ones hair – impossible to get rid of.
24 May 2012, 12:42 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-229: i told you last week, sadie is nowhere and you said “he is meyer’s boy wonder”
24 May 2012, 12:43 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-248:
Looking at the evdivence – You are absolutely right. But Meyer will still pick Spies/ Much like Williams and Weepu being selected by Hansen.
24 May 2012, 12:44 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-247:
Yes, agreed they are not going to set the world on fire, but with the experienced heads they’ll play decent test rugby and grind out a win.
Trinations time we can look at bringing in some more flair – Lambie to 10, Mvovo, etc. For now, let’s beat the Poms.
24 May 2012, 12:45 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-248:
I’m hoping he’s picked because he’s a weak link and Read has his number.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-249:
The new young guy from OFS if he reaches full potential could he surpass Botha?
24 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-251:
Yes. But I still believe he will come into reckoning before end of year.
he is an exceptional talent with x factor IMO.
13.Johan Sadie
12.Francios Steyn
@kimberleystormer(kimberleystormer)-232: hi kimberley stormer.
jaqu fourie took the R22 millions and forsook Bok rugby for 2 years.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-252:
Williams and Weepu won’t be there for much longer.
24 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-255: right now he has k*-factor
*k for kak
24 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@greentea(greentea)-254: The new young guy from OFS if he reaches full potential could he surpass Botha?
Who dat?
24 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-252:
The difference is Piri and Ali have performed consistently at test level whilst Spies has been mediocre
24 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-259:
Goosen is that his name?
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-230: Ja , although still rumours flying about Fourie getting it, will have to see. Think Jean makes the most sense for now as Im sure hes not a candidate for permanent captaincy
@Transformation(Transformation)-258: lol top notch
24 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-260:
Time for new blood though both won’t be there in 15′.
24 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@greentea(greentea)-261: Oh yes the Golden Goose. Legend in the making.
24 May 2012, 12:52 pm
@greentea(greentea)-254:
Goosen comes with great promise indeed – but many before him have come with such promise and failed live up to their promise. I still say Lambie is the best 10 we have going forward. Buty lets wait and see.
There will never be a Naas Botha – He was a God in the number 10 jersey. Gifted with precision accuracy never seen before in SA. To have seen him dominate single handed games was a treasure. Unbeknown to many, Naas also very fast and deceptive speed – he could run. Defensively suspect in his late 20s to 30s, he compensated with his depth kicking and dangerous drop goal ability.
24 May 2012, 12:52 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-265:
You need a legend at 10 its been a while.
24 May 2012, 12:54 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-252: At least they have past form to fall back on. WTF does Spies have? No mate – the only rugby Spies should be allowed to play by LAW, is 7′s. Watching him prance around the park a good 30 metres away from ALL and ANY physical action is going to be the death of me this year (as a Bok fan).Watching him fall over like a drunk over blades of grass is going to be unbearable, almost as unbearable as his token 15 missed tackles per international. I say again, what is the obsession with this absolute fake athlete? And I repeat this again 2: He is like bubblegum stuck in a persons hair – near impossible to get rid of without cutting.
24 May 2012, 12:55 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-260:
yes. true
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-262:
yes. Lets not forget that the
13.Jean
12.Steyn
combination have played before. against Barbarians from memory
24 May 2012, 12:56 pm
@capebull(capebull)-212: I think Elstadt is certainly not the quickest loosie around, but in the right mix he could be someone we need, especially as a bench player. He is a player I will include for games in the NH and since the next World Cup is in England he may be a good player to have in the group of 30. We have so many top loosies that we can afford to pick the best balanced trio that may not be the most popular trio. For example: Kolisi, Elstadt and CJ Stander may be a very good trio in 4 years time for a good old arm wrestle, but then we need Elstadt to improve his lineout work.
24 May 2012, 12:56 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-255: He can regain form in the Currie Cup and maybe make selection for the EOYT squad.
24 May 2012, 12:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-268:
lol bit harsh my friend?
yes yes – But Spies is x factor and very much in Meyers plans. sad but true. Vermeulen is the best no8 in SA and travesty he has not being capped.
Alberts is second best number 8 IMO.
24 May 2012, 12:57 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-252: Sadly you prob right.
Although Im a big fan of Meyer so will just have to trust him. Heard him speak a few times and can quickly see why his players love him so much. I predict him to be the next Kitch
24 May 2012, 12:58 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-266:
A running 10 would completely change the dynamics for AB Bokke tests, in recent years once your forwards were nulified it was usually game over, a world class ATTACKING Bokke 10 would not be a good thing!
@greentea(greentea)-267: Too true. Who is going to fill Dan the Man’s boots because I dont see him making it to 2015 as the starting flyhalf.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-250: And worst of all for you, he is probably going to be the Bok captain
24 May 2012, 12:59 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-271:
thats when I think Meyer will blood talent like Sadie. For is temporary, class is permanent
24 May 2012, 13:01 pm
@greentea(greentea)-264:
yep no qualms about that
24 May 2012, 13:03 pm
@greentea(greentea)-274:
yes. some Bok traditions will never change. Much like selection of big looseforwards. hence why you never see a
8.Daniel
7.Coetzee/Koylisi
6.Brussow
loose trio in Bok colors. Funny how French have done well with their light weight but athletic looseforward trio over past 20years!
24 May 2012, 13:05 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-260: i hear hansen has given piri a workout schedule, if he hasn’t lost a certain amount kilos by the time the oirish arrive then it’s curtains for peri-peri…
can’t be a good time this for piri.
24 May 2012, 13:06 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-275:
In descending order of preference:
- Cruden, (Chiefs)
- Barrett, (Canes).
- Taylor. (Crusaders)
By 2015 these guys will be all Top Shelf.
24 May 2012, 13:06 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-275:
Don’t think anybody can replace Carter he has won us so many test matches single-handedly that it would unfair to expect somebody else to do that but we have some above aveage talent coming through like Cruden who would get the job done. Barring injury I reckon DC plays in England in 15′ would be around 33.
24 May 2012, 13:08 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-280:
True, Transie.
Peri now has a target to aim for. All good.
greetings.
agreed on everyone on your list except jj, greyling, coetzee and basson.
add on daniel, strauss, jdp, kankowski, flip and maybe cilliers to your list though.
are you a stomers supporter in kimberley because you are used to ‘deep holes’ or what..?… *nudge, wink*
@Airwell(Airwell)-276: Don’t agree with you there. Whilst it would be tragic for me personally, it won’t be anything AS tragic for me on a personal level as what it would be for the Boks. Then again, Meyer has selected the entire Bulls teams, possibly for that very reason – they are the only players who respect Spies. Three words for this scenario: Pear shaped – FAST.
24 May 2012, 13:09 pm
@cane(cane)-281:
Cruden
Barrett
Slade
This Taylor doesnt do much but kick – he reminds me of Ben Blair.
24 May 2012, 13:10 pm
@cane(cane)-283:
How hard can it be to shed a few kilos so he can fit into an AB jersey?
24 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-272: X-factor? I would prefer to see a little more Y and Z factor from the pink princess.
24 May 2012, 13:11 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-279:
Yip they did a job on the AB pack in the final.
24 May 2012, 13:12 pm
Thanks for the welcome guys,
@ greatest13, quite a few of us lost souls here, Desyel has’nt played enough for me and if Coezee stays who do you leave out,
@ Superbru , then Mvovo’s gonna miss out,
@ Transformation, was referring to Fourie Du Preez,
@Transformation(Transformation)-280:
Looks like Piri will be eating to his hearts delight in the not too distant future….needs a haircut too, the sweaty look making him appear more unfit
Cane,
I feel for Tom Donnelly – moved to Crusaders country to regain black jersey, started S15 off well and then eclipesd by the bench warmer. Shades of that Ross Crusader who was overtaken by a young Sam Whitelock.
far too many one off Abs in recent years.
24 May 2012, 13:13 pm
@greentea(greentea)-287:
I think it’s his shorts that are giving him problems NZC,
He has an arse like a Taranaki bull.
24 May 2012, 13:14 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-246:
oh transie, what will you say if the boks go try scoring befok in the england series..?…
24 May 2012, 13:16 pm
@cane(cane)-293: He’s about six Big Macs ahead and around a dozen wee poos behind.
24 May 2012, 13:16 pm
@cane(cane)-293:
Ha good for cover tackling though, I say blood the new young 9′s if we drop a test or two because of it no drama. Piri has been a superb servant to NZ rugby he should head off shore and top up his b/acc.
24 May 2012, 13:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-285: How do you know that all the non Bulls players do not respect him? Maybe you have a link to proove this?
24 May 2012, 13:18 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-292:
Ross was soft….Thorn wouldn’t lock with him because he was a pusssy.
24 May 2012, 13:18 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-294:
If you don’t there’s something wrong, lets judge Meyer when the big guns arrive in town.
24 May 2012, 13:19 pm
@greentea(greentea)-289:
is what these one eye Ab supporters forget – lightweight french pack on their day can destroy any side. AB boogie team – always have being.
@kimberleystormer(kimberleystormer)-290:
haha kimberley has long reputation as the most difficult place in SA for opposition. The local Medics were always busy with opposition sides
players use hate playing there!
24 May 2012, 13:22 pm
@greentea(greentea)-296:
yes. Weepu should have packed his packs and finishedup lwith WC glory.
Total disgrace and unprofessional for him to have started the season with new side – totally unfit. Expect that of other young maori or Island players but not someone of Weepus experience!
24 May 2012, 13:22 pm
Last time I logged on here (two days ago),
The Sharkies and StormBoys were at each others throats like there was no tomorrow.
Beautiful it was.
Why has peace broken out?
24 May 2012, 13:25 pm
@cane(cane)-302:
i must admit i got a larf out of it too.
24 May 2012, 13:27 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-300:
Yes they are but we have handed them far more hidings over the years.
24 May 2012, 13:27 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-298:
He (Ross) was excellent in the loose, but somewhat lacking in the tight.
As soon as was dropped, our results improved immediately.
24 May 2012, 13:29 pm
@cane(cane)-302:
Things bound to be tense till game time saturday,then it’s gonna be tears for some.
24 May 2012, 13:29 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-297: As a person they might respect him. A captain needs to be respected as a PLAYER first. Surely I need no ‘link’ to prove this? Why would someone like Duane Vermeulen respect Spies as a player – pray tell me? You think Kieran Reid sees Spies as a worthy opponent? It’s like Barbie vs Thomas the Tank Engine. Spies is the luckiest player in SA (he also has the blindest fans). I can already picture it: Spies firing up his troops begging them for more physicality – then turning around and proceeding to play ‘dodgeball/dodgetackle/dodgeopposition’ for the remainder of the game, whilst his men bleed…..a real modern day Braveheart he isn’t. You want another Casper the friendly ghost captaining the Boks – go ahead. I doubt anyone outside of Pretoria (fans and players) will agree with you.
24 May 2012, 13:31 pm
@cane(cane)-302: It’s not peace. Hor-moan and his Spice Girls buggered off. Waiting for them to change their manties and return. But they have to hurry it up as I have work to do.
24 May 2012, 13:31 pm
@greentea(greentea)-304:
true my friend – frogs are a crazy unpredictable lot
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307:
Casper the friendly ghost?? lol a bit harsh
24 May 2012, 13:32 pm
@greentea(greentea)-299:
no, the boks have been bad at scoring tries across the board for a while now.
its not just our tier 1 oppponents oz, nz we have this problem with but also some of the tier 2′s: england, wales, ire, france…
24 May 2012, 13:32 pm
@Superbru(Superbru)-306:
“”Things bound to be tense till game time saturday….”"
Good,
I like to see Posts with feeling.
24 May 2012, 13:34 pm
I see the keewees has gone all sub servient since their leader Pooper had another breakdown,they were fearless without him.I will give him his due,he is a great leader of kiwis,albeit not of men.
24 May 2012, 13:35 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-310:
Tier 2′s……………………England.
You are lucky Big Hit ain’t around bakkies.
24 May 2012, 13:35 pm
mean while the bulls will just sail on through…
listen to the music….
the rest is just noise….
24 May 2012, 13:36 pm
@cane(cane)-305:
Was Ross locking in 09′?
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-309:
Saw them score that try at Eden park was crying into my beer.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-310:
Thats why Meyer has been chosen, do you think he’ll turn that aspect of your game around?
24 May 2012, 13:37 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-312:
Can you tell us your thoughts on NZ woman again.
24 May 2012, 13:37 pm
correction
fearless with him
24 May 2012, 13:38 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-312:
Popps is Arnie Schwarzenegger ,
He’ll be back.
another day nz in china,we have a huge match on saturday that is more important.
Has Pops left?
24 May 2012, 13:39 pm
i hope so cane
he always returns with more fire and anger
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-314:
Nah,Bulls will not be sailing through a rampant Chiefs side at home imo.
We’ve got time.
he had another breakdown but this one was in absentia
he will return with a chortle and a huge belly wobble
24 May 2012, 13:41 pm
@greentea(greentea)-315:
Yep 2009. Isaac Ross was then dropped to Club rugby by Crusaders in 2010 and then downhill from then!
lots of promise but over coached talent – and soft
24 May 2012, 13:41 pm
you have time nzinchina
i am just winding down work and then mates are coming over for a braai and phuza thursday so no can do
you are a homesick kiwi in china staying up and looking for a conversation.
beggars cant be choosers
you are the begger
24 May 2012, 13:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307: I did not say that I think he is a great player or captain, you just stated as fact no SA player outside the Bulls respects him and I asked how you knew that. I personally think he is a good captain but like you think he needs to be more dominant in the collisions. As for Read I think he is a cheating tosser of note, as for Vermeulan he deserves to be the Bok no 8.
24 May 2012, 13:43 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-325:
Yip the Ab’s were weak in 09′.
24 May 2012, 13:45 pm
@greentea(greentea)-315:
Yes, played all of his 8 Tests oin 09.
Against SA,
Played……. 3.
Won……….. 0.
24 May 2012, 13:45 pm
No no i’m just very interested in your stories about how many woman in NZ you bedded ( and the ex SAFFA’S )and how many houses you own.
24 May 2012, 13:46 pm
@cane(cane)-329:
Did we win a lineout in 09′?
24 May 2012, 13:47 pm
@greentea(greentea)-328:
Abs also must have record for one test short test career test players!
@cane(cane)-313:
kiwi’s are kiwi’s, caner…
but at the end of the day… fark the english….
@greentea(greentea)-315:
absolutely, just look at the bulls ability to score tries.
we are second best try scorers so far this season and were 1st and 2nd top scorers in the 2009, 2010 season if i remember correctly.
people cling to outdated opinions more than anything else.
@Superbru(Superbru)-322:
true,
it wont be plain sailing in the least.
will be lucky to squeak it.
@Airwell(Airwell)-327:
Read is hoping Spies gets picked.
24 May 2012, 13:48 pm
if you behave for 2 weeks nzinchina i may indulge you.
as you were
what is the time there by you now?
you are a kiwi,know your place
24 May 2012, 13:49 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-326:
“beggars cant be choosers
you are the begger”.
And you Fernly are a knunt.
Always have been.
Always will be.
24 May 2012, 13:49 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-332:
Lock has been a problem for us over the years so plenty have been tried, looks like this year could be as well.
24 May 2012, 13:50 pm
C’mon Fern you’ve got time, you know you want to.
24 May 2012, 13:51 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-327: How is Kieran Read a cheat , I thought that honour was reserved for our beloved captain ?
cane i posted you a answer on the matfield thread
@greentea(greentea)-331:
Not many.
24 May 2012, 13:52 pm
@stew(stew)-339:
Good question Stew, did you see Hougarrd feeding the ball under the 2nd row during the Highlanders game is he a cheat.
24 May 2012, 13:53 pm
@stew(stew)-339:
no, he is as dirty as they come.
just about that whole saders forward pack is.
24 May 2012, 13:54 pm
@stew(stew)-339:
Kieran is our next Captain Couragous,
The Okes are just getting in some practice before the event.
24 May 2012, 13:54 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-327: Spies does seem to be a good captain, for the BULLS. (It’s not that hard to pull together a bunch of guys who are already singing off the same hymn sheet….ditto for coaches, fans, admin etc – The Bulls have a very uniform setup, which IMHO is 85% of the reason for their recent successes) Just becomes a lot harder to convince folk from other provinces (players/admin etc) to sing “Onward Christian soldiers march”, when they would rather be singing “Amazing Grace”. The Spies captaincy issue and the Meyer coaching issue are interlinked, and while I think Heyneke is a GOOD appointment, I’m curious as to whether he realises just how different his job is, running the national setup. (By the looks of the 15 Bulls in his ‘camp’ squad’ – he might have some trouble differentiating) Time will tell.
24 May 2012, 13:55 pm
@greentea(greentea)-342: Ofcourse not .. it is reserved for Saders players only – do you know that they cheated everytime they won 7 super titles – shocking ! LOL
Its not the final squad, this is all about logistics. I’m sure we will see the likes or Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Fourie Dupreez, Bakkies Botha etc in the final squad for England.
@greentea(greentea)-337:
soon be case of – Who hasnt played for ABs
teams majority full of ex Abs
24 May 2012, 13:56 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-343: Thats how we like our forward warriors – hard and dirty – time you SA boys man up !
@greentea(greentea)-342:
He is more than a cheat,
he is from a long line of cheats.
Cheating is in his DNA.
Houggie can’t help himself.
all we can do now is speculate and wait for the official team announcment
24 May 2012, 13:58 pm
I think it is a hell of a cheek for any Bulls supporter to talk about cheating – i will never forget the forward bull S*H*I*T try that lost us a home semi two seasons ago
@stew(stew)-349:
hard and dirty is fine with me but its the cheap shot, low stuff you pull off and then deceive the world about that grates.
This thread still strong, I see.
I love this squad. Finally a coach who knows what he’s doing.
24 May 2012, 14:00 pm
tac,the same coach who dared to call up bulls players to go to dbn?
can they not fly their families down to dbn
24 May 2012, 14:01 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-353: Not a place for soft as pansy batty boys – what has happened to SA forward reputation ??????
24 May 2012, 14:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354:
oh good grief!
its one thing to say say here’s a coach who knows what he’s doing
but to say you love ‘this’ squad is stretching it.
honestly tac, don’t be like a kiwi.
24 May 2012, 14:02 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-343:
Crusaders are a throwback to old kiwi packs where no brown faces in pack????
a forward pack lacking no real x factor forwards but smart players who play well as a unit and able impliment a coach gameplan effectively.Much like Aussie packs – who dispite haveing weak front rows are still competitive.
If only Wallabies could find decent scrummagers they rule world!
24 May 2012, 14:02 pm
what is tac gonna say if lots of bulls players are not in the starting line up
24 May 2012, 14:03 pm
@stew(stew)-356:
that reputation will precede itself in the not too distant future, old friend.
heyneke is here now.
24 May 2012, 14:04 pm
@cane(cane)-341:
Never mind the Ab’s are off the pace for a season once every 5 or 6 years.
24 May 2012, 14:07 pm
@stew(stew)-352:
hey, I’m still getting over 1990 and losing Natal
24 May 2012, 14:08 pm
i wonder what the all black team is gonna be like with a new coach and will he stick to the tried and tested
24 May 2012, 14:09 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-360:
Yer but didn’t Meyer take 5 seasons for the Bulls to get their first win?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-345: You remind me of the people commenting about Kitch in 1995. Obviously he will have provincial bias in the beginning because these are the players he knows
but I do believe he is a great coach and he should have been the Bok coach 4 years ago. Spies will play and will probably be his captain like feather Pienaar was the 95 Bok captain under Kitch. Time will tell if this is a wise move or not. I personally do not know but I am willing to give HM the benefit of the doubt as I support him as the Bok coach.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354: **** ****
24 May 2012, 14:10 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-366: h o o r h o o r
You still here Fern I thought you were busy.
I guess it is the coach’s prerogative to invite whoever he wants to a training camp like this but Meyer is showing his hand here.
I’d like to know on what grounds Deysel and Kankowski are in the group.
I always had the feeling that WO will feature in Meyer’s plans, so no surprise there.
Overall a good squad. One can argue about who has been left out till the cows come home, it won’t help you one bit.
The coach has the final say and if he feels he can do well with certain players, it is his choice.
@Airwell(Airwell)-367: not h o e r h o e r
24 May 2012, 14:11 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358: I think the worlds greatest player McCaw does count as an X factor player – and we did have Kev and Kaino in our pack last year – truth be told the hard men from the South island are worth their weight in gold especially when grit is needed in the last twenty , an area where SA has lost ground
@nama1(nama1)-369:
WO is that Oliver from the Bulls?
just casually winding down the day till 3:30 and then out of here.it is now 14:10 in sa.
24 May 2012, 14:13 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354: Well we will see if he knows what he is doing by selecting all those Bulls once the final whistle blows on the Chiefs game. (It won’t be good for the Blueboks to lose both their games in NZ, and then have to return to take it up the butt again in the Rugby Championship – it is important that all these Blue Boks actually experience a win in NZ – would you not agree?)
24 May 2012, 14:14 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-360: I hope so we need the competition
24 May 2012, 14:15 pm
@Airwell(Airwell)-365: I trust then that you were NOT one of those who whinged about Mallett and his so called Cape Cabal as it was called back then (If I have the term correct).
24 May 2012, 14:15 pm
@stew(stew)-371:
true true…but
“the worlds greatest player ” ??? lol
lets not saint the guy to early
24 May 2012, 14:16 pm
Regarding the Ebersohn thing:
I don’t know which one plays flyhalf and which one plays centre.
What I do know is that whichever one is the flyhalf, is not one of our top 3 flyhalves.
And wichever one is centre is too small to be effective on the international stage. Especially at outside centre, where you normally have guys like Stirling Mortlock, Will Greenwood, Andre Snyman, Japie Mulder, Conrad Smith, Jaque Fourie etc. running at you.
This is a concern that also applies to Johan Sadie, who seems a bit on the small side to me.
24 May 2012, 14:16 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-353:
You mean the cheap stuff like :
Bakkies…………………eye gouging, punching, head butting, biting, torpedo cleanouts.,ete, etc, etc, etc…………………
Bismark………,,,,,,,,,,eye gouging.
Burger………………….eye gouging.
Butch……………..late, high and armless tackles…………………for 10 years.
Notice how all their names start with “B”.
Le Bokke Bastardo’s.
Oh ,
and Captain Smit’s knee to the back of Thorn.
That Johan Roux prop dude, that bit Fitzy’s ear off.
And going way back, the 1956 Boks front row that damaged Kevin Skinners knuckles with their boneheads.
24 May 2012, 14:17 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-377:
the greatest player of his generation without a doubt
24 May 2012, 14:18 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-377: Hard for me not to idolise !!!! LOL
24 May 2012, 14:19 pm
@cane(cane)-379: Rubbish
24 May 2012, 14:21 pm
howzit sharkslover
when i am in the cape again i will let you know in advance and i will pull into your spot and we can have some dops and chat rugby.
24 May 2012, 14:22 pm
and to Cane, lets not open up old wounds and tic for tat!
Johan le Roux
24 May 2012, 14:23 pm
@cane(cane)-379: classic
24 May 2012, 14:23 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358:
“”Crusaders are a throwback to old kiwi packs where no brown faces in pack????”"
Waka Nathan,
Tane Norton,
Billy Bush,
Micheal Jones,
Olo Brown,
Zinzan and Robin,
Kevy,
Jerome.
You can have a lot of fun without being silly G13G.
24 May 2012, 14:25 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-383: Please invite me along, as I would love to record this ‘having some dops and chatting rugby’ and upload it to Youtube. Helen Keller meets Julius Malema. I will call my video, “The Fear of a Nation Part 1″.
24 May 2012, 14:25 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-357: Tac can’t tell the difference between robert & sias ebersohn, so why expect him to make sense?
24 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@cane(cane)-386:
true
but maily refering to the Crusaders pack today..compare them to what they did to the Blues pack woodcock and all.
24 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-387:
Which one is Fern?
24 May 2012, 14:27 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358:
look, i will agree and give them their due, as a unit the crusaders packs have been as good as they come. they’ve struggled somewhat the last few years or so and started off really badly this season, but have improved.
it is however also true that they play very dirty. sometimes dirty in an ugly, cheap shot way and this pisses me off because its not fair that sa teams get pinged but they dont.
if it was a level playing field they would in no way have gotten lucky enough to dominate us in the last 15 years or so, at super or national level.
i do not want to be controversial and go along with your ‘racial theory’ but will note that they do supposedly have a ‘three dark.ies only’ policy (in one of their own’s words, not mine). a counter to this though would be a comparison with the chiefs pack as they have about a 50/50 split between white and brown.
24 May 2012, 14:28 pm
Johan Sadie has yet fulfil his protential
robert Ebelsolm has form this season. but is missing something.
JJ who???
24 May 2012, 14:29 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-391:
Do they I hadn’t taken any notice.
24 May 2012, 14:30 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-392: Ja, he’s missing about 10kg, and about 10cm.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-384:
I often get the Roux thugs mixed up with the le Roux thugs.
My apologies to the Roux thugs.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-391:
valid points. I too believe the Saders get ahead with lot and Reids mindgames with referees is big game of theirs to get under skinsof refes. mcCaw dos this too.
24 May 2012, 14:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307: i recall in 2010 the all blacks were to play @ soccer city and were @ sandton restaurant and the Britney Outsurance ad came on and apparently the players broke out in fits of laughter, jerome kaino was apparently was in so much pain because of stitches…
24 May 2012, 14:32 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-394:
sad to have great form but be told “sorry, truth be told, you too small my friend”
24 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@cane(cane)-395:
lol Johan Roux was a halfback
24 May 2012, 14:34 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-398: A guy like De Jongh is not much bigger, but I’d far rather have him in my team than Ebersohn.
24 May 2012, 14:34 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-398:
I’m just trying to think who the smallest international outside centres are playing for Tier 1 teams.
I recall France having that Dominici dude, but he may have been a wing, come to think of it.
Successful outside centres are pretty much the Daniel Herbert or Stirling Mortlock type build, as far as I can recall.
24 May 2012, 14:36 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-382:
Maybe……………………………………………………..
…
maybe not.
24 May 2012, 14:36 pm
Who are the current outside centres for:
NZ
Aus
Eng
France
Wales
Ireland
24 May 2012, 14:39 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-399:
Full back or half back?
24 May 2012, 14:41 pm
halfback
cane
24 May 2012, 14:45 pm
Very good article on OZ site GREEN AND GOLD.
Titled ” THE NEWLANDS EXPERIENCE”
Made me quite proud.
24 May 2012, 14:45 pm
@greentea(greentea)-372:
Wynand Olivier…yes
32 test matches behind his name already. Haven’t done anything in any of them apart from scoring a try from a forward pass….against Italy nogal.
24 May 2012, 14:46 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-401:
Yes. True. since late 1990s..the big centres have being successful
Pieter Muller
Japie Mulder
Andre Snyman
..etc
JDJ is rare even moreso for Bok 13. and is smallest IMO in longtime. Scotland I think have small centre as well. Ansbro
24 May 2012, 14:46 pm
@cane(cane)-404:
halfback
24 May 2012, 14:48 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-408:
JDJ couldn’t make it into the Bok midfield, while two giants like De Villiers and Fourie dominated the position, now with Frans Steyn taking over at no.12.
At 13, as soon as a fast, big centre comes through, de Jongh will be outside the match 22 again.
24 May 2012, 14:49 pm
timotei would battle to play 1st side in a decent natal clubrugby side.
facts
24 May 2012, 14:54 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-410:
Agree. am 100% certain Meyer test pair will be Jean at 13 and Steyn at 12.
24 May 2012, 14:56 pm
The thug I referred to was Johan Heindrich Schroeder Le Roux.
AKA …………….The Cannibal.
24 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-410:
How many tackles have De Jong slipped in tests to date, and in this year’s S15?
24 May 2012, 14:59 pm
@cane(cane)-413:
a gentleman by name of Adri Geldenhuys was worse – worst discipline record in SA rugbyhistory
a True Enforcer
24 May 2012, 15:00 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-412:
Has Jean the speed for outside centre or does that not matter?
What do you think of WO’s chances to make the team? Maybe Meyer wants to prove to everybody that he can get the best out of WO and that Jake and PdV did not know how to use him.
24 May 2012, 15:02 pm
@nama1(nama1)-416: Yes JDV has deceptive pace.
24 May 2012, 15:02 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-408: What do you mean by “successful”?
Those players hardly ever passed a ball.
24 May 2012, 15:03 pm
@willievz(willievz)-414: a few. Not as much as he should have.
24 May 2012, 15:04 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-406: post the link
@willievz(willievz)-414:
Not the issue. A small centre can still make it at inside centre – or he could, in the days when you had Horan, Hennie le Roux etc.
But the outside centres were always the taller chaps like Jason Little, Japie Mulder, Andre Snyman, Mortlock etc.
A fast, powerful strike runner than can bash through the opposition or get through half gaps to offload.
De Jongh is just too small for that. As is Ebersohn. And sadly, probably, so is Sadie, unless he beefs up significantly.
Basically, a 13 can be a retreated wing, as they share so many physical attributes. Hence Engelbrecht doing surprisingly well at 13 for the Bulls at the moment.
@nama1(nama1)-416: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-417: He is quick.
But the method he employs in carrying the ball to the defensive line is more suited to a 13.
Unless you are particularly potent at dominating the collision like say Jamie Roberts, a 12 should not run like a flanker.
24 May 2012, 15:05 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-415:
I have no doubt you have worse than “The Cannibal”.
Worse than Bakkies?
Yes, even worse than he.
It’s in the DNA.
24 May 2012, 15:05 pm
Cane I am not talking about dirty play here,but I reckon you kiwis do not like the fact that some Boks equal and even buly you in the physical aspect.
You are not used to that kind of thing.
Am I right?
Remember now,I am mot talking about dirty play.
24 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@nama1(nama1)-416:
true but I think Jean will move out one and be captain as well. WO has being tried and tested and sadly I cant see him in the mix.
an excellent finisher at 12.
@willievz(willievz)-418:
truth to that. Crash and bash centre days
24 May 2012, 15:08 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-421:
I don’t need any convincing that De Jongh should play 12 instead of 13.
And even though it is not the issue you were trying to address, there is a perception amongst many that he is too small to play test rugby.
He is not.
24 May 2012, 15:10 pm
@cane(cane)-423: You flatter us, cane.
Im blushing.
24 May 2012, 15:10 pm
I would pick Elstadt and Flippie vd Walt over Kankowski and Daniel but strong team overall. Well done Heyneke.
24 May 2012, 15:12 pm
By the way – I like Meyer’s squad.
Piet van Zyl is an excellent choice.
CJ Stander and Marcell Coetzee are names I am surprised at, but only because I did not think Meyer would consider them. I am glad he did.
The only other player I would have loved to see there is Andries Coetzee.
I would not have gone for Engelbrecht, Ndungane, Kirschner or Basson.
24 May 2012, 15:13 pm
@cane(cane)-423:
Adri Geldenhuys was the hardest man play the game in last 25years I have watch SA rugby.
great talent at his peak but the short fuse and balant dirty play ruined his game
24 May 2012, 15:15 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-430: Not hard enough for Abdelatif Benazzi?
24 May 2012, 15:16 pm
Must say that I feel that Elstad is unlucky to have been left out. The guy is hard as a rock and can cover lock and flanker. Will be a valuable player to have on the bench. I quess he will just have to prove himself again against the sharks and the bulls
24 May 2012, 15:18 pm
marc cecillion
he murdered his wife and got 20 years
24 May 2012, 15:19 pm
@Gaans(Gaans)-432:
Yep,a great incentive for both him and Kolisi to up their games.
24 May 2012, 15:19 pm
Juan De Jongh is a great choice at 13. HIs size has not limited him in any way to date. Although I still think De Villiers will start at 13 with De Jongh coming on later.
24 May 2012, 15:20 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-424:
SA Rugby prides itself on the physical aspect of Boks play.
Always have.
i.e. no compromises, no apologies, no brains.
Equal the Boks up front, and they are fcukked.
They, along with the Froggies, quickly resort to gouging or scrotum twisting when things don’t go their way.
The advent of neutral Referee’s finished SA’s delusion of Superiority.
24 May 2012, 15:20 pm
@willievz(willievz)-431:
haha good memory. There is a well known quote from Adri Geldenhuys
“my balls are my balls, your balls are my balls”
24 May 2012, 15:22 pm
cane you are beyond reasoning with
and the all blacks are as pure as the driven snow i suppose
no obstruction etc?
lets just leave it at that
subject closed.
24 May 2012, 15:23 pm
adri was reffering to line-out balls
24 May 2012, 15:25 pm
@greentea(greentea)-364:
true, but he knows as well as the other 50 million saffa’s do that time is not a luxury afforded to a bok coach.
@greentea(greentea)-393:
do they what? have a ‘three black players only’ rule? or do the chiefs pack a 50/50 split between white and brown players?
yes to both. the first will never be admitted publically of course but it was stated by a kiwi who said he was told so ‘off the record’ of course. it caused a minor stir at the time and made the papers.
the second is pretty obvious if you look at the chiefs pack, so it does negate the theory of saders being dominant on racial grounds alone.
24 May 2012, 15:29 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-438:
“and the all blacks are as pure as the driven snow “.
You got that right, fernly.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-440:
rare still..a NZ pack with no brown faces???
I am perplexed that so many of the young centres coming through are so small lately.
Ebersohn. Sadie. Whitehead, de Jongh etc.
We need a big, fast guy again to replace Jacque Fourie.
I didn’t watch any Craven Week or schools rugby games lately, but I hope there are some new giant sprinter 13′s on the horizon.
24 May 2012, 15:30 pm
Scrotum twisting?
Please Caner old mate.
That’s considered foreplay in Pongoland.
24 May 2012, 15:30 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-396:
the crusaders and cheating..?…
its not even a debate.
@cane(cane)-379:
oh cane….
those were the old days… we have moved on a long time ago…unfortunately for the beautiful game of rugby… i cant say the same about you.. (kiwi’s)….
24 May 2012, 15:31 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-443: Jaco Taute?
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-438: It is no use trying to reason with him. I have to admit the Boks of old were more into the rough stuff but rugby was like that in the amature era.
Sasuke @ 420
Sorry.Technologically challenged.
Suggest that you access site Green and Gold
directly through Internet
Regards
24 May 2012, 15:32 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-437: Kevin de Klerk used to say the same thing.
24 May 2012, 15:32 pm
@cane(cane)-441:
blame NZ media for overglofying them and constant huge expectations of kiwi public…
24 May 2012, 15:34 pm
@Puma(Puma)-449:
Adri Geldenhuys in his debut year for NTvl was one of the SA players of year . A real lineout talent. A real enforcer.
24 May 2012, 15:34 pm
Katman
Was thinking exactly that.
24 May 2012, 15:35 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-430:
adolf malan and louis moolman… right up there with the best…
not the dirtiest…. but as hard as they ever came.
24 May 2012, 15:36 pm
cheers my friends
time for bed
Meyer side will be very predictable with a couple of young blood in mix
24 May 2012, 15:36 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-443: Remember this name Jan Serfontein.
24 May 2012, 15:38 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-455: Indeed.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-453:
Adolf malan
yes agree.
Enforcer 7
Adri Geldenhuys
Armand du Preez
Adolf Malan
Louis Moolman
Johan Ackerman
Piet Bester (the real beast!)
Human family
The Artist @444.
Brilliant.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-452: Sharks tried JP Petersen there for this very reason. Jury is still out on the success of this move. Taute played 13 at age group level, and has done so a few times for the Lions too. And a midfield of a (trim and fit) Francois Steyn alongside Taute is a mouthwatering prospect.
I’ve heard Serfontein’s name a lot. Haven’t seen him play yet.
How big is he? Is he quick?
24 May 2012, 15:39 pm
@willievz(willievz)-426: Totally correct. Jordaan too not a big player, but he is top class. Great on defence and attack. ILambie too not the biggest, but not afraid to tackle any player, no matter the size and almost always gets his man. Size don’t always count.
24 May 2012, 15:40 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-457:
Piet used to play with a jersey with no sleeves whatsoever. Cut off at the shoulders.
The only player who I know not only moered Piet but his brother Andre in the SAME GAME off the field when playing for Griquas was a young thuggish hooker playing for Boland by the name of Dale Sandton…
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-442:
true.
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-451: So he was. Kevin was superb too.
24 May 2012, 15:43 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-453:
Adolf,……………………………………………………………………You have got to kidding me.
I do hope this poor individual was born pre-1940.
24 May 2012, 15:43 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-451:
he moered benazzi flat for winning a lineout
24 May 2012, 15:46 pm
@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-457:
put them on a field with a fair set of rules FOR BOTH SIDES and a bit of ‘leeway’ aka referees discrection with the best the kiwis got and watch a beautiful spectacle unfold…
24 May 2012, 15:46 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-460: 19 years old, 1,87 mts tall and 97 kgs. Cant wait to see him at Junior World Cup.
24 May 2012, 15:47 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-468: Too short for Tacitus
24 May 2012, 15:48 pm
@cane(cane)-465:
oh come on cane, whats in a name?
24 May 2012, 15:48 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-468:
Sounds like a nice prospect. Got some pace?
24 May 2012, 15:49 pm
@willievz(willievz)-469:
Nope. Andre Snyman was around 1,88 if I recall correctly.
The key for a 13 is size, strength and pace combined. The more pace the better.
24 May 2012, 15:53 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-443:
They are all still bigger than Japie Mulder who won a WC weighing 77kgs.
Sadie is taller than Andre Snyman who you refer to as a big centre and is only 5kgs lighter at 95kgs.
24 May 2012, 15:54 pm
@willievz(willievz)-474:
Are you smoking something?
Japie weighed 95kgs at that World Cup.
24 May 2012, 15:54 pm
Japie Mulder…77kg’s…..Hehehe..
24 May 2012, 15:55 pm
@willievz(willievz)-474:
that cant be right?
24 May 2012, 15:56 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-471: 12 or 13.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-473: JdJ has enough pace and strength. He just lacks in the size.
24 May 2012, 15:56 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-471 Acording some rugby365 bloggers hes quite quite quick. We will see next month
24 May 2012, 15:57 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-478:
Agreed. But he lacks majorly in that department. He ain’t ever going to dominate a Stirling Mortlock sized 100kg, hard running centre in midfield.
24 May 2012, 15:59 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-475:
If he did weigh 95kgs he must have bulked down in 2001, during a time period most players were bulking up:
http://www.leedscarnegie.com/rugby/leeds_carnegie_first_xv.php?player=7999&includeref=dynamic
24 May 2012, 16:04 pm
On another note, I see that Affies wing Andries van der Merwe is also the 2011 World Championship Gold Medalist in the junior 110m hurdles, with a time of 13.41.
Now that’s damn quick.
Let’s hope he sticks to rugby.
24 May 2012, 16:06 pm
@cane(cane)-465:
24 May 2012, 16:06 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-468: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-473: @willievz(willievz)-481:
jonathan davies 1.85m 103kg
robert ebersohn 1.80m 88kg
jan serfontein 1.87m 97kg
adam ashley cooper 1.86m 98kg
paul jordaan 1.80m 88kg
24 May 2012, 16:07 pm
ruben kruger
andre venter
andre joubert
henry honiball
hard but clean players
24 May 2012, 16:08 pm
Indeed Katters.
The problem is that Frankie Steyn’s mouth has been watering rather too much in Painauchocolatland.
He’s getting married (suprisingly not to Ruan Pienaar) in June. Let’s hope he’s been watching his figure for that at least.
24 May 2012, 16:09 pm
Still here did your mates not show.
24 May 2012, 16:11 pm
nzinchina it is now 16:10
they work till 17:00
will start pitching from 18:00
where are your mates
why you always infront of pc,what is wong?
24 May 2012, 16:12 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-482: Have you spoken to someone about this hurdles thing of yours?
24 May 2012, 16:12 pm
I would probably end up picking something like this with whats available.
1 – Tendai Mtawarira
2 – Bismarck du Plessis
3 – Jannie du Plessis
4 – Eben Etzebeth
5 – Andries Bekker
6 – Heinrich Brüssow
7 – Willem Alberts
8 – Pierre Spies
9 – Francois Hougaard
10 – Pat Lambie
11 – Gio Aplon
12 – Jean de Villiers
13 – Juan de Jongh
14 – JP Pietersen
15 – Zane Kirchner
16 – Adriaan Strauss
17 – Coenie Oosthuizen
18 – Juandré Kruger
19 – Marcell Coetzee
20 – Jano Vermaak
21 – Morné Steyn
22 – Bryan Habana
but with everyone available and a no pressure game to experiment, maybe try something like this…
1 – Beast
2 – Bismarck du Plessis
3 – Coenie
4 – Eben Etzebeth
5 – Andries Bekker
6 – Heinrich Brüssow
7 – Duane Vermulen
8 – Schalk Burger (c)
9 – Ruan pienaar
10 – Johan Goosen
11 – F Hougaard
12 – F Steyn
13 – JP Pietersen
14 – Aplon
15 – Taute
24 May 2012, 16:14 pm
I like talking to guys like you, your travelling and NZ woman shagging stories are much better than local TV.
24 May 2012, 16:16 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-489:
Was gonna comment on that but knew you or Gunther would do a better job.
local tv?
i asked you about your friends
thanks for mentioning that fact,will rarely bring it up again
why do you battle to intigrate there?
is it a culture thing?
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-486: Hey this is France you’re talking about. Where this man is considered to posses the physique of an in-form backline player: http://globalrugbynews.com/1713/rupeni-caucaunibucas-two-tries-for-agen-against-narbonne/
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-486:
on the plus side at least ruan’s not eating well in ireland so is on top of his figure. the food must be kak. hy’t n lekker paar din beentjies op hom. definetly not suited to southern hemisphere rugby at the moment.
24 May 2012, 16:17 pm
24 May 2012, 16:18 pm
You’ve said that before but keep bringing it up.
24 May 2012, 16:19 pm
katman he is brilliant but has no dedication sadly.
Hurdles gives me the shivers.
It’s a ballsac disaster waiting to happen.
What’s wrong with running on the ground?
Another productive work day in SA I see
24 May 2012, 16:20 pm
Most of the athletes that also play rugby are hurdles runners. If he was a 100m record holder, I’d trumpet that as well, but his personal best in the 100m is 10.94.
Of course, that’s in an official event, and not on some handclock, like Chavanga, Nokwe and all the other supposed speedsters rumoured times.
To be the World Champion in a sprinting event you have to be damn quick, though.
24 May 2012, 16:21 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-484: No shortness of talent there
24 May 2012, 16:23 pm
Yay
Black people are damn quick
And what’s wrong with a handclock
24 May 2012, 16:23 pm
hello willie
daar is n kans dat ek vir n paar dae bloem toe moet gaan vir n paar dae vir werk
ek het n jaar daar gebly en net 2 dae in bloem spandeer so ek ken die plek glad nie.
sien nogals uit.
ek het in tempe gebly en dis nie bloem nie.
24 May 2012, 16:24 pm
tac what is a handclock?
dont you mean hand stopwatch?
24 May 2012, 16:26 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-504:
Jis Fern
Jy sal my nie glo nie maar ek was nog nooit daar nie…
24 May 2012, 16:26 pm
Where’s greentea.
24 May 2012, 16:27 pm
Tempe?
Maar my vok is dit nie ‘n ou military installasie nie.
24 May 2012, 16:28 pm
Piet van Zyl? Is he the scrumhalf for the Lions? The Lions … a team who can’t beat an egg with a backline that can’t run a bath let alone a rugby ball and he is in the final squad???? He is better than McCleod, Duvenhage?? No ways. Hope I have the wrong guy
24 May 2012, 16:28 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-505: tac is experiencing several glitches in his Matrix today….”handclock”?
24 May 2012, 16:29 pm
@dj(dj)-509:
Cheetahs. Thanks for your contribution.
Immigration very quiet today Dawnie.
Only a few kiwis requiring cavity searches.
@dj(dj)-509: No Piet van Zyl is the Cheetah.
You are thinking about Tian Meyer
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-499: Hurdles, steeplechase, pole vault… all classic prison break techniques.
ek glo jou willie
ek was 2 dae in bloem van 8am en dan moes ons 7min voor 12 terug wees vir row call.
bloem raak koud.
die koudste dag daai jaar was -16 met die wind chill factor
ons was in die veld daai hele week
n rooikat wat heelaand buite in die veld gestaan het word koud,glo my.
24 May 2012, 16:30 pm
it’s a pity chavanga and nokwe weren’t running on a track with the wind behind them, they could’ve improved on their times too…
24 May 2012, 16:30 pm
That twins thing threw him completely
24 May 2012, 16:31 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-501: Odd that Shaun Bownes never played rugby. With his hurdles pedigree he’d walk into any team.
24 May 2012, 16:31 pm
Handclock and far lookers…
Kicking it old skool…
24 May 2012, 16:32 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-517:
Look I’ll be frank.
The Ebersohn craze drew my interest briefly a couple of seasons ago, until I saw how tiny the duo were, and then I already wrote them off as far as top level rugby is concerned.
Nothing since then has changed my opinion on the matter.
24 May 2012, 16:32 pm
Some fresh information has come to light, courtesy of Stephen Nell of Beeld.
It turns out that, apart from wanting to counter the Sharks’ anticipated forward onslaught, coach Alister Coetzee may have opted to include two loose forwards (Nic Fenton-Wells and Don Armand) on his bench to make up for the fact that starting open-sider, Siya Kolisi, is carrying a shoulder injury and probably won’t be able to play out the whole game.
Losing another loose forward now, when Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nick Koster and Nizaam Carr have already all been ruled out, is absolutely the last thing that the Stormers can afford and their coaching staff have been faced with something of a Morton’s Fork here (go look that one up if you need to!) Resting Kolisi against the Sharks is something they can ill-afford, particularly given the home side’s loose forwards depth – in fact, at this stage in the season, having three Bok loose forwards who can’t make the starting line-up is simply insane.
24 May 2012, 16:33 pm
tac and willie … thanks for correcting me. Reading that nearly ruined my afternoon but now I feel much better
24 May 2012, 16:34 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-517: did you see him trying to make a comeback earlier? tl tl tl
made his name gat!
24 May 2012, 16:34 pm
not a lot of people get the chance to be electronically timed,so do not knock the “handclock” time tac.
lots of rugbyplayers also at school concentrated on rugby and saw athletics as a sideshow
24 May 2012, 16:35 pm
No worries Tac
Re set that handclock!
24 May 2012, 16:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-518:
Look, most athletes are scared of jumping off a stoep, in case they injure some precious muscle that’s been fine tuned for that extra split second of pace.
They’re prima donnas, for the most part.
A guy that can win a sprinting gold medal at the world champs and play first team rugby for Affies at the same time has my respect.
I see he was man of the match in the game between Affies and Paarl Gym and the Kearsney rugby festival. Affies was the only team to remain unbeaten at the festival, where Paarl Gym beat Selborne College something like 57-12.
24 May 2012, 16:37 pm
You all leave Tac alone he is one of a kind.
24 May 2012, 16:38 pm
tac,why are you always on about affies?
sarel cilliers had a sub 11 sec 100m wing timed on a handclock
he didnot care about athletics though,only wanted to excell at rugby
does it make him a lesser athlete?
24 May 2012, 16:39 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-528:
Good for him. Is Sarel Cilliers in the Bulls feeding area?
24 May 2012, 16:40 pm
Who is Adolf Malan?
24 May 2012, 16:40 pm
adolf malan was a gentleman.
24 May 2012, 16:41 pm
no tac.sharks feeding area.a lot go to the sharks academy
remember this schools name…
mark my words
24 May 2012, 16:41 pm
him and Louis Moolman were the Victor and Bakkies of their day, old Northern Transvaal locks from the 70′s/80′s.
Moolman had the biggest beard you can imagine and Adolf was longer than the lions losing streak.
24 May 2012, 16:43 pm
so tac why do you always bring affies up
not the only school in pta you know
is een van daai verkrampte blou bull onderstueners wat daar gaan braai voor n wedstryd?
moolman was a legend.
@Transformation(Transformation)-521:
So you telling me Allistair is playing Kolisi while he is carrying a shoulder injury that is expected to stop him from even completing the match?
Jeepers. The Stormers sure know how to wreck their players. No consideration for the youngster’s future.
A 20 year old simply isn’t as tough as a 25 year old yet, and risking him now could have serious consequences down the line.
Really selfish move by the Stormers. But then, they’re desperate for that trophy, aren’t they.
24 May 2012, 16:44 pm
The squad is not a bog surprise, just remember it does not include some of the possible overseas players that may come in later like Steyn or Pienaar.
There are some players that could have been there, sure, BUT the hard part will be getting it from 42 players down to 28 or so for the Test series.
I think that some of the answers may become apparent closer to the time with injuries etc forcing HM’s hand.
Congrats to JJ though. I’ve always been a big fan. His selection above Sadie at centre is a bit ironic, given all the hype around the signing with JJ being a footnote to the whole saga at the time.
24 May 2012, 16:46 pm
Agreed. Stormers wreck players.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-537:
Meyer’s always said he values character more than talent. And JJ has certainly gone out to prove himself, in whatever position he got the opportunity to do so.
Showed a lot of character. Much as the detractors like to mock that cliched response to post match interview questions, it remains a critical factor in rugby success.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-514:
Escape to Victory!
I can see Tac now, mooching around the exercise yard casually dispersing last nights tunnel diggings through a hole in his fieldshoes whilst whistling Jan Pierewiet to distract the guards.
24 May 2012, 16:48 pm
Sasuke.Hope you came right.Worth a visit.
Regards.
All that defending bound to feck your team up
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-539: True. They are both very talented, but of the 2, I was more dissapointed to lose JJ than Sadie.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-537: A bog surprise? Like when to turn round to flush and there’s nothing there?
24 May 2012, 16:49 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-540: All the while running through his triple jump routine in his mind…
24 May 2012, 16:51 pm
come clean tac
why are you always bring up affies?
do you know how a person was in either affies or grey bloem?
they tell you
24 May 2012, 16:52 pm
or maybe you wish you were in affies tac
24 May 2012, 16:54 pm
Small wanger. Stop being like a nagging yapping puppy.
Can’t you see he is ignoring you.
24 May 2012, 16:55 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-546:
Didn’t realise you wanted a serious response on this.
To me it’s pretty self evident that if I have a son, and could choose any school for him to go to, it would be Affies. The name says it all, really.
24 May 2012, 16:58 pm
tac but isnt affies a closed school like grey where you can go if your dad was there or for a sporting bursary?
24 May 2012, 16:59 pm
In other news Ernie has just torn up Wentworth and the ANC’s advocate Malindi threw an Oprah in court today.
The gods must be crazy.
24 May 2012, 16:59 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-550:
No idea.
Depends where you live, I guess.
In any case. Affies is the main feeder school for Bulls players.
Like Grey Bloem is for the Sharks, I guess.
24 May 2012, 17:00 pm
ernie and the goose has a house at wentworth
24 May 2012, 17:01 pm
The backs’ list gives the impression of a circus
At full back HM pencilled in the likes of Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute and Joe Pietersen, what if the Poms will decide to run at them?
Grant should excuse himself from the camp, he is the most successful and efficient FH this Super Rugby season although it’s obvious that Jantie is the one to make the squad, so why bother?
24 May 2012, 17:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-544: Ed Zachery.
A Bog surprise.
24 May 2012, 17:05 pm
Hondo
What you on about now again?
24 May 2012, 17:06 pm
tacticus
met daai laaste blog post het jy meer gese deur wat jy nie gese het nie…
lekker aand ou grote
sag slaap
24 May 2012, 17:07 pm
Pierre Spies father (Also Pierre) was a fantastic hurdler who played for N.Tvl
No kak comments please.The man is dead.
Go Sharks.
24 May 2012, 17:10 pm
I see that Louis Koen and Pieter De Villiers have joined the Springbok management team.
Before you get all excited, the Pieter De Villiers who played front row for France.
Not the one who played the fool for South Africa.
24 May 2012, 17:15 pm
why is kolisi being played if he is injured?
that is pretty poor really.
hope he doesnt hobble off on sat because with willem, biz, the beast, marcel running at him his shoulder will not last long if he has an injury.
not a good look.
24 May 2012, 17:17 pm
not fair on the player ranger
benoude katte maak benoude spronge
24 May 2012, 17:23 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-561: agree fully.
the lad has a wonderful career ahead of him but shouldnt be played with injury ffs.
24 May 2012, 17:24 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-559:
almost popped a turtlehead there.
24 May 2012, 17:26 pm
rangerman
ek hoop nie die oukie kry n besering wat sy toekoms kan kelder of n besering waarvan hy nie kan terug kom nie
andre snyman was nooit dieselfde na daai gebreekte enkel nie,ja hy was nie beseer nie maar party beserings spook in die kop ook.
24 May 2012, 17:29 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-560: i’d rather they played hilton lobberts and lost than crock siya, if this is true allister is a doos!
24 May 2012, 17:31 pm
trassie
gambling with a injured player is not on
i agree
especially with a shoulder
no place to hide
24 May 2012, 17:39 pm
cheers all,have a good eve/morn
sleep softly nzinchina my buddy,phuza thursday starting here in about 10 minutes.
24 May 2012, 18:05 pm
They gonna crock him completely just watch
24 May 2012, 19:04 pm
we need more rotation at super level, these injuries are getting out of hand.
24 May 2012, 19:10 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-568: I agree Dawn And Kolisi is a damn fine player
24 May 2012, 19:12 pm
Anyhows we must not forget that it could also be a call to put the Sharks off thinking he might not play etc
Just like i think the Sharks team that runs onto the field might not be exactly as published
24 May 2012, 19:14 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-560: eish ranger me thinks this is just them getting their excuses ready
24 May 2012, 19:17 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-569: This is my biggest concern, it is amazing how the SA teams give their all when they play each other , so no doubt one will probably have a few injuries arcruing from the match
24 May 2012, 19:17 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-568: amen dawnertjie. we will destroy a lot of these boys.
24 May 2012, 19:45 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-563: Ja me too. Bog mistake.
24 May 2012, 19:57 pm
this Meyer will probably run on vs England like this
Kirchner
JPP
JdV
Steyn
Habana
Steyn
Du Preez
Spies
Brussow
Etsebeth
Vd Merwe
Du Plessis
Du Plessis
Greyling
Beast, Chili, Kruger, Stander, Hougaard, Engelbrecht, Lambie
He should have played it something like this
Steyn
Pietersen
JdV (c)
De Jongh
Aplon
Steyn
Hougaard
Coetsee
Elstadt
Brussow
Kruger
Etsebeth
Nel
Du Plessis
Greyling
Beast, Chili, Malherbe, Bekker, Alberts, Van Zyl, Lambie
24 May 2012, 19:58 pm
15 Patrick Lambie
1st Choice. Covers 10 as well
14 JP Pieterson
1st Choice. Covers 15 and 13 as well.
13 Jean De Villiers
Captain. 1st choice at 13. Covers 12 as well while FS is getting married.
12 Frans Steyn
1st Choice. Cover 15 as well
11 Bryan Habana
1st Choice, but only by a whisker. mVovo or Basson will usurp him within the next year.
10 Morne Steyn
2nd Choice. When Goosen comes back, he will drop out of the squad altogether, unless he wants to run the kicking tee on for kicks.
9 Francois Hougaard
1st choice. Just let the boy play. He is no FDP. It’s like asking Christian Cullen to be a kicking fullback. His game is different altogether. Also covers wing.
1 Tendai mTwarira
1st choice. Must keep on his toes as Coenie steps in.
2 Bismarck Du Plessis
1st choice. Quality is permanent. Class is debatable.
3 Jannie Du Plessis
1st choice. Isn’t there another Du Plessis brother whom we can call upon to cover tighthead? He is the only international quality 3 in SA.
4 Eben Etsebeth
1st choice. No more backwheeling Bok scrums
5 Andries Bekker.
1st choice. I just wish that the Stormers would stop playing him. The Boks’ cause is much more vaulable.
6 Heinrich Brussouw
1st choice. Another player in need of cloning.
7 Josh Strauss
4th choice. I rather have Burger, Vermeulen or Potgieter but the thing about Josh is that he will play his heart out, punching above his weight and do a great cover job.
8 Pierre Spies
2nd choice. I prefer the mule, Vermeulen and would like Spies in the last 30 minutes but he’s not a bad fall back on guy.
Reserves
Coenie Oosthuizen
Not far off a starting spot. Just hope this windgat attitude stays on the field. Stands back for no-one and has enough dik boer in him to punish unruly miscreants.
Chilliboy Rallepelle
Very hard to play him above Adriaan Strauss. His ball pilfering skills give him the edge in the internation environment.
Werner Kruger
Only there because no one else is. Stronger than Cilliers and at least loves SA enough to stay, unlike WP Nel who would have gotten the nod ahead of him.
Juandre Kruger
Perfect backup lock, covers 4 and 5.
Willem Alberts
Covers 7 and 8. Really only plays well from the bench, when oppositions are too tired to tackle a rhino.
Fourie Du Preez
Weird but deliberate. Let’s call him the “Assistant Coach” who can also guide Francois.
Wynand Olivier
Way down the totem pole. Will hopefully be that guy at the end of the game with his tracksuit still on.
Bjorn Basson.
Guaranteed to start within the next year. Just needs to learn more skills than, kick – catch and run.
Jaco Taute
Awesome player. Too bad he plays for the pussies. Cover 15 and 13.
24 May 2012, 20:01 pm
Choosing Blue Bulls much Heineke????
24 May 2012, 20:07 pm
SARU should just ask Heynecke to select his top 30 and have the Super 15 teams do without them for that prior weekend.
It’s all derbies and provides a stupid situation where the players will donner each other in to the ground, leaving the Boks with having to field a bunch of leprous geratrics against England.
Guaranteed scenario:
Four fist choice players will be injured for the England game, on that prior weekend.
The fresh Poms will beat the Men in Green.
The Super Rugby schedule will be debated endlessly after the fact.
Get proactive.
24 May 2012, 20:09 pm
Imagine a midfield with Olivier and De Jongh. The wings should file for pension there and then.
24 May 2012, 20:32 pm
in die midde van naamsveranderings en uithang geleenthede verneem ek dat daar klaar ‘n dorp na Zuma vernoem is… A-man-ze-toti
24 May 2012, 21:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: I have been suspecting for a while now that you actually know a lot less than you pretend to. You have just confirmed it. They’re twins you twat!
24 May 2012, 21:32 pm
One word to strike terror into the Stormers……….. S H A R K S S S S S S S S Ssssssssss and now I crash…..hectic times.
24 May 2012, 21:34 pm
Ashley Johnson’s omission is completely UNFAIR.
24 May 2012, 21:35 pm
Kolisi too for that matter.
24 May 2012, 21:43 pm
Imagine just for a moment
Stormers playing Fenton – wells, Armand, and Elstadt actually pull it off over Sharks with all their beefy braggadocios
that would be the daintiest little fairy tale come true in overrated guppy yuppie sardientjie land .. Sharkievarkies wouldn’t know how to live that one down.. not on your overrated Nellie
24 May 2012, 21:44 pm
Our backline stocks are so weak for a top 3 rugby nation. Really worried about our depth in just about every position, who’ll play inside centre if Frans is injured?, are our wings threatening at all unless hougaard is occupying one of em, hows our depth at centre generally? Most of the guys are either too small or just too damn one-dimensional. Who’ll be the fullback if Lambie is injured? Kirchtner ? What a joke.
24 May 2012, 21:54 pm
Steyn
JPP
De Villiers (c)
De Jongh
Aplon
(BIG conundrum) Steyn , Grant or Lambie
Hougaard
Coetsee
Elstadt
Brussow
Kruger
Etsebeth
Nel
Bismark
Greyling
Beast, Chili, Kruger, Bekker, Alberts / Stander / Kolisi, Van Zyl, Lambie / Engelbrecht / Pietersen / Steyn / Pienaar.
that would have been my thinking
24 May 2012, 22:04 pm
Forgot about Aplon, definetely a strike option at wing.
I’ll make some slight adaptions to the team I posted yesterday, predjudiced towards an attacking team (far as m.Steyn will get you)
Lambie
Aplon
De Villiers
Steyn
Hougaard
Steyn
Pienaar/Du Preez
Johnson/Bismark
Brussouw
Bekker
Estebeth
Oosthuizen
Strauss
Beast
Habs, De Jongh, Kruger, Coetzee, Potgieter, Greyling,
25 May 2012, 00:48 am
Looks like a better squad now.. Although I think that its a big suprise to see ndungane there? I mean van den heever is better and willie le roux? Other suprises are JJ Engelbrecht, Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, CJ Stander?? Will see Vermeulen, Burger etc return.. I will also say that its good to see marcell coetzee there and eter grant.. I would have gone for Elstadt over Flip and I predict that 1 or 2 no
t in this vsquad play their way into the squad.. CJ VD Kinde?
25 May 2012, 00:49 am
Minnie for Stander imo
25 May 2012, 00:49 am
Whitehead for olivier
25 May 2012, 00:50 am
Whitehead for olivier….
25 May 2012, 07:30 am
I really feel for Kolisi and Ebersohn. Why choose that useless W Olivier ahead of. Ebersohn?
25 May 2012, 09:27 am
1 Question…. Where is Kolisi???… Not a single player of colour that has not represented SA before.. so that says alot about the supposed transformation in this country…I m all for merit selection..I know we want continuity, I know we have lots of good loosies.. But C’ mon… this is a preliminary squad, not even a squad of 30… Think Kolisa could/should have been there, ESPECIALLY if you have alook of some of the other names there, players who have proven time and time again that they are not test quality…Good squad… but dont think Heyneke will last long if he continues to pick along these lines… even if the Boks keep winning..
25 May 2012, 19:50 pm
@YoMama(YoMama)-577:
Excellent team. Brilliant rationale. Should have space for Aplon instead of Meisiekind.