Meyer granted extra opportunity

Heyneke Meyer will hold a fourth and final planning camp in Durban from Sunday with 42 players invited to attend.

This will be the final opportunity for Meyer to work with the players before the final Springbok squad to face England meets on 3 June.

The camp will take place on 27 and 28 May. The players will depart Durban around midday on Monday and will be back with their Super Rugby franchises for training in the afternoon.

‘We discussed this with the franchise CEOs recently and they’ve been very accommodating, as they were earlier in the season,’ said Meyer.

‘We’ve planned it in Durban, because the Stormers take on the Sharks at Kings Park the day before and will be there already. Players from the Bulls, Lions and Cheetahs will fly in on Sunday morning.

‘This is by no means a final Springbok squad and the door will be open for all our eligible players until the announcement of the squad that will take on England.

‘This camp will put in place a number of the finer details in terms of what we want to achieve against England. We will hit the ground running on 3 June, when we converge in Durban for the first Test with a final squad.’

Meyer said that they will keep in touch with the Super Rugby franchises regarding injured players, but that they weren’t considered for this camp.

Players invited to the final Springbok Planning Camp in Durban on 27 and 28 May:

Forwards (22): Coenie Oosthuizen, Tendai Mtawarira, Dean Greyling, Jannie du Plessis, Pat Cilliers, Werner Kruger, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Flip van der Merwe, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Juandré Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Heinrich Brüssow, Keegan Daniel, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss.

Backs (20): Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl, Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen.

596 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 1.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Yeah one step closer DRAGONS

• 2.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

who the fck is Peter Grant?

nice to see Akona getting an invite. doubt he’d ever start or even play but definately one of the 3 smartest backs in our country for me.

• 3.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Keegan Danial over Siya Kolisi? Is this some sick twisted joke?

Sho Meyer…

That said, great squad.

• 4.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-3:

I was just looking at that……

• 5.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

well i can tell you baniel, kankowski, deysel and jantjes will definetely be culled.

• 6.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Meisiekind?!
    JJ?!

• 7.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

surprise ommision is frans steyn.

• 8.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

strauss wont make the final cut either.

• 9.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

houston, I see you voted…

Is it a setback for the Boks that Matfield won’t be able to play against England?

No 19
    Yes 1

• 10.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-3:
    agreed.
    kolisi should at least have gotten a nod of sorts from hm.
    he’s playing well.

• 11.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Daniel wont get selected but deserved the call up… Kolisi should have been there…

• 12.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Olivier and JJ over Ebersohn and Whitehead?

• 13.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Good to see Piet van Zyl’s name in there, if he keeps up the good work he may even make the cut…that is if Naka does not decide to play Tewis again!

• 14.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Unacceptable.

So now the poor Bulls Boks, who have been away from their families and newborns for 4 weeks need to fly straight from Hamilton to Durban and postpone seeing their loved ones by yet another 2 days?

I’m not happy with this arrangement.

• 15.Superbru: Reply to this comment

Plenty of youngsters,but is this a squad that can beat the Poms with their Bulldog mentality?

• 16.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-9:
    hahahaha

you will all be crying for a hero come june 9.

• 17.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: Oh my word… Just saw Kankow and Strauss are there… I like Strauss but he’s seriously mediocre.

And then JJ? Seriously…

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5: Jantjies is a great player playing for a kak side, Grant should go first, and I’m a Stormer.

• 18.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-15:

Speaking of which…got 55 so far…

http://www.superbru.com/wintertours/pool.asp?p=281628

Pool name: The Meyer’s first test
    Pool code: gullrent

• 19.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14: Hahahahaha shame!

• 20.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14:
    Ag shame,being a Bok is rather a big responsibility playing for one’s country and sometimes one needs to make sacrifices hey?

• 21.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16:

Maybe but Matfield is not the guy.

• 22.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

it’s not a serious squad call up….or is it?

were is frans steyn is he back from france yet?

• 23.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-20:

Hahahaha mamma se rokspant wag!

• 24.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Of course it won’t include overseas players yet.

• 25.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-17:
    he is good when he pushes himself hard enough but at the moment is not playing good enough rugby.
    but more importantly he is surplus to requirements when considering the whole squad and knowing hm…. nothing personal, just a ‘winning rugby’ decision.

• 26.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Jeez, being called up to a Bok training camp these days is SUCH a drag.

And for a full 2 days…my word. Its Staaldraad: The Return of Stroooli.

• 27.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Would have liked to see Robert Ebersohn there but maybe he will get a chance later on.

• 28.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-17:
    agreed on grant though, will prob not make final cut.

• 29.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Looking at the squad, I like it.

The right players are there.

• 30.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Just as I suspected, Meyer has gone Bulls heavy. By skimming through the list I can see 15 Bulls and only 8 Stormers. The bulk of the Stormers squad will get a much needed rest over the England tour, whilst the Bulls will be run into the ground. Thank you HM, you the man!!!!

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Come on Ebersohn fans. The guy can’t even make the Cheetahs starting line up consistently, and is too small for international rugby as a centre. And at flyhalf, he isn’t in our top 3.

• 32.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

That’s a very good training squad. Add a couple of overseas based players like Frans Steyn, Ruan Pienaar and MAYBE Gurthro and Bakkies, and Heyneke will be able to put together a team that will put the hurt on the English. Two youngsters I would have liked to see there are Kitshoff and Kolisi, but it’s still very potent.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-3: @Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-4: well meyer was told not to select kolisi until he is absolutely sure that he is ready for Test rugby. there were no such articles about marcell coetzee or cj stander, which one can take it as they’re seen as READY for Test rugby.

• 34.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: You do realise they are twin brothers not the same player? Some serious ambiguity there.

Ebersohn should be there ahead of JJ that’s for damn certain, but then again it hardly matters as JJ will drop out first (We can only hope).

• 35.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: Yeah dude most ridiculous article ever. That’s how you boost a young player, your first article on him is about how NOT-ready he is, unlike Pat he is the future of South African rugby, or was that Frans Steyn? Or Pierre Spies?

Clowns the lot of them, Siya will force his way in, even if he has to put in double the amount of effort.

• 36.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: How can you say he can’t make starting line up of Cheetahs? Robert has started every game and he has never played flyhalf. No one here has said Sias should be called up so not sure where the flyhalf issue comes in.

• 37.SamM: Reply to this comment

Tactitus

Your eyesiight is %$^^&*^ , Talking about Robert not Sias .Rob has played every game fro the cheetahs for the last 2 seasons ,and has had a great season . Sias however has his ups and downs . . .twins . . .

• 38.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: well what could the resons be transie?

tell us :lol:

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: you are confusing the two boys clearly, robert ebersohn – he has started every game – is the centre and sias is the flyhalf – he’s has a hondkak season.

get a cup of coffee,.

• 40.garth: Reply to this comment

WTF are Pat Cilliers, Keegan Daniel, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Elton Jantjies, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Akona Ndungane and Zane Kirchner doing there. Bull’s quota players.

• 41.Horings: Reply to this comment

Exclusions of note: Kolisi, Elstadt, Duvenhage, McLeod, Whitehead, Ebersohn, Viljoen, Danillier.
    Interesting inclusions: Cilliers, Daniel, Deysel, Kankowski, v Zyl, Vermaak, Grant, Engelbrecht, Ndungane, Taute, Pietersen.
    MY starting XV: Taute, Pietersen, de Jong/ de Villiers, Olivier, Aplon, Steyn, Hougaard, Spies, Coetzee, Brussow, Kruger, Etzebeth, du Plessis, du Plessis, Mtawarira.

Would replace Olivier with F Steyn and Mtawarira with Steenkamp if overseas players are included.

• 42.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

11 Players ‘of colour’ in squad:

x7 ‘coloured’ players
    x4 ‘black’

Pretty damn representative!

• 43.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-35: which article was this?

kolisi has no problem, he will be a bok imo.

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-38: you think i know what goes on in the minds of these souties :lol:

• 45.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Shame Sadie the only Bulls player not to have made it. Kirschner, Spies and Basson are the jokers in the squad my guess.

• 46.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-42: and kolisi to add soon enough.

and its all happening so seamlessly these days no stress and no pressure, the talent both black and white is coming through nicely.

• 47.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-30:

“Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns. Who’s gonna do it? You? You, Lt. Coetzee? I have a greater responsibility than you could possibly fathom.”

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want me on that wall, you need me on that wall. We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. You use them as a punchline.

I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand a post.
    Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to.”

• 48.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-44: no, i dont, tell us?

• 49.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14:

Fly the loved ones to Durbs! Leave the kids at home and pomp all weekend!
    Lekker man!

• 50.Horings: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-40: In your list you have Lions, Sharks, WP and Bulls players, why pick on the Bulls players. Grant should also not be there.

Meyer basically selected all the Sharks loosies, so he cannot replace Spies with a Sharks player. He selected Strauss (Lions). Johson is going overseas and he is defintely not good enough to be considered as an overseas player. Oh of course, he should select the Canadian!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.