Meyer granted extra opportunity

Heyneke Meyer will hold a fourth and final planning camp in Durban from Sunday with 42 players invited to attend.

This will be the final opportunity for Meyer to work with the players before the final Springbok squad to face England meets on 3 June.

The camp will take place on 27 and 28 May. The players will depart Durban around midday on Monday and will be back with their Super Rugby franchises for training in the afternoon.

‘We discussed this with the franchise CEOs recently and they’ve been very accommodating, as they were earlier in the season,’ said Meyer.

‘We’ve planned it in Durban, because the Stormers take on the Sharks at Kings Park the day before and will be there already. Players from the Bulls, Lions and Cheetahs will fly in on Sunday morning.

‘This is by no means a final Springbok squad and the door will be open for all our eligible players until the announcement of the squad that will take on England.

‘This camp will put in place a number of the finer details in terms of what we want to achieve against England. We will hit the ground running on 3 June, when we converge in Durban for the first Test with a final squad.’

Meyer said that they will keep in touch with the Super Rugby franchises regarding injured players, but that they weren’t considered for this camp.

Players invited to the final Springbok Planning Camp in Durban on 27 and 28 May:

Forwards (22): Coenie Oosthuizen, Tendai Mtawarira, Dean Greyling, Jannie du Plessis, Pat Cilliers, Werner Kruger, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Flip van der Merwe, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Juandré Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Heinrich Brüssow, Keegan Daniel, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss.

Backs (20): Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl, Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen.

596 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 301.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-296:

yes. Weepu should have packed his packs and finishedup lwith WC glory.

Total disgrace and unprofessional for him to have started the season with new side – totally unfit. Expect that of other young maori or Island players but not someone of Weepus experience!

• 302.cane: Reply to this comment

Last time I logged on here (two days ago),
    The Sharkies and StormBoys were at each others throats like there was no tomorrow.

Beautiful it was.

Why has peace broken out?

• 303.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-302:

i must admit i got a larf out of it too.

• 304.greentea: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-300:

Yes they are but we have handed them far more hidings over the years.

• 305.cane: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-298:

He (Ross) was excellent in the loose, but somewhat lacking in the tight.

As soon as was dropped, our results improved immediately.

• 306.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-302:
    Things bound to be tense till game time saturday,then it’s gonna be tears for some.

• 307.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-297: As a person they might respect him. A captain needs to be respected as a PLAYER first. Surely I need no ‘link’ to prove this? Why would someone like Duane Vermeulen respect Spies as a player – pray tell me? You think Kieran Reid sees Spies as a worthy opponent? It’s like Barbie vs Thomas the Tank Engine. Spies is the luckiest player in SA (he also has the blindest fans). I can already picture it: Spies firing up his troops begging them for more physicality – then turning around and proceeding to play ‘dodgeball/dodgetackle/dodgeopposition’ for the remainder of the game, whilst his men bleed…..a real modern day Braveheart he isn’t. You want another Casper the friendly ghost captaining the Boks – go ahead. I doubt anyone outside of Pretoria (fans and players) will agree with you.

• 308.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-302: It’s not peace. Hor-moan and his Spice Girls buggered off. Waiting for them to change their manties and return. But they have to hurry it up as I have work to do.

• 309.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-304:

true my friend – frogs are a crazy unpredictable lot

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307:

Casper the friendly ghost?? lol a bit harsh

• 310.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-299:
    no, the boks have been bad at scoring tries across the board for a while now.

its not just our tier 1 oppponents oz, nz we have this problem with but also some of the tier 2′s: england, wales, ire, france…

• 311.cane: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-306:

“”Things bound to be tense till game time saturday….”"

Good,

I like to see Posts with feeling.

• 312.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I see the keewees has gone all sub servient since their leader Pooper had another breakdown,they were fearless without him.I will give him his due,he is a great leader of kiwis,albeit not of men.

• 313.cane: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-310:

Tier 2′s……………………England.

You are lucky Big Hit ain’t around bakkies.

• 314.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

mean while the bulls will just sail on through…

listen to the music….

the rest is just noise….

• 315.greentea: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-305:

Was Ross locking in 09′?

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-309:

Saw them score that try at Eden park was crying into my beer.

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-310:

Thats why Meyer has been chosen, do you think he’ll turn that aspect of your game around?

• 316.greentea: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-312:

Can you tell us your thoughts on NZ woman again.

• 317.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

correction
    fearless with him

• 318.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-312:

Popps is Arnie Schwarzenegger ,
    He’ll be back.

• 319.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

another day nz in china,we have a huge match on saturday that is more important.

• 320.greentea: Reply to this comment

Has Pops left?

• 321.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

i hope so cane
    he always returns with more fire and anger

• 322.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-314:
    Nah,Bulls will not be sailing through a rampant Chiefs side at home imo.

• 323.greentea: Reply to this comment

We’ve got time.

• 324.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

he had another breakdown but this one was in absentia
    he will return with a chortle and a huge belly wobble

• 325.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-315:

Yep 2009. Isaac Ross was then dropped to Club rugby by Crusaders in 2010 and then downhill from then!

lots of promise but over coached talent – and soft

• 326.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

you have time nzinchina
    i am just winding down work and then mates are coming over for a braai and phuza thursday so no can do
    you are a homesick kiwi in china staying up and looking for a conversation.
    beggars cant be choosers
    you are the begger

• 327.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307: I did not say that I think he is a great player or captain, you just stated as fact no SA player outside the Bulls respects him and I asked how you knew that. I personally think he is a good captain but like you think he needs to be more dominant in the collisions. As for Read I think he is a cheating tosser of note, as for Vermeulan he deserves to be the Bok no 8.

• 328.greentea: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-325:

Yip the Ab’s were weak in 09′.

• 329.cane: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-315:

Yes, played all of his 8 Tests oin 09.

Against SA,
    Played……. 3.
    Won……….. 0.

• 330.greentea: Reply to this comment

No no i’m just very interested in your stories about how many woman in NZ you bedded ( and the ex SAFFA’S )and how many houses you own.

• 331.greentea: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-329:

Did we win a lineout in 09′?

• 332.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-328:

Abs also must have record for one test short test career test players!

• 333.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-313:

kiwi’s are kiwi’s, caner…

but at the end of the day… fark the english….

@greentea(greentea)-315:
    absolutely, just look at the bulls ability to score tries.
    we are second best try scorers so far this season and were 1st and 2nd top scorers in the 2009, 2010 season if i remember correctly.

people cling to outdated opinions more than anything else.

@Superbru(Superbru)-322:
    true,
    it wont be plain sailing in the least.
    will be lucky to squeak it.

• 334.greentea: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-327:

Read is hoping Spies gets picked.

• 335.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

if you behave for 2 weeks nzinchina i may indulge you.
    as you were
    what is the time there by you now?
    you are a kiwi,know your place

• 336.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-326:

“beggars cant be choosers
    you are the begger”.

And you Fernly are a knunt.
    Always have been.
    Always will be.

• 337.greentea: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-332:

Lock has been a problem for us over the years so plenty have been tried, looks like this year could be as well.

• 338.greentea: Reply to this comment

C’mon Fern you’ve got time, you know you want to.

• 339.stew: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-327: How is Kieran Read a cheat , I thought that honour was reserved for our beloved captain ?

• 340.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

cane i posted you a answer on the matfield thread

• 341.cane: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-331:

Not many.

• 342.greentea: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-339:

Good question Stew, did you see Hougarrd feeding the ball under the 2nd row during the Highlanders game is he a cheat.

• 343.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-339:
    no, he is as dirty as they come.
    just about that whole saders forward pack is.

• 344.cane: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-339:

Kieran is our next Captain Couragous,
    The Okes are just getting in some practice before the event.

• 345.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-327: Spies does seem to be a good captain, for the BULLS. (It’s not that hard to pull together a bunch of guys who are already singing off the same hymn sheet….ditto for coaches, fans, admin etc – The Bulls have a very uniform setup, which IMHO is 85% of the reason for their recent successes) Just becomes a lot harder to convince folk from other provinces (players/admin etc) to sing “Onward Christian soldiers march”, when they would rather be singing “Amazing Grace”. The Spies captaincy issue and the Meyer coaching issue are interlinked, and while I think Heyneke is a GOOD appointment, I’m curious as to whether he realises just how different his job is, running the national setup. (By the looks of the 15 Bulls in his ‘camp’ squad’ – he might have some trouble differentiating) Time will tell.

• 346.stew: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-342: Ofcourse not .. it is reserved for Saders players only – do you know that they cheated everytime they won 7 super titles – shocking ! LOL

• 347.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Its not the final squad, this is all about logistics. I’m sure we will see the likes or Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Fourie Dupreez, Bakkies Botha etc in the final squad for England.

• 348.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-337:

soon be case of – Who hasnt played for ABs

teams majority full of ex Abs

• 349.stew: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-343: Thats how we like our forward warriors – hard and dirty – time you SA boys man up !

• 350.cane: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-342:

He is more than a cheat,
    he is from a long line of cheats.

Cheating is in his DNA.

Houggie can’t help himself.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.