Meyer granted extra opportunity

Heyneke Meyer will hold a fourth and final planning camp in Durban from Sunday with 42 players invited to attend.

This will be the final opportunity for Meyer to work with the players before the final Springbok squad to face England meets on 3 June.

The camp will take place on 27 and 28 May. The players will depart Durban around midday on Monday and will be back with their Super Rugby franchises for training in the afternoon.

‘We discussed this with the franchise CEOs recently and they’ve been very accommodating, as they were earlier in the season,’ said Meyer.

‘We’ve planned it in Durban, because the Stormers take on the Sharks at Kings Park the day before and will be there already. Players from the Bulls, Lions and Cheetahs will fly in on Sunday morning.

‘This is by no means a final Springbok squad and the door will be open for all our eligible players until the announcement of the squad that will take on England.

‘This camp will put in place a number of the finer details in terms of what we want to achieve against England. We will hit the ground running on 3 June, when we converge in Durban for the first Test with a final squad.’

Meyer said that they will keep in touch with the Super Rugby franchises regarding injured players, but that they weren’t considered for this camp.

Players invited to the final Springbok Planning Camp in Durban on 27 and 28 May:

Forwards (22): Coenie Oosthuizen, Tendai Mtawarira, Dean Greyling, Jannie du Plessis, Pat Cilliers, Werner Kruger, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Flip van der Merwe, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Juandré Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, CJ Stander, Heinrich Brüssow, Keegan Daniel, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Pierre Spies, Ryan Kankowski, Josh Strauss.

Backs (20): Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Piet van Zyl, Morné Steyn, Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, Wynand Olivier, Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Lwazi Mvovo, Akona Ndungane, Zane Kirchner, Jaco Taute, Joe Pietersen.

596 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 351.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

all we can do now is speculate and wait for the official team announcment

• 352.stew: Reply to this comment

I think it is a hell of a cheek for any Bulls supporter to talk about cheating – i will never forget the forward bull S*H*I*T try that lost us a home semi two seasons ago

• 353.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-349:
    hard and dirty is fine with me but its the cheap shot, low stuff you pull off and then deceive the world about that grates.

• 354.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

This thread still strong, I see.

I love this squad. Finally a coach who knows what he’s doing.

• 355.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

tac,the same coach who dared to call up bulls players to go to dbn?
    can they not fly their families down to dbn

• 356.stew: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-353: Not a place for soft as pansy batty boys – what has happened to SA forward reputation ??????

• 357.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354:
    oh good grief!
    its one thing to say say here’s a coach who knows what he’s doing
    but to say you love ‘this’ squad is stretching it.

honestly tac, don’t be like a kiwi.

• 358.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-343:

Crusaders are a throwback to old kiwi packs where no brown faces in pack????

a forward pack lacking no real x factor forwards but smart players who play well as a unit and able impliment a coach gameplan effectively.Much like Aussie packs – who dispite haveing weak front rows are still competitive.

If only Wallabies could find decent scrummagers they rule world!

• 359.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

what is tac gonna say if lots of bulls players are not in the starting line up

• 360.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-356:
    that reputation will precede itself in the not too distant future, old friend.
    heyneke is here now.

• 361.greentea: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-341:

Never mind the Ab’s are off the pace for a season once every 5 or 6 years.

• 362.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-352:

hey, I’m still getting over 1990 and losing Natal :D

• 363.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

i wonder what the all black team is gonna be like with a new coach and will he stick to the tried and tested

• 364.greentea: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-360:

Yer but didn’t Meyer take 5 seasons for the Bulls to get their first win?

• 365.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-345: You remind me of the people commenting about Kitch in 1995. Obviously he will have provincial bias in the beginning because these are the players he knows
    but I do believe he is a great coach and he should have been the Bok coach 4 years ago. Spies will play and will probably be his captain like feather Pienaar was the 95 Bok captain under Kitch. Time will tell if this is a wise move or not. I personally do not know but I am willing to give HM the benefit of the doubt as I support him as the Bok coach.

• 366.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354: **** ****

• 367.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-366: h o o r h o o r

• 368.greentea: Reply to this comment

You still here Fern I thought you were busy.

• 369.nama1: Reply to this comment

I guess it is the coach’s prerogative to invite whoever he wants to a training camp like this but Meyer is showing his hand here.

I’d like to know on what grounds Deysel and Kankowski are in the group.

I always had the feeling that WO will feature in Meyer’s plans, so no surprise there.

Overall a good squad. One can argue about who has been left out till the cows come home, it won’t help you one bit.

The coach has the final say and if he feels he can do well with certain players, it is his choice.

• 370.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-367: not h o e r h o e r

• 371.stew: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358: I think the worlds greatest player McCaw does count as an X factor player – and we did have Kev and Kaino in our pack last year – truth be told the hard men from the South island are worth their weight in gold especially when grit is needed in the last twenty , an area where SA has lost ground

• 372.greentea: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-369:

WO is that Oliver from the Bulls?

• 373.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

just casually winding down the day till 3:30 and then out of here.it is now 14:10 in sa.

• 374.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-354: Well we will see if he knows what he is doing by selecting all those Bulls once the final whistle blows on the Chiefs game. (It won’t be good for the Blueboks to lose both their games in NZ, and then have to return to take it up the butt again in the Rugby Championship – it is important that all these Blue Boks actually experience a win in NZ – would you not agree?)

• 375.stew: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-360: I hope so we need the competition

• 376.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-365: I trust then that you were NOT one of those who whinged about Mallett and his so called Cape Cabal as it was called back then (If I have the term correct).

• 377.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-371:

true true…but

“the worlds greatest player ” ??? lol

lets not saint the guy to early

• 378.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Regarding the Ebersohn thing:

I don’t know which one plays flyhalf and which one plays centre.

What I do know is that whichever one is the flyhalf, is not one of our top 3 flyhalves.

And wichever one is centre is too small to be effective on the international stage. Especially at outside centre, where you normally have guys like Stirling Mortlock, Will Greenwood, Andre Snyman, Japie Mulder, Conrad Smith, Jaque Fourie etc. running at you.

This is a concern that also applies to Johan Sadie, who seems a bit on the small side to me.

• 379.cane: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-353:

You mean the cheap stuff like :
    Bakkies…………………eye gouging, punching, head butting, biting, torpedo cleanouts.,ete, etc, etc, etc…………………
    Bismark………,,,,,,,,,,eye gouging.
    Burger………………….eye gouging.
    Butch……………..late, high and armless tackles…………………for 10 years.

Notice how all their names start with “B”.
    Le Bokke Bastardo’s.

Oh ,
    and Captain Smit’s knee to the back of Thorn.
    That Johan Roux prop dude, that bit Fitzy’s ear off.
    And going way back, the 1956 Boks front row that damaged Kevin Skinners knuckles with their boneheads.

• 380.greentea: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-377:

the greatest player of his generation without a doubt

• 381.stew: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-377: Hard for me not to idolise !!!! LOL

• 382.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-379: Rubbish

• 383.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

howzit sharkslover
    when i am in the cape again i will let you know in advance and i will pull into your spot and we can have some dops and chat rugby.

• 384.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

and to Cane, lets not open up old wounds and tic for tat!

Johan le Roux

• 385.stew: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-379: classic

• 386.cane: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358:

“”Crusaders are a throwback to old kiwi packs where no brown faces in pack????”"

Waka Nathan,
    Tane Norton,
    Billy Bush,
    Micheal Jones,
    Olo Brown,
    Zinzan and Robin,
    Kevy,
    Jerome.

You can have a lot of fun without being silly G13G.

• 387.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-383: Please invite me along, as I would love to record this ‘having some dops and chatting rugby’ and upload it to Youtube. Helen Keller meets Julius Malema. I will call my video, “The Fear of a Nation Part 1″.

• 388.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-357: Tac can’t tell the difference between robert & sias ebersohn, so why expect him to make sense? :D

• 389.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-386:

true

but maily refering to the Crusaders pack today..compare them to what they did to the Blues pack woodcock and all.

• 390.greentea: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-387:

Which one is Fern?

• 391.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-358:
    look, i will agree and give them their due, as a unit the crusaders packs have been as good as they come. they’ve struggled somewhat the last few years or so and started off really badly this season, but have improved.

it is however also true that they play very dirty. sometimes dirty in an ugly, cheap shot way and this pisses me off because its not fair that sa teams get pinged but they dont.
    if it was a level playing field they would in no way have gotten lucky enough to dominate us in the last 15 years or so, at super or national level.

i do not want to be controversial and go along with your ‘racial theory’ but will note that they do supposedly have a ‘three dark.ies only’ policy (in one of their own’s words, not mine). a counter to this though would be a comparison with the chiefs pack as they have about a 50/50 split between white and brown.

• 392.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Johan Sadie has yet fulfil his protential

robert Ebelsolm has form this season. but is missing something.

JJ who???

• 393.greentea: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-391:

Do they I hadn’t taken any notice.

• 394.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-392: Ja, he’s missing about 10kg, and about 10cm.

• 395.cane: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-384:

I often get the Roux thugs mixed up with the le Roux thugs.

My apologies to the Roux thugs.

• 396.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-391:

valid points. I too believe the Saders get ahead with lot and Reids mindgames with referees is big game of theirs to get under skinsof refes. mcCaw dos this too.

• 397.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-307: i recall in 2010 the all blacks were to play @ soccer city and were @ sandton restaurant and the Britney Outsurance ad came on and apparently the players broke out in fits of laughter, jerome kaino was apparently was in so much pain because of stitches…

• 398.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-394:

sad to have great form but be told “sorry, truth be told, you too small my friend” :D

• 399.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-395:

lol Johan Roux was a halfback

• 400.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-398: A guy like De Jongh is not much bigger, but I’d far rather have him in my team than Ebersohn.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.