Bulls fire, then fade

RYAN VREDE reports on a 28-22 victory for the Chiefs over the Bulls that leaves the three-time champions with little breathing room if they are to secure a home play-off.

The Bulls were acutely aware of the importance of victory in the context of their conference challenge, but they failed to negotiate a determined second half effort from the Chiefs, after being dominant for the opening half. They will hope the Sharks beat the Stormers in Durban tomorrow and also bank on teams close to them on the overall log dropping points. There is no panic just yet – they’ve finished strongly in recent years after coming off tour – but they cannot afford to drop many more points.

When their execution of their game plan is on point (which it was in the first half) few sides in the tournament could live with the Bulls. However, their inability to sustain their effort through 80 minutes cost them, as did numerous spurned opportunities early in the match.

There are still questions about Francois Hougaard’s kicking game, but tonight it was adequate. His shortcomings in this regard were made up for by Morné Steyn and Zane Kirchner’s competency in this facet of play. Their high kicks and a committed chase had the Chiefs’ back three looking like they were fielding grenades. This is an area the Hamilton franchise must address urgently if they are to be serious title contenders.

Once in the Chiefs’ 22m the Bulls were a mix of efficient and disappointing. Steyn banked two penalties and a drop goal and a try from Bjorn Basson, who profited from poor defence from Lelia Masaga, gave the Bulls a deserved 16-8 lead at the break.

On defence, such was the power and accuracy of their gainline challenge that the Chiefs were made to look toothless. Their primary strike runners – Sonny Bill Williams included – seldom posed a threat. Indeed the Bulls would have been disappointed at the margin of their lead at that point, the Chiefs’ only try coming courtesy of an Akona Ndungane error and their aforementioned wastefulness in good positions lending further weight to this assertion.

Steyn and Aaron Cruden traded penalties after the break, but the Chiefs, galvanised by the injection of quality impact players, gradually found the momentum and synergy they lacked in the first 40. The Bulls remained resolute but their resistance waned going into the final quarter when Cruden found wing Asaeli Tikoirotuma with an inside ball that left him with a clear route to goal. Cruden added the extras for a lead that was short-lived, Steyn edging his side ahead with his fourth penalty of the match.

Then the turning point, and this time another Bulls error inside the Chiefs’ 22m cost them dearly. The hosts turned over possession and ran the ball 70m before earning a lineout. A quick feed caught the Bulls’ defensive line unset, and Williams exploited this, surging through a gap then offloading to put Same Cane clean through. Cruden sunk the conversion and the Bulls just never looked like they had the capacity for a telling rebuttal thereafter.

752 Comments

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 » Show All

• 601.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yes. Some answers please!

• 602.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oops sorry!

No mention of Eben?

• 603.fitzella: Reply to this comment

Bulls were g’damn pathetic today..

Hougaard does NOT look like Bok scrummy material to me one little bit after the fckup I saw today..

Out that entire Bulls collection I would consider J. Kruger and CJ Stander from forwards, and Basson from backs with a possible inclusion of JJ Engelbrecht as a wild card. And that is about IT.

Hougaard and M. Steyn looked incredibly ordinary unless Steyn is going for poles he’s a one dimensional points machine but that is ALL he brings, and nothing else. Olivier will always be a mediocre midfield player Williams demolished him yet again.

Sadie looked better but he’s clearly not happy in that setup there in spite of the bullshit he spouted when he said Bulls was a big step up in professionalism.

Meyer gonna have his work cut out because he going to rely on some senior stalwarts like FdP and if that don’t work he’s gonna bomb big time first series up carrying Spies and the rest of these bully beef clowns.

• 604.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-600:

He rates Frans at 12 and not 15. That means he is looking for a 13. He didn’t say as much but JDV could be shifted there. And then possibly made captain as well. But I’ll get to that. Taute impresses him no end and HM said “He will be a Bok.” But not sure in what position. He might introduce as a wing and then eventually into 13. He mentioned that JDV is getting to the end of his career.

HM said that Lambie is a better 15 than a 10. He mentioned Aplon and Joe Pietersen as well. But don’t be surprised if Zane Kirchner gets a nod. HM likes the way his season is going. ok so the Bulls lost today, But this weekend’s games and next weekend’s could swing it.

• 605.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-602:
    Eben is from Reyterwacht.

Mooi opgegroei ne.

• 606.fitzella: Reply to this comment

They’ve Fck’d up Hougaards natural game.. he has been ‘mentored’ to fill FdP’s overrated boots and told to play FdP rugby.. now he’s fck’d.. I doubt he ever gets back to being Francoise Hougaard ever again.

The time it takes for him to clear every g’damn ruck ball is eons.. he got charged down at will telegraphing his kicks like he’s putting out a memo to the opposition every time he gets a hold of the ball at ruck base. He’s so slow to clear its like an infuriating circus.. who the fck teaches these players to play that way?

Give me Piet Van Zyl as Bok scrummy over this FdP wannabe clone any day.. failing that Duvenhage, or Schreuder, and failing that Pienaar.

But Hougaard has got a MOUNTAIN of work to undo all the overrated hype he been resting under since they fck’d up his game by first playing him on the wing and second trying to mold him into a bloody FdP kick chase slow distributing CLONE..!!!

• 607.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-602:

Eben is a look-in at no. 4 lock. But he also mentioned Alberts and Deysel believe it or not. that is where he is looking for a bit of mongril.

At 5 lock there are only 2. Bekker and Kruger. So both will be in the squad.

• 608.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-606:

The 3 scrummies that are rated are Fourie du Preez, Ruan and Hougie.

• 609.fitzella: Reply to this comment

If Heyneke goes anything like

15 Kirchner
    13 Olivier
    12 Steyn

10 Steyn
    9 FdP

8 Spies

4 Vd Merwe

I reckon he’s gonna lose.. and then he’s gonna deserve to lose.. because nobody could be that thick to pick Kirchner, Olivier, Steyn, FdP, Spies, Vd Merwe in the same team and still expect to win.

• 610.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-604:
    HM prefers Lambie at 15 so that he can play Morne at 10 :lol:

I would prefer JDJ at outside but JDV will probably play against the Poms and will play as capt.
    Kirchner is a safe option at fullback but is one dimensional and is definately not attack minded.
    Maybe Aplon steps up tomorrow at 15 and again against the Bulls and who knows…..

• 611.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I feel for Bekker.

@jeraldjay. Baie mooi vir Ruyterwacht.

• 612.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-610:

He was obviously asked about the captaincy issue. And these are the names he mentioned bearing in mind it will be a short term thing for the England series until he gets to know players better.

JDV – but he doesn’t understand HM’s game plan and is at the end of his career. Hemight have to shift to 13 to accomdate Frans at 12.
    Andries Strauss – was imprssed with his leadership. But then said his captain will not be a 2 or 9 because they tend to be replaced with 30 minutes to go. And then he said, how do you include Bissie or Chilliboy.

I got the feeling he’ll go for Schalk as a longer term solution. But he needs to sit down and spend time with him.
    Spies – he doesn’t seem greatly impressed with his play.
    Josh – as a pick of the loosies, he said he is there or thereabouts.

So with 2 weeks to go, he is still very undecided.

• 613.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-609:

Meisiekind didn’t get a mention and neither did Flip.

• 614.fitzella: Reply to this comment

I’d go something like this

F. Steyn
    JPP
    JdV (c)
    De Jongh
    Aplon
    Grant ( before Steyn / pity no Goosen)
    Pienaar
    Coetsee
    Elstadt
    Kolisi
    Bekker
    Nel
    Bismark
    Steenkamp

Beast, Chili, Kruger, Stander, Hougaard, Lambie, Taute / Engelbrecht

unless 5/2 split then add another prop like Oosthuizen and deduct Taute / Engelbrecht which would be a shame.

• 615.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-614:

Frans will be his 12 and Kirchner 15. Lambie, Pietersen possibilities at 15.

He said so this morning.

• 616.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-603: Jy praat uit jou kelin poephol uit. Houghaard has his off days but who do you propose to take his place? Either wya he is a valuable asset in the team wether it be on wing or centre or scrumhalf. M Steyn is the most solid option at FH – have no idea what he did wrong today. kicked well and put in some great tackles. Spies – yes I can say the guy is underperforming of note but again who is going to be 8 with Vermeulen out?

• 617.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-604: If he picks Kirchener over Pietersen then he´s a fool – Kirchener has been nothing but solid and his counter attack today was again very ordianry with the usual up n unders. Pietersen is one of the few backs who is a danger on attack along with Rob Ebersohn. A glaring omission in my book

• 618.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-612:
    Schalk will be 32 in 2015. I would hate to see another “Smit” debacle.

• 619.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-607: If he doesnt start Etzebeth again he´d be a bloody fool – Etzebeth has been the standout lock in the Super rugby comp this year across the SA conference by a mile.

• 620.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-615: I agree fully – Frans has always been at his best at 12 and he proved that amply again in the last WC – had he been in that semi final against Oz we may have won the thing. Playing him at 15 with our current lack of centres would be stupid to say the least. Lambie is a decent cover for 15 and Joe Pietersen has been outstanding at fullback. PLays great attacking rugby and has a great boot on him.

• 621.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-613: thank god

• 622.fitzella: Reply to this comment

He’s gonna lose

Play Kirchner at 15

FdP at 9 with M. Steyn at 10

and Spies at 8

he gonna lose.

and Hougaard showed today what a kaksleg FdP clone he actually is.. he has LOST his mojo playing in that overrated one dimensional Bulls patroon .. never seen such slow none performing distribution from a no. 9 for quite some time and I seen PLENTY kak from none other than his mentor FdP himself the past 4 years .. and counting.

• 623.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-619:

HM said he’s beenthe Bulls scout for the last 10 years. And it’s surprising the youngsters he knows. He rates both Etzebeth and Taute and been watching both since they were 16. He’s not afriad of playing youngsters and mentioned Fdp, Jaque Fourie, JDV and Frans Steyn who all played their first test before the age of 20 or 21. And in Frans’s case 19.

So there will be more youngsters playing than he first bargained because of the injuries to senior players around the country.

• 624.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-621:

And as i said earlier neither did Deon Steggman. :D

• 625.fitzella: Reply to this comment

when was the last time Boks won ANY test against any team ranked higher than 5th with Kirchner at 15, Steyn at 10 and FdP at 9, and with Spies at 8, and Burger at 6 or 7..

any guesses..??

• 626.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-623: Thats good news – we really need to be playing the inform players regardless of experience because as we saw in the last 4 years what happens when you auto select players based on past performances. Good to hear he´s not rating Spies nor Brussouw. Brussouw used to be an auto selection for me but since his return from injury he hasnt been the same at all. I rate a lot of the newcomers like Jacques Potgieter, Cj Stander, Kolisi and Marcell Coetzee. If he is true to his word and picks in form players we may have a very dynamic squad. Personally I would say the following players are must haves in the match 22 at present – Pietersen, Lambie, Frans Steyn, M Steyn (with Goosen out injured), Robert Ebersohn, CJ Stander, Etzebeth, Becker, Beast, Bismarck – rest are up for debate.

• 627.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-624: again thank god cos Stegmann has been absolutely nowhere since I started watching rugby again in 2007. Absolute useless plonker and penalty machine.

• 628.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-622:

He would like FdP in his team as he rates him highly. Hougie and Ruan will be his 2 9′s with maybe Piet van Zyl backing them up.
    He rates Hougie highly – especially when it comes to mental toughness. So expect to see him in the starting 15. And don’t be surprised if he runs on with 13 on his back. That question was asked this morning and HM saw it as a real possibility meaning he’s thought of it.

• 629.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-628: Again master stroke – at present none of the 13´s apart from ebersohn are doing anything special. With Frans Steyn at 12 and Houghaard at 13 that midefield looks devastating, Houghaard was brilliant at inside centre for the Bulls last year. He is extremely dangerous in that position and gets to use his step. For a small guy he is very tough and strong. I would definitely have him in my 22 as well but not sure about him at 9 – I never have been convinced with him there.

• 630.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-626:

HM will go the same route as JW and go for the bigger loose forwards. Other teams don’t enjoy that. And rely on a hooker like Bissie or Andries Strauss who can play to the ball and the role of the so-called fetcher.

• 631.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

I dont know what the coaches have been up to for the last 4 years because many players make the same lame errors repeatedly. If I was a coach I´d point out errors and say – sort it out or youre going to be staying at home. End of.

3 Jannie dup – temper
    4 Bakkies – dumb off the ball bs
    5 Matfield – ridiculous backline player – get out youre slowing them down
    6 Burger – again get out of the backline and try not always bash it up and take on everyone on your own
    8 Spies – harden the f up and stop fumbling balls
    9 Houghaard – clear the ball out faster
    11 Habana – if you charge up out of your defensive line once more for the intercept i´ll personally kill you
    12 Jean de Villiers – stop bashing it up every time you have the ball – try stepping and passing some time
    12 Wynand Olivier – read above
    etc etc – so many same same errors each game that were never corrected -

• 632.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-630: In principle I tend to agree unless the small guys is brilliant as Brussouw was in his debut year. Now he´s off the pace. But at 6 one can make a slight adjustment if you have a McCaw/ Pocock like player. Preferable for them to be big though I agree. Exactly why Daniel will never be in my Bok team. Guy plays well but just not big enough for my liking. Forwards should dominate at all times. Brussouws saving grace was his immense strength. he needs to catch a wake up as at his best he is devastating.

• 633.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-631:
    So true. But what do we armchair critics know.

• 634.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-632:
    I prefer Brussouw in the team because his a game changer and usually steps up at test level. Then Vermuelen at 7 and a fully fit and conditioned Alberts at 8.

#but this is just my opinion.

• 635.fitzella: Reply to this comment

Hougaard at 13 would be another big mistake, same as Kirchner at 15 or 13

Sounds to me that Heyneke don’t quite know exactly where his arse is from his elbow

Hougaard should be at 9.. but ONLY if he can shake this pathetic FDP straight jacket they gone and wrapped his game in, otherwise he must play off bench..

Van Zyl is streaks ahead of Hougaard in terms of his distribution and quick release game he playing currently, the Chiefs scrummy owned Hougaard today .. and he isn’t near to being classified international class while Hougaard is rated as bok scrumhalf.

Hougaard’s distribution game and his decision taking has gone to pot.. they tried to clone him into another FdP robot.. and now I seriously fear his game maybe is GONE..

• 636.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-632:

There’s nothing he can do about it but he bemoaned the fact that players will only assemble on the Monday before the 1st test against England. And he’ll have time for one lineout session, one for attack, one for defence, one scrumming session. Then it’s guts or glory.

• 637.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-633: Obviously enought to realise some of the basic things holding us back can be easily fixed if someone just opens their mouths. I dont think coaches should be mates with players perhaps because at the end of the day you need to be critical and **** them out when they are stuffing up. Otherwise wheres the incentive? I saw in an interview lately Spies was all cocky about thinking his game is up there and reckons he can be the best in his position etc etc. Where is the passion and hardness? You cant be the best 8 in the workd if you cant mix it up with guys like Kieran Read and come out on top.

• 638.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-634: at his best I agree but Brussouw is well off the mark and he basically got his *** handed to him on a plate by Pocock in that final last year. He just hasnt been on top of it. I´m his biggest fan – With Vermeulen down and out I´m not even thinking about him at present.

• 639.nama1: Reply to this comment

Can’t say I’m disappointed because the Bulls lost today. They had it coming. Another 2 losses (at least) awaits them in SA as we near the bussiness end of the tournament. There’s a real possibility that they won’t make the top six.

The Chiefs will most probably also lose a couple during the derby season opening the gap for the Saders to top the NZ conference. That in turn will make it easier for the Stormers to top the overall log and ensure a home semi as well as a home final.

The only provision is that we beat the Sharks and the Bulls over the next two weeks.

• 640.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-635: I´m afraid I disagree with you again. In the time ive watched Houghaard at 9, 13 and 11 his best games have always been at 13 and sometimes 11. He has been average and annoying at 9 and cost the Boks when they played those clubs and lost before they went on to lose to France in 2010. I have my doubts about wether he should ever be a srumhalf. Same as the wya they stuffed F Steyn around from 10 to 15 etc – the man has always been a great 12.

• 641.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-636: ja for sure – but maybe its not such a bad thing – the guys are just going to have to get down and get dirty and do the job – playing with passion can be one of the best things for a team .

• 642.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-635:

Hougaard will be a fixture in the Bok set-up for a while if he continues with his mojo. If not at 9 or 13. Expect to see his name on the team sheet somewhere. HM is huge on mental toughness. That’s why Britney Spies’s days are numbered. HM knows he doesn’t like getting involved in traffic. But rugby is a collision sport.

• 643.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-639:
    Take that blue and white striped glasses off :lol:

The Bulls will make the top six. They can recharge their batteries during the incoming tour.
    Question his what team will have the most Boks playing against the Poms.
    Those players will be pap tyres when Super Rugby starts again which will have a rippling effect on the rest of the campaign.

• 644.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-639:

Very important we win both. But I’d not be unhappy with 1 out of 2.

After the test break, we have the Rebels and Lions at home and the Cheetahs away. There are no gimmes in this tournie but surely we can’t stuff that up.

• 645.nama1: Reply to this comment

The possibility of Hougaard at 13 is just too much. On what grounds?

He already got a free pass to the SH position on the 2009 EOYT without having spent time there for the whole year now there’s talk of him playing at 13? Bullcrap.

We were all told how he would take the game by storm with an extended run at 9 this year. Now it seems the jury is still out. The only thing that currently saves him and probably guarantee that he will be in the team is the fact that the rest of the local scrumhalves are so kak.

• 646.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-643:

The Pink Bulle won’t be recharging their batteries during the test series.

They’ll be playing in the Green and Gold.

• 647.fitzella: Reply to this comment

Frans Steyn wanted to be God’s gift to SA at fly half.. that is where he and his daddy and his agent and JW thought his destiny lay.. So much so that Jake and Eddy played Steyn at 20 years old as their Baa Baa No. 10 in 2008 going to show SA and the world what they had missed against a mediocre Aussie team and Steyn LOST the game on his own solo..

I have watched FdP and M. Steyn gift the opposition all the possession they desire.. and lost the Boks heaps of attempts throughout EOYT 2009 through to WC 2011,..

Not ONE decent win among all the times FdP and M. Steyn played as a combo since 3N 2009.. and that was with Smit as captain, Spies at 8 and Burger at 6 or 7.

Steyn will still have top prove to me he’s the be all and end all option at 12 for Boks.. so far he’s played there in fits and starts through 2007 WC where we played nobody worth rating and 2011 WC and played well.. but not consistently enough to convince me he is everything we ever needed in a No.12.

JdV is playing out of position at 12.. he should not be at 12.. but he could be a very stable and contributory leadership factor at 13..

It seems Juan de Jongh is once more going to suck hind titty behind F. Steyn at 12 and somebody else at 13 be it Hougaard, JdV, Pietersen or Taute.

Hougaard as dynamic he might be as an explosive utility type player is no better or worse than De Jongh or Ebersohn or Sadie or Jordaan at 13

• 648.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-645:

Mate, I was at a breakfast this morning where Heyneke was the guest speaker. Just me and 700 others.

A mate of mine at my table asked Heyneke that question.

Intially, Ian Mac, the MC, said to HM: “Here’s a kak question. Hougarrd at 13. What do you think?” HM asked who asked the question as to who was asking. My mate put his hand up and HM said it wasn’t a kak question at all. There will be a place for Houghie in the Bok set-up. HM does question his box kicking which will have to improve.

• 649.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-643:

At this stage it looks as if the Bulls will have the most players facing England. So, if they lose next week against the Stormers, they will have their work cut out against the Sharks and the Cheetahs after the test series.

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-644:
    I also will take 1 out of 2 but winning both against these teams will be just great. :lol:

Our run in to the end is looking great, yeah. Just have to keep in mind that the Lions have thrown a spanner in our wheels on a couple of occasions in the past.

• 650.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-646:
    “Ja, maak almal die Pink Bulle Bokke” – but only against the Poms.

Pages: « 16 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.