Bulls fire, then fade

RYAN VREDE reports on a 28-22 victory for the Chiefs over the Bulls that leaves the three-time champions with little breathing room if they are to secure a home play-off.

The Bulls were acutely aware of the importance of victory in the context of their conference challenge, but they failed to negotiate a determined second half effort from the Chiefs, after being dominant for the opening half. They will hope the Sharks beat the Stormers in Durban tomorrow and also bank on teams close to them on the overall log dropping points. There is no panic just yet – they’ve finished strongly in recent years after coming off tour – but they cannot afford to drop many more points.

When their execution of their game plan is on point (which it was in the first half) few sides in the tournament could live with the Bulls. However, their inability to sustain their effort through 80 minutes cost them, as did numerous spurned opportunities early in the match.

There are still questions about Francois Hougaard’s kicking game, but tonight it was adequate. His shortcomings in this regard were made up for by Morné Steyn and Zane Kirchner’s competency in this facet of play. Their high kicks and a committed chase had the Chiefs’ back three looking like they were fielding grenades. This is an area the Hamilton franchise must address urgently if they are to be serious title contenders.

Once in the Chiefs’ 22m the Bulls were a mix of efficient and disappointing. Steyn banked two penalties and a drop goal and a try from Bjorn Basson, who profited from poor defence from Lelia Masaga, gave the Bulls a deserved 16-8 lead at the break.

On defence, such was the power and accuracy of their gainline challenge that the Chiefs were made to look toothless. Their primary strike runners – Sonny Bill Williams included – seldom posed a threat. Indeed the Bulls would have been disappointed at the margin of their lead at that point, the Chiefs’ only try coming courtesy of an Akona Ndungane error and their aforementioned wastefulness in good positions lending further weight to this assertion.

Steyn and Aaron Cruden traded penalties after the break, but the Chiefs, galvanised by the injection of quality impact players, gradually found the momentum and synergy they lacked in the first 40. The Bulls remained resolute but their resistance waned going into the final quarter when Cruden found wing Asaeli Tikoirotuma with an inside ball that left him with a clear route to goal. Cruden added the extras for a lead that was short-lived, Steyn edging his side ahead with his fourth penalty of the match.

Then the turning point, and this time another Bulls error inside the Chiefs’ 22m cost them dearly. The hosts turned over possession and ran the ball 70m before earning a lineout. A quick feed caught the Bulls’ defensive line unset, and Williams exploited this, surging through a gap then offloading to put Same Cane clean through. Cruden sunk the conversion and the Bulls just never looked like they had the capacity for a telling rebuttal thereafter.

752 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

• 51.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

easy drop morne

good that they ar eworking drops back into theur repetoire
    that could have won them the game last weekend

• 52.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Eina.

• 53.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Aikona.

• 54.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Shocker from Ndugane.

• 55.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-51: Bodes well for the Boks also. Drops are such a vital weapon in any rugby team.

• 56.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

No hands spies..

• 57.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-55:
    agreed.

aikona akona….

• 58.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Ooooh that is going to hurt the Bulls. From one of the safest players in the team.

• 59.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

thats bulshit

• 60.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Pierre “hollow man” Spies

• 61.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Hougaard’s been Kak
    Spies been kak
    Ndugane been kak
    Kirchner been kak

this match is a slow burning fuse, second half the chiefs will destroy the bulls

• 62.greentea: Reply to this comment

Bulls cheating to stay in it, yellow coming.

• 63.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Chilli get gouged anonymously again.

• 64.Hondo: Reply to this comment

min 29
    first attempt ruck for Chili, that’s pretty early

• 65.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Pierre ‘tupperware spiere’ Spies

• 66.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hondo start watching the white players too

• 67.greentea: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-65:

Some respect for the Bokke number 8 please.

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

if bulls are still close 10 min after halftime, they can take this and make it 3 out 4 on tour.

• 69.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-66: They are his pin-ups.

• 70.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-68: Like the way you think Transie

• 71.race of tan: Reply to this comment

fagapagathe (put it in)

• 72.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Chiefs making some simple handling errors. Stopping them from getting any momentum. Giving the Bulls the advantage.

Bulls playing the better kicking game, nice pressure on the opposition.

• 73.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Greentea,fair enough but respect needs to be earned.dont rate him unfortunately.

• 74.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 34
    You can’t tackle Kirchner, even in NZ?!
    Mark Lawrence is up to the bookies’ expectations

• 75.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dummy Runner(Dummy Runner)-65: Casper the Friendly Ghost, David Copperfield…….

• 76.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Here we go, back to launching the siege guns, big kicks, Bulls seems to be winning the aerial battle

• 77.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Spies again, throws an intercept.

• 78.BuckT: Reply to this comment

great steal FH, bulls on attack in 22 2 mins left to half time

• 79.BuckT: Reply to this comment

basson! in for the try

• 80.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Yessssssssssssss

• 81.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Great try! No subtitude for speed.

• 82.race of tan: Reply to this comment

come on k0staz me missing a great game

• 83.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, and Basson does it,TRY!!! actually beat the man out wide, Masanga, for pace and scores in the corner

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Nice pressure Bulls. Points on the board before half time.

• 85.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-63: no, i think this time the guy owned up!

• 86.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Bulls in the 22, rumble it up, Hougaard goes blind to Basson, 20 meters out and swirves in and out to beat masanga and score in the corner

• 87.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Wow Basson beating my captain for my fantasy team for pace! Did Hougaard give the assist?

• 88.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

this is a bulls win

no doubt

great try basson

• 89.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn(kingcorn)-83: When last have you seen Habana do that?

• 90.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sucker punch from the bulls, taking the wind out of the chiefs…

• 91.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-88: To early to say that I am hoping though much better than last week

• 92.willievz: Reply to this comment

Komaan Bulle!

Bliksem, sal dit nie lekker wees as hulle dit 3 uit 4 kan maak nie?

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What now Hondo. Nothing for Basson’s try???

• 94.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The rag tag collection of PIs and Kiwi cast offs so called the Chief have no chance against the structured Bulls.

• 95.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

the composure is what stands out most.

this is a legendary team in the making, again.

all the hallmarks of the 1st juggernaut showing.

be afraid world…be afraid….

• 96.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-93: Are you wearing your pink Bulls shirt?

• 97.Michael: Reply to this comment

Instead of acknowledging Basson’s try, Hondo goes racist against PIs. way to go Hondo; you’re a fine upstanding citizen.

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No comment!

• 99.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Airwell(Airwell)-91:
    yip.
    dont count your hens before they hatch.
    definelty have stepped it up
    and are dealing with the kiwi dirty play very effectively.

• 100.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-93:
    good finish!,
    helped by a faked tackle by the PI winger who is called Masaga?
    Same filth who coconut Mvovo and Ludik?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1116 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.