Bulls fire, then fade
25 May 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a 28-22 victory for the Chiefs over the Bulls that leaves the three-time champions with little breathing room if they are to secure a home play-off.
The Bulls were acutely aware of the importance of victory in the context of their conference challenge, but they failed to negotiate a determined second half effort from the Chiefs, after being dominant for the opening half. They will hope the Sharks beat the Stormers in Durban tomorrow and also bank on teams close to them on the overall log dropping points. There is no panic just yet – they’ve finished strongly in recent years after coming off tour – but they cannot afford to drop many more points.
When their execution of their game plan is on point (which it was in the first half) few sides in the tournament could live with the Bulls. However, their inability to sustain their effort through 80 minutes cost them, as did numerous spurned opportunities early in the match.
There are still questions about Francois Hougaard’s kicking game, but tonight it was adequate. His shortcomings in this regard were made up for by Morné Steyn and Zane Kirchner’s competency in this facet of play. Their high kicks and a committed chase had the Chiefs’ back three looking like they were fielding grenades. This is an area the Hamilton franchise must address urgently if they are to be serious title contenders.
Once in the Chiefs’ 22m the Bulls were a mix of efficient and disappointing. Steyn banked two penalties and a drop goal and a try from Bjorn Basson, who profited from poor defence from Lelia Masaga, gave the Bulls a deserved 16-8 lead at the break.
On defence, such was the power and accuracy of their gainline challenge that the Chiefs were made to look toothless. Their primary strike runners – Sonny Bill Williams included – seldom posed a threat. Indeed the Bulls would have been disappointed at the margin of their lead at that point, the Chiefs’ only try coming courtesy of an Akona Ndungane error and their aforementioned wastefulness in good positions lending further weight to this assertion.
Steyn and Aaron Cruden traded penalties after the break, but the Chiefs, galvanised by the injection of quality impact players, gradually found the momentum and synergy they lacked in the first 40. The Bulls remained resolute but their resistance waned going into the final quarter when Cruden found wing Asaeli Tikoirotuma with an inside ball that left him with a clear route to goal. Cruden added the extras for a lead that was short-lived, Steyn edging his side ahead with his fourth penalty of the match.
Then the turning point, and this time another Bulls error inside the Chiefs’ 22m cost them dearly. The hosts turned over possession and ran the ball 70m before earning a lineout. A quick feed caught the Bulls’ defensive line unset, and Williams exploited this, surging through a gap then offloading to put Same Cane clean through. Cruden sunk the conversion and the Bulls just never looked like they had the capacity for a telling rebuttal thereafter.

752 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All
25 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-230: mcleod runs 5 before passing, watch him tomorrow.
25 May 2012, 12:16 pm
@willievz(willievz)-240:
Especially with their Kiwi coach, Joe Schmidt….
25 May 2012, 12:18 pm
@willievz(willievz)-248:
To win this thing you need to top the log.
25 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-252: He is outstanding.
Good record with Clermont as well.
25 May 2012, 12:20 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-249: you gotta admit though, they’re waaaay better than previous years.
Artreides @ 244.Not great.
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-241: Borrow him yours jou doos.
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-236: You are right about his form since playing U21′s, Groom has been better.
I think Schreuder is the more talented of the 2 and expect him to come through stronger though. Like some other players he may need a little time to adjust.
I’m hoping, because whilst Groom is a good player, he isn’t likely to ever be up to test standard IMO.
25 May 2012, 12:21 pm
@willievz(willievz)-254:
Headed for big things that guy.
25 May 2012, 12:22 pm
Is Joanne the one in the keo tv picture witht the agressively posed numbies?
They look like spotlights on a beach buggy.
No wonder Cane is in love.
The other one looks like she belongs at band camp.
25 May 2012, 12:22 pm
Kahui wants to avoid the knife
Published: Thursday, 24. May, 2012
Chiefs centre Richard Kahui is hoping to avoid going under the knife following his shoulder injury in an effort to make a speedy return to the field.
Kahui dislocated his shoulder during the Chiefs defeat to the Reds two weeks ago and his absence was immediately obvious, as his side had a comfortable lead when he went off.
The 26-year-old will meet with a specialist to discover whether or not some good old fashioned rest and rehab will be enough, or whether we must have an operation.
It was revealed by the Chiefs last week that no damage had been done to the bone and that Kahui’s operations in the past haven’t compromised the joint.
The tough centre is hoping to make a comeback in late July if all goes according to plan, with an eye towards an All Blacks call-up for the Rugby Championship.
“If I can rehab it and come back and it’s fine then obviously that’s great,” he told the Waikato Times.
“If it’s only eight or 10 weeks, that’s my best scenario.
“But then the worst case is the road I’ve walked down before with surgery, and obviously being out a lot longer.”
“But with the dislocation something has to give for it to pop out and while I’m not entirely sure what the injury is, it’s connected to the ball.
“I thought I’d done my dash with those sort of injuries. I looked at the tape and saw what happened and I couldn’t have done anything about it really.
“So that’s probably the disappointing thing.
“I do my rehab every day and it was just one of those things where someone’s landed on the back of my shoulder and popped it out.”
25 May 2012, 12:25 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-260: yeah that’s jojo with the perky mabeles…
25 May 2012, 12:25 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-258: I agree with Groom – not test standard, but was merely speculating about the talent (or lack thereof at Stormers) at 9
25 May 2012, 12:26 pm
It would be nice if management put a bit more faith in the backline. Everthing revolves around getting Steyn penalties which does not work half the time. The Bulls have a bloody good backline but they let the forwards do all the work. My heart says they are hiding their hand but my head says management does not trust the backs. Uphill from here….Bulls will be back in NZ again this year…
25 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-255:
They are better than previous years true but not better than their 2010 side that got smashed by Bulls @ Loftus.
They are better for sure…Their pack though will cost em in long run come playoffs
25 May 2012, 12:30 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-260: The blondie at the back with the seriaaasly long neck catches the eye every single time…..
25 May 2012, 12:31 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-246: ‘landers will look back and rue the brumbies and ‘canes games as games they should of won.whats your point?
25 May 2012, 12:31 pm
Artreides.Let me elaborate please.
Good at the back of the lineout.Otherwise not a BOK.
25 May 2012, 12:35 pm
Bad luck Bulls
Seems the Sharks are going to be the only winning side this weekend.
So loop sy maar party keer.
25 May 2012, 12:36 pm
Greyling once again proved that his scrum technique is the worst in super rugby.He also got tackled,going backwards all night.The English pack must be smiling at his inclusion in the Bok team.
25 May 2012, 12:37 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-251:
Taking steps before you pass (as a scrummie) can be effective, ala George Gregan.
But it needs to be done at the right time.
25 May 2012, 12:38 pm
Serves them right for playing in pink.
Hope that section of the cargo gets dumped somewhere over the Indian Ocean.
25 May 2012, 12:39 pm
this got lost at the end of a page – would be good to hear what the rest of you think.
To be honest and this is really starting to irritate all hell out of me. SA teams are clueless on attack. When we do have possession we immeditaley default to the new hen over an egg situation lengthening the ruck too stupidity and back, and stand there doing that for 5-10 seconds cos no.one wants the ball because there is no attack and no plan to attack and no idea how to attack – so at the end of the day no-one really wants the ball. Total lack of confidence. From the scrumhalf down. Vermaak was jogging around in circles at one stage and just passed to the first guy he saw – wether that guy was about to be taken out or not. There is no rugby acumen at present and no desire to get the ball and run with it. No slinky backline moves, nothing more than crash into the defender and try to recycle – and in doing so often gift the turnover. Its utterly utterly pathetic. Ive been watching the Bok team do it for 3+ years now and almost every Super rugby team in Sa has the same disease. Bulls and Stormers being the primary examples. Even the game breakers of before like Aplon, Houghaard, Habana etc are looking like headless chickens of late. The only people I have been seeing attacking well and with rugby acumen have been Houghaard on occasion, Goosen, Lambie, Habana on occasion, Ebersohn most definitely and Joe Pietersen EVEN MORE SO. In my opinion the Bok backline would be very poor without the inclusion of Pietersen and Ebersohn at least on the bench. Its an epedemic we need to rectify immediately.
Chiefs were slavering at the mouth at the prospect of getting the ball and having a run – what the MO3R is wrong with US????!!!
25 May 2012, 12:40 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-266: Percy?
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-230:
Gregan only ran cross field when the time was right (when he had multiple runners). But he could fire a 20m pass both ways (without taking a step) when the situation called for it.
Januarie (and Ross Cronje now that I think of it) actually have to take steps else they physically can’t get enough distance on their passes.
most pink bulls jerseys that are bought are fakes and are sold next to robots.
so how does that help for breat cancer?
no money from the illegal sales go to research
25 May 2012, 12:41 pm
gregan ran sideways to creating angles for the runners who are going to receive the ball from him and also so that dummy runners could run off him.
25 May 2012, 12:41 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-273: seriously bru, that is exhausting to read.
25 May 2012, 12:44 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-278: how so – too long?
25 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-271: not if you’re a carthorse like mcleod with an iffy pass…gregan had larkham and other backline players running pre-planned lines, no such thing in SA.
you’ll only get the odd winger peeling on the scrummy’s shoulder a.la hougaard @ the RWC vs Wales.
genia on the other hand…in the past 2 weeks his pace has ripped teams apart.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-273:
I’m with you on Robert Ebersohn. He would def be in my Bok 22.
Seriously underrated player.
howzit ranger
you going to the game?
25 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-279: ja man, i am sure you have much relevance to add to the discussion, truly, so dont take it the wrong way.
use paragraphs and slim down the actual number of questions, pose them each in individual posts.
or not bud, who the ***** am i to tell you what to do lol.
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-281: Yes I agree – at least he attacks the line when he has the ball, secondly he plays with intelligence and has a great eye for a gap, and his offloads have been great this season. i think the only thing counting against him is his size which is ludicrous considering Houghaard and Aplon are definites.
@rangerman(rangerman)-283: sure man – agreed. My mistake.
25 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-280:
Good point. I rate Mcloud as a ‘good’ 9, but nothing more. We haven’t had a good 9 since Ruan and Kockett left.
25 May 2012, 12:50 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-281: By the same token Joe Pietersen has actually been the most attacking and dangerous back of the SA conference all season. He is totally unpredictable and sneaks through gaps at will. Such a solid player and with a great boot to add to the mix. He would be my starting 15 at present with ;abie on the bench covering 10 and 15 and possibly centres too.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-266:
she’s the one that belongs in band camp.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-282: howdy fern, buddy trying to get me tickets now so time will tell.
the diving will be sh i t house so i am quite keen, cold front on the way.
was in the water at first light this morning. got my 8 bugs but no fish. hell, it means no sharks though lol.
going again in an hours time. viz is 20m crystal so gotta make hay…and the garrick and snoek are back in town so imma gonna get me some dinner!
25 May 2012, 12:51 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-285: ag no worries bud, your passion is clear, its amazing how much we love this game!
25 May 2012, 12:52 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-284:
I think he made a mistake not taking up the Sharks on their offer a couple seasons back. I find it so odd that his boet can’t tackle for sh*t, yet Robert can tackle with the best of them.
25 May 2012, 12:53 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-270:
he’s in the training squad you numpty.
no team has been announced.
25 May 2012, 12:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-290:
Would you guys like a bottle of wine and some candles
25 May 2012, 12:54 pm
my Bok backline at the mo would be this.
9 Houghaard (have my reservations but who the hell else is there?)
10 Steyn (without a doubt for reliabilty)
11 Habana
12 Frans Steyn
13 Jean de Villiers/ Juan de Jongh (not sure – I have constant reservations about Jean and the way he kills attacking ball)
14 Aplon
15 Joe Pietersen
16 toss up between Fourie du Preez and Ruaan Pienaar
17 Lambie (cover for 10, centres and 15)
18 Mvovo
25 May 2012, 12:54 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-273: i agree about joe p. the guy has been outstanding in a great team effort so thats gotts count for something.
i would take joe p over zane anyday although zane is as solid and hardworking as the ndunganes, a player who seems to make up for his lack of true test class with intelligence.
25 May 2012, 12:55 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-273: Hi Slum, I like your coinage of the phrase “hen over an egg”
Seriously though, I think you are spot on. We are getting increasingly obsessed with sealing the ball at the ruck, which is not a problem per se, but it is a problem when it becomes the default strategy. England has suffered from this for years now.
Good ruck ball has to have two properties – clean and quick. But these two elements could be mutually exclusive.
Sealing the ball on occasion is necessary to ensure that the ruck ball you are about to distribute is clean, but this invariably results in a slow transfer of the egg. To make it clean you sometimes need to commit more numbers to the ruck, but then you compromise on resources that need to carry the egg or support the egg carrier.
Having said that, other problems our offense have had for years is alignment and spacing. Our teams do not know when to stand deeper and struggle to align support runners for strike runners.
What I am trying to say is that, even if the egg is hot and gets distributed well (ie clean and quick), our teams are still not adapt at reading the situation in front of them and making accurate decisions.
And I have a theory about this. South African players in particular are trying to hard to be physical, and dominating the opponent in the collision, that we compromise on things like space awareness and outthinking the opposition.
Our blessing, namely physicality, is also our curse.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-287: JoeyP was playing the same way before he left for france after he got snubbed for francois steyn.
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-287:
Not sure if I would start with Joe, but he would def’s be in the mix. He’s one of those guys who, despite his size, doesn’t seem to go backwards.
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-293: and some condoms please – haha jirre you okes – Someone is actually being a decent person for once and you rib him lol. Classic
25 May 2012, 12:56 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-293: is that how you do it?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 16 » Show All