Mitchell makes comeback

Drew Mitchell will makes his first Super Rugby start in over 12 months when the Waratahs tackle the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

The wing has struggled with ankle and hamstring injuries for the past year, and will finally make his return to the field on Saturday. Mitchell comes into the run-on side in place of speedster Atieli Pakalani.

There are three other changes to the starting XV as No 8 Wycliff Palu, lock Kane Douglas and hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau replace Rocky Elsom, Dean Mumm and John Ulugia respectively. Elsom’s injury absence sees loosehead prop Benn Robinson take over the captaincy.

Scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius will face his former team off the bench.

Waratahs – 15 Bernard Foley, 14 Tom Kingston, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson (c).
Subs: 16 John Ulugia, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Richard Stanford, 19 Lopeti Timani, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Daniel Halangahu, 22 Tom Carter.