Du Preez set to skipper Boks

Keo.co.za understands Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has offered Fourie du Preez the captaincy.

This website’s information indicates that Meyer met with Du Preez this week to offer him the position on a short-term basis that will initially stretch across the England series in June, after which the situation will be reviewed.

Du Preez, who has just completed his first season in Japan with Suntory Sungoliath, is thought to be keen on the job, although he has not formally accepted yet.

Du Preez is known to be a reluctant captain, preferring to operate in the shadows. In the absence of Victor Matfield he accepted the job with the Bulls in 2008 but later spoke about his lack of enjoyment in what turned out to be a disastrous campaign.

Speaking to SA Rugby magazine in 2011 Du Preez said the World Cup would probably be his last involvement with the Springboks, but added that he would reconsider if Meyer was appointed. It appears he will now lend his long time mentor a helping hand, with Meyer not convinced by the quality of leaders on offer in South Africa.

Meyer had planned to install Victor Matfield as his captain, but those plans were shelved when it emerged that an IRB ruling on retired players precludes Matfield from selection for six months after he announced his return.

198 Comments

• 1.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

tac is gonna cream his pants when he reads this.

• 2.Hofter Son: Reply to this comment

1. Heyneke must pick Francois at scrumhalf
    2. Heyneke must allow Francois to play his natural game rather than try clone him into FDP. We all saw just have disastrous that was last night (and in general with his kicking game)
    3. Du Preez must not be put near a Springbok jersey until he stops acting like the “WACKY WAVING INFLATABLE ARM FLAILING TUBE MEN”

• 3.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

I’ll wait for Heineke to tell us first. There is no captain yet just Ryan’s opinion.

• 4.Superbru: Reply to this comment

This will be a disaster for bok rugby,Du Preez is a sulky,argumentative individual and not captain material at all.I’m losing faith in Heyneke Meyer’s lack of judgement.

• 5.theOracle: Reply to this comment

I hope Skop does not see this thread… :lol:

• 6.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Who cares what that syphilistic low life thinks. He’s inbred scum.

• 7.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

the article says “understands” wtf
    i will wait till the side is announced

• 8.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

gws
    all the kiwis are thinking you are reffering to me

• 9.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Bad bad bad call to make FdP captain. I’d rather have the aura come back instead of FdP !!! I don’t even want fourie to make the squad

• 10.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

relax people,this is speculation

• 11.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

When I talk of syphilistic it either means Robert Mugabe or skopshyte. Both are raving lunatics.

• 12.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Even if the best scrumhalf in world rugby is made captain, it won’t change the outcome of the tests. Fact.

• 13.Hofter Son: Reply to this comment

Sorry Forgot reason four
    4. Fourie Du Preez must not be Bok captain.

• 14.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

gws
    that actually makes sense and explains snoekskiets rants

• 15.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-12:
    I hope you still dont think that FDP is the best scrum half in the world?
    He has done nothing. You guys are living in 2009-10 years.

• 16.David: Reply to this comment

Looks like JdV may not be starting after all.

• 17.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I am 50/50 on this

I expected meyer, true and true Pretoria man, to surround himself and apply the Pretoria ways in his Bok Coach capacity. But I am 50/50 on this move. Its true that Hougaard has not being consistent in the 9 jersey but I think more so, the depth at 9 in S15 is not that great. Fourie also may not out of respect, take the offer. Personally, I would like to see jean DV get the captain job or even Spies.

I will sit on the fence.

• 18.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-12: I thought this article was about FdP, not Will Genia :lol:

• 19.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-16:

Seems like it. What other reason can there be to give a sulky introvert who used to be a reluctant unsuccessful captain the armband again?

• 20.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

This had better be nonsense. FdP is a kak captain – even he knows that – and past his sell-by date as a player.

• 21.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Keo must have being doing some undercover News of the World work to get this information/rumour

• 22.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-17: I’m 50/50 on this entire Pretoria setup as well. 50% of me wants the Boks to do well against the English, and the other 50% wants this Blou trein to bomb in dramatic fashion, so that Heyneke gets over himself, Pretoria and this’ Maak die Bulle almal Bokke’ obsession damn early in his tenure. What is next? Wynie Strydom as the Boks praise singer, strutting around in a Kudu pels with an R5 draped over his wrinkly bits pre-match? Du Preez can warm the bench – that’s about it – CAPTAINING? (He stumbled his way through the S14 in 2008 captaining the Bulls like a crackho, and he admitted he sucked at it – so yeah, that really makes him 1st choice.) I truly hope ‘Mr’ Meyer is put under the same pressure as what White and de Villiers were? Or will he be excused from all fc uk ups because he is after all Pretoria’s version of the frikkin Dalai Lama.

• 23.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-22:

Dalai Lama :D

Meyer is known in Pretoria as a man of science :)

I can relate what you say. I am not at all comfortable about Du Preez returning specially from playing in Japan of all places.

• 24.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Would Fourie be my preferred Bok captain? No. But realistically what other choices are there? JdV? Spies? Neither are certainties to start. Bekker? He probably needs to regain form before they could contemplate burdening him with the captaincy as well. The two strongest candidates for captaincy, Schalk and Juan are both sidelined. Juan might not even play again.
    Yes, I wonder about some of Heyneke’s calls as Bok coach. But then I remember that he is technically astute coach with multiple Super rugby titles and Currie Cups who knows his rugby and is well aware of the pressure and expectation. He wouldn’t take thIs route if he didn’t believe Fourie couldn’t add value or would be a liability to the team, especially not in the short term.

And if anyone can get Fourie to scale the heights of 2007 over the next little bit, it’s Heyneke.

• 25.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Why do people react so surprised at this? Am I suddenly ecstatic?

Of course not, because this is no surprise to me.

It’s like asking me if I’m ecstatic that Morne Steyn is in the team.

Heyneke’s captaincy order of preference was always going to be:

1 – Victor Matfield
    2 – Fourie du Preez

And guess what, you shocked and dismayed ones. If Du Preez withdraws, Pierre Spies will be next in line.

What? Did you think it was going to be Jean de Villiers? Hehehe.

• 26.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-24: BS. Both JdV and Spies have far more claim to a starting spot than FdP.

• 27.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

2007 seems like a longtime ago

• 28.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25:

so true Tac,

We were all made aware by Meyer of his intentions from the get go!

I forgot

• 29.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-24: That’s my primary worry here. All we ever keep hearing is how Meyer will bring out the best in Olivier, du Preez, SPIES etc. If these so-called professional players can only perform for ONE coach, they shouldn’t be playing professional rugby. And there is no guarantee that any of them WILL perform under Meyer for the Boks. If this is what we are basing our hopes and dreams for the Boks on – we are fc u k ed.

• 30.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Truth is, if Du Preez starts at 9 and Hougaard at wing, then De villiers will probably be forced out of the team for quota reason, as De Jongh will have to make up the numbers at 13 then.

• 31.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: We’re surprised that Heyneke is reportedly as biased as you are. We’re surprised that you Bulls types are just as narrow-minded and one-eyed as everyone says. We’re surprised that the stereotype is so accurate. We’re surprised that a new coach is so stuck in the past. We’re surprised that Heyneke hasn’t realized it’s time to move on. We’re surprised that anyone believes playing FdP – let alone making him captain – is a good idea.

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-31:

Life’s just one big surprise to you, isn’t it.

• 33.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

• 34.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Am not thrilled about, did not think he was good captain material before, but we dont exactly have guys putting theirs hands up.

• 35.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-32: You’re actually quite mad. If FdP had played for any other team in South Africa you would be against this. But because he played for the Bulls you think it’s great. That’s ridiculous. What a simple person you are.

• 36.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Is the a Baba game on today ? If so what time and is dstv airing it.

• 37.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: Meyer is acting pretty cowardly if you ask me. His actions speak of a man who suddenly realizes he is way out of his depth, and is reverting to the tried and trusted in the hope that his lack of vision won’t be exposed. Sad to say, but I think Meyer is implementing his Bok blueprint he had prepared in 2007 when he was expecting to take over the reigns from Jake. Someone better wake him up and tell him we are in 2012.

• 38.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

As I’ve been saying for some time, I reckon Heyneke’s starting team will look something like:

Lambie
    Hougaard
    Pietersen
    De Villiers
    Frans Steyn
    Morne Steyn
    Fourie du Preez (c)
    Pierre Spies
    Willem Alberts
    Heinrich Brussouw
    Bekker
    Etsebeth
    Some tighthead
    Bismark
    Beast

So with a mere 3 current Bulls plus one Japanese ex-Bull in Du Preez, how exactly is that a biased Bulls dominated team chaps?

It’s just your immense prejudice and paranoia that’s leading to all these pre-emptive articles from Cape journalists and comments from anti-Bulls fans.

4 out of 15 is VERY reasonable.

So suck it up and deal with it, fairies.

• 39.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-38:

WP Nel, Pat Cilliers deserves 3 – but Dr Jannie will get it

• 40.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25: I’m taking a wild guess here as I don’t know you, but tell me if I am way off mark when I say:
    a) You would be struggling to hide your delight if Anton Leonard, JP Nel and Jeshua vd Westhuizen were suddenly called up into the Bok camp?
    b) You believe that playing rugby and supporting rugby is the birthright of those living in the northern wasteland of Pretoria, who support the Bulls – and no other ‘dare’ encroach on this?
    c) Your sons are named Naas, Victor and your daughter is named Pierre-rou-hette?
    d) You will defend Heyneke Meyer even if he has a 35% win record with the Boks after 3 years – as you will justify this by saying ‘he is building a team’.
    e) I am wasting my time talking to you, as all you know; is the Blou.

Correct?

• 41.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-40:

Trolling a bit?

• 42.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Awesome stuff!

All you haters: relax, go to your nearest bar and order yourself a nice tall glass of Gunther’s ShutTheFuckUp.
    In fact, make it a double.

• 43.cane: Reply to this comment

This is the best news Hanson and Dingo Deans will have heard in quite some time.

SA Rugby:
    - Still no vision.
    - no faith in the new generation to lead.
    - former Bulls Coach who cannot see past the city limits of Pretoria.
    - Houggie to get more splinters in his backside warming the bench.
    - du Preez going from Japanese Domestic Rugby to Tier 1 Internationals.

Why not try Jannie Du Plessis or Chiliboy?

• 44.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-40:

dont know about Tac but that sounds like me :D

• 45.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-41: Asking a few questions that you don’t seem to want to answer. If that is trolling…so be it.

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-43:

Before they get too excited, read the article. Du Preez is back for the England test series only. After that, the situation will be reassessed.

Hence, if he stays for the Four Nations, it would be based on his performance against a Tier 1 team. Sorry to burst your bubble.

• 47.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Tacitus and greatest13gerber: putting the “stereo” in stereotype.

• 48.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-43: He is using the Blueprint for the Boks he designed in 2007 (when he should have got the job…) – In 2012 – this just looks sad. I was not ‘unhappy’ when he was appointed, but now I am left wondering if Meyer isn’t 4 years 2 late for his ‘vision, which like Angelina Jolie’s lips, seems botoxed in time’. And I doubt I’m the only Bok fan feeling this way.

• 49.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-47:

as my father and granfather before me

“NTvl First, SA second”

• 50.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-47: Jack-a-fc uk-a-ran-da FM.

• 51.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-44: At least you are honest. It is sad, but counts for something.

• 52.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-49: At least you’re aware of the problem – there is still hope for you :wink:

• 53.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

6 Sharks
    3 Bulls
    3 Stormers
    1 Cheetah
    2 overseas Boks

What’s to complain about in that mix, even if you’re the raving anti-Bulls froth-at-the-mouth type?

• 54.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53: Too many Stormers.

• 55.RL: Reply to this comment

Okay then.

FdP remember I expect a 90% win ratio or else my campaign against you will dwarf the one waged against Plod.

Keo no pun intented there wee little man.

• 56.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-54:

There is that, yes..

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-55: your campaign against John Smit?

oh ja, that one really had international impact :lol:

why not focus your energies on getting your franchise into shape for when, if ever, they return to superrugby?

• 58.lepel: Reply to this comment

The only people who seem to be positive about this decision are either Bulls supporters, or ANY other country’s supporters… this should tell you how stupid it is.

Everyone was a little worried with Meyer’s appointment that we might have an astute coach to take us forward into the modern game. Unfortunately, they were quickly comforted to know that Meyer intends to revert to a pre-2007 game plan. It didn’t work in 2011 and it sure as hell won’t work in 2015.

Adapt or die… SA will soon start fading as a rugby powerhouse if we continue to think like this.

• 59.RL: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: do not underestimate the power of the Rangergirl. Remember my campaign against Hargreaves? Called him useless when he was first called up to the Bok squad. Van Zyl made him his b.itch and I was there spinning big time. Then Plod made the mistake of selecting him again – big mistake. Yes I took up a notch called him a bloody coward and it stuck. Ali Williams wounded him mortally leaving Horwil to moer him over and over again.

Yes I ended that cowards career :)

So FdP will have to perform or else.

• 60.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Not really devastated about this news but not terribly happy either. At least we’ll have one incisive wing in Hougaard and I expect Du Preez to still play competently at scrumhalf. His opposite number wont be a Will Genia or Phillips and his tactical nous will be useful. Hougaard will probably slot in later in match and continue accumulating test match experiecne in the position. As for the capataincy… would have preferred JdV but unlikely to be a critical failure in the decision.

• 61.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-59:

true true

Hargreaves was picked on protential but reality was he had none. Anton van Zyl should have worn Bok colors.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s this deep throat cloak n dagger story

• 63.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@lepel(lepel)-58:

South Africa already faded as a rugby powerhouse between 2008-2011..or have you conveniently forgotten.

• 64.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-63: 2010/11

• 65.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The Blue Boks are starting to fall nicely in place. FdP has never been a leader and sulks and argues too much. I guess it is payback time and HM made his promises and must keep them. Like Tac says Spies is next in line, then Ralephela and then Olivier… You can’t go wrong now can you…

• 66.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

42@…..Taahira…. :lol:

• 67.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-26:

Why do you say Spies and JdV have more right to start than Fourie?

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-67: probably because they are playing in sa and we can actually monitor their form?

• 69.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-68:

Exactly! We heard all the noise about the great captains playing in SA at present then he picks a player equivalent to Vodacom rugby in Japan… FdP hasn’t had a good game for how long, yet gets the captaincy. Where there is smoke there is fire.

• 70.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Some very twisted knickers here.

Suck it up girls.

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-69: its a poor decision imo but who knows, it could work for heineke, after all, its his hotseat let him decide how hot he wants it.

• 72.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-70:

:lol: Nothing changed except the name of the coach… Much of a muchness…

• 73.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-71:

Why the sideshows then. Why didn’t he just say we don’t have any real leaders in SA, so I have to hunt for one in Japan.

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-70: its a bulls conspiracy i tell you!

because if the boks were all stormers we could win every game through defense much like the boks played under jake white but dont mention jake white because we hate jake white because he didnt pick luke watson because he is a racist even though watson is white.

its awesome!

• 75.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74:

:lol: You ogg to the Tank today?

• 76.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

ogg = off

• 77.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-68:

Yes, we can regarding Spies and JdV. We can’t monitor Fourie’s performance in Japan because we don’t have access. M
    y point is this: do you think a man of Heyneke’s rugby intelligence coupled with Rassie’s technical brain would take such a huge risk in his first home series in arguably the world’s toughest coaching job if he wasn’t convinced of it?

• 78.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-64:

2009 was a fluke.

• 79.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

this is terrible news

• 80.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-77:

Maybe! He made it clear he would pick on form and many loyal to SA may just feel irked. Just my opinion. I have always been vocal about the brotherhood so my opinion counts for little I guess.

• 81.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Ja nee Rangerdad.

Less said the better.

• 82.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-79:

Dejavu – living the horror of the past four years…

• 83.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I predict Du Preez is going to have a blinder in the England test series.

I predict Heyneke will pick an immensely strong Bok team for each of the 3 games and we will win the series 3-0.

And after those 3 games, Heyneke will know a lot more about his combinations and about the ability of some of the youngsters blooded as replacements against England.

By the time the Four Nations comes around a lot of the senior players now injured will be back and Heyneke will have the victorious England match 22, plus all the returning veterans back from injury, plus a lot more comfort with some of the youngsters he wasn’t too sure about before

Hence, by the time the Four Nations comes around our team will be even stronger than the one that thrashed England 3-0.

It’s all so logical. And yet the hysteria knows no bounds in Cape Town. Hilarious.

• 84.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-73: what siedshow though bill?

he is choosing a short term captain until he settles on a team and he has worked with fdp for years so thats who is comfortable with?

personally i dont see jdv making the team for much longer, not as a starter anyway.

so why pick him?

spies is on probabation, much like he has been for years so he is not an automatic choice with willem alberts, kanko, vermeulen as options there so why should heyneke pick spies now, with so little time to prepare?

he hasnt really worked with the captains of other unions that much (adrian strauss may be an exception but will he be picked ahead of bizness? no so there goes another option).

add this to the fact that he wants a respected player, with whom he is familiar, to lead for the england series whilst the squad coalesces and this gives him breathing room to pick his captain as the squad dynamic dictates, natural leaders, respected by the entire group, will come to the fore under his watchful eye.

and lastly, there are so many injuries/ semi injuries (such as bekker) that maybe he simply cannot pick who he wanted and doesnt want to announce anything that will prejuidice the player asked to lead for this series?

all in all, maybe he is onto something?

like i said, its his seat and he must sit in it so good luck to him.

• 85.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74:

Lol!! That’s basically what it boils down to….his book. Many a blogger took his words to heart and went running off screaming to their tree forts to sob uncontrolably.

• 86.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83:

On paper we have had some really strong Bok teams, unfortunately they were just not good enough to win important games. Even lost to Scotland and some club teams on the way. The same players were overated and still are… My opinion though.

• 87.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Omar you aren’t crying about the Broederbond are you?

That’s just buggery territory.

• 88.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-84:

Making a noise about the great leadership within SA. Sideshow maybe not!!! :(

FdP was a great player! Emphasis on WAS…

• 89.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-87:

Mate always been vocal about the old guard! I don’t think we should be calling in the pensioners on a short term basis. Build now for the future… no better place to start.

• 90.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

As Ranger said, the coach makes the decision and takes the accolades or criticism that comes with such decisions…

• 91.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Enjoy the rugger Billy Boy and Ranger.

Let’s hope its a draw with no bonus points.

• 92.IAAS: Reply to this comment

The names that Heyneke mentioned as possible skipper are:
    1)JDV – although he said he’s coming to then end of his career and doesn’t understand his gameplan
    2)Andries Strauss – he rates him as a hooker but then Bissie and Chilliboy will have their noses out of joint
    3)Pierre Spies – HM said he’s going to need to up his game. And if it weren’t for the fact that Vermeulen was injured, Spies wouldn’t even be starting.
    4)Josh – but not one of his top loose forwards

But then he said he hasn’t made up his mind yet. But by the look of things, maybe he has.

• 93.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-88:

Rangerman’s right Bill. Fourie is likely to be captain for this series only and thereafter a long term cappy will be picked. My gut feel is it will be Schalkie.

Also think of the game plan they’re likely to employ for this series. Tactical kicking will be the order of the day. With a week to prep, they’ll settle for simple but effective. Pretty it’s unlikely to be but hopefully effective. Houggaard is improving in this respect, but is not there yet.

• 94.Hondo: Reply to this comment

What is Keo’s ‘Understanding’ and what HM will do are not necessarily the same, be aware of it.
    End of the day HM is expected to win Test matches, how he will carry it out is his prerogative, if he failed, then he will be held accountable, unlike PdV.
    Until that happened he can select whoever player deemed suitable for his game plan and his Tests winning chances, simple

• 95.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83:
    Good for you
    I only make prediction after I get all the facts first and even so I am wrong some times ;)
    For instance the Bulls’ last two games where they were expected to win comfortably but then lost both :(

• 96.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

What a surprise.

First he picks pretty much an all Bulls management team, including a defensive coach who’s team currently has one of the worst defensive records in this years super 15 and a backline coach who has absolutely no credentials.

Then he tries to lure back a pensioner Bulls lock to captain the side.

Then he picks a squad of 40-odd, dominated entirely by Bulls players, some of whom (Kirchner/Spies/Olivier/Engelbrecht) are amongst the most average in their positions in SA by some distance.

Now he calls upon another pensioner, with a poor record as a captain who is currently plying his trade in the most average of leagues to captain.

What next? A call up for Anton Leonard if FDP turns down the offer????

As sacrilegous as it may be, there is a part of me that is wanting to see the Boks lose to England, if only to prevent HM from wearing his Blue Bulls tracksuit over his Springbok one when the Boks are playing.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-96: cmon man, dont be so emotional :lol:

firstly he tried to get ac and nienaber but was denied by wp admin.

secondly he hasnt picked a squad yet lol, he has had training camps countrywide with a huge pool of players.

thirdly fdp is no pensioner, he is around 30 yrs old as far as i know, as is dan carter.

the anton leonard comment is just silliness.

now you want the boks to lose?

no man, settle down, this article is pure speculation at present haha.

• 98.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Laugh-out-farking-loud

• 99.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-97:

He never tried to get those guys. He discussed opportunities with them in exactly the same way he discussed opportunities with the various franchise captains, but it’s becoming patently clear that he always knew where he was going to go. He has led everyone along by their noses and most of them just saw right through his kak.

His most recent training squad of 42 will form the large bulk of his actual squad. He is unlikely to pull in too many outsiders apart from one or 2 more obvious ones like F Steyn.

Wow, he went around the country holding training camps? So what? He’s still picked a 42 player squad subsequently, which is made up of 15 Bulls players including the ridiculously average ones I mentioned above.

FDP may be 30, but we saw his best form almost 4 years ago now. He was nowhere near ir last year and is unlikely to have recaptured it in Japan. If he is a short term appointment then why not go with a short term appointment in a guy like JDV, who at least has a successful track record as a captain and is actually playing good rugby? And don’t tell me it’s because JDV isn’t a certainty in his possie, because if that’s the criteria, then I’mll be even more disappointed that HM sees FDP as a better option than Hougaard at the moment.

This speculation is being reported by FAR more reputable sites than KEO by the way, so I would suspect there is some truth to it.

And just so the Bulls brigade don’t think I am anti Bulls, my Bok XV would be:

Lambie
    Basson/Aplon
    JDV
    F Steyn
    Mvovo
    M Steyn
    Hougaard

Daniel
    Stander
    Brussouw
    Bekker
    Etzebeth
    Kruger
    Bissie
    Beast

5 Bulls, 4/5 Sharks, 4/5 Stormers and a Cheetah.

• 100.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-99: You are spot on about Meyer speaking through his exit pipe when trying to ‘woo’ the Bok faithful. Lest we forget, this is the man who was part of the BBRU plot to overthrow Jake at the end of 2006 when they put that little vote of no confidence in the man,resulting in SARU hauling his butt back from the UK to answer certain questions.At that stage Meyer was already holding his little blueprint for Bok rugby(same one as he will be using now it seems), waiting to be installed immediately. Meyer is a decent man by all accounts – but ***** C he ain’t. (Even the most blue eyed fan can’t tell me Heyneke was ‘not aware’ at that stage that the BBRU were trying to have Jake overthrown and him installed – he would have had to buy into it.) So yes, he is human and just as tricky as his predecessors.

• 101.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Jussus! Am am so exited, After reading the article and comments, i now realise that the Bulls supporters here have a direct line to the mind of Heineke Meyer. all I have to do is read these posters and I will know everything.

What the team lineup will be; who the captain is; who will win all the games; Everything.

It seems Bulls supporters now have a direct understanding and knowledge of Bok Rugby above everybody else. There ex coach is obviously in direct contact with them. Probably braais with them after games.

• 102.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Of course we must also accept this article as the gospel according to KEO.

Just so exiting!

• 103.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Of course, the worst crime of all that Heyneke could commit with this team is actually beat the Poms 3-0.

That would make the moaners hate him more than anything, because then he would have proved them wrong.

• 104.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

I sincerely hope Heineke does.

• 105.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-103: how long before skop starts his campaign of hatred against heineke?

• 106.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-103: i think you will find most people just want the Boks to succeed

• 107.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Rangerman, it will be nothing compared to every other bok coach surely. Right now Heineke walks on water. And for all I know he deserves it. Problem is he hasn’t won a thing yet.

• 108.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Far more interesting than this topic, is the breaking news that has (strangely?) not received any coverage on this site as far as I can see, but please correct me if I missed it.

And that is Peter de Villiers’explosive revelation to the media that it was none other than Cheeky Watson who was behind the *** tape blackmail incident when De Villiers didn’t perform according to his requirements.

Come on Keo, surely this is very relevant material, given the prominence of the whole King’s saga in the media at the moment. Surely any neutral journalist would be reporting on this story as headline news?

• 109.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Hensopper1 you are SO mistaken – Tacitus and his ilk are all Mighty Men like Heineken – hence the hotline to the mind of the master.

• 110.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Greybeard, that’s what I said.

‘Mighty’?

Is their more to this?

• 111.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-61: couldnt agree more – Hargreaves has been a nobody his entire career

• 112.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

…there….

• 113.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Just wondering at the rugby pedigree of some people on here. Wonder how many of them have ever coached an Under 13C team much less a Springbok team in a test match.

• 114.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Gee Slumtown – you played lock at what level? Must be very high to criticise Hargreaves who never selected himself. Gee I’m in awe of these great rugby minds!!!! FFS

• 115.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Hensopper you ***hole – dont you have some respect?

• 116.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Must have been alright at some point to play for SA schools.

• 117.greybeard: Reply to this comment

at least hensopper

• 118.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Nothing at all Greybeard. You seem fairly disrespectful yourself.

• 119.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Only of some of the “Kenners” here hensopper

• 120.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-113: have you?

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-108: where did you read this tac?

so cheeky tried to blackmail jake, told b van zyl he would have his farm taken away and tried to blackmail pdivvy?

haha, this news will end up in so much confusion in camps bay :lol:

• 121.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Personally I think Heryneke deserves a chance before we criticise or second guess him – and as Tacitus says – it is a 3 match decision

• 122.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-103:

3-0 against the rebuilding Poms would be perfect Tac, just perfect.

Even a 3N win would be grand.

But the rot will eventually be need to be repaired. Better to swallow the harsh medicine now.

Time to show some faith in the NEW GENERATION.

• 123.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-106: We all want the boks to succeed, but if true, I think that this decision is a travesty. Heineke was the one that said, “I will first pick my team and then my captain!” Hougaard would be the starting scrumhalf in pretty much any other international team, so why take the boks backwards with this decision to recall Du Preez?

• 124.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Have I what? Played at a high level? NO – coached at one though – and correct me if im wrong, but i didnt call Hargreraves useless or a coward

• 125.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-120:

I’t's from Divvy’s book. Excerpts quoted in various media this week. Not a peep here on Keo though.

• 126.greybeard: Reply to this comment

cane 122
    You worry about your NEW GENERATION and we will worry about ours. C*U*N*T

• 127.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-121: He deserves a chance yes – something that was never afforded to P de Villiers. See how different ‘walk on water’ Meyer already has it? And no, I was not a P Divvy praise singer by any stretch – but I am decent enough to realise that Heyneke is already being given the ‘benefit of the doubt’, and the ‘support’ of the nation, whereas Divvy (1 day into his tenure was already being given hellllllllll – and to quote YOU, ‘just like certain players, he didn’t select himself either’)
    Just not sure why everything Meyer does is being met with ‘ooohs and ahhhs’ and simpering of the likes never seen before. Why can’t his methodology be questioned like Divvy’s was?

• 128.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-126: WOW! For someone preaching’decency’ to others, you failed a little in your interpretation of the word right there……..

• 129.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-124: personally i try not to personally attack players so yes, guys like rl calling hargreaves a coward are offisdes but go easy oin red pu s sy, he is a simpleton as evidenced by his constant repetition of the word “roar” on this site.

secondly mate, no one gives a toss who you coached, played for or sat nect to on a plane between pofadder and pietermaritzburg ok?

this is a forum for discussion and debate and it is quite a robust platform as we all have views and share them.
    like all saffas, we are always right.

if you are looking for company amongst “kenners” then i suggest ruggaworld (PS’s site). it is far more technical than us bunch of muppets.

your good mate
    rangerman

• 130.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Fair point Sharks….. but I also gave PDivvy a chance. But thats just me – and im not part of the Heyneke Praise Singers Brigade – I dont like his game plan either but he is now the Bok coach for better or for worse and I will trust his decisions UNTILL he f*u*c*k*s up and not be a prophet of doom until he does

• 131.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

i am a huge hougaard fan but he’s been average at best in the last few games.
    this may atually work.

• 132.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-125:

@rangerman(rangerman)-120:

Tac is one of the people who never had a good word to say about p dV and never had any trust or believe in him.
    That was until he started to accuse the watsons.
    Now he believes in him.

• 133.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-125: hectic.

• 134.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Roobarb dont you think that Hougie hasnt been given a fair chance? He seldom plays 80 mins at 9, and now he is being somewhat undermined by talk of FduP returning? He isnt Fourie du Preez nor was meant to be ( to paraphrase TS Eliot). At his best he will be better than Joost and plays I believe a similar game

• 135.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-132: haha, i think tac actually warmed to pdivvy at one stage until it was clear he would not supplant john with vic.

but that is all rather academic.
    fact remains, divvy claims it was cheeky who tried to blackmail him and hjake said the same and b van zyl too.

where there is smoke ther is fire rob, surely we must agree its probable cheeky tried some back room stronarming?

• 136.cane: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-113:

I played for St Josephs 2nd 15 in 1971.

(I usually started, but, not always, but often, got subbed off in the 2nd half).

But hey………………………………………..does my lack of history on the field, make me any lessor a fan of THE GAME,
    than say Jake.

In my tiny mind, I can relive every moment of glory I bestowed upon my Teams.

They are few, but hey, we are not all Joost’s, Justins, Jakes, Jacks, Jaques or Johnstons.

but we love the game.

Or anyone else for that matter.

• 137.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-131: Not sure we’ve been watching the same games mate. Notice how many defenders he commits around the fringes of the ruck.

• 138.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Dirty business this blackmail stuff. True, Tacitus why is this not newsworthy? True or not it should be discussed maybe. What would Heineke [sorry, I am not on first name terms with Mr Meyer] make of this do you think?

I noticed on the Lions thread that the massive blow that was the injury to Taute was hardly mentioned as a factor to a savage loss to a blood and guts Lions effort.

I like reading the interesting perspectives here, that’s why I visit.

• 139.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-137: look, he’s been solid, but how many of his kicks have been charged down? he’s been much better and a lot of his incredible performances have been on the wing. i was sure he has to be a scrummie but i’m not so sure anymore.

• 140.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Yes cane – like you I was an average player who loved every moment i spent on a rugby field, and my beef with you wanst about your playing history – I just am very protective of my beloved Boks and I think you would react the same if i was ugly about the All Blacks. Yes we are fans – I respect you as a fan, but be nice about the Boks ok? I respect the All Blacks and would appreciate the same in return. Cheers mate!

• 141.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-135:

I just find it a bit rich that de Villiers kept dead quiet about everything until now- very conveniently at the same time as his book is getting published.

I am not saying Cheeky is an angel but Piet has got no job, a loose tongue and a moerse imagination,. – deadly combination imo, lol.

• 142.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ok i am out.

going to go look for a high level team to coach and failing that i will watch the cheetahs (go cheetahs!) and then the sharks (go sharks!).

i might even offer an opinion or two, quietly of course because i will have failed in my quest to coach a high level team.

i will try again tomorrow to find a high level team to coach because i have an opinion to offer and i want it to be valid and acceptable that i do so.

tjorts.

• 143.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-123: i agree with you completely actually… i was just pointing out that people criticise this decision not because they have something against Heyneke Meyer, but rather because they want the Boks to succeed, and this decision appears detrimental to that cause…

• 144.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-134: Spot on right there! That is what many (including the Kiwis) are questioning. What does Meyer’s reluctance to entrust Hougaard with the 9 jersey in this series, say to Hougaard? Yes, Hougie is by no means the finished product at 9, but the areas in which he lacks are those WHICH CAN ONLY IMPROVE with continued exposure and game time at the highest level. It just seems as though Meyer only trusts du Preez and Matfield as ‘extensions of himself on the field’ – Spies also seems to have the inside lane…..(now that’s a whole new nightmare)

• 145.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-141:

Rob

But this was the rumour back at the time already. The only difference is, now Divvy raised the issue himself. Whatever the case, it is clear that he and Cheeky are enemies. Which is strange, considering Cheeky’s strong support for Divvy’s appointment at the time that it was expected that Divvy would appoint Luke as captain.

• 146.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-139: The thing is, he’s never gonna have as much space at scrumhalf as he did on the wing. His kicking is improving and his speed of service is second to none and he commits defenders more than any other scrumhalf. If defenders take their eyes off him, he will break or score.

• 147.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Piet should also get an article feature for Huisgenoot.

Jus, that would be just as interesting.

• 148.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Hensopper on the subject of Cheeky – I wonder how many of the bloggers here are old enough to have seen Cheeky play? I saw him. And I get very annoyed at the press that is now given out that he “gave up Bok colours” to play township rugby. Cheeky was a hard provincial layer who was never even 10the in line for a Bok cap – remember that in those days 4 tests was about the average season – and Cheeky played at the same time as people like Syd Nomis, Gert Muller, Hannes Viljoen, Andy vd Watt – the list goes on and on. Cheeky would never have made a Bok side on merit, much like his son Puke wouldnt.

• 149.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-142: Your Sharks might need a coach after this evening? Try there? You seem like one of the nicer Sharks fans – so enjoy the game, and may the team that wants it more, win.

• 150.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@theonlylionsfanincapetown(Lions)-146: so why not give your best attacking player more space?

• 151.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-141: no rob, dont try to put them man down because you dont like what you hear, thats not fair or right.

he has a job, at saru, developing young rugga talent.

my point is that he is not alone in making these claims, there is a history of this kind of thing.

no wonder luke never got a look in again?

• 152.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Shame poor rangerman got hurt and angry. To clarify – my point is not that only exc players and coaches may have an opinion – God forbid – my point is that unless you have some real knowledge you should tone down your rantings

• 153.theonlylionsfanincapetown: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-150: Because he’s the best scrumhalf we’ve got. Let’s not do a Ruan Pienaar, Frans Steyn, Brent Russel, etc, etc, on him.

• 154.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-149: cheers man, enjoy too and may there be no injuries.

ok, i am out tjorts.

• 155.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Go Cheetahs – and may the best of the Stormers and Sharks win – it will be a cracker. More later chaps. Chin up rangerman!!!!

• 156.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-145:

All i know is I am not buying the book of that “coach’. I admit however that i will sneakily read a few pages at “Exclusive Books” though- that is if they decide to stock that slapstick. There might be some laughs.

• 157.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-156:

That’s all I usually do with these types of books as well.

Didn’t by White’s either.

Did buy Matfield’s though. But thats for sentimental reasons.

• 158.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oookkkkaayyy

So you need some REAL KNOWLEDGE to post here?

• 159.cab: Reply to this comment

We’re fkd – England will take the series against all odds cos of saffa stupidity

• 160.fitzella: Reply to this comment

No wonder Hougaard suddenly playing like a complete dumbed down twat.. he’s heard his great mentor FdP is coming home to take up his halo and his automatic spot..

I was told that FdP had officially ‘retired’ from international rugby till Heyneke got the job.. whats the IRB ruling surrounding that?

Now if this the way Heyneke is going about rebuilding the Bok legendary dynasty of old then I hope England fck’s him up..

I can see Heyneke already in a flat spin about wtf to do next.. seems he got no balls and only got a blue print he prepared 5 years ago so he’s falling all the way back on that.

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ou grysbaard don’t go spewing bile here on bloggers who’ve been here longer than you’ve had your beard, OK?

• 162.fitzella: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-159:

Tell these dumbed down fckers.. they are all befuddled fck’d up in the head and blind..

• 163.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-157:

The only one of those books that I have is the one about Kitch Christie- written by Edward griffiths. My wife once joined a book club and took it as one of the “three books for R5″ introductory offer. She said there was absolutely nothing else to choose and gave it to me- it was not a bad buy for R 1.67 I guess.

• 164.fitzella: Reply to this comment

SA rugby is one fat hornets nest of delusional idiocy and stupidity .. and Heyneke Meyer is the next messiah in waiting to see his overrated gat…

• 165.cab: Reply to this comment

No I can’t watch this laager **** – I thought heyneke was one of the new breed but this is conservatism of the highest order.

• 166.fitzella: Reply to this comment

Cheeky Watson was obviously the stooge who tried blackmailing PdV who else would stoop so low .. but PdV shouldn’t have been caught with his pants down.. even if he was in bed with some gabbas from the ANC on a team building sortie in the EC..

and immediately thereafter PdV handed all the reigns to John Smit and thereafter slayed waste all and any of his credibility.

• 167.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-165:

No. Mitchell was the ”new breed Messiah”. You know, expansive running rugby, reading the ”shoulders” of the opposing player and all that ”next generation” mumbo jumbo.

Half the country wanted him as the next Bok coach.

The half that thinks every game can be like Sevens rugby, that is. So much for that idea.

• 168.fitzella: Reply to this comment

They got f’all idea about rugby.. these so called dyed in the rugby wool geniuses of SA rugby.. they so f’ng far off the goddamn boil of any situation when push comes to shove they go running cap in hand to the nearest Aussie to come lead them out the laager and into the promised land..

what a f’ng dire delirious deluded dumbed down day dream

• 169.cab: Reply to this comment

Geezus there gonna be big tears – and I be crying the biggest ones – ffs do not lose against England – this is the time to blood tge new – the others were on the cusp 2 years ago – it’s now time to pick anew – u got a virtually unbeaten stormers team and ge wanna pick fdp and matfield – and they call these okes kenners – christus alimity – I go darn my hankies now..

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-168:

Skop? Is that you?

• 171.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-170:

You are slow today. It is indeed the legend.

• 172.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja it’s Skop.

• 173.fitzella: Reply to this comment

Good luck Heyneke you gonna need it.. because now I got very little faith in your chicken arsed back pedaling cowardice.. and I hope England do you and the country a favor and fck us up with FdP throwing his hands up in desperate non knowing bewilderment

One more useless chicken arsed coward in the cauldron like a goddamn deluded dumb down lamb to the slaughter.

• 174.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Zim

Tac is never slow. Just a bt confused at times.

• 175.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-171: @Dawn(Dawn)-172:

Didn’t know. But you can’t really miss that unique style of his, can you..

• 176.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-174:

So what’s up with his new name? Been banned again?

• 177.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-174:

For a bull supporter he is indeed very sharp, i have to admit. Blame it on Stellies :)

• 178.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Great White “reported” him, to no great effect!

• 179.fitzella: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-170:

the gestapo got their wish they bamboozled the heinous heresy into believing their apartheid propaganda so just like before I had to go underground to fight the good fight for unrelenting freedom to the free thinkers of the world..

In spite of their inane urge to always crucify the poor jewboy the Nazi’s still haven’t learnt yet quite how. They thought they got rid of all of them in the gas chambers.

• 180.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-178:

So he pre-emptively changed his logon name, just in case?

• 181.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I think this is post-reporting.

• 182.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@fitzella(fritz ellenbogen)-179:

I’m sure you’ll resurface in some form, no matter what steps the ”Gestapo” may take to try and extinguish your flame. Master of disguise and subterfuge that you are.

• 183.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This site would be poorer if skop weren’t here

• 184.fitzella: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-182: you actually a good nazi.. don’t let those other bitter and twisted ones try and undermine and influence you. Keep with the truth no matter how hard it may be to always swallow.

off to watch the ding dong battle in bloemfontein..

cheerio chaps and chapattis .. life in the wonderful world of wakey wakey land ain’t such a bad daydream..

see ya anon .. if not in this disguise.. perhaps in another.

• 185.cab: Reply to this comment

Now WTF auschwitz or fiddler on the roof got to with anything?

• 186.fitzella: Reply to this comment

ask Kapitan Korporal Punishment and his Kollective of Kristellike Kronies over here…

ek’s uit vir n rukkie .. sien julle later laaitjies.

• 187.cab: Reply to this comment

***** ole robshaw looks like a hooray henry – if he lifts tge cup – I shitmybroek ekse..

• 188.cab: Reply to this comment

What the greatest is bring out a book?

Fantastico!

What a legend, right until he **** hisself in the gdam foot too with the only bad move he made.

• 189.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

what is the point of all these training camps when he’s just going to go, not only outside of the country, but people who have since already retired? i just don’t get it…

• 190.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

I can see what Heyneke is doing. Of course he will pick people with experience and people who he knows for the series. He wants to have a platform to build something in the Rugby championship

Its no suprise to me that he wants Wynand Olivier, Fourie Du Preez, Danie Russouw etc in the team, and of course there are decisions he has done which I wouldn’t have but everyone has their own opinion on the bok team and not many would be identical

Personally I find it odd that he’s decided to pick CJ Stander over Siya Kolisi and Pat Cilliers over Steven Kitshoff… however under Meyer they should get their time if they perfrom.

The one issue I have with this whole situation is that the bok team should always field the best available side in the coaches opinion… and even Meyer will know that if he picks Du Preez over Hougaard, M Steyn over Grant or Ndungane over Pietersen or Mvovo that he will not be picking the best players.. but for this series I think he deserves a shot at proving people wrong and beginning to build a side.

Personally the 42 I would have taken would have been:

15 Jaco Taute, Gio Aplon, Joe Pietersen
    14 JP Pietersen, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen
    13 Juan De Jongh, Robert Ebersohn, Tim Whitehead
    12 Jean De Villiers, Francois Steyn, Patirck Lambie
    11 Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo,
    10 Peter Grant, Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjes
    9 Francois Hougaard, Jano Vermaak, Fourie Du Preez
    8 Joshua Strauss, Willem Alberts, (Pierre Spies / Keegan Daniel / Ryan Kankowski)
    7 Marcell Coetzee, Derick Minnie, Jean Deysel
    6 Heinrich Brussouw, Siya Kolisi,
    5 Andries Bekker, Juandre Kruger
    4 Eben Etzebeth, Rynhardt Elstadt, Steven Sykes
    3 Jannie Du Plessis, CJ Van Der Linde, Werner Kruger
    2 Bismark Du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Chillyboy Ralepelle
    1 Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuzyen, Steven Kitsoff

• 191.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

what is the general consensus with Habana or Mvovo? who should get the spot?

• 192.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Woops JP Pietersen twice I ment to put Willie Le Roux on one wing

• 193.blueboy: Reply to this comment

@fitzella skop i always thought you were wacko and then i realised that this website might be a tad boring without your wacko comments so i have changed my mind and welcome you back and i am GLAD the stormers got humped and by the guppies hahahahahahahahhahaha.

• 194.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

The reality of the situation is the dearth of test quality half back prospects in the Republic. Can not expect Hougard to carry no9 position on his lonesome. HM has little option, but to recall,reinstate,reintroduce the birdman, FDP.
    Why he would also offer him captaincy, is an indictment on previous coaching regimes non strategic planning in grooming young talent for leadership positions.
    HM is in a bit of a bind regarding the type of game Boks are expected to play,only one option really, they will play the tried and tested game plan of kick,chase and hope, but if opposition get the better or even match Bok pack…………its going to get very interesting.

• 195.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

I am no bull, but I am very comfortable with this!

I reckon fourie still has plenty to offer boks. in 2010 he was played into ground by ludeke and carried injuries into international season. in 2011 he was just starting to get back to his best when boks were knocked out of world cup.

pity fourie wont have a few games of super rugby to get up to speed though.

with hougie on bench we got a super duper sub to come on either 9 or wing depending on what the game needs. if fourie does not come back, then ruan should get a shot – have not seen him play but sounds like he’s in good form too.

• 196.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-194:

from what i’ve seen in the super15 all teams are playing that kick chase territorial game. teams have gotten past the tackler having to release the player befre playing the ball and game has swung back in favour of the defending team.

until the rules change again no teams will be willing to run the ball from inside their own half. kicking is a feature of the game – dont kid yourself the boks will be the only ones playing the territory game in the 4nations (or whatever it is called). aussies and kiwis have a tactical game.

in my opinion it is the teams with the best tactical kicking game that get to do the most running. thats because they win the kicking contest and spend more time with quality ball in their opponents half. in last years Super15 carter and cooper kicked the most. and reds and crusaders contested the final…

• 197.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-191:

habana will probably get the nod 1st up, because with only one week to prepare the team meyer will go with experience. he’ll then give players like mvovo time to play themselves into contention, either off the bench, or in the 3rd test if boks have the series wrapped up by then. thats my opinion anyway. and what i’d do if i was coach.

• 198.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-196:
    Howzit Munki, have to agree with most of what you stated, have no problem with tactical kicking for territory, relieving pressure or to put on pressure through kick and chase. A good kicking game can be the difference between winning and losing, I have no illusions about that. What I do have a problem with is when your primary attack is the kick and chase. You say Carter and Cooper kicked more in the S15 last year, it would also be interesting to know their stats for attacking plays other than kicks.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.