Du Preez set to skipper Boks

Keo.co.za understands Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has offered Fourie du Preez the captaincy.

This website’s information indicates that Meyer met with Du Preez this week to offer him the position on a short-term basis that will initially stretch across the England series in June, after which the situation will be reviewed.

Du Preez, who has just completed his first season in Japan with Suntory Sungoliath, is thought to be keen on the job, although he has not formally accepted yet.

Du Preez is known to be a reluctant captain, preferring to operate in the shadows. In the absence of Victor Matfield he accepted the job with the Bulls in 2008 but later spoke about his lack of enjoyment in what turned out to be a disastrous campaign.

Speaking to SA Rugby magazine in 2011 Du Preez said the World Cup would probably be his last involvement with the Springboks, but added that he would reconsider if Meyer was appointed. It appears he will now lend his long time mentor a helping hand, with Meyer not convinced by the quality of leaders on offer in South Africa.

Meyer had planned to install Victor Matfield as his captain, but those plans were shelved when it emerged that an IRB ruling on retired players precludes Matfield from selection for six months after he announced his return.

198 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-44: At least you are honest. It is sad, but counts for something.

• 52.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-49: At least you’re aware of the problem – there is still hope for you :wink:

• 53.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

6 Sharks
    3 Bulls
    3 Stormers
    1 Cheetah
    2 overseas Boks

What’s to complain about in that mix, even if you’re the raving anti-Bulls froth-at-the-mouth type?

• 54.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53: Too many Stormers.

• 55.RL: Reply to this comment

Okay then.

FdP remember I expect a 90% win ratio or else my campaign against you will dwarf the one waged against Plod.

Keo no pun intented there wee little man.

• 56.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-54:

There is that, yes..

• 57.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-55: your campaign against John Smit?

oh ja, that one really had international impact :lol:

why not focus your energies on getting your franchise into shape for when, if ever, they return to superrugby?

• 58.lepel: Reply to this comment

The only people who seem to be positive about this decision are either Bulls supporters, or ANY other country’s supporters… this should tell you how stupid it is.

Everyone was a little worried with Meyer’s appointment that we might have an astute coach to take us forward into the modern game. Unfortunately, they were quickly comforted to know that Meyer intends to revert to a pre-2007 game plan. It didn’t work in 2011 and it sure as hell won’t work in 2015.

Adapt or die… SA will soon start fading as a rugby powerhouse if we continue to think like this.

• 59.RL: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-57: do not underestimate the power of the Rangergirl. Remember my campaign against Hargreaves? Called him useless when he was first called up to the Bok squad. Van Zyl made him his b.itch and I was there spinning big time. Then Plod made the mistake of selecting him again – big mistake. Yes I took up a notch called him a bloody coward and it stuck. Ali Williams wounded him mortally leaving Horwil to moer him over and over again.

Yes I ended that cowards career :)

So FdP will have to perform or else.

• 60.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Not really devastated about this news but not terribly happy either. At least we’ll have one incisive wing in Hougaard and I expect Du Preez to still play competently at scrumhalf. His opposite number wont be a Will Genia or Phillips and his tactical nous will be useful. Hougaard will probably slot in later in match and continue accumulating test match experiecne in the position. As for the capataincy… would have preferred JdV but unlikely to be a critical failure in the decision.

• 61.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@RL(RL)-59:

true true

Hargreaves was picked on protential but reality was he had none. Anton van Zyl should have worn Bok colors.

• 62.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s this deep throat cloak n dagger story

• 63.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@lepel(lepel)-58:

South Africa already faded as a rugby powerhouse between 2008-2011..or have you conveniently forgotten.

• 64.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-63: 2010/11

• 65.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The Blue Boks are starting to fall nicely in place. FdP has never been a leader and sulks and argues too much. I guess it is payback time and HM made his promises and must keep them. Like Tac says Spies is next in line, then Ralephela and then Olivier… You can’t go wrong now can you…

• 66.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

42@…..Taahira…. :lol:

• 67.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-26:

Why do you say Spies and JdV have more right to start than Fourie?

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-67: probably because they are playing in sa and we can actually monitor their form?

• 69.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-68:

Exactly! We heard all the noise about the great captains playing in SA at present then he picks a player equivalent to Vodacom rugby in Japan… FdP hasn’t had a good game for how long, yet gets the captaincy. Where there is smoke there is fire.

• 70.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Some very twisted knickers here.

Suck it up girls.

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-69: its a poor decision imo but who knows, it could work for heineke, after all, its his hotseat let him decide how hot he wants it.

• 72.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-70:

:lol: Nothing changed except the name of the coach… Much of a muchness…

• 73.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-71:

Why the sideshows then. Why didn’t he just say we don’t have any real leaders in SA, so I have to hunt for one in Japan.

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-70: its a bulls conspiracy i tell you!

because if the boks were all stormers we could win every game through defense much like the boks played under jake white but dont mention jake white because we hate jake white because he didnt pick luke watson because he is a racist even though watson is white.

its awesome!

• 75.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74:

:lol: You ogg to the Tank today?

• 76.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

ogg = off

• 77.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-68:

Yes, we can regarding Spies and JdV. We can’t monitor Fourie’s performance in Japan because we don’t have access. M
    y point is this: do you think a man of Heyneke’s rugby intelligence coupled with Rassie’s technical brain would take such a huge risk in his first home series in arguably the world’s toughest coaching job if he wasn’t convinced of it?

• 78.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-64:

2009 was a fluke.

• 79.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

this is terrible news

• 80.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-77:

Maybe! He made it clear he would pick on form and many loyal to SA may just feel irked. Just my opinion. I have always been vocal about the brotherhood so my opinion counts for little I guess.

• 81.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Ja nee Rangerdad.

Less said the better.

• 82.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-79:

Dejavu – living the horror of the past four years…

• 83.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I predict Du Preez is going to have a blinder in the England test series.

I predict Heyneke will pick an immensely strong Bok team for each of the 3 games and we will win the series 3-0.

And after those 3 games, Heyneke will know a lot more about his combinations and about the ability of some of the youngsters blooded as replacements against England.

By the time the Four Nations comes around a lot of the senior players now injured will be back and Heyneke will have the victorious England match 22, plus all the returning veterans back from injury, plus a lot more comfort with some of the youngsters he wasn’t too sure about before

Hence, by the time the Four Nations comes around our team will be even stronger than the one that thrashed England 3-0.

It’s all so logical. And yet the hysteria knows no bounds in Cape Town. Hilarious.

• 84.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-73: what siedshow though bill?

he is choosing a short term captain until he settles on a team and he has worked with fdp for years so thats who is comfortable with?

personally i dont see jdv making the team for much longer, not as a starter anyway.

so why pick him?

spies is on probabation, much like he has been for years so he is not an automatic choice with willem alberts, kanko, vermeulen as options there so why should heyneke pick spies now, with so little time to prepare?

he hasnt really worked with the captains of other unions that much (adrian strauss may be an exception but will he be picked ahead of bizness? no so there goes another option).

add this to the fact that he wants a respected player, with whom he is familiar, to lead for the england series whilst the squad coalesces and this gives him breathing room to pick his captain as the squad dynamic dictates, natural leaders, respected by the entire group, will come to the fore under his watchful eye.

and lastly, there are so many injuries/ semi injuries (such as bekker) that maybe he simply cannot pick who he wanted and doesnt want to announce anything that will prejuidice the player asked to lead for this series?

all in all, maybe he is onto something?

like i said, its his seat and he must sit in it so good luck to him.

• 85.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74:

Lol!! That’s basically what it boils down to….his book. Many a blogger took his words to heart and went running off screaming to their tree forts to sob uncontrolably.

• 86.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83:

On paper we have had some really strong Bok teams, unfortunately they were just not good enough to win important games. Even lost to Scotland and some club teams on the way. The same players were overated and still are… My opinion though.

• 87.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Omar you aren’t crying about the Broederbond are you?

That’s just buggery territory.

• 88.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-84:

Making a noise about the great leadership within SA. Sideshow maybe not!!! :(

FdP was a great player! Emphasis on WAS…

• 89.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-87:

Mate always been vocal about the old guard! I don’t think we should be calling in the pensioners on a short term basis. Build now for the future… no better place to start.

• 90.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

As Ranger said, the coach makes the decision and takes the accolades or criticism that comes with such decisions…

• 91.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Enjoy the rugger Billy Boy and Ranger.

Let’s hope its a draw with no bonus points.

• 92.IAAS: Reply to this comment

The names that Heyneke mentioned as possible skipper are:
    1)JDV – although he said he’s coming to then end of his career and doesn’t understand his gameplan
    2)Andries Strauss – he rates him as a hooker but then Bissie and Chilliboy will have their noses out of joint
    3)Pierre Spies – HM said he’s going to need to up his game. And if it weren’t for the fact that Vermeulen was injured, Spies wouldn’t even be starting.
    4)Josh – but not one of his top loose forwards

But then he said he hasn’t made up his mind yet. But by the look of things, maybe he has.

• 93.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-88:

Rangerman’s right Bill. Fourie is likely to be captain for this series only and thereafter a long term cappy will be picked. My gut feel is it will be Schalkie.

Also think of the game plan they’re likely to employ for this series. Tactical kicking will be the order of the day. With a week to prep, they’ll settle for simple but effective. Pretty it’s unlikely to be but hopefully effective. Houggaard is improving in this respect, but is not there yet.

• 94.Hondo: Reply to this comment

What is Keo’s ‘Understanding’ and what HM will do are not necessarily the same, be aware of it.
    End of the day HM is expected to win Test matches, how he will carry it out is his prerogative, if he failed, then he will be held accountable, unlike PdV.
    Until that happened he can select whoever player deemed suitable for his game plan and his Tests winning chances, simple

• 95.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83:
    Good for you
    I only make prediction after I get all the facts first and even so I am wrong some times ;)
    For instance the Bulls’ last two games where they were expected to win comfortably but then lost both :(

• 96.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

What a surprise.

First he picks pretty much an all Bulls management team, including a defensive coach who’s team currently has one of the worst defensive records in this years super 15 and a backline coach who has absolutely no credentials.

Then he tries to lure back a pensioner Bulls lock to captain the side.

Then he picks a squad of 40-odd, dominated entirely by Bulls players, some of whom (Kirchner/Spies/Olivier/Engelbrecht) are amongst the most average in their positions in SA by some distance.

Now he calls upon another pensioner, with a poor record as a captain who is currently plying his trade in the most average of leagues to captain.

What next? A call up for Anton Leonard if FDP turns down the offer????

As sacrilegous as it may be, there is a part of me that is wanting to see the Boks lose to England, if only to prevent HM from wearing his Blue Bulls tracksuit over his Springbok one when the Boks are playing.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-96: cmon man, dont be so emotional :lol:

firstly he tried to get ac and nienaber but was denied by wp admin.

secondly he hasnt picked a squad yet lol, he has had training camps countrywide with a huge pool of players.

thirdly fdp is no pensioner, he is around 30 yrs old as far as i know, as is dan carter.

the anton leonard comment is just silliness.

now you want the boks to lose?

no man, settle down, this article is pure speculation at present haha.

• 98.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Laugh-out-farking-loud

• 99.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-97:

He never tried to get those guys. He discussed opportunities with them in exactly the same way he discussed opportunities with the various franchise captains, but it’s becoming patently clear that he always knew where he was going to go. He has led everyone along by their noses and most of them just saw right through his kak.

His most recent training squad of 42 will form the large bulk of his actual squad. He is unlikely to pull in too many outsiders apart from one or 2 more obvious ones like F Steyn.

Wow, he went around the country holding training camps? So what? He’s still picked a 42 player squad subsequently, which is made up of 15 Bulls players including the ridiculously average ones I mentioned above.

FDP may be 30, but we saw his best form almost 4 years ago now. He was nowhere near ir last year and is unlikely to have recaptured it in Japan. If he is a short term appointment then why not go with a short term appointment in a guy like JDV, who at least has a successful track record as a captain and is actually playing good rugby? And don’t tell me it’s because JDV isn’t a certainty in his possie, because if that’s the criteria, then I’mll be even more disappointed that HM sees FDP as a better option than Hougaard at the moment.

This speculation is being reported by FAR more reputable sites than KEO by the way, so I would suspect there is some truth to it.

And just so the Bulls brigade don’t think I am anti Bulls, my Bok XV would be:

Lambie
    Basson/Aplon
    JDV
    F Steyn
    Mvovo
    M Steyn
    Hougaard

Daniel
    Stander
    Brussouw
    Bekker
    Etzebeth
    Kruger
    Bissie
    Beast

5 Bulls, 4/5 Sharks, 4/5 Stormers and a Cheetah.

• 100.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek(Vetkoek)-99: You are spot on about Meyer speaking through his exit pipe when trying to ‘woo’ the Bok faithful. Lest we forget, this is the man who was part of the BBRU plot to overthrow Jake at the end of 2006 when they put that little vote of no confidence in the man,resulting in SARU hauling his butt back from the UK to answer certain questions.At that stage Meyer was already holding his little blueprint for Bok rugby(same one as he will be using now it seems), waiting to be installed immediately. Meyer is a decent man by all accounts – but ***** C he ain’t. (Even the most blue eyed fan can’t tell me Heyneke was ‘not aware’ at that stage that the BBRU were trying to have Jake overthrown and him installed – he would have had to buy into it.) So yes, he is human and just as tricky as his predecessors.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.