Lions hit rock bottom, start digging

SIMON BORCHARDT saw the Lions suffer their 11th consecutive defeat when they went down 17-11 to the Force in Perth.

The Lions led 8-3 at the break after keeping the opposition tryless in the first half for the first time this season, but their execution and decision-making was woeful in the second half and they never looked like finishing the job.

The Joburg-based franchise has now won just 17 Super Rugby matches out of 93 since 2006 (an 18% win record), while John Mitchell has lost a record 65 Super Rugby matches as coach.

The Lions made a good start to their last tour game when they sent the ball wide to fullback Andries Coetzee whose inside pass put winger Michael Killian away in the left-hand corner. Elton Jantjies missed the conversion but slotted a penalty to make it 8-0 after 12 minutes.

Shortly after, Lions prop CJ van der Linde was accused of biting, and he could face a lengthy suspension if found guilty by the citing commissioner.

Seymour got the Force on the board with a penalty as they began to dominate possession. The Lions, though, had a great try-scoring chance on the half-hour mark when Coetzee burst away and found Lionel Mapoe inside the Force 22. But they conceded a turnover and the Force went the length of the field, with a knock on just before the line costing them a try. The Lions lost centre Jaco Taute to a shoulder injury in that passage of play, while Force scrumhalf Brett Sheehan left the field minutes later.

Both sides had opportunities to score late in the half but the Force lost two of their own lineouts in great attacking positions (having lost another two earlier on), while the Lions got to within five metres of the opposition tryline, as the hooter sounded, before conceding a penalty.

The third quarter of the game was forgettable until the Force took a quick penalty tap from a kickable position and captain David Pocock was driven over for the try.

Replacement Ruan Combrinck kicked a penalty after the hooter to earn the Lions a losing bonus point, but they remain rooted to the bottom of the combined Super Rugby log.

106 Comments

• 1.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Go the Leeuser DRAGONS

• 2.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-1: i will support the lions today.

sometimes i feel a bit like a *********.

• 3.rangerman: Reply to this comment

ma s o ch ist is a banned word?

****** idjits, its a legitimate term ffs.

• 4.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, the theme song for star wars, the empire strikes back? (i am not a big star wars fan, so it could have been another title about the sith or the darth vader dude?)

nick cummins has the worst hair in world rugby.

• 5.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-2:

Hey I actually went to watch them last weekend…bit like a trainsmash though! Man they kuk…but I will still support them, Saffa team after all.

• 6.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-4:

You missed that bloke from the Blues earlier although his was actually cut that way!

Did you get tickets for the game later on?

• 7.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Woohoo!

• 8.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, lions try followed by a missed conversion and then “you cant always get what you want” played on the stadium speakers :lol:

*** me the aussies can be amusing sometimes BWAAAAAHAAAAAA!

• 9.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-5: true that.

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-6: nah, i was let down so i will have a braai with mates.

tbho i was pretty ambiguous about going down, i want to wathc this game complete with replays.

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Great DJ!

• 11.Nils: Reply to this comment

Go Lions and Mitch.

• 12.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-9:

Braai with pelle is never bad…

• 13.rangerman: Reply to this comment

whoooooooohoooooooooooooooo lions like a comedy show hahahahaha, that was quite exhilirating.

like surviving a car crash.

• 14.rangerman: Reply to this comment

uh oh, the cannibla cj tried to eat the aussie?

• 15.rangerman: Reply to this comment

a dna test on the aussies arm will probably tell us the whole story but may bring the aussies outstanding arrest warrants to light.

tough decision for the aussie admin.

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-13:

:lol: just like that, must be hell being a supporter!

• 17.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

So Toby Lynn pulls CJ out of a ruck by his head and then accuses CJ of biting him and the Aussie commentators say the evidence against CJ is “fairly compelling”. **** me. Are they looking at the same footage?

• 18.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

CJ pointed out for biting? if he did? what an idjut

• 19.rangerman: Reply to this comment

was cummins protecting his head there?

or his hair?

• 20.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sorry Lions am switching to schoolboys rugby

• 21.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16: shame, my skoonpa will have a heart attack if red pu ss ys team continue like that.

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-17: headlocks are apparently quite normal in perth

• 22.rangerman: Reply to this comment

uh oh.

lions heading for a card if they carry on trying to play like pocock.

only pocock can play like that.

taute was on his feet and the aussie was holding but theres nothing like a fairytale i suppose.

• 23.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-21: I am glad the incident will be reviewed. There is no evidence of any bite. But there is very clear evidence of a player being pulled out of a ruck by his face. If the officials have functioning eyeballs, they will have to penalize Lynn. Somehow, though, I doubt that will happen.

• 24.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha Pocock V Coetzee…vatso katvis!!!

• 25.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ranger

Fernly was offering tickets!

• 26.We are red: Reply to this comment

I was expecting more raggi g of the oz conference on this thread after that rubbish reds v brumbies game. At least the right team won. Haha. Lions looking ok. Can someone tell the lions 7 to knock sheehan the fark out

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Krismis these schoolboys are huge

• 28.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

And there goes Taute…gone!

• 29.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-26:

Good win for your team Red, fair chance of them ending top of the Oz log now.

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the DJ at this stadium is full of s.hit!

Sheehan goes off injured then he plays Michael Jackson’s ‘Beat It’

• 31.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-25: i didnt see that Dawnie but have commited to having a braai with the old man.

someones gotta explain all these “new” rules to him :lol:

• 32.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-30: :lol:

he is quite amusing.

you settled down yet?

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

pocock threw tiaan meyer like a ragdoll, bwahaahahaha

i don’t know why some here were punting this guy as a future bok…he has no pace!!!

• 34.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Lets go Lions lets go.

• 35.We are red: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-29: well it was a win but there was nothing good about it. Watched it at my parents house and my mother will never look at me the same. Too many swear words

• 36.rangerman: Reply to this comment

*** there is an aussie lying in the way at every ruck preventing the lions from protecting their ball but the refs ignores it?

thats bs and just shows what ajoke rugby is.

• 37.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-35:

Hehehe you not in Brisbane are you? My mom knows better than to watch with me…

• 38.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-30: Last year during a Force home game, someone was carded. As the player left the field, “Hit the road jack” was heralded over the speakers. He fancies himself a carnival act all on his own this chap.

• 39.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman #36

oh now you wanna comment on referees? :lol:

• 40.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nee wat these schoolboys are moering each other too much

Eina

• 41.viewer: Reply to this comment

@27
    Those boys are probably ‘roided up & taking HGH. Fact

• 42.We are red: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-38: we on the east coast don’t like to consider west oz as part of our country. They’re another breed alltogether. An embarassment if you will. Haha

• 43.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-39: no, its not limited tot his ref transie, it hapens all the time.

did you see the last series of rucks before halftime?

ffs, the lions players were tripping over force players to try support their ball carrier?

it is frustrating and should be policed more effectively.

i am pretty ambiguoous about the ouitcome of this game, why, you want to have an argument? :lol:

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I like dj with sense of humour

Better than liefling and steve hofmeyer

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: stop whining…

• 46.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@We are red(Redbull)-42: I hear you mate! We have Pretoria to contend with.

• 47.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-45: :lol:

you still feeling precious?

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

good lord please don’t make the Kings play as kak as these Lions next year…please :cry:

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

no, i broke up with her when i met my current girlfriend…you wat her number?

• 50.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-48:
    No they will not!
    The Kings will play far worse than the Lions ;)
    Much worse, if they will get to the Super Rugby competition, that is

• 51.cane: Reply to this comment

Come on Lions,

do it for cab.

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

thanks for the vote of confidence Hondo :D

• 53.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-49: :lol:

quite funny transie good comeback.

• 54.cane: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-51:

And that other prick,
    ……………………………………….what’s his name.
    catsomething.
    catmandu,
    katswhiskers.

Mancat.

I know I’m close.

• 55.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and there it is from the dj

“hit the road jack” :lol:

he is a beaut.

• 56.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Guys, you relly have to give the lins a break. I think they play good rugby, heaps of heart and passion.
    Just really unlucky and honestly i think its a ******* rip that the lions will be treated the way the will be from SARU.

• 57.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The ref is the Force’s MOTM.

• 58.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-54:

Katskiet!

• 59.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Hehehehe, and he does it again….Hit the Road Jack – ah a legend in his own mind this oke.

• 60.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-58: Katsioek?

• 61.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

The Lions deserve to lose for their facial hair alone.

• 62.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-56:

hahaha so kuk they lost the “o”!

Lots of heart going nowhere though, I blame that Kiwi coach…

• 63.theOracle: Reply to this comment

I was wondering why Strauss just asked the ref what time it was… he wished for the game to end before they suffer humilation at the end of the Force :lol:

• 64.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-60:

Or that.

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-61:

Hahaha true.

• 65.cane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-56:

Cheats and Lions best SA teams to watch Hurricane.
    They give it a crack.

Best Aussie team ( usually) the Reds.

• 66.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-62:
    Same, Mitchell listens to no one and thinks his own **** dont stink.
    Still the Lions do not deserve whats coming.

• 67.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Aish Mitch is now subbing the subs :shock:

• 68.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-66:

But nobody was listening when we told them to stay away from him!

No they don’t deserve it but they making it hard to defend them.

• 69.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Lions cannot even pass!! :roll:

• 70.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, thank fu k mapoo went to tthe lions.

he is dog sh it.

• 71.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Mapoe is ****.

• 72.rangerman: Reply to this comment

sorry, correction, lionel is probably a good oke if a little mercenary, his play is dog sh it, not the man, not the man.

apologies lionel.

• 73.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-70: Yes, we really dodged a bullet there.

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

still happy he isnt a shark.

he will have to be a king. the cheetahs and sharks wont touch him with a bargepole.

• 75.theOracle: Reply to this comment

come on just run it boys!! what’s the use going for the bonus points? :lol:

• 76.cane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-66:

This whole Kings/Lions thing is just plain sad Hurricane.

Can you imagine what an effect this type of decision would have on the Chiefs or Hurricanes.

It must be like a stake through the heart for the Lions faithful, and their Union.

• 77.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

That should be a card.

• 78.rangerman: Reply to this comment

taking 3 points?

lmao!

no guts in this side.

dont worry lions fans, it will all be over soon.

• 79.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

:roll: ja go for the bonus point!!!

• 80.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

WTF?

• 81.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

OMG. This is embarrassing.

• 82.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Oh well, well done on the bonus point Lions!

• 83.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-73: totally.

100 grand a month bullet by all accounts.

redefine property group just lost 30% of their share value, wendy machanik was found to be a shareholder and rael levitt will be taking over their auction arm.

in other news, the lions got a bonus point.

• 84.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i really feel for lions fans.

truly.

their team certainly isnt raging against the dying of the light.

• 85.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Two very kak teams on display. Lions take the cake for most kakkester.

• 86.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-83: in other news… :lol:

• 87.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

Canno trying to get to the bottom of what it is that makes the Lions so kak.

• 88.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

But Strauss is taking that secret to the grave.

• 89.rangerman: Reply to this comment

eina, josh has to answer about the 3 pointer.

sorry josh but what you would have got out of a try was a bit of self respect maybe?

tough being a pro sportsman with arse h oles like me making comments.

• 90.cane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-78:

No need to rub salt into the wounds of the tormented Dangerman.

(unless they deserve it).

(And Lions fans have never deserved torment).

• 91.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-90: my post 84 refers your honour….

• 92.rangerman: Reply to this comment

naas:

“lets be honest the force is(sic) just as bad”

no naas, the force are 10 pts better.

• 93.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Really feel for the Lions fans…. BOTH OF THEM !

• 94.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Time for the Lions to get the bullet, you’d shoot a decaying, sic dog wouldn’t you?

• 95.RL: Reply to this comment

Losers pathetic.

Get rid of them end my pain.

• 96.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

I think the Lions players are conspiring together with Keo to get their team relegated from Super Rugby. Nobody can be that kak – they must be pretending.

• 97.rangerman: Reply to this comment

glenwood vs dhs on classic clashes, great game to watch.

the sides are also very racially diverse and names like dlamini mean that the black kids arent from the ec.

rugby looks healthy at grassroots when you watch games like this.

• 98.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

I didn’t even watch the game – rather watched Paarl Boys’ vs Grey. Was a fantastic game of school boy rugby with great play by both teams, Boishaai were victors 28-18, either team would beat the Lions…

• 99.rangerman: Reply to this comment

big crowd at this match too, more than a nz superrugby game probably.

• 100.viewer: Reply to this comment

@88 :D
    Classic

• 101.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-100: :wink:

• 102.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-70: lol too true – thats what happens when you think your gods gift. Doos believed all the hype about himself. What a nobody on entity nothing player.

• 103.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

lets put to bed RIGHT NOW the “but the Kings wont be competitive” argument regarding keeping the Lions in the Super15.

thanks.

• 104.viewer: Reply to this comment

The Lions-related headlines on keo are now very bizarre

• 105.viewer: Reply to this comment

Thought the force would emphatically put the lions away
    Ok reality time – ellis park next year hosts only voda cup & currie cup matches. They lose many of their SR players ; lose even more fans; unpaid bills pile up; sponsors ask for a review of contracts or walk away. Etcetera etcetera

• 106.Meerkatte: Reply to this comment

These plonkers need to be taken out of their misery….

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.