Pienaar gets Bok call-up

Heyneke Meyer has confirmed that Ruan Pienaar will join the Springbok squad next week ahead of the Test series against England.

The scrumhalf has been in outstanding form for Ulster this season and was nominated for the European Rugby Player of the Year award.

According to SuperSport.com, Pienaar will be the third scrumhalf in the squad along with Fourie du Preez and Francois Hougaard, although Hougaard may be used on the wing or off the bench as an impact player.

Pienaar has won 51 Test caps for the Boks, and played in two pool matches at last year’s World Cup, against Fiji and Namibia.

196 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-149: Great stuff.All of the best with the Borat outfit. :D

• 152.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

From my post on earlier thread

HM’s possible team 15 lambie
    14 Jp
    13 JDV
    12 F steyn
    11 Mvovo playing better than habana Maybe Basson
    10 M Steyn
    9 . FDP capt (Should be Hougaard )?
    8. Daniels (best # 8 right now)
    7 Alberts (Experiance)
    6 Brussow (Experiance)
    5 Kruger ( he is a bull ) Bekker not playing that well)
    4 Estebeth (just very good )
    3 Jannie
    2 Bismark
    1 Beast 16 Chili boy (but should be Straus)
    17 Connie ( he can play 1 and 3) but most likely a bull prop
    18 Bekker
    19 Spies (just because he is a bull) Johnson maybe
    20 Hougaard (I feel for this guy ) Covers wing too
    21 Jdj Specialist center
    22 Aplon ( Covers 15 and wing)

lambie and F steyn covers 10
    Alberts can cover lock

I cant see a place for Pienaar unless you replace Aplon

• 153.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

He has done well for Ulster but to be honest he has never really had any great games as a bok. I am not sure why ?
    But would add experience to the bench can play 9 10, and 15
    Aplon cant play 9 or 10. and Jdv could also cover wing along with Hougaard

• 154.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

lambie could also cover center and that could mean Jdj is out of the bench
    So HM has a ton of options at with is backs

• 155.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-152:

You chopped Lambdoid off. 15

I can see Hougaard starting, just not at 9 ;)

When Steggies is back he will push Brussow for a starting spot, but we will have to see what direction HM takes with our loosies.

• 156.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-154: I really don’t see any game time for JdJ with the return of Fransie.Maybe a good thing for JdJ as it might get him focused again.He probably believed that he had the 13 position with the departure of Fourie.

• 157.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-155:
    Yeah it was a cut and paste problem but he was there at 15
    @stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-156:
    Yes thats why I mentioned Pienaar off the bench Lambie can cover center
    But you also must remember the transformation requirements

• 158.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-155:
    Stegman is struggling to hold a place in bulls right now
    i dont rate him above Brussow or Coetzee or even Skalk if he is fit

• 159.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

and yes I know Skalk is a 7
    Stander is an option too
    But with Alberts adding beef and a ball carrier
    Bismark and Brussow would be fighting for ball at the breakdowns and will do well together
    Daniels will be free to add his speed, quickness and off load abilities at 8

• 160.zub: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-146: Lol (literally)

• 161.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-155: When Steggies is back he will push Heinrich for a place? Really? Mate, the only source you could have heard that from is a voice in your head. He ain’t bad, but honestly, this must be fantasy. Or you are joking. That’s it – you must be joking.

• 162.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Watching totp2 with all the old Boy George, Bonny Tyler, Human League, Deep Purple, brings back memories

• 163.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-161:

The only reason stegman may even be considered is he is a Bull :) but I agree with you. I hope he was joking

• 164.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-161: I happen to rate Steggies as well.The Bulls with him in the side are a different prospect, incredibly strong and amazing worker. I think hes had a raw deal in the Bokke in that he has never played in a balanced loose trio , just my opinion

• 165.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-164:
    He is good yes no question when he is fit and in form but better than Brussow most dont think so

• 166.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Plus your boy M. Coetzee looks very good

• 167.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-165: Its a different game now and Steggies is a better ball carrier I think. Honestly think he competes well,but admit Brussouw damn good.

• 168.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-167:
    We would have ball carriers in Alberts at 7 and Daniel at 8 No need for a 3rd loosie ball carrier plus Bismark too

• 169.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-166: Thati cannot dispute and he is a Bulls supporter, can u believe it.

• 170.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-166: That I cannot dispute and he is a Bulls supporter, can u believe it.

• 171.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Mr Bean worries me.

Prove us wrong please.

Brussouw is currently playing like a 7 and not playing his natural game to the ball. All as part of the quest to round his game off more I suppose. I think he has a lot more to his game than just being a fetcher, but in a Bok team we want him chasing that Ball.

Why are people so anti Daniel? What a rugby brain! Pure pace, can anticiapate and keep up with backs. playing the SA 6 role would give us a dynamic we have lacked recently. To make the best use of his talents 2 tall big hitters will need to play with him in the backrow. This also applies to Brussouw IMO.

This however places Spiesie as an impact player, and would favour Alberts and Vermeulen at 7 and 8. When this long haired psycho Potgieter from the Bulls comes back, he will be a perfect fit. Great player.

Coetzee will kak at international level.

• 172.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-171:
    Yeah another Daniel Supporter
    Hey my friend I have been behind daniel for years (you mention just some of his talents)
    Speed
    Quickness
    Can Off load in tackle (keeps ball alive)
    Can field high balls
    crosses the gain line most of the time
    Agressive defends like a badger
    Good supporting player
    has great ball skills
    excellent lineout option at back
    Steals lineout ball

You want me to go on? :)
    Brussow can go to his fetcher role with Alberts and Daniels there and Bismark helping him

• 173.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Hear, hear!

+1 The voice of reason.

Stegmann is definitely every bit as capable as Brussow. I wouldn’t mind having brussow though if Steggies remains injured for a while still.
    There is still plenty of opportunity to steal, Steggies only played 20 minutes before breaking his arm against the Tahs, but stole one ball clean and assisted another steal, something we havent seen very often this year from the classic fetchers.
    The man is full of fight, and Heyneke understands all this, luckily for us.

• 174.Transformation: Reply to this comment

stegmann is like wynand, his ceiling is super rugby unfortunately. the likes of sam warburton, liam gill, michael hooper are in a different class & will achieve far much more in the cauldron that is test match rugby than steggies.

he is an asset for the bulls no doubt but not bok material.

• 175.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Coach Pete. I will join your praise singing! He is an outstanding player.

Problem is I see him as a SA 6 or NZ style 7.

Reading the great suggested combo’s above I do not expect that to be agreed with.

• 176.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

He simply outperforms ALL other SA 8′s, but the media and fans have precomceptions.

THE MOM award to Alberts was a condescending pat on the back or a sigh of relief that he played well, which he always was going too.

But the BIG game came from Mr Daniel. The key to the sharks continuity.

• 177.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-176:
    Agree again MOM and all of it
    Also to those who say he is too small?
    He is not much different to Skalk
    And if you go with the too small argument then drop Brussow and Aplon out of the squad
    How come its ok for them but not for Daniel
    Did you see him win good line out ball and steal lineout ball too
    When does Spies steal lineout ball?

• 178.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

CoachPete;
    We all have our favourite teams, but as your name suggests, like me you concern yourself more with what happens on the field than reputations. I hope the new coaching regime breaks the mould a little.

No player is perfect and we can always find fault. Cmparing physique with Spies is a lost cause for any player, but as most of us here can see, Spies lacks much that Daniel excells at.

I agree that the size issue is a red Herring. When you look at his lineout play it makes even less sense to say he is too small.

Physically his lean frame enables him to play like a modern ‘Windhond’. How the stuff does anybody have so much stamina? He does not get tired. I bet his parents had massive problems with him sitting still! Tough in the true sense of the word. MUCH tougher than Spies.

• 179.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-178:
    Yep
    Well said.
    There are a good handful of Daniel supporters here

When we bring up all his great rugby qualities not many dispute them
    Now he is also in form as a 8
    HM I hope has the fore sight to hopefully see this

• 180.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Poms aren’t world beaters and neutral referees can be ‘influenced’
    Remember 2009?
    Bryce Lawrence, Berdoe, Alain Roland, Nigel Own, they all blew the whistle as if shown the gold Rolex ;)
    Assuming the Poms of all people will not request polygraph tests to screen referees, the Boks winning the series is assured regardless of HM’s selections
    The challenge will be to get the margins right

• 181.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-176: @CoachPete(CoachPete)-177:
    I thought the MOM actually belonged to Peiper who made it a match?
    Without his direct 13 points gifted to the Stormers it would have been an annihilation, in fact Peiper denied indirectly similar number of points when he turned over the ball from the Sharks for no reason that I could see?

• 182.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-152:

How fcking ironic? You say Kruger at 5 because he is a Bull, and then most likely a Bull prop. What are you trying to say by picking 10 Sharks out of 15 for the starting Bok XV ? That HM is biased? And what about you then?
    Sharks win one big game and all the sudden the whole Sharks team should be in the starting XV?
    How fcked would SA rugby be with some okes in charge.

But hey, Sharks will now have no problem in winning the S15 I suppose?

• 183.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-182:
    I would pick the best 22 I dont care where they come from
    I just think if it was a toss up of a Bulls or other team to choose He may go with the guys he knows. Its natural

• 184.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-182:
    I am a Stormers supporter
    If 8 sharks are in form and should start for boks then go for it

• 185.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Good call. When Pienaar has struggled at international level it was when he played out of position at 10. Left in his natural position he is a superb player. Having him back on the Bok mix is excellent news. I would definitely prefer to see him start ahead of FdP.

• 186.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-182: Now now kleutertjie,nod need for bad language.Coach is a well respected blogger on keo and if he believes that ten Sharks should be in the Bok team i would try to see the reasoning behind that or debate it with him in a sensible way instead of foaming at the mouth.

• 187.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-186:
    Thanks Fellow Stormer Fan :)

• 188.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Only seven sharks if you dont count F steyn :)

• 189.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Agreed. Coach Pete has along history of wisdom and moderation. Pity the fool that lacks the class to respect that.

• 190.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Heinkie vd Merwe
    Schalk Brits
    Joe van Niekirk
    Jaques Cronje

All deserve to be called up by Meyer

• 191.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Whats with all the Keegan Daniel lovers???

boy has being in great form but sadly truth is – Not in Meyers plans.

• 192.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-191:
    G13g He is just much better than Spies and yes sadly so about HM, just hope he can see it

• 193.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-178: If Keegan played for France, he would probably have had 50 caps already.

• 194.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-111:
    @bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-113:
    thanks, will follow up on it.

@Transformation(Transformation)-150:
    dont think its the same story but similar?

• 195.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-193:

agree/ Daniel is more in the french mold of flankers.

Lightweight slim with allround athlitic ability

• 196.race of tan: Reply to this comment

CoachPete – You team looks spot on. Infact it is a very good looking team!!!

I do feel for Hougie but he probably needs more time at 9 under his belt as he was used on the wing so much, but what an impact player!!

Again i still see Alberts as a super sub, similar to the old Skinstad, he comes on and changes the entire game!!

Burger will be fit by then too!!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.