Sharks bruiser is Meyer’s man
28 May 2012
JON CARDINELLI says Willem Alberts’ strong performance against the Stormers bodes well for the three-Test series against England.
Alberts’ detractors will be snorting in disbelief. One dominant showing and he’s suddenly back, suddenly the answer to Heyneke Meyer’s blindside quandary? So much for a measured evaluation.
It’s an understandable reaction. Alberts has struggled with injuries over the past year, and when he has actually played he hasn’t been as effective at the gainline as before. He made a terrific impact in the first half of the 2011 Super Rugby tournament, but battled for form in the months that followed.
That was until last Saturday. Backed by John Plumtree in the most important match of the Sharks’ season, Alberts turned in a powerful performance. The Sharks forwards manhandled their Stormers counterparts, and Alberts was particularly effective in that ball-carrying role on attack, and that momentum-stalling role on defence.
It was an important performance in a Springbok context. When two of the strongest teams in a conference clash, the national coach is always going to be watching. If you can make an impact in this contest, you can stake your claim for national selection. If you can make inroads into the best defence in the Super Rugby competition, if you can outmuscle the most physical team in South Africa, you can make a massive statement.
What will help Alberts’ cause is that there aren’t many blindside flankers available at present, at least not the type of No 7s that Meyer is looking for. Juan Smith, Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen are all sidelined with injuries while Danie Rossouw has also told Meyer he is not available.
Who else but Alberts fits the job description, at least in terms of what Meyer values in a blindside? He ticks the boxes of experience and size, as the latter lends itself to the dual role of ball-carrying and defending, not to mention providing an extra option in the lineout.
And as he showed this past Saturday, he is coming back into form. He will have one more opportunity to gather momentum before the England series as the Sharks play the Lions this Saturday. While this will be useful for a man coming back from injury, he’s already shown what he is capable of against the Stormers. That performance against the Stormers showed how he could be an important figure for the Boks in that England series.
The Boks are favourites to win that series and some South African pundits have been as bold as to predict a 3-0 result in favour of the hosts. To realise that goal, however, they will need to outplay England at the set pieces, breakdowns and collisions.
Some may be taking the English lightly, and for good reason. They are in a period of rebuilding and will be touring South Africa without several key forwards.
But Meyer has never been a coach to underestimate his opponents, and will pick his strongest available side for the coming series. He will select players that best fit his game plan, which is one of the primary reasons Fourie du Preez will start at scrumhalf and lead the team.
It is also for this reason that Alberts, in the absence of heavy hitters like Smith, Burger and Vermeulen, should be entrusted with the No 7 responsibilities.

384 Comments
28 May 2012, 05:58 am
This is more a relief than anything else for HM and Bok supporters… whilst the likes of Elstadt, Coetzee and a few others have had some strongish showings… nobody has yet shown that they’re a good replacement for Juan Smith at test level…
28 May 2012, 06:09 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-1: Agreed – Alberts to the rescue, for now.
I find the infatuation that a load of fans have with Elstadt quite puzzling; either I’ve missed his better performances this season, or it doesn’t take much to win over the masses these days.
For me he is a liability from a discipline point of view, and rather average.
28 May 2012, 06:28 am
dear stormers supporters
this is not a bad dream.
s hit got real on saturday
boom
28 May 2012, 06:40 am
Dear Heineke, I will sit this one out and work on my recovery. Feel free to given Willem a chance. Dear Juan, you are still sorely missed – both in white and green. Cheers, Scar
28 May 2012, 06:45 am
As a Spies fan, my hopes of him ever getting back to his best are dying with each game. So why not give Willem the Number 8 jersey. There is enough talent in SA to find a worthy 7
28 May 2012, 06:50 am
Thanks for the concern Fern, but one glance at the ladder gave me all the reality check I needed.
28 May 2012, 06:52 am
Alberts, fit and in form, is the man for the moment. Sustaining this seems to be his big problem.
28 May 2012, 07:00 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3: The fact that the Stormers still got a bonus point playing with their C team tells you a thing or two Mr Fern.
As for the Bok training squad Im pretty shocked to seem names like Vermaak, Meisiekind, Elton etc are included but the players of the future who have put the Stormers where they are today are not included? wtf? Kolisi, Kishof in particular.
28 May 2012, 07:06 am
@RedMan(RedMan)-2:
He’s a strong lad… but that’s it really… not good in the LO, slow, his tackle stats suggest he’s behind the rest of the pack in work-rate… so I agree…
28 May 2012, 07:10 am
If Heyneke Meyer really does rate Duane Vermeulen the thought of a loose trio with him, Alberts and Burger is terrifying. Can’t say its balanced, but who cares with the hits those guys would put in. Fingers crossed for 4N
Unfortunately I doubt Spies will ever be dropped.
28 May 2012, 07:16 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3:

chop.
28 May 2012, 07:19 am
JC – your rugby knowledge is pathetic.
Not only do you start this article so that the initial impression is that Meyer made some sort of statement, but you then speak of Alberts “manhandling” his opposition?
Are you conveniently overlooking the fact that the “opposition” was missing Burger, Kolisi and Vermeulen?
If you cannot shine with those odds, then you do not belong on a rugby field.
Fortunately our national coach is not as daft as you.
28 May 2012, 07:20 am
horses for course i suppose.
but as stated, its just one big showing.
28 May 2012, 07:20 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3:
Dear Fern
We played badly and deserved to lose. We have put it past us mate and focusing on the next one. Best the Sharks do the same!
28 May 2012, 07:21 am
@Hofter Son(pattyfries)-5:
I have to agree!
28 May 2012, 07:47 am
14 @ Bill Reyts
The Sharks win on Saturday was the equivalent of them winning a cup. Let them bask. The reality of playing for a wildcard position will soon whack them!
28 May 2012, 07:51 am
it is all about momentum and depth now
sharks on the up,stormers on the down
28 May 2012, 07:54 am
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-16:
When you haven’t had much to cheer about anything is great! Give them their week of glory mate…
I will be off to Loftus on Saturday so I’m hoping the boys can pick themselves up from a dismal performance. Even though they played so badly the scoreline was tight, but flattering…
28 May 2012, 07:57 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-17:
Well done Fernly! Your team has the Lions and then the bye! Easy I say. Then the Bulls – home not a problem for the Sharks I say…
On the other hand we have the mightly Bulls, Lions, Cheetahs and Rebels. Tough to say the least…
28 May 2012, 07:57 am
them chassisbender scrums
been calling them the whole week
28 May 2012, 08:01 am
stormers without kitshoff.
i just dont see it happening.
bulls back to the top.
28 May 2012, 08:04 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-21:
Will I see you at Loftus on Saturday? Getting crowded at the top of the log hey! Fortunately the Bulls frontrow is something that doesn’t puts fear in any team lately…
28 May 2012, 08:04 am
chiefs def to drop against crusaders and maybe even the hurricanes after that.
28 May 2012, 08:05 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-23:
So Stormers could still top the log. That would be great
28 May 2012, 08:07 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-23:
drop points against crusaders.
28 May 2012, 08:12 am
The Stormers bubble is bursting. Remember a couple of people on this forum calling this scenario come crunch time.
Sort of like golf. No use going bif off the tee and you cannot nail the short putt.
28 May 2012, 08:14 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-26:
Yeah we called the Bulls bubble bursting too. Two loses in a row says it all. True Kwagga!
28 May 2012, 08:16 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-27:
The Bulls didn’t have a bubble to burst.
As you were Omar.
28 May 2012, 08:16 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-22:
no sorry bill, wont be going.
to tell you the truth i’ve gotten to a point where i can only enjoy the big rugby games when i’m in front of a tv and completely ‘zoned out’ from everyone around me.
i even sort of ignore male friends and just muffle things to them when asked something, most of the time the talk is not even about the game and is just ridiculous distractions. women folk i dont even acknowledge.
instead i’ve learnt to enjoy live matches only when there’s a nothing game on because then i just enjoy the spectacle and focus on getting drunk as much anything else.
i approach bok tests in the same way, if they’re playing the big guns i watch it rather but would go to see a dead rubber or smaller opposition live.
enjoy the game though, its gonna be a full house.
28 May 2012, 08:17 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-22:
same fot the locks ar present.
they’re missing those few inches at the moment.
28 May 2012, 08:17 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-27: Being a Bulls supporter I am feeling quite satisfied with the performance thusfar considering the season as a whole. We expected a hell of alot worse but the young guns are stepping up to the plate.
28 May 2012, 08:19 am
Are the Strompies light 5 back ?
Sharkies hammered them in Scrums Line outs and loose,
How about the 3m forward pass ?
8 Spies
7 Alberts
6 Marcell
28 May 2012, 08:20 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-27: 11 points taken from their overseas leg. Most teams will take that with a smile. Hardly a burst bubble.
28 May 2012, 08:20 am
where is snoekskiet
28 May 2012, 08:21 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-24:
honestly, i dont see it happening.
but they will go down fighting, no doubt.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-26:
true, true.
one or two more key injuries again
and if they dont get any key players back
then its over if you ask me.
28 May 2012, 08:22 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-31:
Same here mate! Feeling quite comfortable. You are expected to win your home games and hope for away wins. We have lost two away – but I’m quite sure we will pull off the rest…
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-27: Billy, they were on tour they lost to the number 1 team at home , no big deal.
The Lost to the Blues at Loftus that was not acceptable
@capebull(capebull)-32: If the Bulls forwards hit their straps on Saturday, it will be more of the same for the lentebriessies.
Looking forward to a big one. Got a couple of mates flying up from CT on Friday. Got the feeling Liquor City might just make their budget this weekend
28 May 2012, 08:23 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-34:
Let sleeping toothless dribbling old dogs lie…
@Olivergm(Olivergm)-8: theircteam?
BWWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
so because the stormers were missing vermeulen joe p and kolisi it was a c team?
nice.
the other 12 players must be loving comments like yours haha, what a fan you are!
Off to meeting. Chat later…
28 May 2012, 08:24 am
Stormers were missing Vermeulen big time on Saturday. Fourie selection at fetcher failed. Bekker looks overplayed
28 May 2012, 08:24 am
bryce
syphilis is causing his rants
28 May 2012, 08:25 am
@capebull(capebull)-37: Just afraid that loss will come back to bite is in the ‘rusty sherrif’s badge’ later on.
28 May 2012, 08:26 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-40: Well done on you team bud. Showed some serious intent on saturday. Lovely to watch.
28 May 2012, 08:27 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-41: Cheers Bill
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-38: Easy game , make sure to get in front, Strompies then have to play , they don’t have a clue how to score tries.
The Sharks are like one of those cheap Chinese firecrackers. Takes a helluva long time to light the thing……then when it’s lit, there is a moment of absolute brilliance when the thing sparkles and flashes, then just when you are expecting is to erupt into a million coloured sparks, it fizzles out. But for Sharkette fans, it is this brief moment of ‘sparkling brilliance’ that they live for. Season in – season out………mediocrity remains king. Plumtree is now being heralded again, as is Daniel (both who I believe have been walloped by Sharkettes all season). Come August, the calls for Plumtree to be axed will be stronger than the Sharkette’s arrogance. Disagree? If the Sharks (pre-season SAFFA conference faves) were as good as they claim to be, they wouldn’t be chasing the Saffa conference, just like last year and the year before that. You chaps need a dose of reality – as by some Sharkettes reckoning, the Sharks will be getting a bonus point for their bye week.
28 May 2012, 08:28 am
i must say, on the whole the stormers fans have been pretty good losers.
but some just cant seem to accept that the stormers were smashed upfront?
brok, etzebeth, bekker and the gingerbreadman (kitskop) all subbed after being handed a proper pakslae.
the stormers were manhandled, no doubt.
but to be fair to them, not many teams are capable of doing this to their pack.
28 May 2012, 08:29 am
@capebull(capebull)-37: Blues loss will be coming to getya……….
28 May 2012, 08:29 am
@capebull(capebull)-47: It seems they seem to bank on Aplon doing something special otherwise fakol going on at the back.
28 May 2012, 08:30 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-39:
amazing how much old cunteye had to say for himself when, despite his confident assertions to the contrary for the entire week, his team were fisted like a horny cokeslut.
@davidv(davidv)-12: Last week you were boosting about the Strompie depth , now its injuries…
The loss is 3 games comming,
kitskop got beaten like a ginger stepchild
28 May 2012, 08:31 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-45: cheers man kwagga, thoroughly enjoyed it.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-48: this is such a silly comment man, cmon, get over the hurt and carry on.
wallowing in your pain is just so undignified
p.s. the stormers have just lit up the sky and been the real deal have they?
wow! the trophy cabinet must be overflowing hahahahahahaha.
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3: You bro, look at it this way.
When the sharks had injuries to key players they lost 5 of their 13 games, when the stormers lost key players (since match one) they have lost only 2 of their 12 games. So whith that in mind, wait till the big stormers boys come back and then we’ll talk.
Watch the Stormers pick up the pace come the last leg of the tournament.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-51: Bok centres with Bok locks, yet they can not score tries and they lose their line outs. Are they really Bokke ?
28 May 2012, 08:32 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-49:
i think they were hiding injuries and carrying niggles for a while now.
going into must win derbies in such condition is suicidal as far as i’m concerned.
backdoorboy
your side is on the down
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-56: are you hoping or stating facts
28 May 2012, 08:33 am
JC I also did not see that the Stormers was manhandled. I have in fact not seen yet this year that Bismarck and Alberts was so often tackled back (mainly by Elstadt , Etzebeth and Bekker)
The Sharks was much better in the scrums and Stormers needs to give Tiaan a bit more line throwing lessons as he starts to be a liability for them.
I though Michalak was brilliant, especially in first 40 minutes!
28 May 2012, 08:34 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-55:
just tennis
@capebull(capebull)-57: Well I ask the same of Meisie, Spies and Zane…….
@capebull(capebull)-53: I did not post at all last week – you are very confused
28 May 2012, 08:35 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-54: So you boasting about an all bok front row beating a 20 year old junior bok, I think no one really believed Kitsoff would be able to do much with Busmarck on Jannies inside and brok
struggling against Beast.
28 May 2012, 08:36 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-59: We’ll see, maybe Habana will make you cry again in the playoffs.
28 May 2012, 08:37 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: agreed.
now stormers fans, take a moment to ponder my question before you all rush to answer please:
are you really happy with your sides attack? surely a lucky intercept and a forward pass, whilst brilliantly finished by gio, must cause some disquiet going into the end of the comp? if you can only score via penalties and the penalties dry up, you are farked (see: sharks vs stormers at the tank for reference).
28 May 2012, 08:37 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-55: How can my comment be silly when it is the truth? Previous seasons’ results don’t lie. Pray tell me about the Sharks Superugby pedigree post 2007? Made in China fireworks mate…….
28 May 2012, 08:39 am
the stormers cannot construct tries
simple
28 May 2012, 08:40 am
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-66: With Habafaknut’s Oscar performances on the field these days, he might be the one bursting out in tears.
28 May 2012, 08:41 am
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-65: struggling?
he had his brok pushed up his harris and was subbed.
gingerbreadboy wasnt doing any high fiving with red face liebenberg either.
in fact, the smug look was wiped clean off the lads face.
backpeddaling 101, masterclass in session
ok, i am out. manhandled, that is the theme for the day ok?
28 May 2012, 08:41 am
So funny how the Sharkie fans get all excited about their victory against a Stormers side that has so many loosie injuries that they use their backup hooker as a #6. Let’s be honest, beating champion boxer that has his one arm tied behind his back does not make you a pro boxer.
Just how the Sharks are a much better team with Beast and Alberts back to best, the same applies to a Stormers side with Burger, Vermeulen and Kolisi in the mix.
28 May 2012, 08:42 am
hahaha kwagga
baie waar
28 May 2012, 08:44 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-68: ho ho ho silly boy, you must have turned 18 recently.
you see when superrugby was past your bedtimne the sharks were making finals and semis as far back as 1996.
you know it, we know it.
around the same time natal was handing out pakslae in the cc.
do some research and give me 10,000 words on the glorious team that is the sharks.
will mark your work later ok woof?
bye bye.
@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-72: The injuries lament is the mark of a beaten man. You look well beaten.
@rangerman(rangerman)-71: Honestly mate. If a Bok front row couldn’t exert pressure on a 20 year old, then it would have said more about them than about the kid now wouldn’t it?
28 May 2012, 08:45 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-73: Daai knaap irreteer die rook uit my uit. As iemand hom net n bietjie raakry rol hy n sokkerspeler rond. Lyk soos n Kudu wat n kak bladskoot gevat het.
28 May 2012, 08:47 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-74: I didn’t ask about 1996..I asked about post 2007. Tell me about 2008 to 2011 – please? Why can’t you answer me? -T-h-e-t-r-u-t-h-h-u-r-t-s.com…….
28 May 2012, 08:49 am
Time to go. Cheers all.
28 May 2012, 08:49 am
True, Albert’s had hismbestgame…but against what opposition? A stormers pack that is starting to come apart? No way hose.
He is still a flattrack bully in my opinion who only gives you 60 minutes.
That is not enough as an international blindsider in my opinion.
28 May 2012, 08:50 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-69: Aplon’s try? Even though it was a forward pass, a normal pass would of also resulted in a try. Well worked try from 1st phase.
28 May 2012, 08:52 am
possible permutations:
sharks:
vs – lions away 5pts
bye – 4pts
vs – bulls home 4pts / maybe 1pt
vs – cheetahs home 4pts /maybe 1pt
best case 45 + 17 = 62
worst case 45 + 11 = 56
bulls:
vs – stormer home 4pts
vs – cheetahs home 5pts
vs – sharks away 1pt / maybe 4pts
vs- lions home 5pts
best case 48 + 18 = 66
worst case 48 + 15 = 63
stormers:
vs – bulls away 0pts / maybe 1pt
vs – lions home 4pts / maybe 5pts
vs – cheetahs away 4pts /maybe 1pt
vs – rebels home 4pts
best case 50 + 14 = 64
worst case 50 + 9 = 59
so the bulls will top the sa conference log and the stormers look likely to get a playoff place, considering everything goes well for them wrt the other conferences.
the sharks are still in danger of not qualifying if results donr go for them in the other conferences.
28 May 2012, 08:53 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81:
what are you talking about?
“a normal pass would have resulted in a try”
dry your eyes son.
this is no place for that kind of talk.
save it for group therapy.
28 May 2012, 08:54 am
RAHHH!
Please man, Willem Alberts was not that good this weekend.I was more impressed by Marcel Coetzee.
28 May 2012, 08:56 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-80:
true.
28 May 2012, 08:57 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81: Agreed, it was a good move, Refreshing to see after so many minutes of the most mindless dumbass attacking tactics.
28 May 2012, 08:57 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81: And everyone knows that when you’ve lost 5 loose forwards to injury, and you have such fantastic crowd support and your franchise brand is so strong, then marginal forward passes of 2 to 3 meters should be overlooked. Everyone knows this. Can’t see what the fuss is about.
28 May 2012, 08:58 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-52:
Oh Ubu is the master of the old ‘if-they-had-shoulda-woulda-coulda’ game… he’s been practising this skill for years of failed predictions…
You think the self professed fountain of worldly knowledge could at least get a few mere rugby tips correct.
I wonder how many times Jake White has made him cut himself, beat his dog and vloek his workers over the years?
28 May 2012, 09:03 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-74:
Yer but in professional super rugby what have the Sharks actually won?
28 May 2012, 09:05 am
greentea how is that hot asian mammasita keeping?
28 May 2012, 09:06 am
Juandre Kruger,
this man needs a mention. Eversince 2008 I knew he was the real deal.
Deserves to be a Springbok more than Flip vd Merwe…also he controls his aggresinn superbly, tireless worker.
28 May 2012, 09:07 am
Shouldn’t you be watching reruns of the Jerry Springer show?
28 May 2012, 09:09 am
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-91:
true.
i think we have to be honest about flip.
it seems he has reached his ceiling.
28 May 2012, 09:10 am
somebody is grumpy
seems the milf has put them in the dogbox
28 May 2012, 09:10 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-83: The forward pass did not allow Aplon to get to the ball or did it? Sharks defence went to sleep for that one.@>^..^< katman(katman)-87:
28 May 2012, 09:11 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93:
bring back hilton lobberts.
28 May 2012, 09:13 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82: Lions and Rebels should be 5. Cheetahs 4 maybe 5. Bulls 4. For the Stormers that is.
28 May 2012, 09:15 am
Go the Buffel
28 May 2012, 09:18 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-96:
really..?…
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-97:
that is unlikey.
how many bonus point games have the stormers won, at home or anywhere, so far this season?
add to this you have depth injuries and i think its realistic to say you will get 4pt wins if all goes to plan.
28 May 2012, 09:18 am
Well done Sharks, seems you take great pleasure from it taking a look at the +1000 comments on the game’s thread
!
Stormers pack tried hard but Eben struggled to contain the fire of Bismarck, Beast and a pleasantly surprising side-stepping Alberts all on his own.
28 May 2012, 09:19 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-97: You reckon the Stormers will get 5 against the Cheetahs in Bloem?
28 May 2012, 09:20 am
Once you have overcome the Stormers pack you’re sure to win the game.
Our backs still have no fluency and these flashes of brilliance from the likes of Aplon and Joe (who didn’t play) just isn’t enough at the sharp end of the tournament.
28 May 2012, 09:21 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-95:
well if the pass hadn’t been forward it would have missed him neh?
because he timed his run wrong?
even the crusaders would have been ashamed of that one.
get over it now there’s a good lad.
28 May 2012, 09:23 am
And why is AC turning Eben into a mini Schalk Burger?
Every second ball we get from a ruck is heading to Eben even when he’s still halfway on the ground and the opposition can read it from a mile away.
28 May 2012, 09:25 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-95: Luckily this is one of those remarkably black and white issues: Was it a try or was it not a try?
Should we be praising a penalty attempt from well within the kicker’s own half that almost snuck inside the upright?
Should we glorify a great move in which the ball was almost grounded?
How many points do you get for a teeny-weeny knock-on over the line?
28 May 2012, 09:25 am
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-101:
actually, the more i think about it the more it seems a likely possibility.
if the cheetahs go for for free running it could be a try fest for both teams (which does happen with cheetahs games a lot).
or it will be reduced to a knock down drag it out low try scoring affair by the stormers.
question is whether the stormers will win it considering thier injury problems.
28 May 2012, 09:29 am
That Alister “kneelingfavours” Hargreaves is a Bok and Juandre Kruger aint is another oddly South African moment. Kruger is big, powerful, mobile, aggressive and a better lineout operator than Alberts. Alberts not a starter
28 May 2012, 09:30 am
My Bok 15 for England.
15: Lambie (it’s a shame he’s not a yard quicker but he reads the game brilliantly!)
14: JP
13: JDJ
12: Frans
11: Aplon (he has to play!!)
10: Morne (I would only play him because we need Lambie at 15)
9: FH
8: Alberts (but he needs to maintain his form)
7: Coetzee (give him a shot against the Poms before we starting thinking about 4N)
6: Brussow
5: Bekker (no contest)
4: Etzebeth
3: Jannie (but I am open to other options here)
2: Bismark
1: Beast
Options: Hougie could also move to 14, with JP playing 13.
JDV and Joe Pieterson could play off the bench. Hougie to 9 if FDP get’s injured.
28 May 2012, 09:32 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-108:
I’m relived that Donkey de Villiers is not there.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-107:
I agree. AH never made the step up from u21. I was very suprised when he made the Bok squad a while back.
…relieved..
28 May 2012, 09:33 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-109:
Lol, yeah, I think is time is up. He would make my bench though.
28 May 2012, 09:33 am
Hougaard is not a proper scrummie. Too slow and predictable in that position.
28 May 2012, 09:34 am
Thank G0d for the 3 week test break.
We should have Kolisi, Burger, Duanne & Koster back when Super Rugby resumes which will ease the pressure on our underperforming backline.
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-101: Yes. Did you see how easily the Waratahs ran through the Cheetahs? Dont underestimate the Stormers. They will be much stronger after the June break.
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-112:
On the bench for the England games but not against the Kiwis and Aussies. Maybe against Argentina.
28 May 2012, 09:35 am
after all is said and done the sharks fams are just more classierthan the sormers fans.
fact
28 May 2012, 09:36 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-114:
Burger should be a welcome addition to the Stormers. Still has a lot to offer the team.
28 May 2012, 09:37 am
no brainer. form is temporary class is permanent and alberts return to form is welcome. a shoo in for the 7 jersey for sure!
28 May 2012, 09:37 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-105: True I agree with you. I was responding to someone who said the Stormers cant create anything and Aplon’s “try” was a perfect example of the Stormers backline creating something even though the pass was miles forward. The Stormers will still finish top of the log.
28 May 2012, 09:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-105:
I’m with you. A few guys over the weekend told me ‘Aplon did so well the try was deserved’. It’s a comment that makes no sense. Aplon never timed his run.
28 May 2012, 09:40 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-115: Depends how the Stormers play. If they actually try and use the outside backs, yes
28 May 2012, 09:42 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-103: Yes you are probably right but the fact stands that the Stormers still created something with their backline, contrary to popular believe on here. I was dissapointed on Saturday night but the Sharks were just a better team and you could see the Stormers were fatigued. Those rolling mauls also inspired confidence. A nice three week break for most of the Stormers pack and the return of Burger, Koster and Vermeulen will see the Stormers take the comp by the scruff of the neck and win 3 from 3.
28 May 2012, 09:44 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-108:
Rugby is a 22man 85min game…
28 May 2012, 09:45 am
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-122: I think they will. I think this game against the Sharks was a big wake up call for them. If their pack fails they need a plan B. This is only the 2nd time this season that their pack let them down. @CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-121: Yes you are right he timed his run wrong forcing JDV to toss it a bit forward. That being said it was encouraging to see them do that. I think everyone is writing off the Stormers to soon.
28 May 2012, 09:49 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-121: But you’re losing sight of the fact that these are Exceptional Circumstances for the Stormers. Their injury list presents a crisis the likes of which the Cape has not seen since Nivea changed it’s Men’s range packaging. In light of this, it would be heartless and cruel not to grant them the odd try off a forward pass, or to bend the rules on player eligibility for the play-offs. What is it about Exceptional Circumstances that people just don’t get?
28 May 2012, 09:55 am
was good to see alberts fully functional and operating at his belligerent best…
good for him, the sharks and great for the boks…!
28 May 2012, 09:57 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-124:
very good point…
something it seems all the saffa teams have yet to learn…
28 May 2012, 09:58 am
@ufo(ufo)-127: Bad for the Stormers. He was excellent.
Bok backrow trio will be
6. Brussouw
7. Alberts
8. Spies
19. Coetzee?
28 May 2012, 09:59 am
@ufo(ufo)-127:
i’m a little uneasy wrt alberts though.
he’s more than capable bashing at every team other than nz, oz.
and thats the problem.
28 May 2012, 10:05 am
WP Stormers bok @ 100.
At last.Some objectivity.Tx.
Trouens,.I wonder what happened to the Bosman=JdeV personal
turnstile theory.
28 May 2012, 10:06 am
My man of the match on Saturday was Keegan Daniel,he lead from the front and it is his instinct for the gap that puts the Sharks on the front foot.
I have had doubts about him before ,but when Alberts and Coetzee are firing it leaves him free to play his own game and he was massive against the much vaunted best defence in the world.
He will never get a look in in Meyer’s team because he is English and plays for the Sharks,kind of reminds me of the Tommy Bedford saga,but hey this is the country we choose to live in
28 May 2012, 10:12 am
1. Beast, 2. Bismarck. 3. Jannie, 4. Etsebet, 5. Kruger, 6. Brussouw, 7. Coetzee, 8. Alberts, 9. Pienaar, 10. Steyn, 11. Mvovu, 12. F. Steyn, 13. Hougaard, 14. JPP, 15. Lambie
Brussouw purely on reputation, Morne in place of Goosen.
If hougaard can play scrumhalf and wing, centre won’t be a problem.
Matfield, Du Preez, Rossouw too old, Spies too kark. Bekker clearly injured.
Wille le Roux and that fullback from Lions in the squad.
Bench:
Cilliers, Strauss, Bekker, Daniel, Eberson, Joe P, Aplon
28 May 2012, 10:14 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130:
evidence…?
to be fair he’s been recovering from a long-term injury… if he plays like he did on saturday… and there’s no reason to believe he can’t do so… he’ll give the ABs and Aus their money’s worth… imo…
should get a good warm-up against the poms…
28 May 2012, 10:17 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82: eish boet dont act doff now, ur better then that,
The Sharks recently thumped the Cheetahs and got a bonus point in Bloem , why wouldnt thet do it in Durban??
the Sharks have 45 and can still get a possible 19?? how does that equate to AT BEST 62?? maths not your strong point huh?? 45+19= 64
28 May 2012, 10:17 am
The Stormers have looked pretty shakey the last three weeks, two scratchy wins against also ran sides, Cheetahs and Warratahs, then basically a never look like winning game against a on the rise Sharks side.
Is the rot setting in for Stormers? They certainly are jaded and their gameplan of granite defence is slowly being chipped away.This weekends game against the Bulls may see that wall like D come crumbling down around them. Time for a contingency plan I think, coaches need to earn their salaries for this game.
28 May 2012, 10:20 am
@ufo(ufo)-134: GM mate,
i Got old Jeremy Fredericks here having Breakfast at the mo, he not happy with province right now lol
28 May 2012, 10:22 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-126:
katman classical
28 May 2012, 10:22 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117: You say fact as though you mean it? Here is my fact for the day: Lang-Oor Lambie is too slow to ever be a legendary 15. So where next do we ‘find’ a position for him because he ‘has’ to be on the field.
28 May 2012, 10:24 am
Bekker is definately carrying a back injury and should never have played on Saturday,I was watching him in the warm up and he was already moaning and holding his back.
Alistar Coetzee is a **** for playing him because that back injury could finish him.
He has the potential to be the best lock ever,and he is being sacrificed,for another man’s ego.
Stormer’s team management is abysmal,they have had an extra rest day than the Sharks a much easier tour and a the best draw in the competition,yet they are tired and depleted.
Look at how Plumtree nursed Albert’s back into the side,that is team management.
28 May 2012, 10:25 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-140: mal ogie, maybe Bekker just aint in good form, yes he is a good lock , but all players go the form dips
28 May 2012, 10:27 am
kaplan to ref bulls/stormers…??
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-137:
hey bud…
yeah… many stormers fans not happy this morning…
i’m not unhappy with the players though… they played badly for sure… but ac needs to start coaching ‘clever’…
28 May 2012, 10:28 am
@coma(coma)-133: lions fullback? the one pocock flung around like a ragdoll?
the guy is a carthorse, couldn’t get away from chasers with about a metre headstart. don’t know what everyone sees in this kid, he is nowhere.
28 May 2012, 10:28 am
Firstly, congrats to the Sharks on a great game. They deserved to wein that one. I think the stormers were lucky to get a bonuspoint out of it. Hopefully they are not under any illusions that the game was close and that it serves as a wake up call.
My take on the Game:
The way Lambie could catch Gio Aplon after Apples clearly not even going to 4th gear is a concern for lambie as a 15.
The stormers forwards looked tired and not interested in this game. Kitshoff has played every single game this year! AC need to start thinking of using resources better.
The canandian did not help our cause at all.. he knocks from kick offs and is useless behind a scrum… had a big impact on the rest of the packs performance.
Fleck need to be Fired!! No spark in a bok laden backline, and FFS Fleck coach the backline players to catch ball being kicked by both teams…. everytime a ball is kicked it is regathered by the other side.. almost always the stormers players stand and wait for someone else to gather and then just tackle…
28 May 2012, 10:30 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-119:
I can think of many adjectives to describe Alberts, but class isn’t one that comes to mind.
@Transformation(Transformation)-143: I take it you are in agreement with the rest then?
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-129:
will be interesting to see who HM picks for the loosies…
alberts has certainly put his hand up though… so i expect him to be there… who will join him…? that’s a tough one… but reckon spies and coetzee or brussow as you say…
hopefully spies at the bok training camp this week can shed some light…
28 May 2012, 10:31 am
No he is injured,he hardly jumped and never pushed in the scrums thats why Brok tasted the inside if his ring,and Paul Tito’s red headed ******* ate mouth fulls of Kings park.
I am a huge Bekker fan,that guy could win us the next world cup,but not if he is being played injured.
He should miss the rest of the Super 15 and the Lions tests.
28 May 2012, 10:32 am
should be lambie could NOT catch aplon…
28 May 2012, 10:35 am
the stormers are n turno reverse
28 May 2012, 10:35 am
in turbo reverse
28 May 2012, 10:36 am
@Provvas(Provvas)-149: who would have caught aplon in that position?
28 May 2012, 10:38 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-143: I saw another carthorse on the field Saturday.
28 May 2012, 10:38 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-151: Turbo reversing, yet still on top of you. Is there a term for that?
28 May 2012, 10:43 am
has alberts stopped missing tackles now?
28 May 2012, 10:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-75: Last I saw were number 2 on the log, while the katte are number 15, so I think you are more beaten then me boet, also we lost 2/12 games, we have won the most games (along with the Chiefs) so why would I be beaten by losing one game against a full strength Sharks outfit in Durban while my team has 4-5 injuries to top line players.
At least I know that my team will be playing super rugby next year.
P.S. People in glass houses…
28 May 2012, 10:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-155:
made 11 tackles missed none…
not too shabby…
28 May 2012, 10:47 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-124:
I agree. But your starting 15 is more important than your bench (that’s why they start). Just ask the Boks in 2011. If the RIGHT players had started, that WC could have been pretty different.
However, my bench would be: JDV,Joe Pieterson,AS,Kruger,Ginger,Spies,Stander.
28 May 2012, 10:48 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117: Mhhmmm, yup, sure, whatever you say.
28 May 2012, 10:50 am
Lambie is without a doubt more suited to 10 than 15 (physically).
But his tactical awareness makes up for lack of all out pace when he play’s 15.
28 May 2012, 10:51 am
@Provvas(Provvas)-144: Clearly you only look with one eye, and that eye is half blind, nowhere am i saying Lambie is as fast as Aplon, there isnt one person i think with that gap that would have caught Aplon, Go relook at where Lamb ie starts from and where Aplon is?? dont be silly dude try looking at something fairly
Your team although outplayed in every phacet of play still showed huge heart and fighting spirit, give credit where it’s due
28 May 2012, 10:55 am
Maybe the future is Lambie at 10, and Goosen at 15.
i’m a big lambie fan… said way back that morne would be my short term no 10 and lambie and goosen would be my long term options…
but i believe it will be a travesty if joe pietersen does not start at no 15 for the boks… he has been by far our best fullback all season… is safe under the highball, is intelligent, decisive and can counter-attack with devastating effect… and has an awesome boot to keep us in their half…
heyneke said he would reward form… if he does not select joe i will be very disappointed in heyneke… won’t throw my toys of course… heyneke still has my full backing… but will be disappointed for sure…
James Haskell wont have a problem stopping Willem Alberts in his tracks. Its been noticeable how since he got suspended the Highlanders have lost their way a bit.
28 May 2012, 10:56 am
@ufo(ufo)-157: not bad. he’ll have to be consistent from here onwards, seeing him up there at the top of the ‘missed tackles’ column isn’t great.
28 May 2012, 10:56 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-160: He is not as slow as some are trying to make out though,
28 May 2012, 10:57 am
@ufo(ufo)-134:
if your point is he hasn’t played against them enough times to make such a statement then yes, agreed.
i think he’s only faced nz, oz once each with a 2nd string nz in pe = win
and he played in the 1/4 final loss to oz.
but my point is i feel he’s too one dimensional for oz, nz but will subdue any other test nation we face. i hope he proves me wrong if selected.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-135:
ummmmm…..ok..?…
maths not your strong point..?..
where the fark do you think you’ll pick up the extra point..?.
against the bulls?
*larf*
i’ll give you the extra point against the cheetahs but this still leaves you with
sharks:
vs – lions away 5pts
bye – 4pts
vs – bulls home 4pts / maybe 1pt
vs – cheetahs home 5pts /maybe 1pt
best case 45 + 18 = 63
worst case 45 + 11 = 56
28 May 2012, 10:58 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-165:
of course transformer man…
but everything in context… and you’re well aware he’s been recovering from a shoulder injury…
but yes i agree… he must produce consistently… as should the other 21 players privileged enough to be selected…
28 May 2012, 10:59 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-167:
that was my point…
and yes… i hope he does prove you wrong…
28 May 2012, 10:59 am
Fark, Life is Beautiful this week so far…
Just remember Johnny-Come-Lately to Super Rugby, Christmas Tree Breezers… Sharks have always been the better team in the Southern Hemisphere’s premier comp right back when since its embryonic start in the 90′s.
And since yesterday that universal Super Rugby truth continues…
Player for Player
Team for Team
Supporter for Supporter
Super History for Super History
Cheerleader for Cheerleader…
The Black and White Shark Dynamite are the undoubtedly the better team no matter which way you look at it….
The Truth Will Set you Free…
Free yourselves…
28 May 2012, 11:00 am
@ufo(ufo)-163:
I hate to say it, but I’m with you on this one. Lambie and Goosen are out 10′s for 2015 (and maybe only Lambie if Goosen can’t stay in injury free).
I’ve never been a huge fan of Joe, but this season he looks very sharp. He would def’s be in my 22. How old is he?
28 May 2012, 11:04 am
@ufo(ufo)-163: i could live wiht a 10 lambie, 15 Joe
Joe runs into spaces well too, but i dont think he will be given a chance
28 May 2012, 11:04 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-160: Lambie is nothing special at 15.
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-162: Future is Goosen at 10 and Andries Coetzee at 15
28 May 2012, 11:06 am
Frans Steyn still a very good option at 15 too.
Certainly better than Kirchner, Daniller, Joe P or Lambie.
28 May 2012, 11:07 am
There is no better Loose Forward Arsenal in the SA Conference… actually the whole damn SUper Rugger comp than at the Dynamite…
Alberts… Scud
Daniel… Guided Cruise Missile
Coetzee… Wrecking Ball
Kanko… Exocet
Deysel… Tomahawk
Botes… Stinger
Bring it on mofos…
RELENTLESS!!
28 May 2012, 11:07 am
@willievz(willievz)-173: Goosen seems a bit fragile for 10 at the moment
28 May 2012, 11:08 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-167: When you advocate best possible points, it means just that, it does not mean the way you want to see it
28 May 2012, 11:08 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-175:
HG GEE GAS
28 May 2012, 11:09 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-171:
sheesh… didn’t know agreeing with me as such a terrible thing…
yeah he has had a good season… and lambie will get his opportunities at 10… as will goosen if he stays fit…
joe’s 28… so maybe a short-term plan… but no reason he can’t make the next world cup…
IF he maintains this form…
28 May 2012, 11:10 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-172:
sadly bud, i have to agree with you… but will live in hope until he is not selected…
@willievz(willievz)-174: Rumour has is a certain fellow flies into Durbs tomorrow
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-164: um, hasCam was benching at the beginning of the season, i think the cheetahs game was his 3rd start of the comp, he was improving but not to the point of “stopping” alberts.
28 May 2012, 11:11 am
@ufo(ufo)-163: Spot on. Lambie is either a 10 or a 15. He is not both. He is also NOT the best in either position in the country at the moment. However gifted he is – Meyer should not be pulling a Graham Henry 2007 and ‘making’ a place for Lambie just because he ‘reads the game’ well. He has deficiencies in 10play and 15 play, and the ‘gift’ he has will not hide these deficiencies. The Sharks either play him at 10 or 15 throughout and work on his weaknesses in the selected position = OR watch his light fade as the years march on (and that would be tragic)
28 May 2012, 11:11 am
@willievz(willievz)-173:
Hey make no mistake, I also think Lambie is 10 (and prob’s the best we have until Goosen’s return).
Big call on Andries Coetzee. He certainly looks promising, but it’s way to to early to label him a future bok.
28 May 2012, 11:12 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-181: Who, Fransie?
28 May 2012, 11:12 am
@ufo(ufo)-180:
may be i am biased but i think gio aplon is a better 15 than joe p.
problem is, you cannot play both in the back three – poms would kick on them all day.
28 May 2012, 11:14 am
@willievz(willievz)-173: nee man, daai andries coetzee is nowhere currently…really needs to shape up…hype around him is unjustified…
28 May 2012, 11:14 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-183:
I certainly think he is the best 10 in SA (Goosen will be our number 1, but he needs to sort out his shoulder, and properly this time).
What do you site as Lambie’s major weaknesses at 10?
28 May 2012, 11:15 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-184: I’ve seen enough of him. He look exceptional. Rather give me a guy who performs exceptionally in one season and play him in that season, than pick a guy who has been around for 5 years but has been average or mediocre for those 5 years.
@charo(charo)-186: I won’t pick Aplon at 15, he doesn’t get distance with his kicks.
28 May 2012, 11:15 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-183:
agree… he has been messed around in terms of which positions he’s been selected to play… have been saying for a long time that sharks should play him at 10 and let him settle there…
i believe he has the character and determination to work on his weaknesses and still be good enough to be the bok 10… rotating with goosen…
it would indeed be tragic if he is allowed to fade into (relative) obscurity…
28 May 2012, 11:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-187: Well he doesn’t exactly play for the most structured outfit in the world at the moment, now does he?
28 May 2012, 11:17 am
I’m not worried about the switch when he plays for the Boks. From experience, I found it pretty easy to play fullback after playing flyhalf.
So in terms of his career, I don’t think playing 10 for the Sharks and 15 for the Boks will be a problem.
It’s the other way around that cause problems.
28 May 2012, 11:19 am
@willievz(willievz)-189:
He’s been good (Andries Coetzee), but hardly exceptional. But ja, let’s wait and see.
Regarding Aplon; the guys gets 45-55m on most of his kicks. It’s Peter Grant who can’t get more than 40.
28 May 2012, 11:20 am
@willievz(willievz)-185: yip
28 May 2012, 11:21 am
Lambie is the best all round FH, attribute for attribute in the whole of SA…
Gainline play – Grant probably comes closest
Distribution – Steyn and Jantjies probably comeclosest
Defence – No 10 comes close
Speed – Second only to Goosen and level with Jantjies
Line Breaks – Level with Goosen and Jantjies
Territorial and Bomb kicking – Second to Steyn
Drop kicking – Can improve
Kicking for Poles – Second only to Steyn and level with Goosen… (Bullshit all you like about Grant’s credentials, the guy rarely kicks beyond 25m)
BTW… In all attributes relevant to FB he is superior to every other FB in the country other than speed behind Aplon…
Is this clear to you dumbfck doubters…?
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-158:
All 22 need to be your best and the coach needs to use them correctly… the difference between the Bulls and Chiefs this weekend was exactly that…
22man 85min rugby…
Your team is also too white.
@charo(charo)-186:
why would you be biased bud…?
tough one for me… i’m a huge aplon fan… argued on keo that he would be good enough for international rugby when most here said he was simply too small… think he has more heart than just about any player in south africa… pound for pound if other players put in as much as he does boks would be unbeatable…
but he has been playing on the wing this season.. and joe has been the best 15 in south africa… this season… imo…
so i believe the coach should reward form… or should not say he will…
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-188: BAd question, it is purely because Lambie is a Shark
28 May 2012, 11:23 am
@ufo(ufo)-163:
Glad he has made the squad this year at least…
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-193: Aplon could not cut the mustart against Aus in Durban last year. He certainly is a threat from the back and a very courageous player, but not a test 15 in my book.
I will start him at wing though, no problem.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-183: Should play him 15. To slow with ball out of hand at 10. similar to Frans Steyn. Settle him in at the back and watch the kid shine even futher.
28 May 2012, 11:24 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-182: Alberts was good because the Sharks destroyed the Stormers at scrum time, so the team got great momentum and front foot ball. When England send the boks into turbo reverse, you’ll see how ineffectual he actually is. Players with brains as well as brawn will be required. Francoise Louw is the real answer for Meyer and the Boks, but he will be ignored.
28 May 2012, 11:24 am
Had a look at f
Frans Steyn at the weekend in the Top14 and was seriously not impressed with the dikgat.Rumour has it that he played a bit of rugby in France but practically lived in a boulangerie.Seriously,the oke can only kick a ball…far…..and nothing else.
28 May 2012, 11:25 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-196:
Good points. Can’t argue really.
On the white issue: My team has Beast, Aplon, JP, and JDJ. I hear that ’4′ is the magic number. And all 4 of those guys deserve their spot!
28 May 2012, 11:26 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-175:
Mmmm, they are above average, but nothing to write home about imo.
Remember that on Saturday they played as part of a team of which the tight forwards had the upper hand and against a team whose loose trio comprised of a hooker and 2 retreated locks.
I think even a loose trio of you and me on the flanks and Skopskiet as no 8 might nearly have looked like rugby players if we had to play for the sharks on Saturday under those circumstances.
28 May 2012, 11:26 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-199:
for sure… although it is still just a training squad…
would love him to make the actual test squad…
28 May 2012, 11:27 am
15. Kirchner 14.JP 13.Jean de V 12. Frans Steyn 11.Habana 10.Morne Steyn 9.Fourie duP (Capt) 8. Spies 7. Marcell Coetzee 6. Brussouw 5 Bekker 4. ALBERTS 3.Jannie Dup 2. Bissie 1. Beast 16. Hougaard 17.Lambie 18.Gio
19. Deysel 20. Etsebeth 21. Pat Cilliers 22. Chilliboy Thats it Sportsfans !!!
28 May 2012, 11:28 am
@willievz(willievz)-200: Yep, he would be my starting 11 for sure!
28 May 2012, 11:29 am
Great centres come in pairs and I reckon Whitehead and Jordaan as a pairing are rapidly establishing themselves as a whole greater than the sum of their parts… I reckon after the business end of Super rugby is concluded, Whitehead and Jordaan could very well have established themselves as one of the best combos in this competition… The only combo I can see being slightly superior the way the Dynamite Duo are playing are the Chiefs midfield marauders Sunni Bill and Kahui…. But only slightly… For now.
28 May 2012, 11:29 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-188: If Lambie wants to play 10 for the Boks he will need to start ‘outbooting’ Morne in all facets of ‘kicking flyhalf’ play.(This is the way the Boks roll – sad but true. A kicking flyhalf is always going to be preferred – especially with Meyer at the helm) Lambie is far better than Morne in general play, distribution, defence, attacking and breaking the gain line, spatial awareness etc etc etc etc etc etc, but that will never get him a No 1 starting spot in this country. You see the way Goosen has already overtaken Lambie as the next Bok flyhalf in the eyes of many? Why? – mostly because of the BOOT….(although thankfully, Goosen has much more to him than just the boot)
28 May 2012, 11:30 am
WOW………the black South Easter must be blowing all kind of sour on the grapes in the western cape today
28 May 2012, 11:30 am
@Icebreaker(Icebreaker)-207:
Zane will never be a first choice Bok, he’s just not good enought.
Habana is miles behind Aplon on form (not to mention pace).
Alberts at 4 in place of Etsebeth??? Never.
Deysel??????????
28 May 2012, 11:31 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-209: Hell HG that is far fetched to say the least. Best in comp barring the Chiefs?……You shooting way to high my friend
28 May 2012, 11:32 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-201: Do you think he has the speed needed to be an international fullback? He is a young lad, and should be at his quickest now…he is only going to get slower. He would not let any Bok team down, but the LEGENDARY 15′s of the game all have one thing in common – blistering pace.
28 May 2012, 11:32 am
HG
did i not predict the chassisbender scrums?
28 May 2012, 11:33 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-210:
Lambie has a better kicking % than Morne, and still has many years to improve his general kicking game. Morne was a very average kicker when he was 20.
But yeah, I see your point about the Bok gameplan. Bottom line, if Goosen get’s and stays fit, we need not debate ever again
28 May 2012, 11:34 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-209: I will take my dose of STFU, if you take your dose of reality?
28 May 2012, 11:35 am
Goosen is the future of Bok rugby.He is way better than Lambie in all facets of flyhalf play.Lambie should be ok as an understudy to Goosen in years to come.
28 May 2012, 11:36 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-205: Horses for courses… If you dont have the Perd then you cant run the race no matter what excuse you bring to the table….
Elstadt has been portrayed by the hormonal Breezer Hype as Juan Smith times two… your “mastercoach” AC searched high and low for the Canadian 8 who he reckons is your Storming answer and your farken fcked up arrogance of playing Fourie at 6 is no fault of the Sharks and their clear superiority no matter which way you look at it…
The fact that your Breezers are dropping like flies after racing out the blocks while the Sharks are now hitting their stride indicates a distinct lack of ballas and misjudgement….
To think that your fckedup coaching team firstly even dared to put a hooker on against the best loosie arsenal on the planet, and bookies installed your overhyped team as favourites on Sat shows how much SA rugby supporters (generally not know for their insight past the last game) actually bought into the bullshit hype…
28 May 2012, 11:38 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-216: Goosen (sad to say) seems physically fragile. Hope I am wrong, because he really does have a massive bag of tricks, and could tick all the boxes. (Then again, I don’t see much changing from a Bok 10 perspective for the next 4 years – bar an injury to the flyhalf who never gets injured)
28 May 2012, 11:40 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-215: Yes you did Fernus… and it was a beautiful sight… However none of us predicted how farken strong THE Beast actually is…
Let Bresler Fly… pull him back over the shoulders and place him feet first, all the while getting hit by Breezer chasers…
WHO DA MAN?
THE BEAST… LEGEND IN HIS OWN TIME… A SHARK FOREVER!
28 May 2012, 11:41 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-217: Fuckrightoff hairdresser… Dont touch me…
Who the fark are you?
28 May 2012, 11:42 am
Lambie might be one of those unfortunate in-between players.He is good at ten but not the greatest(Goosen).He is good at 15 but due to his lack of pace he will never go down as a great 15 compared to legends like Blanco etc etc .
28 May 2012, 11:43 am
UFO.Hello pal.
Time for me to stop basking in reflected glory of my team,and to get on with life
in the real world.
Have a good week and good luck to your team.
Regards
@willievz(willievz)-191: we could say the same about taute but his class was never in doubt at 15 even for the “unstructured” lions, andries coetzee is nowhere near bok potential imo.
did you see how he was flung around by pocock? he showed no pace whatsoever when he was put ino space…
hg
only beast has the power to do that
stormers were flung around like rag dolls
Considering he played against the Stormers 5th & 6th choice flankers an a out of position hooker his performance was outstanding….he will be playing the Powderpuff Lions this weekand so I’m sure he’ll have another monster game!!!!
28 May 2012, 11:44 am
@ufo(ufo)-197:
i’m biased because i think aplon is the bravest little oke i’ve ever seen
My bok team for now.
Beast
Bissie
Jannie
Eben
Bekker
Brussouw
Spies
Du preez. [c] Hm’s choice
Steyn
Mvovo
Steyn
Whitehead
JP
Aplon
Strauss
Coenie
Wp nel
Juandre kruger
Marcel
Hougaard
Lambie
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219 Does a token win once every 12 months over the Bulls or Stormers REALLY mean that much to Sharks fans? Cos you lot sure as Sherlock have been satisfied with this for a while now? You don’t want MORE? Like a semi-final?
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-213: Did you see… “Could very well be”… But nevertheless they are at least on par at the moment with any combo in SA… And they improve every game they play together….
Its all about trajectory and theirs is very steep…
28 May 2012, 11:46 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-226: I reckon Etsebeth saw that and then decided from that moment on he is still a laaitie and got much to learn…. See how Jannie DuP schooled the Jinja Ninja?
28 May 2012, 11:47 am
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-223:
OK since we on the subject of lack of pace lets talk about Vermulen……I Bet Kobus Wiese (currently) has more pace then him
28 May 2012, 11:47 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-202: england send boks into “turbo reverse”, with what scrum?
last year, sharks scrum was nowhere – got decimated by saders – but alberts was a juggernaut, last time we played in europe no body could stand up to alberts – scored in 3 tries in 3 matches. haskell has done well and shown great skill & talent to match wits with sh loosies, but hey let’s not get ahead of ourselves.
28 May 2012, 11:48 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-230: Semi finals are coming soon the Sharks way the way they are playing and improving week by week…
Be in no doubt my little ignorant hairstylist…. Be in no doubt…
28 May 2012, 11:48 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-222: A more intelligent and enlightened version of you, that’s who.
28 May 2012, 11:49 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219:
You do have some point- playing Fourie as hooker was unbelievably dumb while I also agree that Elstadt is overrated as a FLANK- he just does not have the speed or even the ball skills. He might make it as an international no 4 lock in the Brad Thorne mould.
Re the misjudgement….. look, the stormers need a break, who knows what will happen after the England series- it is also possible that your team has peaked too soon- lots of rugby still needs to be played.
I reckon the Crusaders will eventually win this competition. They have through the years proved to be the masters of “peaking at the right time”.
28 May 2012, 11:50 am
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-223: forget Blanco, did you see Mils cut up the Poms gister…a thing of beauty.
28 May 2012, 11:51 am
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-224:
hey rye…
nothing wrong with enjoying an excellent win…
expect the sharks to have another this weekend too… good luck to them…
should be another tough day at the office for my team though… they’re gonna have to dig really deep to be in contention against the bulls…
@charo(charo)-228:
oh i see… good that we agree on that…!!
28 May 2012, 11:51 am
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-224: Lol… Dont be too nasty to the Foofighter… The soppy farker does tend to get a bit romantic about these things but generally is okay… (Other than the odd BeeGee eulogy or two… But he cant help it as a proper died-in-the-wool Stormer fan)
28 May 2012, 11:52 am
Who would you guys suggest at 13 for boks?No one really standing out.
28 May 2012, 11:53 am
@FFF(FFF)-233: Ideal for the Boks gameplan, just as Heyneke Meyer has said. He would have been the 1st loosie on Meyers team-sheet. All the Duane Vermeulen critics should only look at one thing before bashing the man: The Stormers WITH Duane, and The Stormers WITHOUT Duane. Such is his value. Fortunately those that are actually involved with Bok rugby DO see what you DON’T.
28 May 2012, 11:54 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-221: Seriously bud?If you really believe that **** that you have just typed i believe that you are even far gone in the mental stakes than what I suspected all of this time.I believe most people gave the Stormers chasers credit for tackling in what could have been a serious situation if they had.You need a serious dose of reality mate or psychological help.
28 May 2012, 11:54 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-236: Cant be possible… Now back to those crewcuts, and one two purple hair rinses…. You talking too much sh.yte in your breaks….
28 May 2012, 11:55 am
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-243: Not tackling
28 May 2012, 11:57 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-237: I dunno, I reckon Chiefs are the team to beat… But Sharks and Bulls aint too far off… Sharks now have lifted themselves a few levels above the last time they met…
28 May 2012, 11:57 am
bressler only weighs 112kg…
28 May 2012, 11:59 am
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-204:
I missed JDJ…
Lol… I thought the ‘number’ was 5 with 3 starting… ludicrous we’re even having this conversation…
Oh yeah I’d take Coenie and then Greyling before Kitschoff …
28 May 2012, 11:59 am
paul tito’s lovechild was owned by bissy
28 May 2012, 12:01 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-237: A team needs to peak twice in a Superugby season. Once is not enough. (Except that freakish Crusader team who went unbeaten the entire season). A few teams are in for a rude awakening across all conferences once the Test period is over. Certain franchises might be sitting with more than one problem – depending on what franchise the most Boks, Wallabies and AB’s are selected from. A team like the Brumbies might be ready to kick on a massive way, whilst a team like the Saders might have a few problems. The Bulls might be all Bokked out, and the Sharks or Stormers might have an injured Bok or 2 to deal with. Sharks players who are fringe Boks/bench Boks or not Boks will have a 4 week lay off including their bye week – good or bad? There are many pages left to be written………so I’m not sure why some people are heralding their teams title hopes just yet.
28 May 2012, 12:02 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-243: What…? Beast is not the man after what he did…? and lets be CLEAR… Not once… But TWICE!!!
If Kitshoff managed to do that with Aplon you would be pulling you Breezing little wire non stop in hormonal hype man…
Two words…
BEAST LEGEND…
PS… You can translate that in Bergietaal or whatever language you happen to speak as Fark Right Off if you even think otherwise…
28 May 2012, 12:02 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-238: I saw a bit of the game and have to say that Mills was absolutely brilliant.
28 May 2012, 12:03 pm
Hong Kong Slong @ 202.Francoise is a nice girls name.Think Hardie.
Drop the E please..
Do not have facility to do “Smilies”
Regards
28 May 2012, 12:03 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-244: Very possible. I am, what you COULD have been, had nature and nurture been kinder to you.
28 May 2012, 12:05 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-240:
you may have died-in-the-woolen-embrace-of-your-latest-sheep supporter…
but i remain a true dyed-in-the-wool wp supporter…
maybe one day when you grow up you too could be a true dyed-in-the-wool supporter…
28 May 2012, 12:06 pm
@charo(charo)-228:
Gio’s 2nd try was the 2nd best of the weekend. (Yes I know but WTF).
Best try goes to the Cheetahs Hooker, a 65 metre sideline dash by the short fat fccker.
28 May 2012, 12:10 pm
@ufo(ufo)-255: Lol… You might be a soppy died-in-the-wool Breezer… But a True Blue Breezer you are… No fairweather Breeze, thats for sure, and thats why I am absolutely certain a part of you dyed on Sat when the Dynamite blew Storming dreams apart
28 May 2012, 12:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-250:
Good post – Far too many variables to make calls with any real confidence.
28 May 2012, 12:12 pm
i must say these kiwis has lost some gees since poppa had another breakdown and have been mia
28 May 2012, 12:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-254: Yeah, I suppose life could have made me an autistic Hairdresser… That would have been limp wristedly easy… But it didn’t… It made me a Shark forever… Only one of the Best, my boy….
I know you find it difficult to accept, but accept it you will in time…
Now open up wide….
28 May 2012, 12:15 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-251 Point proven as per my previous post.I just pointed out to you the error of your way in saying that Beast got pounded by Stormers chasers while holding Bressler up like that and your response is to foam at the mouth like a crazed dog.I see that i am wasting my time with you.It’s like trying to convince a chimp that he is just a chimp and not a human being.
28 May 2012, 12:17 pm
Indeed poor UFO.
Somwthing touched him deep inside the day the breezers died.
28 May 2012, 12:17 pm
@cane(cane)-256:
I think the final try in the Chiefs/Bulls game set up by SBW was also a beauty.
28 May 2012, 12:19 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-261: Chap I have seen many, many Chimps who think they are yumanbeens…. I just looks at wot is in Newlands when the Breezers play there… You understand because I might actually be describing you… You know the type – those diehards in Saders or Canes jerseys, who spit at the Blizboks and boo the Boks…
:Breezerbumchumsmiley:
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-251:
Lol, it won’t be necessary for any Stormer to hold Aplon up like that. He can fly. Just ask Patrick L.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-219: Good god woman, does your hysteria know no bounds? You are an embarrassment to highly struck primadonnas everywhere.
28 May 2012, 12:20 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:
yip… a dyed-in-the-wool supporter doesn’t change his stripes…
was not pleasant to watch us get out-muscled and out-played… but was pleased that we stuck to it and played for the full 80… but again… no doubt which team deserved the win…
but not at all upset… said before the game i expected the sharks to win it… and wast just politicking… we had to lose again sooner or later… and the sharks were really pumped up… fired on all cylinders…
stormers do really need to dig deep this week and this weekend against the bulls who are going to be snorting and firing on all cylinders after 2 defeats… so another tough game ahead for us…
but the season still has a ways to go…
if we can hang on somehow till duane and schalk are back… gonna be a whole different ball game… stormers still have not fired on all cylinders… so if anyone believes we have peaked…? save a little humble pie in the freezer…
then things really will get interesting…
28 May 2012, 12:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-262:
that’s the last time i let you sit next to me…!!
and you didn’t even wear a rubber glove…!!
28 May 2012, 12:26 pm
Snaaks UFO.
@ufo(ufo)-267: BTW when is Duane expected back
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-262:
Oh, and there we were all in one place
A generation in Kings Park space
With no time left to start again
So come on Gio be nimble, Gio be quick
A Breezer sat on a candlestick
Cause fire is the Sharks only friend
And as I watched them on the stage
My hands were clenched in fists of rage
No Breezer born in Hell
Could break that Shark spell
And as the flames climbed high into the night
To light the sacrificial rite
I saw Beast laughing with delight
The day the Stormers died
He was singin’….
Bye Bye Miss Brokeback Pie…
28 May 2012, 12:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-269:
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-270:
not sure mate… talk is after the break… schalk for the first game duane the second… neither soon enough though…
28 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-260: That was a poor comeback……You leave me feeling disappointed somehow…. (Guess you get that a lot as well) Anyhow, that’s the way you roll I take it, in rugby, in love and in life. Promising much….delivering little – much like your beloved Sharks.
28 May 2012, 12:29 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-266: This aint no highly strung primadonna… This is a hopping, strutting, I told you so Shark BantamCock… Be in no doubt
28 May 2012, 12:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-242:
OH so the stormers without Vermulen has nothing to do with the DHL stormers imploding from a one dimensional pragmatic approach that is surely taking its toll on the player personnel, a team can only enjoy aggressive defending for so…..then i will become tedious and taxing mentally and physically…..(just look at the injury list)
So no Vermulen is still overrated in comparison to the rest of the SA lose FWD stock
28 May 2012, 12:32 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-265: Hehe… Fred did well to put him space with a 10meter start… He thought Lambieghini would show who’s who in the zoo, but Fred misjudged… Next time a 5m headstart for the midget and then we see…
28 May 2012, 12:34 pm
@FFF(FFF)-275: Well what you say there is exactly why you are posting comments on this website, and Heyneke/Rassie and co are coaching the Boks.
28 May 2012, 12:34 pm
@ufo(ufo)-267: Yup, it aint over ’til its over… But since I have been spreading the Shark gospel for weeks now while admittedly some real fairweather excuses for Sharks fans were talking “Dumbtree” and slating Daniel as “a ***** Cappie”, humble pie can wait… For now.
28 May 2012, 12:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-273: Ahem… Gargle?
28 May 2012, 12:36 pm
No excuses, Sharks have been improving and we haven’t and out of all the SA teams they’re best positioned for a late charge for pole position in SA Conference.
I for one thought that by now our backline would be a well drilled unit but AC & especially Fleck must give some answers as to why the tries aren’t coming as they can’t justify the lack of a decent attack on ”we got the 4 points.”
28 May 2012, 12:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264: Is that the best you can come up bud?You are a real wanker of note.
28 May 2012, 12:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-250:
Yeah, it is crazy.
Coenie looks good, plus he can play both sides of the scrum. Plus he’s a monster with ball in hand. I won’t pretend to know the in’s and out’s of scrum time though.
28 May 2012, 12:39 pm
Am out for now…
Will be back to Spread the Word…
The Gospel According to the Sharks
Book of Daniel
Book of Bismarck
Book of Patrick
And finally the
Book of Beast…
Otherwise known as Revelation…
28 May 2012, 12:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-277:
No what i am saying is Rassie should be coaching the Oakland Raiders in the NFL and……..What the hell are you talking about god dammit, do it just f kking do it already……Dog food ***** man
28 May 2012, 12:42 pm
I bet the Stormers wish they had a few more bonus points.
The bonus points, more than anything, allow you to slip up every now and again. I can’t believe Fleck still has a job.
They still in poll position, but one more loss and there’s trouble.
28 May 2012, 12:43 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-274: A bantamcock? That’s a tinylittecock, right?
28 May 2012, 12:43 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-271: There is no way in hell you are a straight man. You tell me in a previous post that life could have made you limp wristed, but that it made you a Shark instead – I believed that, until this post…….. You have the time, the energy and more sadly, the DESIRE to replace the lyrics of a song with your own Ra-Ra words? Ok, time to wipe the tears from eyes, tone down the laughter, and get on with some work. Tata. XXXX CT hugs.
(For all your talk of Cape Homosexuality – I have yet to see any Cape fan round here do anything as pink as this….a frikkin song, with your own lyrics……dahlingggggggg)
28 May 2012, 12:45 pm
@FFF(FFF)-284: Why do I upset you so much? xxxxxx CT kisses.
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-285:
Believe me us Stormers really do wish we had more Bonus Points.
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-282: I was not aware that Coenie could handle tight head – that would make him a useful replacement on the Bok bench
28 May 2012, 12:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-225: Taute makes a lot of elementary mistakes from the back and does not display the counterattack I would like to see from a “running” 15.
Andries does.
But I can see you will not be sold on this
28 May 2012, 12:48 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-280:
Yeah, it’s going to be tough for the Stormers. I can see a few Stormers wearing blue (or pink) when the Bulls play the Sharks (assuming the Bulls beat the Stormers next week).
28 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-288:
FFFFFF$^%^%^%*%*%*&%%^$£$@@@@$£$&^%^&!!!!!!!!!!!
……………….K, im all better now
28 May 2012, 12:49 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-290:
I think Naka’s long term plan with Coenie is to make him a full time tighthead.
28 May 2012, 12:50 pm
The Artist @ 262
HG 271
And the good ol,boys were drinking whisky & Rye.Singing Bye.bye etc.
28 May 2012, 12:51 pm
Well at least the Stormers ended their bonus point drought on Saturday.
28 May 2012, 12:51 pm
I can say one thing, when the Saders play the Chiefs, I’ll be in red and black!!!
The Chiefs need to lose one game to allow one of our guys back into the race for the number 1 spot.
28 May 2012, 12:54 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-290:
Particularly with De Villiers there to help him…
28 May 2012, 12:55 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-292: The classless nature of Sharks supporters like Hg,Woody and Gws would probably drive us to support the Bulls irrespective of winning or losing on Saturday.
28 May 2012, 12:59 pm
15. Lambie
14. JP
13. JdV
12. F Steyn
11. Habana
10. M Steyn (Goose when fit)
9. FduP (c)
8. K Daniel (look at Schalk or Vermeelen when fit)
7. Alberts
6. M Coetzee (Schalk when fit)
5. J Kruger (Bekker when fit)
4. Etsebeth
3. Jannie (Give Coennie more time at TH)
2. Bismark
1. Beast
Coennie
Strauss
Bekker
Flip
Broussow
Hougard
Aplon
(Lambie can cover 10 and JP 13)
Fringe players
Joe Pieterson
J Taute
Whitehead
Kitsoff is still too young
CJ Stander
Mvovo
To come back from injury
Burger
Duan Vemeerlen
Bekker is not right at the moment
Goosen
Look at Spies on the wing, he is no loose forward
Looking thin at 9 after FdP and FH
Looking thin at TH as usual (need to convert Coennie – Os must stop making all THs LHs – Marcel van der Merwe is another Os moved from TH to LH!!!)
28 May 2012, 12:59 pm
Indeed Mr Salinger.
Met eish.
28 May 2012, 13:03 pm
15. Lambie
14. JP
13. JdV
12. F Steyn
11. Habana
10. M Steyn (Goose when fit)
9. FduP (c)
8. K Daniel (look at Schalk or Vermeelen when fit)
7. Alberts
6. M Coetzee (Schalk when fit)
5. J Kruger (Bekker when fit)
4. Etsebeth
3. Jannie (Give Coennie more time at TH)
2. Bismark
1. Beast
Coennie
Strauss
Bekker
Flip
Broussow
Hougard
Aplon
(Lambie can cover 10 and JP 13)
Fringe players
Joe Pieterson
J Taute
Whitehead
Kitsoff is still too young
CJ Stander
Mvovo
To come back from injury
Burger
Duan Vemeerlen
Bekker is not right at the moment
Goosen
Look at Spies on the wing, he is no loose forward
Looking thin at 9 after FdP and FH
Looking thin at TH as usual (need to convert Coennie – Os must stop making all THs LHs – Marcel van der Merwe is another Os moved from TH to LH!!!)
28 May 2012, 13:08 pm
@willievz(willievz)-291: i will watch him again against the guppys this week.
28 May 2012, 13:09 pm
good to see so many stormers supporters manning up and facing the music (literally) on keo after a lousy loss…
kudos to you all my stormers mates…!!
28 May 2012, 13:16 pm
@ufo(ufo)-304: Eh. Win or lose the same old tosh gets flung about by all sides. It’s like when you play. You’d rather pitch up and lose than not pitch at all.
28 May 2012, 13:19 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-305:
you need to qualify that with ‘the same old tosh gets flung by those who bother to pitch up after their side loses…’
anyway… just an observation…
28 May 2012, 13:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-304: Yeah,you certainly won’t see us going for sabbaticals to France or barricading ourselves in on klienhoewes in the Eastern Cape.
28 May 2012, 13:21 pm
@RWC’11 was fixed(richardmarais)-302: Coetzee is a blindside / number 8 doing a decent job at openside at S15 level. I would still have Brussouw ahead of him at 6 at test level
I would be tempted to try 6. Brussouw, 7. Alberts, 8. Daniel with Coetzee on the bench, or even 6. Brussouw, 7. Alberts, 8. Coetzee with Daniel on the bench
It will most likely be 6. Brussouw, 7. Alberts, 8. Spies with Coetzee on the bench
28 May 2012, 13:26 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-307:
28 May 2012, 13:28 pm
@ufo(ufo)-306: Just spare a thought for the oke with the RW’11 nick.If memory serves me right we are now well into 2012.Just wonder if he intents to carry it through to 2015.
28 May 2012, 13:32 pm
ARTIST @ 301. Note the admiring capitals in the greeting. Well done .Clever and seriously funny at the same time.A rare combination.
Thought I was safe.
I read the other day that it was rated in the top 20 works of fiction of all time..Not so
sure.Enjoyed it thoroughly as an angry,pimply teenager.
Do not think it has travelled that well.
Kind regards.
Not so sure.I you are an
same time.
28 May 2012, 13:39 pm
THE ARTIST.The comment re:clever?funny applied to you.Not JD
28 May 2012, 13:41 pm
a hard rain’s gonna fall
at the end of it all….
28 May 2012, 13:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-251:
Come on people, let’s be honest about BEAST’s “benchpressing” exploits, as SS put it.
A foward should easily hold up his own body weight above his head in a powerclean and jerk motion, especially easy with extended arms.
There was nothing impressive about Beast holding up Bresler.
BJ Botha did that with Albert vd Berg in 2007 against England, and it was more impressive since Albert rocked much further back, and BJ responded with more power.
Come on guys, really?
28 May 2012, 13:44 pm
and in case people didn’t understand that, or TL;DR-
BJ is Beast se baas, mkay.
28 May 2012, 13:47 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314: Except Albert weighed around 100kg and Bresler around the 116kg mark if Supersport stats to be believed
28 May 2012, 13:49 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-308: Agree Brussouw is quality, but the way rugby is being reffed this year, it does not suit a a specialist open sider. That’s where K Daniel has the advantage over Brossouw I think, he is more of an all-rounder.
28 May 2012, 13:49 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314:
Albert vd Berg weighed as much as a three pack of Durex.
The sharks backs used to bench press him.
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-311:
All teenagers are angry and pimply.
Some are even sexually confused.
Just look at Stormerforhiswife.
28 May 2012, 13:50 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314:
Hahahaha yeah right, Botha is half the athlete Beast is.Mtawarira did it 2/3 times and whichever you look at it its impressive.Period.
Tell u one thing,im yet to see anything remotely as impressive from likes of Kruger,Greyling,Kirsten etc
28 May 2012, 13:55 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-314: The new colour of envy Pink and not Green, huh….?
Jealousy gets you nowhere…
Beast makes other looseheads look tame. Simple
28 May 2012, 13:58 pm
people relax, and Albert vd Berg was listed as 114 Kgs too
BJ holds the benchpressing record at the Boks I believe, besides, Beast is very mobile, former flank, I like the guy a lot, but BJ will crush him one-on-one
28 May 2012, 13:58 pm
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-295: Singin’ this’ll be the day that I die
This’ll be the day that I die…
28 May 2012, 13:59 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-321: Ahem… Ja… Beast is nie Bees nie, cuzzie…
28 May 2012, 14:00 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-319:
It wasnt impressive at all, these guys C&J more than 120Kg.
28 May 2012, 14:01 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-319:
…or, maybe impressive that a Mr. Price broekie held up…
28 May 2012, 14:02 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-323:
heh?
28 May 2012, 14:04 pm
the sharks are gaining momentum at the right time
28 May 2012, 14:06 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-326: Just translating for you… Maybe you confused slightly… Maybe you could be talking about a whole different Bees altogether…
Let me be explicit… Beast Mtawarira is not Bees Roux… Maybe thats who you thinking about when you talking about a tighthead getting the better of a Beast.
It actually cant be Beast the Legend, see?
Just helping you out….
28 May 2012, 14:07 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-327: I find it amazing that people wrote them off mid-season.
28 May 2012, 14:08 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-325: Could actually be a very good ad for whoever manufactures the Sharks kit. Instead of Beast pushing disposable razors, imagine him saying “when I lock press, I prefer Mr Price shorts”
28 May 2012, 14:10 pm
willie this is the business end of the comp
depth is very crucial now
28 May 2012, 14:14 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-328:
Then let him do something legendary instead of just picking up a 116Kg weight for a few seconds.
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-330:
Hah, good point.
“I dont always shoulder press locks, but when I do I make sure it causes a local sensation”.
Corny enough?
28 May 2012, 14:15 pm
Bresler and THE Beast…. Atlas shrugged…
28 May 2012, 14:17 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-332: Done already… Raging Bull tamed and long, distinguished career destroyed… by THE Beast.
28 May 2012, 14:18 pm
hg
these stormer supporters dont understand the dynamic
28 May 2012, 14:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-333:
No I didn’t
28 May 2012, 14:20 pm
Anyways the Sharks supporters are on a high I can see.
A win over a strong opponent for a change. How does it feel?
Yep, us Bulls supporters get that every weekend just about. Our endorphin receptors are a bit blocked up, suffering a loss this weekend was cruicial for our mental health.
Don’t wanna be chasing the dragon, but giving the Sharks the upcoming pomping in their fishtank will be enough.
28 May 2012, 14:21 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-335: Naah Fernus, the dynamic has popped… Exploded by Black and White Dynamite…
28 May 2012, 14:22 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-336: Atlas Shrugged…Google it… Stuff of legends…
Like Beast.
28 May 2012, 14:22 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-337: I guess two losses in a row really opens up those receptors
28 May 2012, 14:23 pm
the stormers front row popped plenty aswell.
28 May 2012, 14:25 pm
Pfft, Breslertjie is a mere 112Kgs they say, even lighter than Albert vd Berg when BJ lifted him like that for a restart in 2007.
Somebody please get that 2007 video in here so that the kids can see real strength from BJ, please.
28 May 2012, 14:26 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-340:
Broodnodig ou tjom.
28 May 2012, 14:27 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-337: “giving the Sharks the upcoming pomping in their fishtank will be enough.”… Lol… Them Pienk Koei “heroes” going to come get some too… Watch.
Then we see what THE Beast does… Maybe a 20m dash around Meisiekind the “brave” carrying Juandre Kruger, who has the ball, in the perpendicular and diving for the tryline while ripping the ball in mid air…
Considering Saturday and the renown “toughness” of Timotei, this is entirely possible if not probable…
28 May 2012, 14:28 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-342: You do realize it is really weird for a Bulls supporter to be arguing with Sharks over the relative exploits of 2 Sharks props (and 2 Sharks locks)
28 May 2012, 14:29 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-342: Of course BJ is strong… He was a Shark and once a Shark, always a Shark, Sharks Forever and all that…
But THE Beast… MAN ALONE.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-344:
Woah there, Charles Dickens, may as well not even go see the game now.
Riveting tale old chap
hg
the sharks are going to give the bulls aproper taste aswell.
28 May 2012, 14:31 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-345:
Just pointing out to the fanboys how non-impressive this “lockpressing” was.
28 May 2012, 14:33 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-348:
Pgh, by that time THE Warmongrel will be back and bloodthirsty.
28 May 2012, 14:34 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-347: Of course I want to see the game… I want to see Pain and dreams of superiority die… on hallowed Kings Park turf… Again… Like on Saturday.
Pienk Drome Dynamited by Black and White….
28 May 2012, 14:34 pm
who is this warmongrel?
28 May 2012, 14:35 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-351:
siestog….”boom”
ophou daai boom rook ou seun
28 May 2012, 14:36 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-348: Yeah… a real good Chiliboy up their collective Greylings…
28 May 2012, 14:37 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-352:
The one and only, Stegmann.
Played with a broken arm until the team doc took him off, and still dove in under the rucks.
I recall Gurthro playing with a broken arm in 2010, and he pussyfooted around th erucks and tackles.
Few men wouldve continued like Steggies did.
28 May 2012, 14:37 pm
@willievz(willievz)-329: i don’t recall them being written off at all, they were called for under-performing….totally different.
28 May 2012, 14:39 pm
Cheers manne, sien later.
HG behave yourself now, niks meer aaptwak vir jou nie.
28 May 2012, 14:40 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-342: I hope for your sake Stegman doesn’t read keo. Because he won’t be too pleased with all this manlove for BJ.
28 May 2012, 14:40 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-355: Stegmann…? Lol… Dont make me larf so farken hard, man
Neon Deon is about as tough as Timotei on a bad hair day…
Steggman…FarkLOL
28 May 2012, 14:42 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-357: Cheers… Wait and see what BOOM I’m talking about come the King Park destiny for the Pienk… Raait?
28 May 2012, 14:44 pm
stegman
bwhahaha
28 May 2012, 16:17 pm
@CenturionShark (aka LondonShark)(londonshark)-297: Buddy – the Saders will be gunning now for the no 1 spot – we have 3 home easy games and the Chiefs away – title is our s mother *******
28 May 2012, 16:31 pm
Why what do we have here? The Guppies are out in full force with their head cheerleader HG leading from the front with nipples all pointy and cameltoe exposed! It seems that the whole Sharks team should be in the Bok squad laugh-out-farking loud! What will the excuses be once they can only play and hope for a miracle wildcard? That their poor injury ravaged squad at the beginning of the season caused this? At least they’ll have a convenient excuse………….as they again won’t make the playoffs this year.
Pray for a miracle boys, on your knees with hands together and eyes closed. Pray as hard as you can……………as you have done for the last couple of years to no avail!
28 May 2012, 16:39 pm
If they don’t use Alberts they need there heads read
28 May 2012, 16:40 pm
Fern I see that you’re in the habit of talking to yourself, are you, cos it sure seems that no one’s listening to your irrelevant one liners.
28 May 2012, 16:42 pm
Watchin the highlights of the game on Sat – that canadian 8th man for the Stormers is shockin in defence – look at the hole he left for Kanko
28 May 2012, 16:44 pm
Beast will again be exposed when he packs down for the Boks for scrumming inward – minimal bind and yes- he’ll give away penalties too. Alberts must be conditioned or else he’s as useful as a bar of soap. We need a strong SB tight 5 to ensure he has go forward – without go forward he will be ineffective. Lambie my Bok 15.
28 May 2012, 16:49 pm
366 @ Stew
Jebb is even more hopeless than Spies!
28 May 2012, 16:53 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-363:
Oh my, are you saying that HG is a girl?
I shall send her a friend request, maybe she will go out with me.
And here I was thinking she was a bro. There’s been a breach in the brocode.
I was going to say to HG that we’ve been talking sterretjiesterretjiesterretjie here since 2009 or whatever, building quite an innings.
I should have a dop with HG and put my money where my mouth is and put my fist where his mouth is, but it seems that in the light of this new information I may need to substitute my fist for something else.
Anyways, Herman, looking at the rest of the fixtures I would rather worry about the WP praying for a wildcard if I were you.
I do agree that Alberts needs conditioning and Beast is a bit..well..yeah.
28 May 2012, 17:06 pm
369 @ Agile
Nah even if Stormers lose to Bulls they have an easier run in after the break. The Bulls have to play the Sharks and Stormers coming off two physical games in NZ.
HG loves CPT, especially a certain club in Green Point. He’ll be at Kings Park as he had word that the Bulls will be playing in pink. Pink makes him all fuzzy. Think he has a thing for black guys though. Beast makes him soil his undies.
28 May 2012, 17:20 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-370:
The Stormers barely survived the Cheetahs at NL, they’re going down at Bloem boet, Bokke are gonna disrupt the Stormers and fatigue them for 3 weeks prior, not the Cheetahs.
Shark are our last game- Bulls are strong finishers.
Methinks it’ll be Bulls and Sharks are going through, Sharks have a bye too.
28 May 2012, 17:23 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-363: Well the f# ck ers blame the ref, EVEN when they win so anything is possible. Hor-moan is still whinging about the Sharks injuries in the opening rounds……..
28 May 2012, 17:26 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-371: The Boks will be disrupting the Bulls and Sharks more. How many Stormer forwards are in the Bok reckoning? Eben and Andries – that’s it (both injured in any event it seems). We do have the pleasure of resting Kolisi, Elstadt, whole front row, and getting Schalk, Duane and Koster back…….just in time for all the fun stuff….
28 May 2012, 17:28 pm
By the way, the Stormers should be below the Bulls on the log by 1 point:
BULLS vs STORMERS: Craig Joubert giving them an incorrect penalty giving them an unfair win.
STORMERS vs SHARKS: Peyper ignoring a forward pass on purpose to give Stormers a bonus point.
Stormers are there on luck.
28 May 2012, 17:30 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-374:
incorrect scrum penalty after time within range, even the commentators saw that immediately.
Makes me think the refs are bought. Things always go that way for WP..ja, Rupert, Im looking at you, or whoever looks like you.
28 May 2012, 17:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-373:
there is a backline too, and the Bulls are just going to moer the Sharks, besides that they are going to cruise, both of them.
Sorry Stormers, try next year, it cant be too hard to weerprobeer, you’ve had 11 years practice now.
28 May 2012, 17:39 pm
People really fear the Stormers hey! That is all they can talk about.
I only worry about my team. The other teams should only worry about theirs. Strange how obsessed some are…
28 May 2012, 17:41 pm
The saying goes… you will always find fault with those who are a threat…
28 May 2012, 17:44 pm
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-378:
Who’s the most hated team on all the forums, in all the lands? Bulls.
Who’s the only SA team to win a SR title (3 in 4 years)? Bulls
Nice, I see what you did there Bill. Definitely the biggests threat.
Finding major problems with the Bulls myself this year. Man, threats all round
28 May 2012, 18:01 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-374: Luck schmuck -we are where we are. Your ranting doesn’t change that does it? Or do you have connections, like old HG from the Sharks who will be ‘arranging’ a bonus point for the Sharks from their BYE weekend. Damn you folk are more connected than we are. PS: By your reasoning, the Bulls are also lucky to be where they are currently? Brumbiessssssssssss mean anything?
28 May 2012, 18:18 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-380:
A brumby is a feral Australian horse.
“Brumbies” is the plural.
Sheesh, you should know that by now.
28 May 2012, 18:49 pm
If the Stormers are currently ahead of the Bulls and more so the Sharks, how can the Stormers be in more danger of not making the semis? People are assuming that the Stormers will lose to the Bulls and possibly Cheetahs and the Bulls and Sharks winning all their remaining games. The Bulls are fresh off a demanding tour.
They scraped through against the Tahs and Rebels and got their just reward against the Landers and Chiefs. They now have to play the Stormers and lastly the Sharks and we have to believe that they’re in a better space than the Stormers? If the Stormers lose to the Bulls with a BP and the Bulls don’t get a winning BP the Pinkies will lead the Stormers by one………..with the Sharks still to come. The Sharks have no choice but to win all their games. Stormers can afford to lose to Bulls and still be ahead of Bulls and Sharks – not that we want them to – but t hats the reality of it all.
Natural order will be restored shortly with the Sharks, fresh from coming close but ultimately missing the playoffs again, praying for a Stormers loss in the semis and final……………………and we’ll all live happily ever after
28 May 2012, 20:09 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-375: funny that you’re moaning about refs yet fail to mention the blatant steyn KNOCK-ON that jonker ignored to your benefit.
28 May 2012, 22:16 pm
Agile
You seem to be the only person around here to think that Beast’s magic trick was nothing but a fluke.Well for once Im going to agree with you.I mean the best magic trick I’ve ever seen is Stegmann’s disappearing act that he pulls in every Test.