Sharks bruiser is Meyer’s man

JON CARDINELLI says Willem Alberts’ strong performance against the Stormers bodes well for the three-Test series against England.

Alberts’ detractors will be snorting in disbelief. One dominant showing and he’s suddenly back, suddenly the answer to Heyneke Meyer’s blindside quandary? So much for a measured evaluation.

It’s an understandable reaction. Alberts has struggled with injuries over the past year, and when he has actually played he hasn’t been as effective at the gainline as before. He made a terrific impact in the first half of the 2011 Super Rugby tournament, but battled for form in the months that followed.

That was until last Saturday. Backed by John Plumtree in the most important match of the Sharks’ season, Alberts turned in a powerful performance. The Sharks forwards manhandled their Stormers counterparts, and Alberts was particularly effective in that ball-carrying role on attack, and that momentum-stalling role on defence.

It was an important performance in a Springbok context. When two of the strongest teams in a conference clash, the national coach is always going to be watching. If you can make an impact in this contest, you can stake your claim for national selection. If you can make inroads into the best defence in the Super Rugby competition, if you can outmuscle the most physical team in South Africa, you can make a massive statement.

What will help Alberts’ cause is that there aren’t many blindside flankers available at present, at least not the type of No 7s that Meyer is looking for. Juan Smith, Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen are all sidelined with injuries while Danie Rossouw has also told Meyer he is not available.

Who else but Alberts fits the job description, at least in terms of what Meyer values in a blindside? He ticks the boxes of experience and size, as the latter lends itself to the dual role of ball-carrying and defending, not to mention providing an extra option in the lineout.

And as he showed this past Saturday, he is coming back into form. He will have one more opportunity to gather momentum before the England series as the Sharks play the Lions this Saturday. While this will be useful for a man coming back from injury, he’s already shown what he is capable of against the Stormers. That performance against the Stormers showed how he could be an important figure for the Boks in that England series.

The Boks are favourites to win that series and some South African pundits have been as bold as to predict a 3-0 result in favour of the hosts. To realise that goal, however, they will need to outplay England at the set pieces, breakdowns and collisions.

Some may be taking the English lightly, and for good reason. They are in a period of rebuilding and will be touring South Africa without several key forwards.

But Meyer has never been a coach to underestimate his opponents, and will pick his strongest available side for the coming series. He will select players that best fit his game plan, which is one of the primary reasons Fourie du Preez will start at scrumhalf and lead the team.

It is also for this reason that Alberts, in the absence of heavy hitters like Smith, Burger and Vermeulen, should be entrusted with the No 7 responsibilities.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

384 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 51.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-47: It seems they seem to bank on Aplon doing something special otherwise fakol going on at the back.

• 52.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-39:

amazing how much old cunteye had to say for himself when, despite his confident assertions to the contrary for the entire week, his team were fisted like a horny cokeslut.

• 53.capebull: Reply to this comment

@davidv(davidv)-12: Last week you were boosting about the Strompie depth , now its injuries…

The loss is 3 games comming,

• 54.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

kitskop got beaten like a ginger stepchild

• 55.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-45: cheers man kwagga, thoroughly enjoyed it.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-48: this is such a silly comment man, cmon, get over the hurt and carry on.

wallowing in your pain is just so undignified :lol:

p.s. the stormers have just lit up the sky and been the real deal have they?

wow! the trophy cabinet must be overflowing hahahahahahaha.

• 56.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-3: You bro, look at it this way.

When the sharks had injuries to key players they lost 5 of their 13 games, when the stormers lost key players (since match one) they have lost only 2 of their 12 games. So whith that in mind, wait till the big stormers boys come back and then we’ll talk.

Watch the Stormers pick up the pace come the last leg of the tournament.

• 57.capebull: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-51: Bok centres with Bok locks, yet they can not score tries and they lose their line outs. Are they really Bokke ?

• 58.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-49:
    i think they were hiding injuries and carrying niggles for a while now.
    going into must win derbies in such condition is suicidal as far as i’m concerned.

• 59.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

backdoorboy
    your side is on the down

• 60.capebull: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-56: are you hoping or stating facts

• 61.Jonck: Reply to this comment

JC I also did not see that the Stormers was manhandled. I have in fact not seen yet this year that Bismarck and Alberts was so often tackled back (mainly by Elstadt , Etzebeth and Bekker)

The Sharks was much better in the scrums and Stormers needs to give Tiaan a bit more line throwing lessons as he starts to be a liability for them.

I though Michalak was brilliant, especially in first 40 minutes!

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-55:

just tennis

• 63.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-57: Well I ask the same of Meisie, Spies and Zane…….

• 64.davidv: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-53: I did not post at all last week – you are very confused

• 65.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-54: So you boasting about an all bok front row beating a 20 year old junior bok, I think no one really believed Kitsoff would be able to do much with Busmarck on Jannies inside and brok
    struggling against Beast.

• 66.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-59: We’ll see, maybe Habana will make you cry again in the playoffs. :)

• 67.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-58: agreed.

now stormers fans, take a moment to ponder my question before you all rush to answer please:

are you really happy with your sides attack? surely a lucky intercept and a forward pass, whilst brilliantly finished by gio, must cause some disquiet going into the end of the comp? if you can only score via penalties and the penalties dry up, you are farked (see: sharks vs stormers at the tank for reference).

• 68.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-55: How can my comment be silly when it is the truth? Previous seasons’ results don’t lie. Pray tell me about the Sharks Superugby pedigree post 2007? Made in China fireworks mate…….

• 69.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

the stormers cannot construct tries
    simple

• 70.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-66: With Habafaknut’s Oscar performances on the field these days, he might be the one bursting out in tears.

• 71.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-65: struggling?

he had his brok pushed up his harris and was subbed.

gingerbreadboy wasnt doing any high fiving with red face liebenberg either.

in fact, the smug look was wiped clean off the lads face.

backpeddaling 101, masterclass in session :lol:

ok, i am out. manhandled, that is the theme for the day ok?

• 72.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

So funny how the Sharkie fans get all excited about their victory against a Stormers side that has so many loosie injuries that they use their backup hooker as a #6. Let’s be honest, beating champion boxer that has his one arm tied behind his back does not make you a pro boxer.

Just how the Sharks are a much better team with Beast and Alberts back to best, the same applies to a Stormers side with Burger, Vermeulen and Kolisi in the mix.

• 73.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

hahaha kwagga
    baie waar

• 74.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-68: ho ho ho silly boy, you must have turned 18 recently.

you see when superrugby was past your bedtimne the sharks were making finals and semis as far back as 1996.

you know it, we know it.

around the same time natal was handing out pakslae in the cc.

do some research and give me 10,000 words on the glorious team that is the sharks.

will mark your work later ok woof?

bye bye.

• 75.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-72: The injuries lament is the mark of a beaten man. You look well beaten.

• 76.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-71: Honestly mate. If a Bok front row couldn’t exert pressure on a 20 year old, then it would have said more about them than about the kid now wouldn’t it?

• 77.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-73: Daai knaap irreteer die rook uit my uit. As iemand hom net n bietjie raakry rol hy n sokkerspeler rond. Lyk soos n Kudu wat n kak bladskoot gevat het.

• 78.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74: I didn’t ask about 1996..I asked about post 2007. Tell me about 2008 to 2011 – please? Why can’t you answer me? -T-h-e-t-r-u-t-h-h-u-r-t-s.com…….

• 79.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Time to go. Cheers all.

• 80.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

True, Albert’s had hismbestgame…but against what opposition? A stormers pack that is starting to come apart? No way hose.
    He is still a flattrack bully in my opinion who only gives you 60 minutes.
    That is not enough as an international blindsider in my opinion.

• 81.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-69: Aplon’s try? Even though it was a forward pass, a normal pass would of also resulted in a try. Well worked try from 1st phase.

• 82.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

possible permutations:

sharks:
    vs – lions away 5pts
    bye – 4pts
    vs – bulls home 4pts / maybe 1pt
    vs – cheetahs home 4pts /maybe 1pt

best case 45 + 17 = 62
    worst case 45 + 11 = 56

bulls:
    vs – stormer home 4pts
    vs – cheetahs home 5pts
    vs – sharks away 1pt / maybe 4pts
    vs- lions home 5pts

best case 48 + 18 = 66
    worst case 48 + 15 = 63

stormers:
    vs – bulls away 0pts / maybe 1pt
    vs – lions home 4pts / maybe 5pts
    vs – cheetahs away 4pts /maybe 1pt
    vs – rebels home 4pts

best case 50 + 14 = 64
    worst case 50 + 9 = 59

so the bulls will top the sa conference log and the stormers look likely to get a playoff place, considering everything goes well for them wrt the other conferences.
    the sharks are still in danger of not qualifying if results donr go for them in the other conferences.

• 83.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81:

what are you talking about?

“a normal pass would have resulted in a try”

dry your eyes son.

this is no place for that kind of talk.

save it for group therapy.

• 84.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

RAHHH!

Please man, Willem Alberts was not that good this weekend.I was more impressed by Marcel Coetzee.

• 85.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-80:
    true.

• 86.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81: Agreed, it was a good move, Refreshing to see after so many minutes of the most mindless dumbass attacking tactics.

• 87.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-81: And everyone knows that when you’ve lost 5 loose forwards to injury, and you have such fantastic crowd support and your franchise brand is so strong, then marginal forward passes of 2 to 3 meters should be overlooked. Everyone knows this. Can’t see what the fuss is about.

• 88.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-52:

Oh Ubu is the master of the old ‘if-they-had-shoulda-woulda-coulda’ game… he’s been practising this skill for years of failed predictions…

You think the self professed fountain of worldly knowledge could at least get a few mere rugby tips correct.

I wonder how many times Jake White has made him cut himself, beat his dog and vloek his workers over the years?

• 89.greentea: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-74:

Yer but in professional super rugby what have the Sharks actually won?

• 90.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

greentea how is that hot asian mammasita keeping?

• 91.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Juandre Kruger,
    this man needs a mention. Eversince 2008 I knew he was the real deal.
    Deserves to be a Springbok more than Flip vd Merwe…also he controls his aggresinn superbly, tireless worker.

• 92.greentea: Reply to this comment

Shouldn’t you be watching reruns of the Jerry Springer show?

• 93.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-91:
    true.
    i think we have to be honest about flip.
    it seems he has reached his ceiling.

• 94.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

somebody is grumpy
    seems the milf has put them in the dogbox

• 95.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-83: The forward pass did not allow Aplon to get to the ball or did it? Sharks defence went to sleep for that one.@>^..^< katman(katman)-87:

• 96.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-93:

bring back hilton lobberts.

• 97.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82: Lions and Rebels should be 5. Cheetahs 4 maybe 5. Bulls 4. For the Stormers that is.

• 98.stew: Reply to this comment

Go the Buffel

• 99.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-96:
    really..?…

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-97:
    that is unlikey.
    how many bonus point games have the stormers won, at home or anywhere, so far this season?
    add to this you have depth injuries and i think its realistic to say you will get 4pt wins if all goes to plan.

• 100.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Well done Sharks, seems you take great pleasure from it taking a look at the +1000 comments on the game’s thread :) !

Stormers pack tried hard but Eben struggled to contain the fire of Bismarck, Beast and a pleasantly surprising side-stepping Alberts all on his own.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.