Steyn back in the Tank

Frans Steyn has signed a three-year contract with the Sharks.

The Springbok back left the Sharks in 2009 to join Racing Metro on a two-and-a-half year deal and won 61 caps for the French club. Steyn recently expressed his desire to return to South Africa and the Sharks were always likely to get his signature.

Steyn will officially join the union on 1 July, but an IRB ruling stipulating that any player registered after 1 April is ineligible for the play-offs means that Steyn would watch from the stands should the Sharks progress to that stage of the tournament.

‘It is great to have him back with us as we did miss him,’ said Sharks coach John Plumtree. ‘He was definitely an influential player when he left and he will again be that, so it is fantastic to have him with the Sharks.’

Steyn has played 47 Tests for the Springboks and is expected to wear the No 12 jersey in the three-Test series against England in June.

Click here to read SA Rugby magazine’s article on Frans Steyn

366 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 101.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-96: To be honest Coach, think Bulls will win this weekend. Not by much but they will take your Stormers bud. Nothing quite like a Bull that needs to win to go to top of our conference. I feel they will be just too much for Stormers if the Stormers play like they did against my Sharks is anything to go by. Bulls will definitely win this battle.

• 102.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-93: ignore it bro, thanks again for letting me know, for once you got the info before me :lol:

• 103.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Its my opinion – I don’t rate the kid – he’s got a big boot and that’s it. He’s played 47 tests for SA. I can’t believe he’s had so much game time. I haven’t seen him do anything.

Anyways – let me congratulate the Sharks on another great signing. The trophies will come rolling in now. I look forward to seeing the shaggy dog in action – and I’ll be the first to remind everybody when the inevitable happens! :)

• 104.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Here we go chaps… Fransie Returns…

We always knew he would…

To quote a pretty decent French Shark from Toulouse… when asked Sharks or Toulouse:

SHARKS FOREVER!

And we now know Fransie always felt the same…

WELCOME BACK Le Rocket Boot…

WELCOME BACK Frans Steyn

• 105.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-101:
    I agree yes
    But you would like us to win right?

• 106.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-102: hahaha. I knew last week already, but kept it quite. Heard it from someone here that lives close to me that knows someone at KP. Never mentioned it as you know, you never know if it is true. Kept on asking Rob if he knew cause thought if he hinted he knew then it was true. But Rob never mentioned anything to me kept quite. Probably knew, but wanted to wait until it was official I think.

• 107.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-104: :lol: HG

• 108.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-105: I am neutral Coach. If Stormers lose and we pick up 5 points against the Lions we level pegging… :) That could sway me to support the Bulls this week…… :wink:

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-104: :lol:

• 110.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-96: Those Bulls are going to come out snorting some serious stuff bud that’s gonna make them foaming at the mouth ready to crush any stormer in their way.The stuff that Hg is on most of the time here doesn’t compare to the Bulls’ brand.

• 111.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I’m going to stick my grubby little finger in it and propose: Steyn has to be in the Bok starting XV. But……….at 15. I rate that’s his best spot. Not 12. Now why would I want to swim upstream when its easier to agree with you bojos. Fransie can kick a bit. Our man likes to run it from the back. He’s largish and difficult to stop. He’s an enthusiastic defender and has good vision and positional sense. What have I missed?

• 112.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-106: Bwahaaaaaaaa , believe it or not i knew last week too and kept it quiet :lol: :lol:
    i had a senior stormer player eat at my place recently, more like 2 weeks ago, and he told me then already it was basicly a done deal,

The Stormer player is a bok, so i wont mention names, but i been sitting like a kid with candy infront of him and not being allowed to touch it yet :lol:

• 113.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-108:
    You have to still play the game Vs the Lions
    I hope your guys dont over look them
    But 5 points seem on the cards
    We may get one bonus point and Bull get their 4

• 114.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-111:
    Tassies You missed my post # 100 LOL

• 115.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-106: we should just have contacted each other lol

• 116.Dust: Reply to this comment

This and their 25-20 win makes them favorites for the title

• 117.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-112: hahaha. Well I hardly get any of this sort of news, but when this person told me last week was not totally sure. Was never gonna say it here just never know totally until it is a done deal. Kept asking Rob if he knew, but he would not budge to say a thing. I kinda knew then. Just waited today to see…hehe.

• 118.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-111:
    I will take a steady lambie or pietersen at 15 rather

• 119.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-101: howzit Pumes. You good buddy? Your Sharks were unstoppable on saturday. Played out of their socks. Especially the back row. But pretty much the entire team brought their A game. Stormers in for a scorching this weekend. My pension money stays in my pocket and I’d never bet my money on the Bulls(on principle).

• 120.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-113: Nah coach i reckon Plum has now got the guys focused

• 121.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-115: Should have. hehe

• 122.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-117: lol boet, i knew but didnt wanna whipsre a word till it was official, better that way

• 123.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-121: @TASSIES(TASSIES)-119: hiyas tassies . ltnc mate, you well???

• 124.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-114: sure did Pete. Yes that’s an option and most people would agree. I’m thinking of a Steyn more in the Gavin Hastings mould. Big, strong and gives you extra options. I prefer JdV at 12.

• 125.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-119: Howzit Tassies, How you bud? Hope well.

Yeah my Sharks finally played some top class rugga. Very pleased we got that win Tassie. We needed it to keep our play off hopes alive.

Yeah think the Bulls will be coming at your Stormers this weekend. We showed the pack how to break your defence…….haha. Bulls will be looking at that game over and over. Think Bulls will be too strong this weekend Tassies. Bulls will win not by much but they will win. I could be wrong, that is what I am thinking will happen.

• 126.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Aint Paul Jordaan the luckiest player in SA rugby and Whitehead the unluckiest for now to respectively play outside, and to take a backseat and learn from the best 12 in World Rugby…

But never fear, more tries for the Sharks and Victory to us Kings Park Faithful once more as I misquote Bill Shakespeare slightly:

Once more unto the breach, dear Frans, once more,
    Or close the wall up with our Kings Park dead!
    In peace there’s nothing so becomes a man
    As modest stillness and humility,
    But when the blast of Rugby blows in our ears,
    Then imitate the action of the tiger:
    Stiffen the sinews, summon up the blood,
    Disguise fair nature with hard-favored rage;

Now set the teeth and stretch the nostril wide,
    Hold hard the breath and bend up every spirit
    To his full height! On, on, you noble Shark,
    Whose blood is fet from fathers of Rugby-proof

Be copy now to men of grosser blood
    And teach them how to Play! And you, good yeomen,
    Whose limbs were made in Kings Park, show us here
    The mettle of your pasture. Let us swear
    That you are worth your breeding; which I doubt not,

Follow your spirit; and upon this charge
    Cry ‘God, Sharks Forever and Kings Park!’

• 127.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

a sharks team with a guy who can reliably kick it from anywhere in the opponents half will be a real handful.

mark my words

• 128.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Dust(Leatherdust)-116: With or without Fransie they should be overwhelming favorites now,especially after Saturday,to take the title.Fransie won’t be able to play in the play-off games though unless Sanzar change their rules.

• 129.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-123:
    You have to remember you were totally dominant especially at the breakdown against a below par 6,7 and 8
    Yes you broke the defense but you only scored 25 points
    Yes a great needed win at home, and i see you guys getting better
    We may lose to Bulls but we will be better with injured players back again

• 130.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-122: No Tassies, Fransie is a far better 12 he is devastating there, closer to the action. Far better for Steyn. He is way better than JdV bud. Lambie is a superb fb he would be my fb and probably my fh too. So yeah, just have to see. Meyer will play Steyn at 12 and Lambie at fb.

• 131.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-124:
    Geez keep your day job :)

• 132.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-124: :D .

• 133.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-128:
    Tassie I have to agree with Puma
    Shift JDV to 13 problem solved

• 134.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-123: you sure did. Just remember we had a hooker playing out of position as a openside(and he did quite well I thought) and a No 8 who was not great I’d think. Only Elstadt was a regular and he looked like he didn’t belong. The scrums were *****. Even the lineouts weren’t great. And we’ve covered the loose. Back had no chance. We were lucky to score two tries, against the run of play as I recall. Conversely, the Sharks brought their best game of the season to the party. At home noggal.

• 135.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-127: I know we did, but we lost all momentum once the bad pass by Fred led to Aplon’s try. That happens, suddenly we felt the pressure. It changes the game.

My feeling Bulls will win this weekend Coach. They will watch our game over and over.

I read something on sports24 by Ton Johnson. Tests interupt fascinating period. Go read there and see what he has to say. He says Sharks were superior to Stormers and the only reason Stormers came even close was because of the gifted tries. He complains about the ref missing the forward pass too. He is the kiwi that does that Reunion rugby show.

• 136.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-131: what problem?

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

welcome back frankie, don’t let those sods at kings park get to you with their boo-ing.

@Puma(Puma)-123: what happened to the “sold out tank”? i’ve got the game on pvr & i clearly show empty seats.

• 138.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers everyone. Just take a call.

Catch up later or tomorrow.

• 139.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-136: meant – just need to take a call.

catch up later.

• 140.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-124: Geez HG!! Drinking tequila again. You don’t have to do the whole bottle in one bite boet.

• 141.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-134:
    No problem :)
    Jdv on outside running off the hip of steyn into the gap or either wing at an angle close to F steyn into the gap
    Poms done

• 142.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-135: well observed Transie. Somewhere during the game they proudly announced the crowd attendance to be 28 thousand and something. When did KP shrink?

• 143.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-137: agree with you on thaT, although not a large part of the crown, i was there when we played the canes and a few behind us booed him for trying a drop kick, few minutes later he out one over and they cheered, **** my mate and myself nealry ended up in a fight with these guys because of it, told them to FO and go support someone else lol

• 144.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-99: :lol:

@Puma(Puma)-97: ag ja puma, the weasels like peewee and stormerforawife are not representative but then again, i am probably not either.

i simply enjoy a bit of banter, no one can dampen my joy at fransies return!

• 145.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-138:
    I think it may be the Durban poison Makes him very poetic :)

• 146.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-141: I don’t mind watching that…….but…..will Fransie pass. As I recall he likes to bash it up and take two locks with him to the deck before he turns it over. He does make 5 yards first tho. :)

• 147.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-146:
    yes I have questioned that and his decision making at times but that can be drummed into him by HM

• 148.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-144: hiyas fisherman lol, eish bro im sp farking happy

Just love the way HG is telling this story though :lol: like only he can+

• 149.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-143: Tyrone,judging by your facebook pic you should not get involved in fights gramps.Luckily you had a mate with you. :D

• 150.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-144:
    Hey its really good to see you guys upbeat as fans and passionate about your team. All said and done great for Bok rugby

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.