Steyn back in the Tank

Frans Steyn has signed a three-year contract with the Sharks.

The Springbok back left the Sharks in 2009 to join Racing Metro on a two-and-a-half year deal and won 61 caps for the French club. Steyn recently expressed his desire to return to South Africa and the Sharks were always likely to get his signature.

Steyn will officially join the union on 1 July, but an IRB ruling stipulating that any player registered after 1 April is ineligible for the play-offs means that Steyn would watch from the stands should the Sharks progress to that stage of the tournament.

‘It is great to have him back with us as we did miss him,’ said Sharks coach John Plumtree. ‘He was definitely an influential player when he left and he will again be that, so it is fantastic to have him with the Sharks.’

Steyn has played 47 Tests for the Springboks and is expected to wear the No 12 jersey in the three-Test series against England in June.

Click here to read SA Rugby magazine’s article on Frans Steyn

366 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

• 251.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Great signing Sharks. I would of liked him to come to WP. JDV will not be there much longer anymore. Then he could partner with his Bok centre partner. Juan De Jongh.

Great for SA rugby to have him back in SA.

• 252.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok(TrueBok)-250:

True that TrueBok.

Can’t believe some black English supporters aren’t going to the Ukraine and Poland because they fear being attacked because of their skin colour???

Astonishing to think that Uefa/Fifa has allowed the tournament to take place there if they know what the situation is.

Cash Rules Everything Around Me I guess.

• 253.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-252: CREAM, get the money, dollar dollar bills y’all.

• 254.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-253:

Wu Tang FOREVER

• 255.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-252:
    Yeah, it’s a shocker man.

I’m even afraid to say it but FIFA (and UEFA) are a bunch of Mafias.

Besides, the almost yearly changes of rules/laws, inconsistent referee interpretations (South vs North) and Australian’s selfish interest in SANZAR, to name a few – Rugby is much better off in general.

• 256.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-238:

Wow man, you are hurting bad. To make matters worse your team is playing the Bulls at Moftus. My guess is you have butterflys in your tum tum and the stress is killing you.

Vent some more my little Capetonian blogger friend. Get it all out.

• 257.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-254: Classic ish

• 258.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Stormers are k akking themselves already.

• 259.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249: So you’ve been watching rugby for all of 20 years then? There are quite a few Sharks fans who have been loyal and true to the union since way back when…..the true fans (I saw a post from a guy like this here yesterday – can’t remember his name) Then you get the rest: the ones who supported other unions for decades, then suddenly ‘became’ Sharks/Natal fans because they were pushed into the Currie Cup and the marketing dept did a great PR job. Those jolly hockeystick jumpers, became fans of the Sharks BRAND, not the rugby behind the brand. The Sharks were the new boy band in town, and the tweenies (like you) went crackers….throwing your manties at the stage and slapping posters on your wall faster than one can shout,”Backstreet Boys”. All that has changed over the last decade, is the names of those you chaps hero worship….the great white hopes. Every player who arrives is the one to make the difference according to the gospel of you lot…….season in – season out, yet nothing changes……..and that is why the arrogance you display is so entertaining…..

• 260.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Shaun Gage
    Rob Hankinson
    Leon Buchner
    Ronnie Haarhof
    Graham Hefer
    Are those names from yesterday?

• 261.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-256: I would be hurting if the Sharks had overtaken us on the log. Didn’t happen, so no, disappointed yes – hurting, no. What I am, is fascinated in a morbid way with you ‘backslapping ‘bruvvas’. It’s like a compilation of kitsch.

• 262.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-260: Never mind being from ‘yesterday’, they are probably from Google knowing you….

• 263.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Mort
    Penrose
    Noble
    Thompson
    I suppose I googled the redbrick kiosk that sold lekker vetkoeke aswell?

• 264.rangerman: Reply to this comment

haha, my budgies are still singing :lol:

sing budgies sing.

its not about the loss on sat at the tank, its not about the fact that frans chose the sharks, its not about the trophies the sharks have (2 cc’s in 4 years), its about our “pedigree”

i love it!

• 265.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Rangerman
    S hit got real on Saturday.

• 266.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-264: If you hadn’t noticed, I didn’t like you lot much before the game………

• 267.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-263:

So used to Stormers bloggers and fans going on about us. If they didn’t talk about us I’d be worried.

We are envied because we have taken our brand from the depths of the B section to becoming the most feared and respected franchise in South African rugby. Our stadium attracts visitors from all over the world and the family friendly environment wins us fans daily. I know of a few mates from upcountry that now support The Sharks.

What’s with the Newlands ‘faithful’ booing their own players bru? It has brought so much attention to the media that scribes are writing about it week in and week out now. Man I’m so glad to be living in a civilised part of the country.

• 268.Kamikazes: Reply to this comment

9 McLeod
    10 Lambie (stop ******** him around)
    12 Whitehead
    13 Joordan
    15 Steyn

11 JPP
    14 Mvovo

• 269.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Saturday came and went and life was GOOD.

Yesterday came and went, with the return of a Sharks son, and life got BETTER.

5 points for the Dynamite this Saturday and a Bulls 4pt win with no losing bonus point on offer and life will be VERY GOOD INDEED.

To everything TURN, TURN, TURN….

• 270.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

From having arguably the worst midfield between 2009-2011 (and still somehow winning a Currie Cup or two) The Sharks are now potentially sitting with so many brilliant combinations he has the headache of trying to juggle them so that each one gets some game time.

• 271.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Just watch the stormers and bulls fans get emotional,as BOOM they implode.

• 272.Kamikazes: Reply to this comment

Whitehead and Joordan is the midfield pair to watch out for.
    Steyn is 15, finished and klaar.

• 273.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Kamikazes(Kamikazes)-272: And Lambie? Surely he should play the same position for the Boks and Sharks.

• 274.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-249: We will have to see, not shooting my mouth off like you, pride comes before a fall.

See what you did there with my name, just like I thought, what a backward mofo you must be, trying to make *** jokes, you know we are in the 21st century. But I assume you still think women should stay in the kitchen and non-whites should only work in your garden.

• 275.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-271: I could say the same to you boet. All this hype from one game at home and only by 5 points. I think you should change your name to the great white hype.

• 276.Kamikazes: Reply to this comment

@ katman:
    That’s what I am saying, he should be playing 10, even in the Bok setup.

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

So much Shark happiness here…

So much unhappiness at Shark happiness…

So much Shark happiness at unhappiness at Shark happiness…

Happiness All Round :lol:

Shark Happiness Thread…

• 278.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Simply beeyoouutifull HG.

• 279.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Kamikazes(Kamikazes)-276: That’s probably not going to happen right away – maybe later on. For now, his best bet is at 15.

If I were selecting, he’d be on the Bok bench to cover 10, 12 or 15, with Steyn starting at 10 and Aplon at 15. But they haven’t asked me to select, and since we’re almost on top of the tests already, it’s unlikely they will.

• 280.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-267: A few pointers if I may?: a) Your stadium attracts visitors from all over the world? Where have they all been this year, as the attendance at ACTUAL games has been woeful. As I said before, Sharks fans don’t love rugby – they love the kief braais and backslapping in the parking area.
    b) “The Sharks attract new fans daily…” – as I said, teenage girls supporting a BRAND, not a rugby team – don’t call them fans, they are consumers.
    c)”Family environment” – well without pointing out anyone in particular, I would be loathe to take children to your ‘tank’, as some of the Sharks supporters ‘fetishes’ as read on here, would have me helluva worried…..
    d) You tell us about how hammered you were at the game, how you nearly got into a fight or 2, how you lost your friend, how you went to some pole-dancing hangout and paid some probably horrified chick to wave her T and A in your face – and then you proclaim you are a civilized man living in a civilized part of the country……

Iamsofckingdelusionalidontknowmylambiefrommybambieanymore.com

• 281.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-278: In Pursuit of Happyness!

• 282.Kamikazes: Reply to this comment

@ Katman:
    You are right ofcos.
    I do believe that Steyn is a better 15 than Lambie, and Aplon as good, but in different way.
    Neither Aplon or Steyn will play 15 against the English though.
    Pity

• 283.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-273: No No No. You don’t get it. There are different rules for Lambie….. According to the kenners, he is the best 10 and the best 15 on like the whole planet yayyyyyyyyyy and has to start for the Boks in both of these positions, according to Puma. Sharks going to stuff this kid up……watch carefully. The next in a long line of super talented utility backs, Jack of all trades at the Sharks, Master of NONE for the Boks. Very sad – and these praise singers just don’t see it….but Sharks fans will forget him soon enough, when the next Great white hype arrives.

• 284.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I’m happy, you?

Sharks on a 4 game roll…

Hopefully this weekend will be a 5 gamer streak with a nice 5 pointer…

Maybe the other big derby game can go by the form book and leave the dynamite nicely placed before a schweet well deserved 4 pointer bye in wait…

So, this weekend Sharks could have 9points in the bag…

Life is GOOD

• 285.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Kamikazes(Kamikazes)-272: Heyneke wants Steyn at 12 so the Sharks need to play him at 12. He also played most of his rugby in France at 12.

• 286.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

After this weekend the SA conference could very well be

Bulls 52
    Sharks 50
    Stormers 50

Hoo Ha…

Life is not only good but interesting… Especially considering the Sharks ability to score tries effortlessly and accumulate bonus points…

• 287.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-279:

would be my selection for him too right now…

• 288.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Seems to me Steyn will only play 1 game during the England test. The 2nd game.

• 289.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-286: Unfortunately the Stormers would still be ahead of us in that scenario. The number of games won is used as the tie breaker in the S15

• 290.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-286: Sorry to burst your bubble mate but the Stormers will still be ahead of the Sharks because they have won more games.

Also Stormers are winning this weekend by 3.

• 291.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-289: And there the Sharks ‘happiness’ thread turns to sh y te.

• 292.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-289: snap.

• 293.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-289: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-290: Did you see any log positions next to teams…

Moot point anyway… Sharks effectively will be on 54 should they win with BP come Saturday.

which will make it

Sharks 54
    Bulls 52
    Stormers 50

• 294.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-291: I am a Sharks fan BTW

• 295.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-293: True – once we play the Bye. The Bulls and Stormers have used up their free 8 points already

• 296.Jeez: Reply to this comment

So who will be Steyn’s 13? Jordaan guy playing great rugga and Whitehead good too!
    9. Mcloud
    10. Lambie
    11. mvovo
    12. Steyn
    13. Jordaan
    14. JP
    15. Viljoen/Ludik

Now they just need another few decent locks and decent back up at scrummie.

• 297.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-295: If there is one team that needs to be relegated out of the S15, is this useless Bye team

• 298.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Breaking news everyone:

Just add a “BOOM” somewhere in your post, and you will be super cool, feared even. (at least in your own head.)

• 299.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-284:

Wow, 4 on the trot. Bet no other team has done that!! Very impressive indeed. In fact impressive enough for someone to spend their entire Sunday on this blog, with BOOM, and HOOHA etc. Like Al Pacino maybe. Wow.

• 300.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-293: then the sharks will have 2 games left. one of them you can lose against the Bulls. While the Stormers have a chance to get 15 against the Lions, Cheetahs, Rebels.

That would leave Stormers on 65
    Sharks on 59 maybe 60.

Nice one woming your way out of your mistake.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.