Steyn back in the Tank

Frans Steyn has signed a three-year contract with the Sharks.

The Springbok back left the Sharks in 2009 to join Racing Metro on a two-and-a-half year deal and won 61 caps for the French club. Steyn recently expressed his desire to return to South Africa and the Sharks were always likely to get his signature.

Steyn will officially join the union on 1 July, but an IRB ruling stipulating that any player registered after 1 April is ineligible for the play-offs means that Steyn would watch from the stands should the Sharks progress to that stage of the tournament.

‘It is great to have him back with us as we did miss him,’ said Sharks coach John Plumtree. ‘He was definitely an influential player when he left and he will again be that, so it is fantastic to have him with the Sharks.’

Steyn has played 47 Tests for the Springboks and is expected to wear the No 12 jersey in the three-Test series against England in June.

Click here to read SA Rugby magazine’s article on Frans Steyn

366 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-296: Decent backup at 9… Hows about Ruan Pienaar…? The sky’s the limit and a little birdie in that sky tells me that never say never… :wink:

• 302.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-300: See HG anyone can do what you do.

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-300: lol woming=worming

• 303.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I see Frankie won’t be able to play in the playoffs as he joins the squad after the cutoff.

Or is this really an irrelevant point??

• 304.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-300: Yeah right… Stormers win with a bonus point…. Hehehe…

Dont forget, some tired Stormers will have no respite going straight into Intls and then straight back into Super rugby against a Lions team with much rest and all their players back, playing their probable last Super Rugby games as a Union and playing for pride… A banana peel if ever there was one, especially if you fools arrogantly write the opposition off like you normally tend to do…

A game against a rested Cheetahs wont be easy either at FS Stadium and I suspect that a little surprise awaits there. Stormers best bet is probably against the Rebs but lets not forget they beat the Crusaders and can play pretty decent rugby.

Sharks play a tired Lions team on Sat after a demoralising and then have a bye after the Intls which will help with any little niggles followed by two games at the Tank… Bulls would have just played the Cheetahs which I have no doubt will be physical to a fault followed by a long journey to Durbs which I reckon could turn out in effect to be the SA conference championship game… Sharks have a great chance there, at least as much a chance as beating the “awesome” Stormers last week…

Followed by a Cheetahs game at Kings Park too… Not easy but by then all to play for…

Life truly is GOOD :wink:

• 305.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303: It will be interesting to see how Plumtree manages this situation

• 306.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-294: That was meant for HG sorry. He of the “sharks Happiness” fame.

• 307.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303: Dude did you get my email?

After the break Sharks still need to play Bulls and Cheetahs. Those are both at home but not easy games at all. Bulls are class and Cheetahs are Sharks boogey team.

Stormers play Lions (H), Cheetahs (A) and Rebels (H).

I would say the Stormers have an easier route to the play-offs.

• 308.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303: Frankie can lend a hand, or boot, against the Lions, Bulls and Cheetahs though. Doubt the Lions but definitely the 2 latter teams…

Happiness is a Rocket Boot…

• 309.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-301:
    I doubt Pienaar will come back, must be a reason why he didnt stick around. Hoffman, who is injured at the mo, just isnt up to scratch, if Mcloud gets injured the backs will suffer. Hoffmann takes 14 steps before passing the ball. Id bring back BJ Botha too… Mostert…

• 310.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Back up flyhalf????? Bosman perhaps or Viljoen? Freddy off back to France.

• 311.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

AWESOME. stoked for the sharks, their fans and the BOKS.

• 312.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-309: Pienaar was in Durban this W/E… And probably still is… You telling me that Rudi and Brian wouldnt even try to at least say huzzit to Pienaar and have a cup of coffee and a bite to eat in Umhlanga…

Come now… The Sharks are afoot cuzzie…

• 313.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-304: Don’t forget most of the tired Stormer forwards are not in the Bok reckoning……..and fortunately we get Schalk, Duane and Koster back. Added to that, most of the Stormer backs who ARE in the Bok mix – won’t be starting. So yeah – can’t see the Stormers being as tired and Sharks and Bulls. But then again, you chaps have Frans Steyn back for those games, so it shouldn’t matter how tired your front row or loose trio is…as Frans will beat the Bulls on his own – won’t he?

• 314.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-304: Dude the Stormers will be focussed and know they need to win every game with a bonus point. I am sure Alister will instruct the guys to get the win then go hard for the bonus point.

Stormers will only lose 2 forwards to the Boks during June Etzebeth and Bekker and only 1 to the U/20 Kitshoff. So most of the pack will be well rested. Burger and Koster return for Lions game with Duane Vermeulen returning for Cheetahs game.

Sharks seems to me is losing more players to the Boks so your team will be more tired/might be injured come the 6 July.

All those teams the Stormers play have nothing to play for anymore so their motivation wont be that high. The Bulls will be playing for a play-off spot so you can expect them to go hard against the Sharkies come the 6th July.

• 315.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-310: I reckon a little wangle may come the way of Rocket Steyn… Freddie leaves to Toulon, a coupla “emergency injuries” and Voila! Rocket Replacement… Especially if he was named in the Sharks squad in April

• 316.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-280:

Aw no my Stormers blogging buddy…why so much anger and resentment. Ya need to cool those flapping fanny lips boet…getting yourself all hot and bothered and soon you’ll have to lie down.

Come to Kings Park and take in the atmosphere of the stadium…get that whiff of success in your lungs and feel the excitement of a Sharks win as the adrenaline sweeps you away. The Last Outpost Of The British Empire sucks in all visitors and before you know it you’re addicted and soon you will be wearing the black & white…as so many others before you and after. Release your inhibitions and shake off the shackles of decades of verkrampte Capetonian knuckldragging boredom, supporting a team that smacks of low brows and uneven teeth.

Join The Sharks generation…be at one with the beautiful people of Natal.

• 317.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-313: You forget we have our bye when the S15 resumes = so the Sharks Boks will have an extra week of rest

• 318.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-314: Um… when last did the Stormers get a winning bonus point…

Sorryforyou…

Pop!

• 319.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-303:

won’t the sharks invoke the same rule that the stormers did last year?

• 320.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-313: Pop goes that bubble!

• 321.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-319: I believe the new ruling was put into place exactly because of the Schalk Britz shenanigans last year

• 322.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-316: Happiness is…

A win at Kings Park despite the ref…
    The return of a Son of the Sharks…
    An imminent return to the Sharks rightful place… At least above them Breezers…

Happy thread here, truly :lol:

• 323.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-322:

So many meanies on this blog just hatin’ our boys in black & white.

We can’t help it that the boys are winning and others are losing. Gee whizz! ;-)

• 324.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-319: Unfortunately for the Sharks, Exceptional Circumstances™ are geographically limited to no further than the Overberg and Winelands.

• 325.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-320: Glad you are aware your bubble can burst in the blink of an eye (or in the case of some of the older Sharks fans round here; 3 blinks of an eye – as they strike me as the twitchy, butt clenching, fragile and timid types)

• 326.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

Some bloggers got a fetish about old age..like it’s a bad thing?

• 327.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-323: It is a truly beautiful thing…

But let us just be humble…and happy :wink:

• 328.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

FCKU2

Some sweeping generalisations about sharks supporters.
    You paint with a pretty broad brush pal.

BTW.Why all the vitriol directed at Frans?.Ask yourself if your
    comments would have been the same if he had signed
    for Bulls/Stormers.

In the absence of smiley facilities let me just say Regards

• 329.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-325: So schweet…

Here’s a naughty little spank for you…

Must try harder

• 330.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-324:

Whine of Origin and all that?

• 331.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-327:

It just keeps getting harder for them as this weekend approaches. The okes are knuiping those leopard print thongs back in Cape Town. The cranberry daiquiris are going to flow in the mother city.

• 332.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Welcome back Frans. From what I’ve gathered from current players over there, practice is fairly overrated in France.
    Welkom terug by afkak!!!

• 333.RiotBananas: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-329:

He’s cracking piece by piece.

• 334.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-331: Yoh! :lol: Maybe I just go along to Loftus this saturday and see some Angry Bulls in action… A nice contrast to all the happiness of this week…

Can catch the Lions vs Sharks game before, at the Stadium…

• 335.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@RiotBananas(Dawnpre)-326: It’s only a bad thing when oldies try to act like teenagers……Get it Bruv?

• 336.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-334: You stay in Pretoria? Ok, I take back all the sh y te I have thrown your way. You deserve no further pain. You pay every single day of your life already. Eina.

• 337.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Love it when the Stormers fans here talk about overweight and out of condition.
    On Saturday at the pre game warm up ,I just happened to see Alistar and that grossly overweight Proudfoot standing next to that ridiculousnew Sharks mascot.
    Yep all three cut from the same mould,the Sharks mascot probably being the healthiest looking.
    No wonder the Stormers are tired and depleted even with two rest days.
    If that is the condition the coaches are in doesn’t speak volumes for the players

• 338.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-336: More shopping centres and Churches per square kilometre than anywhere on the planet… English language Music trapped in a timewarp between 1987 – 1992…

Other than that it is rather underrated…

More beautiful blonde women per square metre than anywhere on the planet
    Speaking Zulu when talking to Black people behind any counter firstly induces incredulous disbelief followed by the best service ever.
    Safe, clean and close to the bush…
    Just a short hop to Kings Park.
    Less Mo.ffies per square meter than Cape Town too….

Happiness all round…

• 339.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mad eye(mad eye)-337: Lets talk about the conditioning of the Sharks Girls…

Farkme a beautiful sight!

• 340.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-338:
    More brothels and homosexuals per square KM than anywhere else in SA. You must be in your element.

• 341.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

The Sharks supporters are living the good life well:-)

• 342.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Stawm(Stawm)-340: Cape Town…? No I was talking about the Capital of SA… Pretoria.

• 343.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-342: Mate, I won’t be slagging you off anymore. I mean it. You live in Pretoria, and I understand your pain. In fact, all I feel now, is a slight tinge of guilt that I judged you so harshly – before I found out about your secret shame. There are NO nasty words on this earth able to meet the daily punishment that is: Life in Snor City. Be blessed and may the force be with you. I will have to focus on the gown wearing, back slapping, teenage wannabes, the Hefner bruvvas now.

• 344.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-341: As do most autistic and retarded folk who don’t know any better……

• 345.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-343: Lol… I am thankful that I dont have to worry about literal CYA… Happiness is no steel plates in underpants in Pretoria. :lol:

• 346.Bok Shark: Reply to this comment

Back where he belongs!!! And at 12

• 347.ufo: Reply to this comment

• 348.ufo: Reply to this comment

• 349.ufo: Reply to this comment

• 350.ufo: Reply to this comment

100…!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.