Tuilagi gets green light

England centre Manu Tuilagi has been found not guilty of dangerous play and will tour South Africa next month.

Tuilagi attended a disciplinary hearing on Tuesday to answer a charge that he had tip-tackled Harlequins scrumhalf Danny Care in last Saturday’s Premiership final.

The judiciary was satisfied that referee Wayne Barnes got it right in not sending Tuilagi off and felt the tackle deserved no further sanction.

Tuilagi is now free to take part in England’s three Tests against South Africa.

35 Comments

• 1.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Dirty Dragon

• 2.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Speaking of which…what happened to CJ?

• 3.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

The same Baabaas team that got smashed by England’s no names on the weekend, just beat Ireland last night. Should make for an interesting tour….

• 4.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-3: yes, that does not bode well for the irish. i was expecting them to win atleast 1 game in nz.

• 5.stand-off: Reply to this comment

In S15 the refs and disciplinary panels have been very strict with tip tackles – rightly so! He wouldn’t have got off so lightly here!
    Good player, our boys had better watch him!

• 6.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-3:
    @Sasuke(Sasuke)-4:
    looks like the irish put on thier french jerseys for the game.

• 7.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

He’s going to put the sh*ts up the PrickBoks, they tend to flap their arms like spastic girls when the Polys start running at them

“yours”

“no, YOURS !”

• 8.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Check out the tackle – it must be on Youtube or Rugbydump. Really not much in it. The whole tip-tackle war crimes court in The Hague was getting silly and I am glad he was found not guilty. Sure he picked Danny Care up, but he hardly drove or dropped him into the ground.

The two “legal” tackles that the Hurricanes hooker put in on Gerard and Mitchell of the Rebels on the weekend were far more dangerous and worthy of a citing. But there just happens to be no rule that says you can’t lead with your head in the tackle on someone’s sternum or chin. Both Rebels players are very lucky to not have suffered more serious injuries (although both ended up in hospital – Gerard with a damaged sternum).

But everyone gets there broekies in a twist when someone’s legs are lifted slightly off the ground. I hope it’s a fad that will pass.

• 9.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-8:

don’t be such a big girls blouse you numpty, the Hurricane used both arms in both tackles. Noone in Oz has a problem but a Yappie will always find a reason to whinge about something, even when it’s not 1 of their own.

• 10.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-9: I suspect the only thing you’ve ever tackled is your mom’s dishes. At least you used your arms.

• 11.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-10:

nope.

they only eat takeaways in the trailer park.

she weighs 450 pounds and hasn’t seen a sunrise since they shot John Lennon.

• 12.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-9:
    Took the liberty to exile yourself from the Southern tip of Africa?
    Put on your big girl panties, and move on dear. Take to knitting or something, :wink:

• 13.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

It most certainly wasn’t his English language books…

• 14.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-11: So PrickBox is the South Island’s very own Gilbert Grape?

• 15.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

2 tackles, 2 stretchers, no citings. Ask yourself why.

You’re wrong.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hahahaha this is going to be right up that bigot Great White Shark’s alley, he’d already predicted that Manu was going to get off becaus he is a “PI” :roll:

• 17.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-16:
    cultural heritage

• 18.greentea: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-4:

You were expecting them to win at least one game in NZ, they haven’t won one in 100 years of trying what makes you think they will this time? We lose to the home nations once in a blue moon you must be confused with the Bokke.

• 19.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-15: You really are thick, aren’t you? That’s the point I’m making. There were no citings because no one has bothered to formulate a rule about headbutt tackles. Tip tackles are the current flavour, but one or two more head-to-chin hits with serious injuries, and there will be a new rule and flood of citings.

The big kids are playing here now. Try to keep up.

• 20.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-13:

so Bryce, tell us…..why “in Oz” if you’re “an Aussie” ?

I know, I know. Noone, but noone, wants to own up to being a whinging Yappie. Understandable.

• 21.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-19:

there would be citings if there were injuries when arms weren’t used.

there were injuries, twice, but no citings because arms, both, were used in, both, tackles.

you’re wrong but don’t worry sweetheart, I know you can’t admit it in the playground especially when you’ve wet your pants.

• 22.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-21: You still don’t get it, and I’ve written it in very simple English, in two separate posts. There really is very little else I can do to help you. I guess it’s up to your TEFL teacher now.

• 23.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-14:

and a sour one at that is our pricky.

• 24.viewer: Reply to this comment

Love these big bruising crash-ballers

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-20: bryce is a “naturalised aussie”, he’s been there for 14 years now and pays his taxes!

• 26.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-25:

that makes a nice change.

someobody has to pay for pricky’s dole.

• 27.brian WP: Reply to this comment

manu tuilagi = muscle no brains
    JDV = muscle and brains
    F Steyn = muscle no brains but big boot
    Oh boy, going to be a battle in the midfield
    ps: W Olivier = muscle and shampoo

• 28.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Without a comment
    Below what I wrote yesterday :

“6.Hondo: 29 May 2012, 13:46 pm
    Tuilagi Jr will get away with it, those PIs almost always managed to!
    Look no further than the PI who ‘coconutted’ Mvovo few weeks ago ;)

• 29.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-19:
    Some may argue your point regarding the severity of the tip tackle, I said it was irrelevant.
    Umaga and Mealamu got away with worse if you care to remember, the issue at stake was that the Poms had no intention from the outset to punish Tuilagi ahead of the SA Tour.

• 30.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-2: CJ cleared.

• 31.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-21: Wow it’s tiring reading the stuff you write, I understand you find it fun slating Saffas and are winding us all up but I would love to know if you really do hate all Saffas or are just taking the p*ss

• 32.willievz: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-3: I’m telling you.

I am getting very worried about this England series.

• 33.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

He’s an elusive runner and will need to be nailed but is also a discipline worry for their coach as he has a habit of getting into trouble.

Samoa are far and away the dirtiest team in world rugby. Every 4 years they try to punch and elbow their way through a World Cup match against the Boks and every time they come up short.

It is really pathetic and embarrassing. Disgraceful actually.

• 34.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

@umfolozi(umfolozi)-33: You silly Saffie sausage,the worlds premier ‘dirty team’ has always been the prickboks,as acknowledged by every other rugby playing nation on the planet.
    I guess the Safwit press censors this knowledge from the general Safwit populous,thus keeping you all blinkered.
    Believe me if a survey was conducted on dirty play,the Prickboks would win hands down,which would be quite novel as you haven’t won much lately.
    In conclusion Safwits wake up and smell the biltong,your rugby players are as clean as Bakkies Botha’s bottom

• 35.umfolozi: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-34:
    You are really pathetic and embarrassing. Disgraceful actually.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.