Freddie gets French recall

Sharks flyhalf Freddie Michalak has been included in France’s squad for the tour to Argentina.

Nine new players have been named in the 28-man group. Props Antoine Guillamon and Yvan Watremez, hooker Christopher Tolofua, loose forward Romain Taofifenua and lock Christophe Samson are amongst the forwards. Scrumhalf Maxime Machenaud, centres Geoffrey Doumayrou and Romain Martial and wing Brice Dulin are amongst the backs

Only seven players who played in last year’s World Cup final have been retained (Dimitri Szarzewski, Pascal Papé, Louis Picamoles, Fulgence Ouedraogo, Morgan Parra, François Trinh-Duc and Maxime Mermoz).

Skipper Thierry Dusautoir has been rested for the two-Test tour. Papé will lead the team in his absence.

The first game will be played on 16 June in Cordoba and the second in Tucuman on 23 June.

France squad:

Forwards: David Attoub (Stade Français), Vincent Debaty (Clermont), Antoine Guillamon (Lyon), Yvan Watremez (Biarritz), Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Français), Yoan Maestri (Toulouse), Christophe Samson (Toulon), Pascal Pape (Stade Français) (capitain) Romain Taofifenua (Perpignan), Alexandre Lapandry (Clermont), Wenceslas Lauret (Biarritz), Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse), Raphael Lakafia (Biarritz).

Backs: Maxime Machenaud (Agen), Morgan Parra (Clermont), Frederic Michalak (Sharks), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Geoffrey Doumayrou (Montpellier), Florian Fritz (Toulouse), Wesley Fofana (Clermont), Maxime Mermoz (Perpignan), Benjamin Fall (Racing Metro), Romain Martial (Castres), Yoann Huget (Bayonne), Jean Marcellin Buttin (Clermont), Brice Dulin (Agen).