Crusaders crack into top gear

JON CARDINELLI writes that the Crusaders were at their brutal and clinical best in the 51-18 hammering of the Highlanders in Christchurch.

The battle at the breakdown was a barney of the fiercest order. Both sets of forwards powered into the tackle point, and referee Steve Walsh was forced to blow his whistle far too many times in the first half.

Initially, it was the Highlanders who dominated the collisions and the Crusaders who resorted to illegal tactics as a means of killing the visitors’ momentum. Walsh eventually lost his patience with the Crusaders in the 16th minute, sending George Whitelock to the sin bin for repeated team infringements.

The shorthanded Crusaders then proceeded to concede 10 points during the period of sanction, allowing the Highlanders to edge 13-10 in front. Centre Tamati Ellison showed impressive power to shrug off one tackle attempt, fend another would-be defender and jet in for what would be a seven-pointer.

But while the Highlanders had done well to cash in, they couldn’t compare to the Crusaders for clinical efficiency. Just as Whitelock returned from the sidelines, Highlanders loose forward James Haskell was yellow-carded for a similar offence. In the ensuing 10 minutes, the Crusaders amassed 19 match-winning points.

Two tries were scored by Zac Guildford in this period, and Dan Carter featured prominently in the creation of both. The Highlanders defence rushed the Crusaders who were pinned back in their own 22, but Carter didn’t panic, weighing in with a short grubber that was smartly collected by reserve hooker Quentin MacDonald, who then transferred the ball to Guildford. The winger still had plenty to do, and showed good awareness and pace to finish.

Guildford’s second strike was down to a fantastic forward platform, although Carter once again produced a magic, defence-breaching touch. A great lineout win was followed by a powerful series of hit-ups and offloads. When the Highlanders’ defenders were caught in the uncertainty of whether to advance or retreat, Carter slipped through another grubber for Guildford to chase.

The Crusaders scored from the subsequent kickoff. A Highlanders defensive error allowed the hosts to obtain the necessary momentum before unleashing their free-running backs. Ryan Crotty rounded off what was the bonus-point try, and at 32-13, the game was over as a contest.

The Highlanders employed a more expansive approach in an attempt to reduce the massive deficit, but this only served to play into the Crusaders’ hands.

The hosts scored after the break through Richie McCaw, the captain finishing another great team surge. There were more opportunities to score in the build up to the 60-minute mark, and after a few misfires, the Crusaders finally grabbed their sixth through prop Wyatt Crockett.

To their credit, they never relented, and a seventh try in the 73rd minute as well as another conversion by Carter brought up the half century.

The performance is an encouraging one for a Crusaders outfit that has blown hot and cold over the past four or five rounds. They will head into the break in a powerful position.

Conversely, this result has seen the Highlanders’ play-off prospects sustaining a decisive knock. They remain outside the top six with two league matches to play, and there has been nothing in their recent showings to suggest they will beat their remaining opponents (the Chiefs and Reds).

168 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Yoh

McCaw’s uitgehonger for a try!

• 52.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-50:

• 53.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yeesh.

• 54.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Saders putting on a master class display in offensive kicking.

Not mindless wolkekrabbers after hard earned 20 meter forward drives.

Take note AC & Ludeke.

• 55.viewer: Reply to this comment

@53 huh what happened

• 56.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Swak besluitneming after a clean break.

• 57.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

But Landers deserve a bit of luck, everything’s just been going too well for Saders.

• 58.viewer: Reply to this comment

@56 by which team?

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it seems landers thought they were gonna box but the saders have brought out their ninjitsu!

landers are known to rally quite well towards the death so it ain’t over.

• 60.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Highlanders came with a knife to a gun fight.

Maybe one day when I’m old and grey my beloved Stormers will be able to launch surprise attacks like these, ai.

• 61.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-59:

SNAP :) !

• 62.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Another one.

Only mercy for Landers now would be if they pull off some key players.

But with the limited game time McCaw & Carter’s had this year I don’t think that will happen until minute 77.

• 63.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

One has to admire 100% ‘precision’ passing from a team on the front-foot playing total rugby all across the paddock…

• 64.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Lekker man Gear!

Maybe that’ll lift their spirits a bit, playing like they’ve hoisted the white flag already.

• 65.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Really enjoyable game this.

Who said NZ derbies aren’t physical? Major contact at the rucks there, We;d better watch out for that tactic, it seems like it works really well.

• 66.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Hurri, yip agree the Irish will be tough as always but we should take them 3 nil.

Meyer take note, your kick and chase rubbish ain’t going to cut the mustard this year.

• 67.viewer: Reply to this comment

How’s ben franks doing at tighthead

• 68.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

sheeet I lose margin points on bru – had Saders to win by 13 !

The biggest margin in our pool was a win by 18 points, i don’t think Super Bru should award margin points for someone if they’re closest in a pool but a country mile off the score. If you’re not within 5 points you should not get MP.

SUPER BRU – needs to change this. I’ve seen cases where a person is more than 20 points off the margin but because be played the wings he gets the MP !

• 69.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-67:

Not too many scrums but when they do pack down Saders are going forward all the time.

• 70.viewer: Reply to this comment

I gather I’m missing a good match

• 71.Transformation: Reply to this comment

how much kicking are the saders doing? simon went to town on how new zealanders kick more than saffas on the “play to win” thread, the difference is the new zealanders can blitz with tries.

• 72.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-68:i can see you are not taking this SuperBru thing seriously? :???:

• 73.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

that is not a legal rolling maul.

• 74.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-73:
    there is hardly a legal rolling maul these days

• 75.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Houston it looks like you have a big problem come play off time

• 76.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Saders now looking to push around some ‘Barca’ passes

• 77.viewer: Reply to this comment

50 up

• 78.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

After a bag full of tries you’re gonna come and moan about a maul?

• 79.chch: Reply to this comment

fun game

• 80.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-78:
    yep, Houstons just started.

• 81.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-74:
    not true.
    the bulls are very good in this respect.
    and the stormers also maul ‘cleanly’ but not as well.

• 82.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

he loves seeing the Crusaders win, he’s a closet fan

• 83.viewer: Reply to this comment

‘Saders used their bye week productively
    Blow-out score

• 84.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-81:
    Oh so Saders maul illegally now?
    You are really missing a good game here. Sader showing that they are a huge threat to all teams, home and away.

• 85.chch: Reply to this comment

@viewer(viewer)-10: missing?

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-81: your dislike for the saders is bordering on embraboer :D

• 87.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-75:

we are not afraid.
    if all games go as expected then i think we should play you at home.

and we KNOW how to beat you at home.

• 88.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

There we have it.
    Highlanders not in the game really.
    Saders showing that again they are the team to beat.

• 89.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

What a game to start the weekend, hope it’s a sign of things to come.

• 90.chch: Reply to this comment

Great win

• 91.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87:

if they played tomorrow Houston who would win?

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-81: the bulls lost to the landers last week, this week the saders mop the floor with the landers…

you reckon bulls have a chance if they have to play a semi in chrstchurch? ;)

• 93.chch: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-88:

But we are probably going to end up in playoff away games

• 94.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Do you?

• 95.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Crusaders will finish second on Nz log and then will go on seek and destroy missions in SA or Oz

• 96.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Good result for Sharks.

This pegs bag the Highlanders in the race for the top 6.

Only problem is that the Crusaders looks likely to go all the way. But if they play like this they definately desrve it.

Try and compare this with the Stormers game. :lol:

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-93: that rebels loss to haunt you…

• 98.chch: Reply to this comment

Chiefs with the 5 point home bye tomorrow

• 99.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

its the needle but there is a haystack too.

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-84:
    ja, they do.

but yes they are a huge threat

(the refereeing system is not adequate to deal with their level of indiscretion).

@Transformation(Transformation)-86:
    i really do try to be objective but the continual filthy cheating just grates me transie.

• 100.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hang on, it looks like the Bulls have never beaten the Saders at home

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.