Stunning Stormers stop Bulls

RYAN VREDE reports on a breathtaking spectacle in which an impossibly brilliant defensive effort saw the Stormers beat the Bulls 19-15.

This had it all. Abrasive phase play? Numerous examples. Brutal collisions? There were plenty. Foul-mouthed exhortations to achieve a level of performance that transcends the expected? Check. An underdog that refused to accept that billing. You bet ya. This was a derby of epic proportions, one befitting a match of this importance. And ultimately the Stormers took Loftus off the back of one of the great defensive performances.

When viewed in the context of their dire situation with injuries to key players, the importance of the result, the opposition, the venue, and having a man yellow carded, the Stormers’ performance was among the best and bravest they have produced in the history of Super Rugby.

The Bulls dominated possession and territory and that they scored just one try is a credit to the Stormers’ defensive structure and the accuracy of their execution within that structure. The Bulls needed to play with a high tempo to seriously trouble them, but their ability to do so was stifled by uncompromising hits at the gainline and a rabid breakdown contest.

However, the Cape side’s attack struggled and undermined their cause yet again. Credit to the Bulls, who themselves produced a tackle fight of appreciable strength and accuracy. The Stormers shelved their renowned kicking game in favour of ball-in-hand attack but their surges were often forced to go lateral as a pink wall advanced at them with pace and cohesion. Often the Stormers played well behind the advantage line and seldom threatened. There was a throwback moment from Bryan Habana in the 20th minute where the winger broke and made 40m. But that moment was birthed from a broken field situation. Their general play lacked innovation and precision, while the scrums were little more than adequate and lineouts an absolute shambles. But when it mattered they delivered, Habana, once a beloved son of Loftus, downing his former team-mates.

Morne Steyn and Peter Grant traded penalties before the Bulls crossed the whitewash, controversially so, as it appeared that Pierre Spies had grounded the ball on Deon Carstens’ boot. Steyn missed the conversion but banked three points shortly thereafter. Grant landed a penalty of his own just before the break to leave his side trialling 11-9.

Defence dominated threafter, and with neither side able to get go-forward and the lines able to fan out, the attacking play was laboured and largely impotent.

Stormers prop Frans Malherbe complicated an already arduous task when he got himself sin-binned for a tip-tackle with a quarter of the game to play. But the Stormers redoubled their efforts and scored the only points in Malherbe’s absence, Grant sinking a penalty to make it a two-point game.

Then the play that changed the game. The Stormers seemed to be venturing down another attacking dead-end when Quin Roux threw a speculative pass wide to Siya Kolisi. But JJ Engelbrecht was hesitant in closing the flanker down, allowing him to cut through a hole and pick Habana out with the most perfectly timed pass. It topped a masterclass from Kolisi. At only 20, his future is very, very bright.

The Bulls launched an almighty late assault but the Stormers held all the cards. It was the Stormers’ primary strength against a desperate and disjointed Bulls attack. They never looked like folding.

What a match.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

399 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

• 351.nama1: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-349:
    Jeez no…I don’t want them near us…just far enough away to beat the bejeezes out of them.

Vokkit… remember the fool who said before the 1st match at Newlands, “come on Bulls, do it for Eugene Terreblanche”

Now why would we want to keep people like that? If you keep the team, you must accomodate their supporters. ****’em.

• 352.SAWP: Reply to this comment

Ek is nie a Stormer nie! Ek bly Verloor…….. Ek is a bul

• 353.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@351

Fair enough Nam. Most of them seem to disappear when they get beat though, so maybe only have to make room for a couple of hundred at most.

• 354.SAWP: Reply to this comment

And how can anyone say that game was boring? you must be out of your cotton picking mind! We have played the Aussies and Kiwi’s and have a 6 win and 1 loss ratio in which your sublime Crusaders were outscored 2 tries to 1. So no wonder the Kiwis score so many tries against each other they cant defed.

• 355.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Tonight was like a home game for the Stormers. And Loftus was silenced. For the second year in a row. It was like music to my ears.

• 356.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Well done the mighty Stormers.

• 357.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

I wonder what HGs new nic will be?

• 358.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-355:

Yeah, it was only a year ago but so much water has passed under the bridge since then. Remember how ET celebrated with us but now he despises SAn rugby :D

• 359.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-358:

Man, I have never ever seen so many Stormers jerseys in Pretoria. It was like a home game. Loftus a fortress. Well pffft to that.

And ET can suck eggs for all I care. :D

• 360.nama1: Reply to this comment

@SAWP(SAWP)-352:
    Is jy van die slim bulle of die dom bulle? :wink:

Ons het julle lekker gemoer, ne!!!

• 361.Namwp: Reply to this comment

Stil met die bul stormers bly baas al is meyer in blinde poepol

• 362.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-357:

Give him a week. That’s the usual. Once he surfaces from his haze. A little more stupider.

• 363.Namwp: Reply to this comment

HM hahaha jou ou grapjas hoekom drik jy nie maar net die stormers n pit nie fooken woonker

• 364.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-319:
    Did the site crash? Is that why I’m struggling to get on? Thought it was Tac. :lol:

Wonder how (the real) Grant10 feel about Brussow not being in the squad.

Man, how I wish he was here to tell HM about that oversight.

Come on man G10, you’re are missed here. Give us your take on the squad.

• 365.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-364:
    Yes the site was having issues I could not get on either
    Everyone trying to get on to blast HM’s squad

• 366.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Ryan vrede

Your second paragraph describing the clash had it all…the only checks you had was potty mouthed angry men donnering each other…is that good rugby in RSA?

Right!!..then the boks get beat by technically better sides but the boks made the big hits in the game..yet they think they should have won!!

• 367.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-364:

Don’t say i didn’t warn you about Brussow!

Loftus today was a blast. And very noisy for a while. But only a while. Then us Stormers made a moer of a noise. :lol:

• 368.nama1: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-367:
    That you did. :lol:

Still find it very strange.

JW now looking to sign Pokock… a fetcher.

Our coach say… no fetcher.

Strange indeed.

• 369.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Keo (the man) probably had a brandy and coke (what a joke!) on the Stormers’ victory, and Ryan, if you sniffed (ha, ha, again) a Stormers’ victory, it didn’t find its way into your prediction. You are gloating after the fact. See today’s Rapport for the story of the year. Its an exposé about the real Keo.

• 370.Boksarenumber4: Reply to this comment

The Bulls were terrible. Steyn must give up skepskop. Poor SA rugby doomed with the new coach.

• 371.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Excellent performance Stormer’s… well on the road to their third consecutive play-offs…

As for the disgraced Mark Keohane… cocaine abuse and womanising most certainly goes a long way to explaining that farcical narcissism that is keo tv and the daily thousands of attention seeking twotters…

• 372.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

awesome stormers. i did not think you could do it! how could i doubt you. well on your way to topping the SA conference now. and if chiefs somehow drop a game or two maybe home ground advantage all the way through the playoffs…

sharks out of top 6…. bet they’re praying for 6th now. you’d rather be playing brumbies than bulls or crusaders…..

at this point though looks like 3 kiwis sides, 2 sa sides and 1 aussie side in playoffs.

sharks bulls clash will likely be a play off decider. go sharks :)

• 373.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel(Lang Giel)-369:
    Still smarting after your loss, Lang Giel?

Get over it already

WE BEAT YOU AT LOFTUS.

Two years in a row now.

No need to use Marks “problems” to make yourself feel better.

• 374.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-373:

“WE BEAT YOU AT LOFTUS.”

What position were you playing?

• 375.nama1: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-374:
    SUPPORTER position.

• 376.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-375:

Nice one… as you were… continue ribbing… :wink:

Great win…

• 377.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

change the heading. stunning stormers stop springbulls.

• 378.nama1: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-376:
    It was.

Unexpected for some… a surprise for most (Bulls and some Shark supporters), but not for me.

I knew WE would bounce back after last week.

People forgot that the Bulls lost two in a row and was returning from overseas…they only looked at the Stormers lost against the Sharks last week.

Well…the result is there for all to see.

• 379.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Stormers smashed those w@nkers in pienk big time. Spies is worthless. What a plonker.

• 380.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2(Jinx2)-379:

careful there you’re talking about the next bok kaptein there you know. :)

• 381.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Bulls lost to an Landers and Chiefs and let’s be honest – without taking anything away from the Chiefs – those two side are not operating at thr levels they previously have. Bulls also got out of jail against Rebels and Waratahs. The Stormers also haven’t been setting the world alight recently but they have one weapon that they use well and that’s defence! How Kolisi was missed to stop the Sharks runners last week.

I knew it, I had a feeling we’d beat the Bulls. Stormers all the mutha farking way. I called it all week. Where were all our Bully boys last night? At least some of the Shark folk stuck around after their loss!

• 382.geo: Reply to this comment

The stormers showed at Loftus the wrong man in charge of Springbok rugby. Only in Pretoria can the man of the match still be considered only a development player.

• 383.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Eech! http://www.rapport.co.za/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/Keohane-van-sy-kop-af-weens-kokaien-20120602

• 384.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

I said it in the week !! if the Stormer pitch up Mentally & physically they will grind out a win !!! The Bulls fans was going on about 75 -15 win of many years ago !! It was going to be a walk over …. larf out farking loud !!!

And to all the Stormers Haters out there : HG , Gerber13 , Mal oog u know who u are !!! here is to U

…………………/´¯/)
    ……………….,/¯../
    ………………/…./
    …………/´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
    ………/’/…/…./……./¨¯
    …….(‘(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
    …………………….’…/
    ………”…………. _.·´
    …………………….(
    …………………………

• 385.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Preach the word bru! Sorry I couldn’t make it out to your place yesterday. Storm Saam!!!

• 386.Superbru: Reply to this comment

What a match indeed.Defence wins the big ones and so it was shown again.Stormers now have some time off whilst welcoming back their big guns(Burger,Vermeulen,Bekker) after the break.They on the fast track to regaining top of the conference trophy and maybe a home playoff.Very proud of Strompies big effort at ‘previously’ fortress Loftus.

• 387.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-383:

GWS tried to read it but its in your language, could you please give me a quick summary??

• 388.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-387:

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Mark-Keohane-in-cocaine-scandal-20120603

• 389.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Bryce@371
    GWS@388

There is a great song by JJ CALE

• 390.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-388:

Cheers, hasn’t every guy slept with the odd hooker and done a few lines, the alleged sexual harassment part isn’t a good look though.

• 391.cane: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-390:

As I said on another thread Greentea,
    let those without sin hand me the stones.

• 392.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-391:

exactly, if he has to have an addiction I couldn’t think of two better ones to have

• 393.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

The drugs thing carries with it no surprise these days.

The harrassment thing is however a bit sleazy.

• 394.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Ek wonder hoeveel Blou Bul ondersteuners het gisteraand hulle vrouens gemoer?

• 395.FckU2: Reply to this comment

PreDawn. You really are one hypocritical, lying, low-life scumbucket. Have you absolutely no shame? We all know honour, decency and sportsmanship are concepts foreign to you. You say “The harassment thing is however a bit sleazy”?

Just what do you think you and your low-life mates Fern and HeavensGame have been doing to Dawn for the past few years? What do you call that? Your lewd comments. Your sexual innuendo. Your gutter talk. That is sexual harassment you stupid, ignorant low-life. You three also had a go at the two ladies on KeoTV.

Just because you do it anonymously on a blog does not make it any less harassment or you and your mates any less cowards. You and Fern then have the audacity to warn other bloggers about what they say. There are only three permanent deletions that will improve this site. You and your two mates.

• 396.SAfan4life: Reply to this comment

Kolisi, elstad, etzebeth – don’t cross them….they will mo.er you. Voetsek

And that Roux who came on isn’t bad either

• 397.saru1983: Reply to this comment

so keo is a cocaine addict **** i cant stand cocaine addicts ,snobbish cnunts
    if you ask me.Tikkoppe on the other hand nice guys

• 398.shooter: Reply to this comment

Good win Stormers. Bulls shoul’ve finished the game off when they had a chance.
    By scoring at least once in the second halve, and taking the kicks.

Anyhow. Well done.
    And the Lions did the Bulls a favour -luckily.

Beware the Bulls. We might just meet you again in the semi’s/ quarters.

• 399.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-368: hows this two faced skunk

when he got one under his goddamn nose he says he don’t need one unless to fetch beers from his fridge

then he goes through his Damascus realization and now he wants THREE of them altogether in his team.. is Michael Hooper not one Luke Watson wannabe already.. now he want Pocock ALSO .. and how many more fetchers this two face charlatan seeking to align his new found philosophy with

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.