Stunning Stormers stop Bulls
2 Jun 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a breathtaking spectacle in which an impossibly brilliant defensive effort saw the Stormers beat the Bulls 19-15.
This had it all. Abrasive phase play? Numerous examples. Brutal collisions? There were plenty. Foul-mouthed exhortations to achieve a level of performance that transcends the expected? Check. An underdog that refused to accept that billing. You bet ya. This was a derby of epic proportions, one befitting a match of this importance. And ultimately the Stormers took Loftus off the back of one of the great defensive performances.
When viewed in the context of their dire situation with injuries to key players, the importance of the result, the opposition, the venue, and having a man yellow carded, the Stormers’ performance was among the best and bravest they have produced in the history of Super Rugby.
The Bulls dominated possession and territory and that they scored just one try is a credit to the Stormers’ defensive structure and the accuracy of their execution within that structure. The Bulls needed to play with a high tempo to seriously trouble them, but their ability to do so was stifled by uncompromising hits at the gainline and a rabid breakdown contest.
However, the Cape side’s attack struggled and undermined their cause yet again. Credit to the Bulls, who themselves produced a tackle fight of appreciable strength and accuracy. The Stormers shelved their renowned kicking game in favour of ball-in-hand attack but their surges were often forced to go lateral as a pink wall advanced at them with pace and cohesion. Often the Stormers played well behind the advantage line and seldom threatened. There was a throwback moment from Bryan Habana in the 20th minute where the winger broke and made 40m. But that moment was birthed from a broken field situation. Their general play lacked innovation and precision, while the scrums were little more than adequate and lineouts an absolute shambles. But when it mattered they delivered, Habana, once a beloved son of Loftus, downing his former team-mates.
Morne Steyn and Peter Grant traded penalties before the Bulls crossed the whitewash, controversially so, as it appeared that Pierre Spies had grounded the ball on Deon Carstens’ boot. Steyn missed the conversion but banked three points shortly thereafter. Grant landed a penalty of his own just before the break to leave his side trialling 11-9.
Defence dominated threafter, and with neither side able to get go-forward and the lines able to fan out, the attacking play was laboured and largely impotent.
Stormers prop Frans Malherbe complicated an already arduous task when he got himself sin-binned for a tip-tackle with a quarter of the game to play. But the Stormers redoubled their efforts and scored the only points in Malherbe’s absence, Grant sinking a penalty to make it a two-point game.
Then the play that changed the game. The Stormers seemed to be venturing down another attacking dead-end when Quin Roux threw a speculative pass wide to Siya Kolisi. But JJ Engelbrecht was hesitant in closing the flanker down, allowing him to cut through a hole and pick Habana out with the most perfectly timed pass. It topped a masterclass from Kolisi. At only 20, his future is very, very bright.
The Bulls launched an almighty late assault but the Stormers held all the cards. It was the Stormers’ primary strength against a desperate and disjointed Bulls attack. They never looked like folding.
What a match.

399 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
2 Jun 2012, 20:56 pm
Wow Stormers. And at Loftus too. . .
STORMERS B wins!!!!!!what a game
Well done Stormers and their Supporters, that was huge defence, of the best in a long time
2 Jun 2012, 20:57 pm
YEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ok this is our weekend thank you
STORMERS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Wow…!!
What can I say…?
So, so, so SOOOO proud of The Stormers tonight…!!!
MY STORMERS…
OUR STORMERS..!!!
Congratulations, Stormers/WP supporters, an awesome result against all odds.
Who would have thought 2 very assured bloggers HG and Tacitus – both empty handed big time.
And congratulations to Skopskiet especially, you WON the bet nevertheless.
Bulls should also drop Spies…. Useless plonker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I have NEVER been prouder of this Stormers team. Siya – f c uk Mr Meyer (unless he adds your name now in order to avoid embarrassing himself)
Bulls at Loftus hmmmm that tastes goooooooooooooood
Congrats Stormers….now go win the trophy ffs….
2 Jun 2012, 20:58 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-201:
Thanks And who says defense does not win games
We got 4 because of our defense
Well done Stormers. Bull’s need a bit of variation drilled into them which they arent going to get from Ludeke.
Cheers Sharks Lover…
Huge respect to you and mr black for being here…
2 Jun 2012, 20:59 pm
farkit, i cannot believe it. hahahaha – stormers second team beat the bulls at loftus.
Well played Stormers. I really thought the Bulls were going to moer you tonight … But sadly it was not to be.
I guess it will be up to Mitch’s leeusers to do the dirty on your campaign at Newlands when we return from the break.
No Schalk , no Duane , no Bekker.
@ufo(ufo)-204: Congrats boet you boys played with huge passion
2 Jun 2012, 21:00 pm
@ufo(ufo)-204:
Yeah Great win when even we had some doubts
with the reserves too
2 Jun 2012, 21:00 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-210: exactly , thats how we won World Cups too
2 Jun 2012, 21:01 pm
@ufo(ufo)-212:
Agreed You stuck around here, after that tough loss
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-216: No Joe P either
@saru1983(saru1983)-159:
The SA players have the skills… need to move away from this 80 min premeditated approach of frontal assault rugby.
HG hope you got your crowning glorified new name ready it should be a double barrel name
One for Sharks not getting a single point against Lions and the cherishing cherry right on top of the icing is STORMERS fckd your glorified expectations into magnificent unbelieving oblivion in the Bully brekers fortress.
How’s THAT for a double barrel blow out for your overrated lucky packet guppyuppie anticipation?
2 Jun 2012, 21:02 pm
SL @ 216
Thanks Bud… Huge passion…!!
Coach @ 217
Absolutely… I hoped but didn’t really believe we could do it…
Makes me even prouder…!!
Leaves us well placed…
And Schalk and Duane back soon…!!
2 Jun 2012, 21:02 pm
Am in tears here!
2 Jun 2012, 21:03 pm
Kolisi sleek lean and mean and looking the goods – I go brussow, alberts, kolisi
Habana has most likely played his way into Bok team
Yes I know one performance but he played well
Congratulations Stormers, according to some, Bulls were suppose to open a can of Whoop ***…
yes stormers. Kolisi was a monster
2 Jun 2012, 21:04 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-223: What a weekend, good kicks evil in the butt – not once, twice.
Tears of grief or tears of joy Dawn…?
Tissues please!
With all our injuries we beat the Pinksters. If Kolisi had played against the Sharks it would have been a different story. Faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaark yeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! How Kolisi isn’t in the Bok squad amazes me!
Kolisi must be in boks 22
Steady on Vrede, not sure the Stormers were “stunning”. Steady yes and strong in defence but the attacking skills are missing.
2 Jun 2012, 21:05 pm
THE REVENGE OF THE HABANA.
Could not have happened to a nicer guy.
@Dawn(Dawn)-224:
sweet
wow
But there’s no crying in rugby
I really love being wrong! I never thought that our makeshift pack could pull this off..
Did y’all SIYA “The One We Love”…???
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-215: and a mediocre head coach – it is a miracle that you guyd walked away with a fine win at the cow pen.
2 Jun 2012, 21:06 pm
Hey Rob…!!
Hey…!!
Nuff said…!!
2 Jun 2012, 21:06 pm
Awkward time for Heyneke. How will he justify some of his selections in a few minutes’ time. Eish. . .Awkward
2 Jun 2012, 21:07 pm
Well done Stormers.
Thank you Lions for not letting the Sharks get any points.
Take a bow Jebb Sinclair, punched above his weight, terrific heart.
@cab(cab)-227: That would make one awesome back 3 that would compliment one another very well.! Good call.
Well done boys !!!! Massive game to take the SA top spot ! Well deserve break now as well !!
2 Jun 2012, 21:08 pm
And I thought the Lions win was massive
This was huge
Fellow Bloggers this weekend belongs to Stormers and Lions
Well done
2 Jun 2012, 21:08 pm
Well done Allister Coetzee… Matt Proudfoot…Jaques Nienaber and Robbie Fleck…!!
2 Jun 2012, 21:09 pm
No bragging!! All I ask is the respect we earned!!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All