Stunning Stormers stop Bulls

RYAN VREDE reports on a breathtaking spectacle in which an impossibly brilliant defensive effort saw the Stormers beat the Bulls 19-15.

This had it all. Abrasive phase play? Numerous examples. Brutal collisions? There were plenty. Foul-mouthed exhortations to achieve a level of performance that transcends the expected? Check. An underdog that refused to accept that billing. You bet ya. This was a derby of epic proportions, one befitting a match of this importance. And ultimately the Stormers took Loftus off the back of one of the great defensive performances.

When viewed in the context of their dire situation with injuries to key players, the importance of the result, the opposition, the venue, and having a man yellow carded, the Stormers’ performance was among the best and bravest they have produced in the history of Super Rugby.

The Bulls dominated possession and territory and that they scored just one try is a credit to the Stormers’ defensive structure and the accuracy of their execution within that structure. The Bulls needed to play with a high tempo to seriously trouble them, but their ability to do so was stifled by uncompromising hits at the gainline and a rabid breakdown contest.

However, the Cape side’s attack struggled and undermined their cause yet again. Credit to the Bulls, who themselves produced a tackle fight of appreciable strength and accuracy. The Stormers shelved their renowned kicking game in favour of ball-in-hand attack but their surges were often forced to go lateral as a pink wall advanced at them with pace and cohesion. Often the Stormers played well behind the advantage line and seldom threatened. There was a throwback moment from Bryan Habana in the 20th minute where the winger broke and made 40m. But that moment was birthed from a broken field situation. Their general play lacked innovation and precision, while the scrums were little more than adequate and lineouts an absolute shambles. But when it mattered they delivered, Habana, once a beloved son of Loftus, downing his former team-mates.

Morne Steyn and Peter Grant traded penalties before the Bulls crossed the whitewash, controversially so, as it appeared that Pierre Spies had grounded the ball on Deon Carstens’ boot. Steyn missed the conversion but banked three points shortly thereafter. Grant landed a penalty of his own just before the break to leave his side trialling 11-9.

Defence dominated threafter, and with neither side able to get go-forward and the lines able to fan out, the attacking play was laboured and largely impotent.

Stormers prop Frans Malherbe complicated an already arduous task when he got himself sin-binned for a tip-tackle with a quarter of the game to play. But the Stormers redoubled their efforts and scored the only points in Malherbe’s absence, Grant sinking a penalty to make it a two-point game.

Then the play that changed the game. The Stormers seemed to be venturing down another attacking dead-end when Quin Roux threw a speculative pass wide to Siya Kolisi. But JJ Engelbrecht was hesitant in closing the flanker down, allowing him to cut through a hole and pick Habana out with the most perfectly timed pass. It topped a masterclass from Kolisi. At only 20, his future is very, very bright.

The Bulls launched an almighty late assault but the Stormers held all the cards. It was the Stormers’ primary strength against a desperate and disjointed Bulls attack. They never looked like folding.

What a match.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

399 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.garth: Reply to this comment

Willem Alberts Good
    Bjorn Basson – Useless
    Marcell Coetzee – Average
    Keegan Daniel – Average
    Jean de Villiers – OK
    Bismarck du Plessis – Good
    Jannie du Plessis – Average
    JJ Engelbrecht – Useless
    Eben Etzebeth – Good
    Bryan Habana – Getting good again, cross fingers
    Francois Hougaard – Good
    Elton Jantjies – Useless
    Ryan Kankowski – Mr average himself
    Zane Kirchner – ***** Useless!
    Juandré Kruger – Average
    Werner Kruger – Useless
    Patrick Lambie – Good
    Tendai Mtawarira – Good
    Lwazi Mvovo – Average
    Wynand Olivier – Uselessssssss
    Coenie Oosthuizen – Good
    Ruan Pienaar – Useless
    JP Pietersen – Good
    Jacques Potgieter – Useless
    Chiliboy Ralepelle – Average
    Pierre Spies – Wow, proving without any doubt that HM is dumb.
    Frans Steyn – Good
    Morné Steyn – average
    Adriaan Strauss – Good
    Flip van der Merwe – Undecided.
    Franco van der Merwe – WTF
    Jano Vermaak – WTF

HM has now proven that no matter how good a player you are, it matters only to him which franchise you play for. This is pathetic.

• 302.Neil: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-298:

I do not know about that but do know there are 9 uncapped players and I have named 3(was not really paying attention).

Also know that Fourie Dup not in squad of 32.

Do not know who the captain is.

• 303.Caper: Reply to this comment

1 Beast
    2 Bismarck
    3 Jannie
    4 Etzebeth
    5 Kruger
    6 Brussow
    7 Kolisi
    8 Alberts

9 Pienaar
    10 M Steyn
    11 Habana
    12 F Steyn
    13 JdV (c)
    14 JPP
    15 Lambie

16 Strauss
    17 W Kruger
    18 Flippie
    19 Spies
    20 Hougaard
    21 De Jongh
    22 Aplon

…would have been a great team.

• 304.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

No Brussow

• 305.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

four serious surprises in the announcement..
    no De Jong
    no Brussouw
    Van der Merwe
    Olivier
    I’d very much like to understand the reasoning. I’ve tried to figure this out. But failed badly. anyone care to help?

• 306.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

no brussouw?? wtf

• 307.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Thank you HM for not picking JDJ and Aplon, you chose JJ Engelbrecht ahead of these 2 talents, LOL!!!!

• 308.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-300:
    Hes the only guy that can open up a defence with a step and blistering pace, Boks need him.

• 309.Speartackler: Reply to this comment

I am just sick in my stomach now. I hope the press start the pressure like they did with poor PdV. As much as i hope they do…but behind the stormers….sharks more lokely to make playoffs…but bok squad has 12 bulls.

• 310.viewer: Reply to this comment

First balls up of HM’s tenure. Sh_is about to get real
    on him during the 4N [copyright Fern (c)]

So he wasn’t serious about the
    urgency to gel a team in the limited time. Otherwise it should have been a majority Stormers team

Spies will play truant for the first 60min & kanko will take over in the final 20

• 311.viewer: Reply to this comment

@310 Sh_it

• 312.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

I’m really disheartened by some of these selections. Olivier has no Springbok future. Meyer said he wanted players to want to be good Springboks not just Boks. Does he really see that in Olivier? It’s blatant Bulls bias. Should have trusted my instinct when he selected an ALL BULLS COACHING STAFF.

What is Kankowski doing in there? What’s he done lately? Daniel is too small for test rugby. All the Sharks players in there, why? They have proven themselves mentally fragile and wildly inconsistent over the course of the season. The Stormers have been a far better team and more mentally strong but you can count the players selected on two fingers.

Sideshow Bob in place of Aplon ? Are you freaking serious Meyer? Aplon is a hundred times better across the board. Ask a Kiwi who’s the better player if you have any doubts. Bias.

Engelbrecht? Has shown nothing. Vermaak? A GOOD Springbok scrumhalf ? I dont think so. Jantjies? Nope.

• 313.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Where the F UCK is BRUSSOW ??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

• 314.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

JJ Engelbrecht out, Aplon in.
    Kankowski out, Kolisi in.
    Kirchner out, Joe Peterson in.
    Olivier out, JdJ in.
    Jacques Potgieter out, Brussouw in.
    Franco out, Muller in.
    Jano, I can’t see who to replace him with but what exactly has he proven?

That’s the changes I’d make.

• 315.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Bok fans are cursed to carry the cross of incompetent coaching and tactics. Who needs poltiical interference when you have bonehead neandrathals keeping you pegged to a 60 % win/loss ratio.

• 316.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Farking Veldsman gifting the Bulls a BP. Farking wanker!

• 317.ufo: Reply to this comment

my posts are going missing… strange…

Neil @ 302

I do know that…! :wink:

Captain not named yet…

Fdp did not deserve to be there IMO

Brussow did deserve to be… Gotta feel for him…

Te Rangatira @ 208

For sure…

Well, we know what sort of rugby the Boks are gonna be playing now don’t we…?

• 318.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-316: you didnt cry about the BP gifted to your team last week?

• 319.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am moving to squad thread before site crashes again

• 320.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Correct formula is Bulls + Stormers + Sharks + Cheetahs + Lions = Boks

But its clear now that the bias formula used is Bulls – Stormers + Sharks – Cheetahs – Lion = Boks

• 321.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

his Oke is WAY out of his tree.. so f’ng WAY out his fck’d up neanderthal tree its gonna be a suicide mission to hell under this poor way out non thinking doos..

Yeah all you PdV belligerent haters the sh’t hasn’t started splattering across the walls..

under this doos we are fck’d beyond any hope of redemption.. just wait for it the journey to Springbok hell.

• 322.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

They may be Engelbrecht, Olivier, at least there is no FDP, I wonder what Katman would say about the divisions, its not about black or white, or “us” against the “them”

• 323.ufo: Reply to this comment

Anyway…

Looking on the bright side… :lol:

Today could not have been hollywood scripted better for the Stormers…

1. Lions beat Sharks
    2. Stormers beat Bulls
    3. Only 3 Stormers in Bok squad

Means…

Stormers can rest, recuperate and focus on winning the Super Trophy…!!!

STOOOOOORRRRRMMMMeeeeeerrrrrsss….!!!!!!

Cheers all

Outta here…

• 324.Soxsi: Reply to this comment

Karma is a truely a b……… even though the odds we against us the men were separated from the boys tonight. The “pienk” koeksisters got what they deserved nogals in their own backyard. Well done to my team the Stormers you rose to occasion and showed great character.

• 325.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Well, at least the problems with the site are giving tacitus and the clown xcreniwp some excuse for their absence.

• 326.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-321: Same old story. History will continue to repeat itself and Meyer will do well to equal PdV 60 odd % record.

• 327.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

UFO
    Congratulations your team.
    Could never understand the hype aeound Kolisi
    but now in the words of the song(i think the Monkees)
    i,m a believer
    Regards

• 328.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Thos team will be NZ bread and butter

• 329.Soxsi: Reply to this comment

What a joke. We going to see our ar…. against the English.

• 330.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

AB’s will clean this clown up for after dinner mints.. I got some serious concerns regarding this astute rugby brain.. I say he’s going down and going down in a BIG way…

He won’t handle the aftermath .. he’s gonna resign before year one is out… wait till the politico’s get hold of this idiot its gonna be carnage on easy street.

• 331.Transformation: Reply to this comment

No heinrich, no fetcher or opensider!

• 332.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

All the Sharks and Bulls had already written their results in pen before today,

I must say, this does feel good.

Heinecke Meyer did exactly what i expected that he would do, and confirmed my reservations when he was appointed.

But as UFO says, we can use the rest,

• 333.viewer: Reply to this comment

Watson @320 Funny! :-)

• 334.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

6.Brussouw
    7.Kolisi
    8.Johnson

Would probably get the better of Meyers backrow.

• 335.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The taste of victory is so sweet…..

The Young Stormers team played like men and the Bulls Men played like School boys…

Poor captaincy, poor decision making and this B team made me so proud…

….and we get rewarded with three in the Bok squad… Now justice has no boundaries now does it.

Thanks Bulls for your sportsmanship today, I enjoyed the game and the company. Nice meeting IAAS today as welll…

• 336.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-327:

neil diamont wrote the song, the monkees put it on the map.
    Heinecke is no neil for sure — perhaps he is a mon key …. lets see.

• 337.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-332:

Hehehe the taste of being written off is just great…

I’m so proud of the boys…. This B team played really well… they hung in there and pulled off a great victory…

• 338.nama1: Reply to this comment

STTTOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 339.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-336:

Robster…what a victory… Man I’m proud of these youngsters…

• 340.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-338:

Yebo yes….

• 341.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Cheers guys…off to celebrate…

• 342.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

All the Sharks players in the Bok squad is a bit of a joke isnt it? Has there been a more frustrating, inconsistent, impatient, inaccurate, mentally fragile,uncreative team than the Sharks this season? They had ONE game last week where I enjoyed watching them, the rest I doubt they went past 10 phases all season.

• 343.nama1: Reply to this comment

I’ve told you, don’t underestimate us.

We beat you on your home turf last year, we can do it again.

…and YES, we did it.

STTTTOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRRMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 344.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Robzim @ 336

Thanks for a civilised post.Rough day.
    Wife gone to bed so now “Solitary man” has become solitary drinker.
    Regards.

• 345.crowbar: Reply to this comment

Glad for Franco van der Merwe one of the top 5 locks on current form

• 346.nama1: Reply to this comment

@SpiesIsWorthless(SpiesIsWorthless)-334:
    You’re so freakin right about that.

They’ll take Spies, Alberts and whoever to the cleaners.

• 347.crowbar: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-343: On the night winners, that’s all, they must still win the competition, which off course, like last year will not happen.

• 348.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

Just arrived from Loftus. How nice to see the pain BB fans face.
    Must say things have improved in Loftus, less hostility towards people of darker hue.

• 349.JockBok: Reply to this comment

So….

If we beat the Bulls again do we get to keep them????

• 350.nama1: Reply to this comment

@crowbar(crowbar)-347:
    Yeah. I believe yesterday you also thought that we won’t be the victors tonight. So, there you have it. Egg on your fcukin face.

Eat it and enjoy it. :lol:

WE WON. Deal with it. The competition was not up for grabs tonight. The game was and guess what….WE WON. :lol:

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.