Lions shock Sharks

SIMON BORCHARDT watched the Lions withstand a second-half Sharks fightback to win 38-28 at Ellis Park.

In his pre-match TV interview Sharks coach John Plumtree admitted his team had bad memories of Ellis Park having lost last year’s Currie Cup final. No one, though, expected another Lions win in this Super Rugby match. The Sharks came into it on the back of four successive victories that had propelled them into the top six on the combined log, while the Lions had lost 11 in a row since winning their season opener on 25 February.

Perhaps the Sharks’ Springboks had one eye on next Saturday’s first Test against England or perhaps the whole team simply didn’t rate the Lions. Whatever the case, the visitors were woeful in the first half, while the Lions, in stark contrast to how they have played throughout 2012, were clinical and went through the first 40 minutes without making a single handling error.

Pat Lambie got the Sharks on the board with an early penalty, but the Lions hit back when an excellent chip kick off the inside of Elton Jantjies’ boot sat up for Grant Hattingh, who dived over next to the posts. The Lions struck again soon after when the TMO ruled that Derick Minnie had grounded the ball on the tryline and the hosts led 14-3 after eight minutes.

Jantjies and Lambie then exchanged penalties, before the Sharks’ defence was breached for the third time when Butch James put Lionel Mapoe into space. The outside centre evaded the tackle of Meyer Bosman and cut back inside past the cover defence to score.

Things went from bad to worse for the Sharks when Steven Sykes was yellow carded for dangerous play at the ruck, and Jantjies’ penalty made it 27-7 after half an hour. The Lions were then also reduced to 14 men shortly after when Mapoe was sent to the sin bin for a professional foul in the red zone, and Lwazi Mvovo scored in the left-hand corner for the Sharks.

However, the hosts’ responded with a bonus-point try from Deon van Rensburg to make it 32-11.

Whatever Plumtree said at half-time had the desired effect as the Sharks scored two tries in the first five minutes of the second half, through JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane, to slash the deficit to seven.

With five minutes to go, and the Lions leading 38-28, Louis Ludik went over in the right-hand corner. The assistant referee told the referee that he had seen the grounding, so the TMO was asked if there was any reason not to award the try. The TMO, though, went outside protocol by saying that he couldn’t see the grounding, and the result was a five-metre scrum.

The Sharks never got close to the tryline again, and the Lions, finally, had something to celebrate.

285 Comments

• 1.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

no name Joburg Dragons vs test stacked natal backline

Natal with all test rugby experience backline should take this by 50. But I hope Joburg boys upset and do my side a big favour.

• 2.ufo: Reply to this comment

ROAR Lions….!!!

• 3.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Waylon Murray??

return of the forgotten talent

• 4.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Go Lions!!!

Go Stormers!!!

Enjoy the rugby, Ladies & Gents!!!

Out.

• 5.simbachips: Reply to this comment

GO SHARKS !!!

• 6.RWC'11 was fixed: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-3: not that talented I don’t think. Big guy, but no hands and very predictable to defend against. JPP is an example of an unpredictable runner, keeps defenders guessing.

• 7.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@RWC’11 was fixed(richardmarais)-6:

true true.

come on Joburg – hoping for upset

and see WP get blue whipped later!!

• 8.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Go Sharks Go Sharks spread the ball wide, spread the ball wide this is Sharks high tide…………………

• 9.Willy: Reply to this comment

Hope the Lions don’t turn out to be the banana skin we slip on. I get worried when everyone is predicting a big win by tbe Sharks.

• 10.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

SHARKssSssssssssssssss

Stormersboy if you read this , you have my proxy to shout for sharksssssss, am doing what was supposed to happen last night.

• 11.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Willy(willyzn)-9:

me too. They have nothing to lose.

• 12.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Willy(willyzn)-9: dont even go there :evil:

• 13.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-10: M is babysitting lol , he behaving for a change :lol:

And hiyas boomninny hugsssssssss, you well??

• 14.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Bismark you beautyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• 15.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

that was fast!

point a minute fear

• 16.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

bismark – take off and rest

• 17.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

i would love to see

- bismark tried at 6
    - aplon tried at 10

• 18.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Yes!!

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

butch is kak.

• 20.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

Link pleae:)

• 21.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

We are black, we are white, we are being chowed by the Lions tonite.

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the surrender m.onkeys are 2 tries up :-)

• 23.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

i am a lion but we obviously need the sharks to win to benefit sa in this tournament

• 24.Nils: Reply to this comment

Nice :)

14-3 Lions

• 25.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

Link anyone?

• 26.Thucydides: Reply to this comment

@Polar Lion(Polar Lion)-25:

http://www.vipbox.tv/sports/rugby.html

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this ref’s interpretation of advantage is kak…

• 28.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Alberts is the most overrated player in SA- poor man’s version of Wahl bartmann

• 29.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@Polar Lion(Polar Lion)-25:

try
    http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/54589/1/lions-vs-sharks–live-stream-online.html
    usually good

• 30.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

And out pops the Lions. Man, this is so funny. I love this but it is messing my already dismal Superbru weekend up further.

• 31.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

Janties playing well so far

• 32.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

@Thucydides(Thucydides)-26:

Thanks boet!

• 33.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@JackShanghai(JackShanghai)-17:

Very exciting thought.

• 34.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

@Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster(Porra)-29:

Thanks!

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

beast is boring in & getting away with it.

• 36.David: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-28:
    An impact player and that’s all at the moment.

• 37.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

The problem with this break in the middle of the competition is that the players gunning for the Bok-jersey are scared to get injured now. This week is a tough one. I was expecting to see a close game purely because of this.
    We might be in for a similar scenario later between Bulls and Stormers.
    Lions players have nothing to lose,

• 38.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

This is like watching Currie Cup rugby compared to the Chiefs game…

• 39.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-36:

I agree.Bad conditioning- too much body fat to last 80 minutes at super rugby pace against decent oposition.

Stormers must buy Jantjes.

• 40.Nils: Reply to this comment

Looks like a sequel to Bloem whipping of 2009 and Sharks without a bonus point …. for losing within 7. :D

• 41.chch: Reply to this comment

roar

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

mapoe kills ‘lem’ bosman!

• 43.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

jeez Bosman is just plain kak…how can this guy be playing super rugby. he is the one of the worst this country has ever produced at 12. CANNOT TACKLE.

• 44.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

24-6. Yeeeeeehaaaaaa. Sharks showing that they can only play at home. C’mon Lions…………rooooooooaaaaaaaaar!!!!!!!

• 45.David: Reply to this comment

Just hope the Lions don’t do a Stormers and try and sit on a lead. :lol:

• 46.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Interesting ….

• 47.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Where dem Sharks praise singing bruvvas be now?

• 48.Nils: Reply to this comment

Well well, Lions may get a bonus point and seal the game before half time. Who would have thought.

• 49.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Tsjarks !!!

• 50.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Chch … Gotta be bigger than that!

• 51.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

As they say “You still have to play the game”

• 52.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Sykes a bit unlucky here to be yellow carted.

Great kick by Elton though.

• 53.Hondo: Reply to this comment

So far so good
    i said the Lions by 10-13, we shall see

• 54.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Sharks look scattered Not playing as a team and mistake are flowing

• 55.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Both Ndungane’s showing they’re OTH… Sharks showing last week was an against the grain ‘gees’ win… and both teams showing they’ve a very long way before they’re a long way away from the quality the Kiwi’s are dishing up…

• 56.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Butchie providing some fireworks though…

• 57.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

This is not helping either

• 58.Willy: Reply to this comment

long way to go yet.

• 59.Nils: Reply to this comment

Things change quickly, game far from over. Go Lions anyway!

• 60.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-55:
    I have to agree I am not sure why they have been mentioned by some as one of the bok wings?

• 61.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-60:

You’re not sure?????

• 62.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-59:
    Yes very true Hard to chase the game when you not playing that well and away , and the Lions are looking good
    It makes for a good 2nd half maybe

• 63.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-61:
    Ok i am sure :)

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

I can see how the lions are going to throw this lead away. The moment will just be too big for them.

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bonus points lions….

• 66.Nils: Reply to this comment

As expected, a bonus in the 1st half! And many thankyous incoming from Wellington.

• 67.cab: Reply to this comment

The so-called failure lions are pomping tge firm sa side in tge comp – fk we must play the stormers next and drill them stukkend also

• 68.chch: Reply to this comment

If the score holds the Sharks will drop to 7th

• 69.chch: Reply to this comment

and the Blues to last

• 70.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-54:
    It called ” the Altitude effect in June at Ellis Park” ;)
    Difficult to defend with 12 players only, the Sharks have found out time and again :(

• 71.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Come Lions don’t go dropping it now, STUFF these overrated high flying guppies straight back into their overrated sardine can

more BEAUTIFUL a sight than this I doubt I EVER did see 4 tries to ONE lucky packet rebound

SharkieVarkie getting stuffed into their reality recognizing abject oblivious misery

HM better be watching, Lambie pambie definitely ain’t his answer at FB, no sirree

• 72.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

My Boks side for the first test –

1 – Beast
    2 – Bismark
    3 -Jannie
    4 -Etzebeth
    5- Kruger
    6 -Brussouw
    7- Alberts
    8 -Spies
    9- F Du Preez – c
    10 –Steyn
    11- Habana
    12 – F Steyn
    13 – J De Villiers
    14 – JP
    15 – Lambie

• 73.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

There are 2 Lions Stormers need to look at for next year
    Coetzee and Hattingh

• 74.Nils: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-62: It reminds me Bloem 2009 when Sharks as in-form red hot favourites and got a mother of whippings (6-31) and wheels came off since then and so in the drain went not just hopes for home semi but even playoff tickets.

• 75.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Where are all the fkd up arrogant Guppie supporters now ??? They beat the Stormers last week and thought they were they best in the west … Bah – what a joke team the guppies are !!! Relegate them !

• 76.RL: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-55: both Ndungane’s have forged birth I’d documents and were born in 1972 or there about.

Anyway my Leeusers are playing good percentage rugby – keep it up boy. Do not play any rugby in your half. Kick it and contest my boys.

Meyer you are a star – man of the match so far.

Mr Black where are you loser?

• 77.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

This is a surprise and Tips so far have been great up until this game.

• 78.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Can’t see the Lions throwing this away, Sharks are not in the game and Lions dominating the collissions. Cannot complain about Sykes yellow, they have to stamp out this grabbing around the neck. Quite clearly Bosman and Ndungane are not at super 15 level tonight, Mcleod questionable as well. Wonder if the Stormers game took too much out of them.

• 79.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-74:
    Yes you know anyone who has played the game and coached too knows this happens
    These Lions still have pride, and some decent players too
    Sharks coming of a big high and are flat as a Sole fish
    You can say what you like You still have to play the game on the field

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

it’s not over yet, easy with the crowing!

• 81.storiejoernal: Reply to this comment

I Think Lambie’s Bok desire as the fullback has just disappeared, Pathetic performance from him his defensive!!…I’m guessing Sharks players are already thinking of that test match

• 82.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-73:

Add Jantjes to it. We need him to unlock our backline- Grant has been unsuccessful for years now,

btw.. Hatinng was with the Maties this year – our (AC’s) own fault that he is with the Lions at the moment.

• 83.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Come Liewe Leeutjies you pulled this lead out last year to get caught by these overrated guppyuppie sharkshits 2nd half

don’t go dropping the ball again this year

I’m imploring you

• 84.chch: Reply to this comment

Where is everyone?

• 85.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Guppies are k@k, what a joke team, can’t even beat the lowly Lions !!!! Makes me sic !

• 86.Nils: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-62: However, even if Sharkies get nothing from today, their chances look better than Canes. Bulls/Cheetahs is way easier than Crusaders/Chiefs ahead.

• 87.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

I think Sharks need to come out in 2nd half and try show they have the character to fight back and try to win
    If not their season is in doubt now

• 88.Nils: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-79: Exactly. And that’s the beauty of the game, upsets still do sometimes happen.

Like Crusaders banged from start to finish in Melbourne recently.

• 89.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-78:

The Sharks are going to come back, I have no doubt.
    There is no ways the Lions are going to sustain this.

• 90.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-82:
    Yes I know Hattingh is a matie :)
    I really like Coetzee He is another Willie Le roux

• 91.chch: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-86:

Damn that Chiefs vs Crusaders game is going to be good

• 92.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Sharks need t go back to basics when things are not going to plan. They’ve been suckered into a fist fight which is not their style. They to fight their way out of the corner, ok boxing metaphors are all used up, score more tries and tackle like top six spot depends on it.

• 93.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Sh’t here starts the g’dam rot

Lions a 40 minute side, pretty much like Stormers are

• 94.Nils: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-91: It certainly will. No less crucial game will in the previous week Hurricanes/Crusaders.

• 95.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Hey Sharks by the way JP is not a center

• 96.Robzim: Reply to this comment

So easy. I mean its only the Lions.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

told you it aint over!

• 98.Nils: Reply to this comment

Phew, whatever Plumtree said during the break, it should be burned in CD and sold worldwide.

Expletives including.

• 99.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Easy 5 poimter for Sharks coming up.

• 100.Dawn: Reply to this comment

BOOM

• 101.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

A slight digression from rugby – A Jo’burg boy, Brett Savage, 44, this week starts a life sentence in Bali for drug smuggling. There appears strong and convincing evidence that he was entirely set up by his druggie sister – the question is if it is proved beyond all reasonable doubt that the smuggler is absolutely outright set up and entirely naïve with having narcotics in his luggage, should this person deserve a life sentence?

• 102.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 44
    Lions paid the price for playing that No Name number 11
    He was no where on the wing, replay showed him somewhere off centre

• 103.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Ah Fck why didn’t I know this fairy tale was too good to be real Lions already chucked away the advantage within 5 min of restart

Come ON Leeutjies WAKEY WAKEY NOW!!

• 104.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well maybe they will have that character, Is this the start?

• 105.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

35-22 :)

• 106.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

14 points in 5 min will do it ?

• 107.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Why did this inept ref call Roodt back? This turnaround started there.

• 108.Nils: Reply to this comment

Wow, that may be a great try.

• 109.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hate it when people count chickens before they hatch.

• 110.Nils: Reply to this comment

Shame, it’s not.

• 111.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

Any idea anyone why Spencer and Mitch always wear the same pink collar tops at every single game??

• 112.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-107:
    I dont thinks he was held i agree

• 113.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Vok” says Keegan.

Potty mouth

• 114.JackShanghai: Reply to this comment

Debutant Lions 11 – looks ok

• 115.chch: Reply to this comment

@JackShanghai(JackShanghai)-111:

Their shirts get washed with the team jerseys

• 116.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is what mallett was talking about…2 penalties from the dup boys.

• 117.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

TMO time
    I dont think so?

• 118.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

how thick is Bismarck giving that penalty away.

• 119.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Chch

They fashion forward?

• 120.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-113:
    His favourite word again :)

• 121.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Michalak trying his hand at acting there.

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

michalak pulling a hollywood

• 123.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

last 5 min Lions deserve these 3 points

• 124.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

That was a penalty actually

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

butch is kak

• 126.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

They need to change that rule
    Intentional knock on to get the penalty should be a scrum

• 127.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Sharks not protecting ball
    Lions dont kick it away keep the ball
    Especially a turn over

• 128.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

And quick tap should forfeit the 10m rule.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

sharks scored 2 tries in 4min and plum is going for speed now with kanko & burden.

• 130.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Derick Minnie should be in the Bok setup.. yster!

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

how is cilliers supposed to bind when beast is scrumming skew?

• 132.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

C’mon Lions hahahahahahaha

• 133.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Plenty of time for Sharks still

• 134.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

NZ ref could still play a big part here

Which AB buddy paid him his pre game dues

Mitch or Plum?

Come on Lions 10 to go one more try will just do the trick

• 135.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-128:
    Yes again

• 136.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is exactly why I want the Kings in Super Rugby. The Lions have been bad much of the season but wait until a local derby to put a dent into the Sharks’ playoff hopes.

Having said that, this sort of result will take some pressure off us.

• 137.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Should have taken the 3 still plenty of time

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why is chch ignoring me.

• 139.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And where is doppies

• 140.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Now is the time for the Lion to be very disciplined

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ai this black on black violence

• 142.Quagmire: Reply to this comment

Pop pop pop!

• 143.theOracle: Reply to this comment

JP has been outplayed by Lionel the whole day now he wants to moer him.. twice :lol:

• 144.Michael: Reply to this comment

Black & White f**king dynamited themselves

• 145.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

No grounding of ball there – touch judge is delusional

• 146.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Should have taken the 3 again ? :)

• 147.Quagmire: Reply to this comment

Do today the bubble has popped.

• 148.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Would have been 4 points shy
    Just one try at the end for the win ?

• 149.AssassinWP: Reply to this comment

4 easy penalties not kicked by Sharks……silly silly

• 150.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Try saving tackle by Elton!

• 151.Hondo: Reply to this comment

min 75
    JP vs Mapoe

• 152.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

The Sharks have been terrible for 90 % of the season. No way do they deserve being in contention until they get a bit of consistency. They might have the stocks to do well in Super Rugby but they’re a mentally weak, impatient and inaccurate team.

• 153.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

I think thats a try maybe

• 154.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Game Over Sharkies!!

• 155.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

held up?

• 156.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Where is Fern tonight?

• 157.Transformation: Reply to this comment

squeaky bum time!!!! :-)

• 158.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

2 minutes HOLD Lions HOLD

• 159.Nils: Reply to this comment

Surely Lions ain’t that bad to blow 10 point lead in 2 minutes?

Current score (or more for the Lions) will be perfect.

• 160.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

So much for a largely Sharks Bok team.

• 161.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Ref asked the wrong question

• 162.Nils: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-158: Shame you did not bet on changing HG’s name should Sharkies lose. ;)

• 163.Michael: Reply to this comment

And the Sharkies bubble pops. Well, dynamited really.

• 164.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Sharks bullied by the Lions…

• 165.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I thought the referee was bending it for the Sharks 2nd half
    He must have been promised a tractor or something (Andy Dalton got two in 1986)

• 166.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well done TMO

• 167.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

In words of Fern “**** got real for the Sharks tonight”

• 168.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BreakdownBoy(goodstuff)-156: The bruvvas are sorely missed……..Apart from their version of the Fish Finger Haka they did in the opening posts, they have been s-i-l-e-n-t? Will there be peace on earth and goodwill to all men this week? POP!

• 169.Nils: Reply to this comment

Congratulations, Lions! Yesss, no bonus points for Sharkies!

• 170.chch: Reply to this comment

congrats to the Lions. Great performance

• 171.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Margin of 10 to the Lions
    Got it!!!!

• 172.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

That was dumb Kick it into touch??

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

where are the guppys? bwahahahahahaha!

• 174.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well played Cj hope injury not bad
    On bok bench maybe can play both sides?

• 175.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Soooooooooooooooooo there’ll be some hectic re calculations today. Oooooooooooh all those mathematicians have some work to do now hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

• 176.AssassinWP: Reply to this comment

Great Stuff LiONS!!!Sharks don’t take 4 easy kickable penalties an no Bonus Points,Woteva Stormers get out of the Bulls game will Be BONUS

• 177.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

YES how’s that for a sharkshit fairy tale gone WRONG

HG bets are off for Bulls because you lost thwarted great showdown you were supposed to cream the lowly Lions and take 5 points here

You came away with a well earned resounding ZERO

MITCH’S MUCHACHAS ARE BLOODY LIONHEARTED HERO’S

• 178.Willy: Reply to this comment

Well played Lions, Sharks didn’t turn up for this one.

• 179.RL: Reply to this comment

Guppies are losers :grin:

• 180.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Another BOOM

• 181.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions.

So this is what it feels like to take pleasure in others misfortune.

• 182.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

WELL DONE LIONS maybe this shows why they still deserve to be in super15
    Sorry Sharks You dropped your guard

• 183.HHS: Reply to this comment

Goeies!

• 184.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

Oh my that Kiwi ref was a shocker! Oh well…
    Good luck next year Lions, Oh no wait… Will you be there next year?

• 185.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Guppies season in tatters

• 186.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Wonder how the Kings would have done tonight? Kinda puts that ridiculous political decision into perspective doesnt it?

• 187.FckU2: Reply to this comment

To the revoltingly offensive, nauseatingly arrogant Fern, Predawn and HeavensGame. What is that sound we hear? Could it be music? Music to the ears of all neutral rugby lovers.

Pop, pop, pop muzik
    Talk about pop muzik

(Shoobie doobie doo wop)
    It’s all around you
    (Bop bop shoo wop)
    They wanna surround you
    (Shoobie doobie doo wop)
    It’s all around you
    (Bop bop shoo wop)

Talk about pop muzik
    Pop, pop, pop muzik

Get up Get down
    Try some, buy some
    Fee fi fo fum

Talk about pop muzik
    Pop, pop, pop muzik

• 188.crowbar: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions, you showed a lot of guts tonight, well deserved!

• 189.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Bok sharks looking to the bok selection maybe ?

• 190.Narutokun: Reply to this comment

Pop pop pop …. Boom !!!! Shame puppies death by drowning ….lol

• 191.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Lions will beat the Kings any time, any place, I’ll give it to them :) :)
    But that’s as far as it goes
    No team with a trace of dignity would allow a slow as a snail wing like Ndungane to score running 65 metres unchecked,

• 192.FckU2: Reply to this comment

Good night nurse!

• 193.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-186:
    i agree 100%

• 194.crowbar: Reply to this comment

@Charging Rhino(Charging Rhino)-184: For being on the endangered specie list you are quite verbal…watch your horn dude :-)

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

POP goes the guppy bubble ;)

• 196.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Lions…!!

Awesome stuff for Lions’ supporters…!!

Commiserations to Sharks supporters…

• 197.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-191: No site worth its salt would allow you to post racist comments.

• 198.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-191:
    Hondo he was given and open run Untouched
    The ball boy could have scored that

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

How can a team play well one week and the next week don’t show up.

• 200.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-162:
    Yeah I screwed up bad there wasn’t thinking should have been part of the bet if Sharks lost to Lions HG deserves the ultimate reawakening name change yet

I’m gonna think one up that fits him best

• 201.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@FckU2(FckU2)-187: Classic!

• 202.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Well played Lions !

• 203.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ag all just ignore Hondo

He’s just weird

• 204.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Sharks diabolical
    Why they did not play tight like last week, I will never know. Arrogance perhaps.

Anyway, take a bow Lions! Well played, why have you not played like that all season?

• 205.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Late callup for Franco vdMerwe to replace the injured Bekker maybe? He had a huge game.

• 206.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-198:
    Coach,
    There was no defence structure for the Lions, it’s an indication by itself!

• 207.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Bullet 204 – these things take time to achieve – Ive felt the Lions have been on track for some time, but just had rotten bad luck – a good example was Taute’s injury last weekend – robbed their backline of momentum at a critical point. But its all academic now isnt it? The Kings are the political flavour of the new century it seems.

• 208.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-205:
    He has played well but HM will pick Plip on the bench maybe?

• 209.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-186: @CoachPete(CoachPete)-193:
    unfortunately 1 win, even though it was a brilliant display from the them tonight, will not change the fact that the Lions have been dismal for most of the season, let alone the past few years…

• 210.ufo: Reply to this comment

I can’t believe skinstadt criticized franco vd merwe for stealing the lineout ball from the sharks 5 metros out in the 74 minute…??

revealing his true colours…

• 211.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well done Lions a deserved victory, Sharks were pathetic and took this match as an easy victory, they do not on that performance deserve to be in the play off later on in the year,

• 212.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-206:
    Yes at time I agree It was a well taken try for Sharks
    Did you look at the score again ?

• 213.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

This win against the Sharks was sweet! And I said this week the Lions are due!

• 214.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Very well played Lions.Absolutely puts political decision into perspective.
    My team(Sharks)prospects of play off now stuffed.
    Good for SA rugby.Lots of reputations shattered.Strauss of Cheetahs
    for Bok no 2.
    The amphibian(Louis something) will probably show onanistic glee.
    As always he misses the point,which is Bok rugby.
    Got to feel for the frayed curtains/sheets/towels.
    Once again,and with good grace,;:Well played Lions”

• 215.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Anyone still here punting JP for centre needs to be slapped….. HARD.
    Mapoe made him ***** and then old windgat wanted to fight. Pffft..
    CJ, Callie and Pat made that Bok front row look average.
    Well done Lions.

• 216.cab: Reply to this comment

Ehe aha – say what whillis?

• 217.cab: Reply to this comment

JP good – lions got their players back from injury – cj and cilliers both better props than jan dup – cilliers totally underrated cos of his size but he damn good modern prop.

• 218.saru1983: Reply to this comment

lambie is an average player not the best at anything he does..Thought id
    get that out there before i hear anymore more messiah comparisons

• 219.posts: Reply to this comment

Time for Van Zyl & Plumtree to move on

• 220.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

At least the Sharks wont have to worry about the Lions next year. :-) A bit of a bogey side at the moment.

• 221.ufo: Reply to this comment

good on you sharkslover and rye…

genuine gentlemen…!

sincere commiserations… the feeling is still fresh in my mind…

• 222.RL: Reply to this comment

Agh man. Why is Ndungane complainin. It is fake hair ffs, not real.

• 223.Guns: Reply to this comment

Eish sharks nooot good!! Not even a losing bonus point :-(

• 224.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well played Lions. Good win. Deserved it totally.

Why Sharks played a expansive game against the Lions is just crazy. A Lions team against the wall and nothing to lose were ALWAYS going to run everyting against us. Sharks why the heck not play a similar game plan like last week? Jeepers if only I knew, really why run it from everywhere against the Lions? They were surely going to be up for it. Good on Mitchell, he worked us out.

Lions I feel for you and your supporters, no way ever should your team be relegated ever. Hope it is sorted out. Was really good to see many supporters at Ellis Park even if it was mostly Sharks supporters. What a pity if Ellis Park can’t hold anymore SuperRugby next year. They should still be in the mix. Lions have had so many injuries this year and it is a shame that they are dealt this blow. So WELL DONE LIONS. YOU beat my Sharks well and true tonight. All the best for next year, really hope your team is still in SuperRugby. They should be. If only not for the injuries they would have been far better this SuperRugby.

After Sharks loss tonight, they don’t deserve to be in the play offs. WE should have played it tight, tight in a derby game. Go for the win instead of being arrogant going for the 5 points. Eish! my Sharks that was disrespectful and we paid the price.

Now may the best team win against Bulls and Stormers. Which ever team wins hope truely we can put those kiwis away. One of those teams will have to travel, that alone puts us on the backfoot. Just hope we can. From here on we all support you. Just want a saffa team to win this.

Go Stormers and Bulls. Fly the saffa flag high boys. We all supporting you now our teams are out.

Go get em for all of us!

• 225.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions. Good to see a result go your way. Congratulations for sticking to your guns. I hope this propels you to new heights.

• 226.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-224:
    “Why Sharks played a expansive game against the Lions is just crazy.”

All they needed to do was turn up, play an expensive game, score four tries and collect 5 points…remember!!!

Well, that was HG’s take on the game.

Really came back and bite TRUE Shark supporters in the arse.

Commiserations Puma.

At least we kept the door open for your boys by beating the Pink Moegoes.

SSTTTTOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRRMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 227.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

These Lionscunts must now fuckoff straight out of Super Rugby… Kings are forgiven…

• 228.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-227:
    Well this time last week you had posted about 100 posts bagging everyone, saying this is the time…Sharks time and after a loss, nothing but one post, and its a sore losing one at that.
    Lions played well, you honestly have to congratulate the Lions teams and there supporters.
    Sharks team has shown the inconsistency that plagues the Boks.
    Losing to teams they shouldnt time and time again.

Anyway glad the Lions pulled this one out the bag.
    Good for my Hurricanes team :-)

• 229.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-227: Johnny played guitar, Jenny played bass.
    Name of the band is The Human Race.
    HG tell me have you heard? POP! goes your world…

• 230.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-224:
    Good post Puma.
    But the last bit, all teams travelling puts them on the backfoot. Hope you just dont mean South African teams.

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

It isnt over for the Sharks…

The Lionscunts deserved the win but fuckme they are a cowardly bunch ofpricks if ever I saw go over to australasia and get shagged silly before coming back to SA…

Wonder how much they going to sell themselves to the Stormers… Pick a score hey?

Fuckingcowardlycunts…

But they “deserved” their win tonight…

Farken infuriating fuckwits

• 232.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-226:
    There are true Sharks supporters and then there are the true arrogant Sharks supporters.
    All teams have those supporters.
    They are easy to spot. Puma is a true Shark Supporter and then there is the other one….. HG :-)

• 233.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Sharks have now relinquished to spot… and we know the Lionscunts will take a big fat Cape Town bribe to roll over for the Mountain Goat Gaylords…

Fark I am so pissedoff with these Rooibont farken cowardlyfcks…

• 234.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231:
    Well HG, correct. First line is the truth.
    It is not over yet for the Sharks.
    But are you mad? :-)

• 235.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

Jenny played keyboard, Johnny played drums,
    Called Little Baby and a big Bonhomme.
    Everybody tell me have you heard? Pop Goes HGs World…

• 236.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-233:
    Well HG, settle down, it aint over.
    Hurricanes well help you guys by taking out Saders and Chiefs :-)
    Thank me after that.

• 237.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-232: Fuckoff Hurricunt… What thefck do you know about “support” anyway… This was a game between 2 Saffa sides… That means this thread doesnt include you…

Fcken illiterate whale hugging twat…

• 238.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Fucken hate Kiwis… Serious…

I farkthemup them for fun… Especially farken BP afflicted fat cannibal ones.

• 239.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-237:
    And yet i see you putting your 2 cent worth in against 2 Kiwi sides.
    Anyway all good HG, normally you dont post after a loss.
    Good to see you on mate.

• 240.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-236: A cold day in maori hell before that happens… Fckwit

• 241.Tuna: Reply to this comment

No wonder Msimi (whatever) hate Lions… they always make him look like a tool with his bs comments.

I see even old Dusky congratulated the Lions. I was expecting another bomber of an excuse.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-227: Lions sure put a halt to that Sharks hype train. Too be honest I think those games against the Stormers and Cheetahs was tough and it started to show. Still Lions was good that first 40.

• 242.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-236: A cold day in maori hell before that happens… Fckwit

• 243.Tuna: Reply to this comment

I’m keeping an eye out for this Anthonie Volminck kid.

• 244.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-242:
    It is cold here as well.
    About 14 degrees.
    Heat pumps on full blast.

• 245.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

It goes something like this: P P P P P P POP!

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-239: When… Tell me when I comment between 2 Kiwi sides… Cant be bothered actually… Bores the shitout of me…

Since you fcking Aussie kissing cousins fckedup the season nicely and hence fcked up our Currie Cup six love this has to take its place in time… Dont give a flyingshyte about Kiwi/Aussie teams unless they face my team or a Saffa team in the knockouts…

• 247.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

Johnny and Jenny had a crazy dream,
    See their pictures in a magazine.
    Every little boy needs a girl.
    Pop Goes HGs World.

• 248.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@virvarksteaks(virvarksteaks)-245: Whats your story lobotomy… Huh?

What you, a supporter as cowardly and brain dead as your Lions team, or a farken gerbil infested Breezer having a cheap thrill after a freaky win…

• 249.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-246:
    OK. Take it you wont be posting in this years Super 15 final…… two kiwi teams :-)

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@virvarksteaks(virvarksteaks)-247: Chrissakes… you probably sokkie to that liedjie too, eh?

• 251.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-248:
    Jenny and Johnny getting smart (it seems)
    Made more money on a movie screen.
    Every little nest needs a bird.
    Pop Goes HGs World.

• 252.whatever: Reply to this comment

Ha! well done Lions, ……..and Stormers…………..and to all those guppy and Bulls anti Stormers w ankers, go suck some lemons you tossers. You know who u are don,t you?

• 253.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-249: Now you change your story… What you gonna have a laugh about next, hey? Bit of HIV, Crime or Rape?

Get your rocks on hey sheepshagger?

• 254.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-249: Now you change your story… What you gonna have a laugh about next, hey? Bit of HIV, Crime or Rape?

Get your rocks on hey sheepshagger? farken laugh a minute you numbskull shakeys

• 255.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

One two three and four is five,
    Everybody here is a friend of mine.
    Whatever happened to the Duke of Earl?
    Pop Goes HGs World.

• 256.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231:

Ain’t it just a ****** being a ****** year in and year out, and you thought there you were all nice and neatly tucked up ready to roll away into the playoffs without a care or worry in the world – 5 points here – 4 for nothing next and a gimme against Cheetahs – simple as considering scoffed up cream on strawberry pie – ain’t it just a beautiful ****** being stuffed by your own lack of humility just when you least expecting it?

• 257.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-256: Bad luck fckface… I am still here.. Sharks will also still be there come playoffs…

Was here to accept my loss until I read your balless “bets are off comment”…

Farken real ballas you got, hey?

Farken gerbil breeding incubator

• 258.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

Six seven eight and nine is ten,
    Send Al Gunn to see the doctor (Ben)
    Say what planet are we on? The third!
    Pop Goes HGs World.

• 259.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:

oh dear all that pre match analysis for nothing, Sharks choked 17 seasons on the trot , looks like the Bokke are going to do the same with that squad as well you should start supporting Zim at rugby

• 260.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

but then again well done Lions

and Breezers…

No excuses… Refs were good…

Just why thefuck cant the rooibonte play like that against Aussie teams or the Bulls and Stormers…

For varksteaks Man

• 261.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-260: Or the sheepshaggers…

• 262.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Proof I am here…

Only go to Cape Vidal, new hangout instead of France, tomorrow…

• 263.virvarksteaks: Reply to this comment

Ok, one last one for now, promise…

POP!

• 264.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

HG the self-proclaimed Aryan, go to bed loser sleep it off before you embarass yourself some more.

• 265.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-257:

Yeah that’s how you roll shoulda known you just another two faced skunk eyed snake like the rest of your guppyuppie skunk eyed brethren

You called the bet now you baling typical lowlife guppyuppie trash that’s precisely what it seems you are .., no integrity beyond your fakface lack of any humility whatsoever.

• 266.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-254:
    What are you on about?
    Post 249 that you were replying to, where did i offend you?
    If fact from that post,how did you think i was going to have a laugh at HIV,Rape etc?
    Really you are the most sour loser ever?
    **** man, stop being a dooche bag.
    You lost, it was a good game from the Lions and bad game from the Sharks.
    Waste of time having a go at everyone else on here.
    Not all of us think there team is in the finals when there are 3 more games to go…….like yourself. Now you are embarrased, your Shaks team made you look a fool. Its ok dude, move on. There is always next week…..you know the win, like this weeks win :-)

• 267.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

looks like the sharks are the lions bunnies. well done lions. and now the blues are last on the log. ha ha ha ha ha. i live in auckland and no one here follows the rugby any more :)

• 268.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-261: Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha chuckle chuckle chuckle ,you arrogant little dweeb,your Sharks were of the Nurse variety tonight

• 269.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Hard luck to all Sharks supporters. Poor tactics employed tonight.

To HolGat…………………STOOOOOOOOORMEEEEEEEEEEERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 270.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

bad luck sharks
    well deserved win by the lions,they were the better side on the day
    the lions seem to be our bogey side
    not the end of the world though.

• 271.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

I am a Stormer supporter but a Shark win wld hv been for the good of SA rugby. I used to like the Sharks but their arrogant supporters on this site make me sic !! They beat the injury ravaged stormers in Dbn and all of a sudden the Sharks are the best SA team ???? Bah

• 272.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Check this out! http://www.rapport.co.za/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/Keohane-van-sy-kop-af-weens-kokaien-20120602

• 273.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

# 271…nah boet, the injury excuse is moot. It was almost the exact team that beat the Bulls. The Sharks played to a terrible game plan last night. No tacticle kicking which means they did not expect the Lions would be a threat. Very naïve of Dumtree.

• 274.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

That was pathetic. End of.

• 275.AiDoc: Reply to this comment

How many cricketers involved in this match?

• 276.Superbru: Reply to this comment

Ah well,the arrogance of the sharkie supporters on this site knows no bounds,well done to Lions for bringing them back to earth with a giant POP!
    Priceless!

• 277.Willy: Reply to this comment

Aaah the joys of being a Sharks fan.

Just when you start to believe…… whoops and you’re wondering what the hell happened.
    Maybe it’s past experience, but i had a funny feeling about this game before it started.

• 278.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Sharks deserved to lose.Not good enough.

Plumtree limited coach

Mapoe skinned Bosman all day everyday

Glad for Mapoe & Jantjies-massive games.Special players in a BAD union

• 279.Willy: Reply to this comment

Just one of those days.

I thought we might pull it out of the fire after the 2 quick trys at the start of the 2nd half and if Ludik’s try had stood, then i believe we could have done it.

The rub of the green was with the Lions, what can i say, It happens.

• 280.cane: Reply to this comment

My hearty congratulations to the Lions faithfull.

You have suffered a lot.
    And will suffer some more.

But this was your day.

• 281.Willy: Reply to this comment

Ya, well done Lions, I doubt we’ll be so complacent the next time we visit Ellis Park.

• 282.TheSharks: Reply to this comment

What a shocking and disappointing weekend…
    Well, let me first congratulate the LIONS with a ROAR. Damn, you guys killed us… You deserve that …. But now you have made it so difficult for us. Congratulations are also in order for the Stormers. I was hoping that the Bulls beat you, but that was before my team’s embarrassment. After that lost, there is no more hope for us of the first spot on the SA conference, therefore the Bulls had to lose. Only 2 of the SA teams will now make the Top 6 according to my predictions and I hope my team is the 2nd one.

According to my predictions the quarter finals will be Crusaders vs. Reds & Brumbies vs. Sharks. The Semi-finals will be Stormers vs. Crusaders & Chiefs vs. Sharks.

My team lost, but I am still a proud SHARKS supporter!

• 283.TheSharks: Reply to this comment

@Superbru(Superbru)-276:
    And well, I will admit that I displayed some arrogance (like a typical Bull) thinking we had this game in the pocket even before the kick-off. Lions brought us back to earth. I don’t think anything can bring the Bulls back – some of them are just by nature arrogant. Lmao

• 284.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

Sjoe why so many douchebags on this site? The Lions we brilliant against us and deserved their win, I could not be happier for them but why all the silly anti sharks posts?

• 285.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie(Skeppie)-284: I’m afraid that a few breezer hating sharks fans on this site are the cause of anti-sharks posts.They know who they are, :wink:

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.