No Du Preez, Brussow for Boks

Fourie du Preez and Heinrich Brussow were the big omissions from the 32-man Springbok squad to face England in the June Test series.

It was believed that Japan-based scrumhalf Du Preez was informally offered the team captaincy last week from head coach Heyneke Meyer. However, it seems as if the player has made himself unavailable for selection as he’s been left out of the squad. Eighthman Pierre Spies and centre Jean de Villiers should be front-runners for the captaincy.

Cheetahs openside flank Brussow is also a major omission from Meyer’s first official Test squad. His high penalty count this year is a probable reason for his exclusion. Stormers duo Juan de Jongh and Gio Aplon can count themselves unlucky as they were overlooked.

Stormers flank Siya Kolisi was not picked. However, he and six other young players – flank Arno Botha (Bulls), prop Frans Malherbe (Stormers), flank CJ Stander (Bulls), centre Francois Venter (Bulls) and scrumhalf Piet van Zyl (Cheetahs) – will train with the Boks during the series. This will allow these players to gain experience in the Test set-up, but they won’t be eligible for selection.

There are nine uncapped players in the squad – flank Marcell Coetzee, wing JJ Engelbrecht, lock Eben Etzebeth, flyhalf Elton Jantjies, lock Juandré Kruger, prop Coenie Oosthuizen, flank Jacques Potgieter, lock Franco van der Merwe and scrumhalf Jano Vermaak.

There are 15 survivours from of the 2011 Bok World Cup squad. Wing Bryan Hanbana is the most experienced player with 74 Test caps.

‘We were always looking to start the season with an experienced squad to face England, but injuries to certain players and the non-availability of others have made it difficult,’ said Meyer.

‘What we’ve lost in experience, we’ve made up in passion and desire to play for the Springboks. We have put together a squad with a nice balance between a number of veterans and players with less experience as we start to build for the rest of the season.

‘Working with these players during our four planning camps this season has been great and really made a very difficult selection process a bit easier. There were a few unlucky players that didn’t make it and they will get opportunities in future as long as they keep on knocking on the door.

‘The nine uncapped players have all put up their hands during Super Rugby this year and we know they have what it takes to succeed at the highest level,’ he continued. ‘We realise that it is impossible to please everyone when it comes to selecting squads like these, but we would really like to see the entire country stand behind us as we take on England.’

Springbok 32-man squad for June Test series:

Backs – Bjorn Basson, Jean de Villiers, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Jano Vermaak.

Forwards – Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Ryan Kankowski, Juandre Kruger, Werner Kruger, Beast Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe.

1,463 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1130 » Show All

• 1.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Dragon Boks

• 2.ufo: Reply to this comment

No Gio or Juan…

I can’t believe it…!!

• 3.gecko: Reply to this comment

If Snor picked that squad we would have wanted him shot. Some shockers in there. Meisiekind and Sideshow Bob.

• 4.slow114: Reply to this comment

@ufo

I would switch Wynand for either Juan or Gio any day of the week.

• 5.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Wynand, Kanko and Zane have showed they cannot step up at international level.
    Gaan intresant wees.. maar die squad lyk tos.

• 6.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Juan De Jongh and Siya Kolisi not picked is criminal.Vermaak and JJ are in the team, thats nuts, the Cheetah scrum is better.

Only 3 Stormers in the team is a joke

• 7.cab: Reply to this comment

Ag nee – maak al die bulle bokke ekse

• 8.ossewa: Reply to this comment

Captain?

• 9.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

ABSOLUTE FARCE.

HM has done exactly as expected and picked the bulk of a mediocre Bulls team, leaving out the likes of Aplon, Brussouw, Kolisi and De Jongh, but picked abolutely useless players like Spies, Olivier etc?

Ridiculous. An absolute slap in the face and clear indication that Meyer is as pathetic as they come.

• 10.ufo: Reply to this comment

Slow @ 4

Quite a few I’d swap for both of them…!!

Gio for Zane
    Juan for Wynand…

• 11.greybeard: Reply to this comment

The following appeared on News 24
    Furthermore, six promising players have been added to the Springbok squad for the next three weeks. They are not eligible for selection but will train with the squad in Durban, Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth.

The six upcoming players that will join the Bok squad are Siya Kolisi (flank), Arno Botha (No 8), Frans Malherbe (prop), CJ Stander (loose forward), Francois Venter (centre) and Piet van Zyl (scrumhalf).

Meyer said: “We feel that these players have what it takes to play for the Springboks and they were close to selection in the final squad. However, these three weeks provide the ideal opportunity to work with them, show them what the Springbok culture is all about and hopefully put them on the right track to play for South Africa sooner rather than later. By doing this now, we will reap the dividends going forward.

“We also rate a number of great players in the South African Under-20 squad, but they were not considered at this stage due to the fact that they are playing in a very important Junior World Championship.”

• 12.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Juan De Jongh and Siya Kolisi and Josh Strauss not picked is criminal.Vermaak and JJ and Kankowski are in the team, thats nuts, the Cheetah scrum is better.

Only 3 Stormers in the team is a joke

• 13.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Wow!

Very unexpected squad.

• 14.danuk: Reply to this comment

Agree with all the comments, Heyneke is showing his true approach which is Bulls based. There’s now way Olivier, Zane, JJ and Vermaak deserve to be in that squad.

For a coach with some supposed experience he is coming across as very limited in his thinking …

• 15.cab: Reply to this comment

1. Beast 2. Bismark 3. Cillier 4. Etsebeth 5. Kruger 6. Brussow 7. Alberts 8. Etsebeth 9. Hougaard 10. Morne 11. Habana/jdv 12. Frans 13. Jdj 14. Jp 15. Aplon

Fourie ahead of chilli and def ahead of strauss

• 16.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

‘ I would; you would’. Fact is we are not the Bok coach last I saw. This is the team he backs. Brussouw has been average of late; DeJongh is too small. Kolisi’s time will come.

But Piere Spies? Can think of 3 number 8′s in SA better than him.

I bet he will be the hoofseun.

I am beginning to get worried.

• 17.danuk: Reply to this comment

@ossewa(ossewa)-8: Spies, obviously …

• 18.mushu: Reply to this comment

This sucks why no brussow!!! Also captain? and must agree why only three stormers?

• 19.Speartackler: Reply to this comment

@ Sir Watson
    You could not have put it better than that. Imagine NZ taking us on now…

• 20.DAS: Reply to this comment

No Brussow? Is he injured?

• 21.greybeard: Reply to this comment

SHARKS(11)
    BULLS(13)
    STORMERS(3)
    LIONS(2)
    CHEETAHS(2)
    OVERSEAS(1)

Well Heyneke, that is certainly how you get support in the Cape buddy.

• 22.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Usefull GREYBEARD.

7 Flanks; Potgieter; Alberts.

6 Flanks; Coetzee; Daniel;

No 8; SPiES??????????? KANKowski?????????????????

Meyer likes fast , kak no 8′s it would seem.

• 23.danuk: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-21: its a farce … and I’m a Bulls supporter …

• 24.garth: Reply to this comment

Stormers team will definitely take the comp with such a long rest. Thanks HM for being a dumbass

• 25.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@greybeard(greybeard)-11:
    Who cares about HM taking out insurance policy so he doesn’t come across as a selectors Aarsehole,

• 26.Sir Watson: Reply to this comment

Correct formula is Bulls + Stormers + Sharks + Cheetahs + Lions = Boks

But its clear now that the bias formula used is Bulls – Stormers + Sharks – Cheetahs – Lion = Boks

• 27.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Only two possible captains here (unless he surprises us all and drops Bismark for Strauss) and those are de Villiers and Spies. Agree with you hensopper1 @ 16 – at least 3 better Number 8s than Spies but as you say, Meyer will stand or fall by this and best we all give him the chance to show that he knows more than us (which I’m sure he does). On the positive side – Jaques Potgieter is a good call! I have to say I love the way he has bulls*h*i*t*ted the press re Fourie du Preez :)

• 28.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

this Meyer is one fckup of a DOOS coach..

Yeah the deer in the headlights has taken on something WAY beyond his bully brekered fck’d up head.

And its already falling apart BAD

I reckon this guy don’t get beyond year ONE in this job

watch him fall apart when the wheels start coming off and this little sideshow collapses around his heilige poorly belligerent idiotic head.

You think PdV was bad.. just wait till the real fckup starts happening in front your Heyneke Meyer duped heilige eyes..

Don’t say I never warned you none either.

• 29.Robzim: Reply to this comment

heinecke got no balls.
    Will probably only announce the captain after huisgodsdiens with the “senior ” players.

• 30.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

BET MY STASH OF BACKY THAT SPIES WILL ALSO BE KAPTEIN.

jUUS HE WAS TOS TODAY.

• 31.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

Kankowski ahead of brussow,kolisi and strauss is pathetic.
    JJ ahead of du jongh and aplon is so bad it almost seems racist.
    I have lost all respect for Meyer.
    Didn’t he watch the sharks game kankowski was pathetic.
    Kolisi just now made spies, stander and potgieter his b i t c h!
    but with some twisted logic I can still understand that but kankowski. really ******* in g joke.
    Even wore though is englebreght ahead of de jongh or aplon.

• 32.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

Yep, so the team at the top only gets three players. What the hell!?

Well, at least the strormers will get a great break.

Really weak squad, I have no idea why macintosh is still a selector?

Agree that, kankowski, Olivier and sideshow should never ever wear a book jersey.

But who knows, perhaps Meyer can get the most out of them. But he can’t expect that any support if this blows up in his face.

• 33.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

We’ll never come close to a 70 % win loss ratio with Meyer. He’s biased, conservative and every bit the coach Mallet said he was.

How I wish we had Mallet.

To leave out a guy like Brussouw who’s been on the end of FOUR consecutive victories against McCaw and the All Blacks. Meyer deserves scorn for that omission alone but then to have deadweight like Olivier, Kirtchner, Daniel, Engelbrecht, Vermaak, Jantjies, Kankowski while leaving out a form player like Kolisi?

Utterly ridiculous.

• 34.sandeno: Reply to this comment

26-9 to the Poms

• 35.danuk: Reply to this comment

worst of all, the English just have to watch today’s game to figure out how we will play, same coaches, similar players, all brawn no brains, sigh …

• 36.greybeard: Reply to this comment

I like that breakdown Hensopper1 @ 22 – doing the same with the whole squad we get (more or less)
    15 Lambie Kirchner
    14 Peterson, Basson
    13 JJ Engelbrecht, Wynand Olivier
    12 de Villiers, Steyn
    11 Habana, Mvovo
    10 MSteyn, Jantjes
    9 Hougaard, Pienaar, Vermaak
    8 Spies Kankowski
    7 Potgieter Alberts
    6 Daniel Coetzee
    5 Kruger Franco vd Merwe
    4 Etsebeth Flip vd Merwe
    3 Jannie Dup, Werner Kruger
    2 Bismark, Strauss, Chiliboy
    1 Beast, Coenie

A few of these might be seen in other places of course but thats the gist of it i think….

• 37.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Calm down people, the squad will change for the Castle Series.

Juandre and Marcell Coetzee, welcome, well-deserved. Marcell still needs to prove a fair bit, but I’ve been impressed by him.

Ryan Kankowski, Franco van der Merwe and Zane dont belong there and I wonder what is this philosophy without Brussow.

The squad will definitely be able to beat England 3-0.

• 38.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Jussus LOUIS SHROPNEL, Those are some MOERSE BIG WORDS YOU ARE USING.

I like the spraygun effect of using a wide array of big words that when used together make absolutely no sense.

You must be enraged with Meyer and as such have stopped using the language part of your brain.

Yus, I tell you man, I am also confounded, but have heard that Meyer is an astute rugby man.

Seeing as he is the Bok coach anbd a ball has not been dropped in anger yet, I will have to give him the benefit of the doubt.

Remember, he is no stranger to extreme failure and success.

• 39.garth: Reply to this comment

HM has selected his buddies and in picking Spoes as the captain he will continue SA’s trend of picking captains that do not deserve to be in the squad. Greybeard, there are 8s in the vodacom cup that would smash El Cappo Spoes.

• 40.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

unbelieveable selection thats heavily bulls biased even though they went down for the 2nd time today to the Stormers.

Unreal that Brussouw, Kolisi, De Jongh, Aplon and Joe Pietersen have been ommited.
    Especially considering the players that have been included are
    Spies, Kanko, Wyand Olivier, JJ englebrecht (I mean WTF?????), Basson above Aplon? – obviously kick chase here we come and finally Kirchener?? Really? Again? He´s been solid this season but Joe Pietersen has been great. so we omit 4 Stormers for 5 Bulls instead?? The whole team is Bulls Biased. Surprised Oosthuisen made it ahead of Greyling.

Honestly dont know what to say about the team. Some spot on selections and some just plain baffling. Baffling. I just hope de Villiers doesnt come near the 12 spot and Frans Steyn is 12 – at least – please god. Asseblief. If I was black i´d be pissed that Kolisi wasnt picked cos he has been outstanding all season. I know he´s in the so called extended squad but will the poor oke ever get a chance with the likes of Vermeulen, Burger coming back and possibly Brussouw resurfacing?

Only ommission i´m ok with is Brussouw cos he has been average all season and penalty count is too high. If Jacques Potgieter is fit I back him as a great impact player.

Jeez what to think??

• 41.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Something smells bad in here? Did you f*a*r*t hensopper? Oh no apologies hensopper – its the yobbo louis schropnel – clearly he didnt brush his teeth after performing cunnilingus on his dog – tsk tsk tsk – and he EATS with that mouth I tell you!!!

• 42.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

This Oke Meyer is fck’d.. get the politicians to sort him out FAST because if they leave him to his own fck’d up devices this clown is gonna sink Springbok rugby so bad they won’t know who the fck did the damage when nobody was looking

This Meyer is one immensely overrated CLOWN

and the entire bully breker contingent was seriously thinking he’s next to God or something as wishfully thinking as that.

• 43.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Steve Warren.

Agree strongly. Kankowski??? What is he for? poncing around the pitch very quickly.

Greybeard. That looks like a group Meyer would feel comfortable with.

• 44.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

HM has made his first royal ***** up

• 45.storiejoernal: Reply to this comment

One Can’t help but wonder whatever happened to the following players

Noticeable omissions

De jong
    Siyamthanda kolisi,
    Brussouw
    Greyling
    Grant
    Joe pieterson
    Aplon

• 46.greybeard: Reply to this comment

garth @ 39 – I agree totally re Spies

• 47.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

So after tonights performance where the Stormers are the top team in SA and have been for most of the season there are 3 Stormers players picked and 13 Bulls players,

Disgraceful.

Kanko? Not a bad player but honestly, he’s barely played this year and he gets picked?

No man.

No kolisi? Even after tonight? I’m sorry, you can say what you like about Coetzee but Kolisi is the top loose forward in SA right now.

No Brussow is also shocking. No De Jongh or Aplon.

Ridiculous.

• 48.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Just got back from Loftus and the victory was so sweet. As I said yesterday the Bulls thought they just had to arrive to beat the second string Stormers. Poor captaincy by Spies who was arrogant to go for touch instead of taking the points on hand. Well the true captain won the game. Kolisi was huge and Habanna had his best game for a while.

Now the Bok team is very endearing, but I suppose we can do with the break. Meisiekind, Britney, Kirscner and JJ are the laughing stocks of the team. Anyways lets hope the coach is as good as we all thought…

Watching the weak Lions make the Sharks look mediocre was for sure the highlight of my weekend…

I had great fun at Loftus and the Bulls fans were gracious in defeat…

• 49.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Omitting Brussow is MADNESS!!!!!!!!!!!! He is the best loose forward we have. The only loosie that international teams truly fear (and not overrated cart horses like Spies, kankowski etc).

The English must be relieved.

He would have been the FIRST on my team sheet.

Apart from that, the squad isn’t bad. Good to see Adriaan Strauss in there, it’s been due for ages. Would have liked to see Ebersohn get a chance with some solid players on his inside and outside.

• 50.greybeard: Reply to this comment

Now we move into the next phase of the game children – select your match 22 and captain from this 32? Bet you’ll all love that wont you? :)

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1130 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.