No Du Preez, Brussow for Boks

Fourie du Preez and Heinrich Brussow were the big omissions from the 32-man Springbok squad to face England in the June Test series.

It was believed that Japan-based scrumhalf Du Preez was informally offered the team captaincy last week from head coach Heyneke Meyer. However, it seems as if the player has made himself unavailable for selection as he’s been left out of the squad. Eighthman Pierre Spies and centre Jean de Villiers should be front-runners for the captaincy.

Cheetahs openside flank Brussow is also a major omission from Meyer’s first official Test squad. His high penalty count this year is a probable reason for his exclusion. Stormers duo Juan de Jongh and Gio Aplon can count themselves unlucky as they were overlooked.

Stormers flank Siya Kolisi was not picked. However, he and six other young players – flank Arno Botha (Bulls), prop Frans Malherbe (Stormers), flank CJ Stander (Bulls), centre Francois Venter (Bulls) and scrumhalf Piet van Zyl (Cheetahs) – will train with the Boks during the series. This will allow these players to gain experience in the Test set-up, but they won’t be eligible for selection.

There are nine uncapped players in the squad – flank Marcell Coetzee, wing JJ Engelbrecht, lock Eben Etzebeth, flyhalf Elton Jantjies, lock Juandré Kruger, prop Coenie Oosthuizen, flank Jacques Potgieter, lock Franco van der Merwe and scrumhalf Jano Vermaak.

There are 15 survivours from of the 2011 Bok World Cup squad. Wing Bryan Hanbana is the most experienced player with 74 Test caps.

‘We were always looking to start the season with an experienced squad to face England, but injuries to certain players and the non-availability of others have made it difficult,’ said Meyer.

‘What we’ve lost in experience, we’ve made up in passion and desire to play for the Springboks. We have put together a squad with a nice balance between a number of veterans and players with less experience as we start to build for the rest of the season.

‘Working with these players during our four planning camps this season has been great and really made a very difficult selection process a bit easier. There were a few unlucky players that didn’t make it and they will get opportunities in future as long as they keep on knocking on the door.

‘The nine uncapped players have all put up their hands during Super Rugby this year and we know they have what it takes to succeed at the highest level,’ he continued. ‘We realise that it is impossible to please everyone when it comes to selecting squads like these, but we would really like to see the entire country stand behind us as we take on England.’

Springbok 32-man squad for June Test series:

Backs – Bjorn Basson, Jean de Villiers, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Jano Vermaak.

Forwards – Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Ryan Kankowski, Juandre Kruger, Werner Kruger, Beast Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe.

1,463 Comments

Pages: « 120 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 » Show All

• 1301.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Kwas………….., jussus!!!!!!

• 1302.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1285: He isn’t the only one highly p # ssed off, that I can tell you. Apart from folk like he, you and I, and the many other rugby fans out there – there are more than a few serious movers and shakers also a little bewildered – and it will be interesting to see what happens when their bewilderment stops and the WTFS start. The trees in Stellenbosch whisper in the wind.

• 1303.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1301:

Kom ons daag by sy huis op een aand en gooi hom in n klein, donker kamertjie met n ratel hoog op angeldust :P

• 1304.cab: Reply to this comment

Fourie, Etsebeth, Elstadt, Bekker, Kolisi, Vermeulen, Burger, Joe P, De Jong, De Villiers, Habana, Aplon and maybe Grant should have all been picked (but for injury).
    14 Stormers

Rallapelle, Kruger, Hougaard, Morne, and maybe Spies, Flip and Greyling
    4-7 Bulls

Beast, Bismarck, Alberts, JP, and maybe Daniels, Mvovo and Lambie
    4-7 Sharks

Cilliers and CJ and maybe strauss
    2-3 Lions

Brussow, Goosen and maybe Coenie or WP
    2-3 Cheetahs

• 1305.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1299: haha ja fek know what Nikita attempted to do here tonight – as far as Keo is concerned if he wants to shag prozzies and snort coke surely thats his business? Typical moral religious rant by an Fakrikaans newspaper. Who cares? Only thing important is that he doesnt behave improperly to employees and I think that one is being manufactured. Lot of politics surrounding Keo of late. Dont think he´s liked much. lol

• 1306.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1301:

Kom ons daag by sy huis op een aand en gooi hom in n klein, donker kamertjie met n ratel hoog op angeldustt :P

• 1307.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1300: Oh he said it……and then tried to weasle his way out of his monumental Hugh Bladen type f c uk up.

• 1308.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1299: what was that you were alluding to earlier.. something about Potgieter got the ‘right’ kinda DNA mix for the open side springbok flank task…

WTF is that bullshit balderdash actually all about?

• 1309.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Sorry people, my comment is awaiting moderation, I mentioned angelstoffies, part of a topic that seems to be a little sensitive around here :roll:

• 1310.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-1303: you gonna start a f’ng revolution round here.. yeah you know.. we don’t wanna change the world.

• 1311.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-1293: Oh for the sake of the Sharks praise singers, please don’t pop the ‘Beast is like the strongest man in like the whole world, no the whole universe bru’ bubble. It is all they have left…….POP

• 1312.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-1307:

Relax ou, Hensopper was being sarcastic ..

• 1313.SpiesIsWorthless: Reply to this comment

Bloubok befok. It’s gonna be real sad seeing Sideshow trot out on Saturday, cant think of a more ordinary fullback in any premier rugby nation. If England start winning the battle at the breakdown with Brussouw nowhere in sight things will start looking downright tragic. Besides that, our run on team will look pretty decent (I hope) and I’m still expecting a 3-0 series victory.

• 1314.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-1310: Ja sorry. We all know how fragile they are….. :)

• 1315.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1308:

Whooooooo FIRE FROM THE RIGHTEOUS FUCKADILLY HEAVENS
    Chill Skoppie, we already established it was culture that you guys are lacking, not DNA… :lol:

• 1316.cab: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1309:
    who wanna change the world -simple logic ekse who is leading the sa division – they only lost twice -one to saders away and one to sharks away – sharks and bulls been each beaten like 6 times – 2+2 = 4.

• 1317.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1307: or was it blind side.. I kinda lost what was actually your real DNA motivational drift?

• 1318.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

I still can not get my head around Siya Kolisi omission. He has all the skills needed to succeed at test level.He showed composure,intelligence and toughness against Bulls,then capped it off with a match winning bust. Siya is a matchwinner and its not as if Bok forwards are overladen with these types of players.HMs stuck in the mud, retrograde gameplan obviously has no place for players of Kolisi’s quality, his tactical approach most suited to mauling, tight ,non-peripheral vision draught horses

• 1319.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1307: I think Potgieter is the closest thing to a plank or garden ornament (rugby intelligence wise) that we have going in SA. Good for a few strong runs (if he remembers to take the ball with him), a few hard hits (if someone points out the target to him) and able to stay on his feet if nothing else distracts him. A good, solid player who is ideal for Meyer’s game plan just like Alberts(if the latter manages to string 2 good performances together), but no Messiahs – either of them. This Coetzee kid seems in the same mould – just younge, but still no Messiah. You want a thinking loosie, Dewald Potgieter is the one worthy of praise, not Jaque.

• 1320.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1314: he said DNA.. go ahead and ask him.. he distinctly said Potties has got the correct DNA to do the beeswax for the Boks.. obviously something Kolisi don’t or for some weird physiological (or is he suggesting psychological) reason he lacks.

If it was a big bruising no nonsense fokmavoort enforcer style blind side No.7 Heyneke was looking for why he don’t consult with Elstadt.. there isn’t a more devastating crunch time moer hulle stukkend kinda DNA specimen in the country.. why he go pick a Vodacom cup lightie who just stepped up into the big time dude who’s already fck’d up with a broken arm.. this bullshit actually DEFIES any sound logic??

• 1321.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-1319:

Coetzee is the real deal.

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1320:
    Potgieter detached a kneecap, didnt break an arm, and yeah, we will have to see how it pans out.
    RE the DNA thing, ja, read the comments, I was there. It’s not much of a conversation if you want to know.

Kolisi is the hero of the weekend. No doubt.
    But overall he hasn’t shown that he is better than Marcell, and thus Marcell is flying first-class while Kolisi goes economy.

• 1322.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-1317: I have barely got over the injustice of the Kolisi omission, and now you have bust my barely healing wound wide open again. The only fools on the planet trying to defend his exclusion, are those who are also trying to defend the INCLUSION of Kolisi’s inferiors.

• 1323.cab: Reply to this comment

only 2 fokmaarvoorts in SA at the present and u need them – alberts and elstadt. juan smith also a great player but think he’s done. vermeulen also great allround.

potgieter and stander and arno botha and marcell coetzee are more athletic newcomers but they dont give those big momentum crunches.

• 1324.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-1317:

They are ‘saving’ him for better things… or so the story gets told in Disneyland… else this garbage is all about some ‘other’ kind of omission criteria.. and if we don’t wanna go stretching any vivid imaginations around here.. we maybe better leave it to some higher level of discretion than yours or my better judgment.

after all he’s picked Kankowski who been injured better part of the S15 and who at the best of times is the grandest poefta showpony lightweight operator going.. even less effective than Spies.. and that’s saying something chronic.. AND another dude who played LESS rugby than Kolisi this year… goes bedonnered befok (SA for headless chicken mayhem outa control motherless) on the rugger pitch and he’s sitting at home nursing a bust up arm…

some things are simply too complicated to fathom.. when in SA there plenty sound reasons behind these kinda things that are not very clear to the ordinary spectator like you and me.

• 1325.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-1323:

ok
    Cab, I like you, but …ok

• 1326.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Such self righteousness…

such a sense of entitlement…

Keo cape hormonal getalong gang…

News for you cunties… welcome to the real world of rugby outside this little dream blog…

• 1327.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1320: Let’s see shall we. I like the kid, and he has been great for a very mediocre Sharks outfit. He is perfect for the Meyer game plan as well, and will spend each and every game working damn hard doing all of Spies’s work as well. Is he the Messiah of loose forwards his groupies think he is – don’t think so.

• 1328.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1320: Coetsee is red hot dynamite.. he be in my squad right up there with the first names I pen down.. but so would Elstadt and Kolisi (and Vermeulen if he weren’t injured)

So WHY the fck is Potgieter included.. AND Kankowski.. who BOTH are or have been injured of late.. and they nowhere NEAR as effective or efficient as Kolisi

If this ain’t about some kind of racial stereotyping going down here that Coetsee and Potgieter are for some weird and uncanny reason ALL the business while Kolisi who smoked Spies and CJ and the other Potties last night almost solo in not .. then you okies in heilige tswane town are doing a bad job of hiding it.

• 1329.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1326:

“cunties”..I’m so immature for laughing at that, it’s like the English equivalent of poeste

• 1330.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1326: wheres your new name runtcunt

• 1331.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1319: he picked him because he plays for the bulls. I doubt potgieter would of been picked if he was playing for ep and enbelbrecht if he was still with wp.
    If I remember correctly potgieter was a non event when the bulls played the stormers at newlands.

• 1332.cab: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1325:
    coetzee and potgieter all run hard but they go down with the big hit – u watch elstadt and alberts they get more determined the more they knocked down – they look for the contact whereas the others try and show off more met die lang hare at full tilt.

• 1333.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1326: what happened with the sharks yesterday?

• 1334.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-1327:

He doesnt need to be a messiah, neither is Kolisi.

(By the way, speaking of players doing the work of other players: some would then argue that it was harder for Marcell to do his then in a mediocre Sharks outfit..hence all the more impressive)

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1328:
    Vermeulen, yes, I dont know why Potgieter is there. but his presence in the first named squad is no cap guarantee.
    kankowki either, this is down to what HM believes they can get out of them, and experience, that’s all. (in Vermuelens absence)

• 1335.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-1332: that Jacques Potties is a Schalk Burger wannabe showman like you say long locks flowing in the f’ng breeze he should head to Hollywood I’m sure they got a gig there somewhere for a new version of Tarzan meets Nikita or some such trilogy.

• 1336.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-1293: having arms locked holding up a bar ina gym or a forward going straight up and down in a lineout is one thing, holding a player up while he is pivoting backwards by only the material on his pants is a show of immense strength, the backwards momentum of the player going over must have put tremendous pressure on his back and shoulders.

• 1337.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1326: POP. Where were you last night when the Sharks sh i t got real? Good thing you warriors scored so many beautiful tries (like only the Sharks backline can of course) giving you a bonus point – no wait……..Sorry wrong team, wrong outcome. I have a friend who is a fanatical Shark, now this deluded soul will not be hearing anything negative about the Sharks (last year the Saders walloped the Sharks in the UK, and this dude tells me the Sharks played the better rugby and won where it mattered – on the field, not on the scoreboard), and even he was at an absolute loss to put a positive spin on anything that took place last night. Maybe you can do better? In terms of the Sharks performance?

• 1338.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1330: Want me to pull out the post where you state “Bets are off, HG” in one of your more chickenliverish moments, Huh…

Not averse to honouring the agreement but please explain the “bets are off” thing

• 1339.cab: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1335:
    they all like that the modern bulls – greyling i thought was old school but not sure if someone with same size takes him on. they missing some oldfashioned yster, its now all show for the skreeuende dames of pta met die spiere en lank hare.

• 1340.cab: Reply to this comment

janee nikita is a stunner for sure, its probably not pc, i should compliment her intelligence or some other kak, sorry in advance..

• 1341.shooter: Reply to this comment

Game of the weekend was probably the Chiefs Blues game.
    The two SA derbies also super.

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1329: that was funny.

tomorrows the weekly bloggers will be here. expect a blogfest after this weekends happenings.
    Lions beat sharks
    Bulls beat Lions

HM does the Weepee S15 a favour and they hate him for it.
    To be fair. The Stormers have really defended throughout the campaign.

Aplon unlucky.
    Brussouw ommission sends a message -no laurels.
    i guess one or two other questions.
    either way. Test rugby in a week!!!! whoohooo!

Gonna be great. See you in a while >>>

• 1342.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-1333: The Lions… yes?

Maybe they also will beat the Stormers after the Intls… That 1st half of theirs is one of the best performances in S15 this year….

Lioncunts come to spoil the party… They had to come right sometime…

• 1343.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1329: Sorry :wink:

• 1344.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-1336:

Um, not really that much, Ive lifted up my fair share of forwards, and to be honest it’s harder keeping them in front like a sissy squat can be hard.

• 1345.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-1337: Stormers lost to the Sharks last week, remember?

Dont be surprised if the Pussycats fuckyou okes up 6 love after the Intls either, gaylord.

• 1346.shooter: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-1341: oh. and, by now, the 9th force’s going-ons

• 1347.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1334:

you know how I reckon it might flow.. (I’m just wondering aloud here.. doing a little innocent style speculation of my own) is maybe some go down on bended knee to a slightly different tune or deity or some weird concocted psychological assessment like ‘he who got the same philosophy fits in my laager better than he who don’t) kinda setup..

who know’s – isn’t that similar to why Jake didn’t want or need any fetchers unless they fetching beers from the fridge.. now all of a sardine One Luke Watson clone wannabe ain’t enough.. now he needs 2 beer fetchers at Brumbies – not one.

• 1348.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-1339: greyling is a big dirty cheat every scrum he goes out and once he has slipped past the tighthead shoulder he scrums in and up trying to hurt and unsettle the tighthead, last night when kaplan pinged him and he had to start scrumming properly he became a little puppy dog.

• 1349.cab: Reply to this comment

@shooter(shooter)-1341:
    that was an outstanding game.

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1342:
    say what you want but the lions destroyed your team in the first half – i mean it was like 32-7 and im not even sure you deserved the 7.

• 1350.cab: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-1348:
    bit of a bully, but every team needs one, he pretty much is keeping the bulls in the physicality stakes at the moment, cos their backrow offers nothing. not sure about his scrumming as u say.

Pages: « 120 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.