No Du Preez, Brussow for Boks
3 Jun 2012
Fourie du Preez and Heinrich Brussow were the big omissions from the 32-man Springbok squad to face England in the June Test series.
It was believed that Japan-based scrumhalf Du Preez was informally offered the team captaincy last week from head coach Heyneke Meyer. However, it seems as if the player has made himself unavailable for selection as he’s been left out of the squad. Eighthman Pierre Spies and centre Jean de Villiers should be front-runners for the captaincy.
Cheetahs openside flank Brussow is also a major omission from Meyer’s first official Test squad. His high penalty count this year is a probable reason for his exclusion. Stormers duo Juan de Jongh and Gio Aplon can count themselves unlucky as they were overlooked.
Stormers flank Siya Kolisi was not picked. However, he and six other young players – flank Arno Botha (Bulls), prop Frans Malherbe (Stormers), flank CJ Stander (Bulls), centre Francois Venter (Bulls) and scrumhalf Piet van Zyl (Cheetahs) – will train with the Boks during the series. This will allow these players to gain experience in the Test set-up, but they won’t be eligible for selection.
There are nine uncapped players in the squad – flank Marcell Coetzee, wing JJ Engelbrecht, lock Eben Etzebeth, flyhalf Elton Jantjies, lock Juandré Kruger, prop Coenie Oosthuizen, flank Jacques Potgieter, lock Franco van der Merwe and scrumhalf Jano Vermaak.
There are 15 survivours from of the 2011 Bok World Cup squad. Wing Bryan Hanbana is the most experienced player with 74 Test caps.
‘We were always looking to start the season with an experienced squad to face England, but injuries to certain players and the non-availability of others have made it difficult,’ said Meyer.
‘What we’ve lost in experience, we’ve made up in passion and desire to play for the Springboks. We have put together a squad with a nice balance between a number of veterans and players with less experience as we start to build for the rest of the season.
‘Working with these players during our four planning camps this season has been great and really made a very difficult selection process a bit easier. There were a few unlucky players that didn’t make it and they will get opportunities in future as long as they keep on knocking on the door.
‘The nine uncapped players have all put up their hands during Super Rugby this year and we know they have what it takes to succeed at the highest level,’ he continued. ‘We realise that it is impossible to please everyone when it comes to selecting squads like these, but we would really like to see the entire country stand behind us as we take on England.’
Springbok 32-man squad for June Test series:
Backs – Bjorn Basson, Jean de Villiers, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Jano Vermaak.
Forwards – Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Ryan Kankowski, Juandre Kruger, Werner Kruger, Beast Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Franco van der Merwe.

1,463 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 » Show All
3 Jun 2012, 22:31 pm
@shooter(shooter)-1364:
lol, think the last line is exactly right, need a danie clone from sabie or something.
3 Jun 2012, 22:31 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1398:
ahaha it’s ok, it served it’s purpose
3 Jun 2012, 22:32 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1376: skop, trust me jaque potgieter is a bonehead! i went to the stadium for two years & watched him perform for the kings, he was my favourite player! capable of producing the sublime along with the atrocious with equal ability!
throws his body around like a 2004 schalk burger!
watch him rack up penalties & cough up the ball in contact.
3 Jun 2012, 22:35 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1394: I met Mallet once and asked him directly what inspired him to pick the wrong fly half for the Boks vs Australia in the 99 WC semi.. he ducked and dived a bit and said the players were given the choice .. and that way he perhaps feels he was absolved of the responsibility.
turns out Agile not sure if he has a degree or not.. maybe somebody should do some research around that.
Wasn’t it you comparing players reckoning Potgieter got the right kind of DNA where others don’t .. or who exactly missing the point here
3 Jun 2012, 22:36 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1400:
I would actually have laughed if Vermeulen was injury-free and got chosen ahead of Spies, we’ll never know now.
Spies works hard, no doubt, but he creates a lot of pointless work for himself like a municipal worker…from Limpopo.
He just needs to do what he does with gay abandon and aggression..right now it’s just the gay part.
3 Jun 2012, 22:37 pm
worst decision mallett ever made, ppl go on about teichman skinstad, and i think mallett expressed regret at that – but honiball over droppie de beer wouldve brought that beker home imo. good coach good team.
3 Jun 2012, 22:39 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1395: i don’t recall stormers supporters writing off the lions as a 5pt gimme like YOU did!
your team were as windgat as you were last week & they got their arses handed to them by mitch’s muchachos!
you thought they only had to show up @ ellis park & collect but the “surrender m.onkeys” had other ideas
3 Jun 2012, 22:40 pm
honiball in 1999 and bismarck in 2011 wouldve seen bokke with 4 titles.
3 Jun 2012, 22:41 pm
@1405 agile
hehe…gud stuff Deon
3 Jun 2012, 22:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1407:
3 Jun 2012, 22:42 pm
LouisSch….
I am sure Nick Mallett got really hot under the collar, twitched abit you know………….
I mean, the pressure he must have elt to answer your probing, incisive questioning. Real boardroom style stuff. Only the type of thing really important people get to do.
So what happened next?….
3 Jun 2012, 22:43 pm
@Rage(Rage)-1409:
statement or a command?
a comma can mean a world of difference.
3 Jun 2012, 22:43 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1403: just as I suspected.. a Schalkie kinda clone – headless chicken part 2 – Kolisi way more effective and controlled and clear sighted and intelligent if I may venture to take a such a glaring guess… wrong f’ng DNA and All… plus the tackles that Kolisi put in are EFFECTIVE and the runs that Kolisi puts together always make ground – somebody should get the message out to broederbond HQ in tswane town..
3 Jun 2012, 22:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-1407: Touchy touchy… Just because the Lions are far better than the Kings will ever be…
Nope I did not think Sharks only had to show up at ellis park and collect, I stated a few times that the Sharks needed to respect the Lions… As Plum also said… But that maybe was the wrong attitude altogether… Maybe the Sharks needed to be arrogant a la Stormers and believe they are entitled to everything including the 5 pts at Ellis.
But never fear I shall be laughing my gatoff should the Lions achieve the “impossible” and manrape the Stormers when they play them after the Internationals, hey Sharksworld “expert”?
3 Jun 2012, 22:47 pm
@Rage(Rage)-1409:
My name is not Deon by the way, I have a little Asian girl’s name.
I’m taller, faster, smarter and better-looking than Deon Stegmann…maybe not as strong or as tough, but then again if I had a face like that I too would probably have no other use for it than a human shovel.
3 Jun 2012, 22:47 pm
@cab(cab)-1408: yip pretty much sums it up..
somebody told me here much later that the real reason Honibal didn’t play was because he didn’t want to.. not because he was injured… that it was a kind of personal statement he made to Mallet because he dropped Teichman that Honibal actually lost interest.. dunno if that’s true because it was a sharkievarkie that told me the story.. you know how provincial bias gets floated around to try score points and influence the bloggosphere … anyway that was what I was told here on keo.
3 Jun 2012, 22:48 pm
@cab(cab)-1408: And Lem would have played in the final, if Larkham didn’t sink the one drop goal he actually kicked in his entire career…
3 Jun 2012, 22:49 pm
LouisSch…
‘suspected’, I thought you knew this all already?
But please, what happened to Mallett then, did he like run away or what…
3 Jun 2012, 22:50 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1416: Thats **** of the highest order… Of course Lem would have played but he was trying to get over an injury – a career ending one in hindsight… He was only near ready in the last couple of games in the WC. Thats how I heard it.
3 Jun 2012, 22:52 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1415: Thank goodness you dont have a face like the Steg… a missing chromosome is not good for the face aesthetic…
3 Jun 2012, 22:52 pm
I think Honiball was a real gentleman and perhaps one of the most decent okes to ever play for the Springboks.
He was exceptionally shy tho, I remember getting into a lift with him in a Cardiff hotel.
Fantastic player, incredibly tough.
3 Jun 2012, 22:54 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1419:
Actually legend has it the El Chupacabra stole his chickens the night before the squad announcement. Yeah, he had a very particular preference in eggs, you guy sknow ole lem, confidence player.
Guys, enough, I’m gonna shift sideways, you okes have a good evening, looking forward to the team announcement later this week, keep well all.
Keo, sterkte boetman, I know it’s hard dealing with things when certain other things dont go your way.
3 Jun 2012, 22:55 pm
@ Agile
Why you discussing your bra’s looks die heeltyd? That’s kinda dodgy man,just like your asian girly name..what is it,ChungLi?
3 Jun 2012, 22:55 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-1418: he ducked and dived at first then sold me the story that the players made the choice.. he gave them the choice to make and they chose De Beer not Honibal.. that what he said.. you go ask him.. perhaps he tell you a different version to what he told me.
some sharks supporter over here gave me a different spin on the whole affair much later but I asked Mallet direct and that what he told me.
yeah he might have gotten a bit hot under the collar with this nobody asking him why he screwed up a perfect opportunity to win a WC semi final.. maybe he did.
3 Jun 2012, 22:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1420:
Stegmann has a beautiful wife though…let’s see you do better, weren’t you the one here bragging about his girlfriend back in 2009?? Hmmm?
Where’s your god now, huh!?!?
3 Jun 2012, 22:57 pm
@cab(cab)-1421: Lem is Bok Legend… Like Ruben… True gentlemen off the field. Fierce competitors, but never dirty, onfield…
They will always be have a place in my Game Played in Heaven side.
All that I know is that just about every young player of promise will soon go to the bulls as they will see it as the easiest way to a green jersey.
I expect players like Paul Jordaan, Pat Howard, Handre Pollard, P-S du Toit and even Steven Kitshoff to become bulls very soon whether they are currently contracted or not.
“Come all the players
Come all of you
You’ll not see nothing like the Mighty HeineQuinn
Come all without
Come all within
But when HeineQuinn the coach gets here,
All the players gonna run to him”.
Apologies to Bob.
@Rage(Rage)-1423:
Actually they call me….Sue
..and I don’t wear bras.
3 Jun 2012, 22:58 pm
To me Francois Hougaart is not even an option at 9. Wonder why the Bulls dominated the Stomers but still couldn’t win? Hougaart’s service to Morne Steyn is slow and his decision making is poor, that is why the Bulls have no flow in their game. His tactical kicking is far below par. Hougaart looks like a wing trying to play scrumhalf. I’d much rather prefer Vermaak at 9 and Hougaart on wing. I think Heyneke knows this, that is why he almost opted for Fourie to make his comeback
3 Jun 2012, 23:01 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1425: Lol… Bragging about my girlfriend? Hehehe… Obviously Stegs girlfriend is not there for the looks… Have you considered she might be a bit thick… or have a poor self image – some of these poppies do… But then again relationship happiness can sometimes be found in the strangest places… Steg and his “Hottie” = Die Poppie en die Blou Pienk Shrek…
3 Jun 2012, 23:02 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-1425:
Rugby players do not have to look like Percy montgommery to get beautiful wives.The Irish lock Leo Cullen is arguably the ugliest curent pro rugby player and he has a stunning wife.
It scary to see the 2 of them together.
3 Jun 2012, 23:02 pm
ai tog…cheers mr.Sue Stegmann.
3 Jun 2012, 23:03 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-1427: Jordaan fine where he is at the Dynamite… Sharks havent got too bad a Bok quota… Maybe Mannetjies De Jong might find it more attractive to come play at the Sharks after all…
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1426:
yep, those two epitimosed the best part of sprinbok rugby – throw in morne dup, andre venter, jan boland and a few others – and its a very different picture to the stereotype.
but i also liked the kiwis – zinzan, canonball kronfeld, olo, fitzpatrick, bunce – gdam they were good.
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1419: he was ready by the semi.. it was even made public that he could play and then Mallet or the players or whoever decided that De Beer kicked them to victory vs England in the 1/4′s so they went with De Beer again in the semi final..
Big mistake because if Honibal had played we would have won.. no questions about it .
Honibal played in the 3rd / 4th play off vs AB’s the game that actually don’t really matter.
I’m out..
so long
3 Jun 2012, 23:04 pm
@Lourens(Lourens)-1429: The truth here…
3 Jun 2012, 23:09 pm
@cab(cab)-1434: Bunce, Kronfeld, Zinzan, Shelford, Shaw… Worthy, hard adversaries… Not the current cheating lot and overweight embarrassing blimps at scrummies… That 95/96 AB team was one of the greatest of all time – the current World “Champs” but stand in their shadow…
Shaw, Shelford must be some of the hardest men ever to play the game of rugby… But gentlemen off field…
3 Jun 2012, 23:09 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-1435: It was touch and go, Skop…
Anyway, cheers…
3 Jun 2012, 23:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1433:
I feel for mannetjies- i wonder what heineke has told him to do in order to qualify for bok colours – probably to gain 6 inches in lenght or to learn the words of ” Groen Koringlande” backwards or something similar.
3 Jun 2012, 23:13 pm
HM should fast track Van Zyl to 9…. Vermaak is just as kak as Hougaard.. and maybe Mcleod the best of the next best.. with Pienaar perhaps getting the hole shot in the tests…
If I were Heyneke I’d start Van Zyl from the deep end.. he’ll be better than Hougaard or Vermaak at scrum half..
Also he should look at 3 other options at 10… Coetsee of Lions, Smit of Cheetahs, and Le Roux of Cheetahs, until Goosen comes back into play
Jantjies and Lambie – well I dunno how either of them are the answer for the long term at No.10 ultimately
Night.. out now.
3 Jun 2012, 23:14 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1437:
yeah i just thought fitzpatick was a card, used to drive our lot mental with the choirboy routine, no wonder bees roux took a hap out his ear, bunce was such a sharp centre, zinzan could do everything, olo was like a block of shaped granite and kronfeld was just a mullet.
3 Jun 2012, 23:14 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-1439: I feel for De Jong too, but not at the hands of Heyneke… I feel for a player who has proven himself the best 12 in the country for a year in 2010 yet must either bench or get shifted to 13 to make way for a Munster reject…
Dont blame Meyer, blame AC, Fleck and Donkey for JdJ’s rapid backward slide from his heights of 2010…
3 Jun 2012, 23:19 pm
@cab(cab)-1441: Fitzy is a Kiwicuntdeluxe… Lets make no bones about it
Mate of mine was on a Kiwi beach and was keen to surf, sitting with his wife on the beach… He gets chatting to some chilled dude and the guy offers him a spare wetsuit and surfboard… Invited my mate and wife home after realising they were friendly Saffas… Turns out it was none other than Kronfeld… Apparently quite nifty with a guitar in a Jack Johnson kinda way…
3 Jun 2012, 23:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1442:
jean was good yesterday- showed great leadership too.
The captaincy will be between him and Spies I guess- imo it’s a no contest but then again Spies plays in blue and pink.
Anyway, lets see how it goes. Cheers, I am out.
3 Jun 2012, 23:21 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-1444: Cheers… Me too.
3 Jun 2012, 23:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1443:
kronfeld looked like a real character. do the kiwis have decent waves? i thought they were into hobbits and **** with their mountains?
better hit the sack – later.
3 Jun 2012, 23:41 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1443:
i live in auckland and have seen him in the surf a few times. usually port waikato or raglan. he’s always friendly.
3 Jun 2012, 23:44 pm
@cab(cab)-1446:
great waves in NZ. Auckland itself is a fristrating place to surf coz east coast usually flat and west coast usually maxing out. but heaps of awesome breaks around the country. raglan is most famous – NZ’s JBay.
Just think, NZ is 2 islands in the middle of the south pacific. gets swell from all angles.
3 Jun 2012, 23:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-1437:
Have to agree with your sentiments on Abs 96 side, regarded in Nz as our greatest side.Achieving historic first test series win in Sa goes beyond any WC victory in many eyes.
@cab(cab)-1441:
I’m doing some work for Frank Bunces club side he coaches, hes been in a couple of times to the business and is a real down to earth, well spoken guy.
In his playing days was an enigma for Auckland but when he was given the chance to wear the black jersey at the advanced age of 28-29, he blossomed and left a legacy of ,Take no **** .
3 Jun 2012, 23:51 pm
@cab(cab)-1441: Bees? Johan, bro.
Pages: « 1 … 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 » Show All