Sevens star included in island battle

Sevens player Charles Piutau has been selected to play for the North in New Zealand’s inter-island match on Sunday.

According to Fairfax, Piutau is the only player out of the 44 selected who does not play Super Rugby. He represented the New Zealand U20s at last year’s successful tournament.

This will be the first time since 1995 that an inter-island match is played. The game is set to help the financially troubled Otago union and will be played at the Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

Graham Mourie will coach the North while Tony Gilbert has been selected to coach the South.

Forwards: Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (Hurricanes), Toby Smith (Chiefs), Josh Hohneck (Chiefs), Dane Coles (Hurricanes), Tom McCartney (Blues), James Broadhurst (Hurricanes), Michael Fitzgerald (Chiefs), Filo Paulo (Blues), Faifili Levave (Hurricanes), Brad Shields (Hurricanes), Scott Waldrom (Chiefs), Luke Braid (Blues),

Backs: Brendon Leonard (Chiefs), Alby Mathewson (Blues), Andrew Horrell (Chiefs), Hadleigh Parkes (Blues), Richard Buckman (Hurricanes), Charles Piutau (New Zealand Sevens), David Raikuna (Blues), Lelia Masaga (Chiefs), Lachie Munro (Blues), Robbie Robinson (Chiefs).

Forwards: Jamie Mackintosh (Highlanders), Chris King (Highlanders), Ma’afu Fia (Highlanders), Jason Rutledge (Highlanders), Quentin MacDonald (Crusaders), Jarrad Hoeata (Highlanders), Tom Donnelly (Crusaders), Culum Retallick (Highlanders), Tim Boys (Highlanders), Scott Fuglistaller (Highlanders), Matt Todd (Crusaders), Luke Whitelock (Crusaders).

Backs: Jimmy Cowan (Highlanders), Willi Heinz (Crusaders), Tom Marshall (Crusaders), Glenn Dickson (Highlanders), Kendrick Lynn (Highlanders), Adam Whitelock (Crusaders), Kade Poki (Highlanders), Buxton Poppali’i (Highlanders), Patrick Osbourne (Crusaders), Kurt Baker (Highlanders).