Lancaster not fazed by mysterious Boks
5 Jun 2012
Stuart Lancaster says in the absence of footage of a Heyneke Meyer-coached Springbok side they have been forced to review Bulls matches and garner information from within his own squad.
The Springboks have only four days to prepare for the first Test against England in Durban on Saturday, which is clearly a significant obstacle. However, their advantage stems from England’s limited analysis material, whilst Meyer and technical analyst Rassie Erasmus have a wealth of information from England’s Six Nations campaign on which to build their challenge.
Lancaster acknowledged that it was a disadvantage but explained that there are avenues they have explored in order to fill in the gaps in their knowledge.
‘You go back through previous teams that he coached, he has a long association with the Bulls, and he also spent seven months at Leicester. We have six or seven players who’ve worked under him and given us insight into him as a person as coach,’ Lancaster said. ‘The beauty of this tour is that we play each other three times in three weeks so we are going to know each other inside out at the end. It’s more about who learns quickly during the game and who adapts to the match situation.
‘South Africa would have had a good chance to have a look at us during the Six Nations, while their last game was the World Cup quarter-final in 2011. So that’s a clear advantage. But again it’s about adapting quickly, especially in the first Test because come Sunday both sides will have a clearer idea of the other’s strengths and limitations.’
Click here to read Stuart Barnes’ take on Stuart Lancaster
Lancaster also explained that the experience and familiarity of the Springboks’ senior players will soften the impact of an inadequate build up.
‘The Springboks have had limited preparation for this series, but they have a core of players who played not only in the World Cup but prior to that as well. There will be a common understanding and philosophy. South Africa are a difficult side at home, irrespective of their preparation time.’
England last won in South Africa 12 years ago. It signalled the start of a golden era which culminated in them winning the World Cup in 2003. Asked whether this was their best opportunity since that last victory to return with the Bok scalp, Lancaster offered: ‘I tend not to look back, but rather forward to where we want to go.
‘This is undoubtedly a huge opportunity to test ourselves against high quality opposition in their own back yard. A tour doesn’t get any tougher than facing South Africa in South Africa, as the British & Irish Lions found out in 2009.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Durban

635 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All
5 Jun 2012, 17:02 pm
@BullDog15(BullDog15)-597: Except that Zane also is 3rd in the category for turnovers conceded – 29 in total.
5 Jun 2012, 17:06 pm
I recall many posts here by Bulls supporters this season hoping that Zane would get dropped. I wonder if they still feel that way…….
5 Jun 2012, 17:18 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-551:
that won’t go down well.
5 Jun 2012, 17:29 pm
@Bokhoring(Bokhoring)-599: Alberts took a long time to get going this season and Botes was on fire. I’m quite a big fan of playing 2 opensides sometimes when the situation allows it. I don’t think Coetzee is a bad player at all and his future is most definitely very bright. I just feel Kolisi is the better player at this moment in time and fulfills the openside role best.
Spies is a joke, but its inevitable he will be picked, so the flankers will have to carry him.
5 Jun 2012, 17:57 pm
*lol*
It seems the team that is playing is pretty much our usual team with the exception of Coetzee, Kruger and Etzebeth. None of those selections are controversial in anyway.
Kirchner is the only one that I don’t personally like but he has been in form for the Bulls this season and the stats that people have been posting have been illuminating as to his value.
So for all those idiots that cried that we will lose because their favourite toothless Stormer backline player did not get selected can stop frothing. Nothing wrong with the team that will be playing, in fact with the exception of the 3 forwards I mentioned it is the exact same team that played in the World Cup.
5 Jun 2012, 18:11 pm
Meyer is a rugby genius. End of.
The team is going to fire red hot. End of.
5 Jun 2012, 18:33 pm
I cant wait for Saturday…
White and Red…Green and Gold lined up in the best Rugby Stadium with the best atmosphere on the planet…
Passion roaring
With…
Pat, Coenie, Eben, Ruan, Keegan, Chilli, Werner, Zane, JP, Jean, Frans, Morne, Francois, Pierre, Willem, Marcell, Juandre, Flip, Jannie, Bismarck, Tendai…
Standing
Arms linked…
Hands over heart…
Their figurative oath before a bloodthirsty loyal crowd
Uri, Vinciri, Verberari, Ferroque Necari
‘I will endure, to be burned, to be bound, to be beaten, and to be killed by the sword”
Ave, imperator; morituri te salutant
Those who are about to die salute you…
Then the Whistle Blows….
BOOM!!!
5 Jun 2012, 18:33 pm
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-606:
And you’re delusional. End of.
5 Jun 2012, 18:40 pm
@David(David)-608:
Wow. You an England supporter I take it?
5 Jun 2012, 18:42 pm
No worries Gunther
He added a smiley
Makes everything OK
5 Jun 2012, 18:49 pm
With apologies Cicero…
Springboks, either ruined forwards or fleet footed backs – what blows they
endure! How those who are well disciplined prefer to accept the
blow rather than to avoid it in a disgraceful way!
How often it becomes clear that they would rather do nothing else than satisfy
either their Master Coach or their Supporters! Even when weakened by their
wounds, they ask the Master’s wishes and indicate that, if they have
done enough for Heyneke, they wish to fall.
What Springbok, even a mediocre one, will ever groan or change the expression on his face? Who will acted disgracefully, not only while he stands but also when he falls? Who, having fallen, when ordered to receive the death
blow, will pull his neck back?
None will… Not these Heyneke Meyer Boks….
BOKBEFOK
Such is the power of practice,
contemplation, and custom… (Cicero, 1st Century BC)
5 Jun 2012, 19:14 pm
Accept the blow?
That’s for Keo.
5 Jun 2012, 19:35 pm
god gerd HG, what the hell cicero gotta to do with it?
yoh u only talking the superlative shite today.
aint it just a game?
5 Jun 2012, 19:47 pm
some okie dokie still living in pre christian unanimity
he must be a full on broederbondtjie this rhodesian runaway who ran from blighty’s corner when smithy chucked up the ghost and handed the reigns to bob
how he finds himself all wrapped up in azania’s cause.. only those still seeking the asylum of enraptured belonging to a national patriotic fervor will sing their song of sixpence baked in mother hubbard’s pie
5 Jun 2012, 19:49 pm
Looks like Coetzee and Etsebeth will be in the starting XV on Saturday. Hope they able to replicate their Super Rugby form in the test arena.
Bok rugby is blessed with talented youngsters at the moment.
5 Jun 2012, 20:06 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-607:
erm…Ferrari, Lamborgini, Maserati, Alfa Romeo?
Whatcha talkin’ bout Willis?
Plenty of good stuff going around on Keo huh?
reminds me of a few years back when we were writing limericks
I sense the balance of power in world rugby is shifting…not very far though..but it’s greener on the other side
The Boks finally have a decent coach again, the All Black management has changed slightly, a few of their best are out too, McCaw is not at his best either.
The more I look at Heyneke’s squad the more I like it actually. There will be more Sharks in the starting XV than Bulls.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-456:
OK Tacitus, I know you were trying to make a point, but HM said that “it’s just a matter of time before Heinrich Brussow plays himself into the Bok team again”, he isn’t against “small” forwards.
And regarding Stegmann, it was Heyneke that brought him to the Bulls and this year they assigned him to carry more.
I’m actually curious to see how Marcell does. Great pity about some of the injured/unavailables, but still a 3-0 coming up on the Roses, and Marcell will be everywhere on Saturday, just everywhere, those hansgat English don’t know what pace that youngster has had to play at in the Sharks team and surprizes in store, gonna love it.
I just hope he is a peaceful sleeper, he will struggle to get some sleep on Friday night.
5 Jun 2012, 20:07 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-614:
Yes, yes Skoppington, hoe lykit ou maat?
5 Jun 2012, 20:09 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBmkor9WF0U
5 Jun 2012, 20:25 pm
europe’s going into meltdown i reckon – I am the Walrus..goo goo ga joob
5 Jun 2012, 20:29 pm
yessus these okes can carry on about the monarchy and continuity, and grace and self-determination and on and on. ppl actually buggered in the head with tradition.
the only one thats any use, is philip, one of the funniest men alive.what what.
5 Jun 2012, 20:45 pm
God save Her Maj
My mom loves her
5 Jun 2012, 20:47 pm
yep mine too.
seems a fairly nice old woman – but **** they can only wax on.
5 Jun 2012, 20:49 pm
@cab(cab)-619:
That song has such deep lyrics:
“Yellow matter custard, dripping from a dead dog’s eye.
Crabalocker fishwife, pornographic priestess,
Boy, you been a naughty girl you let your knickers down.
I am the eggman, they are the eggmen.
I am the walrus, goo goo g’joob.”
They must have been on a moerse trip when they wrote it.
5 Jun 2012, 20:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-623:
lol – they must have been.
5 Jun 2012, 20:56 pm
ollie le roux tweets keo:
“whats up snorter?”
must be the sa version of reverence.
5 Jun 2012, 21:29 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-611:
Shamepies. This really shows how you miss boarding school in your rich wite soutie throwbacks who neuked you lekker in the showers while singing “Campfire’s Burning” and “God Save McQueen”.
5 Jun 2012, 22:03 pm
@cab(cab)-625:
rich indeed coming from him.
5 Jun 2012, 22:16 pm
Cicero was murdered ,so all those speeches did him no good in the end.
As for all the premature triumphalism-wait till the Springboks win before you celebrate.
5 Jun 2012, 23:11 pm
TOAD.Red eyed’ and heavy lidded(And slimy)
Oh wart infessted one ‘How was the journey from the stagnant pond into the light..Dont you think that your absoloute admiration(Nay,love)for certain players)’is homosexual desirre.Yes I wenti to a good school but expelled=inStd.8 for being a maverick.Since Then self educated.
SD dont give me that ****.F.O.A.D An acronym for you,Sad for you that I despise bullies.i
5 Jun 2012, 23:26 pm
@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-626: LOL… Even I got to laugh at that…
” rich wite soutie throwbacks who neuked you lekker in the showers”
Fuckwit… Hahahahahahaha
5 Jun 2012, 23:28 pm
@papashanga(papashanga)-628: What are you… England or Stormer supporter….?
Forgive this poster… Dont know who is actually more anti-Bok on this site
5 Jun 2012, 23:34 pm
@cab(cab)-620: Told you chaps last year already… Farken markets heading for one BIG BOOM…
Europe just the birth pains… the kicking… before the baby gets thrown out with the bath water…
Buy tins of baked beans… Tuna… any stuff to barter… Camping gear… Spear gun… Side arm… Diesel… Firelighters…
Practical stuff… Winter is Coming… I shityounot.
5 Jun 2012, 23:34 pm
UFO.Go well pal.God bless you and family..Mine have been going through
a hard time due to W//E.results.WOW///
Is that not going to offend the toad.?
Thanks for the humour and cyber friendsjip..
Regards.(Apparently also a bad greeting)
5 Jun 2012, 23:44 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-616: Ja… Those were the days… of limericks… reason and rhyme… prose and poetry….
And yes I too feel the tide is turning… The Grass is Green… Bok Green…
And all hail Heyneke Caesar…
Farken cant wait for Bok glory days again… and a big STFU to all moaners and squealers, Sheepshaggers and Crims…
The likes of us can say we were behind Der Kaiser from the start… long before the Johnny Come Lately Flip Flops inevitably jump on the Bok Glory Wagon
6 Jun 2012, 04:33 am
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-600:
thanks Kea-Cat…
@ryecatcher(ryecatcher)-633:
Hey RyeCatcher…Likewise…
Hopefully the family’s feeling better and a good result this weekend will help erase last weekend’s results… and the aftermath… for everyone…
I wouldn’t worry too much about what other people think… As long as you’re true to yourself and you represent yourself online as in real life, as Stormersboy said so well earlier yesterday, that’s really all that matters… IMO anyway…
I believe strongly that we we are all let down by our education which always insists we only have five senses… Of course we have a sixth sense which is often frowned upon but we all use to a greater or lesser degree, though very few give it the attention it deserves… We should all make a point of using it at least once a day… and I’m sure you know to which sixth sense i refer…
The Sense of Humour…!!!!
Go well too…
Regards….!!
Pages: « 1 … 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] Show All