Habana’s main mission
6 Jun 2012
RYAN VREDE writes that while many in a youthful Springboks’ squad want to prove they have the aptitude for Test rugby, Bryan Habana wants to prove to himself that he still has it.
Habana doesn’t shy away from the issue of his poor form prior to the start of the current Super Rugby campaign – a nightmarish passage that began around 2010 and gradually descended. At the time he certainly had a sense that he was playing below the standard he sets (in Tests in particular), but couldn’t comprehend the intense criticism. Time has given him perspective.
He understands he raised the bar of expectation with his showings between 2004 and 2007, a period in which he scored 30 tries in 36 Tests and became the IRB’s Player of the Year off the back of irresistible form at the World Cup. But this expectation felt unrealistic for him at times, and on the evidence of his performances, the harder he tried (and he never lacked for effort) the greater his struggle became.
Just before the 2011 Tri-Nations, Heyneke Meyer, then in his capacity as Bulls director of rugby, told keo.co.za: ‘It’s like being stuck in quicksand. The more you fight, the deeper you sink. I’ve seen it happen to many players.
‘It’s not my place to comment on Bryan because I don’t know the full picture – what’s happening in his personal life and so on – but generally the players I’ve seen recover from those situations have done so when they’ve rediscovered a natural enjoyment of the game again. How he gets to that point is for him and his coaches to determine.’
That enjoyment seems to have returned with greater on-field success, and the more he enjoys it the better he plays. A vicious cycle has given way to a positive one.
‘Having achieved what I have, the pressure was always going to be on me to perform [at a consistently high standard]. I’ve been a player that has been able to make a differences in matches. The most disappointing thing to come out of the last 12-month period was the amount of individual errors I continually made,’ Habana says.
‘It was something that wasn’t in my game before. I had to go away and look at the reasons for this and rectify them [Habana has since worked with world-renowned visual skills coach Sherylle Calder]. I was fortunate to have a coaching team and team-mates that backed me. No matter whether I believed in myself or not, I constantly had that support structure. Coming off 2011 I had to go back and see where I was as a player and establish what I wanted to achieve.’
However, Habana, who turns 29 in a fortnight, stressed that his Super Rugby form was merely a glimpse of the standard he expects of himself.
‘I wouldn’t call what I’m producing now good form because I’m not where I want to be. There’s a lot more that I want to achieve. It’s been a good start but there’s a lot more for me,’ he offered.
A winger will always be measured primarily by the number of tries he scores and with what regularity he scores them. There are widely held concerns that with the Springboks’ pragmatic game plan Habana won’t see much of the ball. Habana doesn’t share that pessimism.
‘I see our game plan the same way I saw it nine years ago. Everyone told me going from the Lions to the Bulls was going to make me a worse players because of the perceived 10-man style. Then I became part if the most successful South African franchise in Super Rugby. As players we understand what we’re trying to achieve and believe in the structures.’
This Test season will be one of the defining ones in Habana’s career. If his torrid form endures, his mentor Meyer is unlikely to be as charitable with the No 11 shirt as his predecessor Peter de Villiers was. But I sense it won’t. I sense Habana is set for a statement season. Here’s hoping that sense isn’t misplaced. Here’s hoping that statement is: ‘I’m back’.
By Ryan Vrede, in Durban

368 Comments
6 Jun 2012, 06:27 am
Bok Dragon Habana
6 Jun 2012, 06:37 am
Fu_ck it but ricardo loubscher looks like a thai or malaysian immigrant
6 Jun 2012, 07:11 am
a man on a mission.
6 Jun 2012, 07:12 am
@viewer(viewer)-2: loubscher is a backline/attack guru! the bok backline is going to be irresistiBULL.
6 Jun 2012, 07:15 am
Habs @ 11 still a very safe bet.
By elimination, no other 11 has done enough to dethrone the guy.
As for Aplon against NikNaks @ 15, whole different story!
Looking forward.
‘go bliksem hulle’ …, ala Fikile Mbalula
6 Jun 2012, 07:32 am
@viewer(viewer)-2: So what?
6 Jun 2012, 07:37 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-6:
clearly the nic befits the fella
6 Jun 2012, 07:40 am
@viewer(viewer)-2:
you in the mood for noodles?
6 Jun 2012, 07:45 am
Habs’ 60m chip and chase burning Taute and co to become the first South African to 50 Super tries… suggests yep he still has it… not to mention his great positional play off a fantastic Kolisi break to score the match-winner against his former team…
6 Jun 2012, 07:45 am
or a massage?
6 Jun 2012, 07:48 am
What is so youthful about this squad??
The same “tried, tested and failed” players are going to run out on Saturday.
6 Jun 2012, 07:54 am
The mother grundy book club is out in force this morning.
6 Jun 2012, 08:03 am
@pakslae(pakslae)-11:
i think its calculated on number of caps. which should be a lot less than the amount the 2011 wc squad had.
6 Jun 2012, 08:10 am
Springbok backline coach Ricardo Loubscher feels Pat Lambie’s future in the Springbok team lies in the flyhalf position.
Cape Town – Springbok backline coach Ricardo Loubscher feels Pat Lambie’s future in the Springbok team lies in the flyhalf position.
The 21-year-old played fullback for the Boks at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand but has been mainly used at flyhalf by the Sharks in Super Rugby this year.
“I would say flyhalf is his best position. Pat took the right decisions under pressure at the Sharks and that’s what you expect from a flyhalf,” Loubscher told Die Burger.
However, with Zane Kirchner likely to start at fullback and Morné Steyn the incumbent at flyhalf, Lambie looks set for a bench role against the English in the upcoming three-Test series.
But Loubscher also didn’t rule out the possibility of Lambie featuring at fullback in future.
“It depends on what you need on the day. They (Lambie and Kirchner) have different strong points.”
Loubscher also feels captain Jean de Villiers fits perfectly into the outside centre berth for the Springbok game plan.
“I prefer Jean at outside centre due to the way we play. If you play direct rugby, your inside centre can get you over the advantage line. Then, when the ball goes wide, you’ll have your best decision maker at outside centre.
“Frans Steyn is for me the best at inside centre because you then effectively have two flyhalves. Then we’re also in a position to have good decision makers and tactical kickers at flyhalf and inside centre,” said Loubscher.
The first Test in Durban kicks off at 17:00 on Saturday, followed by Tests in Johannesburg (16 June) and Port Elizabeth (23 June).
News24
Finally… someone who assesses Lambie correctly…!
If Lambie is patient and bides his time he will get plenty of opportunity to play flyhalf for the Boks…
6 Jun 2012, 08:12 am
Cape Town – Springbok backline coach Ricardo Loubscher feels Pat Lambie’s future in the Springbok team lies in the flyhalf position.
The 21-year-old played fullback for the Boks at last year’s World Cup in New Zealand but has been mainly used at flyhalf by the Sharks in Super Rugby this year.
“I would say flyhalf is his best position. Pat took the right decisions under pressure at the Sharks and that’s what you expect from a flyhalf,” Loubscher told Die Burger.
However, with Zane Kirchner likely to start at fullback and Morné Steyn the incumbent at flyhalf, Lambie looks set for a bench role against the English in the upcoming three-Test series.
But Loubscher also didn’t rule out the possibility of Lambie featuring at fullback in future.
“It depends on what you need on the day. They (Lambie and Kirchner) have different strong points.”
Loubscher also feels captain Jean de Villiers fits perfectly into the outside centre berth for the Springbok game plan.
“I prefer Jean at outside centre due to the way we play. If you play direct rugby, your inside centre can get you over the advantage line. Then, when the ball goes wide, you’ll have your best decision maker at outside centre.
“Frans Steyn is for me the best at inside centre because you then effectively have two flyhalves. Then we’re also in a position to have good decision makers and tactical kickers at flyhalf and inside centre,” said Loubscher.
The first Test in Durban kicks off at 17:00 on Saturday, followed by Tests in Johannesburg (16 June) and Port Elizabeth (23 June).
Finally… someone who assesses Lambie correctly…! If Lambie is patient and bides his time he will get plenty of opportunity to play flyhalf for the Boks…
6 Jun 2012, 08:20 am
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-12: Then how the f e ck do you explain the increasing number of Shark’s fans posts questioning Meyer, Loubscher and the intended game plan? Just take a visit to the axis thread, then come back and tell me if those Sharks fans are TRUE Sharks fans because they dare question the Bok setup? Or are they undercover Stormer fans?
6 Jun 2012, 08:40 am
Bryan seems to be more selective these days, when flying up on defence sniffing an intercept or whatever he was trying to do when he looked stupid,an improvement that has made his overall game look better. Scoring opportunities may come his way, he needs to take them, so heavy involvement and back-up any suspected break.
6 Jun 2012, 08:41 am
sorry for the double post…
was yellow-carded with an “awaiting moderation” message…
but the TMO obviously found no evidence of foul play…!!
6 Jun 2012, 08:42 am
Best Springbok winger of all time by far and one of the finest in the world of all time. Has another WC in him too.
6 Jun 2012, 08:45 am
Habanna is also the best defensive wing we’ve got and have had for the last 5 years. Now that he’s getting his attacking spirit going again he’s the best 11 for sure with Mvovo next in line.
6 Jun 2012, 08:46 am
I have huge respect for Bryan…
after a lean couple of years and lots of abuse from fans and in the press… instead of running off for a bigger pay day in europe or japan, he knuckled down and put in the effort in the off season and fixed his mind on regaining his old form… which he has largely done now… as proved by getting the quickest recorded time in stormers pre-season training…
but with a few more years under the belt… is perhaps a bit smarter and discerning as te rangatira says…
so kudos to bryan… the consummate professional rugby player… many could learn from his example…
6 Jun 2012, 08:48 am
Would still walk into any first XV anywhere in the world.
6 Jun 2012, 08:48 am
Habana’s been steadily improving.
Was one of your (and JdV) biggest critics but so far he’s clearing the doubt from my mind bit by bit.
May it continue and with it bring much more joy to Bok & of course Stormers supporters this season.
6 Jun 2012, 08:50 am
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-22:
Now that’s pushing it.
Not ahead of Zac & Jane and that Hurricanes flyer.
And not ahead of Digby.
6 Jun 2012, 08:50 am
This past weekend was the right place to make his statement! What a statement it was…
6 Jun 2012, 08:51 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-25:
absolutely bill…!!
6 Jun 2012, 08:52 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-20:
@ufo(ufo)-21:
Agree.
@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-19:
Best Bok winger of all time yes.
Not so sure if he has another WC in him especially as a winger but he’s adapted his game so we’ll see.
6 Jun 2012, 08:54 am
@ufo(ufo)-26:
Oh dit is lekker om ‘n stormer te is te is…
Oh that vision of Siyalater gliding through the gap… what more can anyone want…
6 Jun 2012, 08:55 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-24:
There may be individual wingers in better form at the moment, but no team has two of them – to force Habs to the bench. NZers have huge respect for him.
6 Jun 2012, 08:55 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-27:
Time for us Capie’s to gloat today!
Although the Bulls do think they have a claim to him…
6 Jun 2012, 08:56 am
When is the team being announced?
6 Jun 2012, 08:57 am
@viewer(viewer)-2:
What’s wrong with that.
6 Jun 2012, 08:58 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-28:
Stop throwing bait out man
It’s tiresome
6 Jun 2012, 08:58 am
Whenever I think of Habana as a player I think of the days when he just started his test carrier. I was a test match against France in 2006 at the old Boet Rasmus in PE.
He had a confident swagger and smiled at the crowd at every opportunity possible. Had no reputation just a fantastic talent with huge potential.
He still managed to carry RWC 2007 into 2008 but then unfortunately the wheels started coming off.
The 40m break on Saturday gave me more satisfaction than the winning try.
6 Jun 2012, 08:59 am
@viewer(viewer)-2:
Where do you live.
6 Jun 2012, 09:00 am
@22
That’s hyperbole.
The best wing in SR at the moment is zac guildford (for my money). He can burn defenders with his pace but what stands out is his endurance over 80 minutes. I think he’s got parachutes where his lungs are supposed to be
6 Jun 2012, 09:01 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-33:
For who?
6 Jun 2012, 09:03 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-37:
For whoever you think you gonna catch
6 Jun 2012, 09:03 am
@viewer(viewer)-36: That’s because he’s probably high as a kite all the time.
6 Jun 2012, 09:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-38:
Ok! Movies, 80′s songs, coaches???
6 Jun 2012, 09:05 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-39:
He just streaks through the opposition
6 Jun 2012, 09:06 am
Dawn, there’s nothing wrong with it. Its an advantage if he decides to become a drug mule on the Far East transit route
I live in Pretoria
6 Jun 2012, 09:07 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-31: lunch time
6 Jun 2012, 09:09 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-43:
Thx.
6 Jun 2012, 09:09 am
Nah Dawn, I’m kidding. I know what being subjected to bigotry feels like
6 Jun 2012, 09:10 am
Habana shares the record for tries in a world cup with the mighty jonah…
illustrious company…
nuff said…
6 Jun 2012, 09:11 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-41: Yes, he only stops for female joggers
….
6 Jun 2012, 09:12 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-34:
his try against the blues (i think) when he played for the bulls. cant remeber which season but it was great.
6 Jun 2012, 09:13 am
@39 sb
I thought his problem was alcohol (ever since his dad died)
6 Jun 2012, 09:14 am
So everyone agrees on 90% of the Bok team, right? The only debates are around fullback and the loose trio combo?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-47:
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-48:
Must a Bull always come and spoil the party! When when when…
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-34:
remember seeing him signing autographs at newlands just after he moved down here… nearly two and a half hours after the game he was the only player there… still giving every fan who wanted a signature or photograph their turn… all with patience, humility and sincere enthusiasm…
of course people will say he has to do that… but he doesn’t… other players are infamous for their stand-offish attitudes…
6 Jun 2012, 09:15 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-50:
No one here has seen the team Katerman! Please share…
6 Jun 2012, 09:15 am
dear western province,
please keep your panties dry when the starting team is announced later today, ladies.
regards,
a bok supporter.
6 Jun 2012, 09:16 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-50: On the starting 15 yes. 90% of that picked itself.
Us crybabies are moaning about the squad not the team.
6 Jun 2012, 09:17 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-54:
Dawn!!! Talk to this man please!
6 Jun 2012, 09:19 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-51:
keep your boots on, it was a helluva try. complete solo effort.
i dont think he could ever do that again, age and weight is not on his side anymore.
6 Jun 2012, 09:20 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-53: Neither have I. I’m asking whether, after a 5 days of arguing, we’ve all reached agreement on the team, with only 6, 7 ,8 and 15 still up for debate.
In other words…
Beast, Bismarck, Jannie, Eben, Juandre, Coetzee???, Alberts??? Spies???, Hougaard, M Steyn, Habana, F Steyn, De Villiers, Petersen, Kirchner???
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-57:
You are so itchy today! PMT?
So habana will be 32 by the time of the next WC. He’ll only make it if HM pulls a PdV on us. Wing play is a young mans game. Didn’t the Reds just give a debut to an 18 year old
6 Jun 2012, 09:22 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-55: It wouldn’t be a week in SA if you lot weren’t crying about something. Conservative estimates reckon that around 60% of you cried because of the Queen’s diamond jubilee.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-58:
15 Lambie
6 Coetzee
7 Alberts
8 Keegan
Not questions about it… Happy!
So what say the Stormerpoms today?
No change?
Roger that.
Wait for the Boks to start winning.
They’ll be on the bandwagon soon enough. Albeit all grumpy and sulky like.
6 Jun 2012, 09:23 am
i believe eben is still iffy, in which case they hould not play him. maybe give him an impact role at best or a 15 cameo in the last 1/4.
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-59:
not at all. just saying it was probably his best try ever.
will look for the video.
6 Jun 2012, 09:23 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-61:
You should have been at Loftus on Saturday mate. That is what I called crying…
Sorry Dawn.
6 Jun 2012, 09:24 am
Dawn will be named the No 4 lock enforcer. Touchy, touchy at the moment
6 Jun 2012, 09:25 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65:
Video? Beta or VHS?
6 Jun 2012, 09:26 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64:
they’ll crow about jeans ‘commanding leadership’ on the field.
i smell another plod in the making.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64:
That would be wonderbull Tac!
can’t see there being any major objections… pretty much done and dusted…
6 Jun 2012, 09:28 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-69:
Jeans? Since when is she leading? You play in pink and now you talk pink…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65:
15 minute
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-69: This Jean captaincy thing has had an unexpected effect in Pretoria. Suddenly they all saw his name in print for the first time, and most of them have started saying his name like a pair of Levis.
6 Jun 2012, 09:29 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-69:
I’m actually warming towards Jean. Seems like a humble guy with lots of passion for the Boks.
I think he’ll make a pretty good captain.
And of course, Heyneke picked him so that’s good enough for me.
6 Jun 2012, 09:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-64: After which they’ll start speculating on which Bulls players to buy. This is not a new script.
6 Jun 2012, 09:30 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-73:
You been sniffing today mate? You speaking in tongues…
@>^..^< katman(katman)-74:
Hilarious…
6 Jun 2012, 09:30 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-59: Nope. I think it’s BMT, or rather the Bulls lack of it on Saturday.
6 Jun 2012, 09:31 am
Jeanpant de Villiers.
He scored a try with his first ever touch of the ball in a Test vs England @ Twicks in 2004. Ran past a weak tackle by charlie hodgson. Jason Robinson was Eng captain that day. The 2004 – 2007 version of BH – I don’t know if SA will produce another wing like that in this lifetime
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-75:
You really getting soft Tac! You are so nice with that sensitive side.
Coming back to the squad, I think Hougaard was brutally exposed as an inadequate scrumhalf on Saturday.
He reminded me a bit of that scrumhalf from the Baby Boks, trying to play a game he is not really skilled enough to implement.
Hougaard should be on the wing, with Vermaak or Pienaar at 9. Especially if we’re going to play a kicking game in the rain on Saturday.
6 Jun 2012, 09:35 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-82: Vermaak is not a great kicker. He’s good at sniping around the fringes and his decision making is great, but his tactical kicking is not the best.
6 Jun 2012, 09:35 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-82:
Which wing would he replace? Habanna? They are calling him the Rolls Royce of Rugby – imagine CT if that happens…
6 Jun 2012, 09:36 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-79:
that’s gonna stick…
6 Jun 2012, 09:37 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-75:
he’s got quite a decent sense of humour as well.
expect him to steal Keegan Daniel’s vajazzler and hide it in Beast’s washbag.
6 Jun 2012, 09:38 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-83:
There is method in his madness! Two more Bulls in the starting 15…
6 Jun 2012, 09:38 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-84:
Yes he should replace Habana.
But of course that would result in tyre burning and blockaded streets in the Western Cape.
6 Jun 2012, 09:39 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-88:
6 Jun 2012, 09:40 am
Jeez Tac, you really are in a happy space at the moment, “warming up to Jean”. So you’re happy that a Stormer is captain of nearly one half of the Bulls 2012 SR squad
Katman , JdV is a Levi’s 501 jean (the entry level Levi’s). Once bought a pair for 499 Rand at Edgars
Within two year the bokke will be unstoppabull!
@>^..^< katman(katman)-83:
Pienaar then.
But Hougaard’s tactical kicking is so slow, and his passing game so predictable.
He is a great athlete, but his feel for the game is nowhere near Du Preez’s level.
@ufo(ufo)-85:
like a pair of Bod’s stovepipes.
6 Jun 2012, 09:41 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-88: Helen Zille would personally lead a protest march.
6 Jun 2012, 09:42 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-68:
he is your player.
forgive me for complimenting him.
6 Jun 2012, 09:42 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-92:
I would like to think that the legend would be spending some time with Hougaard in the coming weeks working on that aspect of his game.
6 Jun 2012, 09:43 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-95:
Forgiven…
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-93:
rolled up at the ends above his white winkelpickers…
@viewer(viewer)-90: On you Club Card, you’re actually still paying off the full R1100. Hope you still have them.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-96:
Gareth Edwards in the Bok set-up?
6 Jun 2012, 09:45 am
We just have to get through the teething phase. I can’t see HM doing anything other than improving the team over time.
None of this peak in 09 ****, it’ll be a nice smooth linear curve all the way to knocking the kiwi’s off the top spot.
Can’t wait.
6 Jun 2012, 09:46 am
@viewer(viewer)-90:
To be honest, I want Heyneke to succeed more than anything else.
I’ve waited 20 years since readmission for the Boks to reclaim their top spot in World Rugby – and to get our win loss ratio against the All Blacks back where it belongs – which is more wins than losses for us.
For that, we need an 80% win ratio, actually we need more than that. Not just 16 wins in a row by winning one Tri Nations and a few lesser games around it, before going to pot again.
Not just the odd World Cup.
Nor just a narrow squeak through win against n British Lions Squad that we should have whipped 3-0.
In short. I want us to have the kind of win ratio that the All Blacks have. Which is around 90%.
And I firmly believe Heyneke can eventually get us there. 4 years from now I want us to dominate World Rugby like the All Blacks currently do.
And for that, Heyneke has to get the crazy Cape fans to pipe down a bit. Winning will be the only way to achieve that.
Everything else is of secondary importance.
6 Jun 2012, 09:47 am
@Cambridge(Cambridge)-101:
Nice to see the English supporting the Boks… Welcome Cambridge!
6 Jun 2012, 09:48 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102:
and so say all of us…!!
@>^..^< katman(katman)-74:

well he’d better wear his channel like a pair of levis.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-75:
yes, i too think well of him.
but it has been said around here that he apparently is/was an aloof doos- towards his younger teamates in the stormers setup. i must say i was surprised to hear this.
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-77:
sniffing the smell of victory
For me the key question is:
Does he still have the pace(esp acceleration) that made him a world beater? For me it looks like he has lost a yard or two with age and injuries.
6 Jun 2012, 09:49 am
entry level levis?
isn’t that like budget economy class?
6 Jun 2012, 09:49 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102:
Winning is what the Stormers are all about Tac. Bonus points is what the rest of South Africa are on about. AC has said just keep winning and the rest will fall in place.
Glad you have seen the light and I agree with you…
6 Jun 2012, 09:50 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-105:
Can you convince HG?
6 Jun 2012, 09:50 am
@ufo(ufo)-98:
winkelpickers?
Bods picked all manner of fruit.
But I’m not sure he’s ever picked a winkel.
not even in his darkest days.
6 Jun 2012, 09:51 am
habanas try against the lions at loftus in 2009 still goes.down.as.one of the greatest finishes of all time. had everything movement by the backs, bullet pass by dupreez and.the speed and.desire of habs. awesomeness
6 Jun 2012, 09:52 am
jeanpant de villiers…
501s… entry level…???
more like the original real mccoy, genuine authentic benchmark for all the rest…
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-110: winkelpicker = shoplifter?
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-111:
I also rated the one on Saturday agains the Bulls. His pace was awesome…
6 Jun 2012, 09:53 am
@ufo(ufo)-112: Not to be confused with Jeanpant Deysel, which is 100% stonewashed and pleated wif side pockets.
6 Jun 2012, 09:53 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-110:
he’s picked plenty of winkels…
for the clueless – winkelpickers were very fashionable shoes worn in the 60s…
6 Jun 2012, 09:54 am
@99 lol
6 Jun 2012, 09:55 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-105:
leave tac alone.
he is googling the vajazzler.
his life will never be the same again.
It will make the day he discovered there were two Ebersohns look like a Sunday school picnic.
6 Jun 2012, 09:55 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-108:
To be brutally honest, Allistair is merely a copycat.
He is now playing the game that the Bulls played back in the 2005 and 2006 Super 14 tournaments, when we made the semis 2 years in a row but failed to win it.
Back then we had big forwards, but bonuspoints were often an issue for us – other than the 75-14 thrashing of the Stormers, of course..
But the point is, for all the criticism of the Stormers current gameplan – physical forwards, strong defense and milking of penalties to eke out some wins – that is an exact blueprint of the Bulls game of years gone by.
Allistair is no visionary. He is just a copycat.
The Bulls have tried to move on from that gameplan – and succeeded in doing so in 2009 and 2010, when we started scoring loads of tries.
But we don’t have the personnel yet in our new team to pull through in the big games.
In short, Allistair’s strategy is working for the Stormers. But it is a bit laughable that the Stormers fans are so proud of “their” gameplan, when this was the very style of play that they used to mock the Bulls about.
Basically, I think Allistair is behind the times, and he will be shown up as soon as the Bulls and Sharks teams get back to their customary levels of ability.
6 Jun 2012, 09:56 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-109:
victory for the boks, boots….victory for the boks…
6 Jun 2012, 09:56 am
but the stormers haven’t won anything yet.not for 10 years. i don’t see that changing.wait a minute,i stand corrected.
the conference.winners trophy. wopeefrikkendo
6 Jun 2012, 09:58 am
exactly
6 Jun 2012, 10:00 am
“A winger will always be measured primarily by the number of tries he scores and with what regularity he scores them. There are widely held concerns that with the Springboks’ pragmatic game plan Habana won’t see much of the ball. Habana doesn’t share that pessimism”
ahem..
6 Jun 2012, 10:01 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-113:
Alright Tac.
Wish granted.
I, as a WP supporter, is piping down.
If indeed Heyneke has the Masterplan to lead us to world domination then I’m calling a cease fire.
But if the wheels do come off I don’t want any excuses from his believers.
So until then…
Go the BOKKE!!!!
@>^..^< katman(katman)-115:
no…
and obviously not to be confused with klein calvin either…
6 Jun 2012, 10:02 am
na.the one on Saturday was a defensive mistake by jj the one against the lions was perfectnothing the lions did wrong
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-118:
yes agreed, tac does take his christianly duties seriously. i dont think you should even mention things like vejazzlers, sunday school picnics or ‘there are two ebersohns’… while he’s blogging.
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-125:
Great to hear.
As Heyneke said. He is not interested in excuses either.
It’s all about winning.
6 Jun 2012, 10:03 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-119:
oh tac, you sing such sweet words sometimes.
makes me giddy just reading it.
6 Jun 2012, 10:03 am
@ufo(ufo)-116:
Did you wear winkelpickers in the 60′s.
6 Jun 2012, 10:04 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-119:
Just as we’re about to make peace you came with your shaky statements again.
You won’t find too many supporters doing bommelakkiesies about the lack of attacking nous coming from the Stormers.
Don’t just say the first thing that comes to your mind and then proclaim it as FACT.
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-121: plascon wall & all trophy and vodacom cup!
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-119:
Thanks Tac. During that time the Stormers were criticized for being flash but couldn’t win a game. Now we called boring and copycats but are winning. We can’t win can we. Oh yeah we can win but it is not really winning… You know what I mean anyway.
6 Jun 2012, 10:06 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-121:
Yes and Plascon Wall and All… Our cabinets are getting full…I see a Vodacom Cup there too
6 Jun 2012, 10:06 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-131:
hahaha…
no… was too young… but had some very ‘cool’ older cousins who did…
6 Jun 2012, 10:07 am
In fact, fans down in the Cape have resisted criticizing the Stormers too heavily for their misfiring attacking game simply because they’ve kept on winning.
And as you know it’s hard to argue with a winner as they’ll just point to the scoreboard.
But we’re definitely not happy about how the Stormers attack is going.
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-134:
No. Credit is due for the way the Stormers pack of forwards have manned up.
And credit is due for your wonderful defensive coach.
I just think that a bit of perspective is being lost at times by the fans.
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-127:
Ok!
Its ok Habs, the burial job you have done twice on your return to Loftus has us happy at the Stormers, let Tacitus eat ****, its ok!!
6 Jun 2012, 10:08 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-130:
6 Jun 2012, 10:08 am
“Heyneke has to get the crazy Cape fans to pipe down a bit.”
Tacitus!
LOL. . .But you’ve started a fire
6 Jun 2012, 10:09 am
allister may be behind the times…
but he’s ahead on the log…
where it counts…
ugly as it may be…
6 Jun 2012, 10:09 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-133: Snap
6 Jun 2012, 10:10 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-137:
very true…
6 Jun 2012, 10:11 am
@viewer(viewer)-142: hehehe watch out about crazy cape fans and “pipe” comments
6 Jun 2012, 10:12 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-138:
Nope.
Most Stormers fans’ perspective is crystal clear.
Our team has performed beyond our expectations in some cases this season.
But now that the expectation is there, along with a favourable finish in the normal season we’re cautiously optimistic but not calling our team Super Rugby Champs just yet.
Maybe you’ve been talking to the wrong Stormers supporters the whole time.
6 Jun 2012, 10:12 am
@ufo(ufo)-143:
6 Jun 2012, 10:13 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-147:
and again…
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-147:
Especially after being told we would be mid-table finishers before the competition even started…
@ufo(ufo)-143:
Seems our friends up North will credit everybody down to the ballboy at the Stormers, except of course for ol’ AC.
6 Jun 2012, 10:15 am
@ufo(ufo)-143: “but he’s ahead on the log…
where it counts…”
so if Heyneke wins ugly that will be ok?
6 Jun 2012, 10:16 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-148:
i’m really chuffed we’re there… exceeding expectations as wpstormerbok says…
but
“everybody knows this is nowhere”… *
bulls can still do it…
my hen hasn’t even laid her eggs yet… so no ways can i count them before they’re hatched…
6 Jun 2012, 10:17 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-152:
Flip when have the Boks last won…winning any way will be great…
Individuals do not make a team… I hope this will be understood…
6 Jun 2012, 10:18 am
The only downside to the heights the boks are going to build to will be our ballooning ego’s. I suspect the kiwis and Aussies will have quite a frustrating time dealing with us. I hope everyone here will be preparing their hearts and minds with a suitable allotment of gracious retorts. We wouldn’t want to get too unpalatable.
Tally-ho old chap
@ufo(ufo)-153:
Mate ten years is a long time – a decade infact…
I’m the last to count my chickens before the fat lady sings there is a golden egg…
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-150:
And don’t let us remind them who the cheerleader to that little song and dance was
I won’t mention any names, Tac.
6 Jun 2012, 10:20 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-152:
Victory is always sweet, especially at International level against the top 5 Nations.
What many are questioning is whether the game we think Heyneke’s gonna play will indeed bring is victories.
That remains to be seen.
6 Jun 2012, 10:21 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-152:
Heyneke has 4 days to get the team ready.
Let’s see how his style evolves as he has more time to implement his full gameplan.
I expect some big thrashings of teams like England, Wales and Ireland in a year’s time. With plenty of tries being scored once the physical beat down has softened them up.
6 Jun 2012, 10:22 am
@Cambridge(Cambridge)-155:
A winning Shark, Bull, Stormers & even Lion is an arrogant beast.
But a winning Bok is in a league of his own in that department
!
the plascon trophy….what is that?
congrats by the way
“Mate ten years is a long time – a decade in fact”
Classic!
6 Jun 2012, 10:23 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-151:
of course…
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-152:
of course bluebarb…
i posted earlier in the season that i want nothing more than heyneke to lead the boks to our rightful place in world rugby… i want us to win every game… and be number one in the world… AND win every world cup… i want the boks to dominate world rugby to the point that they all play for second place…
(if i had transformer man’s google skills i’d copy the post to show you…)
i don’t care how fugly it is… i don’t care how physical or old school or unimaginative… or how pretty or creative it is… i don’t really care who the players are or which province they come from… as long as we win and keep winning…
of course i’d love gio to be in the team… but all i’m really interested in is winning…
and… mark these words…
unlike others… i won’t be calling for heyneke’s head if we lose…
6 Jun 2012, 10:24 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-161:
The competition where only the big three participate in! You don’t have to worry about it, your team wasn’t chosen…
6 Jun 2012, 10:26 am
@viewer(viewer)-162:
6 Jun 2012, 10:27 am
@ufo(ufo)-163:
You would demand the whole team then!
ag dammit . i would have loved for us to win the plascon coffee cup.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-119: Stormers made the final two years ago which is something the Bulls of 2005 and 2006 failed to achieve. The Stormers were playing running rugby.
Last year, injuries hit us big time. We became more defensive. Still, we made the semis were we played with injured (but on the field) crucial players. again, something the 2005 and 2006 Bulls did not have to face.
The Stormers of both years played home semis, yet again something the 2005-6 Bulls did not.
One could say the Bulls of 2005-6 were lucky the Stormers were not fulfilling their potential, using your logic.
I fully expect the Stormers to continue beating Natal and the Bulls, now that the mental strangeholds are broken.
The lack of tries is worrying, as has been pointed out time and again but which you ignore with your accusation of a “lack of perspective” (ironic coming from a Bulls supporter).
All the best to Meyer.
@ufo(ufo)-153:
yeah i know you’re not… but others here may not know that…
and i also just wanted to use that neil young line…
but guess it’s too obscure
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-151: Don’t be sensible now
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-167: Yeah I’m sure the Bulls would love to win a cup, any cup right now.
6 Jun 2012, 10:28 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-159: Same. Fingers crossed.
6 Jun 2012, 10:29 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-159:
Don’t be so sure about beating Wales with a physical game. At the moment they have the personnel to be more physical than the boks- and they have the arguably the best coach in the world.
6 Jun 2012, 10:30 am
168 the bulls have 3 subtitles
6 Jun 2012, 10:31 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-173:
From a simple player quality perspective, Wales don’t have the resources to match the South Africans raw ability.
All we need is a coach that can fully capitalize on that ability, and then we should NEVER lose to Wales – like we never lost to them in 100 years until recent times.
6 Jun 2012, 10:32 am
I won’t be calling for Heyneke’s head either if we lose.
He needs time to build his team and game as he sees fit.
My only hope is if indeed he struggles in his first year it will be because of implementing a more rounded game.
But if we sukkel through the year doing the same thing we’ve done since 2006 I’ll be first in line for the execution.
6 Jun 2012, 10:32 am
IF the stormers reach the final… against a foreign team…
which team will you bulls supporters be backing…?
6 Jun 2012, 10:33 am
The RFU website has Manu Tuilagi down as 112kg. Given that he’s only 1.85m tall, that’s pretty solid for a back. Hope our guys have the appetite to smash these fckers in the tackle. I want nothing less than total intimidation, pain and doubt for these English mothers. Fck em.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-175: We need not just strong forwards but skillful forwards. Wales have a good first choice forward pack who are also skilled. We have the capability to continue being better but we need our forwards to be more skillful.
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-176:
yeah… i do believe he has a plan…
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-176:
I would also be most disappionted if we underperformed under Heyneke.
But I just think we have a chance for a golden era here. A chance that might not come again, in our political setup.
6 Jun 2012, 10:34 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-176: Yes, just like I did not want to see the back of Carel back in ’97 either.
6 Jun 2012, 10:35 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-181: I would like to see a non-White coach after Meyer. Meyer has a chance to cement a legacy of strong, consistent Bok showings and transformation.
@ufo(ufo)-177:
Let’s reduce the inflamatory internal debates and focus on the Boks now. Thrashing England will make me love every Stormer in the team. Even Habana, whose narcicistic antics I normally can’t handle.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-159: i have had a good look at Heyneke’s ACTUAL statements to the media, not their interpretations, and a look at his resume tells me that we’re in excellent hands.
for instance the whole fetcher debacle, he is on record stating that the game has moved on, on nowadays hookers and backline players steal more balls than flanks. the stats of this years’ s15 bear that out 100%.
his training that he has invested in personally, and his professionalism make me very confident of the Boks immediate future.
regardless of the service delivery protests in cape town currently
6 Jun 2012, 10:36 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-183:
Why? Why make that a requirement for what you’d like to see?
What you should have said, is that you’d like a successful coach after Meyer. His colour should be immaterial.
6 Jun 2012, 10:38 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-184:
With every positive there has to be a negative. You are something else…
I will love every Stormer, even Habana whose narcicistic antic…
You gotta love Tac…
6 Jun 2012, 10:40 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-184:
Answer 177 honestly Tac… Come on! I await…
Hopefully a Stormer will be man of the match on Saturday
My money will be on Etsebeth.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-184:
What if Heyneke calls on the Dancing Duo as you call them?
I told you the kids love it
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-184: I like to see players expressing themselves and enjoy the celebrations of JdJ, Habana and Aplon.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-186: Did I say requirement? No. I expressed a desire, one which recognises the demographic and social realities of our country. It would be wonderful to have a successful, non-White coach after Meyer – THAT is what I said. Meyer has a chance to cement his place in history, something which he recognises in stating he is the coach for the country (as opposed to white Afrikaaners).
6 Jun 2012, 10:41 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-184:
and your ‘inflammatory’ comments…?
strange you ignore my positive posts and respond to just that one…
tell you what tac…
you take your own advice… no more anti-stormers innuendo…
and so will i…
deal…?
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-185:
Regarding Heyneke’s media statements, I do concede that there is an element of “managing” the naysayers in some of his comments.
I think he has a VERY clear plan, but the only way that everyone will buy into it, is for him to start winning.
In the meantime, he has to play with words a bit and tell some of the crazies what they’d like to hear.
For example. He may say that current form is his yardstick, but he may also have an instinctive preference and belief in some player that may not be performing at the moment. E.G. Kanko.
Hence, there might be a slight contradiction there, but basically, he doesn’t give a sh*t what these critics think. He just needs to manage them until such time as he starts winning and then he can just point them to his win ratio and tell them in a nice way to go to hell.
@Michael(mikeybrass)-183: Why? Would you like to see a paraplegic coach too? Or perhaps an Indian midget coach. Or a Lesbian Vegetarian Mormon coach? How about a blind 75 year old Xhosa woman?
6 Jun 2012, 10:42 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-188:
Ok I will answer for Tac.
I support the Bulls and every team that plays the Stormers… I’m right?
6 Jun 2012, 10:42 am
@ufo(ufo)-192:
I answered it for him – see 195…
6 Jun 2012, 10:43 am
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-188:
There’s no need to pretend.
In the Super 15 its every team for themselves. I don’t want any other SA team to win Super rugby trophies. I want the Bulls to win 10 and everyone else to win 0.
But when it comes to the Boks, we’re all on the same side.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-194: *head desk*
@>^..^< katman(katman)-194:
Waar kom jy vandaan?
6 Jun 2012, 10:44 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-190:
I myself would have picked Aplon over Kirchner. I’m on record saying that.
But Heyneke knows best.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-197: And that is where we differ. If the Stormers don’t, I want another SA side to.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-197:
Yes Sir…
if heyneke does what we all believe or hope he can…
he can have the job for life…
Coach Emeritus Heyneke Meyer has a nice ring to it…!!
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-185:
Look man we’ve been through Heyneke’s statements, we’ve analysed and scrutinized it a million times.
We said we’re gonna support the Boks, never did we say we’re gonna believe everything that HM says.
We’ve been there the whole week already.
Now its about the Boks vs England and not debating Meyer’s thoughts as many on here has challenged it and backed it up with facts as well.
Let it go, for the sake of peace and harmony..
6 Jun 2012, 10:45 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-198: Don’t heasd desk me. Answer the question. Why should we have this desire to have a black coach? ANd why should it be considered racist, obstructive and backwards if you don’t want this? We’ve just had a black coach, and already we’re “wishing” for a black coach.
6 Jun 2012, 10:46 am
@187 yeah Tac is as honest as they come
6 Jun 2012, 10:46 am
That Mara Louw from Idols is looking for a job.
I suspect she drinks from the furry cup.
That would tick several boxes.
6 Jun 2012, 10:47 am
pity tac…
I need tyres.
Any recommendations.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-205:
Does Robbie Deans count as an all black coach?
6 Jun 2012, 10:48 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-209:
Michelin
6 Jun 2012, 10:48 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-209:
Why? You also burning them in the street now?
6 Jun 2012, 10:49 am
@viewer(viewer)-206:
Listen! You won’t get a more unbiased opinion on this blog… Give the man his due!
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-212:
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-207:
Does John Dobson have aspirations to become bok coach or is he more interested to pursuit a career in academics?
6 Jun 2012, 10:50 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-193:
Now that’s the kind of attitude and arrogance that’s bound to divide people.
Not all of us are blind followers.
We ask questions, we wanna know who what where & when as the Springboks belong to all of the Nation.
Heyneke is the man in charge and given a mandate to do his country proud but he must always keep in mind this team belongs to everybody in RSA.
So if people get upset it’s because they’re passionate and not naysayers and naggers.
People on here are trying to meet you believers halfway and yet you keep throwing it in our face with things like ‘we don’t need your support anyway’.
Springbokke is property of the whole Suid Afrika.
6 Jun 2012, 10:51 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-215:
Is that the guy from Focus on the Family?
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-212:
For my car.
Will burn the old ones.
@Robzim(Robzim)-215:
he seems to be loving coaching.
I’m sure he would answer the call if the stormers choke again this year.
@Dawn(Dawn)-209:
for the dolphin?
surely you have a connection?
go to hiQ round the corner from your flat.
they will give you free dj fresh cd which makes an excellent coaster.
6 Jun 2012, 10:52 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-217:
hehe– no, he is the clever baldie who had the huge success with UCT in the varsity cup and recently won the Vodacom cup with WP.
6 Jun 2012, 10:53 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-216:
Everyone is happy if the team is performing.
If there’s one thing you can take out of Heyneke’s comments it’s that this is all he’s interested in.
Despite the conspiracy theories, he is not interested in giving Kirchner free Bok caps if it’s gonna compromise his win/loss ratio.
In the end, judge him on his results. That’s all he’s cares about.
I want Continental Premium Contact
@Dawn(Dawn)-209:
Good Hope Tyres in Ottery Road should be close to you.
6 Jun 2012, 10:54 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-205: I’ll do whatever I feel is appropriate in answer to a question, thank you very much sir. What you said then and now is plain damn stupid, and shows you didn’t read what I wrote.
Who’s dj fresh
we’ll see Allister move on ‘up the ladder’ to become DOR and Dobbo taking over…
6 Jun 2012, 10:55 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-219:
Not sure if the “suits” will give him the call- Theo’s smile during the prize giving ceremony after the Vodacom cup victory in kimberley was a bit faked . Or maybe he was just hungry.
6 Jun 2012, 10:56 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-216: Well said.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-221: No, everyone would be happy at the end result if that turns out to be the case but there is always room for improvement. The disagreement would then shift on how to improve said performance through strategy and players. An important difference.
6 Jun 2012, 10:57 am
don’t head deask me
6 Jun 2012, 10:57 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-224:
You wrote that you want a black coach after Heyneke.
And Katman want’s to know why the colour of his skin should matter?
Come on man. Those skeletons you dig up in the Egyptian desert are all the same colour. Why differentiate based on skin colour in the here and now?
6 Jun 2012, 10:59 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-230: I answered your question on it. Your question at least was specific and not full of stupidity (Katman is better than that).
@Dawn(Dawn)-225:
is you radio stuck on Goodhope?
@Robzim(Robzim)-227:
probably just hunger pains.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-223:
They are but I’m a Tiger Wheel person myself.
I go where the white people go.
6 Jun 2012, 11:00 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-232:
dobbo looked tasty did he…?
6 Jun 2012, 11:01 am
No
6 Jun 2012, 11:03 am
When I lived in the Cape I only listened to KFM. None of that Goodhope FM nonsense for me.
Keo’s twatter:
“@MaxduPreez could explain why city press thinks an allegation against me of substance use (3yrs ago) by a retrenched employee is pg1 news”
Keohane. Max is a busy man.
Habbanna reminds me of Tiger Woods at the moment,same intense uncertainty in their game,both look like they are hating it,and are so concious of fuckking up.
It is irritating in that it becomes all about their bad game.
Where as Woods is an individual,Habbanna is part of a team,and this is something he has forgotten.He is incredibly selfish and self obsessed.
When he is not shining his attitude sucks big time,and I would rather see J.P and Luwazi in the team,they offer more consitency.
6 Jun 2012, 11:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-237:
Don’t get me started on Max.
Back to a happy topic – the Boks, please.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-236:
Vok weet why he would think I would listen to it.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-230: Btw. The situation in North East Africa is much more complex than that. Can always provide readings but you might find them boring
@Dawn(Dawn)-240:
Hehe. Jy in n slegte bui vandag?
@Robzim(Robzim)-227: The buffet those Griqua folk laid out in the Presidents suite was terribly disappointing. Sausage rolls and chipolatas – wouldn’t you be feeling a little let down? I think Thelo did a fine job of hiding his hurt.
6 Jun 2012, 11:05 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-221:
Results is the most important part of his job description yes.
But as Bok coach his relationship with the public is also vital.
It will buy him time when things aren’t going smoothly, say in the case of injuries to key players resulting in losses.
But if his attitude is gonna be winning is all that matters and screw the rest then he’s gonna struggle to find friends when things get tough.
Ask John Mitchell, X All Black Coach about what the NZ public think of him despite his brilliant record.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-236: Finally something we share!
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-236:
not matie fm?
@ufo(ufo)-234:
look if Thelo were hungry enough that s.hit could get real.
@Dawn(Dawn)-233:
go to HIQ it’s right next door to you.
@Dawn(Dawn)-233:
Good Hope Tyres would have been an option if you were looking for retreads, but those days are long gone.
Tiger Wheel Tyre, opposite Livingstone, in Lansdowne Road offers great deals.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-236: I guess you were here before Bok radio hit the pirate airwaves then?
6 Jun 2012, 11:06 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-243: What, no boerewors?
6 Jun 2012, 11:07 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-242:
Natuurlik.
All the stereotyping gets on my gat.
Coloured = Good Hope FM
Coloured = burning tyres
6 Jun 2012, 11:08 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-246:
Does Hi Q stock Continentals?
6 Jun 2012, 11:09 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-231: You still haven’t answered the question, Micky. Why do you specifically want a black coach? If your wife goes into labour, would you also wish for a black obstetrician? That would be great for the private health care’s transformation image, wouldn’t it?
Or would you simply want a doctor who can deliver a baby regardless of his skin colour or nose shape or music taste?
@Michael(mikeybrass)-241:
No I would not find it boring. I’m an amateur enthusiast in pretty much every field imaginable – archeology, history, physics, biology, geography, you name it.
I like to know things.
In any case. I was referring to the colour of the skeletons now. Not whatever their race might have been 4000 years ago when they died in that sandstorm or Hittite ambush or whatever.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-246:
did dobbo know he had a near death experience…?
6 Jun 2012, 11:10 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-240:
Jammer I thought you were a R&B kind of cat.
like Sherrif.
an easy listener if you will.
6 Jun 2012, 11:11 am
@mad eye(mad eye)-238:
Woods’ game is on the up. He just won the Memorial and Habana had a great game on Saturday.
In my book you only as good as your last game/tournament.
6 Jun 2012, 11:11 am
OK, Roy or Ig or Nikita or whoever is the moderator now.
You can have my comment “awaiting moderation” and stick it up your *rse.
I’m not repeating it.
Plonkers.
6 Jun 2012, 11:12 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-255: Did you watch the final round? How good was that chip on the par 3 16th? That shot alone deserved the win.
6 Jun 2012, 11:15 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-252: For pete’s sake, read what I actually wrote. Don’t liek what I wrote in answer to Tac or yourself? Tough.
6 Jun 2012, 11:15 am
@ufo(ufo)-253:
its the bald head that did it.
Thelo was picturing it slathered with Mrs Balls chutney and lashings of Aromat.
6 Jun 2012, 11:16 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-255:
Retreads?
Wash your mouth out with soap.
6 Jun 2012, 11:17 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-259:
Does Hi Q have Continentals?
6 Jun 2012, 11:17 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-257:
Yes, I watched it. Phenominal shot.
I’ve naturally been a Ernie/Goose fan but I hope that someday Tiger can get to Nicklaus’ record of major wins.
6 Jun 2012, 11:18 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-243:
Lol… i heard they decided to cut the food budget after mathew proudfoot cleaned the kitchen last time.
6 Jun 2012, 11:18 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-256: chill bro ^5
6 Jun 2012, 11:20 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-265:
Hehe. I was replying to Michael, and used the word “Hit-tite”, and that seems to have set off some alarm bell at Keo towers.
No idea why.
6 Jun 2012, 11:21 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-174:
‘subtitles’
6 Jun 2012, 11:22 am
@Michael(mikeybrass)-258: You mean this?
“Did I say requirement? No. I expressed a desire, one which recognises the demographic and social realities of our country”
Because that is such a steaming heap of poo. Why, for the love of George Benson, should a rugby coach have to “recognise the demographic and social realities of our country”? You’ve been brainwashed into believing this. Wake up.
6 Jun 2012, 11:24 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-268:
6 Jun 2012, 11:26 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-267: It just means we had to have PdV so that we could see what HM would do about all those things. In a way PdV was important to show that there are “quota players” who really are not.
6 Jun 2012, 11:28 am
For the record I thought PdV was not a bad coach but he compromised himself along the line. I also don’t have a huge issue with the current squad apart from no show for Aplon, although I understand the reasoning.
Dawn what car do you drive?
@LightZone(LightZone)-270:
PdV was an example of all that is wrong with the Transformation agenda.
He was the epitome of someone being appointed for reasons other than competency.
And sadly, Heyneke’s achievements will be juxtaposed to his to make it even more obvious.
6 Jun 2012, 11:30 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-251: Dawn for conti’s (yes you need to learn the lingo) you need to go to Parker’s Pitstop.
I used to take my Audi Quattro there for her Conti’s.
6 Jun 2012, 11:31 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-272: You misunderstand. Don’t worry I know your thoughts on the issue. In order to appreciate the sunshine we need the clouds to break. Let’s hope this era makes it so.
6 Jun 2012, 11:32 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-200: not sure if he knows best, (probably does, as he certainly is the most qualified) but his arrs is on the line, not ours.
thats the big difference
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-263: I’m an Ernie/Goose fan too. Also enjoy Schwartzel and Oosthuizen. But Rory Sabattini is a **** of note, so I wasn’t displeased at all when Tiger ruined his round in such spectacular fashion.
@LightZone(LightZone)-275:
OK, I admit you’ve lost me. Anyway, let’s all appreciate the sunshine, then, I guess.
6 Jun 2012, 11:33 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-267:
Don’t mean to chip in but what I think he meant was that for this country to further reconcile we need black people to excel at the highest level which would inspire more black people to be successful.
Former Bok coach is still a popular face among coloured communities for events and believe it or not but he’s inspired a lot of coloured people for simply achieving what many thought was impossible in a country where coloureds feel marginalised and excluded.
If that doesn’t sit well with you I understand.
6 Jun 2012, 11:33 am
I would like to see a coach who can select a team well with the available resources and still get the best out of the team to win a match.
6 Jun 2012, 11:34 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-277:
I still don’t get why so many of these golfers look like porkers. You’d think that however good you are while a porker, you’d be even better if you had 8% body fat.
Just don’t get it. Professional sportsmen and all.
6 Jun 2012, 11:35 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-279:
Yeah. See, I’m not really into this “Grand Unifying Cause” thing.
The Boks need to win and that’s all I care about.
Maybe that’s just me.
6 Jun 2012, 11:35 am
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-189:
i told you, he is iffy and should not be played.
but thats the thing with you wp people isn’t it.
like coach, like supporter.
6 Jun 2012, 11:36 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-279: He’s not there to inspire kids or make communities feel good or make SARU look all rainbow-ish. He’s there to get 22 blokes to kick the sht out of England and Australia and New Zealand week in and week out. That’s all he should be judged on. It really is that simple. All this other rubbish is just political spin and PR.
6 Jun 2012, 11:38 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-281: The best ones aren’t. The best ones have very strict daily fitness programmes and very low body fat. They are very flexible and have seriously strong core muscles. These days the few remaining fatties always fade on day three or four.
6 Jun 2012, 11:40 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-285:
True.
6 Jun 2012, 11:40 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-278: LOL. That’s quite an admission Tac. When PdV started he wanted to play a hybrid game and compromised himself by changing his gameplan. We now see a coach who wants to continue on the same gameplan but who possibly has more skill at implementing such gameplan. I sincerely hope that this is the seven fat years (metaphorically speaking).
6 Jun 2012, 11:41 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-282:
@>^..^< katman(katman)-284:
Nowhere did we’d be happy just because he’s black/coloured.
Success is top priority as I don’t think too many people have been inspired by a loser.
Without wanting to go into our checkered history but Sport has the power to rattle a beast like A partheid, and the same power to unify like World Cup success and Football victory in 96, 1st World Cup qualification in 98 and hosting the even in 2010.
6 Jun 2012, 11:42 am
@viewer(viewer)-272:
A purple Getz. She likes to getz to Firemans after work and getz dagiwe.
6 Jun 2012, 11:44 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-284: Through winning he will inspire kids. The only thing is that the coach has to look at a squad as a non-racial entity. When one day the team and its supporters views it as non-racial then we will have evolved.
6 Jun 2012, 11:44 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-288: It’s not the top priority of the coach. It’s the only priority.
SARU has plenty of other opportunities (and obligations) to transform, inspire and unite. Choosing a Bok coach is not one.
6 Jun 2012, 11:46 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-277:
Ja, Sabatini is in the same mould as Kevin Pietersen they “South African” but they don’t know what the difference between confidence and arrogance is.
6 Jun 2012, 11:46 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-288: Agreed. We’ve got the “first black coach” story out of the way now we can get on with real business of best merit in a non-racial way.
6 Jun 2012, 11:48 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-274:
I know the lingo
Was spelling it out for Gunther
6 Jun 2012, 11:49 am
@>^..^< katman(katman)-291:
What was implied is that there was a desire for the coach to be black, not a demand.
If indeed a black talent emerges and reaches the top it would inspire others to work harder.
EG.
The latest comrade winner had to take 3 months unpaid leave to prepare for the race.
If you know the struggle of most black & coloureds and not the elite few then you’ll know how much courage it takes to succeed given the odds stacked against you.
6 Jun 2012, 11:50 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-283:
I don’t know whether you watched the last few Stormers games carefully. Etsebeth did appear to hold back in the contact situations especially against the Sharks.
Lets se what happens on Saturday.
6 Jun 2012, 11:51 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-262: Dawn the best place is ContiPartner in Maitland. Better than Tiger for service and price.
6 Jun 2012, 11:55 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-295:
Yeah. See, all I care about is how much we dominate the collissions on Saturday, whether we destroy the English line outs, and whether our midfield gets us over the advantage line after first phase.
All that other stuff. That’s maybe a good topic for Carte Blanche, or Third Degree or Special Assignment, but it’s got no place in a rugby training manual.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-260:
hehe…
thinking…”he’ll taste like shiggen…”
@Michael(mikeybrass)-259:
Turn your love around…!!
Another first hand example is Heini Adams.
We’re from the same town and I know his aunt well.
His extender family members had to pull together to get him where he is today.
Dewie Swartbooi is another example. After all the experience he’s picked up he’s here in town coaching a local club.
He wasn’t the greatest Bulls player ever, but for those working with him now it’s an absolute privilege and proof then you can get there no matter how bad your situation is.
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-296:
on saturday ? sure, but the team announcement is today. we will know for certain what his situation is this way. i.e. run on team, on the bench, not in this saturday team but still in the squad and so on.
6 Jun 2012, 11:58 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-298:
That’s where you’re wrong.
The game is much greater than that and reaches far beyond the chalk lines.
My greatest rugby memory isn’t the Boks winning the World Cup.
It was in 1996, Chester Williams came to town and did a coaching clinic and we were there, interacting with the guy who just brought glory to our nation a year ago.
6 Jun 2012, 11:58 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-294: Gotcha.
Carry on then. Check out Parkers though, they always used to be good value.
6 Jun 2012, 12:00 pm
Sabatinni has always been a cnut ever since he was a school boy throwing clubs at Royal Durban.
Woods is a most ungracious loser,and for all the game has given him he could be a little more more grateful,same thing with Habbanna.
He should look to Percy for guidance,when he was being booed in a Bok jersey at Loftus,he never ever lost his self control and let it get in the teams way.
I reckon the team is better with out sulking Brian and his maybe promise of brilliance
6 Jun 2012, 12:00 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-300:
very cool post…!!
6 Jun 2012, 12:02 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-302: Keep on talking mate, but don’t expect the usual suspects to understand.
6 Jun 2012, 12:03 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-262:
indeed they do.
why are you giving me horns?
6 Jun 2012, 12:03 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-302:
@Bagel(Bagel)-306:
it’s impossible to wake a woman pretending to sleep…
6 Jun 2012, 12:05 pm
@ufo(ufo)-305:
And that’s why rugby is the greatest game of them all
6 Jun 2012, 12:05 pm
@ufo(ufo)-308: Haha
6 Jun 2012, 12:06 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-309:
absolutely..!!
6 Jun 2012, 12:06 pm
@Bagel(Bagel)-310:
6 Jun 2012, 12:07 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-302: You’re talking about making a heartstrings Spielberg movie. I’m talking about kicking the Poms’ arses. Not the same thing.
6 Jun 2012, 12:07 pm
So…
How are the Caped Poms and assorted Gaylords doing today…
Blood gone green yet… Bokgreen or still Green with Envy?
You poor farkers…
6 Jun 2012, 12:11 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313:
no reason why both can’t be realized…
for example… making a movie about kicking the poms asses which pulls at the heart-strings of all saffas…
6 Jun 2012, 12:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-314: YAAAAAY! Bozo is back everyone!
How will he entertain us today? Looking forward to a good ramble!
6 Jun 2012, 12:12 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-314:
Look, I’m trying to steer away from the inflamatory stuff, but that assorted Gaylords comment has me chuckling like a madman, despite my best intentions.
Guess I’m just a lost cause.
6 Jun 2012, 12:13 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313:
I’m down for kicking Pom Butt as well.
Some have sight but just refuse to see the bigger picture.
6 Jun 2012, 12:13 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-302: In 1980 Morne du Plessis and Rob Louw were my heroes but when Errol Tobias became flyhalf for the Springboks I never saw them. He later was vilified but even in those politically-charged days we could see that we were good enough (or better) and we knew we could achieve much greater things than what we were taught. Errol Tobias was the archetypal running flyhalf who could kick well and he got there on merit even though it was said he was a window-dresser. He was always humble and never forgot his roots even under those trying times.
6 Jun 2012, 12:14 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-183: Why does SA need a “non-White” coach “after” Meyer?
Firstly “Non-White”…? What is that, porksword?
Secondly, hows your colour”blind” mind pronouncing on the required melanin concentration of a Bok coach all the way from enlightened Malta…?
6 Jun 2012, 12:15 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-314:
We’ve cooled off but you know you’re the master-baiter on here, so proceed.
6 Jun 2012, 12:15 pm
@ufo(ufo)-315: I respectfully disagree. tHe moment the sentimentality and politically correctness come into the equation, you will ALWAYS end up with some kind of compromise, even if it’s just 80/20.
Leave nation building off the CV requirements if you only want the best coach.
6 Jun 2012, 12:16 pm
@LightZone(LightZone)-319:
Caledon chap?
6 Jun 2012, 12:17 pm
@ufo(ufo)-315:
can it be a western ?
i like westerns.
6 Jun 2012, 12:18 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-313: Or maybe an Invictus movie? Kick the world’s proverbials and STILL pluck the heart strings? It’s not about colour but affording the opportunity for someone to realise the potential of those they consider inferior on whatever level.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-317: Sorry man… But levels of Heyneke Angst haven’t abated yet…
Der Kaiser Heyneke is still inducing nightmares and massive hurt in the Fayre Cape …
Schweet!
@LightZone(LightZone)-319:
And some branded him a traitor for accepting the call-up but I also believe it took moerse heart from him as in the end all he wanted to do was showcase his talent.
Many on here say Rugby’s just a high impact collision sport.
How quickly they forget about the influence it has had on this country, both negative and positive.
6 Jun 2012, 12:19 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-323: Yeah Caledon chap. First colourful player for the Springboks.
6 Jun 2012, 12:19 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-326:
Nope.
I’ve checked it just now.
We’re over it.
Here’s hoping you’ll also be eventually.
6 Jun 2012, 12:20 pm
When does the team get announced?
6 Jun 2012, 12:20 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-191: Wouldn’t be wonderful to have a successful Coach after Meyer Full Stop… Lilly liberal dreamboat social engineering aside?
6 Jun 2012, 12:22 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-322:
i’m talking about making a movie…
sentimentality sells…
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-324:
of course…
we could get pierre to act like a rugby player…!!
@garth(garth)-330:
Got me glued to the PC
Bok Team
Kirchner
Basson
JdV
Steyn
Habs
Steyn
Hougie
Doc
Chili v/c
Beast
Kruger
Etsebeth
Coetzee
Spies
Res: Bissie; Kruger; VdMerwe; Potgieter; Vermaak, Pienaar
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-331:
It won’t be social engineering if the black guy is there on merit.
6 Jun 2012, 12:23 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-324:
Blazing Saddles?
Mornin’, ma’am. And isn’t it a lovely mornin’?
6 Jun 2012, 12:24 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-327: The complexity of the game is similar to a game of chess with the different strategy applied. Strange that chess was a board game designed to teach tactical warfare. No wonder there’s so much passion in rugby. We all want to fight for our country but are not granted the same opportunity.
6 Jun 2012, 12:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-331: we should have a woman coaching the boks as there are more women than men in SA.
6 Jun 2012, 12:25 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-329: I’m over it… Over the moon actually…
About one man:
Heyneke Meyer…. Springbok Coach
His name alone enough to breed fear into opponents…
Compare that to Stuart Lancaster or Robbie Deans or Steve Hansen…
Der Kaiser vs Drinking buddies…
Man Alone…
6 Jun 2012, 12:27 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-335: It wont be social engineering if any “guy” is there on merit… actually.
See?
Melanin 101. Lesson 1
6 Jun 2012, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-339:
Never knew you felt that strongly about the man, Tac better watch out
!
6 Jun 2012, 12:28 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-336:
Hello, handsome, is that a ten-gallon hat or are you just enjoying the show?
6 Jun 2012, 12:29 pm
@wpstormerpom(wpstormerpom)-335:
If he is there on merit then his colour is neither here nor there.
take a deep breath.
6 Jun 2012, 12:29 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-338: So any Stormers coach then…?
Come on… you have to admit hormonal levels and angst appropriate…
Either that or tyre burning Dawny then…
6 Jun 2012, 12:32 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-340:
Correct. If it’s another white oke then it’s all good I have no problem with that.
My only wish is that more people of colour advance in time who will in turn be of great service to Rugby and the people of this country who deal with challenges that’s maybe hard for those who aren’t in their shoes to fathom.
6 Jun 2012, 12:32 pm
That gaylord comment was classic. Still chuckling to myself.
6 Jun 2012, 12:33 pm
The day we look beyond the colour of the black coach is when we have evolved.
6 Jun 2012, 12:33 pm
A movie about Der Kaiser’s Boks killing the Poms involves
Etsebeth Chainsaws
Beast Sledgehammers
Steyns Sniper Rifle
Le Rocket’s Bombs
And lots of Blood….
6 Jun 2012, 12:34 pm
I have to insist that the next coach is deaf, blind, in a wheelchair and a bleck woman.
Asseblief tog SARU.
6 Jun 2012, 12:34 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-343:
OHK.
A white guy there on merit won’t serve the same purpose as a black guy there on merit to black people as for them there’s little relation other then the fact that we’re all South Africans.
A black guy will relate to a successful black guy better then he will a white guy simply because for most black people the struggle to reach the top is much different to that of a white oke.
6 Jun 2012, 12:35 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-345: Just a quick correction:
“Correct. If it’s another oke then it’s all good I have no problem with that. My only wish is that more people advance in time who will in turn be of great service to Rugby and the people of this country who deal with challenges that’s maybe hard for those who aren’t in their shoes to fathom.”
Melanin 101… Lesson 2
6 Jun 2012, 12:36 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-349:
A wise man told me don’t argue with fools, coz people from a distance can’t tell who is who.
6 Jun 2012, 12:37 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-344: instead of the rush-defence we will have the “give them the silent treatment defence”
“hey coach, how was my game?”
“.. it was fine.”
“err…”
” is there something wrong coach?”
“no, why would there be something wrong?”
“you seem a bit upset”
“i saw you talking to that other coach after the game”
“he was just congratulating me for that try”
“DO YOU TAKE ME FOR A FOOL!?”
etc etc.
lets stick to guy coaches.
6 Jun 2012, 12:37 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-350:
“there’s little relation other then the fact that we’re all South Africans.”
there is your problem right there.
goodnight nurse.
6 Jun 2012, 12:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-351:
In time yes I hope it will be like that but for now that’s not the reality unfortunately as not all race groups face the same challenges.
6 Jun 2012, 12:40 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-354:
Not all South Africans share the same privileges unfortunately.
6 Jun 2012, 12:41 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-353: 100%
6 Jun 2012, 12:43 pm
another blazing saddles quote…
What did you expect? “Welcome, sonny”? “Make yourself at home”? “Marry my daughter”? You’ve got to remember that these are just simple farmers. These are people of the land. The common clay of the new West. You know… morons.
6 Jun 2012, 12:49 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-355: You do know reality is a choice, yes?
Red Pill… Blue Pill?
If you persist, talk and post about demographic generalisations based on melanin… then that could be your reality. Your added barrier to seeing actual true worth of individuals…
Similarly if you see the Boks as Blou… or Black and White only… Then that is your chosen reality… Others’ reality is not like that…
Seeing is not believing… Rather believing is seeing…
See?
Melanin 101… Lesson 3
Ps. Now go take the Blue Pill
6 Jun 2012, 12:56 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-359:
Reality is a choice.
Go tell that a kid who hasn’t had a meal in days.
His reality is hunger, but if you applies his imagination he’ll have more than enough to eat.
6 Jun 2012, 12:56 pm
As Bokbefok Saturday Draws near…
A Captains Speech:
“But he’ll remember, with advantages,
What feats he did that day. Then shall our names,
Familiar in his mouth as household words-
Beast the King, Morne and Frans,
Bismarck and Zane, Eben and Marcell-
Be in their flowing cups freshly rememb’red.
This story shall the good man teach his son;
And Heyneke Meyer shall ne’er go by,
From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remembered-
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And gentlemen in Kings Park now-a-bed
Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Heyneke’s day.”
(With Apologies Bill’s Agencourt )
6 Jun 2012, 12:58 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-360: His reality may be hunger… But would it be colour?
6 Jun 2012, 13:07 pm
I say to you today, my friends, so even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the Springbok dream. I have a dream that one day this Team will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created Rugby Players.” I have a dream that one day on the Green Field of Kings Park the sons of Bulls, Sharks, Cheetahs, Stormers and Lions will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood and Victory…
(Martin Luther King)
6 Jun 2012, 13:31 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-336:
@ufo(ufo)-342:
lmao
6 Jun 2012, 15:16 pm
I love it that more and more people are coming out and calling that particular BS out for what it is. Well done.
6 Jun 2012, 15:24 pm
@STBUR(STBUR)-365: Ja, imagine the sheer harmonious bliss if my butcher and my doctor and my mechanic and the bloke who sells me braai wood also “regognise the demographic and social realities of our country”.
6 Jun 2012, 15:25 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: A coach isn’t going to deliver consistent victories to SA, only centralised contracts with control over test players granted to the national coach can achieve that. That is what is behind NZ’s consistency.
6 Jun 2012, 16:32 pm
Have faith in Habana, he’s only 28 and he still has it in him to be there at the next RWC. His form has increased tremendously the last 6 months and we need his experience in the bok team!