Meyer backs uncapped trio

Heyneke Meyer has selected three new forwards in Marcell Coetzee, Eben Etzebeth and Juandre Kruger to start against England this Saturday.

The 21-year-old Coetzee has enjoyed a fantastic season for the Sharks, albeit in the blindside flank position. Meyer feels that the young loose forward can make a strong impact at No 6, and that he will thrive in a new Springbok back-row combination that includes Sharks team-mate Willem Alberts and the experienced form of Pierre Spies.

‘Marcell has played great rugby all year and I believe he will be a superstar in years to come,’ Meyer gushed.

While Saturday will mark his first match for the Springboks, Kruger has accumulated over 50 club caps playing for English side Northampton and has been outstanding for the Bulls in 2012. Meyer has opted to pair the No 5 with another debutant in Eben Etzebeth, who has proved himself to be a powerful player for the Stormers this season.

‘It’s unusual for the Springboks to have two uncapped locks starting, it’ll be a huge step up for them and they need to prove they can play at this level. But I’m very confident they can,’ Meyer said. ‘Flip van der Merwe and Juandre have played together so it would have been easier to pair the Bulls players, but I went for form. Eben brings something different to the party. He is physical and big and doesn’t shy away from contact and is also very good at contesting. I won’t say he is the next Bakkies Botha. He can surpass Bakkies.’

As expected, Zane Kirchner has been preferred to Pat Lambie at fullback. Clarifying his thinking around that pick, Meyer said: ‘We didn’t have a lot of time to prepare. I went for combinations and guys that know each other. Pat is a great player and he can potentially make a huge difference off the bench.’

Francois Hougaard will start at scrumhalf while the more experienced and versatile Ruan Pienaar will provide cover from the bench.

However, Meyer has opted for more experience than youth in his starting backline, with two 2007 World Cup winners on the wings and another at No 12. Captain Jean de Villiers is another who was part of that 2007 campaign, if only for one match before he sustained a serious injury. Morné Steyn, the preferred flyhalf for the 2011 World Cup, is retained at No 10.

Keegan Daniel’s ability to cover all three loose-forward positions sees him included on a bench that has the potential to significantly galvanise the team in the final quarter.

‘I don’t believe in reserves, I believe in impact players. Coenie [Oosthuizen] and Adriaan [Strauss] are probably two of the best ball players in the world. They can turn a game. And Keegan [Daniel] is a guy who has proved himself and can come on at openside or at No 8. If you look at the backs, they can change a game as well, and they’ll definitely be used.’

Meyer also confirmed that Bismarck du Plessis will be the new Springbok vice-captain. ‘I believe Bismarck is a great leader and I truly believe we have some of the best hookers in the world. Adriaan will take over from Bismarck at some stage and he will be the vice-captain,’ he said.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (v/c), 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier.

By Jon Cardinelli and Ryan Vrede

481 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

OK Ryecatcher, get off your knees, I’m sure big, tough, foul mouthed know it all, Louis can take it!

Pompies. You Got it in one re Brussouw IMO. We build up respect for players based on past performances, and sometimes can’t see the wood for the trees. Easy to do.

This is new ground here for all of us Bok fans. New coach, new combinations. So discussion re what what works in all combinations is interesting, but what happens on Saturday will need to be watched carefully. This is a hungry English team who will play their guts out. We will soon see how new players cope with test match intensity and how they combine.

I can imagine how much thought the guy in charge must put into this decisions, particularly when the buck will stop with you, you have the benefit of working directly with and comparing players in this light.

• 452.cab: Reply to this comment

3. Cilliers (jannie going to get drukked)
    4. Elstadt
    5. Etsbeth (yip 2 stormers locks)
    6. Brussow
    7. Alberts
    8. Kolisi.Coetzee

15. Aplon

• 453.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

LouisSch……………
    ‘Pommie Scum’

Why? Have a dig, but why so personal and nasty? You shouldm start supporting football my friend. This is a public site, and although will all give each other a bit of stick, you give substance to the stereotype of the Moronic Bok Supporter.

What did you mean by that? I assume you are afrikaans and struggle with the meaning of the words you use If I did the same in Afrikaans I would apologise and ask for the more proficient for help.

• 454.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Hensopper @ 451.Effort made.Was getting very ugly on my part.
    Not generally like that..

• 455.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

ryecatcher.

bwana LouisSchropenpoepol does that to people, understand.

As soon as his sermon on the History and development of openside play ends
    on the previous thread, he will turn up here with some kind of aggro to put us
    al right as to how and why rugby works.

• 456.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Hensopper @ 455.Will wait for reply,.If he accepts==all good.But will hold him to it.
    If he refuses then weapons are brandished again.My responses had their genesis in= vile language and personal attacks on various bloggers.

• 457.hensopper1: Reply to this comment

Ryecatcher.

As does his recent one about ‘pommie Scum’. What an idiot, how are these visitors to our country scum?

Anywhere, his bad smell is bound to precede him at some time or another, like a **** that wont flush.

Off to bed, cheers.

• 458.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

what ‘pommie scum’ .. are you insane you moron.?

where is this ‘pommie scum’ you refer to..?

shows you what kinda moron exists with his head up his highfalutin prejudicial arse…

you better review your precocious preconceived prejudice because there is nil, none, zero reference by me to any ‘pommie scum’

only one referencing such is YOU.. you pathetic moronic ******** supreme.

• 459.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Here is my reference to the ‘pommie SCRUM’

read it again.. referring to the P O M M I E S C R U M

You moronic idiot supreme.. shows you when somebody got sh’t for brains and prejudice to burn what next they gonna dream up as their imagination runs riot with their prejudice screaming in anguish.

422.louis schropnel:
    6 Jun 2012, 18:58 pm “Pommie scrum” gonna take some stopping Jdup with Bismark and Beast up against Cole Hartley and Corbisiero could be England crack the whip up front Kruger and Etsebeth too light on a soggy pitch, should have gone with Vd Merwe to start Etsebeth off bench Back row Coetsee going to have to play out of his socks to cover for Alberts and Spies., Brussow should have been there the only true to the ball player around, and with Daniel on second half more lightweight contribution off the bench, if Alberts goes down I reckon we in trouble. Only Bismark going to be scrapping in the trenches and on the ground.

• 460.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

ryecatcher got off his high horse because he realized it was leading him NOWHERE… well done.. congratulations your better judgment won the day eventually…

now all thats required is for this moronic idiot hensopper1 to get off of his bucking bronco before it bucks him into the never ending river of ego manic derelict denial

• 461.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Ok. Does anyone reading this, living in the US know how to watch the game on Saturday.

DirectTV is not showing. Pubs are all showing Euro 2012. Minor panic on my part.

I think this is going to be a good game. Way closer than I would like.

• 462.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-461: Kostaz usually shows it all – he was talking baout getting Setanta to cover it as he is on Direct TV

• 463.Sasori: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-461: I’m in Canada and have Sportsnet world at home, perhaps some pub(Irish, English) would have it as well. Normally all the games are on Direct TV or Setanta (the old Sportsnet)

• 464.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-461: Dude, just google live rugby streaming. There are so many websites with a feed now….you can take your pick.

• 465.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

Try dub dub dub dot vipbox dot tv

• 466.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-459:

Ek se, julle/ Ophou die broedertwis. Time to kap som Klippies by Koekie’s in Souties. Almal dra pienk en groen. Ons is almal moffies en lesbian rugby spelers en fans. Naaiers soos Great White en heaven’s moer moet uitkyk. Bring the familiee. Jean en Bizzy gaan die Pommies in hulle sterre steek.

• 467.garth: Reply to this comment

Pack should be:
    1. Beast
    2. Biz
    3. Coenie
    4. Etsebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussouw
    7. Schalk
    8. Kolisi

This pack would dominate all.

• 468.capebull: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-467: That a Stormers pack so far in S15 it did not dominate all, they are not best in line outs , they play with 30 % off the ball, so how and what would they dominate, the tackles made so far is the only thing they dominate. Plaese prevent the Bokke from playing such boring rugby….no tries only tackle

• 469.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Got to tell you I am really impressed with the way Heinike has gone about his business it reeks of professionalism.
    For starters the way he had those meetings with the players to buy into his way of thinking,his media dealings, he seems a man of serious purpose this team he has chosen is one he has put together to do a certain job,and man is it going to do the job I think they are going to be awesome and I think the poms are going to cop a hiding of note.
    There is none of this airy fairyness that was so common to his predecessor everything is meticullous even down to the way he explained Heinrics omission from the squad.
    I am fishing Moreton bay on saturday,then hopefully braaing my catch then watching rugby back to back to back,public holiday here(Aus)on monday so no worry about feeling rough come monday for work cant wait.GO THE BOKKE.

• 470.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

quite like the team. heyneke has picked a mix of experience, combinations and form. he has done exactly what he said he would, and i reckon the team will change quite a bit over the season while he settles on his best team.

• 471.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi(munkiboi)-470: He has picked the best available out of the squad,exept for Kirchner ahead of Lambie to start which is probably based on Bulls combinations.

• 472.garth: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-468: Two of those mentioned which are Stormers are injured, but are reportedly Meyers first choices and the other is already starting. So the only issue is me picking Kolisi over Spies? Kolisi is 10 times the player Spies is.

• 473.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-472: Agreed,Kolisi is a very visible player whereas Spies is near invisible.

• 474.garth: Reply to this comment

Agent Spies, blending in with the surroundings.

• 475.mad eye: Reply to this comment

Depends on time of the day and the lighting in the stadium

• 476.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

All this bottom slapping by the skopshyte and her merry men is starting to get me queasy.

• 477.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Thanks to all. VIPBox is quite good in the past.

Unfortunately Setanta is no more and no one else is showing, so pubs don’t have either. If all comes to naught I will have to do a pirate internet signal of Springbok Radio ( followed by Jet Jungle & Taxi).

• 478.Puma: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-477: hahaha. You paying the price for living in the States Joe? ..lol. How you bud? Where you been?

• 479.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-478: Hello bud. Working too hard. Bloody hell.

I am paying the price. Actually I am looking forward to this game. I think we need to pasop.

Little one dimensional team. We’re going to rely on muscle an kicking again.

The Stormers Vs Bulls game last week was exceptional.

Hows Durbs?

• 480.Puma: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-479: Durbs is great. Weather has been awesome, being the winter, but there is rain forecast for the game. Pity.

I doubt we will take this England side for granted Joe. Think for now that is Meyer’s game plan. We will be seeing plenty kicking in this series. Hope that does change come the RC.

So if you can’t see the game where will you follow it? Here? Remember on RT, Rudi does a live commentary for the whole game. Probably the best to follow there if you can’t see it (even if you don’t blog there) because you can get a good feel for how the game is going.

• 481.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-480:

Ja I believe there is kaak weather on the way for Saturday. I better bring my Sharks instant raincoat.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.