All in to blunt Steyn’s threat
8 Jun 2012
Brad Barritt says nullifying Frans Steyn will require a collective effort not an individual one.
The Springboks have made no secret about their intention to attack England’s 10-12 axis of Owen Farrell and Barritt, with key strike runners – the most prominent back in that group being Steyn – set to test their defensive resolve.
Much of the Springboks’ success will rest on how Steyn fares in this primary role, but Barritt, a team-mate of Steyn’s at the Sharks before he opted to continue his career in England in late 2008, doesn’t feel burdened by the challenge at hand. It is a weight he says will be shared.
‘If they want to give away their tactics that’s their prerogative,’ Barritt said. ‘Gainline dominance is obviously important to the way they want to play. Ultimately it will be a collective effort in stopping [Steyn]. If their forwards can’t get front foot ball it is going to make it a hard day [for Steyn].
‘But really we’ve been focusing on ourselves and not too concerned about what they will do. We’ll try to impose ourselves on them by holding on to possession.’
England of course have a notable wrecking ball of their own in Manu Tuilagi, who impressed in the Six Nations and who is equally adept at physically dominating his opponents as he is at dazzling with his quick feet, good hands and appreciable ball skills.
Read SA Rugby magazine’s in-depth interview with Barritt
If England manage to boss the gainline and, particularly, the set pieces, against a Springbok side that will be big on defensive aggression but still seeking synergy under new structures, Tuilagi will have opportunities to isolate his counterpart Jean de Villiers, who has had limited experience at outside centre. Barritt experienced the same positional shift during the Six Nations and explained the biggest challenges De Villiers will encounter.
‘Defensively there is a a different feel about it. You have to react more instinctively because you don’t have that protection on the inside. He is very experienced and I’m sure he’ll adapt,’ he said. ‘On attack you need to be the team’s width and show that you are a running threat. Ultimately playing 12 open your eyes to what is available outside of you.’
England haven’t won in South Africa in 12 years and Barritt conceded that they were underdogs once more. However, he pointed to them defying expectations previously and says they are determined to do this once more. ‘We aren’t daunted by that tag. That was the tag for most of the Six Nations [England lost just one game].’
By Ryan Vrede, in Durban

176 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
7 Jun 2012, 22:56 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-99: I think Lawes & Croft are a big big loss. The height and pace would have given us a lot of trouble.
But our weakness to be exposed will be in the backline – on attack. Defensively Frans Steyn & JDV are outstanding.
Morne Steyn …..not so much.
But the skop & charge is quite predictable.
7 Jun 2012, 22:57 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-99:
Your priorities are so screwed up right now that you don’t know if you’re ”Arthur” or ”Martha”.
You so desperately want the Boks to do badly to get your favourites into the team, and yet you hate the English at the same time, that you’re probably sitting in front of the PC facepalming yourself between posts, trying to figure out a preferred scenario for this weekend.
Just face it. It’s a lose lose situation for you, either way. Cause Meyer isn’t going to change his mind.
He knows what he wants, and he will rather try and implement it better next time, if it doesn’t work perfectly first time round, than making wholesale changes just to keep the Stormersader fans happy.
7 Jun 2012, 22:58 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-100: I have just been working my arse off.
Also the site got increasingly tiresome.
But I like the Boks. And interntionals bring out the best on the site beacuse, in the main, its all for SA.
I weep for our Lions.
7 Jun 2012, 23:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: I think Meyer’s first consideration when picking a Bok team – before he considers form, before he considers combinations, before he considers game plan – is how he can best piss off this crazy old palooka on keo.co.za. Tick. Now let’s see how we can win this thing.
7 Jun 2012, 23:04 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: Meyer will be forced to change his mind.. before too long he’s going to realize.. just like Jake was forced to do that fetchers are a non negotiable necessity in modern rugby… and hookers may add to the fetching paradigm but they cannot do it all alone and solo…
He will also be forced to realize that big bumbling back line players maybe all hunky dory when you play kick and chase one dimensional vokmafoort rugby but when you need a LITTLE bit of direction through the gain line and a little bit of panache and game breaking momentum, the likes of Kirchner, Olivier and Steyn and Steyn are NOT going to be doing any of it for you… AB’s will smack this bok team to smithereens only by looks of things even Hansen got rocks in his head playing his weakest backs up front.
7 Jun 2012, 23:05 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-103: Ja, it has gotten a bit juvenile and messy here lately. And now that keo has strayed, what will become of us?
But you’re right, these tests override everything. I, for one, am ready for a fight. I want this first game to be the most sobering lesson in humility for an English team in the modern era of the game. I want Ashton to seriously reconsider his career. And I deeply regret Haskell not being part of this motley crew of cannon fodder so that he can take his well deserved hiding like a man too.
7 Jun 2012, 23:07 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-105:
Hmmm.
Or maybe Meyer knows more than you think he does, and becomes the most successfull Bok coach ever.
How would you like that scenario?
7 Jun 2012, 23:08 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-106: I think the forwards look OK.
I am not so excited about the backline and the oh so obvious tactics.
I think the bench is actually very good. Other than Meisiekind.
7 Jun 2012, 23:12 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: If Meyer wins every game by one point he will be a legend.
Lets just start winning. More often than we lose to: Australia, New Zealand and then everyone else. But those 2 first then the World Cup.
I am so tired of losing. Because coches screw up the talnt we have. And Meyer gets his chance, unfortunately the truth is I wish he had a broader mind tactically and parochially.
But he has my support. For sure.
But we are cannibals. We eat Springbok coaches alive. No piri piri even.
7 Jun 2012, 23:14 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-107: Tacs why Duecalion? Saving himself from a deluge in a box. I don’t get it.
7 Jun 2012, 23:17 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-102: actually I’m Martha right now.., no I’m Arthur… nah I’m definitely Martha.. actually I think I rather be Garth the Farther or Darth the Fartarse
Bottom line Heyneke deserves a smack to his preconceived short sightedness.. and England are not up to the task.. and JdV deserves to be a successful captain..
So all variables chucked into the wicker basket.. a loss would do wonders to Meyers overrated self esteem.. while a win is what JdV absolutely deserves and needs…
I reckon I’ll leave it up to providence to decide whose more worthy than whom in the latest correlation function of rolling the karmic roulette wheel
But all said and done I can’t quite see England punishing Boks at home unless they play well below their natural capabilities.
7 Jun 2012, 23:17 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-108: I’m pretty happy with the whole team, bar Kirchner. But to be fair, we didn’t really have too many options there. Lambie has played very few games at 15, and on Saturday he was less than spectacular there. My vote would have gone to Taute, but maybe that’s just my bias. I wouldn’t have minded aplon there either, but I understand Meyer’s preference for big, powerful backs. I don’t mind Morne Steyn at 10, as long as we stick to a game that suits him being there.
Up front I think we’re too strong for them. And even though our locks are both rookies, they have the potential to be a great combination. Coetzee will be brimming with energy, and Alberts seems to be back. And Spies always raises his game for the Boks. I’m backing him to have a big game.
This team could look quite different once we play the Tri-Nations, but for now I’m pretty happy.
7 Jun 2012, 23:19 pm
OK. Tactics.
I think the two Steyns are going to pin them in their own 22 with tactical kicks, from which we’ll compete strongly on the ensuing line out throws, winning a couple and launcing assaults on their goalline from there.
I think we’ll launch up and unders, with the big Frans Steyn and Jean de Villiers chasing and competing for the ball in the air on their 22 metre line, from which we’ll win a number of nice regathers and resulting attacking opportunities in their 22 metre area.
I think we will maul it up strongly.
And I think we are going to tackle the sh*t out of them. This talk of Alberts missing tackles, hell, when he connects, he flattens his target.
And Bismark and Etsebeth and this Coetzee chap, not to mention Frans Steyn in the backline.
I think we’re gonna knock them outta their socks at the collision points.
Frans Steyn will take a couple of long range penalty kicks from his own half, and Morne will try a drop goal or three from up close.
And we’ll score a maul try and maybe one try from a ball spilling loose from a high bomb.
We’ll take the game by 12 points.
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-111: “I can’t quite see England punishing Boks at home unless they play well below their natural capabilities”.
What happens if England play above their natural capabilities?
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-111: Biggest mystery, when it comes to the Boks, is why the hell they didn’t appoint you as coach ahead of Meyer. The whole country is scratching its collective head over that one. We sure missed a trick there.
7 Jun 2012, 23:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:
I’d certainly take Marler over the Beast. The choice would be between Parling and Kruger, which is about 50/50. Yes, Frans Steyn would be preferred to Barritt, though frankly I think JdV is better than both at inside centre. Youngs [Care isn't in the Test 22] over Hougaard at 9 yes – though I’d like to get Hougaard in somewhere because he’s obviously very talented.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-95:
Er, Tuilagi’s relatives play for Samoa not NZ, fella. Tuilagi went to English schools so he’s entitled to pick England. In a full-strength England side, Lawes would be playing instead of Botha. But it’s not unusual for talent to get overlooked in one environment and succeed in another. Barritt may be not be world-class but he was outstanding in the English system during the 6 Nations.
7 Jun 2012, 23:22 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-112: One game at a time.
We’re all coaches on Keo. That’s part of the joy.
I would have had Lambie at 15, and I like Frankie Hollywood as an impact player and would have started Ruan.
Alberts is the scariest man to ever play rugby. Scarier than Schalk.
Spies. I hope so. We’ve been saying this for years.
7 Jun 2012, 23:23 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-116: Of course, Youngs not Care. My bad.
Still, I think you’re in for a healthy dose of perspective regarding these selection preferences of yours come Saturday afternoon. No offense. Or perhaps just a little, but it’s good natured offense.
7 Jun 2012, 23:23 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-116:
Correction: They play for Samoa because they couldn’t make the NZ team.
7 Jun 2012, 23:24 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-115: yeah that you did stupid dumb schmucks they pick morons like 3-53 Streauli.. then 0-49 White and then 0-19 PdV.., and now this dunce…
when you ever gonna pick a coach that actually knows wtf he’s actually about?
7 Jun 2012, 23:25 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-120:
And who would that be? Chester Williams?
7 Jun 2012, 23:26 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-120: Like you? Is there anything that you don’t know everything about?
7 Jun 2012, 23:26 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113: I think that’s accurate.
But our defensive posture is obvious. And our attacking posture is obvious.
The other okes are not thick Tacs.
They also know where we are kak.
Slow. Predictable. Given to dropping our heads when we get matched physically. Propensity to blow up when the game is played at pace through multiple phases. Vulnerable out wide. Vulnerable through 10 channel (although we have bulked up with Frans).
7 Jun 2012, 23:27 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-121: Don’t put him on the spot. That’s not fair.
7 Jun 2012, 23:28 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-120: I moved to America and confined my genius to blogging. Sorry. Not available.
7 Jun 2012, 23:28 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-123: Chin up, Joe. You sound like a man half beaten already. We’re actually the bookies’ favourite, which is where you should look for an honest take.
7 Jun 2012, 23:29 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-122: no not much
perhaps rocket science a little outa my league but most things common sense induced are right up my layman’s street
7 Jun 2012, 23:30 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-123:
Slow? I reckon our no.8 is faster than most of their backs. And Juandre Kruger is quicker than most of their loose forwards.
I reckon our scrumhalf has the pace of a wing, and De Villiers at outside centre must outpace this Tuiligi behemoth.
The wings are probably on a par.
Where exactly are they quicker than us?
7 Jun 2012, 23:31 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-113:
Okay tactics.
Hougaard will launch a lot of high kicks with random results – some will be regatherd by SA, others will deliver ripe countering possibilities for the English back-three and Ben Morgan. England will make money on these returns and keep the ball when progress is halted. SA will quickly begin to regret having no-one in their back-row who can compete for ball on the ground.
SA will send their big guns down the middle and be surprised at the violence of the English midifeld tackling. When they kick deep, they will find Farrell and Brown returning the ball with interest.
England may lose a couple of lineout throws but they will undermine the Springbok scrum and pressure Spies at 8. Youngs will run at the Boks inside defence and find weaknesses in Alberts and Spies there too.
A close one, maybe only two or three tries, but England will take it by 6.
7 Jun 2012, 23:31 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-126: Katters. I think we will win. I always do, the curse of the South African. I EXPECT to win every game. And then we fkn lose and it fkn moers my fkn weekend.
But I believe this, albeit slightly one dimensional team, has the sheer brute force and ability to take 3 points regularly and win it. And I will be heppy.
7 Jun 2012, 23:32 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-128: Ashton is probably quicker than Petersen, And Farrell might pip Morne. But that’s about it.
7 Jun 2012, 23:34 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-129: It’s fun having some of you around. Promise you’ll stick around after Saturday?
Meyer is a good psychologist and a thorough practitioner of character identification and team building.. ONLY its all done around a very one dimensional and narrow principle of cognition.. he don’t leave much beyond his narrow framework of reference.. and I reckon he gonna have to keep winning.. because soon as he starts losing.. if he does.. I dunno if he got the real low down true grit staying power you need to be successful in a job of this nature where every minute failure is gonna come down on you like a shitload tonne of bricks.. and then the rest of it.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-128: Everywhere else.
And ok, after all these years, I know how you feel about Pierre. Whose speed has don nothing for the Boks, yet. Pierre Spies is the Darryl Cullinan of rugby, breaks your heart.
I would play Vermulen, Alberts ahead of Pierre any day of the week. And they are slower than him.
We;ve said a lot about guys missing out, but I would have loved to see Ebersohn outside Frans, and Kloisi at 6. That would have been cool.
7 Jun 2012, 23:36 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-119:
Get your facts straight. The Tuilagis have never played in, or tried to qualify for New Zealand.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-118:
Well I guess that’s what we’re trying to find out on this tour – on both sides!
7 Jun 2012, 23:36 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-130: Nah, we’re going to score a handful of tries. Some pretty, some not. And Morne will convert each and every one of them.
Come second half, Farrell will be forced to forgo easy points as they chase converted tries to catch up. And then it’s tickets.
7 Jun 2012, 23:37 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-131: That young Farrell boy is a potential superstar. Nice and calm on the ball. Lovely head up game. GREAT boot. Good pace. And (almost) as courageous as Johnny Wilkinson in the tackle.
7 Jun 2012, 23:38 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-129: Lovely.
Well done.
Stay around.
You give as good as you get. Without being a doos. Good for you.
7 Jun 2012, 23:39 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-134: That’s not entirely true about Spies. Check here, including a brace of beauties against this very same enemy:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F3muAkT0K9Y
7 Jun 2012, 23:42 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-133: shame, is that how it was for you?
7 Jun 2012, 23:43 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-135:
No Samoan plays for Samoa if he is good enough to play for NZ – unless he was dumb enough to play a couple of tests in his youth and thus got disqualified from joining the Keewees thereafter thanks to those pesky IRB lawmakers.
You’ve got a lot to learn about how things work Down Unda.
7 Jun 2012, 23:44 pm
Sodaman and Katman. Sure I’ll stick around, it’s much more fun talking to you Saffers. I came across a couple of Kiwis on another forum and they take themselves so bloody seriously!
7 Jun 2012, 23:46 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-140: how what is for WHO.. are you so mentally deranged you cannot see sh’t for trees … what you gonna do when your great messiah don’t turn out to be the messiah you thought he was… not Frankie Steyn.. nor Heyneke Herr Hoogenplatz.. what you gonna do then lightie… what??
7 Jun 2012, 23:48 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-141:
Sure I do Yoda. Maybe you haven’t noticed, but there’s a sizeable PI community in the UK and France now which is beginning to churn out ‘European’ players. Tuilagi and Toby Faletau are just the start. There’s a couple of young Vunipolas who will play for England inside three years – and one is a 135kgs prop bigger tha Ben Tameifuna…
And if you didn’t notice [x2], Samoa ran you very close at the world cup with a ‘European’ style of play.
7 Jun 2012, 23:48 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-142: There are a few of them here that you must look out for too, in the way that you look out for a fresh dog poo in the dappled shadows on your lawn.
7 Jun 2012, 23:49 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-142:
Their problem is that they think they’re the most ethical, upstanding, downright good folks that you could possibly come across. And anyone who doesn’t share their nanny-state, emasculated view of life is prime evil.
Whereas we know we’re a bunch of argumentative, hardarse, semi-violent pioneer types ready for an argument at any time.
So what you see is what you get. None of that pretentious bullsh*t you get from the wee folk from the Shire.
7 Jun 2012, 23:51 pm
Anyway gentlemen and Skoppie, I must be off.
7 Jun 2012, 23:52 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-146: hahaha that must be the most eloquent way of saying Kiwis are a bunch of asterisks.
7 Jun 2012, 23:53 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-145: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-146:
I have to admit that every time you get into a debate about players with a Kiwi, it always seems to begin with….. “Ah, but we have at least 14 better props/fullbacks/scrum-halves than him playing in Manawatu alone…..”. Hard to argue with that.
7 Jun 2012, 23:54 pm
@kinlaw_62(kinlaw_62)-144:
Fair enough. I’m in no position to comment on the make up of your immigrant communities, although back when I was there there were more Polish guys, Pakistanis, Nigerians and West Indians there than Polynesians, but things have obviously changed then in the last 10 years.
That doesn’t change the fact that all the best Samoans ply their trade in NZ, unless they don’t make the All Black team, in which case they head north for more moola.
Excluding your homegrown second generation Anglofied Samoans of course, as you’ve so kindly pointed out to me.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All