De Villiers open to future at 13

Jean de Villiers thinks a shift to outside centre could prolong his career.

With Jaque Fourie on an indefinite sabbatical from Test rugby while he builds his career in Japan and no outstanding candidates from any of the Super Rugby franchises to fill that void, De Villiers, who would not have been a starter under Heyneke Meyer had Fourie been available, has an opportunity to reinvent himself in the role.

Springbok backline coach Ricardo Loubscher said on Tuesday that he felt De Villiers is in fact better suited to the position, explaining that with their 12 to be deployed primarily as a strike runner who takes contact in a bid to get over the advantage line, De Villiers’ decision and play-making skill would be better utilised a channel wider.

Head coach Heyneke Meyer issued a warning on Monday that De Villiers’ position is not secured because of his appointment as captain, but did stress his belief in his ability. De Villiers, however, was receptive to the idea of a permanent positional shift.

‘I’m at the stage of my career where I’ll play where I get selected,’ he said. ‘At one stage I wanted to settle in one position to establish myself in the national team. I’m a bit older now and you do take a helluva lot of contact at 12, so maybe a shift to 13 could extend my career. When I get back to the Stormers they’ll have to make a decision about where they want to play me and I’ll just get on with that.’

Some have expressed concerns about thrusting him into a new position in a series of this magnitude and against a direct opponent of the calibre of Manu Tuilagi. But De Villiers allayed those fears, saying: ‘It isn’t a totally different position for me. I made my Springbok debut there and I’ve played there for the Stormers on attack and defence, even though I’ve had 12 on my back. It’s a pretty easy switch. Defensively 13 is the most difficult position given the sharp decisions you have to make there. But again it’s a challenge I’m looking forward to.’

The midfield duel is going to be intriguing and one that will be decisive to the outcome. The Springboks have indicated that they will target Brad Barritt’s channel, with Frans Steyn expected to test his former Sharks team-mates’ defensive resolve. De Villiers spoke highly of England’s midfield pair though.

‘Brad has improved on what he already offered the Sharks when he was there. He is a good defender, he runs hard and good lines, is a good distributor and he is a great communicator and organiser. He has all the attributes a Test 12 needs to have and he is their go-to guy because of his composure under pressure,’ De Villiers said.

‘Tuilagi is also a fantastic player. He has shown that he is a massive threat on attack and defensively he is very solid as well. He has formed a great partnership with Brad. Frans and I will have our work cut, but challenges like these is what Test rugby is about.’

De Villiers’ easy-going manner off the pitch belies his high standards, intensity and intelligence as a leader on it. He has led the Stormers expertly in his time as captain and explained that it would be illogical to alter his approach now.

‘I don’t think I’d have to change my captaincy style at all,’ he said. ‘I don’t see the point of changing a style that has worked for me at the Stormers, which earned me the captaincy in the first place. I’ve been through a helluva lot with most of these guys. They know the type of character I am and know what I expect of the team.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Durban

89 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-48:
    i am backing the boks fully, regardless of whos playing
    but this captaincy issue bugs me

too much emphasis on it if you asked me
    lambie would start for me too, so would mvovo if we’re picking form
    but rugby is not a black or white sport

its a grey area which keeps people talking and interested
    its why we love the game and why we get emotional
    in our blood, and the blood boils at times with the boks

boks by 17

• 52.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark(jacoshark)-51: by 17?? hell one can only hope

England better then we think though

• 53.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

actually to be honest i have not watched a lot of UK rugby this year so some of the players of England are unknown to me

NOt really sure what to expect

• 54.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Meyer has unwittingly set De Villiers up. He’s going to struggle at 13 and lose the captaincy.

• 55.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Skoppie was here telling us how useless Barritt is and how **** F Steyn is, now in the case of both these players we know the only Krap one is himself Skoppie

Barritt wasa brillaint last year for Saracens against the Boks, he as we know was a a lot like D muir, not fast but demon defenders and brilliant smart linking centers that controlled the backline, as iks steyn etc

• 56.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-54: hiyas BH long time no see, you well?

BH i dont think so mate, a lot however will depend on the interplay between Fransie and Jean

also who controls and calls the moves and back line defensive lines

• 57.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I have a feeling Jean might just flower outside of Fransie, and have a cracker tomorrow :lol:

• 58.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Hey. Check it out. Yolandi from Die Antwoord is going to sing the National Anthem. Give the English some “blush” before the crush!

• 59.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-54: BH, for me i worry about the way SARU agree to the yearly test schedules.

My point here being that the NH have played together etc etc etc, SH have had no test team planning and playing etc

Why for example not have SH teams playing now in tests and for example NH teams tour here much later in the year.

It seriously just does not make sense

• 60.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-58:

Are you serious?

• 61.GermanBok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-57: I agree with that. Fransie’s knack of passing at the perfect time to set an outside player in a bit of free space will stand Jean in good stead. Jean will be good at 13 me thinks.

• 62.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-60:

She is! The best Bokkie ever :)

• 63.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Ninja is singing “God Save McQueen”

• 64.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-56: sup sl, I think Frans is one of the world’s best 12s, he showed that at both world cups but De Villiers at outside centre? that’s a bigger shift than it appears, especially defensively opposite Tuilagi. If Manu can get some decent ball I think JDV will flounder, remember what he did to Olivier as an 18 year old? imo it’s an odd decision to start the captain out of position.

On the other point, yeah the global rugby schedule is messed up. The old farts don’t want summer rugby up here, that would solve many of the issues precluding a global rugby season.

• 65.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-62:

I wonder whether she is going to wear those large weird contact lenses she wore at the David letterman show. I Fink it was Freeky.

• 66.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@GermanBok(Marty)-61: Agreed mate

• 67.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-65:

Tjsappies :) Or that lekker slinky oranje/blanje boobtoob and shorts. Get the crowd on a plak!

• 68.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-67:

I hope none of the players stare at her.
    She might let go with a “wat kyk jy.. jou ma se …”

Dis a wilde girl daai, lol.

• 69.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-68:

LMAO! She might start smearing the fishpaste in strange places! The boys will get jus

• 70.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-64: agree with you , and also hope you are wrong re Jean, for obvious reasons :lol:

• 71.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-59: You make a very good point there. AS all us sh teams are in the same boat right now with only a week to prepare for the nh tests here. Just too much rugby. S15 should have ended a few weeks back already. I prefer for us to have completed the S15 and then only start to play the tests.

• 72.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-71: Sorry should read – As all OF us.

• 73.Puma: Reply to this comment

@GermanBok(Marty)-61: Yes it could work well. So really looking forward to seeing them play tomorrow. Only hope the rain stays away. Been overcast for most of the afternoon here.

• 74.GermanBok: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-73: That’s the only thing – the weather really could screw up a few things. Eben vs Botha will be good to watch. I have a feeling somehow Coetzee will adapt to open side and international rugby quickly. I am a tad worried about the English back three though. All will be revealed tomorrow I guess…The first scrum will be awesome

• 75.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-70:
    I have a feeling that Jean will fit in to a freer role and actually enjoy the opportunity run off Frans.
    People forget that BOD started at 12 and moved to accomodate D’Arcy. I’m not saying that Jean’s in the same league, but he could actually provide more space for Frans with his off the ball running.

• 76.GermanBok: Reply to this comment

OK chooiinas – have yourselves a fantastic weekend. Let’s hope the weather is OK and the BOKS are on form. Poland, baby boks, BOKS and Germany – all will be *** if that happens.

• 77.Puma: Reply to this comment

@GermanBok(Marty)-74: Yeah the weather could mess it up. Doubt it will be a easy test tomorrow. Going to be a lot closer than we all think, but Boks should come away with a win. Really hope we start this new era off with a win. We should by a few.

Coetzee will adapt. I have no worries about Coetzee he will be up for it for sure. Has never let the Sharks down this year at all. And that goes for Eben too. Both these youngsters have been world class this season. Great for sa rugby as both are only 20 years old. Jeez hard to believe it when you see them play that they are only 20 years old! Yeah looking forward to the match up with Eben and Botha,though Eben should come out tops I feel. Eben has been a joy to watch this year, one of my favourite players.

Yeah the first scrum will be great. Really pleased we have Beast back. Also looking forward to seeing how Fransie and Jean go. Saw the whole team earlier this week and Fransie looking in very good shape.

• 78.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Why JdV plays at 13 isn’t such a big mystery to figure, must be a good reason to play your captain out of position, where he is too slow for it anyway
    Well, no doubt F. Styen must refused point blank to play at 13 where his chances of seeing some ball from JdV are zilch, trust the Boks camp’s PR to smoother it

• 79.Nils: Reply to this comment

Stop the press – Wales have beaten the Baby Blacks in the watermudpolo in after Pumitas smashed the Wallabitas in the similar dirtbath.

• 80.Nils: Reply to this comment

Tackled made 120 v 38. Sheesh. Theur defence was like Stormers, I should say.

• 81.Puma: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark(jacoshark)-38: You are WRONG mate. John played and Captained in our last game we won in NZ. Remember it was in 2009 when he made that massive hit on Thorn? The very game that Frans Steyn had to convert the try to make sure we won it? Well Fransie did convert and we won. That was the year we beat beat the ABs 3 zip. They returned the favour the next year though.

We also beat the ABs the year before in 2008 when Ricky made that brilliant try at the end. That year John was out injured and Victor Captained, but John sure was the captain the following year when we beat them again in NZ.

Now in this new era really hoping we can beat ABs on their home turf far more often.

• 82.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

If Fourie had been available then De Villiers would have been at 12 with him and Steyn at 15 or De Villiers would have been at wing 14

• 83.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

My bok team if no injuries and all players were playing in SA:

15 Francois Steyn
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 Jaque Fourie
    12 Jean De Villiers
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Patrick Lambie
    9 Francois Hougaard
    8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Schalk Burger
    6 Francois Louw
    5 Andries Bekker
    4 Eben Eztebeth
    3 Jannie Du Plessis
    2 Bismark Du Plessis
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Adriaan Strauss
    17 Coenie Oosthuzyen
    18 Juandre Kruger
    19 Marcell Coetzee
    20 Fourie Du Preez
    21 Peter Grant
    22 Jaco Taute

23 Chilliboy Ralepelle
    24 Pat Cilliers
    25 Danie Russouw
    26 Willem Alberts / Heinrich Brussouw
    27 Ruan Pienaar
    28 Elton Jantjes / Morne Steyn
    29 Juan De Jongh
    30 JP Pietersen

• 84.lepel: Reply to this comment

I still reckon if Jaco Taute gets an extended run at outside center he could be our next Jacque Fourie.

He’s the future at 13… and he fits nicely into HM’s idea of size above all else.

• 85.lepel: Reply to this comment

@lepel(lepel)-84: Just remember that a certain Mr Fourie also started his career there…

• 86.Blou Hoender: Reply to this comment

The Springbok match 22 has been selected to face England in the first test
    in Durban on Saturday. Here’s a list of the 22, along with comments made by
    some past Springbok coaches.

15. ZANE KIRCHNER
    -Jake White:  “Lambie is very unlucky not to make the starting team. Big
    call from Heyneke.”
    -Nick Mallett: “Bad selection. He tries to join the backline too much, he
    can’t kick with his left foot and he clearly doesn’t use Lambie’s shampoo
    enough.”
    -Andre Markgraaf: “I hate him.”
    -Peter de Villiers: “Most of us were expecting him to pick Lambie, but it
    seems Heyneke has pulled a bull out of a hat. But Heyneke must be careful,
    because pulling a bull out of a hat is not magic. That is why God made
    rabbits.”
    14. JP Pietersen
    -White: “Has been the classiest, most consistent right wing in the country
    for years.”
    -Mallett: “Bad selection. He’s been playing at centre too much this year,
    he doesn’t communicate enough and sometimes he wears coloured boots that
    puts his teammates off”.
    -Markgraaf: “I hate him.”
    -De Villiers: “Hopefully he’ll get some ball that will enable him to
    attack, because attack is the best form of defence. Except tackling, of
    course. That’s much better defence.”
    13. JEAN DE VILLIERS (Captain)
    -White: “Was one of my most trusted senior players and he fully deserves to
    be captain.”
    -Mallett: “Too much of a maverick to be captain and even though I haven’t
    seen him play outside centre for 10 years, I know he’s too slow for the
    position.”
    -Markgraaf: “I like him.”
    -De Villiers: “I’m happy for him. He has the same surname as me and people
    often ask if we are related. That makes Jean laugh. I don’t know why. Maybe
    it’s because I’m much shorter than he is.”
    12. FRANCOIS STEYN
    -White: “Heyneke’s just copying my World Cup selection.”
    -Mallett: “Bad selection. What if he tries one of those huge drop kicks
    that hits the post, bounces back so far it lands in our 22 and puts us under
    pressure? Liability.”
    -Markgraaf: “I like him.”
    -De Villiers: “We had our differences when he wanted to stay in France. I
    told him that if God wanted us to live in France, why can you buy croissants
    at Checkers on a Sunday?”
    11. BRYAN HABANA
    -White: “I taught him everything he knows about wing play.”
    -Mallett: “His peripheral vision is not up to scratch, he doesn’t cover
    his fullback on defence and he eats too many carbohydrates on match day.”
    -Markgraaf: “I hate him. Wait…I like him. Wait…ag, I don’t know. They
    must bring back the Race Classification Council because some of these ohs
    are bladdy confusing.”
    -De Villiers: “People have been critical of him in the past because they
    expect so much of him. I told him not to worry, because people also expected
    us to win the World Cup, and look how that turned out. It just goes to show
    that sometimes people are wrong.”
    10. MORNE STEYN
    -White: “He’s been playing well and has a history of kicking well under
    pressure.”
    -Mallett: “His defence is shocking, his distribution’s appalling  and I’
    ll bet that if you tell him his faults, he’ll cry just like Gaffie did.”
    -Andre Markgraaf has been forcibly removed due to his inappropriate
    outbursts -De Villiers: “People say that the way he plays isn’t pretty.
    But beauty is only skin deep. Ugly goes right down to the bone.”
    9. FRANCOIS HOUGAARD
    -White: “Can’t find any fault with his play.”
    -Mallett: “I can. His box kicks aren’t effective enough. One day he’s
    going to drop the ball during one of his ’swallow dives’ over the tryline.
    Too many tattoos.”
    -De Villiers: “Has had to bide his time, but good things come to those who
    wait, and if you wait long enough for delivery, the pizza will be free.”
    8. PIERRE SPIES
    -White: “Magnificent athlete.”
    -Mallett: “His tackling is weak, his running with the ball is mindless and
    he gets homesick.”
    -De Villiers: “I treated him like a bull in a china shop. He didn’t
    understand why we were talking about Bulls in China when he wants to talk
    about the Bulls playing in Japan. He has a lot to learn.”
    7. WILLEM ALBERTS
    -White: “Has all the attributes fill the void left by Juan Smith.”
    -Mallett: “He’s too slow, he doesn’t link with the backs and the players
    don’t know whether to speak English or Afrikaans to him.”
    -De Villiers: “He was disappointed that I kept picking Schalk Burger ahead
    of him. I told him that if he wanted to play in a Springbok team without
    Schalk in it, then he better buy a tutu and play in a ballerina outfit. Then
    he understood, and told me that he didn’t like the Bulls away strip
    either.”
    6. MARCELL COETZEE
    -White: “Sorry, I didn’t hear you. Who’s the other flank? I was too busy
    asking Heinrich to fetch me a beer.”
    -Mallett: “Earlier I said he would be my pick, but it’s different now that
    he’s actually been picked. Bad selection.”
    -De Villiers: “Heinrich is very unlucky. That’s the way the ball bounces
    sometimes. Absence makes the heart grow fonder, but it doesn’t make the
    ball rounder. That’s why he’s been dropped.”
    5. JUANDRE KRUGER
    -White: “I hope they’ve updated the line-out calls. ‘Een, twee, drie,
    Victor!’ isn’t going to work any more.”
    -Mallett: “Doesn’t do enough in the tight loose, isn’t strong enough in
    the scrums and he doesn’t understand why South Africa has three capital
    cities.”
    -De Villiers: “On debut, you must put your hand up and come to the party.
    The coach must tell him that even if the fans are expecting him to turn
    water into wine, he must relax because everyone’s drinking Powerade.”
    4. EBEN ETZEBETH
    -White: “Awesome physical power.”
    -Mallett: “It’s wrong to have two locks on debut. His work at the
    line-outs is weak and he’s too young to remember when I was coach.”
    -De Villiers: “He’s a huge lock, like the tower of Babel, which is why the
    coach must speak different languages to him. At first you speak English, and
    he’ll understand. Then you speak Afrikaans, and he’ll understand. Then you
    speak to him in Xhosa, and then he won’t understand. That’s when you say
    ‘That is why I am the coach.’.”
    3. JANNIE DU PLESSIS
    -White: “I only picked tighthead props with initials instead of first
    names.”
    -Mallett: “His discipline is poor, he should get murdered at the scrums and
    there’s a risk he’ll undermine the team doctor.”
    -De Villiers: “I used to tell him that even though he’s a doctor, laughter
    is the best medicine. Unless you have a headache, then laughter is just a
    moersa lotta kak.”
    2. BISMARCK DU PLESSIS (VICE-CAPTAIN)
    -White: “They should have brought back John Smit.”
    -Mallett: “Him and his brother are a 5-penalty package. I would never have
    picked a hooker with such bad discipline. James Dalton was a saint.”
    -De Villiers: “He would always get upset that I didn’t start him. I told
    him that there’s no difference between starting and being on the bench,
    except that starting feels better. It didn’t cheer him up.”
    1. TENDAI ‘BEAST’ MTAWARIRA
    -White: “On track to being the new Os.”
    -Mallett: “He’s not lifting his jumpers at the kick-offs properly. He’s
    doing it just to show off his strength to the crowd. When the crowd shouts
    his name it makes me jealous…I mean, it makes the players jealous.”
    -De Villiers: “He was always my first name on the teamsheet, because I
    started the team with ‘Number 1?.”
    RESERVES:
    16. ADRIAAN STRAUSS
    17. COENIE OOSTHUIZEN
    18. FLIP VAN DER MERWE
    19. KEEGAN DANIEL
    20. RUAN PIENAAR
    21. PATRICK LAMBIE
    22. WYNAND OLIVIER
    -White: “Well, I hope he’s got the team right. If he hasn’t and we lose
    the series, I’d like to coach South Africa again. If he gets it wrong and
    they give England a hiding, I would like to coach England. We’ll see,
    because I’d also like to coach Australia, but my loyalty is with the
    Brumbies.”
    -Mallett: “There’s not enough positions covered on the bench. Wait, I’m
    getting an sms from Andre Markgraaf… it says ‘I like the whole bench.’”
    -De Villiers: “It’s not the team I expected. Fool me once, and shame on
    me, but if the little boy who cried wolf leads the horse to water, I shall
    not drink. For I am not a sheep. I am the walrus.

• 87.Saffex: Reply to this comment

I am not convinced about Jean at 13 at all. He was a great 12 in his day, but his best days are done and 13 is more challenging speed wise. You need pace at 13 and Jean is not getting younger.

It needs to be a short term solution. When Taute returns from injury, he needs to be given an extended run at 13. Other options are JJ Engelbrecht, Jordaan and Pat Howard (current Baby Bok). All these players need a season of 13 at CC and S15 level. Dries Swanepoel who partnered Jan Serfontein (current Baby Bok 12) at Grey Bloem, is also a great prospect at 13 and just getting back from a serious knee injury. There is also JP du Plessis of the Stormers who has not yet had a fair crack.

We need to build on these young 13′s with one of them coming through to partner Frans at 12. We have options at 12 to challenge Frans as well in Whitehead, Frans Venter and Jan Serfontein

• 88.garth: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-83: Have you forgotten about Goosen?

• 89.tuffa: Reply to this comment

@Blou Hoender(Blou Hoender)-86: Now that’s funny!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.