Springboks vs England – 1st Test preview
8 Jun 2012
RYAN VREDE analyses the key match-ups and picks the winner in Saturday’s match at Kings Park.
It has been 12 years since England beat the Springboks in South Africa, but you get the sense they strongly believe they can snap that streak. Their quiet confidence is likely rooted primarily in this new-look group having had a strong Six Nations campaign, in which they beat France away, extended preparation time and the Springboks’ limitations in this regard.
They also give you the impression they think that is their most gifted squad in years. However, while they have some players of high promise in their back division, I have reservations about their pack’s ability to match the Springboks’ physicality.
The gainline battle is unfailingly key to victory in Test matches and with the the Springboks’ key strike runners all boasting appreciable bulk, they will be expected to boss this facet of play on attack. England’s 10-12 axis of Owen Farrell and Brad Barritt will be targeted, with Frans Steyn in particular asked to test their defensive resolve, a battle I believe he will win.
England, however, will encounter an opponent high on defensive aggression, but, given the aforementioned preparation time, relatively low on synergy. If they can get the likes of Manu Tuilagi into space, the midfielder could ask some stern questions, especially if he isolates counterpart Jean de Villiers, who isn’t accustomed to the defensive demands of a position coaches agree is the hardest to defend in.
South Africa will hope to limit Tuilagi and co’s attacking opportunities to deep in their own territory through a kick-chase tactic. Here’s where there are some concerns. Scrumhalf Francois Hougaard will be asked to kick regularly, but this facet of his game hasn’t been strong in Super Rugby. England, if granted broken-field opportunities through poor kicks England have the personnel to punish their hosts. Hougaard must deliver a kicking performance that surpasses anything he has produced this season. His showing in this facet of play at Soccer City in 2010 suggests he has it in him. Here’s hoping he replicates that performance.
The other area of interest is the lineouts, where debutant Juandre Kruger will take command. The Bulls man has been central to the their success at the set piece (no team has stolen more balls, or is own secure on their own feed) and by all accounts has a Matfield-like dedication to studying the opposition’s lineout. Given that the majority of tries in Test rugby in the last two years have been birthed from lineout feeds in or just outside the opposition’s 22, Kruger will be absolutely key to the Springboks’ success. England have a relatively new second-row combination as well, so they may not have the experience and tactical intelligence to exploit vulnerabilities here. I sense Kruger will step up.
Despite Hougaard’s aforementioned kicking concerns, in Morne Steyn, Zane Kirchner and Frans Steyn they have enough tactical kickers to limit England to launches from unfavourable field positions. I expect them to succeed in their bid to pressure England into infringements and turnovers in their territory. Morne Steyn’s goal kicking will again be decisive and, with Frans Steyn’s gun boot, England will also be acutely aware of ill-discipline in positions that would not usually be kickable ones.
The Boks also have a far superior bench that will galvanise them as the second half wears on. All this points to towards a successful start to Heyneke Meyer’s reign and an important psychological blow in the three-Test series.
VREDE’S CALL: Springboks by 9
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier.
England – 15 Mike Brown, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Ben Foden, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Paul Doran Jones, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Jonathan Joseph

298 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All
8 Jun 2012, 16:24 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-249:
It was 1 from 5.
The 4 he missed were from poor positions and were not “set-up” properly.
8 Jun 2012, 16:24 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-238: Incorrect, my test is not based on language but on history repeating itself, not because of language but a set misguided belief inherent in all the previous Afrikaner coaches since the country’s dynamics changed.
In baby language, the lack of preparation time, the lack of homogeneity, extra public scrutiny, provincialism, political pressure etc etc, these are the main reasons why the Afrikaner Afrigter fails at Bok level, its not that the Afrikaans okes are daft, its just that their inability to withstand this type pressure invariable leads to their demise.
Culture and dynamism, not langauge
8 Jun 2012, 16:25 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-250: well said. Im out of here now
8 Jun 2012, 16:30 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-247: Exactly my point!!!, English coaches react positively to a change in circumstance, Nick Mallet didn’t tell Joost and De Beer to *****-off and stick to his plan, he changed with the changing circumstance, that’s what separates English coaches from Afrikaans Afrigters.
Case Closed, I couldn’t have used a better example to illustrate my point, Thank You!!!!!!!!!!
8 Jun 2012, 16:30 pm
XhosaKid.
Check my previous point re language. I believe we disregard the power of
language too easily. Discussing this aspect is not racism, It is anIssue I believe to be central to the whole SA experience.
8 Jun 2012, 16:31 pm
XhosaKid,
With respect mate, since when does History repeat itself?
8 Jun 2012, 16:34 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-252: I read a lot of non rugby related opinions. For example if you are talking about leadership then how the heck did the Ruperts become as successful as they did. Surely Johan Rupert had to adapt to changing circumstances in his life?
At least my test is based on rugby.
8 Jun 2012, 16:34 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-250: Couldn’t agree more. Someone wrote something about English being more outwardly looking as opposed to inward looking, which could be limiting and putting unnecessary pressure on himself.
8 Jun 2012, 16:35 pm
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/international/england/9316155/South-Africa-v-England-where-the-first-Test-will-be-won-and-lost.html
Tomorrow, my arse is not moving from the TV. The ABs and Aussies will provide the warm-up and I literally cannot wait for the Bok-Eng to start.
They have respect for Heyneke Meyer and the side that was picked.
The more I think of it, the more I feel Heyneke is very well prepared for the game tomorrow.
I even believe there will be some running rugny on diplay from the boks – especially once forward domination has taken place. Can’t wait for the scrums – the English have made a lot of the Besat’s strength.
Boks to take it by 8. If ze Germans then beat Portugal it will be the perfect Saturday (well, throw in a ******** from redhead with big breasts – then it’ll be perfect)
8 Jun 2012, 16:36 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-254: I don’t think World Cup games is a good example to support your thesis.
All coaches regardless of ethnicity or background become ultra-conservative come WC games as it is a must-win scenario. This is not the place to be stubborn, and they are not.
It was a team decision to run the ball against the Wallabies in that semi. Only when they couldn’t breach the defense of Horan et al, they resorted to setting up drops, but they were not set up properly and De Beer misfired but for one.
8 Jun 2012, 16:40 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-257: But Rupert wasn’t/isn’t faced with what faces a Bok coach, a simply example, Rupert called Julius Malema an irritating mos in a tent, imagine if Heneyke were to say that.
Another good example if not a perfect example is Harry Viljoen, seriously successful business man ( Rupert) but an abject failure as a Bok Coach
8 Jun 2012, 16:41 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-254: No, no, no he only changed his thinking after the game in preparation for the semi where it did not work. It would have taken an idiot to see Joost and De Beer’s tactic did not work in the England game.
Your last attempt at a knock out punch is a bit desperate and is similar to a desperate boxer trying to throw the big punches before the inevidable. You want out, but I have enough in my bag to go all the way.
8 Jun 2012, 16:41 pm
@GermanBok(Marty)-259: “The best South African lock, Mouritz Botha, is playing for England. His speed to the breakdown and physical strength were key factors in the Six Nations”.
Farken Pommie press.
8 Jun 2012, 16:43 pm
@willievz(willievz)-260: My point is that Mallet could have told Joost and De Beer to *****-off with the drop goal idea against English but he didn’t, he took it in, he adjusted according to their idea. Another example of this dynamism inherent in these English blokes.
@willievz(willievz)-263: HAHA – yes, I know. I reckon they’ll see who the BEST S.A. lock is when Botha come up against Eben tomorrow. That lightie won’t shy away from anything.
GERMANBOK.
Watched the Skytv special earlier, I think overall the Bok-Eng game is the big one as you say.
Must go now, time to prepare for the rugby tomorrow.
8 Jun 2012, 16:46 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-262: So what are you saying?, did Nick Mallet come up with the drop kick plan against England or not. Who came up with the drop kick plan for the England game?
8 Jun 2012, 16:47 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-261: To compare Harry to Rupert is a bit silly. You obviously do understand context.. A recurrent opinion of yours is that Afrikaners is not adaptable and within that CONTEXT I provided you with an example of Afrikaners that must have been adaptable.
You have not replied on my comment 234 where an explanation for your statement is made.
8 Jun 2012, 16:50 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-264: Oh, you are talking about the ENGLAND game…
Well, the idea before the game, and in the first half, was to run the ball against England too.
The 5 drop goals only came after half-time.
So Mallett still wanted the team to run the ball, even with Jannie at pivot?
8 Jun 2012, 16:50 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-267: Joost and De Beer practised it on the fields as you normally do before finals and in the game they started to do the tactic. Mallett saw it worked and did not stop them. What a great coach he is not to run out of his coaching booth and not stopping them immediately. Then he thought it will be greate doing the same against the Aussies, where it did not work.
8 Jun 2012, 16:51 pm
@willievz(willievz)-16: This ‘CapeBull’ chap seems to have an emotional breakdown every time a comment about the bulls is made. I am starting to suspect that he actually might be Wynand Olivier.
8 Jun 2012, 16:52 pm
@willievz(willievz)-263: Haha. Eben Etzebeth gaan alle rekords breek. Hy is bang vir niks en hy is 20.
8 Jun 2012, 16:54 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-267: Let us just say we agree to disagree and start talking about Etzebeth. I actually like the topic.
If you want to carry on with the argument it is fine, I will not back down.
8 Jun 2012, 16:56 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-268: I have clearly responded to the adaptability question, clearly you have not read or understood. I’ll repeat.
“But Rupert wasn’t/isn’t faced with what faces a Bok coach, a simply example, Rupert called Julius Malema an irritating mos in a tent, imagine if Heneyke were to say that.”
“In baby language, the lack of preparation time, the lack of homogeneity, extra public scrutiny, provincialism, political pressure etc etc, these are the main reasons why the Afrikaner Afrigter fails at Bok level, its not that the Afrikaans okes are daft, its just that their inability to withstand this type pressure invariable leads to their demise. Culture and dynamism, not langauge”
Rupert and Harry are faced with different pressures when they are in the business world, that type of pressure and their ability to react to circumstance is there for all to see, they are very good at it, although at different degrees, there many, many, many Afrikaner successful businessman.
However, the pressure of being a Bok coach is a different animal, its like surviving the legendary “Chinese torture” as opposed to surviving” Mugabe Style”, as illustrated by Harry being good under the toher and being dismal under the other.
8 Jun 2012, 17:01 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-273: I’ll catch up about what you 2 were arguing about a bit later but when it comes to Etzebeth: I reckon what will make this lightie so good is his attitude. He is obviously massive and very strong (if Nick Koster’s report on the Stormers coach needing to get ‘special heavy weights’ for Etzebeth is correct) but he doesn’t stand back for anything. Take Spies as an example – if he would have that attitude he would have undoubtedly and unanimously been the best no. 8 in the world
8 Jun 2012, 17:01 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-274: Don’t you think that the following is a possible reason, without going into the psyche of Afrikaans people. Is it not possible that past success may be a great factor in future success.
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-227: Because all the Afrikaans Afrigters we had were s h i t and did not have any real success before they became Springbok coach. The most successful coaches before Heyneke and Ludeke were Ian Mac, Christie and Jake. I can’t remember Mallett’s records before he became coach.
8 Jun 2012, 17:05 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-270: Agree, him assimilating the idea for the England game is an example of what I’m talking about, him employing the same tactic against Australia was daft, he is human after all.
Nothing wrong with that, the glaring difference in my argument is that the Afrikaner coach wouldn’t have employed the tactic against England and would have simply told his players to stick to whatever game plan had brought them thus far. His logic would have been, we are in the quarters why change what had worked.
On the Eben topic,
I would rather he wasn’t playing for the next 3 weeks, this boy is till young and the type of punishment his body is taking is insane, I would hate to see another promising talent being cut short as is the case with Bekker
8 Jun 2012, 17:12 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-201:
Your name says exactly what you are.
xhosa my snot nosed booi, before you give your unwanted take on Afrikaaners, rather look at the **** your ” real Africans” are dishing up world wide.
And no, Nelson does not make the cut as a politician.
He was a symbol for new SA and had respect from most people, but a very average politician…..dont believe the propoganda machine.
8 Jun 2012, 17:13 pm
@Stormers supporters: Cry me a river!(Horings)-276: Point 1: Yes, past success is very useful in assisting with future success, the Afrikaner can call on this, that’s a feather on their cap
Point 2: Jake White had no provincial/franchise experience,this didn’t limit him. Nick Mallet only coach Bolad, freaken Boland, this didn’t limit him. Harry had won Currie Cup with WP, this didn’t help though, Straueli was successful at the Sharks and I think overseas, that didn’t help either, see my drift.
8 Jun 2012, 17:17 pm
@Xkreni-WP(Xkreni-WP)-278: We actually agree on the politicians, I appreciate your honesty, its just that I don’t reserve my honesty for my political analysis only, I do the same to my rugby, critically analyze it.
8 Jun 2012, 17:42 pm
Phew, that was a mission to sift through some of this waffle, waffle.
But pray tell me Kid, was there ever an English-speaking Springbok coach PRIOR to 1992?
Somehow I don’t think so & certainly can’t think of one.
8 Jun 2012, 18:39 pm
By 7pm tomorrow the English rugby team will resemble one or more of the following:
-Hamburger mix
-Peanut butter
-Toothpaste
-Haggis
-Road kill
-Rollmops
Bokke by 10.
Durban casualty wards will be taking the injured players from 5.15pm
Pasop vir die bok.
8 Jun 2012, 18:45 pm
Jinne.
WTF!
8 Jun 2012, 19:19 pm
anyone got a website to watch these games tomorrow ..
8 Jun 2012, 19:26 pm
Poor Kokaineo is sniffing up the wrong tree with his tweets. Both Aus and SA will lose . The Boks only just but Aus will be thumped by 15.
8 Jun 2012, 21:04 pm
Braai time:
Beer can chicken peri peri
Lyonaise potatoes in herb butter (foiled on the coals)
Mexican refried beans with sour cream on the side
Tequila soaked watermelon slices
Rum&Cola floats.
8 Jun 2012, 21:55 pm
Good eats
8 Jun 2012, 21:58 pm
@GermanBok(Marty)-259:
Nice link, and well said. Braai and rugby and footie all day long!!
8 Jun 2012, 22:00 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-279:
Agree with you. Jake got his experience under Mallet, u20′s and pure love for the technicals of the game
8 Jun 2012, 22:02 pm
Jeez the tendency’s have been flying his week.
Relax guys……a great day of rugby tomorrow.
9 Jun 2012, 00:11 am
I can’t wait for the game and as part South African (both Afrikaans and English) and part English I just want to see both sides really perform and compete…. Am very excited by look of new Bok second row pair (especially Etzebeth) and really think they will have an edge over England here (I don’t rate either Parling or Botha). Front row match up will be interesting and think that Marler might surprise a few if he has any energy left after the scrums! So many interesting contests in the game and such a great prospect for a series and just wish I could find a way to watch it live – any advice on how to watch the game in the USA?
9 Jun 2012, 03:59 am
@RugbyexileinUSA(RugbyexileinUSA)-291:
“as part South African (both Afrikaans and English) and part English I just want to see both sides really perform and compete…. Am very excited by look of new Bok second row pair (especially Etzebeth) and really think they will have an edge over England here (I don’t rate either Parling or Botha).”
Who are you rooting for?
England or South Africa?
The Rose’arse or the Boks?
9 Jun 2012, 05:10 am
@RugbyexileinUSA(RugbyexileinUSA)-291:
You don’t rate Mouritz Botha?
You haven’t watched English and NH rugby this year then…
9 Jun 2012, 06:12 am
@bryce_in_oz didn’t get to see any of England’s games this year- could only see very few matches from NH in the USA – how good is he? My comment was based on the fact that if Courtney Lawes was fit he would be ahead of both Botha and Parling for a place in the English second row yet when Juandre Kruger played for Northampton in England a couple of years ago he was very much the dominant partner in the second row playing alongside Courtney Lawes. So I haven’t seen Botha play but most of the reports I’ve read seem to describe him as “solid” rather than “dominant”
@nama1 always a torn loyalty whenever the Boks play England! I support both the Boks and England against everyone else but when they play each other I have divided loyalties and so sit uncomfortably on the fence.
Will be very interested to see how Australia respond against Wales after losing to Scotland and to how Ireland and the AB’s get on, it’s going to be a proper day’s rugby …. and I can’t get to watch it!! Any internet or other suggestions please!
9 Jun 2012, 06:26 am
In the USA all Rugby June Tests on Direct TV channel 490 West .
For some reason Direct TV only show the games on their guide a day or two before the games are scheduled. Why I have no idea.! It was the best kept “secret” for the whole of this week.
9 Jun 2012, 06:54 am
@johnrugby thanks for the infornation- hadn’t come across them before and probably too late for the first test but will have that in place for the rest of the series!
9 Jun 2012, 06:54 am
@RugbyexileinUSA(RugbyexileinUSA)-294:
Lawes is very good and has that ‘flash’ on top of his aggression… I agree on Parling…
Botha’s work-rate is second to none in the NH amongst locks… his tackling ferocious as is his ruck/maul game… the ground he covers too as a lock is quite astounding and he’s charged down more clearing kicks than any other in the HC this year…
Juandre is a classy player IMO… lacking in grunt at IMO a few cm’s…
Going to be a very interesting game this (and the Welsh/Aus)… neither of these two are guaranteed a win despite bookie odds…
@johnrugby(johnrugby)-295:
DirectTV also show all the S15 games?
9 Jun 2012, 06:57 am
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-297:
http://www.google.com.au/imgres?q=botha+kruger&hl=en&sa=X&biw=1366&bih=643&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=eNicpqti_KWyuM:&imgrefurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/anglowelshcup/rugby/image/112733.html&docid=EYNoEqY3qw51qM&imgurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/PICTURES/CMS/10100/10101.jpg&w=500&h=420&ei=OtfST4noCu6YiAft5u2YAw&zoom=1
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All