Wallabies resist late Welsh surge
9 Jun 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports on Australia’s 27-19 victory over Wales in Brisbane on Saturday.
Following the embarrassing loss to Scotland on Tuesday, the Wallabies would have been looking to make a statement via a powerful performance against Wales. They got it right in patches in Saturday’s series opener, dominating the first half and then finishing strongly in the final 15 minutes.
It was not the typical razzle-dazzle that produced the desired result, but rather a more combative attitude at the collisions and smarter tactical game. While the Wallabies still managed to finish two of their three tries in spectacular fashion, they were mindful of the abrasive Welsh defence and that it would take patience as well as physicality to break down the red and white wall.
The visitors were outplayed at the collisions, and this allowed Wallabies fetcher David Pocock to edge opposite number Sam Warburton at the breakdown. Pocock weighed in with some important breakdown steals, and it was his omnipresence at the rucks that slowed the recycle when the Welsh were in possession. This blunted the Welsh attack, and made it easier for the Wallabies to defend.
The Suncorp Stadium track is conducive to running rugby, and Wales seemed mindful of the Wallabies’ strengths out wide. They attempted to keep the hosts honest in the wider channels but neglected to mark the area around the ruck. And it was here where the Wallabies punished them, a series of pick-and-goes resulting in a try for Scott Higginbotham in the 16th minute.
Wales would fight back at the end of the first half, if only to ensure the scoreline remained at a respectable 10-3. But they lapsed badly at the start of the second stanza, their focus on wide defence once again compromising their defence around the ruck.
Will Genia exploited this space expertly and then effected an outrageous side-step to negotiate the last line of defence. The finish was a moment of individual brilliance and highlighted Genia’s running threat, but again the Wallabies had done well to work themselves into a good field position before launching an assault.
Apart from his try, Genia looked every bit the general in the No 9 position. When the Wallabies built some momentum through the forwards, his delivery from the base served to quicken the tempo and further stretch the Welsh defence.
His tactical kicking also put the Welsh under pressure, as did that of flyhalf Berrick Barnes. Barnes showed good composure and execution in this fixture, placing rolling probes and high-hanging kicks in positions where team-mates could contest and in some instances regain possession. It was a massive improvement on Tuesday’s performance against Scotland.
The game looked to be the Wallabies’ to lose after Genia’s try had extended the lead to 17-3. But the cool goal-kicking of Wales fullback Leigh Halfpenny and the fighting spirit of the Welsh pack allowed the visitors to narrow the deficit.
It served to show just how important Genia’s strike was in the context of the game. The Wallabies had played a draining Test against Scotland four days previously, and it was evident that a few players began to tire in the second half against Wales. The Wallabies were not as effective at controlling the ball at close quarters, and as the game grew looser, Wales came into their own.
Wing Alex Cuthbert had been outstanding for the visitors and it was his try that really brought the Dragons in sight of an upset. The ball went loose at a ruck and was subsequently hacked behind the Aussie defence. Cuthbert eventually got his hands on the ball to finish, and another great conversion by Halfpenny took the score to 20-16.
Wales butchered a try-scoring opportunity moments later. They had the Wallabies’ defence stretched but just couldn’t get the ball through the hands. They were then awarded a penalty which Halfpenny duly slotted, but looking back, that missed try was costly. Five or seven points would have taken them into the lead. As it was, three points saw them still trailing at 20-19.
In the final minutes, the Wallabies rediscovered their composure. The forwards controlled the ball well, and the halfbacks kicked the team into good field positions.
The hosts kept it close, hammering away at the Welsh defence until Pat McCabe ran a great angle to score under the posts. At 27-19, the game was over as a contest.
The result sees Australia taking a 1-0 lead in the three-Test series. Wales will need to produce a more consistent defensive effort and indeed a stronger showing at the collisions if they are going to bounce back in next week’s match.

161 Comments
9 Jun 2012, 11:22 am
Dragons to take it!
9 Jun 2012, 11:35 am
close game today but if Wales lose this game they will be gone for the series….it won’t be a contest. If Wales win then it is gonna be fantastic series with the wallabies to win.
9 Jun 2012, 11:38 am
I see they are proclaiming Mike Phillips as the greatest scrumhalf in the world. *sigh*
9 Jun 2012, 11:46 am
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-2: Howzit Walla,
How you see it going? Have have Wales on bru by 3. I feel it will be close.
Not totally sure though.
9 Jun 2012, 12:06 pm
Dragons to moer these convicts 6 love.
9 Jun 2012, 12:15 pm
@Nanashi(Nanashi)-1: I see what you did there…
9 Jun 2012, 12:17 pm
What position to Craig Joubert play, he looks like he played THead, at least he seems to know what’s happening in the front row, which is more than anyone else on earth does… these referees are amazing
9 Jun 2012, 12:19 pm
Why did he not pass… I would beat him hard at half time
9 Jun 2012, 12:24 pm
Puma
I am well. just still feeling cold from watching Tuesday nights game on TV.
I think it will be determined if the wallabies forwards turn up tonight…if they do it will be lights out by the 60th minute. if not it could go either way at the 89th minute..
9 Jun 2012, 12:32 pm
Anybody think Wales can win this???
Oh sorry, I see everybody does.
Damn, I wish I selected Aus on bru.
9 Jun 2012, 12:34 pm
No scrumhalf in the world to touch Genia at this stage. Even the excellent Mike Phillips looks like a carthorse in comparison.
9 Jun 2012, 12:49 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-11:
Genia putting up a masterly display here. Showing Phillips who really is the best SH in the world.
Wales need to cramp his space if they want to win this game.
Wow boos from the crowd. its been a messy game but loving the breakdown battle between the two skippers. Master class earlier by O’Brien and now Pocock and Warburton, Brussouw must be the unluckiest of the lot. Best pilferer imho.
Ja, crowning Phillips proved to be a bit premature.
9 Jun 2012, 12:50 pm
Was in Toronto recently & saw a bumper sticker on a parked car: “I miss South Africa.”
So I smashed a window took the radio and left a note which read: “Hope this helps.”
9 Jun 2012, 12:53 pm
Still have Hougaard as numero uno for mine. Genia third. But hes outplaying number four by a mile.
9 Jun 2012, 12:55 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-16: Smoking
9 Jun 2012, 12:59 pm
GENIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!
The man is on fire!!!
9 Jun 2012, 13:00 pm
Non smoker
9 Jun 2012, 13:00 pm
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-16:
Imo you cannot compare Hougaardt with these blokes as he must still prove himself at test level in this position.
9 Jun 2012, 13:02 pm
Hougaard no.1???
Jeez boy. Do you even watch rugby?
9 Jun 2012, 13:06 pm
How refreshing after yesterday’s mudpolo to watch 2 Tests in a row played on a good pitch in decent weather.
Commentators on Halfpenny: “Small player but so nippy.”
Guess he would never have made it in Heyneke’s team.
Fair point. But he still plays well in a losing team, outplays all SH’s in S15 and played sub to another great in FdP and a victim of the last regimes circus act.
9 Jun 2012, 13:10 pm
@nama1(nama1)-23: Imagine what Fullpenny would be.
9 Jun 2012, 13:10 pm
@nama1(nama1)-21: yep. Number one. You can have have Genia.
9 Jun 2012, 13:11 pm
I really thought Wales would be a little more accurate and competitive.
9 Jun 2012, 13:12 pm
Nice skills by the Welsh.
9 Jun 2012, 13:13 pm
@Nils(Nils)-22:
I was invited to drive down to Cape Town to watch the games yesterday.
Boy, am I glad I did not go.
See that they are going to move the games from Stellenbosch to Newlands or Cape Town Stadium.
A good move if you ask me.
The 1st loss for the Baby Blacks in how many games?
9 Jun 2012, 13:14 pm
Boks better not let the SH down… Wallabies making the 6N champs look average!
9 Jun 2012, 13:18 pm
pop up look marginally forward.
9 Jun 2012, 13:18 pm
@nama1(nama1)-29:
The attendance at the junior world cup is quite disappointing.It also does not help that the junior boks play stone age rugby- obviously they were better against the useless Italians but i can assure you that it will be back to kick, bash and chase against England.
9 Jun 2012, 13:19 pm
wallaby forwards are tiring!
9 Jun 2012, 13:20 pm
Beautiful, beautiful pass.
Support running line just as good.
Game on. Aus dominating but Wales are still in it.
9 Jun 2012, 13:20 pm
Australian rugby in tatters
9 Jun 2012, 13:21 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-32: I thought the same. Unbelievably poor rugby from the juniors. Plus the coach is playing guys out of position.
9 Jun 2012, 13:23 pm
wales fighting back hard, only 1 point in it now
imagine another wallaby loss??
9 Jun 2012, 13:23 pm
Now it’s interesting.
9 Jun 2012, 13:30 pm
@nama1(nama1)-29: I wondered whether sh*te weather was only in the Western Cape or it is a nationalwide as I have heard Durban had/have or expects rainlashes today, as well. What do you think, can we expect good weather in the evening there?
That Blacks-Dragons game was played in exually atrocious conditions than poor Ozzmob had to endure vs happy as a piggies-in-the-dirt Jocks, while Wallabitas-Pumitas game seemed to be played in the mud right from the start.
I guess it was the first in 22 games (4 x 5 + now 2). The loss had to happen one day. Although that long winning streak was not unusual – Blacks hardly met superserious opposition in the pool stages and for 4 straight titles they by default had to win all their playoff games vs big boys.
9 Jun 2012, 13:31 pm
Michael Hooper is making a huge difference already.
9 Jun 2012, 13:33 pm
Aussies should win. Team of their calibre cannot lose at home twice in a row to the northerners – even when most of their players are on the pitch for the 3rd time in 7 days.
9 Jun 2012, 13:40 pm
@Nils(Nils)-39:
They predict a temperature of 19 degrees Celcius with some clouds in the sky for Durban. No rain.
Good rugby weather I would think.
Where I live, on the western part of SA, it is freakin cold right now.
Aus going to take this. Wales not using their chances.
9 Jun 2012, 13:41 pm
congrats Aus and NZ, now the Springboks just need to do their part…
9 Jun 2012, 13:41 pm
deans is playing both pocock & hooper, yet ou coach says ‘fetchers’ are obsolete
9 Jun 2012, 13:42 pm
Great game. Well done to both teams.
9 Jun 2012, 13:44 pm
Aus vs Wales probably going to be the best series of the lot.
Well done Aus.
9 Jun 2012, 13:47 pm
@nama1(nama1)-42: Sounds nice weather, bring it on!
And well done Aussies, good rebound.
9 Jun 2012, 13:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-44: come on stop whinging – Kolisi is not a fetcher he is a retreaded 8th man playing out of position.
The only real fetchers in SA is Brussow and agiles guy – these players do not fit into Heineken’s plan.
Get it.
9 Jun 2012, 13:48 pm
Oh and well played convicts – now go and make it two nil.
9 Jun 2012, 13:50 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-44:
Jaaa boet.
That’s how we roll in good, ols SA.
We only use them to fetch our beer.
Only heard Warburton’s name when he was called for the after match interview. With both Pocock and Hooper in the Aus team, I now understand why.
9 Jun 2012, 13:50 pm
So that makes it 2-0 to the South.
Final score today 2-1?
Possible, very possible…
9 Jun 2012, 13:51 pm
Well done Aus. What time is the Bok game and does anyone have a link to stream it on a relatively average net connection??
9 Jun 2012, 13:51 pm
The way rugby is played at the mo one needs a fetcher.
I think wales has too much to play as the welsh great said pre game….wales has to win the first game otherwise it will be too much.
9 Jun 2012, 13:52 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-51: Surely you wouldn’t imply that the Boks would lose on a South African-based blog? Surely not.
9 Jun 2012, 13:53 pm
@RL(RL)-48: Where did he mention Kolisi?
9 Jun 2012, 13:56 pm
@Todd W(Todd W)-54: there are more than enough locally based doomsayers in here at the moment, to be perfectly honest
9 Jun 2012, 13:59 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-56: I was actually just being a bit of a cheeky smartarse, so don’t take my comment seriously
9 Jun 2012, 14:01 pm
@Todd W(Todd W)-57: i wasn’t being serious either sorry if it came off that way, just find the whole situation rather amusing
9 Jun 2012, 14:02 pm
@Todd W(Todd W)-54: U right I would!!!
9 Jun 2012, 14:06 pm
@nama1(nama1)-55: I can read between the line
besides he not mention either that the top two SA teams in Superrugby do not play with fetchers?
9 Jun 2012, 14:10 pm
@RL(RL)-59:
Unless the fetcher is exceptional it is a waste to play one.
Pocock, Hooper, Richie, Gill are exceptional
Heinrich is average.
Stegman is uberkak.
9 Jun 2012, 14:10 pm
That was the Welsh’s best chance at a win… not going to happen now… kudos Wallabies!
9 Jun 2012, 14:11 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-56:
People questioning the squad selection does not equate to doomsaying or non support for the Boks.
I’m sure you had your fair share of head scratching during PdV’s reign as coach or am I wrong?
9 Jun 2012, 14:15 pm
Thunder and Lightning over the tank at present
9 Jun 2012, 14:16 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-60:
Really… you’re entitled to your opinion… but on The RugbyClub the Aussies rated Brussouw (2012) as one of the top 3 in the world still…
FWIW the term ‘fetcher’ is such a dumb Japie pigeon-hole… it’s ‘open-sider’… and their job is so much more than simply contesting for the ball at the break-down…
9 Jun 2012, 14:16 pm
Thise watching the supersport 1 channel with live schools rugby will see the weather building
Eish
9 Jun 2012, 14:17 pm
@RL(RL)-59:
I see.
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-61:
You think?
Wales probably left about three tries on the park today. Next time they might just take the right options and score them. Genia might not have as good a game as he had today. There’s lots of room for improvement afa the Welsch side is concern. Don’t know how much the Wallabies can improve on their very good performance today.
Don’t be over confident, mate.
9 Jun 2012, 14:21 pm
@nama1(nama1)-63: true true of course, no doubt… i’m just referring to the more…extreme elements on this blog
9 Jun 2012, 14:22 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-63:
You think it will rain later today?
9 Jun 2012, 14:29 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_shagger)-66:
Don’t you just love it,
when the weather gets personality.
@RL(RL)-60:
Maybe he was talking about the absence of Brussow.
That’s also a possibility, isn’t it?
Who knows Nama, it had been warm with sunshine all morning and now thunder and lightning
Durban weather can change in an instant
It will be warm , will it keep raining?? time will tell lol
If you watch the Glenwood/college match thats on supersport 1 right now you will get an indication of the weather mate
@nama1(nama1)-67:
How about that the wallabies will be fresher next week after half the squad played 3 games in 7 days.
Wales put a lot into this game and did not win against an exhausted wallaby outfit.
9 Jun 2012, 14:31 pm
@cane(cane)-70: lol yup
9 Jun 2012, 14:34 pm
@nama1(nama1)-71: no implied that Heineken could have selected two fetchers, like Deans did – one being Brussow and the other Kolisi.
9 Jun 2012, 14:37 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-73:
True that. Let’s wait and see.
In any case, I think it’s going to be a great series Down Under.
Two good teams going up against each other. My two early favourites for the next RWC, 3 years out.
9 Jun 2012, 14:41 pm
Anyway fetchers are overrated in SA – small guys lose out to monsters like Coetzee who at 1.91m and 107kg’s dwarf. 1.82 midgets like Brussow and Hooper.
Heineken will have big guys dominating the collison points driving right over the midgets.
9 Jun 2012, 14:41 pm
@RL(RL)-75:
I did not read it that way but then again…that’s just me.
I just thought he was taking a swipe at His Meyerness for not selecting a fetcher.
But OK then…you’re the one who can read between the lines after all.
9 Jun 2012, 14:44 pm
@schalla(schalla)-52: 5pm SA time and vipbox for the streaming.
9 Jun 2012, 14:46 pm
@RL(RL)-77:
The Boks have been playing with big guys in the back row for years now. SB/JS/Spies or SB/Danie/Spies and I really cannot remember when we ever “dominated the collision points” with those guys playing.
The only time when we “dominated the collision points” in the recent past was when that “midget” Brussow, played for the Boks at 6.
Think 2009.
9 Jun 2012, 14:48 pm
Plenty thunder about now, with plenty dark clouds about. Not much rain has come from it though, thought this would be more like a thunderstorm, but just a bit of rain here. Came past the Tank about a hour back and no rain there then. Could be rain there now though. Still early so this could pass or who knows could stay for a few hours. Could have a wet field though. Jeez was a brilliant morning and thought we may not get any rain.
GO OUR BOKKE..
9 Jun 2012, 14:48 pm
@nama1(nama1)-80: Right. Then they had to deal with a multi-faceted threat.
9 Jun 2012, 14:49 pm
@nama1(nama1)-80: with Pocock having the game he had today, i’m started to get even more distressed about not having Brussow in the team for this series…
9 Jun 2012, 14:50 pm
@RL(RL)-77:
“Anyway fetchers are overrated in SA…”
You were not one of those guys who blasted PdV for not selecting Brussow ahead of Schalk for that 1st test against the B&I Lions in 2009?
9 Jun 2012, 14:52 pm
@nama1(nama1)-76:
I think in the welsh minds they will think…we got this game out of the way and we have a feel of the wallabies game and come out more settled next test. if they don’t it will be a long series for them. I hope it is a close series.
9 Jun 2012, 14:53 pm
Northern Hemisphere teams are ****. History speaks for this, as well as contemporary results.
Wales could not put away an average, rusty, Wallabie outfit, 4 days after the Wallabies get beaten by Scotland, and with serious ‘prep’ time for the Test.
6 Nations champs? More like chumps …. and I am now waiting to hear ‘how close Wales got to beating the Boks at the World Cup’ … BLAH BLAH.
Not interested.
9 Jun 2012, 14:55 pm
@nama1(nama1)-80:
The King of Midgets ,
Ruben Kruger, (The Silent Assassin).
9 Jun 2012, 14:58 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-85: Well done to your Wallabies mate. Only saw the first half and had to go out.
My feeling the English will be a tougher customer. They were building good momentum in the 6Nations this year and will get better imo. Though today think the Boks will beat them. Weather for now not looking great right now, more thunder about. Jeez if it turns in a real thunderstorm we will be playing on a almight wet field. Hope he just drifts away as the wind has picked up now so it could.
9 Jun 2012, 15:01 pm
@cane(cane)-87: So he was Cane.
Congrats to your Abs Cane. Hope Boks take the English too, then it is 3 sh and zip nh…hehe.
9 Jun 2012, 15:01 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-85:
I don’t think so. Wallabies far to classy …
9 Jun 2012, 15:02 pm
@nama1(nama1)-84: yes I did. In 2009 the laws favoured the Brussow he was red hot. Burger and will always be a bonehead and I will pick anyone ahead of him even Stegmann.
9 Jun 2012, 15:03 pm
@wallabie.(wallabie.)-85:
I believe it will be a close series.
If Warburton plays his natural game to counter Pocock, it will be very, very close, I think.
Pocock definitely came out on top in the battle of the captains today.
@cane(cane)-87:
Great player, Ruben Kruger.
First saw him play for the Free State Craven Week side in 1989 and his quality was evident even then as an 17/18 year old.
9 Jun 2012, 15:07 pm
@RL(RL)-91:
You do know that Steggies is a “fetcher.”
The laws changed for Pocock, McCaw, Hooper, Warburton etc as well. It seems those players are still very effective.
9 Jun 2012, 15:10 pm
Not all of them are small. Richie’s a decent size, and he’s a good example of a felcher.
9 Jun 2012, 15:13 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-94:
If you compare Richie to Schalk, Alberts, Spies, Coetzee….would you say he is big or small?
Rain coming down heavy here now. Jeez great weather all week to this? Could clear for the game, strong winds about now. Could clear it, really hope so. Though the field will be wet no doubt.
Reuben Kruger, one of my all-time favourites. It was a valid try in ’95
9 Jun 2012, 15:14 pm
Nice one, Wobblies… The Welsh came and then got fckedup… Zimbo Pocock to the fore… Go Boy!
9 Jun 2012, 15:16 pm
@nama1(nama1)-95: Are you calling them felchers?
9 Jun 2012, 15:16 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-97: Well it would be great if you could spell the name of one of “your all time favourites” correctly, Mr Bauval Hancock bullshitartist… Its RUBEN… Legend
9 Jun 2012, 15:19 pm
Go Captain Donkey…
Go Boks…
Go Bismarck…
Fuckemup six love
9 Jun 2012, 15:20 pm
1st session over.
Time now for beers and rugby part 2.
Helluvathing
9 Jun 2012, 15:20 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-99:
No.
I want you to compare Richie’s size to their’s.
9 Jun 2012, 15:22 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-102:
HG hiyas good fellow
9 Jun 2012, 15:23 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-101:
Show some respect for the Bok captain, moegoe.
9 Jun 2012, 15:23 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-100: Well it would be great it you had a brain-cell but we can’t have everything, can we.
Kruger ruled.
9 Jun 2012, 15:24 pm
Maritzburg college started in 1863 and started playing rugby on 1870 soon after rugby first started
9 Jun 2012, 15:25 pm
I knew my old school was old , just didnt realise that old
9 Jun 2012, 15:27 pm
sharkslover
so your ballie and tannie had ammo of you went to college
9 Jun 2012, 15:27 pm
sharkslover
so your ballie and tannie had ammo if you went to college
9 Jun 2012, 15:28 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-110:
9 Jun 2012, 15:29 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-109: maritzburg is a public school, innit
9 Jun 2012, 15:30 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-108: Maritzburg College is an awesome school, incredible history
9 Jun 2012, 15:33 pm
grey college aswell,but look at the financial status of most parents
college isnt just a ordinary public school.
9 Jun 2012, 15:43 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-114: very true. they choose the school because of it’s sporting tradition probably, and most of the sportsmen there could probably get bursaries to more expensive schools if they wanted
9 Jun 2012, 15:44 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-114: nope Fern College is a normal public school
The rich folk over there send their kids to Hilton and michealhouse etc and St charles
9 Jun 2012, 15:45 pm
R57 000 p.a is the school fes of College
Worth it cause it is a good school
Not just another public school by any stretch of the imagination
sharks lover’s parents should have rather taken that money and put it on a number on the roulette wheel.
Look at him now,blogging here with the likes of me and even worse,those filthy cheating kiwis.
9 Jun 2012, 15:46 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-113: Sure is mate, It has produced the likes of Jonty Rhodes, Butch James, Stransky, Jeremy Thomson Vince VD bijl etc etc
9 Jun 2012, 15:46 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117: money well spent
9 Jun 2012, 15:47 pm
college is still expensive and exclusive but at the end of the day you had the misfortune of growing up in sleepy hollow.
9 Jun 2012, 15:48 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-117:
fo ya buzzard hehehe
9 Jun 2012, 15:49 pm
College and glenwood final score, 16-16 played in durban
9 Jun 2012, 15:51 pm
hilton is r188400 p.a according to the interwebs
9 Jun 2012, 15:52 pm
OK, we all know that women from the Eastern European countries add the -OVA to their surname to indicate that they are female.
For example Martina NavratilOVA or Hana MandlikOVA. Their brother would’ve been Gert Navratil or Koos Mandlik.
Now I wonder, does that mean that the brother of Maria SharapOVA would be called Ivan Sharrap?
9 Jun 2012, 15:52 pm
So for all those muppets complaining about the Boks game plan did anyone take notice how much Australia kicked? Not to mention the All Blacks. As long as we don’t up and under on the half way line kicking is good.
9 Jun 2012, 15:53 pm
@nama1(nama1)-124:
9 Jun 2012, 15:55 pm
OK, just kidding.
He would be Ivan Sharapov of course.
9 Jun 2012, 15:56 pm
The fees for 2012 are R188 400 per annum. This fee covers tuition, board, games, ordinary medical attention, the use of the sanatorium, library and laundry. It includes basic entertainment which is arranged for all boys, games transport and simple mending materials.
A consolidated fee of R300 per term for extras is charged which covers dry cleaning (up to R35 per term), laundry bags, minor duplicating costs, newspapers, minor sanatorium requisites, sun screen, certain school plays and school socials at Hilton College. In addition, a fee of R5000 per annum is charged to boys participating in rowing and a fee of R4000 is levied for canoeing. This fee is to cover the additional transport costs and maintenance on the vessels and does not cover expenses should the boys be selected to participate at regattas etc. An additional fee is levied for golf to cover additional transport costs.
Books and stationery, medicines, doctors’ fees, special entertainment and travelling are not included.
Fees are payable quarterly or monthly in advance by debit order. The relevant form may be obtained from the Bursar’s offices. A discount may be offered if the annual fee is paid before the start of the first term. Please contact the Bursar’s office for further details. (Out of Country parents must also settle the duplicate deposit in order to obtain the discount.)
On acceptance, R 47 100, being the equivalent of one term’s fees at the current rate, should be paid to the Hilton College Educational Fund as a contribution to the school’s development programme. Click here to read more about the entry fee.
9 Jun 2012, 16:03 pm
Wales stuffed their own chances in this game.. they were all over Australia second half.. and they botched 2 absolute certainty tries.. and one very definite other chance ..
once when Priestland was clear with double overlap down left wing in Aussie 22 and the ball comes to him high and he knocks on.. certain try right there was botched
Next center Davies breaks clear with one man to beat and Halfpenny clear on his outside he goes to contact instead of passing to Halfpenny with open try line ahead.. Try No.2 botched..
try No. 3 botched when Cuthbert was clear in his own 30 yard area with Aussie defense stretched wide open for the taking.. ball gets passed behind his back.. and another knock on.
3 tries by Wales were botched 2nd half.. they had Australia on the rack and couldn’t put them away.. same as they let SA off the hook in the WC opener.. they let Australia off the hook today..
No killer instinct to put the game away.. botched it 3 times with open try lines ahead.
9 Jun 2012, 16:03 pm
And just for those cape okes that think the Kirstens are all from the Cape?
Peter Noel Kirsten (born 14 May 1955 in Pietermaritzburg, Natal) is a former cricketer who represented South Africa in 12 Tests and 40 One Day Internationals from 1991 to 1994.
See they first had Natal blood in them
9 Jun 2012, 16:05 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-129: Treu , Wales should have won, wild passes etc cost them
9 Jun 2012, 16:05 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-128:
Jeepers!!!
That school fees are more than what your entry level teacher (with a degree) would earn in a year teaching at a public school or even one with about 10 years experience.
I’m sure that they must pay their teachers extra.
9 Jun 2012, 16:08 pm
Fern?? these are Names of well known peeps that came through Hilton
Keagan Africa, Dolphins cricketer[citation needed]
Lionel “Rusty” Bernstein, anti-apartheid activist and political prisoner[citation needed]
Duncan Bradshaw, first-class cricketer
Michael Bush, better known as nudist, Beau Brummel, founder of South Africa’s first nudist colony[citation needed]
Bruce Campbell, CEO of Mutual & Federal[citation needed]
Derek Crookes, former Dolphins and South African cricketer[citation needed]
John Didcott (1948), Constitutional Court judge 1995-1998[citation needed]
Tim Harris, South African parliamentarian[3]
Paul Maritz a senior executive at Microsoft from 1986 to 2000[citation needed]
Sir RH John Don-Wauchope, Bt.[citation needed]
Wayne Fyvie, former Springbok rugby footballer
Peter Hassard, president of the Sharks rugby franchise[4]
David Hathorn, businessman and director of Anglo American and De Beers[citation needed]
Sven Koenig, first-class cricketer[citation needed]
Hentie Martens, former Springbok rugby footballer[citation needed]
Roy McLean, South African cricketer 1951-1965[citation needed]
Mike Melvill, first commercial astronaut and the 433rd person to go into space[citation needed]
Kgosi Leruo Molotlegi, King of the Bafokeng Nation[citation needed]
Michael Pfaff, recently Chief Executive of Rand Merchant Bank[citation needed]
Mike Procter, former South African cricketer and coach[citation needed]
Bobby Skinstad, former Springbok rugby union captain[citation needed]
Russel Symcox, Dolphins cricketer[citation needed]
Gary Teichmann, former Springbok rugby captain[citation needed]
John Waite, South African cricketer 1951-1965[citation needed]
Keith Wakefield, property tycoon[citation needed]
Sandile Zungu, Executive Chairman of Zico Investments[citation needed]
Bruce Hemphill, currently Chief Executive of the Liberty Group[citation needed]
Stephen Coppinger, Top South African Squash Player (SA National champion ’07,’08 and’10)[citation needed]
Roddy Grant, Current Scotland 7′s rugby player[citation needed]
Preston Mommsen, Current Scotland cricket player[citation needed]
Ricardo Makhado, hip-hop artist, singer[citation
9 Jun 2012, 16:09 pm
This is quite funny?
Beau Brummel the oke that started Sandy bay?? is ex Hilton College
Michael Bush, better known as nudist, Beau Brummel, founder of South Africa’s first nudist colony[citation needed]
9 Jun 2012, 16:10 pm
@nama1(nama1)-132: It is as far as i know the most expensive exclusive School in SA NAma
You should Google it and read about the school, kids live there and only get the best etc meals you name it
9 Jun 2012, 16:17 pm
I know the Mommsen family who live in CT ex Durban, this Preston Mommsen must be related.
Bob Skinstadt went to Hilton far as I know.
9 Jun 2012, 16:20 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-135:
i got something that they dont
i was in a school which had girls in aswell
do they get to fingerbang chicks over break?
9 Jun 2012, 16:22 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-136: Yes Skop Bobbie is on that list i posted
9 Jun 2012, 16:23 pm
Bryce the mighty myce was bragging profusely how much depth the arsetralian rugby union was boasting for national honors this year.. then they keep playing the old warhorse Nathan Sharpe and get done in the line outs by Wales..
Aussie were stretched off their feet today.. only Genia keeping them in the game and some poor passes by Wales… else it was going to be a 1 – 2 knockout between Scotland and Wales over Aussie today..
SA don’t have the feeble 2 meter locks that the Arsetralian counterparts portray.
9 Jun 2012, 16:24 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-137: lol Fern maritsburg had a few schools that were dual
Voortrekker hoer and PIet retief Hoer schools
Also one or 2 others
9 Jun 2012, 16:25 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-139: That try of Genia was a gem
9 Jun 2012, 16:27 pm
So Fyvie, Skinstadt and Teichmann all played rugby together at Hilton.. (likely in different age groups)
So why the huge hoo haa when Mallett drops Teich for Bob.. after all Bob was a FAR more athletic and dynamic No. 8 than Teichman could ever have offered or could ever become
Only Bob bust his knee bragging to his pals when Justin Marshal taught him a lesson and that was the end of his rugby career
9 Jun 2012, 16:31 pm
cheers all
we are off to the watkykjy pre-apocalyptic year end function at zepplins
gaan lekker saam met die marabse in zwoeries jol
Go Bokke!
9 Jun 2012, 16:33 pm
Some notables from college my old school
Sir Henry Bale, KCMC, KZ (dux 1870), former South African cabinet minister and former Chief Justice of Natal
Henry Nourse (circa 1874), founder of Nourse Mines and former chairman of South African Olympic Committee
Major-General WEC Tanner (1884), former Chief of Staff of Union of South Africa Defence Force
Judge Walter E Thrash, MPC (1902), former South African senator and former Judge President of Natal
HG “Nummy” Deane (circa 1910), former captain of South African national cricket team
Prof Edgar Brookes (1911), former South African senator and former South African representative to the League of Nations
Alan Paton (1918), author of Cry, the Beloved Country and political activist
Philip J. Nel (1921), captain of “the Greatest Springboks” of 1937 – the first South African team to have defeated the All Blacks in New Zealand
Hubert Freakes (1930), Rhodes scholar and former England national rugby union team player (killed whilst serving in the RAF during World War II)
Lt-Gen Keith Coster, OBE (1936), former General Officer Commanding (GOC) the Rhodesian Army and Grand Officer of the Order of the Star of South Africa
Lt-Gen Bob Rogers, DSO, DFC (1938), former Chief of the South African Air Force
Cuan McCarthy (1945), fast-bowler in South African national cricket side
Jackie McGlew (1948): former captain of South African national cricket team
Rear-Adm Paul Wijnberg (1950), former OC of Natal Naval Command
Cedric Savage (Harvard) (1955), former CEO and present chairman of the Tongaat-Hulett Group and former captain of South African national waterpolo team
Maj Gen Ian Deetlefs SSA PG SM JCD (1964) Chief of Defence Reserves, SANDF, 1997-2003
Paul Harris (Head Prefect 1967), former CEO of Rand Merchant Bank and present CEO of the FirstRand Group
Ian Rogers (?), International Rugby Referee
Craig Jamieson(1979) The first Natal Captain to lift the Currie Cup, 1995 Rugby World Cup Tournament manager.
Joel Stransky (1985), South African national rugby player
Jonty Rhodes (Head Prefect 1987), South African national cricket player
Wim Visser (1987): Italian National Rugby Player, and member of the first Italian team to win a 6 nations match (vs Scotland).
Craig Joubert (1995): International Rugby Referee
Pieter Dixon (1995): Super 12 Rugby Player
Shaun Morgan (1997) : Lead Singer and Guitar player from the band Seether
Kevin Pietersen (1997), former captain of the England cricket team
Butch James (1997), rugby player for Bath and Springboks
Chad Erskine (1998), USA national rugby player
Peter Grant (2002), Stormers, Western Province, Springbok and Barbarians rugby player
Darian Townsend (2002) Olympic Gold Medalist in Athens, 2004. Member of the 4 x 100m Freestyle World Record Relay Team
Cedric Mkhize (2003) rugby player for Sharks (2005 season)
David Miller (2007) Proteas Cricketer
The school’s Roll of Honour lists the names of over 250 former scholars who have given their lives in wars since the first Old Collegian casualty fell in 1871 (Robert Erskine, who was the son of the Colonial Secretary at the time). Most (if not all) of their names are displayed on College’s numerous war memorials. The most Old Collegians killed in action on one day is seven – at Gelib in Italian Somaliland in 1941, during the infamous “White Flag Incident” that claimed the lives of 13 Royal Natal Carbineers. Four boys died at the battle of Isandhlwana in 1879 (see above) and eight during the Battle of Delville Wood, which was fought on 14–20 July 1916.
College has produced about 200 international sportsmen, including a former Mr America (bodybuilding), 25 SA captains, nine captains of polo alone, six 2008 Olympians, and the “man who won the 2005 Ashes” for England, Kevin Pietersen.[1]
9 Jun 2012, 16:36 pm
Bob lives down here and owns a pub in peace loving Noordhoek.. I bumped into him couple times when he walked into the local 7-11 barefoot and all n all..
shows you when all these high society whenwe ex Hilton toffs wanna retire and settle down into a place of obscure tranquility they come down to the shade of the mountain in a peaceful C.Town valley
Neh SL..
even Joel Stranskey and Jonathan Kaplan agree.
9 Jun 2012, 16:38 pm
Watching ABs vs Ire was a waste of time, not sure why the Paddies bothered with traveling around half the world?
And
Size does matter and perceptions do changed, SB, Guilford and Savea NEVER looked so lethal at the Super Rugby matches because they usually faced similar size and powerful backs
And thanks HM for saving us few horror shows with Aplon and Co on the field
9 Jun 2012, 16:41 pm
Out to go watch the rugger
SA better not let the side down cos the other 2 SH partners prevailed..
I guess Steve Walsh won’t allow that to happen.. not in a SH home game..
Bokke should drill these pasty’s but only by virtue that they selected the correct captain this time… at long bloody last.
So long Marianne, its time that we began to laugh and cry and cry and laugh about it all again.
9 Jun 2012, 16:43 pm
Yeah Kirchner, Lambie and Olivier are one HUGE step up from Aplon, and De Jongh
better they don’t botch it big against the mighty Pom poms.
Out
9 Jun 2012, 16:48 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-134:
Beau Brummel had nothing to do with Sandy Bay. I used to go down there in the early ’70s when there were no more than a dozen people due to its inaccessability. We often stayed overnight on the beach.
9 Jun 2012, 17:01 pm
You can tell the new guys by them not knowing the Xhosa words of the anthem.
10 Jun 2012, 06:04 am
Drop Priestland. Kicked all the ball away in the 1st 20 minutes.
Genia is AWESOME! He will break a few Bok & AB hearts this 4N
Aus backs look penetrative, but fwds other than Pocock are creampuffs.
Boks may struggle to handle Pocock as he is fast, accurate & a menace.
10 Jun 2012, 06:13 am
My couch XV that are not playing internationals this month and could roll most teams except the All Blacks of course
15.Andre Taylor
14.James O’Connor
13.Robbie Fruen
12.Luke MacAlister
11.Vincent Clerc
10.Quade Cooper
9.Andy Ellis
8.Jerome Kaino
7.Heinrich Brussouw
6.Thierry Dusautoir
5.James Horwill
4.Brad Thorn
3.Nicolas Mas
2.Keven Mealamu
1.Carl Hayman
10 Jun 2012, 06:19 am
@Manona(Manona)-151: Yep, wouldn’t mind seeing Halfpenny have a go at 10, great little player. Hook is a turnstile if he plays at 10. Wallabies tempo was too much to handle, as was ABs v Irish, I’m sure we will see slowing of the ball in both games by our Norhern counterparts.
10 Jun 2012, 09:13 am
@Manona(Manona)-151:
Buddy worry whats in front of you now.
If our wallabies were cream puffs then your forwards are stalr soggy biscuits. Could not put the english away definitively!
10 Jun 2012, 09:16 am
Further to that Deans had the least time of the sh teams to prepare for their test of which the welsh team who had, most of the team, 2 weeks in aus to prepare.
11 Jun 2012, 02:52 am
phoook, thats the stupidest comment Ive ever read. The tattooed dwarf is an absolute lemon no9. The PrickBok ‘brains’ assumed he could translate scoring tries in wide open spaces of the threequarters as a winger, in to bossing the breakdowns as a scrumhalf. **** pass, **** kick, poor decisionmaking. Genia will p*ss all over him.
11 Jun 2012, 02:54 am
so you can gouge, break ribs and maim without penalty in Yappieland and, yet,
‘C R A P’
is a banned word ?
11 Jun 2012, 06:22 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-156: Guess you missed the Bulls v Reds game, also, any half back playing behind FdP will have to establish themselves as a starting international halfback and after playing in the de Villiers era or error, any half that played in that scheme would have suffered in all facets of their game. Put “tattooed dwarf” in an Australian or New Zealand side and how do you think he would go? Structured rugby where halves are free to roam. Guess you guys don’t know when you have a good thing going. He has outplayed every halfback in S15 and it’s only a matter of timing in the Bok jersey. Watch Genia go MIA when things are not so rosie. Genia is the best halfback in open running rugby, but we all know that is not always the case. Hey, it’s a matter of opinion.
11 Jun 2012, 07:25 am
@CSI:Rugby(CSI:Rugby)-158:
The tattooed dwarf has “outplayed every halfback in Super Rugby” ?!
L O L
He was outplayed by the no9, Phipps, for the Rebels. He was outclassed in the basics by the Highlanders scrumhalf, who is far younger and less experienced. He was bullied by the Chiefs scrumhalf, who is fairly poor himself.
The tattooed dwarf is a half-decent wingman. But if you seriously believe taking 2-steps before passing, running when you should pass and vice versa, and having a dire box-kick game with multiple chargedowns equates to “outplaying”, then I certainly hope youre not selecting my team.
Genia is the Man, as has been proved since Reds players returned from injury.
11 Jun 2012, 07:40 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-157:
> so you can gouge, break ribs and maim without penalty in Yappieland and, yet,
You’re not referring to the cheap head shots from behind you lot love so much in the NHL?
You do have a lot to say for a limp d-ick Canadiand eh?
Guess it is better living in Aus, after all they tend to win?
Unlike your own countrymen who can’t win f- all?
Better to support the Wallabies than the brain dead “it’s-our-game” Ice hockey, yet no Crapnadian team ever wins it?
When last have the Deadmonton Oilers won anything?
But then again you lot are happy being losers, mediocrity are all you excel at
11 Jun 2012, 09:16 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-159: A halves game is somewhat determined by that of the forward pack in front of them. Emphasis on “somewhat”. The “tattooed Dwarf” you label outplays fellow halves, even when his forwards get the second half yips and fall short of victory. Not sure whether you judge a player by the teams result or the halfbacks game. “But if you seriously believe taking 2-steps before passing, running when you should pass and vice versa”, did you not watch Genia on the weekend, or throughout the Super a rugby Reds campaign? He played well, but there were times when he too should’ve passed and not kicked, point is, they all do it. Genia goes MIA when excrements hits the fan.