Springboks 22 England 17
9 Jun 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Test in Durban.
FULL TIME: SPRINGBOKS 22 ENGLAND 17
80 mins: ENGLAND TRY! England have possession as the hooter blows and they find themselves running into the Springbok 22m area. The visitors swing the ball wide and wing Ben Foden dives in at the corner. Walsh asks for the TMO’s assistance, and the try is awarded. Farrell misses the conversion. The Springboks win!
77 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn secures the hosts a 10-point buffer with his fourth penalty of the game. The Springboks lead 22-12.
76 mins: The Springbok scrum goes one better as they win the penalty. Good effort from reserve hooker Adriaan Strauss, replacment prop Coenie Oosthuizen and Jannie du Plessis.
75 mins: BIG SCRUM! England have the feed to a scrum inside their red zone, but the Springboks turn the set piece 90 degrees. South Africa have stolen possession.
71 mins: IN YOUR FACE…AGAIN! Tuilagi is making De Villiers his bunny. Another big hit sees the Springbok skipper brushed off his feet.
69 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! After missing two previous goal attempts, Morne Steyn slots an important three-pointer. The Springboks lead 19-12.
67 mins: Tuilagi concedes a penalty as the Springboks rush into England’s red zone. He’s pinned for being off-side.
64 mins: ENGLAND PENALTY! Pietersen concedes the penalty on this occasion, and Farrell steps up to nail his fourth successive kick at goal. Ill-discipline is costing the hosts. The Springboks lead 16-12.
62 mins: ENGLAND PENALTY! The visitors strike back minutes later as Farrell finds the target from his third goal attempt. The Springboks lead 16-9.
59 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! Habana with ANOTHER telling run into the England’s danger area. Great backline interplay sees De Villiers offered space out wide and he bashes over to score his team’s second try. Good finish from the skipper! Morne Steyn misses his second conversion. Springboks lead 16-6.
56 mins: Habana gets an inside pass and runs into the England red zone. Play is shifted to the left side of the field, towards wing JP Pietersen, but England do well to force the speedster into touch. Some off the ball stuff between the two teams now after inside centre Francois Steyn boots the ball into a England player.
55 mins: Scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is on for Hougaard, who didn’t have an impressive turnout today. Maybe he is a better wing than a halfback?
53 mins: England inside centre Brad Barritt is replaced as he walks off with a swollen eye. A big shiner for the former Sharks man. Toby Flood takes his place.
52 mins: Great attacking momentum from the hosts. Alberts with another strong ball carry into the England 22m area. The visitors are penalised as they restrict South Africa – a great chance to extend their lead via the boot. However, Hougaard takes a quick penalty tap, which proves to be the wrong decision as the ball is knocked on moments later. Three points wasted!
47 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! A great attacking move sees South Africa power into England’s red zone. Alberts with a strong run and a good offload to tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis. Hougaard and Beast find themselves inches short of the tryline before play is moved wide, where Morne Steyn dives over. The flyhalf misses the following conversion. The Springboks lead 11-6.
42 mins: IN YOUR FACE! England outside centre Manu Tuilagi puts in a big hand off on De Villiers!
SECOND-HALF RESTART: Habana is back on, while reserve fullback Pat Lambie replaces Zane Kirchner. After the kick-off, the Springboks boot play back into England territory.
HALF-TIME: SPRINGBOKS 6 ENGLAND 6
40 mins: Steyn pushes his goal attempt and it drifts miserably away from the posts. The ball goes dead and Walsh blows for half-time.
39 mins: England flank Tom Johnson concedes a penalty at a scrum in a kickable position as he uses his hand to keep the ball from squirting out. De Villiers asks referee Steve Walsh if there’s time to kick for touch. Walsh says no, and Morne Steyn lines up his third penalty.
35 mins: The Springbok lose their first lineout as lock Juandre Kruger fails to claim Du Plessis’s throw.
31 mins: Habana – who has looked good all round – goes to the blood bin. Wynand Olivier comes on as his replacement. Skipper Jean de Villiers is shifted to wing.
29 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn does the business as the ball sails over the crossbar. Scores are deadlocked at 6-6.
28 mins: Moments later, and England concede a penalty. Morne Steyn has the chance to level the scores.
26 mins: ENGLAND PENALTY Farrell slots his second penalty attempt to put his team back ahead. England lead 6-3.
25 mins: Springbok flank Marcell Coetzee is penalised for a breakdown transgression as England surge into South Africa’s red zone. Farrell is told to kick for posts.
21 mins: South Africa win an up and under in England’s red zone, and Pierre Spies is tackled 5m from the whitewash. But the Springboks can’t land the killer blow as they look static on attack. England defence holds up.
18 mins: While the Springboks have forced some pressure via the boot, England are proving that they can also execute a good tactical kicking game too.
14 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Morne Steyn slots the easy penalty from right in front. The scores are level at 3-3.
12 mins: Springboks find themselves in a great attacking position as England concede position in their 22m area. Flank Willem Alberts was the poacher as he was the first to arrive at the ruck. England are penalised as they scramble on defence.
11 mins: England heavies currently have the ascendancy up front as the hosts struggle to protect their own ball at the tackle points.
8 mins: Springbok scrumhalf Francois Hougaard tests England fullback Mike Brown with a box kick, with good pressure from Habana. But the Harlequins man shows great composure and calls the mark.
6 mins: ENGLAND PENALTY! Farrell is cool under pressure as he converts his first goal attempt. England lead 3-0.
5 mins: Etzebeth is penalised for not rolling away at the breakdown. England flyhalf Owen Farrell gets an early shot at goal.
3 mins: Wing Bryan Habana enjoys an exciting run after catching an England up and under. He beats three defenders before being tackled. Good early signs from the veteran speedster.
1 min: Hooker Bismarck du Plessis’ first throw is accurate as he finds debutant Eben Etzebeth at first receiver. However, nothing materialises from the following driving maul as England counter effectively.
KICK-OFF: Springbok flyhalf Morne Steyn gets the game started. And it’s a high kick off, and England fumble early on as the can’t take in possession successfully. The ball moves into touch, South Africa’s feed.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier.
England – 15 Mike Brown, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Ben Foden, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 Tom Johnson, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Mouritz Botha, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Joe Marler.
Subs: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Paul Doran Jones, 18 Tom Palmer, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Lee Dickson, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Jonathan Joseph

583 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All
9 Jun 2012, 23:16 pm
Au contraire.
It was pithy and apposite.
Lift your game bed wetter.
9 Jun 2012, 23:31 pm
Oooooooooohhhhhhhhhhh.
That is so childish.
9 Jun 2012, 23:33 pm
To be expected, of course.
Roll another joint and enjoy yourself, son.
9 Jun 2012, 23:35 pm
Easy now virgy.
Thats the brannas talking there.
9 Jun 2012, 23:57 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-554:
OK. We’re into our real names now?
Makes me wonder, Gunthie.
Roy once said that people will be surprised if they know who the people were with more than one nic on this blog. Only one **** that I know of who ever used my real name on this blog.
You sure you not the same guy as that oke?
Just going by another name Mr. A.
10 Jun 2012, 00:00 am
Nope.
Only ever Gunther.
Take it easy Nama.
Enjoy the win.
I know I will.
10 Jun 2012, 00:03 am
So, it’s Virgil then. Cool name.
10 Jun 2012, 00:05 am
I’ve been wondering about this for a while now A***.
You keep on giving me this cryptic messages about what I do for a living…what kind of vehicle I have… and stuff like that.
Now I wonder…should I be “scared” of what you know about me or should I take it as a compliment that you made all that effort to find out more about me?
I mean really, I don’t care who do what on in their private life. I only come on here to talk a bit about rugby and all the other stuff that may come up.
What is it that you get from knowing more about me than I let on on this site? Why exactly did you feel the need to find out more about me?
10 Jun 2012, 00:06 am
@nama1(nama1)-555: l didnt know your name but i could sure as hell see you were acting like a bit of a do os.
it is clear the win is like a bug up your……..
sorry about that.
p.s. rather thank frans for stopping the tuialagi giant after he smashed JDV.
hohohohoho
10 Jun 2012, 00:09 am
Po es is now also a vloekwoord on Keo.
What is the world coming to?
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-557:
As if you did not know already.
You good friend Quota-Sux made sure of that some time ago, two year ago to be exact.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-557: it appears it is.
means nothing to me.
but it doesnt sound very authentic. in my mind namas name was something unpronounceable lik Xe!
nama X for short.
Chill bud.
Someone else used the V word.
As for what you do I took a guess.
For all I know you could be the bok coach.
Nothing more to it.
Apologies.
10 Jun 2012, 00:10 am
@nama1(nama1)-560: how did he find out?
10 Jun 2012, 00:14 am
@nama1(nama1)-560: out of line btw.
just because spooner supports the sharks he is suddenly the same as quotasux?
10 Jun 2012, 00:14 am
@Virgil
“your good friend Quota Sux…”
You devious little man.
Seriously, knowing your real name (first time I heard it contrary to your mistaken assertion) means sweet squat all to me. Relax…….
You seem very sensitief tonight? Don’t you like it when the BlouBokke win?
10 Jun 2012, 00:16 am
A lot of folk from the Cape were praying for the Bokke to lose tonight. I was astonished by this.
@rangerman(rangerman)-559:
No, no, no Rangerman.
I really am very, very happy about the win. You should’ve seen us celebrating the try by JdV because we knew that was the clincher. Also how pi.ssed off we were at Hougaard for taking that tap when we could’ve added three more points to our tally.
My honest opinion is that of all the players, Hougaard and Frans did not perform very well. I leave Spies out of this because his performance was par for the course.
You may differ from me of course but I believe even you will grant me my opinion.
You did see that Jean smashed Tuilagi first. I think with him trying to take “revenge” on Jean, Tuilagi actually let his team down on the two occasions that he ran into and over Jean instead of letting the ball do the work.
As I said, that’s just my opinion.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-565: its actually the bullsharks.
just like2004- 2007 all over again.
10 Jun 2012, 00:20 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-562:
You lie and you know it.
Also guessed what vehicle I drive?
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-565:
Should’ve put in a smilie.
Sorry.
10 Jun 2012, 00:22 am
@nama1(nama1)-567: frans stepped inside on two occasions where he could have gone wide but the poms defense was pushing up very quickly and its difficult to judge what his real options were by watching on tv.
besides for that, his defense was simply outstanding, his ball carrying crossed the gainline, his distribution led to the pass outside leading to JDV’s try and he had some really noce touches when he stayed up in the tackle and then got the ball away.
he will get better as the combo gells and i doubt jdv will ever replace him again.
frans is here to stay i hope.
10 Jun 2012, 00:26 am
habs was fantastic but that attempted intercept p i s s ed me off.
i am sure meyer was annoyed too.
10 Jun 2012, 00:27 am
ok i am off cheers
10 Jun 2012, 00:37 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-570:
Well, on the TV that I watched, I could see that there were plenty players 3/4) on his outside on both occasions.
Have a look again and see those players coming in to help at the ruck that was formed after he was tackled.
The boy is selfish and I’m sorry, I just don’t like selfish players on a rugby field.
He likes to take the glory and if Meyer can’t change his attitude wrt that, he will be our downfall on quite a few occasions, I reckon.
He did do very well on defence, I admit.
Still didn’t “dominate” the tackle point, did he? Wasn’t that the word that was used as a reason for his inclusion.
Also, with the “drift” defensiev system that was used tonight, Tuilagi was always going to be his target man, not so?
10 Jun 2012, 02:12 am
570 @ Rangerman
What game did you watch? The one I watched was where Frans Steyn took the wrong options, slowed the game down, went glory hunting and just looked out of his depth! Where’s the magical space he was going to create? Brian Habana created the momentum for both tries. I love how you Sharkies are silent on his performance as he was just downright k@k! A player who rates himself tooooooooo highly!
Also when Tuilagi handed off JDV, the tackle Steyn made was more of a scrag, hardly a big defensive effort that one. So one game down, many more to come and against the Wallabies and All Blacks its just gonna get better for Steyn!! Let’s see how the prodigal sun handles SBW.
10 Jun 2012, 02:18 am
573 @ Nama
Their blinkers are on man. Steyn was horrendous tonight. JP did very well to pass the ball to JDV that led up to his try, if it were Steyn the movement would have broken down as he would not have passed.
10 Jun 2012, 13:51 pm
Province supporters behind me at the game…reason I knew..they went, “Proviiiiiince” when de Villiers scored. They were also throwing ice at the marshalls on the field.
Thank you parents for living in KZN.
10 Jun 2012, 14:02 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-576: How fortunate for you bruvvas that fans from the Cape actually came up to Dirtbin for the game. How empty would that stadium have been without all the Gautengers, Capies and various others who decided to attend? On the flip side – how unfortunate that none of that ice they were throwing hit you.
10 Jun 2012, 14:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-577:
I turned around to make eye contact but got no takers. Fat wheezy Capetonians that need alcohol for bravado just don’t cut it when the going gets tough. The paunch and puffy cheeks just weigh them down when confronted by the Great White Shark bru.
10 Jun 2012, 14:20 pm
DBN – always in the shadow of CPT – keep trying
10 Jun 2012, 14:33 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-578: When confronted by the Great White Shark? Ok, I nearly wet myself. (Not with fear as you might hope…) You call yourself the ‘great white shark’? Nooit my bru.
10 Jun 2012, 14:36 pm
My daughter also wets herself if she laughs too much. Who has to change your panties?
10 Jun 2012, 14:41 pm
@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-581: Nearly wet myself bruvva, NEARLY. The funniest part of your comment wasn’t the ‘who changes your panties’ bit – but the bit where you admit you have a daughter, when I have seen the way you speak to female bloggers like Dawn. So why is that funny you ask? Because one day, your daughter is going to bring home a dude just like you, for you to call son-in-law, and that BRU is bloody hysterical.
10 Jun 2012, 14:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-582:
You should get that looked at…I see nappies in your future.
Dawn is no lady. An idiot perhaps but no lady.
If my daughter brings home someone like me I will die happy. Siriaaas. If he is a Stormers supporter I see duct tape and a spade in his future.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All