Breakdown turnaround root of success
10 Jun 2012
Heyneke Meyer identified the Springboks’ improvement at the gainline and breakdown as the reason for their better second half performance against England at Kings Park.
The Springboks struggled to find an attacking groove in the first half, with their primary strike runners regularly repelled by accurate and physical defence from the tourists. They looked rudderless at times on attack as a result, but improved markedly in this facet of play in the second half and were able to ask far more probing questions of England.
Asked what his directive to his charges had been at half-time, Meyer said: ‘I’m very emotional, sometimes I lose it. Jean [de Villiers, captain] was brilliant at half-time and I said to the forwards they have to get stuck in better because I wanted to up the tempo. They responded and we got better cleans and our ball carriers got into the game. When that happened I felt there were times we played some brilliant rugby.’
Speaking about the officiating at the breakdown De Villiers explained he felt referee Steve Walsh was ‘quick on the call’ [to penalise the Springboks], but stressed the responsibility rests with them to improve.
Central to their second half showing was the ball-carrying potency of blindside flank Willem Alberts, who earned the Man of the Match award off the back of an outstanding performance. Meyer was lavish in his praise of Alberts, and noted his back row partners’ contribution as well.
‘I was very happy with the loose forwards, I think they were important in us winning the game,’ he said. ‘Willem was brilliant. I spoke to him during Super Rugby and told him he was going to start and I wanted him to be at his best. He was awesome. Marcell Coetzee, starting his first Test, was unbelievable. People criticised that selection but he showed his class. Pierre [Spies] had one of his better Test matches as well. They’ll get better as a combination the more they play together.’
He also spoke highly of Bryan Habana’s showing. The winger has struggled in Tests in the last four years but looked sharp and dangerous throughout the match.
‘Bryan has probably played his best rugby for me. We’ve had long chats and I told him he needs to enjoy the game again, and be that vibrant player he had been at his best. He got to the point where he was just too conservative. He doesn’t have the X factor when he is like that, so I encouraged him to take risks. He was brilliant at times tonight, and he’ll grow from here.’
Meyer was absolutely clear when asked about possible changes for the Johannesburg Test next week.
‘I don’t believe in giving jerseys away, you earn the chance so I’ll stick to the same team. We don’t have a lot of time, two more Tests and then they go back to Super Rugby. They have to get game time together,’ he said.

233 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
10 Jun 2012, 16:51 pm
@RL(RL)-140:
Heyneke has stated that Taute WILL be a Bok. Thought you would like that!
I like the look of the Bok U/20 no.12. Serfontein I think, his name is. He looks solid. But in JDV, Taute, Whitehead, JJ Engelbrecht, JDJ, F Steyn, Sadie ( possibly), the centre cupboard looks well stocked for the next few years.
10 Jun 2012, 16:52 pm
@greybeard(greybeard)-146: what did you ask again? HM made a forced decision for his captain.. what asinine kak is that? Its the truth.. secondly what kinda arse about face question are you ACTUALLY asking grey arse?
The jury is still out on whether Meyer has the downright long term balls for this Bok job.. even PdV would have smacked this same England team into obscurity.. as he proved enough in his first encounter against European opposition at home.
Meyer was a bundle of nerves throughout.. and Jd came to his aide as only JdV could.. had FdP been captain yesterday you might have seen a complete other type of result to what transpired from a situation which Meyer was reluctant to initially address until the decision was taken out of his hands.
Now he’s very glad it turned out the way it has.
@RL(RL)-140:
Conrad Smith isn’t exactly a monster, and he’s been the first choice 13 for a while.
@RL(RL)-144:
That means nothing when it comes to current form. He wasn’t anything special yesterday. Busy perhaps, but nothing great. Which is what I meant by holding back judgement until he’s played a few more tests.
LouisSchroppoepol.
Lekker benefit of Hindisight . We all saw what you are describing.
This does not make you knowledgeble. The game was on TV. We all saw it, some of us live,
Now be a good boy and apologise to Greybeard for being wrong.
10 Jun 2012, 16:53 pm
any talk of a citing for that swinging arm?
10 Jun 2012, 16:54 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-151:
Serfontein is the business but he’s playing 12.. he looks more like a Danie Gerber type 13 to me though.. Venter at Bulls will be a good long term prospect at 12, and Mapoe produced better that Taute when Lions took Sharks apart.
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-152: I will leave you to your delusions. Youre an abusive fool louis, and not worth any more of my time.
Your abuse that you hurled on this site last week was nothing short of disgusting, and, as one poster said, bordering on libelous. I think you dont remember. Dont bother replying I’m out of here you disgusting little doos.
Scroppie.
That toss you are speculating about as to what transpired at half time is entirely based on a throw away comment Meyer made himself about the excellent role DeVilliers played at half time.
Prove that is what happened.
10 Jun 2012, 16:55 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-151: Jan Serfontein plays for the Bullies – they have some real talent those Bulls. Venter, Sadie, JJ Engelbrecht and the Jan. No need for them to keep the meisie.
I think that Pat Howard plays for the WP – better look after him or someone (read guppies) will poach him.
10 Jun 2012, 16:56 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-148:
The interesting statistic there was 16 runs and one offload (pass).
Don’t know who puts those statistics together but I’m damn certain that Bissie, for instance, was involved in more than 16 rucks/mauls.
10 Jun 2012, 16:57 pm
@hensopper1(hensopper1)-154: Wrong about WHAT exactly.. you got some irrefutable evidence about what I was so wrong about..
Nothing I said thus far is wrong.. nothing before the game nor after it.. go do your homework dumbfck.. you still got plenty way to go before you find out what kinda DNA makes a true Bok from a false Bok in your highfalutin screwed up jaundiced estimations.
10 Jun 2012, 17:00 pm
To the one eyed pieces of **** on this site
no mention of Lambies knock on in the lead up to Mornes try
A knock on is a knock on regardless of the colour of the jersey you wear
show a bit of consistency
10 Jun 2012, 17:00 pm
@greybeard(greybeard)-157: go fetch your libelous incantations.. I wanna see your irrefutable evidence.
HM is thanking the Good Lord above as we speak that FdP chickened out and JdV stood up to the occasion.
Who wanna go and refute THAT.?
10 Jun 2012, 17:02 pm
posters being true to form here.
10 Jun 2012, 17:03 pm
@spartan(spartan)-162: did you see how Lambie was folded like a towel when he darted for the pom line – eina!
He is a brave heart and I’m not saying that because of where he comes from.
10 Jun 2012, 17:03 pm
Out to go watch some tennis.. I believe the top two players in the world are going hammer and tongs against each other
see ya later aligator
10 Jun 2012, 17:28 pm
Long term plenning. Etsebeth should play at 8. He has everything for that position. Look ahead HM.
10 Jun 2012, 17:32 pm
@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-167:
That’s up to AC first.
10 Jun 2012, 17:49 pm
@zub(zub)-134:
Nonsense, Spies played no 8 from his Affies days, Heyneke had him switch to wing (U/20) as he saw him as a new Lomu, Spies did it for a season but asked to switch back to eightman
10 Jun 2012, 17:52 pm
@KeurboomPark(KeurboomPark)-167:
He’s going to be a very good lock, why waste him when we’ve got tons of loosies?
Who’d replace him on lock?
10 Jun 2012, 17:52 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-80:
What you see is what you get, considered it was a home ground test and a referee who circumvented all the 50/50 calls into the Boks’ favour, the grade is C-
It won’t be enough even against the Wallabies
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-98:
No assurance Vermuelen or J Smith will play test rugby again
10 Jun 2012, 18:04 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-170: heh, its the old story, “this kid is great at lock! lets make him a wing!”
we use hammers to fix screwdriver problems in SA Rugby.
10 Jun 2012, 18:36 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-171:
J Smith – I probably agree.
And Vermeulen – you say he won’t play test rugby again? Mate, he hasn’t played test rugby yet. But he will.
10 Jun 2012, 18:46 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-172:
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-170:
Ja, craziness. The guy will be dynamite at no. 4. The Boks have more than enough options at 8 and other loosies. Too many guys getting their knickers tighened here. A young oke must settle in his position and make it his own. End of story.
10 Jun 2012, 19:00 pm
Agreed- we need world class locks now- we have plenty of great loosies- I see Elstadt the future at 7 also. Give him a few more years… in fact I’d have him now as a backup lock/ flanker- he’s better than Flop
10 Jun 2012, 19:06 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-175:
And now you’ve gone and upset the Bulls supporters again!
How do you treat an upset Bulls supporter?
You just upset them a little bit more.
10 Jun 2012, 19:10 pm
I am uncertain what Heyneke is saying into what appears to be a “walkie Talkie”.
I mean their is only so much on field instructions you can relay to yr Captain.
Is he possibley recording his thoughts as the game progresses.?
10 Jun 2012, 19:16 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-119: Hiya SL sorry missed your comment earlier, went for a quick run. I don’t think you can play that back three cause you give away a lineout option , Spies with Alberts and Duanne with Juan are the best options for me.
10 Jun 2012, 19:29 pm
And not one mention of donkey. That’s good enough for me.
England in SA
Heyneke: Jean was brilliant
Durban – Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has lauded the impact captain Jean de Villiers had in steering the Boks to a win over England at Kings Park here on Saturday.
De Villiers marked his debut as captain with a crucial second-half try to help his team edge out England 22-17 in the first Test of their three-match series.
“I must say there were a few nerves in the beginning with a new captain and few new caps,” Meyer said after a winning start to his reign.
“But I’m very happy with the guys, we stuck to our guns and I thought Jean did brilliantly as captain.
“We did really well in the second half in what was an exceptionally tough Test match. I’m just happy that we saw it through.”
The Boks started out promisingly enough against an English team also with a new coach, as Stuart Lancaster was in charge for the first time after being appointed on a full-time basis.
It was the visitors who went in front via a sixth minute penalty from Owen Farrell after debutant lock Eben Etzebeth conceded a penalty at the ruck.
South Africa hit back when a Morné Steyn up-and-under was not cleanly gathered, allowing some pressure to form with England then caught off-side, and Bulls flyhalf was able to level the scores.
England took back the lead when Marcell Coetzee entered a ruck from the side and Steyn levelled after the tourists were again off-side, bringing the scores to 6-6 before half-time.
“The plan was always to open up the game in the second half,” Meyer explained. “Jean was brilliant (in the change room) at half-time. I just said to the forwards it’s not good enough and they need to get more stuck in.
“I wanted them to up the tempo and they responded very well.”
After the restart Patrick Lambie was introduced to replace Zane Kirchner and South Africa eventually broke through in the 48th minute.
The try came after Brian Habana and De Villiers combined on the left, with Jannie du Plessis bursting through the middle, before the ball eventually made its way to Steyn on the right as he dived in.
On the hour, De Villiers took a pass from JP Pietersen on the right and powered over for his 20th international try.
10 Jun 2012, 19:31 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-179: Interesting that JDV was in his natural position when he scored that try, he started off life as a winger
10 Jun 2012, 19:31 pm
@saru1983(saru1983)-150:
What the hell are you on about?
10 Jun 2012, 19:39 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-180:
And then made the move to 13. I forgot about that. But he and Mossie did ok as a combo.
We all know his career as a Bok is coming to and end. Maybe one more year. But not another World Cup. If anyone wants to put his hands up for a job at 13, now is the time.
10 Jun 2012, 19:48 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-182: I’d give Jean 2 more years there. Replacements? Taute, JJ (not yet)- Ebersohn (possibly)- who else?
10 Jun 2012, 19:59 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-183:
Juan de Jong, Sadie. Even Jaque Fourie as an outsider if he decides to commit to Bok rugby again.
10 Jun 2012, 20:05 pm
JdJ won’t ever play for the Boks whilst HM is at the helm- he has made that really clear (too small). I have to say I agree. Sadie looks pedestrian since going to the Bulls. JF needs to come back but again- he isn’t a long-term prospect given his age. There must be some youngsters coming through in the VC.
10 Jun 2012, 20:13 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-185:
There’s a youngster Serfontein playing 12 for the baby Boks. He looks the type of footballer that could slot in at 13 with ease.
As for Juan de Jong and Sadie – it’s still early days. HM has decided on his first 32 man squad – but he’s open to those who put their hands up.
10 Jun 2012, 20:54 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-185: Elstatd?
10 Jun 2012, 23:17 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-145:
de Jongh is one of the most one dimensional centres we have. Fast yes. Strong for his size sure. But creative? No way. He is a good player but there is no way he will be worth more than Steyn or de Villiers.
Overhyped one-trick pony.
11 Jun 2012, 02:36 am
so Meyer reckons his PrickBoks were “‘brilliant….awesome…unbelievable.”
They beat a sh*t, severely injury-depleted, 6Nation also-ran, co-RWC QterF chump, England, by a slim margin, at home. But atleast theres always ONE constant with the whinging Yappies…
Capt duh Villers the ref was “‘quick on the call’ [to penalise the Springboks]”
even when they win they always question the refs integrity. As if the PrickBoks have got any themselves.
11 Jun 2012, 02:43 am
Meanwhile the Wallabies ravaged the Grand Slam, RWC Semifinalists, Wales. With room to spare. And noone here thinks they were “brilliant…..awesome…..unbelievable”.
Genia & Quade are going to make the tattooed dwarf and his cohort at flyhalf, Krusty Krab, look like pedestrians come the 4Nations.
11 Jun 2012, 02:49 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-190:
Don’t feed the troll.
11 Jun 2012, 02:54 am
> Meanwhile the Wallabies ravaged the Grand Slam
Yet last week the Scots bu-tt fuc-ked them harder up the cinnamon ring than your Aussie boyfriend does your pale Canadian a-ss
11 Jun 2012, 02:55 am
@lightie(lightie)-191:
hand back the pigs slops then, it was already too good for you in the 1st place.
11 Jun 2012, 02:58 am
> Meanwhile the Wallabies ravaged the Grand Slam, RWC Semifinalists, Wales
Meanwhile the Wallabies lost to Scotland, LAST on the Six Nations log, that is even below Italy
11 Jun 2012, 02:58 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-192:
Im not too sure a whinging Yappie is best placed to lecture anyone about the qualities of Scotland rugby.
or Ireland
or English club teams.
11 Jun 2012, 02:59 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-193:
Hilarious. Any more chirps on your shoulder?
11 Jun 2012, 03:03 am
Even Canada would fancy their chances.
11 Jun 2012, 04:06 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-192:
“bu-tt fuc-ked them harder up the cinnamon ring”
Lovesaprickinhismouth does that to his mother as well……..
They lost to Scotland at home……….shame
11 Jun 2012, 04:43 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-197:
what in thuggery you jerk
11 Jun 2012, 05:26 am
@whatever(whatever)-198:
I suppose losing to a Test nation like Scotland is still less embarrassing than losing to your own PrickBok deadweight castoffs playing for an English club side tho.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All