Bulldozing Bismarck won’t slow down

Bismarck du Plessis has baulked at the suggestion that his new-found sense of security will lead to a more complacent approach.

It was the most controversial selection at the 2011 World Cup. Peter de Villiers favoured John Smit as his starting hooker despite the form of Du Plessis, who at the time was regarded as the best No 2 in the world as well as one of the best players on the planet.

It was during this time that Du Plessis used every playing opportunity to prove a point, and every second-half cameo seemed to strengthen his cause. It will remain one of the great rugby tragedies that he didn’t receive a more extensive opportunity at a World Cup while he was in his prime.

He should be bitter, but Du Plessis looks to have put the disappointment of 2011 behind him. There’s good reason to feel better about his place in the Bok set-up, as new coach Heyneke Meyer has not only backed him as the starting hooker but named him the Bok vice-captain as well.

It would appear that the 28-year-old has finally realised the ambition of a regular starting spot, but he doesn’t see it that way. There is of course the extra responsibility that comes with leading the forwards (team captain Jean de Villiers is in charge of the backs) that he has embraced wholeheartedly. 2011 is different to 2012 for reasons beyond the obvious.

‘Ja, it’s a different challenge,’ he says. ‘Last year I was the guy at the back of the row, now this year there are other guys at the back of the row. There is a responsibility for us older guys to help the younger guys slot in.

‘As one of the older guys, it’s been great to see Eben [Etzebeth], Juandre [Kruger], Marcell [Coetzee] and Coenie [Oosthuizen] stepping up. We know that we will have to improve this week, but [the performance in Durban] was encouraging.’

It will help that he is packing down alongside Sharks team-mates Beast Mtawarira and Jannie du Plessis in the front row, a powerful base for a much improved Bok scrum. The lineout remains a work in progress, and the tackle point has been identified as another area that requires sharpening.

While he is a good set-piece exponent, it’s at the tackle where Du Plessis’ X factor is most prominent. A robust ball-carrier, a hard-hitting tackler and one of the form fetchers at present, he has the ability to swing matches.

The Bok collective will need to be more physical and accurate at the breakdowns, and a strong team showing will certainly amplify the Du Plessis threat. The man himself also had some brave words for those who would caution of an English backlash.

‘We want to keep improving. Yes, we are expecting a massive physical onslaught from England this week, but they should also be expecting a massive onslaught from us. We are growing and improving, we are aiming to be better.’

There is a perception that players with such an abrasive inclination are not suited to leadership positions. Some feel that the added responsibility can force such players to hold back, or alternatively set a bad example for their charges.

There are, however, many examples that challenge the perception. Hard-nosed players like Martin Johnson have proved successful captains and won World Cups, as have the likes of Richie McCaw who push the breakdown boundaries week after week.

Du Plessis is another who strongly believes that an abrasive approach doesn’t compromise the ability to lead.

‘The responsibility is not going to change me. I won’t shy away from the contact. I’ve always liked the saying “Rugby is like war with a little bit more rules”.’

If the talk in both camps is to be believed, we should be in for another bloody, physical battle this weekend. South Africans should feel confident knowing that one of their most powerful warriors will be leading from the front.

By Jon Cardinelli, in Johannesburg

47 Comments

• 1.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Go for it.

• 2.JEZ: Reply to this comment

Hooker is where we are stronger than anybody else. If BDP gets crocked then Adriaan Strauss takes over with Chilli and Liebenberg in the background.

• 3.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

Bismark is to hooker what Elvis was to rock..the king.

• 4.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Predawn
    If you see sharks_lover on the blog please point him to this post.
    Sharks_lover I am in Cape Town now untill Sunday
    Drop me a email bluffblitz@gmail.com so I can come and chow a steak at your spot.

• 5.Dawn: Reply to this comment

So now everyone knows.

• 6.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-4:

Fully.

Hey thinking about going to the game in the fairest Cape.

• 7.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

Dawn is going to send you hate mail now.

• 8.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-7:

Couldn’t be bovvered.

• 9.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Not 100% on the Bismak train. He concedes too many penalties and makes too many errors on the line out throw ins.

He needs to get better at those pronto.

• 10.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9:

He has one of the best coaches in world rugby at his disposal. Should sort out those things.

• 11.Tarlo: Reply to this comment

He shouldn’t get complacent… Strauss has been the form S15 hooker in my opinion. I’d still start Bismarck of course but Strauss can’t be ignored…

• 12.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters. Stormers support England.(Predawn)-10: How about Sharks fan filling up Kings Park first before pointing fingers

• 13.flanka: Reply to this comment

Always wondered why Beast isn’t as ‘promoted’ as a senior player and potential front row leader. He’s probably the most experience current front rower, is someone who will in all likelihood always be a starter based on good form and an excellent role model off the field….that Meyer sees this short tempered hooligan as a better leader makes me think…

• 14.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-13:

Enlighten us……….

what do you think?

• 15.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9: Bismarck is worse than you think. His ball carries are largely ineffective, this is where he coughs up too much possession. His defence is woefully poor, his lateral defence doesnt appear to be a reality as he gets gased easily. His head-on defence is ineffective as he gets pushed back regularly. His orangutan posture doesn’t lend itself to rugby at all. His work at the breakdown is nonexistant. How many pilfers? Not in the top 30 in any tournament, at any point over his entire career. Just another bloated reputation on the back of nothing. A poor scrummager as well. Every single thing Cardinelli wrote is a lie. But what more can you expect from Keo and his goons?

• 16.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Tarlo(Tarlo)-11: Bismarck offers no value in any facet of play. In fact, he is actually a very poor hooker. The Luke Watson of hookers. Chili has monstered him in every encounter the last three years, and strauss has been magnificent. Both actually offer leadership skills, something Bismarck lacks in abundance. Start either one of strauss or Chili and you have a quality test hooker, not a dikbek pretender.

• 17.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-14: I think Bissie is an extremely over-rated player who has benefited from the excuse of not being first string hence not having to execute the basics of his position correctly while doing the flashy stuff well occasionally. First and foremost my hooker should be able to throw good lineout ball and Bissie still hasnt mastered this extremely basic skill, yet we excuse it coz he pilfers the odd ball in a game making him “an extra looseforward”. Not to mention the multitude of penalties he’s given away for the sharks and boks coz of his atimes childish temper.

So how he has risen to the vice captaincy astonishes me when he packs next to Beast, a dedicated Bok who does ALL the basics of his job well and professionally as well as being a strong player in the tight-loose. Not to mention an extremely calm tempered human being who’s a role model on and off the field. So just made me think…..thats all :-)

• 18.Oranjebliksemblou: Reply to this comment

“while he was in his prime.”

For F&*# sakes it was 8 months ago, you guys are carrying on if it was 8 years ago.

• 19.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-17:

Yip thanks, I’m in agreement.

And don’t forget to mention how strong beast is. Lifting up locks and all. :wink:

• 20.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-19:

Tricep extensions with locks….more impressive.

• 21.Blou Bul: Reply to this comment

mmm it seems it seems that according to some bloggers, HM has no idea what he is doing?!

• 22.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.: Reply to this comment

@Blou Bul(frabie)-21:

So long as he keeps on doing what he doesn’t know he’s doing and Bismark keeps on pretending to be a good player and Lambie keeps on being inferior to every flyhalf and fullback in the country….I’m happy.

• 23.flanka: Reply to this comment

@Blou Bul(frabie)-21: All the bulls supporters on this site need to stop being so sensitive. every bok coach gets the 3rd degree, its part of the job…nobodies exempt. hell, every top tier coach in the WORLD gets scrutinized. GH was under the pump for nearly a decade by his country men regardless of his 80% record…they wanted perfection, they wanted the cup. And now he’s got it and now he can enjoy his knighthood.

So all the bulls lovers out there, meyer doesn’t get some kind of exemption just because of his mediocre achievements (In comparison to the +/- 8 super rugby titles of robbie deans who is currently getting a scrutinization of note over in ausland). he gets the same criticism as the rest til he proves us wrong, and that will take win after win after win after win after….

• 24.Drewster: Reply to this comment

I like Bismark, but would prefer it if he could find his jumpers more regularly, it’s his glaring weakpoint and is the most important aspect of hooker play, seeing that actual hooking is no longer required

• 25.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-23:

The problem is that people don’t have much to criticize him on yet. Most of the tripe complaints you read here are plain embarrassing and unsubstantiated.

Robbie Deans is in a completely different boat because he started off with a young Oz side that did some good things but have since then stopped progressing. Completely different situation. I read foreign sites every now and then and the type and manner of complaints about Deans is far more realistic than the rabid, non-sensical frothing that passes for debate on here and on other SA sites.

No one is saying his decisions shouldn’t be debated but it is quite clear that most people complaining about Meyer are doing so out of some default anti-Bulls, anti-white, anti-Afrikaans or anti-who-ever-is-in-charge position. Take your pick of any of those motivations but none of them have any reason for the over the top vitriol going on.

• 26.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-25: I will repost an earlier one of my posts because I think this is how many anti-HM bloggers feel:
    “Sorry to bring provincialism into this, but this is precisely why I for one was so dissapointed with the appointment of HM as coach. It is because I knew he will rely hevily on the Bulls mentality of “bigger is better” and will really bring nothing new to the park wrt the way we play our rugby.
    I really thought that this was the time to bring some new blood with some new approaches to our game, but hey now we are facing the same old story again.
    In my opinion SA needed a foreign coach to inject a new approach.”

• 27.bos_otter: Reply to this comment

@flanka(flanka)-23: You need to give the new coaching team some time to shape Bismark the way they want him. They know what they are doing…it’s still early days. This not only goes for Bismark, but the rest of the pack as well. All the players mentioned that it’s way different under Heineke compared to PDV. They are pumping a lot of money and resource into the new bok team in the form of training and research….give it time. No doubt they will keep highlighting areas to players where they should improve on.

• 28.bos_otter: Reply to this comment

Is it just me, or does anybody else think JDV looks a lot like Christopher Lambert…the Highlander. There can be only one!!
    Think they need to play the theme song eacg time the team runs on under his captaincy :)

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-15: I’m not totally in agreement with you there, he is a good player, just not as good as people make him out to be.

• 30.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#23 Flanka i agree with you that all coaches in world rugby are scrutinized that is part and parcel of the job,but already there is bloggers writing that HM is useless and that is after 1 game rather wait and judge HM after this test series v the poms that will give a better indication of how he is doing,some people i guess are never happy and he cannot please them all.

• 31.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby(TooMuchRugby)-26:

Firstly, do you agree with that sentiment or not?

(1) So far after all the discussion I have seen on Keo regarding “size doesn’t matter” relates to mostly to flyhalves, wings and fullbacks. And most of them did not play in the same teams. Meyer has never stated that a small guy cannot play for the Boks. He has declared it important to be able to physically dominate the opposition and then take it wide.

(2) The Bulls score A LOT of tries. So I have no idea why the thought of us adopting whatever “Bulls rugby” is would be bad if that is the end result people want. That is why I say that people have default anti-whatever positions and spew rubbish without thinking.

(3) As for making sure you are physical. What do people think the All Blacks do? They don’t just throw the ball around willy-nilly. They have a high quality pack that thrash the opposing packs of most other teams. They dominate the collisions and contact points. The Highlanders, Crusaders, Chiefs, Bulls and Stormers etc are all example of teams whose success is based on that. Even the Sharks sparkling backline play begins with their abrasive and powerful forwards. So why is it Bulls rugby that is bad but Sharks good?

(4) The All Blacks ventured too far into only running a few years back. So much so that a weird kick-only game thrashed them. Given the rule interpretations helped but one thing is for sure; the All Blacks learnt their lesson and are kicking much more than before.

People see the end product that is the All Blacks. Dazzling backline skills after they have front foot ball based of their physicality. Size and power is important. That is where you start. Once you have that a team can afford one or two smaller players with exception skill in the back 3 to do the fun stuff.

(5) Furthermore, Meyer has stated he will start off conservatively and build up from there. That to me indicates that he does intend to expand our play away from being slow and ponderous. Only the frothing, unthinking masses have decided that he intends to make no change or embrace more backline play.

(6) Other than Aplon not one of the other names touted around here are that much better than JP or Habana skill wise. Maybe they are slightly better but we have already established Meyer was going for experience and building from a stable base of physical dominance; just like all great teams in history.

(7) None of the above has anything to do with our centres. Other than de Jongh who do you want to bench for cover at 12? de Jongh? Just the other day there was someone carrying on about how JdV is the problem all a long because 12 shuts down backline moves. Well, funny that Olivier is 12 for the Bulls and they score a lot of tries. People argue one way and then convenient forget what they say the next day to jump on whatever the other pet-hate they have. It is embarrassing.

No, there is a whole lot of default positional frothing going on here.

Meyer wants us to play dominant, attacking rugby and to score tries. What coach doesn’t? He just realizes that you can only afford so many smaller players (and they must be significantly more skilled than the next guy) and that kicking is still an indispensable part of rugby. No matter what our closet league supporters think.

So other than Aplon (and even then both Lambie and Kirchner contributed immensely to their teams try scoring in 2012) I do not see any reasonable worries here with his appointment.

• 32.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-31:

To add to that.

If the “I hate the Bulls and size don’t matter” contingent had their way we would have the following backline;

15 – Joe Pietersen
    14 – Aplon
    13 – Ebersohn
    12 – de Jongh
    11 – ok, this is the only one where we would have a larger player
    10 – Lambie

I cringe just looking at that. Because if you take all the “criticism” over the last few weeks these have been the complaints. So either all the complainers disagree with each other as much as the coach (making all the criticism so much pointless, biased frothing) or they would collective send the Boks into a record period of the most tries conceded that is unlikely to ever be achieved again.

• 33.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-4: Hiyas Fern, i i sent you mail

• 34.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

this Alucard is one fat funk card of a delinquent second to none.. his two pet hates in the Bok setup are the two most valuable players we got.. JdV and Bismark

Go f’ng figure.. this moronic idiot is still lamenting the loss of one John Smit.. the absolute WORST Bok captain of all time if you only open your dumb bewildered eyes to see EXACTLY how poor Smit WAS in his last 2 years of leadership.. and that why he climbs into Bismark as the scapegoat.. WHEREAS it was only due to Bismark REPLACING Smit that Boks even managed a 1 point win over Wales at the WC.. and the next best scenario is they started Smit vs Aussie and what ho.. we LOST again to the same team Smit hasn’t beaten ONCE in 2 and a half whole years of earnest rugby…

2ndly the best Bok captain to evolve from out the morass that Smit left behind.. one JdV .. is perhaps the only individual keeping this Bok team from disintegrating altogether.. I mean imagine it was Spies leading Boks.. or FdP.., or Bismark.. or Daniel.., or Strauss.., or who NEXT.. Boks would get smashed to smithereens under the none leadership that any those pretentious prima donna’s would give up to the opposition..

JdV is the ONLY candidate worthy to captain Boks as it currently stands.. and HM knows this ONLY too Well… and he should have been captain at least 2-3 years ago.. (barring the availability of Juan smith) and Boks would NOT have LOST 11 from 13 internationals that they DID under that most hopeless useless fat funk dunce of a NON leading captain.. Johnny Boy Blue Eyed hopelessly overrated Smit…

• 35.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

‘Álles het verander’ onder Heyneke
    2012-06-13 23:15
    Artikelopsies
    Druk artikel e-pos artikel Deel
    Yahoo Google Digg del.icio.us Facebook Twitter Kry Beeld op
    Jou selfoon Jou Facebook-profiel

Bismarck du Plessis

Foto’s · Lesersfoto’s · Nuus in Foto’s
    Stuur vir ons jou foto’s · Stuur vir ons jou foto’s

Christo Buchner
    JOHANNESBURG. – Die Springbok-regimes onder Peter de Villiers en Heyneke Meyer is soos om ’n appel met ’n peer te wil vergelyk.

“Alles het verander en niks is soos wat dit voorheen was nie. Dis soos twee verskillende wêrelde,” het Bismarck du Plessis, onder-kaptein van die Bokke, gister hier by die spanhotel by Montecasino gesê.

“Daar is nie eens één lynstaanroep wat meer dieselfde is nie. Dis nogal ’n aanpassing en saans moet ons sit en al hierdie nuwe lynstaantekens inleer. Dis die moeilike deel van ’n nuwe bedeling.

“Die onderkapteinskap bring ook heelwat meer verantwoordelikheid – en ons senior ouens moet nou die jong manne soos Marcell Coetzee, Eben Etzebeth en Juandré Kruger onder ons vlerk neem.

“Nie lank terug­ nie was ek nog een van die jong ouens wat ingeburger moes word. Dit help egter om saam met my spanmaats by die Sharks (sy broer Jannie en Tendai Mtawarira) te speel.

“Ons ken mekaar só goed dat net ’n kyk genoeg is om te weet wat die ander een dink. Ek hoef net die Beast se gesig te sien om te weet of sy vrou hom die vorige aand moeilikheid gegee het en of die baba nie veel geslaap het nie.”

As jy egter nou op die nuwe onderkaptein se “liddoring” wil trap, vra jy hom uit oor sy humeur op die veld.

“Ek het nooit geweet ek is nie kalm op die veld nie,” kap hy sarkasties terug.

“Ek glo nog altyd rugby is ’n fisieke spel en ek sal dit hard speel. Dit is nou maar jammer as daar mense is wat nie daarvan hou nie, maar ek sal nie wegskram van die fisiekheid van die spel nie.

“Ek lees in elk geval nie koerante om te sien wat oor my geskryf word nie. Al wat ek lees, is die Landbouweekblad.”

Hy beskou die “slagveld” van Saterdag se tweede toets teen Engeland – Coca-Colapark – as die tuiste van rugby in Suid-Afrika.

“Ek het my eerste toets saam met my pa (in 1992 toe James Small sy toetsdebuut teen die All Blacks gemaak het) daar gaan kyk – en dit bly vir my ’n spesiale plek om rugby te speel.”

• 36.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

Ja ja Bissie.. dis omdat jy nou iewer skielik onder kapteinsie gestel is.

• 37.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@STBUR(STBUR)-31: Let’s hope that what you think HM will do is true.
    My gripe is not so much with individual players but with a certain style of play. Even though the All Blacks rely on physicality also, they do so in an intelligent way.
    Time will tell how HM’s tenure will turn out.

• 38.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Bismarck is the stereotypical PrickBok player.

Impressive physical specimen.

Pea for a brain.

Gouger.

Will do something extraordinarily good, once every 30mins. Then will give away 4 dumb penalties, will cheat like mad when the balls on the deck, will gouge/bite/maim because that is ‘the norm’ in the land of the whinging Yappie, and will never engage his brain given that his birth lobotomy went just a tad too far.

And then everyone will blame the ref.

• 39.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-38:

f u k off doos!

• 40.whatever: Reply to this comment

mommies calling……………off you go there’s a good doos!

• 41.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-40:

well if it isn’t our friendly Keyboard Coward, Ju-doos Iscariot.

sold your soul for a handful of pennies recently ?

• 42.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-39:

I’m a little surprised he didn’t call Bismark ‘sweetheart’. He calls all the male bloggers on keo ‘sweetheart’.

Very unsettling.

• 43.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-40:

apologies for the confusion

whinging Yappies have no soul, beyond living a life as an arse-soul

• 44.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.(Predawn)-42:

I’ll make you a special case, sweetcakes, because I sense you’re a little more special than the rest of them.

• 45.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.: Reply to this comment

I feel violated. Fortunately I’m sitting down.

Now I know how women must feel being harrassed by internet pests.

• 46.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.(Predawn)-45:

Does it feel real, and more satisfying, when you say your fantasies out loud, sweetcakes ?

• 47.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Alucard(Alucard)-16: I see you are early on the bottle today.

Bussi might have a mediocre season so far, but he is owr only fetcher and does the job really well. He is strong in the scrums, steals most balls he has a chance to steal, and 89% of the time moves forward when he reaches the gain line, he also defends like a titan. So saying “Bismarck offers no value in any facet of play.” is more of the same we get from you o na usual basis.

Could you please give us your ideal match 22 with the players available, so we can see if you can actually select a player in stead of just being ubsurdly critical.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.