Blacks edge Christchurch epic
16 Jun 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a 22-19 victory for New Zealand over Ireland in which Dan Carter settled a compelling Test with a last minute drop goal.
What a contest, a proper Test match if you’re a purist. What a fitting return for Test rugby to the earthquake-ravage city and how fitting that a son of the city was the difference. Carter slipped back in the pocket with the scores tied in the death, but missed his first attempt, which fortuitously was touched by an Irish hand. He got another chance from the resultant scrum and made no mistake to steal a win that at times looked unlikely.
Ireland’s turnaround after their 42-10 defeat in the first Test was astounding. They would have hoped for a victory, believed it would happen at stages of this match, but they gave a far better account of themselves against the world champions.
Ireland’s challenge lasted 10 minutes last week. Not so a seven days later. Indeed they looked a side transformed, building their assault on the tryline on powerful phase play. The Blacks struggled to blunt them at the gainline early on and as a result the tourists were able to control the flow and tempo of the match.
A period of sustained pressure made it inevitable the Irish would be first on the board and they took the lead after a multi-phase move had depleted the defensive line, scrumhalf Connor Murray sniping around the ruck fringe to score. Jonathan Sexton kicked the conversion then added a penalty for a comfortable lead.
The Blacks responded well, bossing possession and territory, but seldom getting the momentum they needed in the tackle to trouble Ireland’s defence, which was significantly improved from the woeful effort in Auckland. The Blacks’ potency in this facet of play has undoubtedly been diluted by the absence of Jerome Kaino and (the retired) Brad Thorn. Furthermore, Kieran Read’s impact was patently compromised by a niggling injury. He was replaced at half-time, further undermining the Blacks’ punch in this department.
Taking nothing away from Ireland, their physicality and accuracy on defence was immense. Whether they could sustain that effort through 80 minutes, while crafting more scoring opportunities, was going to be decisive to the result. You have to combine excellence in the latter and the former to beat the Blacks, and they so nearly did.
Carter banked three penalties before half-time, and even though the Blacks trailled by a point going into the break, the strength of their first half showing suggested they would eventually erode Ireland’s resistance. This sense would have been reinforced when Aaron Smith grounded after a rolling maul in the second minute of the second half and Carter landed the touchline conversion to start the third quarter in the manner they would have hoped.
Sexton, however, kept Ireland in touch with a three pointer, and to their credit Ireland upped the ante to keep the Blacks honest. But they lacked that something special to unhinge the host’s defence, their lateral attacks comfortably repelled by a physical and organised effort.
Carter and Sexton traded penalties but with 15 minutes to play the Ireland pivot kicked his side level and set up a tense finish. The Blacks’ cause was complicated when Israel Dagg foolishly flattened Rob Kearney in a poor aerial challenge. Dagg was sin-binned but Sexton missed the long-range penalty.
The Blacks have built their reputation partly on their resilience in the face of pressure, and, having denied the Irish, worked their way into the 22m to set Carter up for the drop. Piri Weepu’s poor pass forced him to attempt one with his less favoured right foot. When the kick drifted wide you expected the scores to end level. But referee Nigel Owens awarded a 5m scrum to the Blacks after spotting a touch from an Irish player. Carter is not a man to spurn a second opportunity and he sent a capacity crowd into delirium with a swing of his left foot.

293 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All
16 Jun 2012, 16:12 pm
Good performance by the Irish, the All Blacks were shocking (c’mon boys lets be honest) however it shows what a awesome side the All Blacks are. Play very poor and still get a win over Ireland who played possibly there greatest away performance??
All Blacks will come back very strong in the 3rd test, 20+ win.
16 Jun 2012, 16:38 pm
Lawsy25… the All Blacks were made to look shocking by a superb Irish performance.
Please don’t be an atypical SH type who reasons the ABs must have been shocking to only beat Ireland by 3 points.
If you watched Leinster in the Heineken Cup you’d know just a bit more about how good Ireland are when they play to their potential (admittedly not enough).
16 Jun 2012, 17:43 pm
Uitlander…. c’mon that was a terrible Abs performance. Ireland were OK, however still not good enough to beat a well under performing side!
Worst performance from the All Blacks in a very long time, but they still got the win.
Leinster?? what have they got to do with anything? or the Heineken cup? look at the Crusaders, The Chiefs, The Hurricanes or the Highlanders? all would take care of Leinster.
16 Jun 2012, 19:39 pm
What a turn around. Ireland were simply outstanding in their approach to this match. It was a thrilling contest, one boosted by Ireland’s desire to play like the world was going to end tomorrow and with it a chance to all die happy as they would celebrate forever inside that great rugby pub in heaven. Not to be. To their credit, the AB’s hung tough. For the Irish, the big scoreboard somewhere in the clouds will still read…AB’s 22 Ireland 19. How sad.
16 Jun 2012, 20:39 pm
Oh yeah Ireland we,re amazing ,what a load of ****. It’ll be another 100 years before they get anywhere near us. Just because we didn’t,t blow them away like usual ,people start getting all high and mighty,they were as s&@t as they’ve always been.
Ireland were made to look half descent,purely through Nzs boredom of having too front up against the same losers as last week.
Now that they’ve rattled our cage, watch us destroy them next week,you’ll never learn will you,silly leprechauns
16 Jun 2012, 22:09 pm
well done ABs. it takes a world champion side to win when playing so poorly
Irish were superb, but
I hope to see YouTube/ video evidence of Irish players taking people out past the ruck, something the ABs were accused of and every man and his dog rode the coattails of.
I bet it gets Mary a mention though.
good to see the SH triumph again. well done Bokke, and Aussies.
16 Jun 2012, 23:18 pm
Yeah right! If anyone was entering from the side it was that black 7 cheater. He friggn pitches tent on the opposition side!
16 Jun 2012, 23:23 pm
@whatever(whatever)-257: In the words of Mr T. Shut up fool. Go take some Roids like the rest of your breed.
16 Jun 2012, 23:51 pm
Stick mr t where the sun don’t shine doos face!
17 Jun 2012, 00:44 am
Well, well,well. So the world chumps just managed to squeak past a pretty poor Irish team who were drilled by an English team who are positive but still developing and looked quite good today. Answer is you can buy a world cup in 2011 and still look ordinary in 2012. Of all the old 3N teams today, the Boks looked the best team.
17 Jun 2012, 00:49 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-256: Irish contested legally unlike the wife eaters last week. Face it poepall69, you world chumps looked pretty ordinary today when reffed legally. Pity Bryce wasn’t there to rescue your sheep sodamising wifebeaters hey?
17 Jun 2012, 01:01 am
@bluealligator(bluealligator)-261: Go find a Red cross camp,you third world degenerate,You may even be offered a pill for your bitterness,don’t choke on the flies though.
17 Jun 2012, 01:16 am
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-262: jassis boet didn’t think one of your ilk would still be able to type on a keyboard. Is your wife’s face getting softer or your knuckles harder? Did you manage to satisfy the ewe you sodomised honey?
17 Jun 2012, 01:32 am
@bluealligator(bluealligator)-263:
grow up please that kind of insult is unnecessary and quite cowardly when delivered through the internet.
Ireland had the intensity, the ABs did not. I would say the Irish stopped the ABs from playing, it is not that the ABs played badly.
As a bok fan am quite relieved actually, coz if the ABs had improved from last weeks showing, they’d be pretty untouchable – but the irish showed that if you take them on and stop their front foot ball, they do become beatable.
17 Jun 2012, 01:38 am
Does make one wonder what Weepu needs to do to get OUT of this team…
17 Jun 2012, 01:44 am
@munkiboi(munkiboi)-264: Well well ******. You are of course entitled to your opinion. It just might hold more stead and sound less juvenile if you managed to read the comment that preceded. However as that is tough my dear ape to understand I shall go my best to explain for every action there is an equal and like reaction! Hope,I typed slowly enough for you to understand chimp.
17 Jun 2012, 01:57 am
And ****** cuts and runs
17 Jun 2012, 02:45 am
Owens blew far too many penalties, Irish were very cynical at slowing ball down, and being off side through the backs. NZ were too inaccurate in most phases except defense . After Ireland scored their try, the very rarely looked threatening to score again
Equally NZ looked desperate on attack and lacked composure to finish
Still, to play as badly they did on attack, and still win against an extremely commited Irish team shows great mental strength and courage.
The ABs didn’t get their arses handed as some say, they just weren’t allowed the freedom they’re used to creating for themselves .
17 Jun 2012, 02:52 am
Well done Irish. Excellent game for them. I see changes coming up for the 4 Nations.
Cory Jane in for Guilford
Richard Kahui[If Fit] in for Tamati Ellison otherwise Robbie Fruean
Andre Taylor in for Ben Smith or Hosea Gear
Andy Ellis in for Weepu
Jarod Hoeta in for Ali Williams
Ben Afeaki in for Ben Tameifuna
17 Jun 2012, 04:20 am
@bluealligator(bluealligator)-260:
Is that the same England team that lost to Wales by more points than Ireland did.
Is it the same England team beat Italy by 4 points last game?
Is it the same England that beat scotland by 7 points?
So really all the 6 nation teams bar Wales seem to be inconsistent.
You can sit back and think cos Springboks beat England means the Boks are better than any of the SH teams.
In fact OZ of late have beaten the whelsh twice now. I would really be worried about the Ozzies.
You all seem to write them of but over the last few years, OZ has had Boks number.
17 Jun 2012, 04:26 am
@bluealligator(bluealligator)-261:
Really childish.
Whenever you post you say the same thing, blah blah blah wife beaters blah blah blah wife beaters.
I think someone that keeps talking about wife beating may need to look at there own lives.
Does your wife beat you up?
Or are you single and seem to hate women and dream of bashing them?
Are you really g@y and hate women?
Wife beating is a real thing in all countries, really not good joking or blogging about it on a rugby forum.
These things need to be talked about in private with a professional as i believe you have issues.
Hope you get sorted soon. Best of luck with that.
17 Jun 2012, 04:48 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-270:
“You all…” is a pretty sweeping statement mate. I for one, have never written the Aussies off…
17 Jun 2012, 09:48 am
@KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-268:
Only one place to go when you are no. 1!!!
17 Jun 2012, 10:00 am
@ossewa(ossewa)-273: Yep, its the price you pay
17 Jun 2012, 10:35 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-271: You are one sick puppy hurricane or you have brazenly decided to live your life as a lie.I detest hypocrites like you and your fellow Kiwi brethren who believes the sun shines out of your country’s and collective backsides.You find the time to jump onto a keyboard to attack bluealli for his comments but you stay mysteriously silent in the face of bokke baiter’s disgusting comments on South Africa and it’s citizens.As a I said,you are one sick hypocritical individual and need to find yourself a rope and a tree very quickly because there are no meds for people like you.
17 Jun 2012, 10:36 am
Having now watched several times and trying to understand the refreeing at the ruck and maul and the scrum, I have no idea. The referee nullified the kiwi advantage at the ruck by allowing the Choirboys to enter from the side, flop over the top and play the ball on the ground.. I also believe that the Choirboy’s halfback dropped the ball before forcing the ball for a try that was awarded.
Foster said at half time that they would have to reevaluate the ruck and get the ball any way they could, “legally or illegally”. The coaches were clearly miffed by the refereeing that favoured the Choirboys.
Several violent efforts by the Choiirboys were also overlooked. The idiot front rower in green, started to take a swipe at Sonny Boy , until he saw who it was. The Kiwi commentators had a real laugh about that one. Despite all the nonsens, only Ali tried to take retribution.
The Kiwis only played several minutes of serious rugby, just after half time and the last bit of the game. Next week the kiwis will play like the black caps against the Proteas, in a cup final, and run up a decent score. There must be a referee who knows some of the rules however.
17 Jun 2012, 10:51 am
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-275: Ease up lifer. Just because Baiter is obviously a low life tool it does excuse Alligator being one as well. Hurricane is one of the more rational bloggers on this site. If you slam Baiter why don’t you slam Alligator? It cuts both ways.
17 Jun 2012, 11:06 am
Lets give cedit to Ireland they smelt blood and couldnt get to the white chalk to claim the victory
after 107 years in coming second to the world champion NEARLY COULDVE & SHOULDVE will be in their history books.
Next week one will be playing to protect history and the other will be playing for glory.
even though the Allblack have won the series this game is important to keep that record in tact.
17 Jun 2012, 11:07 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-277: Don’t become too precious now stormer.I never said I approved Alligator’s idiotic statements.Btw,i don’t buy into this ‘good guy,rational blah blah’ depicting Hurricane as a saint on this forum.I have never seen your friend speak out against bokke baiter or any other kiwi blogger.In any case,i am not really interested in your opinion as i addressed the post to your buddy.Will wait and see if the hypocrite responds.
17 Jun 2012, 11:09 am
Yawn. This stormerforlife1 character is a bit boring.
17 Jun 2012, 11:18 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-280: Naah,not as boring as you gonna be my guppy friend when the playoff weekends come around.You need to get cracking on that shopping list ,buddy.
17 Jun 2012, 11:22 am
Zzz Zzz
17 Jun 2012, 12:06 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-279: Well well. You really are a hypocrite par excellence yourself. You are an embarrassment to all Stormer fans in particular, and Saffa fans in general. News flash! You are no better than any of the Three Doosketeers who sully the reputation of Sharks fans on this blog.
17 Jun 2012, 12:31 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-283: As i said,your opinions of me really don’t interest me,buddy.You need to learn the harsh lesson that there will be or are people on this planet that will differ with you in their outlook on certain things in life.Until you learn that lesson i don’t regard you as a notable adversary to engage with and thus will take no further heed to your irrational ramblings on this forum.
17 Jun 2012, 13:51 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-284: Oh are not just a hypocrite, but a stupid one as well. Learning that people have different opinions to you is not “a harsh lesson”. It is a simple fact most people become aware of before they are old enough to tie their shoelaces. You are indeed notable, but only because your posts are so puerile they invite nothing but derision from the other contributors on this site. Being noted for being so dumb and such a hypocrite is not an achievement in this world.
17 Jun 2012, 14:16 pm
@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-275:
Look at the name.
Bokke baiter, if you take him seriously then good for you.
And what makes you think he is a Kiwi?
He is here for one reason, to get right up the noses of some of you.
I skip his posts
Strange really that you call me a sick puppy, yet you are asking me to hang myself.
Really who is the sick one here?
18 Jun 2012, 01:24 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-286:
Ah get off your high horse mate!
18 Jun 2012, 01:30 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-144:
Really? I had as much to say as I normally do. I just noted how, as usual, you dipshites were going on about how c rap the Irish were and how you were going to put up 50 points on them in the second game.
Any talk like that is arrogant, and, as I said in my post, you nearly saw your a rse!
You and your chinas, along with Dylan Clever, Chris Rattue and Wynne Gray are an arrogant self serving bunch of pielle!
18 Jun 2012, 02:10 am
@whatever(whatever)-288:
You are way out of your league here.
Read post # 106.
Was not me saying we were going to hammer Ireland or saying they were cr@p.
Quite the opposite really but your usual self think cos 1 kiwi says Ireland are rubbish, you think we all believe that.
Next time get your facts right, i dont want to go down this road again with you.
No need to aplologise, your silence should be enough
18 Jun 2012, 02:16 am
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-289:
I lump all you whinging keewee bloggers into one basket
It may have been NZinchina or wherever the f uk he is………….so if the direct quote was not from your keyboard……….appologies…..sorta
18 Jun 2012, 02:17 am
I knew you were out there somewhere…………
18 Jun 2012, 02:18 am
Just had to put the right bait into the water……….
18 Jun 2012, 02:18 am
gotta love monday morning fishing………………
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All