Pietersen strike buries England

JON CARDINELLI, reporting from Ellis Park, writes that a late try by JP Pietersen boosted the Springboks to a 36-27 victory as well as a series win against England.

The Heyneke Meyer tenure has begun promisingly, with two victories in as many matches resulting in silverware. It is a result that should be celebrated even if this particular performance was inconsistent, the Boks producing some powerful and clinical rugby at times but then conspiring to bring England back into the contest with an unforgivable drop in intensity.

The Boks enjoyed a commanding 25-10 half-time lead but the plucky English fought back in the second stanza to bring the themselves within four points.

It would take a scything run by Pietersen in the 74th minute to take the Boks clear of England, and it was fitting that the man who started this game-winning movement was on hand to finish it when the ball was subsequently shifted to his wing.

It capped a strong performance for Pietersen, who looked for work throughout the contest. It was his individual brilliance that proved so influential, as that dazzling run from his own 10m line moved the Boks right up to the opposition 22m.

It was here that the Boks showed the power and precision of the first half, controlling the ball through the phases before unleashing Pietersen out wide for the finish.

Morné Steyn missed the ensuing conversion attempt, but Pietersen’s try ensured the Boks moved nine points clear with only six minutes remaining. The Boks were fortunate that poor goal-kicking didn’t end up costing them the result, as the Bok No 10 missed four shots at goal while Frans Steyn also sent a long-range penalty attempt wide.

The hosts were also fortunate that they had played with such power, precision and fluidity in the first half. At times that dominance was akin to a big boy bullying a much smaller one. The Boks lived up to their promise to marry power with precision, attacking the ruck and tackle area with an aggression that was only surpassed by their accuracy.

It was this platform that allowed them to build momentum through the phases, to win territory and to accumulate points. They went to the break with a 25-10 advantage and England looked to be in line for a severe hiding.

Titans like Willem Alberts and Bismarck du Plessis had given them ample go-forward, and rabid rookies like Marcell Coetzee and Eben Etzebeth had added their irrepressible energy to the cause. Inevitably, this also impacted on the game of Pierre Spies, who contributed with some ground-gaining runs of his own.

A penalty by Steyn early in second half stretched the Boks’ lead to 28-10, but thereafter, complacency crept into their game.

As good as their first-half showing was, it was marred by a defensive lapse that had resulted in a try for Toby Flood. These lapses occurred more frequently in the second stanza, and the English began to chip away at what had once seemed a solid and unassailable lead.

A monstrous scrum by England resulted in a penalty shot for Flood, and the experienced goal-kicker made no mistake. Unbelievably, the scoreline was now 31-27, and all the momentum was with England.

But a dropped ball at the subsequent kickoff provided the Boks with an opening. It allowed them to move into English territory, and even though Steyn would miss another penalty attempt, it was the field position that proved crucial in the dying minutes.

The nerves on both sides were apparent as the clock wound down. There were several deep kicks as both teams hoped for an opposition error. Ironically, it was from a poor English kick that Pietersen would spark a Bok counter-attack that won the game.

In their attempts to close the gap of nine points in the six minutes that remained, England forced the play and knocked the ball on.

It made the job of the Bok defence much easier, although it has to be said that the hosts turned in a determined tackling effort during the dying stages.

The Boks hung on for a win that handed them a series victory, and for that they should be commended. But going forward they will know that the inconsistency seen in Durban and Johannesburg will not always culminate in favourable results, and that 80-minute performances are needed to best the better Test teams.

248 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Seems like some people are just never happy unless they are complaining, the Boks were fantastic and will only get better.

How difficult is it just to be happy for the win and leave the b!tching for when there is reason.

• 202.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Oh !!!!……yours sincerely Proud Pond Scum Sharks supporter.

• 203.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

196………..Well said

• 204.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

boks played very well in the first half, and then when we had the forced substitutions then the depth of the bok squad was tested and came up a bit short. with players like bekker, brussouw, vermeulen, jdj, schalk, goosen, coenie etc injured or not selected we can definitely pick an even stronger 22.

• 205.Pietie: Reply to this comment

Excellent win for us, but we have o take some learnings from this one. Some of the fringe players like Werner Kruger and Meisiekind showed that they do not really belong on the big stage and Pat Lambie’s limited game time at full back is not doing him any favours. Oh yes, what does Morne Steyn offer us if he does not kick goals….? On the last two weeks’ evidence, not too much. Is it perhaps a case of Johan Goosen having to bide his time and his shoulder getting fixed up again before he takes over from MS? And yes, nice to see week after week how the Poms draw strength from losing!

• 206.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

It was a pleasure seeing Ellis Park packed to the rafters yesterday unlike that rubbish dump of last week.The anthem was sung with passion and gusto never seen for a long time in SA.Well done go the people of Jhb who supported the the Boks with such an unbridled passion.I hoop you took notes sharkievarkie supporters on how to support your national team…unless you want Saru to……

• 207.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I am having a larf this morning, reading the reaction to yesterday’s game on this website.

We won.

In the 1st half the Boks played arguably their best rugby since readmission.

We should all be happy.

But it’s weird, us Saffas like to break down and castigate players, to actively find fault (perhaps when none is deserved), almost always with a strong provincial bias.

It’s a bit sad really.

Provincialism stinks.

Grow up.

Be happy, you will feel better for it.

• 208.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-202: lol, it’s all this “stormerforlife1″ character (Capo?) can talk about. He/she is obsessed with the Sharks! Poor kid.

• 209.RL: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-208:

Woodypecker, any news on the injueries for Alberts and my boy the Lambster?

• 210.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

The most impressive aspect of HM’s coaching style is that the basics are done correctly, which wasn’t evident under PDV tenure.
    This Bok team is far from the finished product and the inaugural Rugby Championship is their for the taking.

• 211.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

208@Wooden spoon…….oh so that’s capo reincarnated…..explains a lot….where is his nemesis Gunther when you need him.

• 212.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Happy Fathers Day…..although Bulls supporters in Pretoria probably dread this day as they usually struggle with conflicting emotions deciding who to give the cards to.

• 213.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-212: heh, good thing you know exactly “who’s your daady”

• 214.Michael: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-212: That’s easy: “Real men wear pink” :-)

• 215.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bokke favourites for the 4 Nations now.

• 216.STBUR: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-212:

You are really are a douchebag aren’t you?

• 217.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

Well done to the Boks!! awesome first 40, guys looked incredibly sharp and were excellent in almost every aspect. I give credit to the English on a very memorable fightback. For a young team that was very good and showed heaps of character.

The Boks can and must improve but well done HM 2/2 keep it going. I hope Jaques Potgieter ready to rumble if WA is out. Once again take a bow JPP as I have said countless times the most underrated winger in Bok and world rugby, pure class and first name on my team sheet.
    Well done Bokkies!!!!

• 218.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Bokke! A win is a win as I always say. The first half was champagne stuff but the second didn’t go well at all. You don’t want to be too critical when a team is winning but the bench needs some attention. Once again we were shown that Olivier and Kruger are not up to standard and HM will have to give some real attention to the bench. We need Vermeulen back urgently and can’t wait for Goosen to return. In the meantime Lambie has to be given a go at 10. Steyn has been off form for some time now. I would like to see Alberts at 8, Keegan at 6 and Coetzee at 7 in the interim. We have won the series now go for a 3 – 0 series win. Maybe Kolisi should be called into the playing squad and give a place on the bench.

• 219.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-217: J Potgieter will bring plenty of grunt,what’s keeping him out of the team,surely not Daniels,he must still be injured?JPP in full throttle is sublime to watch,it seems effortless the way he covers ground,he needs more ball with space.

• 220.bokke baiter: Reply to this comment

Nice to see all the little Safwits getting excited about the Prickboks chances again.
    You really are a resilient bunch,year upon year of beatings and wooden spoons dosn’t dissuade your average prickbok supporter,Scottish supporters should take note.
    Your position as the ‘Scotland’ of the southern hemisphere is unfortunate but with a bit more application you may reach your nirvana…good luck with this
    Anyway Prickboks,in conclusion,your on the right track,cut down the world renown dirty play,find some back line moves and who knows you may come 3rd this season x

• 221.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-220: Pssssssssst. The “Prickboks” don’t actually exist.

• 222.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-221: not true actually, now that i thnk about it, i think prickboks are all the guys who could play for SA but chose to play for other countries.

i think we could field a relative average team with all those chaps.

• 223.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-222: They are the 2nd Stringboks.

• 224.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-223: :)

• 225.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-220: You should really stop with this prickbok mantra buddy…..although I would not blame you if you call the teacup character and his kind prickbok supporters.People who normally don’t accept others difference of opinions deserves to be called pricks.

• 226.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1(stormerforlife1)-225: So speaks the great tolerator of other’s opinions. Not. Hypocrite much?

• 227.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-226: hiyas tea koppie, long time no chat, you well?

• 228.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-227: Ja. All good thanks, SL. How about you?

• 229.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-228: doing good thanks boet, looking forward to tonights laaitie boks match lol

• 230.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-229: Me too. These guys are keeping me on tenterhooks. They could as easily be great as Kak. Hopefully, they have found their A game.

• 231.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-230: Yeah , i mean they were very poor last week in the 1st haLF and 2nd half exploded into action, lets hope they carry on where they left off

• 232.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-231: I think they have found their feet. These young Argies are full of fight though.

• 233.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-232: Yeah i am actually very worried about tonights match, even though we beat them in the warm up matches and only just , they have improved a lot since, and if i am not wrong they are the only unbeaten side in the JWC

• 234.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-233: Wales are also unbeaten.

• 235.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-234: Ahh ok wasnt sure about that

ok so we have our work cut out, not sure though if wales will beat the AB a second time

• 236.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Also the day wales beat the AB’s it was in heavy rain and the pitch was a mud patch lol

this match wont be the same

• 237.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-235: I can’t see that lightning striking twice.

• 238.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

46 into the French,Aussie match and it is still 9-0 to the Frogs

• 239.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-237: lol true

• 240.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2(roobarb2)-196: I wish you had expressed such motivations when PDV was in charge??
    PDV decided to take the ‘Death Job” in sport in SA particularly as a man of colour and got no support from the masses like you “Meyerites” show now. I am happy to see SA do well, but will be vocal about my criticism here.

Of the Northern Hem teams, the Welsh pose a genuine threat. I dont think England are up to par. Hence I expect BIG wins against such unions.

End Of Story..

• 241.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

PdV smacked England for six every time he played them.. unlike White who lost to them more than once away, I don’t think PdV lost to them ever

in fact here is PdV’s record against England AWAY not at home

22 Nov 2008 South Africa v England 42-6 5:0 Twickenham, A
    27 Nov 2010 South Africa v England 21-11 2:1 Twickenham, A

Totals
    Points 63-17
    Tries 7:1

Differences
    Points 46
    Tries 6

Summary
    Played 2
    Wins 2 100.0%

and here is Heyneke’s at HOME so far

09 Jun 2012 South Africa v England 22-17 2:1 Durban H
    16 Jun 2012 South Africa v England 36-27 4:3 Johannesburg H

Totals
    Points 58-44
    Tries 6:4

Differences
    Points 14
    Tries 2

Averages
    Points 29-22
    Tries 3:2

Summary
    Played 2
    Wins 2 100.0%

BUT Meyer is the MAN.. and PdV was the clown.. Go figure figurines.

• 242.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

p iss off snoekskiet
    the past is exactly that
    the past

• 243.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-240: and how do you know i didnt support divvie?

and what does his skin colour have to do with whether or not i should have supported him?

• 244.Bouts: Reply to this comment

I must admit, I’m happy with Habana and Pietersen! I’ve lost faith in them years ago, but now they’re both back to the players we were so proud of before!

Hougaard and Beast. Incredibly poor… all season.
    I’ve complained about Beast being out-scrummed when they played against the Cheetahs, but man… he’s even worse now!

Funny the ‘experts’ mentioning that the scrum started going backward when the replacements came on. Strange… the boks scrum already lost badly in the scrums in the first half? Pretty sure the replacements only came on in the second half… late. Man! We really needed Coenie!

Hougaard… should make the shift to the wing sooner than later. And preferably off the bench. We all know the reason why he’s there and it’s got nothing to do with his accomplishments at scrumhalf.

• 245.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Lets keep this positive. Thanks to all who contribute genuine rugby opinions. You are respected.

• 246.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

IMO Strauss at hooker is a problem. The guy is always out in the centres or wing. He needs to stay closer to the tight stuff. He does this for the Cheetahs too. Test rugby is a different kettle of fish!

• 247.husky: Reply to this comment

For some reason, if the Boks think they have the upper hand or get ahead in a game, they loose structure, set pieces and respect for ball protection. I can think of many games where Oz and NZ have come from behind and rogered us properly. This is one thing HM can change; it is not about the players abilities, it is about what they do on the field as a team. That is why the AB’s just scraped the RWC with a team with many journeymen. Oh, and a bit of help from P o B.

• 248.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Skop what is this thing you have for jdj i am begining to think you have a boner for him,can you not write anything else other than you are in love with him.Give it a rest with slagging olivier it is getting a bit boring now.All this negativity against olivier by especially the stormers fans is pathetic.HM thinks olivier can do a good job for the boks and that is all that counts,and do not forget their was other bok coaches who thoufgt olivier was good rnough to play for the boks.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.