Boks reel in Pietersen

The Springboks have called up Stormers fullback Joe Pietersen ahead of the third and final Test against England this weekend.

Pietersen will provide fullback cover as Zane Kirchner (knee) and Pat Lambie (ankle) struggle with injuries. Utility back Frans Steyn is also not available for the Test in PE as he’ll be getting married on Saturday.

Pietersen, who had been struggling with a back injury, had been given the all clear by the Western Province medical team to join the national squad on Monday.

‘Joe has always been part of our plans and also attended our final planning camp in Durban shortly before the England series started,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.

‘Injuries are part of the game and something you can’t plan for, but we always knew Frans was not going to be available for this Test. Joe knows our systems and game plans and I’m sure he will slot in easily.’

Flank Willem Alberts (knee) and Lambie, the two players who suffered injuries in the second Test last weekend, underwent scans on Monday morning. They have not yet been ruled out of the Test and a further decision on their availability will be made by Wednesday.

Lock Juandre Kruger, who was stretchered off at Ellis Park, was running freely at training.

141 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters.: Reply to this comment

Bok bench is not up to the task as far as the heavies are concerned.

• 102.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-98: actually scary how us two think alike when it comes to rugby lol

• 103.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

As mentioned in an earlier post, I cannot see any viable reason for Little Joe being called up. After Aplon was called up in any case (IMO, SA’s most destructive broken field runner).

With Heyneke seemingly favouring a 4/3 split on the bench, there’s probably no place for both Aplon and Basson in the match 22, as they’re quite similar – depending whether Aplon starts or plays from the bench, with NikNaks in @ 15.
    Therefore, bench cover will probably look like this;
    20. Pienaar
    21. JJ
    22. Aplon
    Alternatively, if Aplon gets a starting spot;
    20. Pienaar
    21. JJ
    22. Basson
    JJ being there as midfield cover @ 13 incase Timotei is having a bad hair day.

• 104.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

What IF Timotei has a blinder – 5+ clean line breaks, 2 tries, tackles to k@k out of Tualigi and win MOTM award ?? Scary thought but possible…. Then what??

• 105.papashanga: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-55: That is such nonsense. He’s a brilliant attacking player.

• 106.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-104: Even if he does he is 2nd behind Frans in the HM bok pekking order

• 107.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-103: Niknaks! lol’
    Good one – I remember the ad now

• 108.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

With Danny Care to play 9 England will be even stronger

However I think HM must bring in Juan De Jongh!

He can play 12 / 13 and him and De Villiers know eachother well

Also De Jongh will take Tuilagi’s legs out and you can say that De Villiers hasn’t been run over at 13 the past few weeks

Only Sonny Bill, Rougerie, Frans Steyn and Jamie Roberts can deal with Tuilagi

My backline:

15 Gio Aplon
    14 JP Pietersen
    13 Juan De Jongh
    12 Jean De Villiers
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Morne Steyn (SHOULD BE PETER GRANT OR JANTJES)
    9 Francois Hougaard

20 Jano Vermaak
    21 Joe Pietersen
    22 Bjorn Basson

• 109.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-103:
    I think place kicking cover may be the reason for calling up Joe instead of Aplon? With Morne kicking badly, and Lambie in doubt, abnd Frans Steyn jolling, we need a place kicker.

• 110.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-104: Extensive drug tests.

• 111.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-104:

Then we wake up and all have a good laugh…the silly things we dream!

PS For me it would be great as the Meyer obviously likes the fella so I prefer him to be great rather than making me pull my hair out.

PPS But I am not holding my breath…

• 112.iceman: Reply to this comment

My back line for Saturday only: i.e. if Lambie is injured

15: Joe Pietersen
    14. JJ Englebracht
    13. JP Pietersen
    12. Jean De Villiers
    11. Brian Habana
    10. Morne Steyn
    9. Francois Hougaard

• 113.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Hahahah…dreaming Timotei will double up his try scoring for the boks is very funny….how many tries has he scored in how many tests now?

• 114.stew: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-103: Could it maybe due to backup for kicking duties ?

• 115.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-113: 1 try in 36 tests.

• 116.Stawm: Reply to this comment

This news is not going to sit well with our resident dumbass on this site. Especially since his ‘donkey de Villiers’ is also playing well.

• 117.pompies2: Reply to this comment

Wanna know ho good Joe is. Compare him to Dagg, Beale, Halfpenny, Kearney, Fodan. That’s how “good” he is. Will never be able to hold down a starting spot, so the investment won’t yield any real returns. Once Lambie, Kirchner and Taute are fit, it’s tickets for Joe. More of an emo selection from the WP stormers supporters because it conjours up memories of Percy in the G&G.

• 118.Meerkatte: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-113:

All this talk about WO not scoring tries… We also have wonder child Lambie with about 15 caps and no tries???

• 119.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-117:

“More of an emo selection from the WP stormers supporters….”

So what you are saying is that HM is picking JP just because of some rants from some WP fans.

Seriously?

You obviously dont rate HM at all then if you think he is so easily influenced?

Do you engage your brain when you type?

• 120.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Stawm(Stawm)-119: Did you even read what i typed? I mean properly read it with comprehension. I did not even mention HM’s name. And you response kinda confirms my emo statement. You’ve got your man knickers in a bunch so quickly. Don’t worry though, Joe will play a test. It’s won’t be very long, so you’ll have to knock one out very quickly.

• 121.STBUR: Reply to this comment

I rewatched that 2nd half. Wynand and Morne did the exact same thing with Tuilagi as Frans and Morne. They gang tackled him and he didn’t gain ground. Happened two or three times.

• 122.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-120:

OK, I read it again.

Heres your line:

“More of an emo selection from the WP stormers supporters because it conjours up memories of Percy in the G&G.”

So explain when I misunderstand it please?

Are you saying WP supporters had a role in this selection? If you answer yes, then you are severely undermining HM’s abilities.

Simple as that.

• 123.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Stawm(Stawm)-122: All i’m saying is that WP\Stormers supporters are really punting for his selection. I don’t suggest HM bowed to the pressure. Truth be told, he’s not test quality and the Boks had enough cover in the squad.

I don’t jump on the anti-HM bandwagon. He’s got enough trophies and accolades to prove he’s got the ability. Does that mean i can’t disagree with some of the things he does? Hell no.

• 124.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Joe P selection makes no sense as there are Pienaar,Aplon,Basson who can cover 15,even Morne has played 15for Boks. Would have called up de Jongh who covers both 12/13 at international level with Fransie unavailable.Plus he has been more successful at international level that Timotei.lord forbid now we shall be subjected to Morne drift/crab switch pass with Olivier landing them behind advantage line as telegraphed as anything.Frans Steyn gets away with it sum what due to his superior size but even with him it’s been large,y ineffective.Sa needs better set up moves in midfield,the switch play is not good enough. Bringing in wingers in at first phase/pivot and 10 to loop or shift to create space while putting pressure on looses to pay attention to winger coming in-ala Guilford/Savea for Nz is one way of variation.

JJ Engelbrecht has no business being in Boks squad yet and if he’s cover for midfield yeeesh…..

• 125.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-124: That’s utopian Mshini. As long long as the size obsession is around, creativity to compensate for the lack of size will be stifled. I don’t think the Bok brains trust think 1st phase is the most dangerous platform from which to launch attacks. To them, it seems 1st phase is an enabler to build phase play which would hopefully lead to a defensive mismatch ore defensive lapse.

• 126.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-124: Joe P selection makes no sense as there are Pienaar,Aplon,Basson who can cover 15

Basson? Nah mate.

• 127.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-126: meyer said basson has been tried there for the bulls but maybe it was at training because i don’t recall basson @ 15 – but hey i don’t watch all bulls games so ja…

• 128.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

126 Sasuke

Basson started his career as a 15 and he is probably the best high ball specialist in the country.add the OTHER options I added of Pienaar,Aplon and JPP there are more than enough

No need for JoeP no matter how u look at it. Pienaar has been on top form with his boot throughout European season and he a better kicker than Joe P so you can Los that reasoning too.

• 129.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-124: eita sbali, ayisabonani!

ngiyabona ukuthi imali iyangena manje umatasatasa uthenga iyibiliboco nama lamborghini :lol:

• 130.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-129: don’t skinner man. how would you like it if i spoke english? i bet you’d struggle because it’s not you mother tongue. :D

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-130: no skinner man, just greeting the man in his mother tongue. :razz:

• 132.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-124:
    Agreed.
    With De Jongh unfortunately not there, and Joe P (unfortunately) there, the best way I see the guys lining up is;
    09. Hougaard
    10. Morne
    11. Habs
    12. Timotei
    13. DiV
    14. JPP
    15. Aplon
    Benched;
    20. Pienaar (covers halfbacks).
    21. JJ (midfield, wings), still would prefer JdJ in the mix.
    22. Lil’ Joe (FB, and at a pinch can take aim at the sticks with ‘Nerves-of-steel’ Pienaar)
    That’s all she wrotes for this Sat I’m afraid.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-130: eish, my comprehension is moer toe hahaha

• 134.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-131: that’s one moers long greeting. is that what ‘howsit bru’ translates to? yu! yu! yu!

• 135.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Transie129

Hahaha ngiyafisa sbali! Kodwa hhay umuntu uyaphanta,ngimatasatasa impela nizama yona leyomali engekho.Bengithi angivele ngisho okuncane.Lamabhokobhomo adlala iPattern enginyanyayo,manner futhi nathi abanandaba bazodlala inyongo.

• 136.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-123:

OK, I put it down to a misunderstanding then. No problem.

Thing is, some Stormers supporters are calling for JP. Some arent.
    MOST are behind HM, theres no doubt about that.

• 137.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-128: Yes that is fine and true but how is his kicking? and positioning? Rather Pienaar at 15 than Basson. atleast it is in his blood.

• 138.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-134: lol

• 139.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-132: Is Elton Jantjies in the squad? I would put Elton on the bench and give him so game time. If Morne stuffs up the kicking Elton can come on.

• 140.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

137 Sasuke

In his blood???hahaha yesses what a criteria for selection,nothing quantitative about that but ooooookkkkkk…..

• 141.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-139:
    He is.
    Question is then, at who’se expense?
    I suppose JJ, as both Habs and JPP can do a job in the 2nd stanza @ 13. Though not ideally, but it would be nice to see Elton getting game time.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.