Boks hungry for clean sweep

The Springboks will stick to their game plan in an attempt to win Saturday’s Test and record a 3-0 whitewash against England.

Coach Heyneke Meyer is set to make several changes for the the third and final Test, but those changes will be made more of necessity than anything else.

Centre Wynand Olivier will replace Frans Steyn, who is set to be married this Saturday and has thus been granted leave. Jacques Potgieter is likely to slot in for the injured Willem Alberts (knee), while Gio Aplon should replace the ailing Pat Lambie (ankle).

Olivier doesn’t have the same physical presence as Steyn in midfield and the uncapped Potgieter may also struggle to replicate Alberts’ efforts at blindside flank. Aplon is better known for his running ability than his kicking. And yet, all three of these new starters will need to play according to the Boks’ territory-based blue print.

Bok scrumhalf Francois Hougaard said on Tuesday that the team will stick to the pattern that proved successful in the first two Tests. The series has already been secured with those two victories, but there is still a desire to win as well as inflict some psychological damage on England.

‘It’s just as important as the first two Tests, we are not going to slow down now,’ Hougaard said. ‘I’m sure England will also be up for it, so we can’t afford to be complacent.

‘Our goal has always been to beat them 3-0 if you think that the goal is to win every game.’

While the Boks will be without several key players, the English are also smarting after last week’s battle at Ellis Park.

Captain Chris Robshaw and scrumhalf Ben Youngs have been ruled out with injuries, and the loss of these players will impact on England’s synergy.

Speaking of the Boks’ synergy and performances over the past two Tests, Hougaard admitted that while the South Africans had played well in patches, they were yet to produce a complete showing.

With a view to the Rugby Championship as well as the desire to beat England 3-0, the Boks must fire from start to finish at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium this Saturday.

‘We had four days to prepare for that first Test,’ said Hougaard. ‘We were better in the second, although it wasn’t a complete performance. That is what we must do this Saturday, we must put two halves together, we must produce an 80-minute performance.

‘The focus is on quick ball and doing the basics well. England will look to play off our mistakes, so we have to keep those to a minimum.

‘They scored some soft tries against us in the last game, so we need to watch for the quick taps. I’m sure they will look to lift the tempo in the coming game.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Port Elizabeth

320 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.cab: Reply to this comment

All I wanna know is hoe die donner does one pick 3 caps from a team who leading the comp and beaten another team home and away who contribute 333 caps? And he just so happens to have been the bulls coach – hell.

He’s a good coach but his selection bias are going to screw him up – he would have been correct to mask al due bulle bokke 4 years ago but not now.

• 102.louis schropnel: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-100: right on the money.. now try sell the concept to the rest of the blown out blue eyed philanthropists here

Olivier ahead of De Jongh is the song of sixpence being sung in the bok bokkie alleys at full throttle .. and they are 100% certain they have got it right… until they find out they got it wrong

• 103.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-101:

What you on about mate?

Vermeulen- injured
    Bekker-injured
    Burger-injured

Aplon-selected
    Habana-selected
    JDV- selected and captain
    Eben Eztebeth-selected
    Joe Pietersen-selected

Kolisi-current 3 week squad
    Frans Malherbe- current 3 week squad
    Juan De Jongh- greater squad
    Peter Grant- greater squad

Kitschoff- U20 RWC

• 104.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

Tough call on WA been very good for us in the series. Glad that JP is getting a start and think he is one for the future having said that leaves the loose forwards short on experience. Hope JP responds like MC did. Freakish performances from a very young man.

All in all this Bok side should still have enough to get home although be interesting to see if they kick on Gio…………..Farrell seems to like kicking on fifteen and may think he is in business with Gio. That being said if he does kick it had better be spot on or Gio has the ability to make them pay.

WO needs to tackle and take it to the gainline, let MS and JDV worry about distribution off second and third phase.

Please let the Boks lift for this one, we need the 3-0 good to know that EC crowd will make things hot for the English as they did for the BIL.

• 105.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-6: Dial it down Princess. Nobody is talking of a change in gameplan here. JC said these changes are made of necessity. His comparisons of the different players is quite accurate. You have projected a meaning to these observations that does not exist. There will be very little that is different in the Bok approach for this test.

• 106.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-88:

From rugbystats:

1. Matthew Hodgson (Force)24
    2. Derick Minnie (Lions)23
    3. Coenrad Oosthuizen (Cheetahs)21
    4. Dean Greyling (Bulls)20
    4. Dean Mumm (Waratahs)20
    6. Sona Taumalolo (Chiefs)19
    6. Werner Kruger (Bulls)19
    8. Salesi Ma’afu (Force)18
    9. Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)17
    10. Ben Tameifuna (Chiefs)16
    10. David Pocock (Force)16
    10. Heinrich Brussow (Cheetahs)16

By the way, according to the Cheetahs website Brussouw comes in at 102kg, not the 115kg or 118kg mentioned above but he is not that small.

Seeing I had the page open…

Adriaan Strauss 103kg
    A Johnson 105kg
    J Smith 112kg

• 107.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

My question is: if Bambie doesn’t play (which looks the case) + no F. Steyn, will Ruan cover 10 and kick for poles if Morne is injured\subbed? Or will JoeP cover 10 and 15 and be handed the kicking resposibility?

In our starting 15, Morne is the only goal kicker .. Been a while since we’ve this situation?

• 108.husky: Reply to this comment

Alberts and F Staeyn were very good in the 1st 2 tests so it’s going to be a tough act to follow. But I’m not too worried about this or that player, I just hope Meyer has all his men well drilled in the basics; ball protection, defensive sharpness and set pieces. Where SA could get found out is at lock. The Pommie maul made good ground against the Bok lighties. The odd scrum hit a “turbo reverse” Bokwards as well; and John Smit wasn’t even there. The Pom PI on a breakthrough vs Aplon could be interesting

• 109.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Are they giving Spies immunosuppressants?

Think he needs some to make sure his body doesn’t reject the balls HM must have arranged to have transplanted.

• 110.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-107:
    Has Morne ever gone off injured in a test?

• 111.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-109:

Trup, you missed the bit where he caught the ball from the kick-off just to stop dead in his tracks to be tackled? You think he may get bigger ones later on…?

• 112.Craven: Reply to this comment

With regards to the Brussouw comments earlier: Heinrich is not a counter for Pocock or McCaw. One fetcher never counters another fetcher.

A fetcher comes to his own when turning over the opposition’s ball, not in securing your own possesion. That is the role of the forwards in the squad. Getting to the breakdown quickly and securing the ball.

Therefore, one fecther never directly opposes another fetcher, making the assumption that without Brussouw the Pococks and McCaws of this world will have a field day, a bit misleading.

• 113.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-110:

He broke a nail once…

• 114.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Craven(Craven)-112: Well said

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-110: msteyn tackles like quade cooper.

• 116.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-101:

Surely we aren’t STILL going on about how many Stormers there are in the Bok team?

Really? Still?

I’m going to have a great time at the game on Saturday, and it’s not because I’m gonna be counting how many players from which team are on the field.

It’s because I”m going to be rooting for the Boks to make it 3-0.

Can’t wait.

• 117.grant10: Reply to this comment

I heard Dan Carter sent McCaw the following text message the night before the game against Ireland : I’ll drag my d!ck over glass for a mile, just to hear you **** on a walkie talkie!

• 118.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

I think the need for a fetcher in your team is entirely dependant on the game plan you employ. HM’s game plan is to play with ball carriers and retain possession which is why we are playing a lot more with ball in hand. When we do kick it is to an isolated receiver with the potential to contest the ball with the follow up.

If we were playing more without the ball as we did a lot under PDV the need for a fetcher is evident. I don’t think that HM will select Stegmann or Brussouw unless they become ball carriers.

Perhaps this is also why he plays with big strike runners such as FS and JDV in that he wants to play a lot more in possession rather than having to counter attack and therefore needs players that can help retain possession at the rucks.

• 119.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-111: Saw that. he will need bigger ones if he is to hang around…..unless he gets allowed a 100 caps to show he can step up to test level.

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

*** = f art

• 121.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@trupisero(trupisero)-119:

So there is hope…

• 122.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Wonder what the sentiment will be if this weekend the boks win by 20 odd points.
    Will meyer still have his blue goggles on?
    Will this still be considered a weakend team?

• 123.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-111:

I’ve seen you mention that incident inanely now for the last 3 days.

That was a very good play actually. As Heyneke said, responsibility for protecting the ball is assigned in the following order:

1. The ball carrier himself.
    2. The closest supporting players.
    3. The players that should make sure that the ruck is not disrupted so that clean ball goes to the scrumhalf.

Spies did exactly what JP Pietersen didn’t do in the 1st test. When fielding a deep kick, he caught the ball in his own 22, assessed the situation, and instead of running away from support and getting isolated, he slowed down, waited for his support and set up a ruck so that the ball could be safely cleared by the flyhalf.

What you in your ignorance wanted him to do, was start a charging run in his own 22, get caught away from his support in our own territory, and possibly give away possession, all for a pointless 3 extra meters of gained territory.

So typical of the knee jerk prejudice-based criticisms directed at some players in the Bok team.

• 124.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-118:

Heyneke Meyer firmly understands that winning at rugby is entirely dependent on winning the collisions.

It might not be the most subtle approach, but if you have the players for it, it’s brutally effective.

However it is dependent on hitting the rucks hard and ensuring fast, clean ruck ball on attack. During the first Test our ball security at the ruck was atrocious, this in turn placed a great deal of pressure on Hougaard trying to clean.

The first half of the second Test saw this being addressed to a very large extent; the clinical and physical way the Boks hit the rucks on attack resulted in quick recycled ball and we saw a lot of phases being completed.

The advantage of large centres like Frans Steyn and Jean de Villiers is also that they double as loose forwards in the backline.

• 125.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-115:

Hiyas bruvva, Mormon handshake ^5 and all.

• 126.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

123, exactly, he did exactly what burger couldn,t do in our worldcup exit that led to the ozzie try.
    How things couldve been different had spies received that lineout ball and not burger.

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116: No we aren’t but thanks for reminding the rest of us.

• 128.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-124: Dude!

You said “clinical

• 129.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128:

Clinical concentration on cleaning ball after the collisions!

(Vrede might use that.)

• 130.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Caramba

• 131.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-129: he he he

Copyright it quick!

• 132.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-130:

Hiyas sista, Mormon handshake ^5.

• 133.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Rugby 365′s team of the week after the internationals:

15 Leigh Halfpenny (Wales)
    The dependable fullback kicked well to steer his team into the lead and was solid under the high ball. The creative spark he adds to the Welsh backline is a major asset.
    Bubbling under: Ben Foden (England)

14 JP Pietersen (South Africa)
    The Springbok right wing was the only unanimous selection this week, with his incredible break through the middle of the field a decisive moment in the Test match. The powerful flyer was also superb on defence, making some crucial tackles to keep the English honest out wide.
    Bubbling under: Alex Cuthbert (Wales)

13 Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
    Captain courageous for the Irish was rock solid on defence and put his body on the line for the team. He took a heavy knock early in the second half and looked disorientated, but bounced back to play a big role. He just edges out Jonathan Davies, who had a great game for Wales.
    Bubbling under: Jonathan Davies (Wales)

12 Sonny Bill Williams (New Zealand)
    Was closely watched by Ireland, but did produce a great break in the second half and carried the ball up strongly in midfield.
    Bubbling under: Pat McCabe (Australia)

11 Digby Ioane (Australia)
    Looked a threat every time he touched the ball, with a few breaks underlining just how dangerous he can be in some space. Got involved running inside the halfbacks often and covered his opposite number well.
    Bubbling under: Bryan Habana (South Africa)

10 Berrick Barnes (Australia)
    A superb all-round performance, he varied his game very well, mixing some intelligent kicking with slick distribution and a few telling runs. He showed a touch of class drifting wide and throwing a dummy to create his team’s only try and was dependable off the kicking tee before being hampered by the cramp that forced him off the field.
    Bubbling under: Dan Carter (New Zealand)

9 Ben Youngs (England)
    The English scrumhalf was feisty as ever, and scored two cheeky tries against the Boks and was England’s best player.
    Bubbling under: Francois Hougaard (South Africa)

8 Jamie Heaslip (Ireland)
    Strong work on defence, with his tackle count going into double figures – winning a few turnovers. he was also immense with ball in hand in his 50th Test.
    Bubbling under: Pierre Spies (South Africa)

7 David Pocock (Australia)
    The Wallaby captain is growing into his new leadership role and put Wales under serious pressure at the breakdown and gave everything right until the end.
    Bubbling under: Tomas de la Vega (Argentina)

6 Willem Alberts (South Africa)
    The Springbok bulldozer bust his way over the gainline on a regular basis to give important go-forward ball to his team and his absence in the second half made a big difference, with England able to get back into the match.
    Bubbling under: Dan Lydiate (Wales)

5 Nathan Sharpe (Australia)
    The veteran always does the basics well, and gave another whole-hearted performance. With James Horwill out for the rest of the year it will be interesting to see if he keeps playing beyond next week when he plans to retire from Test rugby.
    Bubbling under: Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

4 Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)
    A far more confident performance from the big man, who produced a crucial line-out steal in first half and made a number of great tackles. He is a great young talent.
    Bubbling under: Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)

3 Mike Ross (Ireland)
    The Irish tighthead helped sure up the front row after missing the first Test, and Tony Woodcock found life more difficult with a stronger adversary this time out.
    Bubbling under: Jannie du Plessis (South Africa)

2 Bismarck du Plessis (South Africa)
    Strong as an ox and a menace at the breakdown, the tough hooker was outstanding and score a great try through sheer power and determination.
    Bubbling under: Rory Best (Ireland)

1 Tendai Mtawarira (South Africa)
    The Beast did a lot of hard work at the breakdown and scrummed strongly with a few ball carrier to boot in an excellent performance.
    Bubbling under: Cian Healy (Ireland)

• 134.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-116:

look it’s going to take some time.

they’re sensitive sheilas.

• 135.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-131:

Calm, confident yet cautious competition on confrontation was clinical, concentrated and combative resulting in clean and convenient ball.

• 136.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

This is an interesting article, also on Rugby 365 about the Lions players considering alternatives should they get relegated:

The ongoing uncertainty surrounding the six-can’t-go-into-five scenario will continue to haunt the Lions when Super Rugby resumes in less than a fortnight.

The Lions, the lowest ranked South African team and sitting 14th on the global table of 15 teams, remain the ‘frontrunners’ to be eliminated if the Southern Kings enter Super Rugby in 2013.

However, the uncertainty over whether that will be indeed the case – as there will almost certainly a massive legal backlash should the Lions or any of the five current Super Rugby franchises be eliminated – is making life uncomfortable for the players.

But what will happen to the team that does miss out in 2013? What is the succession plan?

While all this is playing itself out behind closed doors in the boardrooms at South African Rugby Union headquarters in Cape Town, the players are beginning to get jittery.

And Lions captain Joshua Strauss, speaking to this website in an exclusive interview, admitted that some players were “talking to their agents”.

As it is, two of the Lions’ most seasoned backline players have already left the pride.

Veteran utility back Doppies la Grange, who captained the Lions before Strauss took over as team leader, has signed a two-year contract at Benetton Treviso in Italy. He has already played his last game for the franchise.

Earlier this month, wing Michael Killian also announced that he would be returning to the Kings in Port Elizabeth, where he will play for them in the 2012 First Division competition.

“It is different for ever player,” Strauss told Rugby 365e, when asked how difficult it was to get on with their job while all this was playing itself out on the sidelines.

“Some players are talking to their agents, as you have to keep your options open,” Strauss added.

“You don’t want to have blind faith and in a month’s time they say to you: ‘This is what is going down and you no longer have a contract’. Then you suddenly have to run around looking for alternatives.

“It does differ from player-to-player – some players may have something lined up already and may be more at ease with the situation, as opposed to players who have a more uncertain future.”

The Lions’ three remaining fixtures this season – when the Super Rugby competition resumes at the end of the month – will see them take on the Stormers at Newlands, the Rebels in Johannesburg and the Bulls in Pretoria.

Strauss said they were determined to focus on the task at hand. “We try to think about it [the uncertainty] as little as possible, but it is in the back of our minds.

“We don’t know what is happening, it is one of those issues that is playing itself out in the boardrooms, so we are also waiting to hear what will happen.”

Strauss is one of the players who has not made a call on his future and is waiting to see how the saga evolves.

“As I said, we don’t know what is happing. For instance, if the Lions are knocked out of Super Rugby, we don’t even know what the succession plans are.

“I presume that if a team is not playing Super Rugby there will be a loss of sponsors, if a team only plays Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup rugby I don’t know what attractions there will be for sponsors.

“All I know is what is in the media, so we will have to see what happens.

“If the Lions can [have the capacity to] keep the players, we will stay… but we will have to wait and see.”

• 137.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-135: For the win!!

• 138.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-132:

Sorry I cant do it

It’s too early

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137: good morning young man

• 140.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Pollard signed with the Bulls till 2015

• 141.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-139: Hey fella howzit?

• 142.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137:

Are you not in the least bit interested in drinking with us real people instead of Sharks Lover?

• 143.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-141: Good n you??

That damn jersey is causing a bad odor of non trohy mouldiness at my place :lol:

• 144.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-142: and so miss innocent tries to start **** again?? you sure you not still in primary school??

• 145.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-142: Invite me and I’ll be there.

But SharksLover is a friend of mine. And his place is around the corner from me.

And makes a fine cappuccino (amoungst many other things)

• 146.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: @ us real people

• 147.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-143: Go on….try it on. You know you want to…..

You’ll never want to take it off ;)

• 148.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-145: BTW just dont pop in this AM boet, i am only going in later

• 149.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-147: :lol: eish boet a med on me?? not gonna happen

• 150.Craven: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-140:

No man! Not cool losing him.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.