Olivier aims to shatter perception
19 Jun 2012
Wynand Olivier says he will use a start against England to convince everybody including himself that he belongs at the highest level.
Olivier is set to replace Frans Steyn at No 12 this Saturday, as Steyn has plans to get married and has been granted a release from the squad.
Saturday will mark Olivier’s first start for the Springboks since 23 July 2011 when he played for a dirt-tracker South African side on a winless Australasian tour.
The last time Olivier started for a full-strength Bok team was back in the 2010 Tri-Nations. Then coach Peter de Villiers was swayed by senior Bok players to give Olivier a final chance, and unfortunately it was a chance Olivier didn’t use to alter the perception that he wasn’t Test quality.
De Villiers then dropped Olivier completely, only recalling him in 2011 when the majority of the first-choice players were not available. Once again, Olivier blew this opportunity to impress, and was not picked for the World Cup squad.
His most recent recall to the national side has come as a shock, although Meyer has responded to criticism by pointing to Olivier’s experience. Nevertheless, there is a sense that there will be no more chances following this Saturday’s Test, and nobody is more aware of the fact than Olivier himself.
‘I don’t want to say I’m going out there to prove a point, it’s more about proving to myself that I can make the step up to international rugby,’ he said.
Olivier has played off the bench in the last two matches, and it’s been clear that England prefer to attack the Boks’ 10-12 channel when he is on the park.
Defence coach John McFarland confirmed that Olivier made more tackles than any other Bok back in the second Test, and what this stat indicates is that the England attack have targeted his channel as a potential weak point.
Olivier feels that he can cope with the hard-running England backs this Saturday and that he will also offer the Boks some strong options on attack.
‘Manu Tuilagi is a big guy and I’m looking forward to the challenge of stopping him,’ he said. ‘I am enjoying playing alongside Jean [de Villiers]. We haven’t played [as a midfield combination] since 2006 and 2007. He’s a guy with a lot of experience and I believe he will also bring something else to my game.’
Olivier believes he can succeed where he has failed before, that he can show his coach and team-mates that he is more than just a solid Super Rugby player. While there is pressure to perform in this situation, Olivier said that he won’t let it affect his confidence.
‘I’ve been out of the team for a while now, but it feels different now compared to when I was involved with Jake White’s team and then Peter’s, I was young back then. I’m more experienced now and more relaxed and focused on what I need to do.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Port Elizabeth

453 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All
19 Jun 2012, 22:33 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-345: Tell me, Loose Scrotum, what’s all this blou business? Are you suggesting I’m sympathetic towards the Bulls cause. Or are you simply having one of your persecution episodes again? Take the pills, fuknut. No one needs to know.
19 Jun 2012, 22:33 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-347: didn’t EVERY coach want to win EVERY test he played.. or somebody been missing something…
let him WIN every test.. that’s the acid test.. win them.. then we can debate on forever.
out for a while.
19 Jun 2012, 22:34 pm
Midget Snottieshyte hitting his Nokia keyboard in rage like a real cyber warrior, making up for his deficiencies in the real world….
19 Jun 2012, 22:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-344: Nice guys, quite entertaining. Anyhow, just saw Meisiekind wants to proove she belongs on the stage. Hopefully this will be his last game in green and he will spend the rest of his miserable rugby life playing the catalyst to all pink and blue 13 talents….See Sadie…
19 Jun 2012, 22:36 pm
No, Jake White and Snorretjie were full of “sending b teams to the away 3N” and “judge me at the world cup”…. and you know it snottietjie…. as much as it grates your little circumcised p.enis that Heyneke Meyer has changed that loser mentality for the better…
19 Jun 2012, 22:38 pm
Lets be honest, Meisiekind is kaaaaak but every coach had his favourites, Jakey had Wacko Jaco and PDV had Smit.
19 Jun 2012, 22:42 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-352:
Jake White made his mission to win the World Cup. But his overall success ratio wasn’t the greatest. Something in the mid-60′s. And was recalled from an end of year tour. Lset we forget. And Pdiv tried to emulate that with the same nucleus as Jake’s squad. And we know what happened there.
And the less said about Straueli the better. Because he started all the kak in the first place.
19 Jun 2012, 22:44 pm
@Nils(Nils)-329: besides nonu & sbw who have both played wing for the all blacks which other current nz 2nd five eigth is a try scoring machine? luke mcalister, ben stanley, ryan crotty, tim bateman?
19 Jun 2012, 22:44 pm
why was moving JPPietersen to 13 and aplon to wing with labie/joe at 15 never an option?
19 Jun 2012, 22:45 pm
jamie roberts has scored 2 tries in 30 tests for wales, 1 every 15 games…he must be kak.
19 Jun 2012, 22:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-360: Now you’re just confusing people with complicated stats
Don’t shatter their dreams.
19 Jun 2012, 22:48 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-360:
fuckadilly is NOT going to like that.
19 Jun 2012, 22:49 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-359:
I don’t think they want to make too many disruptions. HM wants his skipper to settle in at 13, I reckon. The skipper obviously gets preference.
So Aplon to 15. Unless Lambie recovers. Which sounds unlikely.
19 Jun 2012, 22:49 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-359: because Donkey is goddamnshit at 12, only the StormerPoms don’t know that.
At 13 he’s just enough out of the way to not fuckthecat. Keep him there and bring someone more solid at 12… Hence Meisiekind…. Sad to say, but it is true, that WO is better than JdV back at 12 – most are, as Munster found out to great expense.
19 Jun 2012, 22:51 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-360:
But then again, not too many get passed Jamie Roberts either…
19 Jun 2012, 22:52 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-364: If you close your eyes, it’s getting pretty hard to tell your Donkey rant from Gwanties Plod crusade. Careful.
19 Jun 2012, 22:53 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-364:
Donkey is the best 13 right now. By a country mile. And he’s no slouch.
19 Jun 2012, 22:54 pm
that Jan Serfontein must get a few years older Quickly.
19 Jun 2012, 22:56 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-368: That actually sounds a bit dodgy.
19 Jun 2012, 22:59 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-364:
Did you manage to say out of the fights on saturday? It got quite heated on some of the terraces towards the end of the match.
It was one long day. But very lekker.
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-368:
That guy is one for the future.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-369:
i like ‘em young.
And the dumbfuck Northern envious StormerPoms can farken blame AC and Fleck for farking up Mannetjies De Jong’s career well and truly and messing up all chance for a Bok place at 12 by playing him at 13 this season, and bench splinter 22 season last, to make way for Donkey.
A pity he has to reap the whirlwind of misfortune for the sake of the Bok’s temporary Captain but thats what has happened… Because of that he will probably lose all possibility of ever playing in the Green and Gold again… Because Frankie is no 1… Daylight no 2…Meisie is no 3…
I actually reckon Mannetjies De Jong, probably my favourite player of 2010 season is 5th or 6th in line… And the “wisdom” of Stormers rugby is to blame… Not Heyneke… Not the Bulls… and sure as helll not Meisiekind….
19 Jun 2012, 23:00 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-370: at ellis park?
19 Jun 2012, 23:02 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-357: Jake was a technically sound but limited coach you don’t have to try educate me on that score.. PdV was actually a decent coach with honest intentions but out of his depth taking on a team full of seasoned senior internationals who could not be molded into his philosophy.. ultimately he proved to be weak.. though his honest integrity was OK.. again.. OK but no great shakes…
Meyer has high principles and high ambitions and high morals he wants to try uphold.. only I get the impression he might be shooting the moon.. because I dunno if he will have what it takes to stare defeat in the face and get back up again when it happens.
Also I get the impression he might be deluding himself slightly with some of his high moral principles he is trying to foster here.. it smacks to me too much like a boetie boetie byeenkoms of narrow minded synchronised ideals for me to get totally excited about the prospects.. a little like too much of a throw back to the so called ‘ultra traditions of sanctimonious Springbok rugby” all over again.. maybe he shows he’s bigger than that.. but so far I ain’t exactly convinced about it yet.
19 Jun 2012, 23:03 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-367: Only the best for now as temp Cappie… There are better options as we will find out in the RC.
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-370: Awesome Day out… Some Poms that I was with had a set to with a couple of Gauteng stereotypes in one of the toilets after the game…
Stereotypes came decidedly second best… which was blaady funny afterthefact
But Ellis Park definitely my second best stadium.
19 Jun 2012, 23:05 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-366: Gwantie was talkingshit…
I am talking truth… Just the farken fools in this Keo propaganda bubble dont see it yet…
19 Jun 2012, 23:06 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-374: I strongly suspect he doesn’t give a rabid rat’s flying fcken arse whether you get excited or not about the prospects. Furthermore, I told you to fck off earlier, so go.
19 Jun 2012, 23:07 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-365: maxime mermoz has played 15 tests & scored 1 try which was an intercept again the ABs @ RWC ’11 in their round robin game.
19 Jun 2012, 23:07 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-373:
Got very messy. Okes tossing beer cans and hitting guys who required stitches. Punches thrown. Some guy’s wife got bliksemmed as well. It was on John Robbie’s 702 Talk radio. Blame it on the alcohol.
Went to Loftus a couple of weeks ago in the stands and you couldn’t get a dop for love or money.
19 Jun 2012, 23:08 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-376: You and Gwantie are actually cut from the same crimplene.
19 Jun 2012, 23:10 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-379:
just another night ot in jozi…..
19 Jun 2012, 23:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-372:
the only one to blame for overlooking Mannetjies De Jongh is Heyneke Meyer and his blou bevokte ‘bigger and blonder is better’ philosophy..
stop trying to obscure the actual travesty here… even if De Jongh played at 12 for Stormers he would NOT have made HM’s balletjies blou blou benekte broerdery byeenkoms brigade .. because he is ‘too small’ at 1.77cm and 87 kg for a modern international center.. beside the fact his cultural heritage don’t fit the new look bokkie bybel binary profile … or you didn’t get the memo yet?
19 Jun 2012, 23:11 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-380: Cloth, my son, cloth…
Anytime you want a lesson in copy, language or just plain putting your thoughts down on this loony bin propaganda site come to HG for lessons, yeah?
19 Jun 2012, 23:12 pm
@I am a Bok(I am a stormer)-379: that jhb crowd was probably so confused at the home team winning that madness ensued.
going to PE on Saturday, hope the guys are more chilled down here.
19 Jun 2012, 23:13 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-384: I’d actually be more worried about the PE crowd. Half of them think they’re there for a COSATU rally.
19 Jun 2012, 23:15 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-385: “a try by one is a try by all”
19 Jun 2012, 23:15 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-382: So if Heynecke Meyer is so wrong… what does that make AlisterCunt and NobbyFleck, huh?
That is the root cause travesty here…
Cant play Mannetjies at 12, if he hasnt played there for 2 seasons nearly, and if there’s a Super Rugby winning 12 in stock who actually hasn’t played half bad this season in the ACTUAL 12 position….
Dont be farken stupid man.
19 Jun 2012, 23:16 pm
“no try city press, no try!”
@>^..^< katman(katman)-377:
are you your broertjie boetie Heyneke’s spokesperson boertjie blou blou bumchum..?? you little piece of boetie boetie fucknosed creep need to get smacked exactly where it counts little arsewipe pisswilly prissy little punk.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-381:
Jozi’s not for sissies.
Situation normal, all fuckedup.
“uDubule iRooineks”
19 Jun 2012, 23:19 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-391: uh uh… isiNgese dubula mabhunu 6 love phakathi amapisstrough
19 Jun 2012, 23:20 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-389: Hopefully that silly little salvo was your last hurrah.
19 Jun 2012, 23:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-387: so 3 wrongs somehow give your new bokkie skaapwagter a nicely shrouded out for obviating the obvious…?
Please if it was AC I reckon Mannetjies de Jong would have been in the Bok frame.. seeing its your blou bevokte blind society leading the fray .. it is middle of the road Olivier to the rescue when the other blonder is better bybel boomer gets blown away.
19 Jun 2012, 23:26 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-392: hehe, i was getting into cosatu mode for PE on saturday, and for my sins i’m going with an aussie.
19 Jun 2012, 23:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-393: you all so sweet and f’ng innocent you little piece of benign boetie boetie society hyped up hypocrite… come with your first and last salvo garbage.. who slung the first shitball you pathetic little creep arsed sniveling pisswilly punk eyed prick.
19 Jun 2012, 23:28 pm
katman, did you get a bonus this month that you spent entirely on troll food?
19 Jun 2012, 23:29 pm
@louis schropnel(louis shrapnel)-394: No… AC was the blindtwat in the first place, bringing back Blond Donkey from Munster and then dumping him on field in 2011 after De Jong and Mossie were probably the best Super Rugby centre combo of 2010…
As a consequence De Jong is a forgotten 12… even to the legions of fuckedup Stormerfan fools who reckoned “he is not a 12, but a 13″…. But anything to keep the Blond man’s bluff in the side hey….
Afraid Mannetjies actually might have played his last game for the Boks already as a result of Donkey, AC, Fleckie and the fuckedup ignorance of those stupid “supporters” who reckon he “is a 13″, in that order….
The Blonde obsession is Stormers only – from Donkey to Smoking Joe… Thats the funny thing about your Heyneke 4th Reich implications – Its actually the Stormers that are…. In their current guise
19 Jun 2012, 23:30 pm
There goes another Nokia warranty in its moer.
No wonder their share price is in the *******.
19 Jun 2012, 23:35 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-385: rubbish man, we hosted the all blacks last year with no stonethrowing at DA members…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All