Pollard party deny Bulls link
20 Jun 2012
Andre Pollard, father of Baby Bok star flyhalf Handre Pollard, has denied that his son has agreed terms to join the Bulls after school.
There have been several media reports on Wednesday, stating that the 18-year-old Paarl Gym matriculant will head to Pretoria in 2013. Keo.co.za’s Schoolboy Derby also has it on good authority that the player has had talks with Heyneke Meyer (when the Springbok coach was still director of rugby at the Bulls) during the 2010 Grant Khomo U16 Week, where he was representing WP.
However, in a press release sent out by the Cape Town union, Pollard senior denied that any deals have been signed yet.
‘The Bulls and the Sharks have offered Handre some good deals. But we haven’t made a decision yet,’ said Pollard senior, who captained the WP at the 1987 U18 Craven Week. ‘Western Province have played a major role in Handre’s development and we really appreciate that.
‘But we will wait until July to make a final decision. Right now, Handre must focus on his rugby.’
When this site approached Bulls CEO Barend van Graan about this speculation, he said: “Sometimes it’s better not to say anything. I have no comment. This is a sensitive situation.’
Pollard junior has represented WP since U13 level and will make his second U18 Craven Week appearance in PE from 9-14 July.
He is the first schoolboy to make the SA U20 squad, receiving a call-up as the injury replacement for Cheetahs pivot Johan Goosen in June, and is set to start for the Baby Boks in the Junior World Championship final against New Zealand at Newlands on Friday.

61 Comments
20 Jun 2012, 12:34 pm
Best opportunities for him would be with WP. They’re giving their youngsters a solid go and he’d be a good fit.
Anywhere else, besides MAYBE the Sharks, he’d be wasting these early years when he’s ready to be playing senior rugby very soon.
20 Jun 2012, 12:35 pm
Pollard senior captained WP at the 1978 Craven Week.
Whoever leaked the information is IMO quite stupid to do it 2 days before the JWC final. It will take the focus away of the task at hand !
20 Jun 2012, 12:40 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-2:
“Stephen Nell”
Doos.
20 Jun 2012, 12:46 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-2: Suppose he will have to get used to the press attention – pressure BMT time
20 Jun 2012, 12:48 pm
http://www.thestormers.com/article.asp?id=1440781
Said before I’m sure WP will be doing their best to sign him, frankly gotten sick of nearly everyone laying all the blame at WP admin. If Pollard moves it will be his decision and not for lack of trying by WP. They can’t force every player to sign…
20 Jun 2012, 12:50 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-5:
Exactly.
And I don’t think he’ll move.
20 Jun 2012, 13:07 pm
Only reason could be money. WP have brought him through and kept faith with him, even last year in craven week we started him in the crucial game against the Sharks, although Swiel looked the better player when he came on…
There’s not much depth at 10 and management have shown they’re happy to give youngsters a chance. Structures also look very good atm.
What will really annoy me is if he leaves and we lose Jean-Luc du Plessis to cricket (heard its a possibility). Two of the most talented 10s in WP in years.
20 Jun 2012, 13:18 pm
Whatever his worth was before the JWC, its doubled now I’d say. For a schoolboy to dominate at u20 level, he has a serious amount of talent. Needs to be nurturedso that he reaches his full potential
20 Jun 2012, 13:38 pm
“Right now, Handre must focus on his rugby”.
And getting through matric.
20 Jun 2012, 13:43 pm
spin baby spin…
20 Jun 2012, 13:55 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-7:
I did not know that J-L is such a good cricketer. Lets hope he don’t become the second Herchelle Gibbs who was just about the best schoolboy rugby- back i have ever seen. We need flyhalves more than cricketers, lol.
20 Jun 2012, 13:57 pm
Bulls setup has more to offer him at the moment. For one he will be playing with both u20 centres (Serfontein and Small-Smith) on a regular basis plus he has Vlok and M Steyn to help him perfect his kicking technique. He might not be starting for the Bulls come S15 next season but at 18/19 he can afford to wait. I would rather see him have a go at Vodacom Cup before S15 just to ensure he is ready for senior rugby. Physically he is bigger than Goosen and would probably stand up better to all the knocks and bumps but I would hate to see either of these two get injured due to not being properly managed. They are the future Springbok flyhalves and should be managed as such. Serfontein who is perhaps the star player of this tournament is also playing Vodacom Cup and is looking better with every game he plays. Future Bok backline looks very exciting.
20 Jun 2012, 14:08 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-11: Jean-Luc is a better cricketer than a rugby player IMO. He was a member of the Paarl Boys’ XI that won this year’s pro20 event for schools. He also played Boland Schools’ cricket throughout the different age groups. I think he’ll do better as a pro cricketer than rugby player. He is talented but will have to develop and improve his rugby a lot to get anywhere. Good kid nevertheless!
Definitely not in the league of Gibbs.
20 Jun 2012, 14:10 pm
@ddewet(ddewet)-12:
There are lots to consider namely:
1. Preferred lifestyle (CT or Pretoria)
2. Family and friends
3 Coaching
4. Possible opportunities (Morne versus Grant for example)
5. Money.
6 Players to learn from
If the money is more or less equal the choice should be easy.
20 Jun 2012, 14:10 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-13: National pro20 event: I think the school won R100 000 which they were going to use for indoor nets. Paarl schools compete in the Boland for cricketing purposes.
20 Jun 2012, 14:15 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-13:
That is very interesting, thanks. I assume he is a batsman?
Herch was freakishly talented- SA schools in rugby, cricket and soccer. He was perhaps too talented for his own good- I read an article the other day in which they argue that he might have had a better test batting average than Kallis/Ponting if he had their dedication.
20 Jun 2012, 14:18 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-7: No No No. That is a far bigger worry to me, losing Jean Luc Dup. I know he is a fabulous cricketer, but man, if not for all the Pollard hype, people would be talking up Jean Luc big time – although not as naturally gifted as Pollard.
Pollard I reckon is going to Pretoria – done deal. His dad will not confirm it before Craven Week – because that leaves WP the option to ‘drop him or not play him’.
Pollard is also keeping Jean Luc out of the Craven Week 10 jersey so I’m going to be seriously anti-Pollard if his family are playing around for the sake of him doing his thing at Craven Week.
All my own speculation of course – but I don’t see this ending well for WP, so I reckon they should forget about Pollard and focus on what can still be salvaged.
20 Jun 2012, 14:20 pm
The province need two things to become the power house of SA rugby.
1. A decent front row (getting there)
2. A decent half back pair (Duvenhage and Grant not cutting it)
Pollard will fit in nicely.
20 Jun 2012, 14:20 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-16:
he would have had a better average than anyone.
best natural eye for the ball since barry richards.
20 Jun 2012, 14:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-17:
Imagine Pollard also becomes bigger, faster, stronger, cleverer, prettier,fitter etc…if he goes to Pretoria (like Sadie). The Bullbokke will be unbeatable for the next 10 years at least.
20 Jun 2012, 14:25 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-16: He is actually a very good allrounder – I suppose he’ll describe himself as being a batsman that can bowl but he excels in both. He is a lefty as well which usually helps.
The Academy week is in Wellington and starts on the 2nd of July. I’ll definitely try and attend to watch J-L amongst others
20 Jun 2012, 14:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-20:
don’t be like that.
the brokebacks thought Sadie was the second coming until he signed for the bulls.
now you act like a girl whose date has just facialled the prom queen.
@Robzim(Robzim)-20: @CharlesM(CharlesM)-21: Did you guys know that Schalk Burger and JDV still holds the record for a first wicket partnership at Paarl Gym?
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-19:
If it was not for women, wine, dance and song
20 Jun 2012, 14:29 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-20: Make that the next 20 years – because the time 10 years are up, they will have recruited at least another 30 Cape kids to continue the ‘faster, fitter, stronger, tougher, prettier, wittier’ tradition.
20 Jun 2012, 14:29 pm
@CharlesM(CharlesM)-21:
I will follow his progress in the newspapers- thanks for the info.
20 Jun 2012, 14:30 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-22:
hehe, i knew you would not be able to resist that one.
20 Jun 2012, 14:33 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-24:
and and and and……
20 Jun 2012, 14:37 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-22: Not all of us. I realised pretty quickly that if Sadie had been ‘accommodated’ down here with all his little requests and demands, we would have lost quite a few contracted junior players.
As it turned out, many of those players on junior contracts are now kicking it with the big boys.
No justification in giving Sadie what he wanted when players such as Etsebeth, Kolisi, Kitshoff, Malherbe, Ntobeni, Carr etc could not be offered the same.
The same will happen with Pollard – and I say good luck to him, take the money, and enjoy the success up north. I will be happy if 10 talented youngsters stick around here because the WPRFU didn’t succumb to Pollards possible demands etc.
This is why I asked on another thread how the WPRFU’s junior contracting differs from the Bulls. IMHO, it seems WP put a blanket value on all junior players and for the Bulls it’s individual value?
20 Jun 2012, 14:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-29:
Indeed. But that’s not the point I was making.
The stormers could never have kept him without upsetting the others. And there weren’t lots of little promises, just more money and opportunity.
That said just because he moved doesn’t make him a kak player.
Sure he’s struggling to find his feet, but that happens.
Habana was deeply average in his first two years down here.
For my money the sooner they get rid of Olivier the better. Venter Sadie Samm-Smith Serfontein the Bulls have got talent to burn at centre and he will hold them all back.
20 Jun 2012, 14:45 pm
I expect Sadie to have a very good Currie Cup, if he is selected. My backline for the Bulls in this year’s CC will however be: Visser, Sadie/ Ndungane, Serfontein, Venter, Engelbrecht, Fouche, Vermaak. This is if Kirchner, Basson, Olivier, Steyn and Hougaard are selected for the Boks.
20 Jun 2012, 14:45 pm
This kid is the only schoolboy in the Baby Boks.
He’s large – 1.90m and 97kg – athletic, has the look of pedigree about him.
He’s a good distributor, a very good goalkicker, his tactical kicking is excellent – and he’s a brilliant defender to boot.
He is the complete flyhalf package.
20 Jun 2012, 14:46 pm
@willievz(willievz)-23:
I did not know that Jean was also a cricketer.
Apparently Schalk also came third in his age group during a SA mountain bike championships while still at school. The rumour is that his bike broke during the race and he conpleted the course carrying it over the shoulder- it is not surprising, he must have been an “animal” by then already
20 Jun 2012, 14:46 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-20: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-29:
I fell into that trap. I’ve also become fatter; miserable, slower, weaker, uglier for exactly the same reason…chasing the moolah… Oh how I wish I was wiser and more knowledgeable then…
20 Jun 2012, 14:49 pm
…oh and thank goodness I didn’t learn the words of ‘Liefling’…
20 Jun 2012, 14:49 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-34:
indeed omar.
indeed,
20 Jun 2012, 14:52 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-36:
You had the same experience Grunts? Sad really…
20 Jun 2012, 14:54 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-32:
As he is likely to leave WP we better start to try and find fault with him.
Let me have a go…
He is too big… just about all the top flyhalves in the world (Botha, Carter, Gitau, Merthens, Porta, Benett, etc,,,) were/are relatively smaller players.
The typical slower reaction time of the bigger player will be his downfall as a number 10.
Just trying
20 Jun 2012, 14:55 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-38:
Ja Frans Steyn was also too slow and portly
20 Jun 2012, 14:56 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-37:
no omar.
gunther lives the holiday in cape town.
it’s called having your koek and eating it.
20 Jun 2012, 14:58 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-40:
20 Jun 2012, 14:59 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-40:
We just have to be happy with Mango’s…
20 Jun 2012, 15:00 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-30: He is a great player. I think the expectation up north floored him to be honest. (From being barely valued, to being heralded – I’m not being sarcastic here – honest opinion) Worst thing for Sadie as a player was Meyer leaving the Bulls before having had more time to work with the kid.
If they get his head right, the rugby will follow – and I’m just not sure Ludeke has Meyer’s ability to do this.
20 Jun 2012, 15:00 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-34:
Can I borrow money from you ?
I need new roofracks to take my board to the beach .
What does the economist say– opportunity cost or something , lol.
20 Jun 2012, 15:01 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-34: Hahahahahahahaha
20 Jun 2012, 15:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.(The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food)-43:
look it’s tough to meet that kind of expectation at a young age and his confidence has taken a knock.
but he’ll be back,
slapchips will look after him.
20 Jun 2012, 15:05 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-44:
Ja cost me an opportunity too… We have fun here. We go to Menlyn and to hmmmm. Well whatever…
20 Jun 2012, 15:06 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-32: his tactical kicking is not that good from the games that i have seen him – especially against England. if he gifts the baby blacks as many opportunities to run @ us as he did the english backs, we’ll be ripped to shreds. he has a decent pass, hardly attacks the gainline to put his outside backs away.
from the three games i’ve seen, this kid is another nick koster waiting to happen, too much hype.
20 Jun 2012, 15:07 pm
@Gumboots(Gumboots)-42:
woolworths here has mangos too.
20 Jun 2012, 16:17 pm
-He won’t go to the Cheetahs, he would be stuck
behind Goosen
-WP already have Catrakilis and this Swiel laaitie,
dont they?
-The Sharks don’t know about him
-The Lions might not be around.
-So the Bulls seems like the best option really?
Only problem is that at the Bulls is that they already have about 5 or so flyhalfs
Morne Steyn
Lionel Cronje
Louis Fouche
Tony Tantjies
Tradoux
It will probably take him after the 2015 world cup to probably get a starting place
20 Jun 2012, 16:35 pm
Timothy Swiel is a better flyhalf imo
20 Jun 2012, 16:42 pm
@storiejoernal(storiejoernal)-50:
he’s going to leapfrog Tony.
Cronje is going to play 15.
Fouche is deeply average, we’ll sell him to the kings.
20 Jun 2012, 16:57 pm
It will be fantastic to watch him play at the Coca-Cola Craven Week. He is a huge tallent but I just wonder if he is the best in the country. Lions, Bulls and Cheetahs flyhales are really good too.
20 Jun 2012, 17:24 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-32: WP were stupid to let him go boet,
Someone earlier mentioned the flyhalf depth in the WP?? what depth?? Van Aswegen that wasnt even renew come contract time? etc etc
Someone is sleeping big time my friend come WP rugby
Look at PSDT at the junior WC?? a huge player, and he comes from Swartland Hoer skool Malmsbury
20 Jun 2012, 19:07 pm
Indeed Sharkie.
I buy my olive oil from his folks.
21 Jun 2012, 01:29 am
Someone’s lying.
Either the Bulls have a signed contract or they don’t. The (non-)comment from Barend van Graan is significant…
Produce the signed contract or apologise.
21 Jun 2012, 08:42 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-11: Peter Kirsten too.
21 Jun 2012, 08:48 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-11: Peter Kirsten too. @ddewet(ddewet)-12: Kak man. He will be way better off at WP. Flyhalf opportunities will be better. He will play with excellent centres there too.
21 Jun 2012, 08:54 am
‘Pollard has signed for the Bulls. They just don’t want to announce it as they feel it will negatively impact on his chances of getting selected in the Craven Week and therefore the SA schools team.
I say pick Du Plessis.
Unless he signs with WP.
Otherwise he can transfer to Affies.
21 Jun 2012, 09:01 am
Looking at Pollards size, and the fact that he’s only 18, he could could develop into a great 12.
21 Jun 2012, 09:13 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-59: I knew I was right when I said this yesterday, its all about Craven Week. The Pollards must chuck, and Jean Luc must be given the 10 jersey. Bastarados.